(2008/09) Sep 2008

Sarahmay/Mei,

At least I think he's straight! He likes to charm aunties and girls with his cheeky smile. Has managed to charm one of the gals in his CC so far.

XuanMummy,
Pls update for me too.
Update List
==================
1) XuanMummy, Girl
2) Ava, Girls
3) aloevera, Boy
4) Angeline Goh, Girl
5) Mei, Boy, Name = Devon Gho
6) bigtoes, Boy, Name = Kieran Chai
7) Jasyeo80, Girl, EDD 24-09, KKH
8) mrsgan, girl, name = Janelle Gan
9) jaymickey, girl, Name = Janelle Lim
10) Gail (Cloud), boy, Name = Kieran Ee, Gynae: Dr Tan K T
11) lok, boy, name = Jonas
12) nick : bacon&egg
EDD: 6 Sept'08
hospital : NUH
Gynae : Prof PC Wong
13) nick:jgwee, hospital: Mt A, baby's name Matthias Tan
14) eve, Boy
15) Yun, BOY
16) nick : stef&seanbabes
EDD: 4 Sept'08
hospital : TMC
Gynae : Dr Eunice Chua
baby's name: Sharmaine Ng
17) nick : yan
EDD : 24 Sept'08
hospital : TMC
Gynae : Dr Adrian Woodworth
18) nick : T_T
EDD : 7 Sept'08
hospital : Mt A
Gynae : Dr Adrian Woodworth
19) nick : lanolin
hosptial : Mt E
Gynae : Dr Selina Chua
20) nick : Janf
EDD : 5 Sep
hosptial : TMC
Gynae : Dr Caroline Khi
21) Ruixiangsmom, boy, name = Ruiheng, Darren
22) Millie22, boy
23) Storm, EDD 29 Sept, Gal
24)Qiuling , EDD 17th Sep , Boy

sasa/sunrays: oh this Wong Boh Boi's June classes are full oredi
Her earliest slot is 22 Jul and it's too close to my EDD; ParentCraft advised me to go earlier...I'll join Nurse Chong's class this Fri so that I may end my 6 lessons by mid-Jul. It's really cheap, only $181.90!

SarahMay: I think you're rite. I was very kiasu. When I got my BFP, I went straight to see my gynae in my week 5 for my blood test, so the consultation cycles started from there. I went back subsequently in week 7+, 11+, 13+, 17+, 21+, 25+.

SarahMay: Yah, I heard from their meaner cousins from HK about how lax (idle & to some extent, dim) the Macanese can be. My hb and I were quite angry and frustrated by the hotel staff who didn't seem to understand what we were trying to ask.

Preggie: I also want to order from LittleDreamers...
Let me know how the spree progresses and how to make payment. Thanks dear!

1. Healing Bottom Spray
120ml Prod#: MC0026A S$15.50 (SALE $13.95)

2. Dry Confinement Powder
3.5 (vol) oz Prod#: MC0022 $15.00 (SALE $13.50)

Lok: Wah! Starting to worry abt his sexual orientation so young already? hehe. Yes, confirmed straight la. But beware he doesn't become heartbreaker! Hahaah.

Flos: Er...I must say in this one respect, the Hkers have got it right. Not mean...just very astute observation. hahaah...But then hor, Hkers also kind of say that abt us Singaporeans.

SarahMay: Nevermind, Macau is "economically colonised" by the HKrs and politically governed by the mainlanders. They will improve. First, they need to drop Portuguese.

About the HEALING BOTTOM SPRAY. My gf told me the hospital will give us a cooling medical disinfectant of sorts to dab on your private parts during our hospital stay. Is there then a need to use Little Dreamers spray?

If I'm gonna bathe daily with those yucky brown herbs, do I still need the CONFINEMENT POWDER?

Sarahmay,

Not worry lah. Just a "by-the-way" observation.

Flos,

I posted this earlier. In my case, though i bought the spray, I just need to use what the hospital provided. Threw the spray away in the end. Can't answer your query on the herbs though.

Lok: OK, my gf soaked her towel in brown herbal bath water, then wiped herself clean twice a day. She then deodorised herself with another hot towel soaked in sweet smelling Crabtree and Evelyn bath products. The breast area and private parts were cleaned differently.

She didn't wash her hair for a month, which she said was ok cos she delivered in Jan 07 when the weather was cool all the time. She told me Sept-Oct is also quite cooling. It's alrite to go without hairwash for a few days.

She only went to the salon to undergo a makeover after her 28 days of confinement, and yah, that was prior to her bb's first mth party

Flos
I intend to get the powder to dry-wash my hair in-between shampoos.. think I can shampoo my hair once a week during confinement. I wash my hair everyday, can't imagine washing even once a week.. so I'm getting the powder to tide me through..

Yeah, can imagine after the confinement, I'll need a major overhaul.. total body scrub, waxing, trimming & what nots.. lol.

Mickey & Flos: Yah, my fren has this GPS system & I find it quite irritating, I prefer my old good street directory! Keke!

Sasa: Sometimes I also feel a sudden hardening on my lower tummy & I thot it is bb stretching but not very painful. Maybe you call gynae to check? Mine is also 4 weeks, think into 3rd trimester then it will be 3 weeks, then two weeks then once a week.

Yeah, can't imagine the torture of not being able to wash my hair!!

Preggie: Spray
Oh I forgot about that spray they give at the hosp...that's quite good actually, so can I cancel my spray order? I'll keep the order for rest of the items...

cloud (lovelycloud) : I think we'll put the spree on hold first. Sorry about it. You can ask your friend to get it for you. I'm trying to get my hubby to get it in Toronto next week, if he can't get, then I'll get it online.

<font color="119911">wow, i am going to just shower &amp; wash my hair as per normal during confinement. Not sure how 'strict' the CL is about sticking to traditional confinement rules. Also, u ladies are getting the powder etc from LittleDreamers? Not sure if i should just wait &amp; see what the CL wants to use...
2nd time mommies - how strictly did you adhere to the confinement 'rules' (like not washing your hair)- is there even any logic to it all, or just old wives tale?</font>

<font color="0000ff">Mei
hehe... think they are the only ones conducting such swimming classes for babies hor..
muz have license one leh..

Flos
hhmm... so weird. i did my DS around wk21 oso i think... oh well.. nvm lah.. mayb i'll juz call to shift my appt by a few days.. hehe

oh, her classes are full????? she's realli popular de. gotta book her early.

since u dunno wat to buy le.. u prob have gotten everything already...

Lok
wah.. ur son early bloomer.. hehe
so cute leh he noes how to charm all the mei mei-s...

Sarah
hehe.. ur hb would be so excited to see bb for the first time

Bigtoes
think i'm gonna wash my hair and shower too... cant stand it</font>

mei,
i have watched the bb swimming lesson at harbourfront before. V cute..bb's legs were "paddling" and the parents were busy taking video of the process..

bigtoes,
bathing n washing of hair - i will do so once in 2-3 days. Will be using those herbal pack with hot water. Dont think I can stand not washing up for 1 mth. Think after the herbal bath, can drink a cup of hot red date tea to warm the body. Told also to quickly dry the hair with hair dryer and shut all windows when bathing n changing.

Big Toes: You've been to TMC's antenatal courses rite? What did Mrs Wong say abt confinement powder for hair? Can u shed some light on this? I also cannot stand not washing my hair for more than 2 days. If I dust the powder on my sticky scalp, wouldn't I look like Einstein with a whole head of white hair?!

storeberry: GPS screens are rather small. The verbal instructions are usually a tad slow. We missed a few exits becos of the split second delay.

mickey
I have seen babies during the swimming lesson &amp; they were kicking &amp; laughing away.. must be very enjoyable. The water is warm too.. so better for baby. I think the baby will also get a massage before/after the swimming session, really enjoy..

Bigtoes
That's my huge concern.. so the first question when I met up with my CL was whether I can shower &amp; wash my hair. My CL said of course.. especially when we are BF, we need to maintain hygiene.. so that's good. We can shower everyday as per normal with our shower foam.. but the water used has to be the boiled herbal water to rinse. As for shampoo.. also can use our normal shampoo &amp; also rinse with the herb water.. but can't shampoo everyday. For me, I hate the idea of not being able to shower &amp; shampoo as per normal.. but since I already employed a CL.. I guess just listen to her &amp; tolerate for a month..

bacon&amp;egg
So cute hor those babies.
Hey.. are you the one who got the St Ives cot too? What bedding did you get?

flos, i also just registered for the prenatal classes last week and was given the monday slot. went last night and think the nurse who conducted it is also taking the fri classes. there was this part when she talked about the confinement myths (which she referred to as "chinese myths" and pronounced "mirths") which made my silly hubby giggle non-stop, whispering "who are these chinese smurfs who say cannot bathe" into my ears. the session was quite enjoyable on the whole. some of the ladies i saw looked very advanced already. me wonders if they're having twins like ava.

flos, i'm looking for a non-rinse, non-powder shampoo. think it'll work better than powder ones cos apparently those will clog pores and aggravate the hair loss problem we'll already be facing then. have seen it somewhere before. just need to find it again. i also can't tahan not washing my hair for over a day. let me google it.

<font color="119911">Flos (flos) - Nope, my prenatal at TMC hasn't started yet - Mine starts at the end of this month. Btw, adding powder to an oily scalp = becomes more gross with oily sticky white bits (like dandruff)?

xuanting (xuanting) - is ur prenatal with TMC (at AMK Hub)? Ours is with Wong Boi Boi, but was told that her classes are really packed, &amp; half the time, u cannot see what is going on in front! Not sure if its such a good idea to opt for her classes on the hindsight!

Mei (meie) - I will have to shower everyday &amp; wash my hair at least once every other day. I heard of people who don't shower for 1 month (just wipe with wet towel) - and don't switch on the fan/aircon, yet still do the malay jamu wrap! Can't imagine how bad that would be, esp if the lochia flow is heavy..Yuucks...!</font>

xuanting
I got that in my goodie bag when I signed up for the Motherhood mag at the fair. Let me go back &amp; check who's the local distributor.

Edited to add : Cloud has given you the info.

Bigtoes
I know what you mean when you say yucks.. I also shower twice, sometimes even 3 times a day &amp; wash my hair during every shower. I intend to turn on my aircon 24/7 during my confinement.

bigtoes, i also tried to ask for mrs wong's class but they were all full and her next available classes would be too late for a sep edd so i had no choice but to sign up for the monday class. i think there were like 30 or so couples in all? the session was conducted with everyone seated on mattresses so it's still not so bad, still can see. but if you can go early and chope a good place, even better! must wear comfy clothes cos there will be some light stretching (ard 20mins) also.

thanks for the link, cloud. mei, thanks too.
i wonder if we may be able to find it in some of the hosp pharmacies here too. my mom's place is just behind ttsh. can walk over and look-see look-see.

taka got sale? over and above the one they're having now?

mei,
yes! i bought the st ives cot bed
also bought the blue green car range of bumper. Called for delivery earlier this week and they have stock! So i dont have to take the display set afterall..yipee!

xuanting,
the seating in Mrs Wong's classes are not pre-assigned? So must go there earlier to "chope" seats? stressful... Does she use a microphone when she is teaching? Even cant see her, can listen..should be ok?

Taka bb fair
Will there be 1 in august?

bacon&amp;egg
That's great! I bought 2 sets of bedding from MotherCare &amp; have been looking around for others.. but seems like other brands of bedding can't fit the mattress, the size is odd. I'm only getting my cot delivered in July.

mei,
which range of beddings did u buy? yeah i heard mothercare cot size is different..maybe thats how they make money!
Are you going to setup your cot in july? I am getting it delivered this mth end. And I heard some ppl dont want it setup until birth.

bacon&amp;eggs
I bought Teddy's Wash Day &amp; also some giraffe one that was on sale. I'm actually looking for extra fitted sheets as we'll change that more often, but all the other brands can't fit &amp; I also can't find flat sheets.

I'll be setting it up once it gets delivered.. just don't lay the beddings first, that's all, in case it gets dusty. I want to settle everything so we can relax &amp; await baby's arrival.

xuanting: you're going on Mondays? I've booked Fridays. Can't get Wong BB either. It's ok I suppose.

Yeah, Taka got sale again? Thot there's already a pretty decent sale now?

I think I'll wash my hair once every 2 days with a mild shampoo. I dun want to use non-rise either. For the body, I'll use the boiled herbal bath water. 24/7 aircon is already a norm at home now. So hot...My BBT has risen a lot in the last few weeks, so have my elec bills.

bacon&amp;eggs: me too! I bought the blue green car range. I didn't get the quilt though. think it's too hazardous and warm for the nb. by the time bb is old enuff to cover himself with the quilt, vain mama here would wanna change the design liao

Mei: you bot 2 sets of bedding? I thot u got the Teddy Wash only?

Big Toes: OIC. Yours later than mine then. I'll start on Fri. They managed to slot me in at the last minute cos I didn't request for Wong BB.

bacon&amp;eggs, the class i attended wasn't conducted by mrs wong but another staff nurse from tmc. free seating but most ppl like to sit at the back and the classroom isn't v big actually so wherever u sit, should still be okay. when is your class starting?

unique cot size: Ikea and Stokke ones too. Mothercare uses metric system, so I have to convert to inch as my mattress is 28"X52". I got the LONG BUMPER (can't cover fully) and the COT BED sheets (a bit bigger).

Ava, Mei, Sarah
i will go ahead with the orders tonight. Will get them to send to my place. Then we will decide then how we want to arrange k?

ava, will take out the healing spray! no probz

flos, the fri classes should be okay la. listen out for the "chinese smurfs"; if u hear that, then we have the same instructor!

Nurse Chong, was it? Mine's Nurse Chong

Like "House of Mirth", one of my favourite novels by Edith Wharton. LOL

the last session (Doc's Talk) will be at SCGS rite? Was told to wear comfy pants from Lessons 1-3.

Sasa de mouse: Did u get the Admission package from TMC? I just received it. Must we fill in the form now?

Flos
I got the giraffe one on another day, it was on sale for $48 only!

My mattress size is 70cm x 140cm which is 28" x 55", really odd size.

preggie
Please PM me for the arrangements &amp; payment.

antenatal class
I'll be 'graduating' from my class next week, so fast.

<font color="0000ff">Xuanting
hehe.... Smurfs!!!! my favourite.. muahahaha

Flos
admission package?? wat does it consist of? haha... if i'm not wrong, i think i received it months ago le.. unless tats not the one u are referring to

Mei
u 'graduating' from ur class le??? most of us haven even started our class yet...</font>

xuanting,
my class starts 21 June (sat) afternoon. looking forward..

Mei &amp; Flos,
I also bought the LONG bumper and it doesnt cover the whole cot..only 3 sides of the cot..weird rite? Only the humprey range could cover the whole cot but i didnt like the color.

Mei,
Which type of mattress did you buy from mothercare? foam or spring coil type?

ya, flos the last session's at scgs. i can't remember the nurse's name though... the lady at the registration counter mentioned that while it is not compulsory for husbands to attend the classes, it's best that they be present for at least the 3rd and 4th sessions. it's of course best if they can make it for all cos it's something fun to do together. my instructor mentioned that there are many dolls at the back for us to practise with; should be fun to watch our hubbies attempting to change their nappies.

am i too late to attend any classes? i delivering at mt e but not sure if they have any classes there leh. any outside class that i can attend with hubby?

sasa &amp; bacon&amp;egg
My class is at KKH, so it's different from the one offered at TMC.

bacon&amp;egg
I bought the foam mattress with CoolMax.

meie
maybe u can check with Cheong choon if they have yr mattress size. I saw mine yday... mine is 130X71cm. Saw that there are a variety of sizes there. Jus call and ask

preggie, u could call mt e up to ask? otherwise, u can also sign up for the tmc ones that are conducted at ang mo kio hub, but u'll need to pay a little more than mommies who are delivering at tmc.

Meie...
OIC... i will be going down to Aussino to look at their bedding later. Hopefully the size can fit. Looks quite nice on the web and selling for $69 only

MrsYap
I went already, cannot fit mine! Actually the other stuff can use lah, only the fitted sheet cannot.. there's a animal one that's really cute, I'm thinking of buying it, just give away the fitted sheet.