(2008/09) Sep 2008

Hi Xuanting

It is at Boh Bae Wholesale market. It is abit far wor and it has 2 tower wor. The bb shops are scattered all ard the place. Must haf the patience to comb the shops esp not every shops are beri nice to shop actually

Platinium Mall do not have much bb stuff i feel personally. The variety is not that wide either. Hope that helps!

RXmom (ruixiangsmom) - okie, not too far away. Mine is just down the road (Anson Rd).
Didn't know u are at PG? Anyway - yes - my belly has been growing! People have been telling me that the last 2 weeks! My belly button is almost gone now

Dear all, thank you for your encuraging words. They really cheer me up, and uplift me in a way, makes me believe more in myself. I have ever thought of going for counselling, but always withdraw in the end, cos I thought the problem is solved, but it always comes back in the end. Right now, I'm tolerating all this and being strong for my bb's sake, actually, I feel like I'm holding on just for bb.

Flos, I am not on facebook, and truth to tell, we have bought nothing together as a couple for bb. I would love to meet up with friends but always can't find available times. Saturdays are strictly for going to his parents', he would rather I go on Sundays but I try to reserve Sundays for going to my parents', cos if I meet up with my friends on Sundays, it most probably mean I won't get to see my parents for two weeks or more. But I only find myself truly being happy and laughing when I'm with my friends, I don't find myself laughing at home anymore.

I don't dare to think of the scenario after birth, don't dare to think of what will happen then. I'm just taking things as they come now, and trying to enjoy my pregnancy.

Hi Bigtoes,

Yes, I have told you I am at PG before and you responded and told me which is your apartment (blk 6, facing the pool, with fairy lights on the balcony).

Wingkei,

Please go for counselling with your hubby. There is no advantage to avoiding the problems. When the baby is out, you will realised that the distance between the hubby and wife could even get wider (for us, it did for a while) when you have 2 sleepless souls, one sleeping more than the other, and one one doing more than the other. Comparing could start, and patience could run thin.

Do resolved it early. You may have no time to deal with the relationship with your hubby later when you are bz with the child. A loving family is impt for the child. He/ she can sense it even when they are very young if things are not well.

thanks, bbmouse. will check them both out.

bibs
aren't these only for feeding times? how come we need so many? i only have 2, and these are freebies from my fbi card. thought i won't have to buy anymore.

thanks, goldfish. i think it's a little hard for hubby then. he's like hoping for some mega bb store where he can go in with a list and pass it to the salesgirl! would love to tag along if i could but we've both decided that we'll take no chances this pregnancy.

I agree with RXmom. Bt in actual fact, which guy are willing to do counselling one? I haf a friend's friend who is preggy yet her hubby wanna to walk out of the r/s! AssXole rite?

Even counseling oso dun work and the guy refused to go. Haiz. They find it WEAK to do counselling and being self-righteous, they feel they are perfectly right oso lo.. no nid external help.

Bt it is good for wingkei to gather strength from the bb for now. We certainly hope for the best once the bb pop out for u.. but u must oso muster enough 'determination' to remain ur sanity if otherwise.

Btw, have u ever FLARE UP in front of ur hubby before? I am wondering whether issit u too nice liao.. like a meek little kitten but perhaps just waiting for the 'right' momemnt to convert to a lion??

Serious ah? I'm at Tg pagar. I eat everywhere: Maxwell mkt, Amoy, Hong lim, People's park (where Cheong Choon is), Kreta ayer hawker (just opened in May), Amara, IP, tras street, peck seah, tg pagar hawker, etc.

The muffins at Tg Pagar HDB block are good man. I'm a foodie.

Xuanting

I oso dunno why so many bibs are required? For infant care, they specifically requested to bring 3 pcs on a daily basis which works out to be like 15pcs for a week?
I understand the constraint of asking ur hubby to go into those wholesale places. My hubby patience was wearing off when i brought him to Boe Bae Market!!! Erm...actually if pricing is not a concern, MBK TOKYU department store has a bb dept. The clothes there are nice bt ex wor

Goldfish, not really. I only raised my voice and he says I am shouting at him and get even angrier. Sometimes, I wonder if there will come a day when I can't take it anymore and really turn into a lion.

Flos
Wah you have so much energy to go all these places
I walked to Amoy today and was so darn tired already...sian! I just ta pao from Kah Soh cos it's nearer to my office. $6 for a 1.5 person portion (their single portion is quite large) of fried rice or hor fun hits the spot everytime!

flos, muffins? yum! block what?

goldfish, mine also doesn't really like shopping (except for gadgets & stuff) so i was quite surprised that he offered to help look for bb stuff. think i will spare him the agony la. also worried that he might anyhow buy just to show me that he bought something.

gals, can advise me wat brand of milk bottles shd i buy? Avent/NUK? is there a protocol on how many bottles/sizes to get? am totally clueless abt it grr..

btw im going to the motherhood fair this fri.. taking 1/2day to go keke..

Jaymickey: One organiser shared that for the stack of 180 pc paper pack, the cost shd be ard 8-9 sgd. I find this is reasonable, considering the paper pack is going for ony usd9.99. Each piece will still be less thatn what we pay in Sing.

Thanks for sharing the feedback on Ikea baby furniture set.
I need to seek you girls advice on what i need to buy and prepare. Cos this friday, hubby and me are taking a day off together to buy all necessary items for the baby.
So far, I have only bought the following:
- Medala PIS pump
- Car Seat & Stroller
- SOme clothes, mitten, socks for the baby
I know that I need the following:
- Milk bottles (how many do i need in what size)
- Sterlizer (is this necesary ?)
- Nipple cream
- dispoable panties
- Nursing pyajamas
- Diapers (what brand?)
- Baby toileries (shampoo and shower gel) ?
- Baby nail cutter
- Baby furniture (cot & wardrobe ?
What else did i miss out ? We are all approaching third trimester so getting heavier by day... Hope to settle most purchases earlier.

Another thing is i am surprise that some of you are still able to go for foot reflex. That is so lucky ! Both my regular foot reflex shop (Soul to Soul at millenia & foot work @ international plaza) reject to perform foot reflex for me ever since they know i am a preggie
According to them, it is not recommended as the foot connects to all major veins in the body. I can only got for pre-natal maassage weekly at alfond.

But prenatal massage is so different from foot reflex.... not so shoik ......

THERMOMETER: Goldfish – that was what I was told too that Braun is a bit bigger so may be harder in taking bb temperature. However, Omron is smaller. Ear temperature takings are the most accurate and safest of the options i.e. armpit, under the tongue. Of cos anal temperatures the most accurate. Btw, your BKK loot is looking good!

BIBS: I didn’t even buy any cos I dunno when they will need it. Also the bib sizes baffle me. I’ve got a whole stash of hand-me downs though. Experienced Mums, can enlighten?

Wingkei: Buying stuff for bb together? My hubby and I haven’t done that either but I’m fine with that. I think what is more impt is the relational quality between the both of you. Time for sharing hopes, fears and whatever feelings you two have is impt. You are going through a lot and there are no easy solutions. At the end of the day, we can only listen and give you our opinions and suggestions for how you can handle this. This is the same with your family and friends. But remember we are not you. You are your own person – you have your own set of values and dreams. You are the only one who can decide what course your life, your marriage, your baby’s life will take. We cannot change another person BUT we can change ourselves, our attitudes, our disposition. And I’m not saying you shd change to meet another’s expectations of you. But that you can decide what it is you want. So do the changes you need in small doses and at your own pace until you are strong enough to make the stand that you feel you need. And I hope for the sake of you and your baby, that you will be strong enough, soon enough to change the tide of things. Hugs.

Flos: I thot the muffins at Amoy street market is also quite nice? There is two shops at Amoy right?

Mickey: Where did you buy your kit from? Is it ex?

Janf: I want to go but I am dreading the crowd..
I am buying Pigeon milk bottles.

So many mummies working in town! I was previously working there but company shifted to balestier now...

oh the muffins at Amoy level 2 are the best! Bake_Of is the name of the stall. Blueberry muffins are my fav.

There is another one at level 1, but their muffins are smaller.

THe one at Tg Pagar HDB block is also very famous. need to queue for quite long to buy. It's facing the 'courtyard' inside, not the main road. U won't miss it. There's always a long Q.

Bigtoes, haven't thought of a chinese name yet, leaving that up to my FIL.

I'm planning to go early for the Motherhood Fair to avoid the crowds.

I'm looking around for a latex mattress, went to Kddy Palace at Marina Square just now but couldn't find the size that we want. Babysafe mattresses are quite ex. I was wondering whether there would be a discount for the mattress at the taka fair next week.

Yes! The muffins at the Tg Pagar HDB block are quite delish! I like their blueberry ones. But they have some unusual flavours there from what i remember.

aloevera: back to your question this morning, mine is the BLUE one. I've never seen the GREEN one before. It seems that Guardian, Watsons, First Few Yrs, Kiddy Palace, Mothercare are all selling the BLUE one.

Unless u participate in the spree that milky was talking abt, the cheapest as far as I know is sold at Watson's now.

I cannot find Omron anywhere in the abovementioned shops, not even the Guardians and Watsons I passed by in the past 1 wk. SO I ended up getting the most common one. I dunno if the size of the thermometer impedes measurement; my siblings are all using Braun and are not complaining they can't measure bb's temps.

janf
avent bottles are not universal. u can only use avent teats with avent bottles, wherelse the rest of the brands like NUK or Pigeon, u can use different brand of teats. For eg, can use Pigeon teats on NUK bottles or vice versa.
Some fussy babies will reject certain teats, therefore it might take awhile to find a suitable one for baby.

jojo

Milk bottles
last time i bought 4 small ones and 2 big ones for a start. my baby was a big drinker so she outgrew the small ones in the 2nd mth already.

Sterlizer
i personally feel that it is very convenient to use one instead of the traditional method of boiling. but this is really up to individual

Diapers

again, this is very subjective. it depends on what works on the baby. have to try different brands before finding one that is most suitable. for me i find nepia and mamypoko worked best.

Baby toileries
for newborn, the baby bath solution alone is enough in cleansing baby's hair. just use this brand Lactacyd for bathing baby. a dash of it in bath tub will suffice. no need to rinse off. the nurses in TMC recommend Lactacyd also. they use this in their antenatal class for bathing demo.
Lactacyd is really mild and gentle, i used it till my gal was abt 1 yr old.

jojo
if you're not sure when baby will outgrow the small bottles, u can use this guide (taken from TMC Childcare) book as a rough guideline:

0-1 week: 30-60ml (7-8 feeds)
1-2 weeks: 60-90ml (6-7 feeds)
2-4 weeks: 90-120ml (5-6 feeds)
1-2 months: 120-150ml (5 feeds)
2-3 months: 180ml (5 feeds)
3-4 months: 210ml (5 feeds)
4-5 months: 210ml (4 feeds)
5-6 months: 240ml (4 feeds)
abv 6 months: 240ml (3 feeds)

the small bottles can use for drinking water after baby outgrew them

storeberry
im currently using Skin Food Aloe Vera BB cream with SPF 20. not bad leh... non oily and provides good and sheer coverage.

Storm: How small is small? I got 3 Avent ones X 120ml? Is that ok even for first 2 weeks? Also for teats, how many do we need to buy if we intend to BF as much as possible? Also, how many packs of diapers and in wat size did u stock up before birth?

STERILIZER: Now I'm really reconsidering buying this. Rber some of you were saying you found good bargains for the Avent sterliser? Where can I get this fantastic bargain again? Also, will the Avent steriliser fit other bottles other than Avent e.g. BFree?

Sterlised Gauze: where is a cheap and good place where I can buy these? Kiddy Palace?

Flos: I think they must have sold out the Omron. I waited and had to place orders for it with the pharmacy.

MUSTELA: Anyone has used this on bb? Hear from friends it smells really good but is a bit pricey. I've smelt it before and it does smell nice.

CASTILLE SOAP: Ang moh bb sites recommend this. But has anyone used soap on bb before?

DREAMS...: Ava! I dreamt of you last nite! Dun ask me why. haha....and I dreamt of this forum postings too.

Haha SarahMay
You got nightmare izit? Cant sleep n wake up so early to make a posting at 6.52am! So early lor.
Infact i also had a dream, more of a nightmare, maybe becos now entering 3rd trim, feeling abit nervous abt the delivery. I dreamt i had a contraction at week 30, called my gynae up n by the time i reach hosp, not painful liao lor, but gynae insist i c-section to take out the bb. I refused cos not full term yet mah... then my gynae walk away n bochup me... heh.

SarahMay
Haha...was it a good dream???

Re bibs: i have never bought a single bib, even for Adan...I used hand me downs and was given a couple as gifts. Bibs were useful when Adan started solids, so u can wait till baby's about 5-6 months old to buy if you dont already get them from other people.

Bibs
Like Ava, I did not buy a single bib. I figured it's only used when baby starts on solids & learning to feed himself. I only bought those little washcloths to wipe baby's mouth after every feed.

Ava
Have you received the beansprout pillows? I received mine yesterday.

wingkei,
i hope u had a good nite ystday and nothing bad has happened. =)

i dunno if u hv ever told ur hubby tat u r not happy with him anymore? just like u mentioned tat u dun find urself laughing anymore at home??? i'm sorry to hear tat... it sounds to me tat u hv lost your "shine" ever since he started to mis-treat as a life partner..

i'm sure he's an emotional man, coz he can just pack n threaten to leave the house whenever u didnt give in when both of u fought! i dunno if it will hurt him if u let him know tat u dun love him the same anymore, and he has made u lose the love u had for him... and u dun find urself laughing n happy with him anymore...

i dunno if these words(hurting words) will touch his heart...

Mei
Yup, got mine too. I've put on the covers already, just to see what they look like...they feel quite "empty" like not enuf bean husks...is it supposed to be that way?

<font color="119911">RXmom (ruixiangsmom) - hehe, sorry, paiseh. Too many conversations in the forum - i remembered someone asking me about which block in PG, but don't remember who
Next time, if u see me in PG, say hi okie!

Flos (flos) - wow, u bother to walk so far to have lunch? I am very lazy - usually end up at Amara/Icon/M Hotel/sometimes the shops along the bridal studio row (there is a nice Shanghainese xiao long bao place) or the coffee shops near my office. Have eaten the muffins at TP plaza, but not a big foodie obviously - didn't taste that different to me!

So anyway - mommies at TP area - lets meet up for lunch/dinner after work one day

janf (janf) - on milk bottles, i bought the ones from Medela, with teats from Pigeon. I checked &amp; the Medela ones fit right into their breast pump. Just got 1 pack of 3 (150ml) to begin with first.

Jo Jo (jojobar) - I got some diapers already - The NB ones from Mamy Poko &amp; Pampers(<5kg) &amp; one pack of PetPet. Wanted to get Nepia instead of PetPet, but didn't find the right size for Nepia in the shops (think u have to bulk order). Most of the NB ones are for up to 5kg, so don't stock up on too much first! Can always get hubby to buy during our confinement.</font>

milk bottles:
i only bought 2 bfree plus big bottles, will it be enough? is the big bottles too big for the earlier stages of baby or must i also get small milk bottles too?

Ava
My exact same sentiments.. it's not very 'filled', if you know what I mean. I'll bring back &amp; check with my mum if it's supposed to be like that.

milky (lyn06) : that's the exact model Watson is selling at $118 and Tangs selling at $138 I think. Can't find the link to the BP, do you have the link? Maybe we can PM the organiser to have another run! =)

SarahMay: thanks for the feedback on Omron. I know it's a Japanese brand, but where is it made? The one in US is made in China ;p And I checked, the probes are more expensive than Braun for the same no of pieces, eg 40 pieces. Is it easy to get battery replacement etc? Sorry for asking so many questions, cos Omron got no salesperson to explain to us, whereas Braun has promoters and my SIL is using Braun for my niece and so far no complains too.

I also read that the most accurate reading for temperature is from the ear, as forehead, armpits etc, are subject to the environment you're in ad the type of clothing you're wearing as well. Some use forehead scanning type, which I felt is not really accurate.

MILK BOTTLES: alamak! I bought 6 small Pigeon BPA-free bottles already! Hope Eamon don't outdrink them fast! I need to spilt my supply between my place and MIL's place.

ava and mei, i also got the same beansprout pillow as u both. ya i also find the pillow quite "empty", but my mum told me that cannot be too full cos it will be too heavy for bb when placed on bb's chest.

How many washcloths we need to get? Recently just bought some gerber hanky online. As for the bib, I order 8pieces too...hahaha didnt know that baby only needs to use bib after 5-6months.

Is there any recommended brand for baby items we can get from Toronto, canada? Hubby is there for a week, but he abit blur about shopping stuffs for baby, need some help here. :D

Ava...
Opps... 1 dream leads to another... perhaps subsequent dreams are nightmares... haha.
I am sure dreaming abt you isnt... Sarahmay probably still "ai wan" she cant attend the gathering... tats why dream of u... keke

Btw for the bean sprout husk pillow, it is suppose to be like tat... as though not enough husk... saw tat my little cousins' pillow all like tat

Hi there
Beeen following these thread, and found it a very active thread. Me too also a MTB, BB est. due early sept @ TMC.
Any1 having their bb at TMC??

SarahMay, thanks for the advice. I also believe that it all ultimately boils down to me but I don't think I would want to change to meet another's expectations cos then, 'I' will be lost. Anyway, right now, I'm just trying to take things slow now and enjoy this pregnancy. Maybe one ear in and one ear out would be a good approach.

aloevera, thanks for the concern. We did have a little tiff again yesterday.
I believe that my hubby knows that I am not happy, as he had made comments previously that my face is always black and that when BB is born, she will have a black face too. But I don't think he knows what is the cause of it. No, I don't think those words will touch his heart, instead, I believe he will really leave since 'he is making me so unhappy'. How do you deal with such a man, huh?

<font color="119911">Beansprouts pillow - Yes, it is suppose to be like that. The one hubby made had 220gm for husk in a pillow 15X45cm (based on that online website u gals ordered from) - so it is quite empty. The whole point is for it to straddle across the baby's chest, sort of like a security blanket &amp; to prevent him from flipping over to sleep on the belly, but yet not be too heavy.

mrsseng (mrsseng)- Hi! Welcome to the forum. There are a number of us here at TMC. I am also due in early Sept, &amp; my gyne is WK Tan at TMC. Who are u with?</font>

Momoko (momoko76), T_T &amp; l'l CY (lilboymum): vPost finally received the 2nd package that drugstore mailed and I made payment today. Should receive the items next week and sort out the shipping and costing. I don't have your email addresses so can't forward you the invoice etc. Please PM me your email addresses for the updates. Thanks! =)

Grace Toh (rain_toh) : my hubby is also going to Toronto from 18 to end of June. I also have no idea what to get from there. Hubby plans to go to some outlet stores to get clothes for baby. Is your hubby going for the MDRT conference there?

Bean sprout husk pillow:

Yes, it is supposed to be like that otherwise, it will be too heavy to be placed on the baby. What is usually done is that the pillow is placed over the baby's chest, and the husk spread to the two ends which should be at the side of baby, so that the bulk of the weight is not on baby itself.