(2008/09) Sep 2008

Bigtoes,

My EDD actually changed quite alot leh. From 26 Sep to 16 Sep 08. But Dr Ho still insist on keeping the 'real' EDD as 26 Sep. *shrug*

jessi: Me too. I'm falling asleep now in the office
My bb was dancing all nite long, not just one hour, from 12mn till 6 am...I didn't even catch a wink at all
I suspected he was hungry so I toasted some sandwiches and drank some milk to eat in order to pacifiy him. It worked. I need to find a hotel nearby to check in for an afternoon nap.....zzzzzzzz

flos, i need an afternoon nap too! now feeling very stoned in office. your baby very energetic ah.. can keep moving for so long.
hmm.. it never come to my mind that my baby might be hungry. maybe if she starts kicking again tonight then i will go look for something to eat.

Hi Lok
My friend is staying in a double room bt it was converted to single-bedded for her and her hubby.
In fact, I was shocked when was told tat she has to walk to the nursery room to breastfeed the bb at SPECIFIC timing. This is ridiculous, I will imagine our vagina will be too sore to walk ard loh!

Thanks Mei/Von for ur assurance! I will call and ask Mt A personally later to reconfirm.

Baby movements – I oso felt it beri strongly lately! I even did a ‘bear’ test. I placed a small bear on my tummy when I am lying flat, and WOW, the small bear reallie move like a wave gushing by the bear.. beri animated!!!

Mei/Jessi/flos,

It is perfectly normal for the bb to kick at night. They live in a reverse day-night rhythm world as they get rocked to bed in the day due to our movement.

Goldfish,

I'm trying to catch the movement too. So that I can let my J#1 feel it. Hv been telling him abt didi, so this will make it more "real" for him.

<font color="119911">RXmom (ruixiangsmom) - wow, maybe ur baby has been progressing v well, so the EDD was brought forth 10 days
Btw, do u still want to join us if we move the lunch from 12 to 1pm?

So basically, no where to get decent nursing bras :p Will just check out some of the maternity shops then.

Goldfish (goldfish1395) - heh, u are so cute to put the bear on ur belly
Mine is also very fidgetty - esp after lunch &amp; in the evenings. Luckily, he seems to go to sleep by 11+pm, so haven't woken me up during the wee hours yet (or maybe I just slept thru everything)!</font>

Jessi: My baby kicks me a lot at night too…But thankfully, not enough to keep me awake. But I do notice that if I do get up like 3-4am, the baby is moving a loooooot more. Try flipping sides? That is supposed to throw bb off balance and minimize his kicking.

Goldfish: Huh? That sounds horrid. But with every hospital it seems that there will be ppl with positive and negative comments. Just find one that you are comfy with. I heard good stories abt Mt A, and also horrid ones too. But am settling for Mt A cos I don’t like TMC’s vibes. Hehe. Btw, did your friend give feedback to the hospital? Also, a ‘bear test’? hahah..that is so cute!

Mei: Thanks for the bra tip! MIM has cup sizes?

Mickey: No worries. I think Shazz did post
something here…but knowing how fast our thread moves here, it prob got archived before you saw it! Hehe.

RXMom: Your bb is doing well! My gynae also seems to stick to the earlier EDD based on Wk 12 I think. But well, the change could well be due to a miscalculated LMP etc. Best check with our own doc.

Bigtoes: My friend just told me horror story! Her friend’s gynae (can’t rber which) actually MIScalculated her EDD by 2 months! Earlier than the actual EDD! Scary! Can I just ask abt choosing C/S dates..why at 38 weeks? Is there a medical guideline that is used? Just curious . Also, did you choose an auspicious date and time?

BB in room with mum at hospital: Does anyone know if they will allow the bb to co-sleep with the mum if I’m in a 1-bedder?

Baby movement:
yesterday night, when i was about to sleep, i can feel my baby moving very strongly.. can see my tummy moved.. when i wanted to took out my hp to video down her movements, she stopped. heee...

baby's weight:
just went for my 28th week gynae visit on sat. baby's weight at 1126gm. so far, i've gained 5kg. now at 49kg. gynae says baby is on small side as she measured the abdominal circumference. but baby's length is ok. i felt so sad after the visit
.. could be the stomach flu i had for the past 2 weeks that caused baby's slow weight gain, cos i din gain any weight at all from the past month ? is 1126gm at 28 weeks ok ??

Hi Sarah
I will call up MT A and gek gek ask them abt those issues I have raised. See wat they says.. my friend never feedback bt warned me abt Mt A loh. Bt I got good feedback in forums so I am so puzzled. I wonder issit she is treated differently cos she is a China PR? Ermm… bt tat is so unfair loh.. China or not still mama leh :S
Will keep u posted on my findings!

The bear test is interesting for me cos from my personal feel from the tummy, I always thot the bb poke me at one side.. bt with the bear test, it actually ‘shows’ that the bb is moving from one side to another cos the bear vibrates from left to right.. bt must use a super small light bear wor 

I was telling my hubby abt it and he was telling me tat the bb is ‘disgusted’ over the bear!
I self-conclude tat the bb LOVES the bear and is playing wif it loh!
Keke

Lunch on 20th June: I'm ok with 1pm =)

Flos &amp; Jaymickey: My baby also kept me up last night! he seems to be pinching me when I sleep on my right side and even gave me hard jerks when I swicth sides! But I can't sleep on my back cos I have terrible backaches! I only got back to sleep after a long time of coaxing ... and when I'm about to fall asleep, the little fellow will jerk me awake again! *yawn*

Is it me or is anyone else beginning to feel tired by 8 to 9 plus, just like we did when we were in 1st trimester?

Babymall Spree: mickey, I can organise the spree if you dun mind. can forward me the orders of those which you did not fit in. the 20% off is still ongoing, so it's really worth it. those who wants to order can email me at [email protected]

stef&amp;seanbabes,

1126 sounds perfectly fine to me. I am abt your size (48kg at 24 weeks). Last scan is 740g for bb J. Expected to be ~1.3kg at 28wk, so u r not too far off. Anyway, there's still time to catch up if u are concerned.

SarahMay,

How to miscalculate by 2 mths??? I'm assuming your friend knows it's a 40-week process? Unless u tell me her menstrual cycle is so irregular.

In medical terms, the bb is considered full term after 37 weeks. Hence, if C/S, usually pple scheduled it anytime 38 weeks onwards.

stef&amp;seanbabes (limyg) : for weight gain of only 5kg so far, your baby's weight at 1126grams at week 28 is very good leh! dun worry about it. Just feed baby more protein if you're worried about his growth

Lunch at TP

Hi Limay, yes, I will like to join you all if the lunch is at 1pm. But I also dun want to inconvenience the rest cos some might not have flexi time too, or may have meetings to attend. Will see how the other mommies respond.

Goldfish,
Last time when I delivered in the US, I also had to walk to the NICU (Neonatal intensive care unit) even on the same day I had my c-section. It was damned painful and took me more than 15 mins to walk the distance of 20m? But that was because my baby was under the UV for jaundice treatment and also for observation due to possibility of lungs infection. I think could that be the case for your friend? Need to go there at specific timing cos baby gets hungry every 2-3 hours.

Once my baby was fine, he stayed in the room with with me. I understand from the nurse at Mt A (during my hospital tour) that they practice this too as long as they are comfortable that the bb is doing fine.

heeeelllllllllloooooowww mummies..

I ish back from lazing around and doing nothing ;-)
need to start getting in tune to waking up at 545am from next monday onwards. SIAN.

Baby kicks - my precious son starts getting super active from 9pm onwards.. super punctual one lor.. i think he kicks me in the middle of the night oso but i slp like a pig so cannot feel him.. heee..
How do i know? Cos these 1.5wks, my ah lao has been waking me up whenever he curses and swears to himself during the euro matches. Everytime I will feel baby kick. (Unless baby was woken up by ah lao's curses lar)

Outing - Would have join u girls if not for my staff retreat this friday. YEAH.. then i'll be heading off to batam for a short r&amp;r wkend before sch reopens.

Buying of baby stuff - I still have a lot a lot of things not bought yet. And at times when ah lao and I are geared up to shop, I'll get so utterly confused that we'll end up with buying nothing at all. BAH!!not good.

And with our moving back to pasir ris and all, most of the time is spent on buying household stuff instead of baby stuff.. ahhaa..

btw, is anyone thinking of getting bumper mats? It seems like a pretty good investment. If i rem correctly, someone has it rite?

goldfish: Chinese PR? maybe that's why lah...speaking of chinese PRs, i hv one in my chld education class last week. her hb, an old balding chap nearing his 50's, was translating the entire lesson to her in putonghua, oh yes, all those BF stuffs, how to do kegel exercises (I wonder how he translated that into Mandarin man!). I really felt like telling him to shut up cos we couldn't hear what the nurse was saying! I hope he doesn't drop by this thread...

RXmom: But u r preggers...surely your boss allows for some slack, e.g. going for earlier lunch appt? try to make it lah...I can stay until 1.30-2pm, not sure abt the other ladies...

zzzzzzzzzz....fainting spells...I'm really groggy...YAWN.

Sarahmay,

C-section is usually scheduled around 38 weeks and not so close to the full 40 weeks so as to avoid the situation when contractions starts, which will make the c-section into an emergency c-section.

stef&amp;seanbabes,

I checked the records for my J#1. He was also 1.1kg at 28 weeks. My gynae never complained that he is small size. However, I had more beef subsequently as I was anaemic. His birthweight was 3.4kg --- a very decent size for a petite mummy (like us).

crayobshinchan: why gotta wake up so early from next mon onwards? i'm planning to get the bumper mat but probably later on when baby learns to crawl and all. Got so many things already, dun wanna have problem with storage.

stef&amp;Sean
5KG only?? *envious*
At my last scan @ 25wks, I had put on like 8kg and gynae kept asking me to "slow down slow down"... I think the next scan this coming wed will be 10kg and I guess she'll start shaking her head again.. hahaa.. cos this whole month, i have not weighed myself at all! very scary!

shazz, cos sch is reopening next wk.. *bawls* i don want to go to work!!! haaa..

if there is a bp on bumper mats coming up, i shd be getting it.. You see lar! thats what I meant, not buying the necessary first! ahaha..

I see. poor thing! I think the BP on bumper mats is always ongoing, if not can email that guy, he got a blog i think. Get the basic items first lah. hee, me kiasu, got everything ready liao, cos hubby going for trips this wed, be back end of mth. And now I'm already getting tired easily, so thank God I bot all my stuff already. Now only shopping online! haha

Weight gain: I've gained 11kg so far for 27 Weeks 6 days. Baby's weight should be in the region of 1 - 1.3 kg when I go for my checkup this Friday

shazz: I saw SkipHop bumper mats at FFY Paragon last Sat when I went to get my second bedding set. Did u see those? they are lovely!!

<font color="0000ff">CHEW's OMEGA-6 EGGS</font>

Anyone eating these "GE" eggs? I've been eating this type of eggs and find that they (i.e. the hardboiled ones) taste kinda "plastic".

Anyone taking Omega-3 supps? I think I might need some cos I really can't take the smell and taste of fish...

Yeah, lunch time

Flos: I saw the Skip Hop mats at Kiddy Palace ... they're so expensive! think I will just get the LG ones from the BP that happens pretty often in this forum.

baby kicks
i guess it's quite normal to have our babies kicking us more in the middle of the night. sometimes the kicks and jerks can be quite strong till it's quite uncomfortable.

stef&amp;seanbabes, so nice that you only gain 5kgs. i already gained more than 8kgs till now and it's still going up especially i'm always feeling hungry and eating every 2-3hrs during the day time. :p

shazz, can help me to get some stuffs if you are organising the babymall spree? i missed the one that mickey organised.

flos, i like the skiphop mats too! but they are rather expensive. usually how old will the baby need a bumper mat?

Shazz, haa.. I haven even gotten the thermometer/diapers which all of u have been buying recently.
No milk bottles, diapers, thermometer, detergent to wash the new baby clothes, bedding set etc etc. haa. I think I'm the laziest mtb here. (considering the fact that I had a 3wks break)

Flos/Shazz.. whats the skiphop bumper mats? Similiar to the bumpermats from the BP?

Btw, Shazz, whats the difference between the LG ones and the normal ones? the LG ones are like at least 100bucks more exp.

Sarahmay
The tube bras are free size. For the other bras.. maximum is cup D.

Flos
Didn't your gynae prescribe you the omega-3 supplements?

Bumper Mats
I like the ones from here.
http://www.smallsmallworld.com/bumper_playmat.html

crayonshinchan
You got to start buying all those necessities very soon!

Shazz
The Birkin!!! So out of reach for me...

Just finished lunch, now I feel so sleepy...

Jessi, I've just read in some thread today that bumper mats can be used as soon as baby is learning to raise the head leh.

Looks like more pros than cons..

crayonshinchan: I've not done my research on the bumper mats, but the ones in the BP here, the LG ones seems to be good and safe for babies. I think the Skip Hop ones are slightly smaller in dimension, hence abit more exp.

as for stuff to buy, things like thermometer can wait. But things for baby to use once it gets home, you need to start preparing, unless you want to send your hubby out to grab them. So get the cot, bedding, diapers, clothes for change, bathing/wipe stuff ready first. The rest like strollers, bouncer, play mat etc can wait lor. We need to start washing baby's clothes, preferably with baby detergent, about a mth before we're due, to play safe.

Sarah: Not a problem!
Cos I thot my nursing bras are ugly so want to take a look how cheerful mama one looks like. Will not buy too much 1st... Over the weekend spend quite abit liao, must control!

Jessi: My bb also kick alot in the middle of the night! Today woke up at 630am, went to toilet &amp; couldn't sleep till one hour later &amp; bb was turning &amp; kicking. Can feel two odd shape on two sides of my tummy!

Shazz: Birkin??? Is is a gimmick?? :p bbmallonline.. Aiyoo... you have re-ignite my shopping passion again!

<font color="0000ff">Hi everyone,

Been MIA since last week.. anyone miss mi boh??

was admitted to TMC for premature contractions wor. scared the hell out of me. now ordered rest by gynae till review on friday to see how...</font>

storeberry: it's not a gimmick! log on to the forum where you know me and look out for admin's announcement! ;) this forum blocks out any mention of that forum

hee, well, i'm used to spree-ing! haha ... let's spree!

sasa_de_mouse: hope you're ok. was it braxton hicks?

shazz
Thanks! Received your email.. the bumper mat is the same one that you were referring to? Let's compare prices...

sasa
So they were 'real' contractions &amp; not braxton?? So what did the doctor do to stop the contractions?

<font color="119911">SarahMay (sarahmay) - wow, what kind of a gyne is that to miscalculate the EDD by 2 MONTHS?? On picking my C-section date, anytime earlier than 37 weeks is not advisable, cos that would be considered pre-mature...I also don't want to deliver anytime earlier cos I have a conference that I am running on week 37. Praying I won't have contractions while onstage presenting or something! On opting for delivery on wk38, most planned Cs are on wk38, or latest 39, cos they don't want the mum to go into labor first &amp; end up being an emergency C. On selecting an auspicious date and time, we aren't really concerned, as long as my gyne thinks the baby is ready for the C. Tentatively picked 28th Aug which is 2 weeks before my wk 40 EDD.

On baby co-sleeping with mum in a 1-bedder: think this is usually not recommended (thou ur choice unless baby has problems like jaundice etc that needs treatment). Usually, they would prefer to just bring the baby over when its time for feeding/when there are visitors - just so the mommy can get more rest. Plenty of time to co-sleep with baby once we are discharged!

stef&amp;seanbabes (limyg) - think its perfect that u gained 5kg todate &amp; baby is already 1.1kg at 28 weeks! I am already up 7-8kg, will know how heavy baby Kieran is at wk28 tomorrow
If u look at the (US) charts from Babycenter etc, 1.1kg is pretty good size at week 28!

Flos (flos)/RXmom - I am okie with anytime for lunch. How about if we compromised &amp; made it 12.30pm? The Shanghainese place is not that crowded...would that be a better option? My timing is totally flexi, &amp; no meetings scheduled that afternoon, so i am okie with anytime u ladies decide. Ava/shazz?

sasa de mouse (sasa_xie) - glad u are okie already!How come ur contractions came so early?</font>

Mei: i think they're the same person! cos I got the link from the BP thread.

Bigtoes: i'm ok with lunch at 1230pm, my timing is flexible. =)

BabyMallOnline Spree by Shazzerlyn
http://www.babymallonline.com/
shipping: free from USA to vPostUSA
shipping from vPostUSA: divided according to weight of items, but no bulky items like bedding sets please.
exhange rate: will collect at 1.43 first and charge according to actual charges to credit card, excess to be used to offset vPost charges or local charges
Spree will be capped at US$250 to avoid GST.
Transfer to DBS Savings Plus 0010062525

Email your order to [email protected]

Order format:
Nick:
Email:
Contact number:
Collection: normal/registered mail or self-collect at Bugis Junction (mon-fri 9am to 6pm)

Item:
Size:
Colour:
Qty:
Price:
URL:

Total: US$xx X 0.8 X 1.43 = S$

Will be using 20% discount coupon!

Crayonshichan, Shazz: Useful to let bb have his tummy time on the bumper mat too. This is aid him in learning how to crawl.
The bumper mat comes very highly recommended by mums who've used one before (me included). So I think when there is a spree, just get it. Don't have to wait..

Shazz: Good you're doing a babymall spree. There were quite a number of spill-over orders from the last spree. Felt bad and a need to do another spree. Now that you're doing one, I'm thinking I'm gonna stop doing sprees liao.. Want to focus on doing scrapbooking..

<font color="0000ff">Shazz , Mei, Bigtoes
Thanks for ur concerns! not sure if they were BHs or real contractions. coz i onli meant to inform my gynae tat i had been experiencing hardening and cramps at nite, so much so tat it was affecting my slp. den he told mi to go in for an hr of CTG immediately.

during tat 1 hr, 3 contractions were picked up so he deemed the situation as critical. ordered for mi to be on drip (was given ventolin to stop the contractions) and 2 injections to strengthen bb's lungs juz in case he came out really early.

he monitored my situation for a few days b4 letting mi go back home.. wah.. so boring in the hospital leh.

guess it came about coz i walked too much / climbed too much stairs. hb n mil been saying it could have been the swimming that aggravated it too.

anyway, i'm feeling better already tho am still feeling the hardening at times. will continue to monitor and if a certain pattern is picked up, i've to go to the hospital again!

my advice to u mummies out there... better make sure u finish ur shopping soon. dun be like me.. lug all the shopping and walk up n down. oso.. try to limit walking around so much and climbing too much stairs.</font>

baby's weight:
thks all mummies for the assurance.. i was just so upset after gynae's visit on sat.
lok: baby's weight was 765gm at 24 weeks. gynae mentioned v good size. then at 28weeks. baby's weight was 1162gm. gynae mentioned baby is on small side. not sure if the slower growth from 24-28 weeks is due to the stomach flu i had on wk25 that lasted almost 2 weeks.
sob. anyway, from now till next visit at 32weeks, i will try to take more beef, durians, fresh milk, etc to fatten up my baby.

sasa de mouse: Glad u are feeling ok now. better rest more as advised by doc..