(2008/09) Sep 2008

sarahMay: most moms told me to stock up on wipes rather than diapers...well, i'll just sell my excess diapers and creams on SM to the Nov/Dec moms...what to do...heheh!

Carlson wipes: I think one mummy strongly recommended this yah? I saw John Little's Exclusive Star Buys list, Carlson Baby Wipes got Buy 2 Get 1 Free!

Shazz: Hey, don't take the actual weight of the bag to estimate shipping. The shipping cost is based on the higher of actual or volumetric weight (ie length x breadth x height of the box). So a lot depends on how the merchant packs the bag. I've ordered for both Lesportsac and Kate Spade. Shipping cost was not based on the actual weight, but volumetric weight.

Hope this info helps..

mickey: the carter diaper bag you ordered is so cute! but can't convert to stroller bag like Skip Hop right? thanks for the info on the volumetric weight. First time ordering and sending to Borderlinx, seems like they charge according to actual weight, need to get the merchant to pack the bags as compact as possible in one package.

shazz: which car r u eyeing on? Hee...we also went to look at cars last weekend too...My hb, not me, used to drive Volvo S80 in China and Murano 3.5l in Dubai. Honestly, I cannot handle large vehicles, so my hb is quite frustrated by the ltd no. of family vehicles we can pick. He needs to buy a car I can cope with in his absence (as he travels a lot).

I so desperately need to attend refresher driving course...I will be lost in SG...am so scared of driving my prince to town without my hb.

<font color="119911">mickey (bbmouse) - you got my fund transfer this morning ya?
Btw, I think we need to stick to smallish items for all sprees - stuff like bulky bedding set &amp; bags would add ALOT to the shipping charges...I ordered a small weighing scale from US the last time &amp; cos it was made of glass, they ended up packing it with loads of plastic padding filled with air. Cost of weighing scale = US$30+, cost of shipping = S$220+</font>

Shazz: I used Borderlinx when I ordered Kate Spade. Same as vpost and cwg, they use the higher of actual or volumetric weight.

What is the function of a stroller bag? That it can be hung on the stroller or what? If so, all bags can leh. It actually depends on the stroller more than the bag, cos some strollers will fall backwards if you hang the diaper bag at the back. *ooops*

Bigtoes: Yah, for your trasnfer. Your experience in shipping is a painful one..
Sorry..

Flos, Shazz: Try the Estima! Good and economical..
Think there's a mum here who's bought this recently.

Aloevera: When you mention Pureen - is it for the disposables or cloth??? Me a bit confused.

Desitin: I dunno la...I already have one tube. See how first . Dun think need to apply every time after change and bath though cos I read that it can actually make bb skin more susceptible to rash. So shd use on a need basis.

Wipes: Stock up like how much?

hi lim(xuanmommy),

pls update for me too! tks

Update List
==================
1) XuanMummy, Girl
2) Ava, Girls
3) aloevera, Boy
4) Angeline Goh, Girl
5) Mei, Boy, Name = Devon Gho
6) bigtoes, Boy, Name = Kieran Chai
7) Jasyeo80, Girl, EDD 24-09, KKH
8) mrsgan, girl, name = Janelle Gan
9) jaymickey, girl, Name = Janelle Lim
10) Gail (Cloud), boy, Name = Kieran Ee, Gynae: Dr Tan K T
11) lok, boy, name = Jonas
12) nick : bacon&amp;egg
EDD: 6 Sept'08
hospital : NUH
Gynae : Prof PC Wong
13) nick:jgwee, hospital: Mt A, baby's name Matthias Tan
14) eve, Boy
15) Yun, BOY
16) nick : stef&amp;seanbabes
EDD: 4 Sept'08
hospital : TMC
Gynae : Dr Eunice Chua
baby's name: Sharmaine Ng
17) nick : yan
EDD : 24 Sept'08
Gynae : Dr Adrian Woodworth

Flos: we're eyeing a 2nd hand Renault Grand Scenic. The length is slightly shorter than the Honda Stream. Hubby likes the drive of the Renault, and how family focused they are. It's a 7 seater, but when not the last row is not in use, it has ample boot space, which is what we need now with the bulky stroller. The price is good for us too, considering the fact that the first owner already lost about $20-30k in 1.5 years. Plus hubby intends to get a cabriolet as 2nd car, so we need a family oriented car.

sarahmay,
i mentioned both, nappy n diapers. =) u r not confused la, u didnt see wrongly. =) i was replying to u and shazz separately.

the nappy u want is double-layered, but i forgot the price liao... and think kiddy palace is selling it, but at nett price. =)

Ava: it's difficult to tell you the actual shipping cost now, cos it depends on how the merchant will pack the bag etc. But all in all, here's an example of how my bag, which costs US$65 will be:

shipping from merchant to Borderlinx: US$10.03/3
cost of bag: US$65
Total in US$: US$68.34
Est exchange rate: 1.42
Total in S$: S$97.05
Shipping from Borderlinx:
if 5kg $39.91/3 - $13.30/ bag
if 7kg SG$ 49.35/3 - $16.45 / bag

So total can be $110.35 or $113.50

How much is Mothercare selling the bag?

Yea, understooded re: shipping costs.
Twin bag at Mothercare $280. *bloodyhell* and they only had plain black.

I still like the Camou tho....tempted...

mickey: Estima is nice ... but too huge for me to handle! hehe ... plus I'm very used to continental cars, so likely to get the Renault if we switch.

actually, I'm fine with my current car too ... so used to the size and love the drive and handling. So it's a downgrade for me if we change car ;p

Ava and Cloud: yes, the camou bag looks good! let me know which website you prefer to order from, so I can roll off the spree properly.

Wow! Mothercare selling the bag so exp! *faint*
the blue clearance bag: about S$89 or $92, thereabout including shipping.

hi lim(xuanmommy),

pls update for me too! Thanks!!!

Update List
==================
1) XuanMummy, Girl
2) Ava, Girls
3) aloevera, Boy
4) Angeline Goh, Girl
14) eve, Boy
15) Yun, BOY
18) nick : T_T
EDD : 7 Sept'08
hospital : Mt A

I had a busy &amp; frustrating day at work, hence no time to read thru the posts &amp; chat... thank goodness can knock-off soon...

sasa
I had braxton hicks last week.. my whole tummy tightened &amp; hardened &amp; felt slightly crampy, I also had difficulty walking properly. But the feeling went away after a while.

shazz/mickey: ok, tks. I'm no car expert. we'll shop around more. We kinda like stream, wish (but many taxis are using that!), picnic, airwave (any comments on that?). These look like cars I can manage. I hv no idea how estima looks like.

TOTAL BB SHOPPING EXPENSES: May I know how much u all hv spent so far? I think only lanolin has posted her expenditure to date = $3K. I need to calculate tonite. I cannot think of anything else to buy now...Maybe some cotton buds?

Mei: I hope u r ok now
I only experienced once, Braxton Hicks, that is.

Ava: Hehehh! why "yummy"? Looks like 九层糕 izit?! LOL. it's a Paul Smith trademark stripe design. Nice

Flos
Thanks! I'm ok already.. suffered it once last week.. gave me a huge fright! Well, at least now I know how braxton feels like.

Flos
We didnt like Stream and Wish cos too small. Stream 3rd row seats almost touching the back window screen...Wish doesnt have 3rd row aircon and boot space not as good as Picnic. Airwave too small for us.

Yummy: I'm just a foodie and am hungry now, so use "yummy" for anything I think is nice...

Flos: Robinson also selling Nuby? Didn't know that! But don't know if they are selling more ex or not.. Hopefully BMO is cheaper, *cross my fingers*

I saw some nice diaper bags from toysrus webby (not the local ones.)

Mickey: I also aiming at the carters diaper bag but too bad no more stocks liao. Shall wait &amp; see.. I also intend to use cotton wool soaked with water in the begining cos bb's skin still sesitive.
Yah let us know the Angel's wipe contacts!

Sorry, you received my top-up funds &amp; new order?

Sarahmay: Think wipes are easily available, no need to stock up too much? The most is use cotton wool with water. I bought about 4 packets of Pigeon wipes &amp; one Tollyjoy one. But seem like TJ is not so gd, might go back robinson &amp; change..

Shazz &amp; Ava: The bags looks good!! But I think I will not spend so much on diaper bag.. Poor mummy.. Kekek..

Shazz
Would it be more cost effective to get more orders or not...thinking of asking in the twins thread if anyone wants to order...

latex mattress:
anyone knows if babysafe brand or cheeky bon bon latex mattress is better ? babysafe warranty is only 2 yrs, but cheeky bon bon is 5 yrs warranty.
furthermore cheeky bon bon is cheaper at $149 vs babysafe at $185 for a 52x28x3" mattress

Braxton Hicks: I read that we're likely to experience it more often from week 27 onwards. This is to prepare our body for labour. =)

Flos: My colleague is driving the Airwave, she said fuel consumption is good, easy to handle and park cos it's not too long. She got a 18mths toddler and a newborn baby, plus a maid. The car is meeting her needs perfectly.

Like Ava said, most MPV with 7 seaters, their problem is that when the 3rd row seat is in use, they're almost touching the back window screen and no boot space.

But like I said earlier on, it depends on how many kids you plan to have. ;)

Shazz: The bag you posted looks very yummy!
I estimate (from the size of the bag lah, that the shipping could be in the region of $20/bag)
let me know if I'm close or not ok? Kekeke..
Even though it's a Jap car, when I test-drove it, it didn't feel light-weight at all. I was pleasantly surprised cos, like you, I've always driven continental cars - BMW before I got married, and now a Merz.. And the Estima is comparable in it's "heavy-weight".

Flos: You lok around when you're on the road. There're many estimas around..
But the older model is quite yucky looking.. Look out for the nicer looking ones, those will be the new models.

Storeberry: No more stock? So fast.. I was thinking if I want to order another one in Pink.. Kekeke..
Haven't checked my email and bank account. Will let you know if I don't receive ok?

stef&amp;seanbabes, i just bought a babysafe mattress from kiddy palace at TPY, original price $165 members have 20% discount so I paid $132 for it, you can actually sign up as a member first (just pay $10) and you can use it to pay for the mattress. I was also considering between cheeky bon bon and babysafe.

stef&amp;seanbabes (limyg) : the SA at Kiddy Palace told me BabySafe is better for their latex mattress. If you get it before end June, there's 20% off for BabySafe, end up $148, whereas cheeky non bon is nett price of $149, no more discount.

Ava: the spree will definitely be more cost effective if we have more orders! =) pls ask the mummies in twins thread!

Mickey: will keep you posted on your estimate! =) Estima is good lah, but too huge for me to handle! haha ... am driving a BMW 3 series, anything bigger than a 5 series, I can't handle!

hey ladies

need to check with you gals
i think baby has turned coz i feel kicking at the top of my stomach instead of near my bladder for the first time. feels farnie
will bb stay that way or it'll continue to keep turning until EDD

Shazz: It s a matter of getting used to lah. After u ve driven a "long" car, then u'll be able to handle anything smaller easily.
I've never driven the 5 or 6 series, only the 3 and 7. 7 is huge! Was a nitemare when I parked it first fewtimes at CDB building carpark. The surround sensors went beeping non-stop. *scary*

preggie- mine also moving around inside.. can feel the kick at one spot and the other moment the other.. recently been kicking hard sia.. can see my stomach pop up so hard

mickey: agree it's a matter of getting used to it. But I dun even dare to test drive the intimidating long cars, so it's definitely out for me! I test-drove the 650 Cabrio, darn scary, drove abit and I changed over with my hubby! lolz, too chicken on the road

preggie (preggieblues) : it's normal. the fetus will kick anywhere! sometimes I feel the little one drumming on the inside, near my anus! they change their position from time to time. And sometimes it feels like the little one is moving furniture around his little "house" inside my tummy! ehehe ... sometimes I really enjoy it, epecially when I'm in a meeting, or in church, cos it feels like i'm the only one who's experiencing it then.

koras (koras) : i know wat you mean! I wear alot of accessories, mainly long necklace. Sometimes out of no where, the necklace resting on my tummy will suddenly shake! Haha ... I will be very amused cos it seems like a turbulence in my tummy! haha

hello hello!!!

Flos : my 3K expense includes like shelving / shoe racks that I got from Ikea + things for helper's room. So if we only count baby stuff, I think about 1.5K. We bought the same Preg P3!!!! (ie the white one). I was worried thatit will get v dirty but what the heck la. I couldn't handle the Stokke and close it myself.

hi lim(xuanmommy),

pls update for me too! Thanks!!!

Update List
==================
1) XuanMummy, Girl
2) Ava, Girls
3) aloevera, Boy
4) Angeline Goh, Girl
14) eve, Boy
15) Yun, BOY
19) nick : lanolin
hosptial : Mt E
Gynae : Dr Selina Chua

lanolin: u too? *hi5* heheh...we share the same taste then
But u know, the white handles will definitely get dirty in a few mths time. did u get the car seat in the end?

shazz: 3 series is still manageable for me. I think 7 series is totally out. before marriage, i drove a kompressor with great ease, but after marriage, i've degenerated into a hopeless damsel in distress...always waiting for hb to pick me up, cos the roads in china and middle east were too 'treacherous' for me to handle.

Shazz: maybe just consider one kid for now. I dunno how soon I'll pop a second one

mickey: *APPLAUSE* u r really brave to drive the 7 series!!! my dad offered many times to let me take his 7 series out to run my bb errands (becos ah lao not in town) but i declined cos I was too fearful to take on the wheels. It's too long liao lah. scared scared...

We were peeking at people's MPVs and SUVs at the huge carpark at Expo last weekend!!!

ava: I didn't know the third rows of stream and wish are so cramped We need to test drive those u mentioned. Airwave looks quite small too...anyone drive the odyssey? So may I know if u r driving the Picnic?

storeberry: Yes, I couldn't find Nuby sippy cups, and all those colouful BPA free straw non-spill tumblers, containers, and spoons anywhere in the bb stores. Was delighted to find them at Robs. I think it shd be cheaper on BMO for sure cos u all are buying in bulk. The only reason why I'm getting from Robs is cos I hv some cash vouchers to spend.

Need to check if Nuby bottles fit into the Avent IQ24 steriliser.

SarahMay: I forgot to inform u that to get a dependant visa in many countries, u need to take an X-ray. I think u need to wait till u've delivered to take X-ray. U can forget abt applying for a long-stay Dependant Visa for now.

Flos: yes, the 3 series is good size for ladies, that's why so many ladies driving it. =) I think in the meantime, while we still dunno how many kids we want to have, we'll just have to factor in space for 2 child seats and ample boot space.

We narrowed down to the Renault Scenic and Honda Stream. But hubby is leaning towards the Renault. I'm ok with both, I think can install those rear view camera to assist in parking if you're threatened by the length and bulk of MPVs. I encourage you to go and test drive the cars you've shortlisted, then look at the resale value etc, cos hubby discovered that it's ridiculous to buy the Renault brand new cos the depreciation per year is scary, 2 x more than Beemers! The depreciation for Stream is rather ok, as their resale value is there, due to it's popularity. Some people buy cars without thinking of all these, cos when they bought, they all thought they will drive for long term. But for us, we look at what our exit strategies are before we commit, meaning, if we decide we want to sell the car, how much losses are we looking at.

A useful webbie is: http://www.sgcarmart.com/main/index.php

Hubby goes to this website to see what's the resale, market value of cars.

Update List
==================
1) XuanMummy, Girl
2) Ava, Girls
3) aloevera, Boy
4) Angeline Goh, Girl
14) eve, Boy
15) Yun, BOY
19) nick : lanolin
hosptial : Mt E
Gynae : Dr Selina Chua
20) nick : Janf
EDD : 5 Sep
hosptial : TMC
Gynae : Dr Caroline Khi

wet wipes: i bot Carlson Baby Wipes from JL. $5.50 for 1pack (3packs of 80shts each). a number of my gfrens rec it so i bot a few packs to stock up..

Flos - I didn't get the car seat. We got a second hand maxi cosi and will use that first and then get a proper car seat when he is ready to sit upright.

Re big cars - I recently scratched the side of our merc while going down office carpark. Wail. Fortunately (well, depends on how u see it), it's a 12 yr old car so it's not so bad I guess.

Re MPVs - I heard that Ford just came out with one with good reviews on the papers. I prefer continental cars as well so if that's true, perhaps u may want to consider.

Baby bags- I got one from OiOi. U can check out the website.

Flos: Oh! Macau is different. They super lax. All they require is finger printing for criminal record check. No medical checks required. Even my hubby also didn't need. Hahaa. They are just super slow in processing lor.

CONTINENTAL CARS: though I'm not a car owner, i also prefer them to Jap cars as they are more sturdy. Jap makes tend to be lighter on the road. But in SG, we don't get typhoons etc so no big deal. However, with FORD, i've got bad experience. They may seem to be continental but the times I've driven in them .... they not so stable and i nearly got into a freak accident in the Mondeo.

CARLSON: Those wipes are cheap!!! Is that regular price?

Preggie: You are not the only one. I also love to tell my bb to kick me. hahah. He is especially active in wee hours of the morning.

Flos: I drove the 7 when my 3 is in the workshop.. It's only scary when going up the rungs at the carpark, parking is ok. Ane ironically, the thing that makes it a nitemare are the sensors. They kept beeping, but once you get used to them by shutting off, it's fine..

Shazz: Happy car shopping.. Can consider the Volvo XC 90? I test-drove this as well. In terms of weight, this feels almost the same as the Estima (this is how heavy the Estima is). The downside for the XC 90 is I can feel a drag when going uphill. Another negative point is it's very difficult to move to the 3rd row, very tight. And there is practically no boot space.

Babymall Spree - Have taken orders from Sunrays, Cloud, Mrs Gan, Mei, Twendy, Storeberry, BigToes and Pinkygal. Have another abt USD50 to go before closing the spree..
All payment received except for PinkyGal.