(2008/09) Sep 2008

Jaymickey, lok
i called my aunt last night. She used to hv a filipino maid who took care of my great grandma when she was still alive. According to my aunt, she is someone whom my aunt can trust to take care of her beloved grandmother. My greatgrandma was v sick then and i think she did her job well. I saw her b4 and find her a soft spoken person. She had 2 kids herself youngest onli 2 yrs old. She studied Midwifery in Philippines but due to financial prob unable to take her exams. She was send back after my GGM passed away last yr.
The maid got intention to come back to spore to work, so i am thinking of engaging her. Anyone knows if the maid agency help to do paperwork for a maid whom i chose myself outside of their agency?

Jaymickey: Sure, they were once a British colony oso. Can I get them in any maid agencies?

shazz: agree. my friend also using PT myanmar maid for 5 yrs. she even lets her hv her house keys.

Ava: thot u drive to wk? Really? The wildbaby shop is near to da paolo? Hmmm...I need to visit the store first. It looks very princessy leh...My priority is to buy a diaper bag first.

HHEHEHE!! I was just pulling SarahMay's legs lah, since she's so peeved with Jetstar! "Check in my boobs"? Declare them too! LOL.

talking abt maid.. this morning my MIL was telling me abt maid.. she says cannot trust any of the maids, they are good in lying... but to me, i think if you treat them in respect, it shouldnt be that bad. my mom's place had been hiring maid for the past 10 years and we have no problems with maid.

of cos, got to depend on your luck too..

am going down to agent this weekend to get myself one maid... hopefully this will be a good one too.

Me also asked DH if I shd stock up diff sizes of diapers! My nephew at 16mos is already wearing XL Active Baby size.

The Pampers promoter at Expo told me my 288 (8X36) pieces of NB size pampers is really no big deal...esp if I'm sticking to disposables and not alternating with cloth diapers...

<font color="119911">Flos - hah, paiseh, not sure what the Shanghainese restn name is, the name is in Mandarin &amp; I never quite remembered it, just know how to get there. Tried to google, but nothing familiar came up...its the one on the left side (when u come up the road from Maxwell hawker), i.e. opposite side of road from TP plaza, nested amongst all the bridal shops. There is only one chinese restaurant there I think.

Anyway, am open to eating anywhere in TP, don't have to be this one.
If you ladies can make it, lets shoot for sometime next week maybe?</font>

Mei: Just called Kenko at South Bridge Rd. they charge $32 for 30min foot massage. $65 if combined with shoulders/neck/back...

wondering if I shd go...My feet are swollen, as noted by my gynae last week.

Flos: Can bring up FM powder. The bgt airlines crew will help top up with hot water. Breastfeeding is find of cos. Oh! Jetstar has bought over Valuair if i'm not wrong. If your friend has someone still working there, like in the BSU (Biz support unit) pls!!! connect us up. Been waiting for their call whole afternoon yesterday and this morning.

I don't mind paying. they just need to explain how they work out the figures, which they don't and can't. They like pull a figure out of the air. When I ask where the more ex fare price shown on the net, they tell me"I'm sorry I cannot access the internet because our server is down." Their server like down since yday. they also had the gall to tell me they have to charge me non-internet price even tho it is their server that is down, as such I can't do it online. Wah!!! how come can be so dumb one?

The next time I fly, the company will pay so i don't really care.

Btw, if you travel to SH with bb, I would highly rec a regular carrier like SH. Think they are much better.

Ava: hahah! Yeah...two bums sure need a lot of diapers!

Mrs Yap: Wah! That domestic helper sure is qualified. I think the Filipinos are much better, but more ex. My former helper was Filipino and she was great! She was with us for like 8 years. Cried heaps when she went home.

I didn't know they have Myanmarese domestic helpers! Some of them can even speak Chinese right?

Flos, yes you can get them from any agency.. they are getting popular these days.. u can request for no off days for burmese...

Shazz, i am not so worry abt them not being able to manage the high tech stuffs.. cos this one is to do housework at home.. just be good and keep the house clean, we are happy enough..

Bigtoes
Remember yr hubby did the bean sprout husk pillow for Kieran and there are some Iron-On stickers on the pillow casing... How much is one piece? I saw in GWC selling $0.80 per piece and i wonder if this is the market rate. Thanks ya

Flos
Maybe you can go &amp; try out the massage &amp; see if it can ease your swollen feet.

Myanmar maids
My MIL's maid is a myanmese.. she's very pleasant &amp; 'guai', but she can't really communicate. My MIL can speak burmese though as she's a burmese chinese.

Flos: You are dar* funny!! Cannot BF bb?? Haha... :p

Sarah: Hope everything works out, sometimes budget airlines are coc*ed up!!

Talking about diapers, when is the nepia's promo till? Thinking whether I should order or not...

Storeberry...the promotion ends on 30/06/08... $14/pc... i gng to order... think the feedback not bad leh... anyway the NB change every 2-3 hrs,... so shd b ok 1 loh...... any mum use it b4?

Maids

I have a filipino maid and she's pretty good as compared to some of those that my friends have. Got her through Nation, and her pay is $400. Without day off it's $420. We dun mind paying her more if she's good. Have even dangled a carrot in front of her and told her that if she's v v good, I will give her 2 months bonus at the end of her contract. I think money is really not impt, as long as she takes good care of my son (tog. with my FIL).

Maid Available
Btw, my sis previous maid (who went back to Philippines on her own accord) wants to come back to Singapore to work. Anyone interested? As quoted by my sister, 'she is 38 years old, single very trustworthy and hardworking". My sister already has a new maid, so not taking her back.

Lunch at TP
Flos, yup, I am at Maxwell. Maybe you all want to consider lunch at Duxton Hill which is also close by? HSBC is offering 1-for-1 lunch deals at Uluru and The Universal. My Hubby and I tried the set dinner at The Universal and it was quite a good deal.

thanks cloud/bigtoes/sarahmay! lidat i can go down mustafa take a look coz the thermometer looks handy n got backlight keke..

mrsgan,
ya, i agree if we respect n treat the maids fairly, they will reciprocate the same. but somehow we still must hv someone at home to "supervise" them in some areas, as afterall, our culture are very diff.

i thank God for my colleague's aunt who owns a maid agency, and she's very strict with maids training. and she's specialised in getting maids for young parents like us. and i dun need to advise her much of my criteria and she will incharge of training the maids first b4 passing to her clients.

so i'm also looking forward to receiving my own maid next mth.

<font color="119911">Okie, found the Shanghainese place i mentioned:
Xin Tao Yuan, 63 Tanjong Pagar Road , tel: 6323-6367
http://www.singaporemirror.com.sg/co_xintao.htm
RXmom (ruixiangsmom) - am okie with Duxton Hill as well.

Mrs Yap (oneboyonegirl) - the iron on alphabets are $1 each, think the one with alphabet + bear = $1.50. Pretty cheap already, cos I got some others for my mozzie net (flowers) at about $3-4 each from Spotlight.</font>

jaymickey,

oh u change to myanmar maid? ya i heard they r quite good too but not really sure good in wat.can share? btw wat language do they speak? my mum cant really speak english but can speak malay a bit so tot at least can communicate if it;s an indon maid.
oh, how many times hve u change the maid liao?
heard tat can only allow one replacement issit?

i've been calling a few agencies but they're quite slow in responding , like tell me yday will email me the maid profile but till now still didn see. haizz...now getting a bit kan cheong wait no time to train or change maid before i pop.

hey aloevera,

seems like your maid agency not bad leh.
can give me the contact?
me trying to source another agency cos the one i have like very slow in responding.
btw which maid did u get ?

tks in advance!

Li, so far this is our 4th maid.. the 1st one was with us for 5 years.. then 3 mths, then the recent one was 2 days..

So far from last night i see, she is quite hardworking.. we asked her to take a shower first... then she like "oh, is okie, you tell me what u need me to do in the morning, then i go shower" so that we dun have to wait for her..

So we are going to monitor her a few more days and see how..

The one that we have now speaks English.. and is so much better than the Filipino and the Indonesian.. so makes our lives easier..

RXmum
I juz PM u regarding the maid...

I am so pissed off with SBS Transit!! I was along Outram Prk Rd yst when I had an accident with a SBS bus...I was trying to filter left as there were 2 cars blocking the way..i signalled left &amp; started to turn out slowly...next thing i saw on my left was a bus sooooooo near me as he was trying to keep right to turn at the slip rd leading to tiong bahru rd. Of cos at tat moment i stopped moving, to my horror, the bus continued to 'squeeze' his way thru!! Nxt thing i heard was this loud croaking sound of the right rear of the bus brushing across my car's left front passenger seat!! And he juz drove off like tat!! I dun think he realised he knocked into my car..I was so shocked...no time to react...all i remembered was the licence plate no. The whole afternoon aft tat was making frustrating calls to SBS's so called hotline..either the line is engaged or they'll put u on hold for 10mins then voice recording will prompt u to call back later!! at last at 5pm i managed to speak to an operator and and she can tell me was 'oh, at tis time, the driver would finished his shift...can't contact him til tmr...' /'we'll contact the revelant bus interchange and check wif them'
I tried to explain tat under the silly MCF regulation, I've to report this accident within 24hrs otherwise i can't do my Third Party Claim...no way i'll do my own claim as this will affect my NCD..not fair if i've to pay additional premium for my car insurance nxt yr!!
I juz came frm my authorized wrkshop and now they said the damage is estimated to be abt $2.5k-$3k!! And I can't do 3rd party claim unless SBS Transit acknowledges the accident..I am SOOOO frustrated!! After so many calls to SBS plus a super long email...till now no response!! And it feels terrible to drive and look at my badly scarred car!! Even if i have to take up a civil lawsuit against SBS, i'll do so....dun care!! The reckless driving of irresponsible bus drivers must be stopped!! ARgggghh...

jaymickey
Tat was my mistake lor..... no 'experience' on accidents(hah!) so i didnt know wat to do... i didnt even had time to honk the bus, didnt occur to me to take down the licence plate no. of the taxi which was in front of me, at least he can witness... moreover i was rushing for time liao...aiyah, just feel damn suay!!! thankfully i am alrite...can't imagine if the impact was on my driver side..

mrs yap,
yes but NTUC doesnt carry NB size, the smallest is S size. so maybe i'll get S size(4-8kg) since i expect my boy to be a big baby as he's already 1.041kg at week 26!!! faintzzz..

this promo comes just nice coz my elder's pants hv run out! =P yipeee......

Li piggi,
ya, this aunt of my colleague has helped all her nephews n nieces to get a good maid! i'm relieved to hear tat her aunt is so experienced in this area and i dun hv to tell her much abt my criteria, and she told me herself tat all her maids are personally trained by herself.

my colleague's maid can speak good english so tat her elder son can learn from the maid, and she teaches him at home. she doesnt hv off-day, no HP allowed, she will go wherever the son goes(to the grandma's hse in the day/wkend), top priority is the son over household chores...etc.

i'm planning to receive the maid in around late July/early Aug, but if a good maid comes by, i dun mind to start her contract earlier.

Can U PM me your email addy? i'll let u hv her contact! =)

sunrays
glad tat u are alright despite the accident
its really heartpain to lose the $$ on car repairs. It ever happened to me n hb when we were driving on rented car in australia... need to pay for the damages as the driver ran away speeding

The only way we consoled ourselves is we are unhurt...

just to share...few of my colleagues who are mommies of 1-2 shared to buy NB diaper for 2-3 weeks supply, after 1st month, the bb should outgrow NB size and switch to S size...

sunrays, just a headup for you.. i have a colleague who was involved an accident with a SBS bus, also the driver just drive away... he called SBS.. and the SBS operator says need to investigate.one month later, my colleague tried to call SBS again, and they have totally forget the accident and says is too late for investigation.

so my advice is to call to check on status every one and den.

mickey: is the bbmall spree still on? sorry this is my 1st time spreeing n i'm not sure how to go abt it... do i post my orders here?

1) Mommy and Daddy were Showing Off Baby Bodysuit
[SKU 600101] - size 9-12m
url: http://www.babymallonline.com/catalog/product_info.php/cPath/28/products_id/602/osCsid/c8af7ccb32648f8baeb426902555e183

2) 5-Pack Pastel Bodysuits
[SKU 30110] - size 6-9mths (blue)
url: http://www.babymallonline.com/catalog/product_info.php/cPath/28/products_id/1123/osCsid/c8af7ccb32648f8baeb426902555e183

3) Baby-Says Bodysuits - Mommy/Daddy &amp; Brother Sayings
[SKU 60010] - size 3-6mths (Blue - if daddy says no ask mommy)
url: http://www.babymallonline.com/catalog/product_info.php/cPath/28/products_id/1295/osCsid/c8af7ccb32648f8baeb426902555e183

4) Baby-Says Bodysuits - Fresh Sayings for Boys
[SKU 60050] - size 3-6mths (Blue - I don’t sleep Nobody sleeps!)
url: http://www.babymallonline.com/catalog/product_info.php/cPath/28/products_id/1297/osCsid/c8af7ccb32648f8baeb426902555e183

pls let me knw the total cost in SGD n how i can trsf the pymt to u... sorry i v blur cos 1st time spreeing, tks

btw, in case u need my email, its [email protected]

eve
You can email mickey your orders for the BMO spree at [email protected]

sunrays
Oh dear.. I know how all these buses sometimes squeeze their way through. I am always wary of cabs &amp; buses. For accidents, it's always best to 'confront' the other party right there &amp; then. I have ever been involved in an accident with a lorry years ago.. the guy also hit &amp; run.. the entire bonnet of my car flipped open like a book on the road... but lucky my guy friend hopped out of my car &amp; ran after that idiot. So how, have you managed to contact SBS?

Sunrays: Glad that you are alright! Yah, the new criteria is so irritating! How in the world do we submit the claim if the other party don't respond? Doh!

Aloevera: Thanks for the update!! Oh, NTUC don't sell Nepia "NB" size?

Eve &amp; Jasmine: Mickey is using $1.43 as the exchange rate. Eve, you might want to list down the price in USD and the total cost so that its easier for mickey. Cheers!

Sunrays - luckily u are okie! Mommy &amp; baby more impt.

NTUC &amp; Nepia - think most have S or bigger sizes only? I checked once a couple of weeks back, and they stocked M-XL only, no NB or S sizes at that outlet.

big toes..

the day b4 i went NTUC xtra at amk cc... they got S size, bt selling at $16.95...

i tink call &amp; order still cheaper.. cos FREE delivery... just tat u got to order 4 pack at 1 go...

i think i'm gng to order via phone.. bt dun knw 1 2 order 1 pac NB 3 S or 2 NB 2 S.... hmmm....

jaymickey
oh the last maid was it an indon?only work for 2 day u aldy canot tahan? tat bad huh?...

aloevera,
Thanks so much! i've pm u my email.

Sunrays
Oh dear! luckily u r not hurt! ya better try to get in touch w SBS fast!

Sunrays: HUGS!!!! Thank goodness u are fine! And Charlotte too. I can understand how stressful and annoying it must be. I think th best is to write letter to ST Forum, c.c. to SBS transit. Best way! If not the bus company will conveniently forget. Also must keep paper trail!

FITTI NB/S: Anyone used this before?

PAMPERS: Is the range that most of you recommend PAMPERS PREMIUM? I found PAMPERS PREMIUM here.
NB 36 pcs = $8.65sg ( $0.24/pc)
S (3-8kg) 66 pcs = $18.45 ($0.28)
Cheap?

Jetstar: Phew! My ticket finally done.

FLYING JETSTAR: CAUTION!
Just to let those of you who fly Jetstar know the following:
1. Jetstar tickets are ALL subject to additional top-ups by you if you make changes to flight date
2. Reason: All Jetstar tickets are based on fare classes.

However, the catch is:
1. Fare classes of your ticket is NOT published on line and not made known to you
2. Airline says it is NOT their policy to reveal fare class, and that the ticket prices for your ticket fare class is also NOT released to you. This means, airline can decide what fare class and what charges to impose on you BUT NOT give you the info.

3. Jetstar told me that their BUSINESS SUPPORT UNIT is aware that it has failed to provide the passengers necessary info on fare class, and how tt affects ticket changes. However, despite that, they will still impose charge.

This essentially means that with Jetstar we are 'at their mercy' if we shd ever need to make flight changes cos they can quote prices based on a schedule not shown to us.

I also found out that Tiger operates differently. They only charge if new ticket is MORE expensive. Their T&amp;C are also much clearer. Tiger is the more honest of the two budget carriers.

hi all, just came back from JL sale at Marina Square, they're having a good deal on Carlson Wet Wipes $5.50 for 3 packs of 80s and if you're a member, its buy 2 get 1 free... but its really damn heavy so better get someone to go with you if you want to buy.

i'm also thinking of ordering Nepia online, i've gone to a few NTUCs and i have not seen the NB diapers being sold, furthermore like Jo said, if you buy direct from them there's free delivery.