(2008/09) Sep 2008

Bacon & egg: how much is the 3D scan?

i went for my ultrascan on 14/6.... 25 weeks already bb nw ard 1.5kg... i hv put on 7.5kg so far... dr ask mi not to take too much deep fried, fast food, salty food or canned food stuff... cos 6 weeks i put on 4kg... which is not reali good.... ask mi try to ctrl abit... hee hee

shazz: Mine is at parklane shopping center but my work require me to reach working place at 1130am!!!!!!

horrifying ..............
sobz!
when you all have next gathering call me

shazz when is ur edd is urs a girl or boy?
what things have u bought :p

Jo, i just went for my checkup yesterday.. put on 1kg.. and so far is 6kg... ur baby at 25weeks is already 1.5kg.. is consider big yah?? mine at week 30 now, only 1.3kg..

flos,

I still buy Safety 1st clipper but not with the magnifying glass. It has a big rounded end. Recently, I couldn't find it so just make do with NUK. A bit small but bb nails are so tiny. And usually cut when they are asleep.

RXmom,

Yours is 14kg --- definitely backache. I'm already suffering and my son is only 11kg.

GD test
I have mine everytime i go for gynea's visit. The Week 24 is in the package i signed up for and i think that week i also failed my urine test, hence I was asked to go for GTT.

Shazz,
Amazing rite! I wonder how they can take clear shots of the bb with so much amino fluid in the stomach. Sonographer told me sometimes it is difficult to take good shots cos the placenta, limbs of the bb + fluid blur the shots. Actually when i first saw the 3D shots..i find it a bit scary-looking..
U taking the 3D scan soon?

Jo,
It cost me $100 for 2 CDs + 2 Pics. I think it is subsidised rate for NUH patients.

bigtoes,
may i know which week are you at when u have your planned c-section on 30 Aug? Week 40?

crayon,
I had my body massage (Spa Esprit - Demsey Rd) esp for preggie moms. They will skip massage for the tummy area and heel/ankle area as these are the parts that will trigger contractions when massaged. U may want to take note. As for scrub..maybe u want to go for pedicure + Scrub. I cant reach my calf and below anymore..usually go for pedicure to get them scrub!

Harbourfront,
Shall we shot for next Friday? We could meet at harbourfront mall or vivo city. how to identify each other? wear a rose? hee..

xuanting: regarding your posting #731 to which I'd drafted my reply but didn't get to post, cos some nosy colleague came peeping over my shoulders yesterday to look at my URL field.

Not sure if it's under the MODA range...I didn't buy the pink polka dotted one though I tried it on at Parkway Parade Mothercare. I got the dark blue/lightblue and grey/pink packs, which are longer. They were on 20% discount at Mothercare.

How was your ParentCraft class last nite?

Lok: haha! I didn't know if it's good or not. Just bot it cos 1) I'd nothing to buy and was itching to buy something; 2) it was on 20% discount

Thought Gullivers like us need a magnifying glass to cut Lilliputian's miniscule nails!! It was to have won some award in the US

1493963.jpg

<font color="119911">bacon&amp;egg (baconegg) - my scheduled C is on week 38, which is the typical week for scheduled surgery. Week 40 is too late already, incase we pop earlier &amp; gyne has to do an emergency C, which is riskier. This is tentative of cos, gyne can only confirm 100% at week 36.

lovebug1822 (lovebug1822) - okie, see u at the next weekend gathering then

Mei - be seeing u at lunch Friday!</font>

lovebug1822 (lovebug1822) : my EDD is on 9/9/08, having a boy. =) Basically bought everything that baby will need, cos hubby will be out of town soon, and I'm beginning to feel tired, so got most of my stuff during my 2nd trimester.

Flos: I know what you mean! We've bought whatever we need already so there's nothing to buy, but we still wanna look yah! hee, I bought a car seat protector when I was at Mums &amp; Babes at AMK hub on sunday.

aiyoh, shazz and flos, u hv plenty of opportunities to spend $ in future. Toys, books, foods, school fees etc etc.

bigtoes: I added you on multiply

Yeah yeah, saw your baby room so pretty!!!!!!! My dad and hubby fixing up the cupboard now

Shazz: Early early and nice date too!!!!!!!!! I am already feeling very tired in this second trimester!!! killing me!!! backache, anything can be done?

Looks like this year alot of boys babies around :p

Bacon&amp;Eggs: when is the best time to do such a scan, its so cute. Is it called 3d scan or 4d scan?
how much have you paid?

Oh gals: anyone went for the parentcraft at TMC yet? Did they give out a free avent milk bottle because I was told by my cousin in law they do give 1 free. Is it true? so that can save on 1 milk bottle :p

Anyone else has multiply account can add me at mightymouse08

lovebug,
It is a 3D Scan. Best time to scan accordingly to gynea/sonographer is Week 28 onwards as most features would have been formed. Paid $100

Lok: yes yes ... was doing budgeting for baby and then realised that it can be pretty expensive to raise a kid. But then again, there's the basic, above average and the luxurious way of rasing! hehe ... I'll stick to basics ... after having gone abit overboard during the buying spree to prepare for his arrival. Now is saving up for his education!

lovebug1822: unfortunately, I have not found a way to combat backache, except to watch my posture when sitting, standing and walking, sleeping on my sides, massaging as and when I need to. Some mummies here goes for pre-natal massage, perhaps you can try that.

jaymickey: Got ya, accepted ya!!!!!!

bacon&amp;egg: nice nice, when do you have to start booking? I did my Detailed scan over at nuh too who was ur sonographer name?
what do they provide? a video and photos?

Detail scan they did not provide photos only a printed report

shazz: Due to my nature of my job, I have to stand for 3 hours to 4 hours straight
that kills the backache even worst!!!! Killing me!
Don't work cannot no pay as I was on no pay leave for the first 4 months!!!!
now thinking how!!!!

shazz is this ur first kid???
how old are you gals?
I am 29 this year

lovebug,
I booked it at Week 24 thru my gynea. U can call NUH Anenatal Diagnotics Centre (ADC) to book. My Sonographer is Dr Murali. Nice lady.
The package consist of 2 CDs and 2 pics.

Lok/shazz: i know i know...i must resist! I thot I resisted well last nite by putting back all the Nuby sippy cups, spoons and containers back on the shelves, leaving the store with only this strange pair of nail clippers.

I'll save some shopping for my post-partum "liberation", i.e. close to Christmas when there'll be another run of sales coming up!!!

I'll get those toys, books, utensils, high chairs, etc in Dec.

Bancon&amp;egg : it's cheap hor for the 3D scan...

Jaymickey: dun knw leh.. i ask tat gynae whether is it too big? he told mi no it's normal and his growing well.....

bacon&amp;egg: Oh my detail scan one is dawn and prof biswas. I will ask my gynae again to book thru him, he surely going to tell me WASTE $$$$$$$
die
maybe i will book myself

flos / shazz,

Yah man. Did u see the Sunday Times article on $ to send your kids to uni 20 yrs from now? $1m to get to USA or Australia! And that's assuming non-medical course. Hubby and I decided long ago that we will save up for his local uni education. If he's smart enough to make it overseas, then he has to work hard for his own scholarship.

lovebug: welcome!!! U dun like the Oct thread? Our Sept thread more fun rite?!!! MUAHAHA!!

I went for my first lesson by Parent Craft already. Yes, got one 125ml Avent milk bottle with CAP (YES! The travel CAP that is sold separately and very expensive wor...)

Here's what u will get. I was ultra boliao last weekend. Actually took a shot to email to DH.

1494244.jpg

hi flos:

YES YES YES!!!!!!!!! then I will go pay up for thomson medical center parent craft!!!!!!! more worthy than Mount A kekeke

Yeah, I thought so sept thread more fun going laugh :p

I bought the avent steriliser inside got 2 milk bottles, then I bought 1 nuk one because I want to try the teat so now with this 125ml one is great for WATER!!!!!!
YIPPY!
thanks thanks!

how many weeks are u in now :p

Lok: Yea, that's why last nite I arranged to meet up with my AIA insurance agent. Our ParentCraft instructress was so cynical. She told us she was very excited when she had 2 lovely boys and 1 girl. Now the eldest one wiped up her hb's entire CPF of $200K, tks to his 4-yr education in Sydney. The second one who got into NTU used up partially her CPF. The youngest dotter went to HK to learn dancing for a few yrs, now asking her to fork out more cash to let her further her studies in Canada!

She told all her students not to have too many children...none of her kids give her money

lovebug: okie, good for u. Go sign up quickly as popular instructresses like Mrs Wong Boh Boi's classes are already fully booked till 22 Jul (not sure if it's full by now). Since yours is in Oct, u shd be able to start your lessons later than us.

I'm 27weeks+ now

Lovebug
Backache: You can try the Bellybra. They sell this at Moms R Us at United Sq basement. it's a bra cum belly support...see link: www.bellybra.com. Or you can try a belly support belt. Also at home, do cat stretches (on all fours, curve your back down (tummy to the floor), then arch it up)..careful not to over do it...and dont use your tummy muscles, just stretch the back muscles.

Flos
How depressing...how old are her kids now? if still in school how can she expect them to give her any money? Anyway, at least for the NTU kid, he/she will need to repay the dad's CPF cos it's a loan what....cheh!

von: just wear comfy pants as u need to do stretching exercises on the mattresses.

Pls go earlier as they will take your body temps at 6.45pm, and of cos, to secure the back seats (got wall to lean against cos with your large tummy, u'll need some back support). But if ur eyesight is poor, u might not be able to see the Powerpoint slides/video from the backrow.

bacon &amp; egg

where u do ur pedicure &amp; scrub har? i oso wana do for mine as very hard to bend down n do it myself liao.my nails r very long n my DH is so bz to help me cut..hehe...but i dun tink i wana apply colour lei..just normal pedi process w/o applying the base coat/colour...abit waste of $ hor just to do these only..was wondering if any salon got these service...

talking abt kids' education.. today i overheard a coll saying that she has an accounts book to keep track of her kid's expenses and all and her kid will have to pay her back in future. What do u girls think?

Ava: I know...depressing it sounded. And kinda anti-climax cos she abruptly poured that out during our Q&amp;A, just 10min before dismissal...

She must be assuming/predicting that they won't give her any allowance after they've found a job lah.

Better start saving now

thanks, flos. will keep looking around for the nursing gown. like so hard to find like that!!! last night was mostly about the different stages in labour and pain relief during labour and there was a video of these brit women talking about their experiences with epidural etc too.

shazz, have transfered the payment over. pls check if you've received it. thanks!

lovebug1822, they gave out some milk samples and an avent bottle during my prenatal class with tmc. will you be attending too?

hey all
Am I too late to join this thread?
I am in my 26th week now, Edd is 24 Sept but most likely earlier cos going for c-section.

<font color="119911">Fave (favedude) - welcome
May I ask why u are going for C? I am going for one myself....

Cost of raising kids: Too weird to keep an debit/credit account! Would definitely be a net loss investment if you count dollars &amp; cents, but the intangibles should more than make up for it right
I saw the article &amp; got a shock as well! Can't imagine how my parents afforded to send us 4 girls overseas for education. We are only planning to send our kids locally - if they want to go overseas, then they would have to secure a scholarship or pay their own way!</font>

xuanting: i see...hope u find your ideal gown soon. Nurse Chong was quite funny IMO.

Nice ah? pic's a bit blurry leh.

shazz: Not yet, end Jun/early Jul. He needs to clear up some outstanding matters with his boss first.

crayonshinchan: Yeppers, and what're ur initials then? I hv no time to check, I just add add &amp; add, if I recognise mutual frens;)

crayonshinchan : it's not a joke hor, I sleep braless, so when I change position, I have to "park" my boobies properly if not it'll hurt. :"(

On keeping track of children's expenses ... that sounds so scary! reminds me of my MIL, who keeps a record book of what she spent on my hubby, what she helped him to buy, so one day she just came up and told him, you owe me $XXXX. I was shocked! Then I just told my hubby to transfer the money to her, and have a clean slat! But he's still giving them almost $1k a mth to pay back what he used for studying in London, even though they didn't ask for it.

Hubby and I won't be keeping track and asking them to pay us back next time. We believe children are a blessing from God. If it's a gift, you won't ask them to pay back what they've consumed yah? hehe, then what about the moments when the parents get to enjoy the child? It's priceless, how to calculate? As mummies, no matter how old your child is, you'll still be concerned, how to make our children pay back the time and effort we spent in raising them? There's no end to it! ;)

hi fave.. its nv too late to join ;-)
welcome on board...
here got many many lobangs ;-)

Anyway, Csection seems to be quite common nowadays. The other day i was doing some reading on natural childbirth and after that i was feeling a little depressed and scared lor. I guess its normal to feel that way but i still cant help feeling scared.. esp the episiotomy ;-(

xuanting and flos: yeap I booked that mrs wong one for july 26
I will go pay the payment!!!! I am not delivering at TMC but at Mount A but it seemed that TMC syllabus for parent craft is better than mount A that is why booked there but more expensive too!!! Arugh ...........

Ava: Thanks!!!!!! I must go take a look man!!!!!!

the rest: Ya the education part I am worried, but when I was speaking to the insurance person they kept asking me to buy death protection plan first instead of baby education
which kinda irritates me because if i did, they will get cpf what?

Oh girls how about cordlife what are your views on it :p

my mum had both natural and c-section, she advise me to go for c-section to cut down on complication. she kena loss of control in her urine after natural and had to go for operation to get well. i also check wif my doc, he advise me c-section too.

ok ok.. sorry shazz... but the way u said it really made me laugh.. i kind of understand how it feels though my little C is small compared to yours, esp when they swelled and felt sore during the first trimester.. but arent u worried abt not wearing bras now?