(2008/09) Sep 2008

yesterday recvd an sms confirmation fm Mt A, the hospital which i have booked for my delivery room... seems like time is getting nearer. I haven't even start washing all the baby clothings, oops...

Sorry, think this question has been asked many times but i too lazy to scroll back.. how much price difference bet buying from nepia online and nepia from supermarket?

BBmouse,
Sorry i'm not sure if you've answered my message earlier.
Can disclose which Lesports bag u bot and how much including the shipping cost ?
Can let me know if u r organising another Lesport bag purchase ?

bigtoes: David Gan is quite short actually!! Where is this Mumbai Se? I LURVE North Indian cuisine, boy!

Speaking of local celebrities, I've been bumping into some like Stefanie Sun with her Eurasian bf at Paragon Market Place (she really has mang-gah-kah and bad eye bags), Jaslyn Tay with a guy at Hilton Kaspia Cafe (very androgynous in real life), just to name a couple. Shoosh, dun I sound like a paparazzo?

shazz: I hv become a bit "kee siao" these days...Always talking to my boy as I admire those stuffs I recently bot. The other day, I was asking him if he liked the Mothercare bumper better or the First Few Years one...Also, when he kicks real hard, I'd calm him down by saying "mommy's gonna feed u real soon, dun be impatient...wait for mommy to fix up your breakfast!!"

jaline: washing and drying takes only a day I thot?

Diapers: I've temporarily shut myself out from diapers cos I get to trip over one carton of pampers every evening in my otherwise cluttered bb room. I'll just buy Pampers for the rest of his toddler yrs. Too lazy to mix N match, day N nite...

Just gotta remind myself that I should buy one bottle less of cult perfume, skip the shoe section, and/or postpone that Mediterranean vacation lor.

Millie: I ordered a lot of LSS bags. A total of 6 batches. Which particular are you keen on? I can tell you the average shipping cost.

Flos (flos) - Mumbai Se is a shop beside Davin Gan's Passion Hair saloon that sells clothes, home furnishing at jacked up prices (but really pretty). I love indian food & all things indian as well!!

Btw, what is mang-gah-kah? Bad pock marks? I can imagine how ultra-skinny she is in real life. Saw a couple of the TCS actresses over the years & they are all tiny! Must be like 38kg or something.

Mix & Match diapers - think some us are opting for a couple of brands not only for cost sake, but also because the baby might have preferences/or the cutting of a particular brand might not suit him/her. Have to resort to trial & error on a couple of brands rather than stick solely to one.

Flos

"Just gotta remind myself that I should buy one bottle less of cult perfume, skip the shoe section, and/or postpone that Mediterranean vacation lor."

so u not keen on the Petunia PB society satchel liao??

BBmouse,
Wow u ordered so many bags !!! I'm thinking of buying Medium Tribeca tote which i see costs USD 68.00 oni. SG selling $150.
BTW, will u b organising another purchase ?

shazz
Thanks for the tip! I also intend to get the playard next time too.. & I like yellow bear.. ok, will order!

Millei: Shipping for a M Tribeca shd be around $12-$15. LSS has no free US ground shipping. So the cost is the total of both domestic and international shipping costs.

However, pls bear in mind the actual cost per shipment could vary as it depends on how many items there are in that batch (typically 4) and how the merchant packs the items.

Millie, and no point ordering just 1 bag, cos you end up paying a lot on shipping on your own. I can organise one batch if we have close to USD220 orders..

Mei, Shazz: Just to share. I got the Pooh Wonderland.. I like the Yellow Bear too. That wasn't available yet when I ordered then..

flos,
I got quite a no. of baby clothes, blankets, mittiens and socks fm my #1 and some hands-me-down fm friends, dun think one day can finish all
beside that think my hospital bag is almost packed.

ava,
my edd is 7 sept, doc say likely another case of big head baby, so should be gg for c-sect... think ard last week of aug should be delivering...
A bit kiasu of me to pack the bag ready since my previous experience i got no time to take my hospital bag along for emergency c-sect which i left it at home, was rushed immediately to hospital after my gynea visit.

Jaline,

Don't worry about the washing.
you should wash the items about 1-2 weeks before your delivery, and put the sheets, mobile, etc, on the cot only in the last weeks so that dust won't accumulate or if you store them in containers, it will not have a musty smell.

sunrays: where hv u been today? I forgot abt Petunia PB diaper bags!!! Do u know how heavy it is? So u getting the Midnite Blackberry Cake? I just had a double choco chip muffin and teh tarik.

RXmom: yeah, my bb stuffs are still in MINT condition, except those bedding sets which I've already opened to try them on my new cot.

Jaline: I bot many laundry bags from Daiso recently for this purpose. I dunno if we need to wash the cot bumpers. I'll just wash the sheets, bb home clothes, my nursing bras, my jammies, my undies, towels, napkins, receiving blankets...

they r so tiny, I wonder how they will fill up one drum...

question - is receiving blanket the same as swaddling blanket?

flos, u bought the green blue car bumper from mothercare rite? i bought the same and wondering if it needs to be washed?

anyone bought nursing pj from mothercare moda? is it convenient for breast-feeding? one-pic nightshirt...with front buttons.

Taken from Baby Safe website:

How often should I wash the bedding set?

Crib Sheet and comforter (if used daily as blanket) should be washed weekly while bumpers need to be washed monthly. Ideally bumpers should be vacuumed weekly to remove dust particles. Pillow and bolster cases should be washed regularly, such as every 2 to 3 days or whenever they are soiled.

bacon&eggs: I dun think I wanna wash the bumper, though i believe u can machine-wash it.

me lah, i was the one who bot the mothercare sleep shirt cos i prefer 1-pc gowns. i try unbuttoning the gowns in the fitting room and opening up the nursing bra I tried on underneath...I didn't think it posed any problem. actually, there are many such gowns with front buttons in the emporiums, if only I'd looked around further.

flos, you also bought the cot sheets from mothercare? or is it Mei? Did you get two sets to exchange while the other set is at wash? Aussino and many other brands dont fit mothercare cot..did you get two sets of beddings from mothercare?

flos,
i also worried if i wash the bumper, it might not "stand" as nicely as it is.

Jaline, cld i check when did u book Mt Alv? cos my gynae helped me fax the booking form to them last Sat & told me I will receive the SMS confirmation from them shortly but I've not received till today, so was wondering what's the average waiting time like?

Bigtoes, it's about 600 plus grams at 24 weeks but my gynae told me it's bigger than average. haiz... So keep asking me to watch my diet.

bacon&egg. exactly, but my hubby doesn't seem to get it. He cannot understand why I can't talk to his mom like I talk to my mom. It's not as if he talks to my mom like how he talks to his mom, right? He still complains about the 'me' not wanting to be left behind alone part. Yet, wheever he comes to my house, he would complain that I leave him alone in the living room while I would sometimes go to my old room to talk to my mom or siblings. Really like double standard.

dmbb,
my gynea booked for me on 9 jun, yesterday i recvd the sms fm Mt A. Think urs should be receving maybe end of this week or early next week.

wingkei (wingkei) - 600+gm at 24 weeks is nice & healthy, not too big at all
Mine was 684gm then, now 1.13kg (28 weeks). Check out the chart at Baby Centre as a guide.

bacon&eggs:

Yep, I bot their cotbed sheets too. There are 2 in a pack. I also got another one last weekend from FFY Paragon. I've a total of 3 cotsheets now. My Mothercare ones are a bit larger than my std 52"X28" cot size (PS: I didn't get my cot from Mothercare, it was u and Mei who did).

I think the bumper will be warped after u wash it. How abt sending it to the Drycleaner?

Flos, Bacon, Mei: You can buy cot sheets from BabyMall. Get some plain-colored ones which can match your cot bumpers. You'll be changing the sheets more often than the bumpers.

Millie (millie22) : for all investment, educational and savings plans, time is the deciding factor, the earlier your start, the more you accumulate. Time is the one that helps you accumulate! As for assurance charges, the older you/child is when you start the plan, the more it'll cost. IMO, if resources is a factor, start the savings one first and add on rider that waives off premium should anything happen to the parent. Whole life plans, it's great if you can start for him, but be prepared that the money will be stuck in there, till there's a claim or when the child is much older. Cos if he were to cash out the cash value at say, age 25, the coverage will cease, and when he buys a new plan then, the premium will definitely be higher as compared to when you bought it when he was a toddler. For investment linked plans, the assurance charges increased as you age, it's very cheap when the child/parent is young, given time to accumulate, should you withdraw a sizeable amount for his education, you can still leave some money in there, to maintain the coverage. When your child graduates, he can continue with the plan, for his own retirement and coverage etc. IMO, you need to prioritise which is the #1 need, and then from there, narrow down on which plans will meet your needs. Hope that helps!

Washing of Baby Stuff:
my friend has a baby with very sensitive skin and once, they changed the baby on their bed, and they realised that the baby developed rashes within an hour. they realised that it's due to the detergent that was used. When they change baby in her cot, where the bedding was washed with baby detergent, the baby is OK.

Advise given to me was to wash even my own bedsheets with baby detergent, especially during the baby's first month, when their skin is ultra sensitive. So I will be washing the bumpers as well. The key is to lie the bumper flat when drying, to maintain a nice shape.

mickey: Pooh wonderland is nice too! by the way, alien77, the BP organiser used 2100x1400 and it fits his play yard from Cheng Choon, I wonder if it's the same one you got, perhaps he got 7 panel instead of 8.

bacon&egg: this is the play yard we're talking about. instead of the balls, we have the bumper mat in the middle, so that baby got a space to play.

http://www.haenim.co.kr/haenim_english/product3.htm

mickey, this is the one you got yah?

Flos
Think I'll get the Petunia diaper bag...but color choice abit tough to choose..the midnight blackberry cake is a safe choice but the more i look at the rest of the colors, the more undecided i become, hehe! Abt the weight of the bag, I juz emailed them to ask...hope they reply soon.. Will be ordering frm either Nordstrom or Neiman Marcus cos they offer free shipping. Oh, wat abt baby bjorn? U decided on it yet?? I'll be ordering it this weekend. Prices are US$56.95 for ORIGINAL, US$77 for AIR, US$85 for ACTIVE, US$133 for SYNERGY. I'll be getting ACTIVE...will be saving abt S$80+..

Shazz
Is Cheong Choon selling Haenim play yard too?? Or just Kiddy palace?

storeberry - i bot the Tollyjoy Nappy Liners for $4 coz some mum clearing her excess stock in the 'want to sell' thread so i juz bot it from her. brand new pack. there are other mums who are selling too in tat thread if u dun mind buying from them.

going for my 7th mth checkup tom.. wonder how much weight minnie has gain during the mth.. =)

Hi MTB,

Have not posted for a while..but have been following up on the posts once a while. Hope everyone is getting on fine.

I am looking for nice cot sheets etc…the designs at kitty palace are a little limited..any recommendations for cotton stuff?

Hi Bigtoes and wingkei,
Talking abt weight..my tummy look small but bb weighs > 700 g at week 24..think my girl is a little big (but I don’t eat much at all).

Flos: you not "siao" lah. I do that all the time! I tell my baby what we're gonna eat, where we're heading, what I'm doing, how I'm feeling ... even introduce him to the friends I'm meeting! hee, only the closer ones of course! and when we meet a preggy fren of mine, i wld introduce both babies to each other! haha

sunrays: I think Cheong Choon sells Haenim, mickey got hers there. I'm not too sure about Kiddy Palace though.

hihi lilboymum,
yes yes it's been a long time! Has ur little boy been eating well?

lovebugs
Ooh... 4 mths no-pay, quite siong hor...
I din even noe there's such a thing as confinement before I had my first kid but after confinement with my MIL, I realised that it's very impt to eat the confinement food, at least for me. Our body is indeed different after birth and can take in alot of 'bu' stuff without getting too heaty. It helped with my milk supply too!
My ex-colleague ageed too, cos she ate all the heaty 'bu' stuff, including tonic wine then andf was ok. But after confinement when she tried the tonic wine, she kenna nosebleed...

sarahmay
me teaches geog. Btw, when u say u hate marking, u mean u a tr too? But pri sch?

bacon&egg: nepia is sold at selected NTUC at $16.90 per pack and $18.90 at Isetan. If you order online or thru phone, per pack is $16. They're currently having a promo now, $14 per pkt plus free home delivery. NTUC is having promo now, buy 2 packs for $26.95 I think, but they only have it for size M to L and diaper pants.

alabone
what subj r u teaching?
Me contemplating half load or something when my baby is older, but not NPL, cos I think financially quite taxing on my hubby and I just love to shop too much! Buy this buy that, even going to NTUC is buy groceries makes me happy! Hee...

BREAST PADS
Pigeon is the best in my opinion.
Tried avent ones, and the cloth medela ones. The cloth ones no use... and avent can be a bit funny shape, and not as absorbent as Pigeon

Flos,
so nice of u to talk to ur baby. My first one I did talk to her a bit and read a bit occasionally. Now I'm so busy with with girl that I have no time to talk to my second one. Even hubby says we r kinda bo chap now. It's like, ok just stay in there yah? We'll see u when u come out!

Shazz
indeed the satisfaction isn't so much there anymore. I did buy a little bit of new clothes and get a baby car seat and that's abt it. Was excited abt choosing the car seat though. And i was really pleased as punch the other day buying matching clothes from Guess sale for my two little girls! Ah, the fun of having two little girls! Hee hee...
But it's not like before, so excited abt so many things, milk bottles, cot sheets, pram, breast pump, etc etc etc... As i can see many of u new mummies are so excited abt now. Enjoy!

Baby names
Have problems choosing a name for my baby girl cos my hubby and I love the name Isabelle so much that any other name is like second best now. Sigh. For now, it's 'Tricia' till we can find something better... Any suggestions???

Flos is right - maternity is 12 weeks inclusive of public holidays / weekends ... not 3 months. I've asked for my boss to let me start work 2 Jan. I am not sure but might be a sobbing pile on that day.

Therefore am trying to conserve my leave.

Jaline - we have the same EDD!!!
how heavy is ur baby now?

xuanting and flos: I studied dietetics in australia which makes me a trained dietitian. I hate cooking but love sewing. that is why my cooking suxs :p

I think as for confinement, like bacons&egg: I think I get my hubby to be around for the first 14 days or so, get my maid earlier and my grandma to cook so that she can teach the maid also. my hubby to bathe the baby ... ...
alot of confinement food i really dont eat, only eat fish and veg

hey gals, I am going to start work tomorrow response will be turtle slow already!!!!!

hi Shazz,

I am from the Jul thread.. tinking of joining the BMO spree.. shall send u my orders soon.. if it is fine w u, let me noe n i'll trsf de amt over to u...thanks!

hi sunrays: sorry i just got home. i only get to visit the BBjorn site 10min ago and think I prefer Air. But ur fren can only deliver the goods in Oct rite? And USD77 is exclusive of state taxes?

Someone said she BF her bb in AIR on the MTR in HK. I wonder how one can BF bb with a western bb carrier? Only sarong slings allow u to do so discreetly rite?

my DH likes the Japanese Combi magical compact 4-way carrier leh...It allows one to cradle the bb sideways, a position that western bb carriers can't achieve.

I personally think it's SAFER to get the Petunia society satchel Midnite blackberry cake. It's more versatile. I forgot what stroller u bot liao. Does it match your stroller?

Shazz - me too re drugstore spree. Pls keep me in mind. Want the milk bags! thank you!

Isabelle - did you try the website babynamesworld? Lots of ideas there. I think there are more choices for girls than boys!

stAr_xIn (star_xin) : sorry, have already placed order for BMO last night as the 20% discount code expired this morning.

Drugstore spree: will shout next week once I open the spree! =)

isa: oh, i blabber to my bb cos i've no one to talk to at home!! kekeke!!!

shazz: that's really cheap, but alas, i already bot my Lansinoh milk bags last mth at Mothercare...$18 before 20% mbr discount. i even got the Lansinoh nipple cream
Again, these purchases were compulsively made to obtain the Mothercare VIP card!!!

lanolin: wow 2 Jan. U hv a lot of leave balance then

lovebug: oic, but u need to demo cooking to your students rite? Then if your fruit cake is burnt and choco cookies are charred, how?!!! u must be an expert in child rearing, e.g. bathing the baby, folding cloth diapers, etc.? These were lessons we were taught in sec 1 & 2.