(2008/09) Sep 2008

ava: oh dear...then where may I visit? whom may I trust? the jamu u recommended? jialat...those love handles of mine.

think i'll hv to go to the gym to work out those fats

cloud: thanks! so it's a clickclick purchase. ok, i've not decided on my boy's name. I need to mull over it in the next three mths.

OK, gotta leave office. bye!

Flos, i went to jean yip before my wedding and lost around 8kg+ after using about 75%-80% of the package. i still have some sessions left and called them to hold on to my package. will be going back to them after giving birth. not sure if it works for everyone thou...

those going IKEA this weekend.. i went on sunday and bought this drawer cupboard for $89, quite a good deal.. but its really very heavy.. my hubby had a hard time carrying to our lift landing.. and then to our flat.. its called aneboda (or something like that)..

Like to check where is a good place to get baby cot. I am looking at setting up the baby nursery and hope to get a set of the furniture - like baby cot convertible to toddler bed, changing station and wardrobe and such. So far, I only see Ikea have such combination. But i am concern with Ikea quality. Any suggestions or feedback on Ikea Baby Furniture set ?

storm (storm): welcome! =) I'm also delivering at RH, gynae is Dr Lee I-Wuen. Dr Thong is supposed the atas gynae, heehee, which the ang mos and celebrities like to go to when they deliver at RH. Bumped into her at carpark before, she's very friendly and chio, like some tai tai, very classy lady. =)

Hooray! We finally settled most of baby stuff ... just bought a cot, babysafe mattress, waterproof sheets, infant pillow + pillow case, anti-slip bath mat from Kiddy Palace. Dragged hubby there even though he said he's tired, he wanted to settle bedding stuff after he's back from his trip in early July. I protested cos by then the 20% discount would have ended by end June! =)

thanks shazz! Dr Thong was recommended by a friend and my SIL. Didnt wanna spend too much time looking for a gynae so just settled for her. prefer my 1st gynae at TMC tho.. but my hubby dun really like her leh. sometimes i wonder who's delivering, me or hubby?! haha

im thinking of buying a playpen with bassinet instead. my older gal slept in the cot fm birth till abt 6mths, and when she started toss and turn in her sleep she tend to bump her head against the rails and then she would wake up crying. that's when i switched her to playpen. she's been sleeping in it till now.

but the playpen "koyak" already coz its passed down from my SIL so need to buy a new one. not sure where to buy cheaper ones, saw some graco ones cost abt $300+!!

cloud - not bad.. i was thinking of getting this type of cupboard to put baby stuff.. but thinking at the moment i get those toyogo 4 level de box to put baby stuff.

storm (storm) : my colleague used Dr Thong and said she's very professional, so should be ok, even though she don't talk much.

As for playpens, can check out Kiddy Palace, they have a few that is selling at $109. Tiny Toons ones are selling at $89 at John Little. These are the basic ones, with no vibrating bassinet, nightlight etc, like the Graco Electra. Robinson's upcoming sale got a Graco playpen selling at $239 for cardmembers and $279 for non-members.

Welcome storm!

Shazz: Amazing! You did everything liao! Me still not even there. Aiyo. Must get my act together. So kiddy palace sale is on till end June only? Yikes. I was still thinking of doing all the shopping in Mid-July when I get back to SG for good. Will that be too late?

GSS: When does this end? cos was thinking of only doing my shopping mid July. That's when i get back to SG for good.

Cloud: Nepia no NB size? Hmm...hope the one in Tampines has. I guess maybe u saw the larger sized one so more ex than online?

BABY SAFE LATEX MATTRESS: What is the web for this baby-safe mattress again? Thinking of getting it for bb to put in bassinet...but not sure if i can still use it when I switch to a proper cot.

BASSINET/PLAYPEN: Sorry ah...think we talked abt this some time ago...but forgot. How long can bb sleep in the bassinet/playpen? My bassinet doesn't have adjustable levels.

IKEA COT: Has anyone seen the ikea cots? Any comments? Thinking of buying that for use in macau cos it is cheap. Most cots here are over $300 and are UGLEEEEEEEE.... these are the two I'm thinking of (cos of price) http://www.ikea.com.hk/online_cat/

Dear friends,

We are pleased to inform you that we are having a booth at the Motherhood Exhibition this week.

Here are the details:
Dates : 5 - 8 th June 2008
Time : (5-7th June) 12 noon - 10 pm; (8th June) 12 noon - 8pm
Location : Singapore Expo Hall 5A, Booth E12 (right side Moms in Mind)

Make a date with us as we are having lots of specials, just for this exhibition. For more details of the Motherhood Exhibition offers as well as the S$5 discount voucher, do check out this page:
http://www.bumwear.com/shopping/clothdiaper/motherhood2008.html

That's all from us for the moment. Hope to see there this week :)

Best regards
Rita
http://www.Bumwear.com
The Fun Batik Boutique

which kiddy place have few playpen cot to see.
i check out sengkang they only have two to view and when i try to use my hand pressure to shake a bit, seem not that stable

shazz

yea.. she doesnt seem to talk alot and i find most of my appts rather short.. like always in a rush. but since this is my 2nd preg, i dont have many questions to ask her too.

will check out the playpens in kiddy palace. i dun really need fancy add-ons like night light or vibrating bassinets.. just a simple height adjustable playpen with bassinet can liao. my budget max $150. hehe

SarahMah: Kiddy Palace sale ends on last day of June, according to the SA. If you need the BabySafe Mattress for playpen, I can help you to gte, just gimme the dimension. Think there are 2 sizes. But the mattress for playpen will not fit baby cots cos the dimensions are different.
20% off is a good deal!

http://www.babysafe.com.sg/index.html

IKEA Babycot: If I remember correctly, you can only buy their mattress and beddings as the sizing is different from the standard cot and the standard sized bedding available elsewhere.

PLAYPEN: Once baby can turn, you'll have to lower the bassinet if you have multiple levels, if not, you have to let baby sleep at the base, with a comforter or mattress. Some babies can sleep in there till about 2 years old, according to my survey among friends who used a playpen as baby's sleep area.

BabyMall Shipping and Collection

Collection: From my place at Normanton Park (anytime as long as my maid is home), Raffles Place or by postage.

Preggieblues - $15.40 - received
Storeberry - ($3.27) - refunded
LC - $14 - will pay cash on meet up
Milky - $5.60 - received
Mrs Yap - $5.60
YingLing - $3.50
GraceToh - $14
Baconandeggs - $5.60 - received

YingLIng, GraceToh, pls advise how you would like to collect your items. Thanks}

sarahmay

nepia has NB size. i think the reason why online is cheaper is because they are the direct agent for nepia. i used to order directly from them. 4 packets and they will deliver to yr place with no extra cost. Last time i ordered, it was $14/pkt.

nepia is gd, very soft and value for money. i tried most brands eg. fitti, drypers (they leaked), huggies (too stiff), mamypoko (good but exp) i used at night when baby slept thru, pampers (gd but very exp!)etc..

i used nepia till my baby outgrew their largest size for tape diaper.

Hi SarahMay,
I am also looking at the Ikea baby cot. As they come with matching wardrobe and other furniture like the changing station. I am not sure of the quality as well. So far, they are the only ones i saw which I like and come around 1k for the whole set.
Any particular one you are looking at ? You heard any other feedback from others about Ikea Cots ?

Flos
I've got Dandelion, Georgia, Dallas, 10, Thrrrob & Benefit for Benefit Blushers.. my fave is Dallas.

I took the course from Cosmoprof.

Baby Shopping
I've completed my baby shopping.. only waiting for my BIL to bring back my Avent IQ Isis Duo breastpump from USA & I'm done.

storm
I saw a playpen with bassinet, changing mat & adjustable heights selling at Isetan Parkway for only $109. That was around 2 weeks ago so not sure if it's still available now.

SarahMay
I checked, I bought my Natal Care Plus at $30 per box. Sorry for the mistake.

hihi..

sarahmay
eh, we might not have met before coz i wasnt teaching drama...heee...but now want to know who you really are....

aiyoh, so many people know one another!!

hi storm
you from the oct 06 thread right? my CY is from there too!! and we have the same EDD! hahaha..having a girl too
thought your edd was in oct?

wingkei
your hb real scary. how can anyone lock a family member out of the house. i dont even agree with parents locking children out of the house...

sarahmay, wingfei
i dun think wingkei hb in military..hahah..i think he's in sales or customer svs...coz got fed up with having to please people all the time, so go home rule over wifey...oops sorry wingkei dun mean to be mean, but try to encourage your hb to go for talktalk session lah..like that wont do...

storm (storm) : do you remember if Nepia allows us to mix and match the sizes of the diapers for delivery? Eg, 2 packs of Newborn and 2 packs of Small diapers? Where do you see the pricing for the diapers? I can't find it.

Mei: wow, you have a cert ah. I'm just into collecting ... haha ... I love Benefit stuffs too! I love Dandelion and Georgia. Do you use Dr Feel Good? Wanted to try that out but not sure if I'll use it cos now I'm using mineral foundation

koras (koras): kiddy palace at Toa Payoh hub got at least 4-6 playpens on display

shazz
Yup, I have a diploma in makeup, but not confident enough to take up jobs lah.. hehe. Took it up solely for interest & self-fulfilment.

I'm also into collecting... my makeup case quite scary one. I order my Benefit stuff online, the ones sold at Tangs are way overpriced. I've got Dr. Feelgood, find it so so only leh. I'm also using mineral foundation, mine's from Everyday Minerals. For Benefit stuff, Bo-ing & Lemon-Aid are good too. Georgia is nice.. love the smell, but I need to swipe a lot for it to appear on my skin.. maybe I'm not fair enough.

Mei: yes, agree it's cheaper to buy online. ;) I'm using Alima mineral foundation, got some samples from Everyday Minerals and elsewhere too but found the best match for Alima. Feels like not wearing any makeup but it helps to even out my uneven skin tone. Hmmn, thanks, in that case, I shal skip Dr Feel Good. Tried the samples for Bo-ing and Lemon-Aid, find it so so, didn't do much for me. Concealers, I swear by Cle De Peau, darn exp but one stick goes a long way!

cloud/jojobar: u all must be referring to the Ikea Hensvik series? I've the pamphlet with me. I am going to Ikea this weekend, not to buy these furniture but to get my CL's bedding set.

storm: actually, I stumbled upon one children/bb furniture shop at Tanglin Shopping Centre #02-47. It's very fairytale, princessy, if u know what i mean
I can't be bothered, as I'm not living in a landed property now! hehehe!

shazz: Dr Lee IW was my previous gynae for 4 yrs(my regular pap smear, etc.) I ditched her for my Dr Cheng who makes me and my hb laugh all the time!! My gynae's dad, the elder Dr Cheng WS delivered my hb too
Muahhhhaahha!

yan: Jean Yip ah...I can't stand that singer-turned bizwoman. Her hb is worse! They use Glad cling film too?!!

koras: try the Kiddy Palace at Marina Square. It's HUGE!

SarahMay: I think you need to buy Ikea's mattress and bedding set then. IT's 60X120cm. Anyway, you can find LOADS of bb stuffs in HK (Festival Walk level 4 and Harbour City Basement) and Macau Yaohan has Kids section too rite? But prob is u need to lug back to SG lah...Then again, if u r going back to rear your Elisha after your confinement u need to ship them back to Macau again end of this year?

Mei: wow, u r good man. Got cert some more. I worked briefly as temp beauty advisor for Estee Lauder after my A-levels. I picked up this expensive hobby since then! I'm not 100% loyal to any brand. I hv a bit of this, a bit of that. Whichever brand that gives me the finest glitter, the sheen, the sheer, the glow, the dewy look, I get it.

That's why I love HK and airports so much. They've got many brands like Smashbox, Giorgio Armani (my fav!), Laura Mercier (we hv 1 at True Colours), NARS (at True colours), Fresh (tried all products!), Chantecaille (fantastic), Becca (we now hv it at Terminal 3), some teenybopper brands like Urban Decay, Pupa (only at T2), Stila (ok we hv), RMK, etc.

Just go to Joyce Beauty, Lane Crawford and Facess in HK. Buy until siao and broke!!

I'll make a trip to HK after my confinement to grab those anti-ageing cult products to recover my yesteryear 'beauty'...

cloud: www.babysafe.com.sg
I also got this brand. I dunno good or bad... It's cheaper than a coil mattress from Mothercare and First Few Yrs lor. What can I say?

shazz: I tried the M&S nursing bras oredi. They're good, but in the end I bot from Mothercare, cos they've got pretty patterns. I got the maternity bras from M&S though.

I also bot my nursing front-buttoned sleepwear from Mothercare. 4 designs in total.

I'm kinda done with my BB shopping too, except the car seat, stroller and bb carrier.

Still not done with those confinement necessities though.

BRAUN EAR THERMOSCAN: cheapest in town is at Watson's = $118.50. Go grab now!

Hi Mickey,

sorry did not log into the forum for sometime... i think i will collect from your place... When is it convenient? And the S$3.50 is for the vpost? I pass to your maid? can you email me instead? I seldom log on nowadays... email me at [email protected].. thanks!

Koras: I think its the expanding of the uterus, I also feel pain at my bra line. I went to Toyogo warehouse at Toa Payoh on Sun but the 4-tier drawer color all not nice & not cheap, about $49, $55 or $65. Was thinking whether to get those wooden kind instead like what cloud bought.

Flos / Shazz / Mei: My friend is going to HK, any must buy make up I can ask her to lug back? And anyone knows which bb cream to buy from HK? Thanks!

Flos: How much did you get your babysafe mattress for?

Yingling, I have sent you an email even before your post above.
You can come over tom anytime. If you wanna pass the cash to her, let me know in advance, we actually don't let her handle cash. Yah, it's for vpost.

mei
wow, $109 sounds reasonable! will prolly go check it out this few days

CY
yup yup, my EDD was supossed to be in Oct when i went for my 1st check up. subsequently, it changed to sept liao. good for you, got 1 boy and 1 girl now. 2 gals for me

shazz
can mix and match sizes as it's the same price for all sizes. i ordered like 2 NB and 2 Small the 1st time. Dont stock up on NB as baby outgrow them faster than you can say poop!! i cant find the price in the website too. i nv ordered online before, think their website is quite new. try calling them at 62262650

benefit cosmetics
im very tempted to try benefit!!! their dandelion blusher and benetint looks really pretty. i used to collect makeup too. i had so many shades of blushers, eye colors and lip glosses but i always end up using my favourite or rather the color that looked best on me, all the time. in the end i couldnt finish using the rest and have to throw them all away after their use by date.

Shazz, Storm: I love nepia too. But as my bb grows bigger, I find Nepia is not as good as Mamy Poko. I will recommend for the S size definitely.

Cloud: Yes, babysafe produces very good latex mattress. They are the ones who make the "holey" mattresses.
The holes are supposed to prevent SIDs.

flos, u bought your nursing bras liao? but how do you gauge the size? been searching high and low for decent looking button-front sleepwear also but can't find. which mothercare did you get yours from?

hai.. duno isnt that i cant really drink milk now. just now drink milk end up vomited out. but the color not milk wor.

this few days duno isnt because of the heart burnt i keep feeling want to vomit again

storeberry (storeberry)- o i still tot baby head is on the top that why even i sit or lie down can feel something stuck there like that

storeberry: $185 for 52X28" from Kiddy Palace.

I also like Cloud's cabinet.

Makeup: thot u shd not stock up for now? I've stopped buying cosmetics oredi
BB cream? I dunno. Maybe u can try the Manning (under same group-Dairy Farm-as our Guardian) there to see if Desitin is cheaper? For M&S Hong Kong, it's definitely cheaper than M&S Singapore hor. So u can stock up on those nursing bras...

xuanting: I only bot 2 polka dot nursing bras at one cup size up. They also advised me to buy later in my 8th mth. For the sleep shirt (they call it), I got it from Harbourfront. A bit "bang" cos the 4-day 15% discount ended yesterday. I only got 10% as a VIP mbr. Sian. A shopping defeat tonite. Tomorrow must hedge...

Flos: yes, Mothercare has some nice nursing bras but their largest size won't fit me so I can only get from M&S. I like the fact that M&S's maternity bras doesn't have the ugly seams that shows under clothes, unlike the Mothercare ones. Am glad you found something there.

storm & mickey: thanks! will call and check with them nearer EDD. Yupe, I was told not to stock up on NB size too, hence I went straight to buy S in Mammy Poko already! Heehee ... cos it was on discount, so bot 2 packs for night use. Day time I intend to use either Pet Pet or Nepia, whichever is cheaper!;p

xuanting: you can approach the sales ladies for help when it comes to size. They're trained to measure you and advise you on the correct width and cup size. =)

storeberry: yah, no point stocking up, unless it's your staples! I usually get my CDP stuff, DHC cleansing oil, RMK, Sofina, Lavshuca stuff from HK if I have friends going over to HK cos there's no tax there.

storeberry: Sorry I got VIP card, so its $148 for 52"X28" from Kiddy Palace

Shazz: Seams? I thot M&S ones show the seams. Hehe! Maybe I'm not so well-endowed, so those seams show up under my clothes!! Mothercare ones also hv seams similar to those on M&S, but I prefer colourful nursing bras. Helps me to forget that I'm a lactacting mom for once.

Flos: my maternity bra from Mothercare is the thin type and the seams shows under all kinds of clothes, whether well-endowed or not. The ones I got from M&S are the seamless cup ones, which doesn't show under clothes. Hee, I'm a practical when it comes to bras, solid colour, good fit, comfy and looks good under my clothes will get the nod. Pretty prints and frills are a bonus if they fit the above bills.

albone: Oh no.. Where did he catch this from? His school? Hope he recovers soon. U got to be careful yourself too. Wwsash your hands with soap each time before and after you handle him.