(2008/09) Sep 2008

Flos
I normally go to the one at Tanglin Shopping Centre.. I signed a package for 12 sessions at $600. Each session is 60 mins long & consists of foot, hand & shoulder massage.

Mei

Tks! As long as you all are ok after the massage, I'm relieved. It might be a little too late to sign a package now. I'll pay by per visit.

for braun thermometer, previously there is a spree gng on @the bulk purchase section..selling @$84 oni.. do check it out if there is another one cuming one.. i bought frm the spree too..

Flos
No need to worry, I have preggy friends who went there for massage too, they were the ones who recommended me there.. else I also didn't dare to do so. But I'm glad I did, really soothe my aches & pains & I sleep better after the session.

thanks for your well wishing. this morning jared's fever was really high. sponged him and fed him nuroprofen and so far fever medicine still working. so he's back to active self and colouring thomas and friends online with his dad right now. i'm soooooooo relieved to see that.

his fever came on monday night. we didn't bring him anywhere except on sat to the gathering and on sunday, to IMM. but we did go to the IMM playground. wonder if he caught it from parents who brought their still unwell kid there!!! i'd be sooooooooo angry if it were the case. so irresponsible.

since discovering his fever, he's been home all the time except to the PD.

alabone
IMM playground! My friend's daughter caught HFMD from this playground! So now my friend blacklisted that place. I guess Jared caught it from there.

Mei,
HUHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH!!!!!!!!!!!
HOW CAN???????????????????????????

HOW CAN THE PARENTS STILL BRING THE KIDS OUT WHEN THEY STILL HAVE HFMD!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

how is your friend sure that the girl caught it from IMM playground??

alabone
That was the only place my friend brought her daughter before she came down with it, I guess. I did not ask her about the details.. my friend was so mad though.

alabone/mei
This is why I have a blanket ban on playgrounds now...even adan knows it...he says "no playgrounds cos there is handfootmouth"...whenever we walk past one, then he looks wistfully at the place and kids there...but doesn't fuss about it (thank heavens). Those bouncy castles/ball pits in those babyfairs etc are also no-nos man....

Aloe: I got this kit. It's a SEI kit.
It comes with an album, all the papers, sticker, and other embellishments needed to do up the album. The extra item needed is the glue and the photos, of course!
It's idiot-proof even for a beginner like me.

1465937.jpg

Wingkei,
I think your hubby & urself should sit down and have a good talk, if not more prob will arise and both will be unhappy...
I've seen your posts a few times and quite hurt to see u get so upset wif ur hubby during pregnancy period. However, even if u are not preggie, i would think u should receive such treatment too....

Shazz, Yan,

I went for my foot reflexology at Feet Talk at Amara Shopping Centre. I go there cos it's close to my workplace. Hope that place is convenient for you. They are really good. Good strength are areas that you need that (e.g. calves) and less strength at more sensitive areas. If you do go there, say that you are recommended by '1050'. Ha, that's my account no.
But they know me once you say it's 1050. I go max 2 times a week, not so frequent lah. Not too sure about my baby's movement during the massage, think he doesn't move much. As for me, I am usually sleeping :p

12 sessions of 40 min each cost me $280. I also have packages at the more prevalent Wan Yang, but they have lots of newbies and are more strict that better dun massage for preggies.

Wingkei,

I would report my hubby to the police if I am you... to be locked in your own house! We are not even supposed to lock our maids in and I sure don't do that in case of fire! I can't believe that he's so primitive.

BabyMall Shipping and Collection

Collection: From my place at Normanton Park (anytime as long as my maid is home), Raffles Place or by postage.

Pending Payment From:
Mrs Yap - $5.60
Grace Toh - $14

Collection
Preggieblues - N Park
Storeberry - pass items to Bacon
Mrs Yap - N Park
YingLing - N Park (to pay cash on meetup)
Baconandeggs - N Park, together with Storeberry's items

Gracetoh: Pls advise how you'll like to pick up your items.

Millie, we had sat down to talk a few times, but always end up I 'lose' cos he is such a good talker, and whatever he said has reason while mine does not. For example, he said that his parents are old, and so we should spend more time with them cos they are living alone now. I just feel that children getting married and moving out is part and parcel of life, it doesn't mean that the children still have to spend every single minute with them. Then he said my parents still have my siblings to keep them company so we don't have to visit them that often.

RXmom, he did not lock me in the house, he locked me out of it although he did open when i rang the bell several times. I just felt so sad because I feel that husbands would generally worry if their wives are back late and would not mind waitng downstairs for them. Yet, for me, I didn't even dare to call him to wait downstairs for me as I knew he would be angry and true enough, he was and even latched the door.

RXmom (ruixiangsmom) : thanks for sharing the place for foot massage! I can feel my baby kicking sometimes when I'm using the uSqueeze, but it's during his active period of 8 to 10 plus in evening. =)

Millie: can order from their webbie. Sometimes they offer free international shipping promo with purchase over US$100/150.

http://www.benefitcosmetics.com/gp/node/n/164953011?ie=UTF8&bcBrand=core&SR=sr2bc38yh85ys266pi2ai2&ext_id=ps_yah_YAAA/YSAA_Brand/Brand/#656851_benefit

milky: the Braun thermometer from the spree, is it the compact one? if so, the pricing is much lower than the one Watson is selling.

SarahMay: do you know what is the model of the Omron ear thermometer that you got? the review is not that great on drugstore:

http://www.drugstore.com/products/prod.asp?pid=93614&catid=109001

wingkei,
think ur self-esteem has been crashed by his long-term abuse! even to the the extent tat u always find urself speechless or hv nothing to back urself up during an arguement. maybe u hv been thru tat kind of trmt for too long until u "dunno" how to speak up(or ur brain doesnt work tat fast to defend urself) even if u hv a valid case.

as for his parents, i think irregardless of age n no. of children around them, we as children still need to visit them and spend as much time as possible when they r old.

u can tell him, your parents being younger than his, doesnt mean they did not give u their BEST when u were young! u can ask him the following:

- why shld more love or attn be given to his parents, just bcoz of age??
- does he mean tat when his parents died liao then it's your parents' turn to get his love n attn??
- he doesnt know tat freak accidents or illness(touchwood!) can happen, and we shld treat everyone the same! and not regret after we lost them!

think ur hubby doesnt give or show u any respect, and u cant just cry n expect his pity on u whenever he abused u(mentally or verbally).

i suggest tat it's time u gain some respect from him!
- show him BLACK face when he u unhappy so tat he knows u r UNHAPPY.
- ignore him when he is abusing u, just walk away n pretend u cant hear him so tat he knows he has lost your respect n your patience.
- if he tries to be unreasonable and expects u to close the door or watsoever petty things, u just give him a blank look, and say INTO his face, "i'm sick of U!"

all these small acts shld burst his BIG ego! dun be surprised tat all these small acts hv a big effect in ur life. i think he is so full of himself coz he knows u r SO dependent on him and u love him.

but u need to get the right kind of love from him too, if love hurts, then u need to set things right... since talks after talks dun help, then it's time for action.

u need to be strong n stop giving him the impression tat u will DIE without his love. and he needs to work hard to get your love too!

u need to show ppl tat u deserve respect by fighting for ur rights, not by crying, pouting, or self-pitying...etc =)

<font color="119911">Just had time to come in to chat &amp; too much postings to read already

alabone (alabone) - hope your son's HFMD is a very mild case &amp; wont get passed to ur younger daughter.

Jaymickey (jaymickey) &amp; crayonshinchan - share with me ur blog addresses

wingkei, i think what alovera mentioned earlier is right - your hubby abuses u precisely cos he knows he can get away with it. He needs to know u draw the line somewhere &amp; there is just so much one can take before walking out.
Are u working btw? (Not sure if u mentioned earlier &amp; i missed it) Financial security makes a lot of difference, so if u aren't u should seriously consider doing something, even if u have to start small. Would do wonders for your self-esteem, &amp; worse come to worse - help make that decision to walk away if need be.

RXmom (ruixiangsmom) - where are u working? I am nearby Amara as well - at Fuji Xerox Tower

cloud (lovelycloud) - just back-trackked &amp; saw ur posting on the elmo bib (Very cute!!) and on naming ur son Kieran
Heh, so there will be 2 Kieran babies now. Have u decided on the chinese name yet?

aloevera, it's strange but even I can feel that my self-esteem has been crushed by him. Yes, I feel that we as children should spend as much time with our parents as possible, but he just wants to spend more time with his parents and not mine, which is turning ME off his parents, if that makes sense. And I feel the irony is that if he can think that his parents are old and need more company, why can't he spare a thought for mine too? He knows about freak accidents and such, (touch wood) and hence we should spend more time with HIS parents!

I just wish someone could talk to him about his bahaviour towards me. Sometimes, I feel like talking to his friend whom I also know and see if she can talk some sense into him.

Oh, I show him black face all the time, and he says he is sick of seeing my black face. I ignore him when he is abusing me, and pretend I cna't hear him, and refused to face him. Then he gets even madder and shouts at me if I know that he is talking to me. And he will go like, since you don't want to see me, then I will leave, and starts packing his bag. This has already happened a few times. And of course, I always give in and then makes him sit down for a talk which I always 'lose'.

I feel so demoralised that I can't stop feeling self-pity. I don't know how I can make him understand thatI am HIS wife, not someone for him to discipline or otherwise. That I need his TLC too.

Yes, Bigtoes, I am working. I always feel that a gal should always be financially independent, married or not, for just in case. And my lady friends have always taught me that a gal should always have her own savings for that rainy day. :p I'm earning lesser than him but still not too bad, I feel.

He always say that I have low self-esteem and I feel like telling him that my self-esteem has been destroyed by him.

Alabone, I hope your child feels better soon too! Give him a hug from me!!

I am finally back from BKK. I was reading past posts and gosh, there is so much u gals have been talking abt! It is a pity that i cannot join u all for the gathering but i will sure come the next time round!

I bot a few bb stuff in BKK. Mainly wholesale one lo. Haf to buy in lots. But they dun haf much mattress and pillow case. Maybe i dunno how to find

check out my purchases!

1466642.jpg

<font color="119911">Ava (avalyn) - u know, i hv not tried the laksa in Amara Hotel
Not a big fan of spicy stuff...but they do have excellent nasi goreng (the one with the fried egg, satay, etc), and their Thai restn - Thanying - has to be the best in Singapore! The Amara Hotel lunch buffet is also not too bad.

Goldfish (goldfish1395) - i am sure u bought enough clothes to last baby for the whole year! The blue/yellow lion outfit looks nice!</font>

Shazz: Oops. Yeah…didn’t see your earlier post. I don’t think Pet Pet is very comfy though. I think Mammy Poko is good…cos Jap design. Pay for quality I guess. So NB size is for 3kg or less. Hmm…wonder how much of diapers I shd stock up before delivery.

Mine is OMRON MC510. I read the reviews you sent me but they’re from US. In SG, no prob getting the replacement covers &amp; also it is jap brand. Plus, I got great reviews from ppl who have used both the more ex braun and omron. I’ve been using it myself and no prob. The most compact Braun I think is still bulkier than OMRON. There is another really cool Jap compact model TEMURON or something. But tt is too ex for me. Also, was told by SA that Braun caps are hard so for NBs &amp; infants may be a bit harder to put in ear as compared to the flexi caps that Omron has. What I like abt Omron too is that the temp reading is on outside. Can immediately see the reading even when thermometer is in ear unlike Braun models.

Wingkei: Sounds like you are in a tough position. Your hubby a little MCP is it? And also, how can he lock you out of your house. If it happens again, just go to your parents’ or friends place . Being older also doesn’t give him a right to belittle your opinions. I guess, you can only do what you can to try to let him understand.

However, it is not really healthy for you or the marriage and even the bb, if you feel like you are being emotionally or mentally abused. If he doesn’t want to go for counseling, I think you can go ahead and talk to a trained marriage counselor…at least have someone in a neutral position to hear you out and perhaps, even suggest positive steps you can take. And though this is the worst possible time to think of this, Bigtoes is right…there may come a point in time that you need to decide if you really want to endure such treatment (also if you want bb to be subject to this too) or to walk away.

There is a good parenting course run by MCYS. Perhaps you can suggest to your hubby that you attend it…you know at least working on this parenting bit will give you two the opportunity to get to know each other better, as well as working on the practical aspects of being parents. You know, after bb comes, the chances for clashes between hubby and wife can increase. The course is known as ‘PARENTING WITH CONFIDENCE’ – can go for the 0-5 years one. There is also PARENTING FOR FIRST YEAR by Fei Yue.

Here are some links you might find useful:
MARRIAGE COUNSELLING &amp; HELP: http://app.mcys.gov.sg/web/serv_dss_searchLE_results.asp
PARENTING COURSES (FEI YUE): http://www.fycs.org/index.cfm?GPID=91

Flos: Yes! Heard so much abt FRESH!

Crayonshin: PM< me the blog.

Aloevera: I think the key difference between the two may be the memory function and capacity. Just ask the SAs there. They should know. But I don’t think you need that much memory at all.

SLIMMING &amp; CLING WRAP: Oh yes! Cling wrap is something that is used in a lot of such slimming treatments. Did you know that runway models also do that? Cos apparently it helps slim down the limbs etc by creating some kind of sauna effect.

SHazz: Mothercare too small for you? What cup size are you up to now?! Eeks. I hope I can find something there. I'm outgrowing bras too fast.

wingkei, try this if he start to shout at u. give him an innocent face and say in a gentle tone 'dear, why are you shouting at me?' or 'dear, do you realise that you have been shouting at me?'.

sometimes my hubby forget and halfway nagging start to shout, i will do that then he suddenly stop and he will start to tease like say he see my face everytime feel like shouting then start to laugh and forgot that he is nagging at me. or i'll say 'dear, why are you shouting at me? i'm talking to you so gently then you shouting at me leh...' If he suddenly shout at me, i will remind him 'eh, i'm your wife you know, not your worker. can talk to me nicely or not. u wan to shout go call ur worker to shout at them.'

wingkei
I think your husband comes across as childish more than MCP...packing his bags and threatening to leave??? that's manipulative and emotional blackmail and I'd have thot something a girl would be more likely to do...!! and he's in his mid thirties...aiyoh!! girlfriend!

Now is probably not the best time for a confrontation, but maybe as the others have said, go for counselling yourself, so u come from a stronger position...for your and your baby's sake dear!!

abalone , hope your son is okay nw .. so scary catch it in public places .. I just bought zac to downstairs playground and came up to see the posts .. should have avoid them at all cost .hmm

wingkei
It must be very tiring for you... *hugs*

I agree with the rest, something must be done before the situation deteriorates. I know it's not easy &amp; it takes a lot of courage, maybe you can tolerate it, but have you thought of your unborn child?

Goldfish
You must have enjoyed yourself thoroughly in BKK!

this HFMD is really quite scary...I wanna stay away from childcare centres and playgrounds this month. yucks.

wingkei: oh dear, it sounds more serious than I thot. You must be in your late 20's if your hb is in his mid-30's,, eh? Locked u out of the house? He is really quite a tyrant! You'd better see a counselor before u breakdown.

Are you getting a CL to help you with the confinement? Is your mom/MIL going to help u? I am kinda worried that you will snap into post-natal blues. I've one colleague who nearly went mad cos there was no one to help her and she couldn't cope with the chores on her own. She cried and cried and cried almost daily, alongside her bawling bb who cried and cried and cried even louder thru the nite...wah lau...*SHAKE HEAD*

Has your hb been going to the gynae with u? What does he say when he sees those scan pics of your bb? What items have u bot together as a couple?

Are you on facebook? Let me see your hb's face!

Thanying: My favourite Thai restaurant in SG. I also go to Amara for lunch sometimes. I like North Indian stall at the foodcourt. The cafes at Icon opp are not bad either.

SarahMay: yep yep, Fresh is very popular in HK and US.

Goldfish,

Didn't know u were gg to BKK. Otherwise, I would tell u to go get the Pigeon Breastpad. BKK's packaging comes in 60 pcs (compared to 36pcs) and it's same price or cheaper.

HFMD:
My J kena twice already and both times from others in his childcare. Thankfully, he was still a very active boy, doesn't look uncomfortable at all (just that he's upset at being grounded at home). I agree with alabone that some parents are being very irresponsbile. On the other hand, it takes a few days for the symptoms to surface but it's already contagious before that. Hence, it's difficult to break the cycle.

wingkei,

It's tough for u. Do come in and chat with us to get it off your chest (don't bottle it up). At the same time, talk calmly to your hubby abt it (or get someone both of u are comfortable with as mediator). Hear him out to see where he's coming from but make sure he hears your side of the story as well.

My hubby is 8 yrs older than me but he doesn't control me in the same way.

Milky: Have such lobangs must let us know!! Kekek... I think the thermometer is cheap!

Wingkei: I really feel you should do something about it if not this vicious cycle will continue on &amp; on &amp; you will continue to be so unhappy, in a self-pity state... etc...Unless you do something about it, see a counsellor or talk to his friend.

Alabone &amp; Mei: Aiyoo.. such irresponsible parents!!

Goldfish: Must have a great time shopping yah?!!

Mickey: Wow, the kit look impressive! Wanted to do SB but need mood &amp; time.. I am a lazy mummy!

Bigtoes
Keke.. we bot like 24 bibs!! Haha.. Quite terrorising qty but since infant care wants us to bring 3pcs daily, i tink at least i can accumulate my laundry for bibs :p

Regarding thermometer, i think Winnie from CHeong SOon mentioned that Braun abit hard in reading temperature for bb cos bb ear hole abit small wor? Forehead or armpit thermometer is more effective. Wonder issit true or not wor

Wingkei, though i think counselling is the way out but MAN in general dun like to do counselling one. Are u close to ur hubby close friends? U wanna to 'share' ur woes to his best pal and let a guy to knock some sense into him instead?

However, if that will jeopardise ur r/s wif hubby, den better not. I think some pple are just so hard to be 'brain-washed'. Reallie haf to adjust oneself to suit them but of coz tat is not the way out oso lo.. bt bobian

For now, i think u shld stick close to ur friends and get suppport from them. We can offer u support via the forum as well!!! Remain ur sanity.. tat is MOST IMPORTANT.. and prep urself mentally for after-delivery scenarios.. ur hubby may not even sympathise wif the pain u are going through but try to pyscho urself u can do it urself.

At times, i oso try to pscyho myself the WORST CASE SCENARIO after delivery. Ie: confinement lady dua us lah.. hubby got bb anxiety, may not be supportive.. breast SI BEI ZHONG and bb cry like mad and did not haf enuff sleep and vagina infection and sticky lah.. canot bathe etc..

And my friends always say i THINK TOO MUCH one loh

Yay~! 30mins more to end of day 3 and left with 2 more days to the weekend!!! thinking of taking leave this fri to go for massage and facial, and my hubby have given me the green light! now left with my own decision on going or not to go... so indecisive

storeberry:

spot on, man..."vicious cycle". this doesn't seem to end...it has been going on for months, and if not addressed, will continue to go on and on until all of us deliver in Sept.

wingkei: u need to meditate. buy some zen/new age cds and listen to them everyday. avoid getting into squabbles with your colleagues/friends. do some light exercises, go for massage, meet up with friends for hi-tea, go shopping...

goldfish, which are the places to shop for bb stuff in bkk? hubby's going next week. maybe can get him to lug some stuff back.

alabone, i hope your boy will get better quickly. this hfmd is really scary. wonder how it came about. i don't recall hearing about it during our time...

wingkei, do really consider the counselling thing. in the mean time, you can google phrases like "controlling spouse", "emotional abuse/blackmail" etc; am sure you will find many examples very similar to yours and perhaps some interim measures to deal with them.

wingkei,
the most impt reason for u to speak up is for urself and BB. u need to build up the self-esteem or u cant be in good position to stand for ur BB and educate him.

u noe, even an infant can sense if someone is strong or weak.. =) and also bcoz i'm afraid tat your hubby being a MCP now, he will make sure he has the last say in everything tat has to do with your BB in the future!

i dowan u to feel tat u hv NO part to play in your child's life next time coz your hubby will be even more controlling when he has 2 dependants, U and BB! tat's how i see it, and have seen it coming!

tat's why alot of mummies here are saying the same thing to you, u MUST be strong for BB and urself.

got another qn: (pls pardon me if i've already asked this before; i am extremely spacey and forgetful these 2 mths!)

medela bottles &amp; other medela parts:
how to sterilise these since medela hasn't got its own steriliser? is there another brand that will fit? o, and another:

baby toiletries
what exactly are these? is that gadget for sucking out the snot from baby's nose necessary as well?

Storeberry: I've been swooning over these pretty and delightful stuff and pondering whether I have the time to do it. Then I started buying the kit, and I ordered some more kits, and more papers, and embellishments etc.. Just to get the ball rolling. I was surprised the album kit took me less than 2hrs to finish! It's really that easy, to the extent I feel it's too simple and no challenge at all.. Kekeke.. If you have the time, try to surf this website. You'll find so many pretty papers and kits to buy..
www.joann.com

Xuanting: You can use either hte pigeon or the Avent steriliser for medela products. If fact, I think any steriliser can do the job.

<font color="119911">Goldfish (goldfish1395) - u have 24 bibs?? wow, i think i have a grand total of 4! Have been very selective in buying baby's clothes.

Wingkei - the mommies here are all right. I am sure u have your reasons for sticking with him even though he treats you the way he does, but u do need to sort out ur differences BEFORE the baby is born. It is tough enough having to deal with a new born, let alone having to juggle such an unreasonable hubby. Very easy to fall into a downward spiral of post natal depression.

MOMMIES WORKING IN TANJONG PAGAR:
I know there are a couple of us here. Maybe we can meet up for lunch sometime

Bigtoes,

I cannot tell you where I am working, cos that would give away my organisation. And of course, not good if someone know I am partaking in this forum during working hours! :p But I work near Maxwell Market.

Btw, I saw you on monday on your way home from work (remember I live in PG?). I think your tummy looks pretty big! Or maybe it's your dress.