(2008/09) Sep 2008

Thanks Shazz: You are super good with all the prices!!!

Pet Pet: eeks! I hear it is M'sian so it is not very good. Fitti I'm familiar with cos grew up with it. But not sure of the quality.

Goo.N: Looks like this is a really good one. even better than Nepia. I think I'm going to order Nepia when I'm back in Sg in July. Hehe. THen, maybe buy one pack of Huggies and Fitti from here since it's cheap. Hehe.

BIGTOES: Hmm. You know where we can find out the details? Do both hub and wife need to be around? Thanks!

Cordlife:

I'm a supporter of cordblood banking. And at the same time, I will ensure adequate insurance (within my means).

Sharing my thinking:
Currently, cordblood is largely used for blood-related disease.

Limited application indeed but its potential (not fully exploited yet and still at infancy research stage) is really in treating degenerative diseases e.g. Alzehmier (not sure how to spell). These are the type of scary diseases that will affect ageing population. There is talk about it being used for say diabetes etc. (of cos,all still at research stage again). The perceived beauty of cordblood is its naivety and ability to mutate into any cells and hence regenerate the defective cells (imagine it takes 50-60 years for the cells to degenerate, so if cordblood can add another 10-20 yrs, it's still I think a good deal). So I'm taking a bet but still I feel it's a bet worthwhile taking for a manageable $250 a year. This argument becomes more compelling for me as I see my family being hit by some of these diseases and therefore my kids run the risk of inheriting it.

mayb u all would like to talk to the sales repre from cordlife or stemcord b4 u all decide to keep the cordblood... there's no charges all all.. i met 1 sales repre from cordlife 2 weeks back... there's no charges at all...

she had explain the cordlfe thingy to us... and we oso throw her some questions.... and... we cum to know some limitations... which nw my HB and I still thinking whether 1 2 keep anot....

mayb u may 1 2 talk to them and understd more b4 deciding...

SarahMay: you're most welcomed! Just happened to do some shopping so the auntie in me noted the prices in my pda! hehe

if you're intending to order from Nepia, please do so before 30 June.

Ave: sorry I forgot to reply to your question.

Nepia Promo
$14 per pack (usual $16) + Free Delivery. Promo valid till 30 June 2008
Min 4 packs to qualify for free delivery.
Call 6226 2650 to order

xuanting,
mostly dissipated..painted early last week. we go there every nite to check on the progress + open the windows to air the house.

Ladies, yes - pls contact them both & make an informed decision yourself. One of those major decisions you need to make.
I met up with the CordLife lady some time back & spoke at length with the public bank as well.
Meanwhile, I read that there has also been preliminary research indicating that menstrual blood may have the same regenerative property as cord blood....but obviously some time before that becomes commercially viable.

hi lim(xuanmommy),

pls update for me too! tks

Update List
==================
1) XuanMummy, Girl
2) Ava, Girls
3) aloevera, Boy
4) Angeline Goh, Girl
5) Mei, Boy, Name = Devon Gho
6) bigtoes, Boy, Name = Kieran Chai
7) Jasyeo80, Girl, EDD 24-09, KKH
8) mrsgan, girl, name = Janelle Gan
9) jaymickey, girl, Name = Janelle Lim
10) Gail (Cloud), boy, Name = Kieran Ee, Gynae: Dr Tan K T
11) lok, boy, name = Jonas
12) nick : bacon&egg
EDD: 6 Sept'08
hospital : NUH
Gynae : Prof PC Wong
13) nick:jgwee, hospital: Mt A, baby's name Matthias Tan
14) eve, Boy

thanks Bigtoes, Jaymickey, Lok, Jo for your insights!

will discuss with hubby on this.

by the way, not sure if I mentioned this before, I had a friend who used to work with StemCord or Cordlife, and she quit cos she felt bad about her job! She said she herself if not convinced on whether the stored blood is of any use anot! She left depite the good pay and commission, but most importantly, she can't sleep in peace lah! How to sell something you don't believe in and yet still try to convince others?

what a busy weekeend here! I've forgotten all abt diaper bags! There aren't a lot of choices at KS Raffles City now, huh? I'll wait for GSS to end to see if they replenish their stocks.

Shazz/sunrays/Jessi: I've never been to BB Avenue before!! The GSS price offered by BB hyperstore for that 07 model is $488.

The car seat, I recall, is about $418 like what shazz said lor. I hvn't bot the car seat yet. Wondering if I'll need it after being discharged from TMC. I saw a total of 5 moms with nbs holding their babe in their arms and not buckling them up in the car seats. Checked with a few colleagues who said they all held their bbs in their arms. No one buckled their nbs in car seats leh...

In that light, should I buy it later, say wait for the Christmas sale when bb is about 3 mths old, just abt old enuff to get out of my house?

I think stroller with parts made in China/Taiwan are ok too lah, as they are meant to serve a diff group of consumers who place utmost importance on weight. I notice some of them cost more than certain European strollers.

sasa: No leh...I asked Dr Cheng to tell me the weight, but he says not much of diff at this stage. Most likely 600-700grams. The phenomenal growth takes place in tri 3. that's when bb's weight/height etc will be more firmed up. He also measured my tummy circumference. Scanned the bb to show us it's healthy and very much alive. Told me my urine is normal. He also dissuaded me from taking another trip (I had wanted to go to HK to shop during their upcoming summer sale)...

Cordlife: Think I might donate to the public bank too. More interested in insurance and endowments for bb. Consulted NTUC Income so far only. But we can only start the policy when the bb is born so we hv more time to consider other policies.

SarahMay: Hv u done your bb shopping yet in Macau? If u r not comig home this time, u will miss the GSS. R u going to go to HK for the summer sale?

How soon are u going to bring Elisha to Macau? 3 mths or 6 mths? U need to take him to the studio to take a photo to apply for his passport, I hope u hv been told abt this! Hv u also sorted out your dependant visa thingie with the Macua immigration authorities?

I had to undergo several rounds of health checks to get my mainland Chinese dependant visa, not sure how Macau one works. Those with kids will not be spared. Not sure abt babies.

Shazz: Can I order online via email? i will most probably not be back till July la...So cannot call and order...unless I order and send to my Mum's place. hehe. Thanks so much for your help in providing all the useful info!

Goldfish.. i heard quite alot of good feedback abt Nepia leh... soft & comfortable... $14 for 60pcs... if u order b4 30/6 which is oli $0.23 per pc.... quite cheap leh...

NEPIA
Diaper Tape:
New born 60's (up to 5kg) $0.23/pc
Small 54's (4-8kg) $0.26/pc
Medium 48's (6-12kg) $0.29/pc
Large 42's (9-14kg) $0.33/pc

Diaper Pants:
Large 30's (9-14kg) $0.47/pc
X-large 26's (12-19kg) $0.54/pc

All diapers at $14 / pack (valid till 30 June 2008)

Goldfish,

Littledreamers is very near for u since u stay in Bishan. It's at Jln Pemimpin (Tat Ann Building), near to Rafflesia / RJC.

Shazz: Sorry again...since u are so good with noting prices. Got any clue on how much the cloth diapers from Anakku, Pigeon cost as compared to those sold at neighbourhood shops?

Flos: Thanks for your info. Macau is damn lax and super slow. I will only take bb prob when he is 2-3 months. So I know about the photo thing. I can't apply for my dependent visa cos they are taking soooooo long to process. Won't be here to do my fingerprinting. As for GSS, I'm not all of you shopping for big ticket items. So works out tt I will still save money by staying in MO till July. Also, I have only the necessities like diapering stuff to buy.

However, not sure if I will yet cos clinic is closed today. Going in trow to do a check-up. If I feel tt their scan/ consultation & care not up to mark, fly back on Fri. the local hospital takes weeks to slot me in for scan. But the pte clinic I'm going to shd be walk-in.

HK - got bird flu now. Just saw in papers yday. So not going. Not worth it.

SarahMay: Anakku cloth nappy costs $19.90 Pigeon is $25.90. Most places have them at promo or nett price, so no discount.

Didn't go to any neighbourhood store, just shopped at major dept stores and Kiddy palace.

bacon&egg, wa, every night. must be quite tiring. i go back to see mine about once a week but lately i don't go in anymore cos it's really messy. u've got all your furniture in storage or u buying all brand new?

diapers and diaper creams:

My gf told me last nite that bb girls tend to get nappy rashes more easily than bb boys, for obvious reasons. She bot 2 tubes of Desitin creams and had never used it on her boy before!

Hahah! I hv stocked up 4 tubes of Desitins. Wonder if I will use them all up.

Shazz: your hb was soooo funny! Stock up for World War!!! true true!! I also nagged at my hb for grabbing one carton of pampers from the motherhood exhibition
Guess we just wanted to make our trip to Expo worthwhile (parking $2.14) cos we didn't see anything we needed from the Fair!! KEKEKE!

Ava: r u renovating your place? Why are u enquiring abt HaierLiving?

Stef&sean: Is HaierLiving from China? Same Haier as the Shantong electrical appliance brand?

I went to many furniture warehouses last weekend to hunt for cabinets, sofas, TV consoles, etc. Didn't do much bb shopping as well. I bot a new sofa and console in the end
Great bargain they hv now!!

storebrry: I notice u ordered some Nuby utensils from BMO. They are sold at Robinsons too and most likely I'll get them from there cos I've OCBC card and some Robs vouchers.

Do u know if they can be sterilised in a standard Avent Steriliser? I'm not sure if I wanna get my sippy cups & spoons from Nuby or Munchkin.

<font color="ff0000">Christmas Sale</font>: 2nd/3rd-time moms, do u rem attending a BB Sale of similar scale as the annual GSS last/every Christmas? Would u advise me to wait till Christmas to grab certain items (i.e. those suitable for 6mos and above) in Dec, rather than rushing to stock everything up now in Jun? Many items come with expiry dates...

xuanting,
quite alrite..feels good to see yr home slowly taking shape.
all my old furniture are in storage...v expensive...planning to retain most furnitures except tv consort, sofa and dining table. U?

<font color="119911">shazz (shazzerlyn) - haha, maybe we met ur friend from StemCord.
The lady was not even convincing at all - she seemed quite sceptical herself, telling us that nothing is provern, blah blah...we were wondering if she made any sales or if it was commission based or just flat salary!

NEPIA - i called them this morning, and the lady said free delivery for 1 packet ($14). Think she meant 4 packets then? Am thinking of getting the small ones (4-8kg), but if we buy in bulk (4 packets) - what if the diapers are not suitable for baby? Then end up with alot of excess stock. I went to check NTUC the other day, and they don't seem to have NB/S sizes, just the larger ones.</font>

Shazz: Thanks for the info on Nepia. I can't remember hte NB is until how many kg.. Good thing you put it here.. I'll order closer end of June..

Did you ask me abt the Medela spree? I didn't go ahead in the end. Joined another organiser.. Kekekek..

Nepia
but the downside is tat the diaper cant absorb much and it will break if it's full, esp so with pull-up pants! but for NB, i guess it's ok since they are not so active yet.

I guess I will switch to Pureen diapers once he outgrows the size Small. Pureen is one of the brands that is anti-bacterial.

SarahMay, Pureen nappy is double-layered. the nappy is sewn together, it's very good to use it as a NB pillow and bed protector. this is one good nappy tat i will recommend to new mummies. =)

bacon&amp;egg, storage is expensive! we enquired around and got some quotes but in the end decided to build a temp store room in our living room (last to be hacked) to store our things while the other rooms are being done. we're renting now so really can't afford to pay for storage also. we're reusing most of our furniture except for the sofa set. hope there'll be enough $ left to get a nice sofa set and some nice lightings. this isn't quite the best time to renovate cos materials costs are up, but no choice.

isn't it great to finally be able to move in and be able to do up your bb's room?

xuanting,
ya, cost $10/per day to store. no choice, we dont have much space cos staying with in-laws. So far we have already incurred $900 of storage charges...so cant wait to move!

We r v excited..to get back our own space again..the past mths have been tough. my hubby already ordered wallpaper for the bb's room..v kanchiong..

Aloevera: thanks for your recommendation! How much is Pureen and how many pieces? I'm getting them for BF times, bathing etc...

Shazz: Thanks! You are super resourceful - so how many pcs in each pack? 10? Pigeon is so ex!!!

DESITIN: My SIL says her one tube (bot from US, not sure the size) lasts 6 months. She is giving me one tube. Dunno how long tt will last. Flos - the most you just sell off the excess.

aloevera (loever) : Pureen diapers good ah? Kiddy Palace got promo for them now, quite cheap if I recall.

SarahMay: think they only accept orders via phone now. Can ask your mummy to help you order? Cloth nappies: yes 10 pcs only for all. I was checking them out before I bought BumWear.

Bigtoes: my friend already left her job even before I got preggy! so can't be her! But i think their sales people are under alot of stress lor, trying to sell things they don't believe in. As for Nepia, you can mix and match the sizes. Supposed you ordered 4 packs of NB, but your baby outgrew it and you have unopened packets, can still order and tell them you want to exchange for other sizes.

Cloud: let me work out if the cost is better to order from skip hop with the shipping etc, will post here again.

mickey: I have the leaflet from Nepia with me so can type out! hehe. Medela, I waiting for their email to tell me how much is shipping before I proceed with my purchase.

Flos: hubby being sarcastic lor! Hmmn, on buying the car seat 3 mths later, I think you won't get much mileage out of it since baby will outgrow it by 13kg max. If you're not getting a car, then you can skip it for now. But if you're getting a car, you may want to consider, if u want to get a car seat like Britax that can sit from infant till much older. For me, hubby wanted to use the car adaptor and keep the huge bassinet for our stroller at home cos it's bulky, so he wanted the Primo Viaggio tri-fix. Here's how it'll look like on our stroller.

1477242.jpg

Nepia go wipes? How big is each sheet?

Kodomo's wipes are also having a promo 3X70 = $6+ but the no. of sheets and size of per sheet is smaller than other brands.

Lok: OK, I'll buy sippy cups in Dec then.

Pureen: weren't Pureen products on sale a few weeks ago at Marina Square podium? Saw a lot of parents grabbing the toiletries...

Baby Wipes: I recommend Angel Wipes. There is also a tel delivery number. But I lost the number.. Good thing I still have quite a lot in stock..

Flos: Kodomo wipes are much thinner and I feel they are not as "wet" as Pigeon or Angels.
If you wanna use Kodomo, can wait for Watsons sale. Then can get it for $1.99 each packet and buy 10 get 1 free.

shazz: oh, so u were the one who go SKATE! Hey, it looks nice with the car adaptor, boy!

Yes, for sure we'll be getting a car. My ah lao was quite tired from furniture shopping last wkend, so he told me to postpone the car seat shopping till he gets a car, possibly in Aug.

I see that many mommies here are getting the Britax? The Pliko P3, unfortunately, is not a travel system. The car seat Primo Viaggio must be placed on, not latched onto, top of the stroller seat.

Are u still getting the Graco green+blue playpen? I saw it at Robs yday. It's going for $239 I think. It's a lovely design.

Hi Lim,
hi lim(xuanmommy),

Update List
==================
1) XuanMummy, Girl
2) Ava, Girls
3) aloevera, Boy
4) Angeline Goh, Girl
12) nick : bacon&amp;egg
14) eve, Boy
15) Yun, BOY

Ava: OIC.

Mickey: Alrite, I dun think I'll get Kodomo then. I've never heard of Angel. I saw Aprica wipes at Robs yday. I most likely will get Pigeon wipes from Cheong Choon later. My friend told me not to stock up cos they will dry up. Is it true?

SarahMay: Abt those Desitin creams. I really dunno how many tubes we need. My bro told me his son require one tube per month. I was quite worried, so I bot 4 tubes since TMC was having a Desiti promo. The expiry date is Aug 09, so still got 11 mths to go if I give birth in Sep 08. Wonder if it's rite to slather zinc oxide on bb's bum every day.

WIPES: Smaller is ok right? Cos bb bum like not very big right? Also, I asked this question sometime back but no answer : True that we shd refrain from using wipes and cream till after bb is 1mth or older? Cos the chemical build-up on skin isn't ideal?

Flos: I dunno how big or small the wipes are for Nepia. But it looks ok to me. Hehe.

Mickey: Wah! Kodomo so cheap?!!! Where to find the number for angel ? What is the minimal order? And how much wipes do we go through in a month? Like one pack a week or what?

LITTLE DREAMERS SPREE: Is this spree going to be happening? Cos I really want to get stuff and will be glad to share!

hi lim(xuanmommy),

Update List
==================
1) XuanMummy, Girl
2) Ava, Girls
3) aloevera, Boy
4) Angeline Goh, Girl
12) nick : bacon&amp;egg
14) eve, Boy
15) Yun, BOY
16) nick : stef&amp;seanbabes
EDD: 4 Sept'08
hospital : TMC
Gynae : Dr Eunice Chua
baby's name: Sharmaine Ng

Skip Hop Spree:

Cloud, Ava: if we order direct from skiphop.com, the shipping to Borderlinx is $10.01 for the 3 bags. We can spilt this cost. Ava, I'm thinking you want the clearance Duo Double in Navy yah? that's US$49.99.

LC: you want to get anything? If so, let me know, so I can work out the cost and see if we should proceed before any funds is transfered to me.

Did some research, seems like worth trying Borderlinx as their shipping charges is rather reasonable. Suppose each bag weighs 1.4kg at most, shipping is $39.91 for 3 bags, so shipping for each bag should be $13.30.

Weight Standard Service (4-6 days)
1 kg SG$ 19.58
3 kg SG$ 30.47
5 kg SG$ 39.91
7 kg SG$ 49.35
10 kg SG$ 65.33

SarahMay, Flos: Re desitin, 1 tube per month is a bit too much; while 1 tube per 6mthes is a bit too little.. Really depends on how often and how much is used. For us, we use abt 1 tube every 3-4mths? Something liddat. And we use everytime we change her diaper and after her baths.

For Angels wipe, JL carries this brand. But if order from from this guy it's cheaper.. Let me go ask around for the number. Didn't need it cos we still have lots of wipes..
In the beginning for NB, we use cotton wools with water. Cos wipes still contain some chemicals which may be too strong for the delicate skin of a NB. We start using wet qipes perhaps from the 3rd month or so. My girl is now 15mths, and we've been using wet wipes since.

In my view, Angels is comparable to Pigeon. Avent wipes are thicker and tend to leave a residue.. So my vote goes to Angels and Pigeon. Pigeon is at least 2 times more ex than Angels. Angels is a local brand, so it is cheaper..

<font color="0000ff">Braxton Hicks
Does anyone happen to noe how does BHs feel like??

i've been feeling uncomfy at my lower tummy lately quite often. each time i feel uncomfy, i will touch n can feel my tummy harden wor.. it's definitely not bb coz its pretty low too, so juz wondering if it could be BH</font>

<font color="0000ff">Wipes
i see alot of ppl mention Pigeon and Angel wipes... what abt Carlson wipes? or even tollyjoy??</font>

Flos: not getting the playpen now. wait till he's older cos we bought a bigger cot that can convert to a toddler's bed after reviewing our choices, talking to so many people! hhee

yes, we got the SKATE cos of hubby's requirement for a stroller that is high enough. We're also considering changing car. Quite a headache, cos our needs have changed with the baby and all, so our current car will be abit tight with the stroller and all. Just a note, when doing car shopping, you may want to consider how many children you want, timeline etc. Cos as we were going through our choices, it's so tempting to go for a nice looking SUV, but by the time child #2 comes along, we may need another car or MPV cos of the car seat problem! So choose wisely! It's cheap to buy cars, but expensive when you change cos of all the interest and all etc, alot of times, the car salesperson won't tell you all these!

shazz,
no discount for diapers, it's nett price! they're smart hor, they know tat we mummies will surely whack the diapers first! =P

sarahmay,
i hv no idea how much is the price now, coz i bought mine 2yrs ago... =P