(2008/09) Sep 2008

Xueyan,
Welcome to the thread. If u are not comfortable with your gynae, you should go ahead and change... there are many nice and afforable gynaes around...

Bigtoes
I don't think the catheter is left in for so long lah...I didn't have one straight after birth already...

Carseat
Finally decided on the Britax Royale (we bought only one, and will reuse adan's old capsule for the babies too)...Robinsons was down to its last two pieces so we reserved and went to buy straight away! Cheong Choon no stock and Baby's Kingdom was not on sale for that item...

wingkei, your hubby is too much. sounds abit like me, but i dun think i'm so jialat and to that extent of demanding-ness. i do make my hubby do those things like standing in the bathroom/kitchen and shout for my hubby to come just that he can switch off the light or flush the toilet or he spilled a few drops of water on my kitchen floor after washing his hands. like last night before sleeping, i nearly insist he come back to the study room and switch off the tv n scv. in the end i did it for HIM, all the while chanting about the number of things i switch off before going to bed each night and him doing nothing. hehe. but then again, sometimes 2 person must give and take lor... like sunday night i asked him to clean n polish my stove, after he done, i will do the finishing touches like wiping dry the kitchen top and sink since he never do things up to my satisfaction or i'm too demanding. he do some job, i do some job. fair n square.

OR, follow my hubby. sometimes i so demanding and unreasonable, he will get fed up then give me a shake to 'wake me up'. then i'll diam diam already. can try??? =X

wingkei: just curious...u seem to always hv a lot of angst and woes, in particular, re your DH & MIL. How far along r u now? Thot mood swings shd hv subsided by tri 2? U mustn't be so pek-chek. Learn to relax and enjoy your pregnancy lah. mang-zang/pek chek mommy begets notty baby u know!! LOL;)

Anyway, I wonder if you've started shopping for all your bb stuffs cos u never spoke abt your "shopping conquests" and your bb's devt in this thread leh... It's the GSS, baby! Go relax and have lots of fun!!!

bigtoes
i actually tried making a bean sprout kernel pillow with my relative who stays in yr same apartment. Its hard work lor... She did it for her first baby.
But i am not sure if she is selling bean sprout kernel pillows cos she owns a kids wear store now. Should she extremely convenient for u to get things from her ya... keke.

Wingkei
really got no good points in your hubby meh?? WHy do u marry him in the first place? Think of happier times bah... Since now preggy, try to look on the bright side of things... things might not be as bad as it seems.. If u wan me to list out all the bad pts of my hb... i can make 1 full list, but sometimes when i think abt his good pts, i feel my hubby is irreplaceable
I am not a perfect wife either... so gonna compromise

Hi bbmouse,

TT of $5.60 done. Ref no. 1737969656

I will collect the items together wif my bag.. Can I collect nxt wkend frm u cos hubby nt in town currently.. Any preferred timing on nxt sat or sun?

jasmine/lemon: this vivian "hair-stripper" is a freelancer? Does she do it at your house? Got use sterilizer and cream afterwards or not? Does she use hard wax or those cold one with cloth strips? I prefer HARD HOT WAX used by STRIP cos it opens up my pores and makes it easier for the beautician to uproot all the ingrown hairs inside the vulva and anus (sorry to sound so explicit!).

Bigtoes,
Usually for emergency c-sect, the stitches are not so nice cos it's already an emergency case, gynea will just quickly seal up the wound to prevent any danger. This happen to my previous case...
For those non-emergency c-sect, think wound will be nicer, easier to recover and not so painful as compared to emergency c-sect oso.

Jasmine (piggy_jas), that's good your hubby plan everything for you. mine is just concerned about his work and nothing else. i staying at furthest end of yew tee. Just need to take a feeder bus then will reach the clinic. so its super convenient for me.

Bigtoes (limay), i hope i get natural delivery, i'm terrified of c-section. btw your hubby is so sweet to do that for the baby. wish my hubby could be more involved.

yan
why u so scared of c-section?
I think it is a rather fast way to deliver leh
On the other hand, natural birth seems so scary to me... imagine the contractions and the waiting and what if last minute the doc snip open the V to enlarge opening for bb head to come out? Urinating might be v pain then. At least a c-section is pain at the bikini line, not at the V... gosh

morning ladies ,
Xueyan ,
your gynae cost quite the same as ours ... wecan easily choke up 1200 to 1500 even before the 20 week package starts .. and my visit at MT A clinic befor ethe 20th week is about 420 alone ... but just a general advise , if you are not comfortable with gynae , then suggest you change before the delivery ... just to make sure u haev a happy pregancy as well .. u must be comfortable and safe in gynae hands ..

bbmouse,
pls advise how to collect the goods from Babymallonline. Will there be a collection pt or will u send by postage to us? abit confused

cloud
I can't pm u as u dont accept pm.

Flos
She has a salon at centerpoint. But i go over to her place, she don't go over ppl's place. I saw her put bb powder. haha.. She use hard wax cos i can feel the heat. I never tried cold wax before.

Yan
Maybe we still young and still honeymoon period bahs. We married for coming a year onli and dated a year before rom. Maybe few years down the road, he won't be so concerned about me. =X *hope he won't get to read it* HAHA!

I always took a train down to clinic after work for checkup. Convenient too. =)

<font color="119911">Jaline (jaline) - yes, i am sure the gyne would be alot more meticulous when it is not an emergency C. Of cos mummy's &amp; baby's health is most impt during an emergency C. I am sure Dr Woodworth's stitches are otherwise nice &amp; neat!

Hah, hubby is quite hands on lah..He even wanted to make the cot from scratch when we couldn't find anything we particularly liked!
If we lived overseas, he would have a huge garage with all his welding/carpentry tools by now! Anyway, the pillow was not that difficult - just needed to sew a rectangular piece or cloth ..we have a small sewing machine, so half the time i think he was unpicking &amp; trying to sew in a straight line!</font>

plus the delivery fees of my gynae for natural is 1250 that is not included in the package i think .
The cost aside , I think the skills of stitching and getting the bb out is very important for delivery .. that is the cost we are paying for security .. hmm .. experience and good reviews gynae are important .. esp lessen the pain after delivery .. i have seen bb heads loop sided bcos of teh vacuum of inexperience gynae .. and complains of stiches pain after delivery even after three days ..so better find one secure one

hi jasmine, can share her shop name in ctrpoint? otherwise, PM me.. tk u

hi bbmouse, if u do fix a collection pt, let me noe too.. n shall c if it is more convenient tahn collecting @ur place.. tk u

LIMAY,
your hubby is such a loving daddy to your little darling! =) tat's very sweet of a man u noe! =)

both the bean sprouts pillows for my 2 kids are prepared by my mom! she handpicked the sprouts and dry them...etc. then my hubby's grandma will sew the mini pillow n bolster cases. so i can really call them " 爱心抱抱“...

must rmb to get hubby to sew extra set of pillow case hor, coz the cover will get dirty easily and must hv spare to interchange!

Flos,

The skin problems J suffered from are fairly common. But poor J, I think he inherited bad genes from us too (I have sensitive skin, allergic to seafood and hormonal imbalance problem. My hubby is lactose intolerant and allergic to dustmites.) So I'm very particular about things such as the mattress protector (paid $80 for my Aerosleep protector) and good anti-dustmite mattress for #2..

Ava,

Good that u managed to get the Royale. I am very happy with the Boulevard. J tried it for the 1st time yesterday. Securely strapped at last(no more fidgeting)!!
I have also asked my friend to get me the spare parts from USA so I can retrofit my Royale with the chest clips.

Mrs Yap (oneboyonegirl), i dunno why but c-section doesn't sound good to me, i'm just terrified of it. while natural birth does sound scary but not as much as c-sec. My boss have been telling me how good it is for c-sect and she did it for her 2 children, but still it doesn't change the way i think!

Jasmine (piggy_jas), me n hubby have been living together ard 3-4 mths after meeting each other, and from there i have been handling all his letters and finance and etc. it just comes really natural for us. i met him on a christmas eve of my 20th year, got rom on my 22nd year, married last year my 24th year. But i have never felt or experienced any honeymoon period. from the start of us meeting, feels like we have been together for a long long time already.
even our supposed real honeymoon in feb this year was cancelled by our baby.

Bigtoes
Haha...your hb sounds like my hb...he always wants to build his own wardrobe lah, own table lah...cos his dad used to teach that stuff in Penang before he changed profession! He remembers doing that stuff as a kid with his dad...

Milky and cloud
I have pm u both. =D

yan
Same as you, our real honeymoon was cancelled cos of baby. Got to wait till mid of next year then can go honeymoon.

Hey Bigtoes,
looking thru the photo album, i realised we had the same bumble bee booties which i brought for my gal last time, so cute right?
I oso noticed u like to wear dresses, may i know where u get those nice dresses from? I am looking for a nice dress to wear for my sister's wedding in three weeks time, headache leh!

yan, maybe one of these days, I should try to be the demanding one.

Flos, this is my 25th week and I also thought that my mood swings should have subsided by now. I also worry that I will have a notty baby in future. haiz.... My hubby wants to leave the buying to the last min, I wonder what he is waiting for, maybe to see if he can get any hands-me-down aka his old mattress? So, I've not bought any cot, prams, etc for the baby yet. I feel so bad about it. The only thing I've got are the baby's clothes which I bought when I was out with my mom once. I don't think I will ever get anything if I wait for my hubby. He just doesn't seem interested in buying baby stuff, not even clothes. We hardly go shopping and when we do, he never ever enters the children department. I've started keeping an eye on the prices of diapers but he tells me it's too early to look at them. I just don't want to wait until I can't move before I buy my stuff!

Mrs Yap, I'm so frustrated by him thse days that I seem to have lost sight of all his good points. He really have to pick something with me before we go to bed each night. I haven't slept well for 2 weeks already and not cos I need to pee. I try to compromise too, just that I am getting sick of it, especially since I'm so tired most of the time, I just want somebody to empathise with me. I feel that even my colleagues treat me better than he does!

And the irony is, he can tell me that other people always look so happy when pregnant but I always have a black face.

Jasmine (piggy_jas), my crazy hubby tells me like a kid 'I DUN CARE! we go this december, the baby let your mum take care!'. so i'm just taking it until the time comes for him to wake up. imagine he is so many yrs older than me, and still wan to behave like 'my son' or 'my wife'. LOL

wingkei, relax... maybe you need to one ear in, one ear out? or close one eye or close BOTH eyes to ur hubby? i dunno, but i do have alot of mood swings too. there was a few times when i drag my hubby out to buy baby stuff and he's so not interested, i broke down and cried in a shopping mall too! and he does make me mang-zang/pek chek all the time, but he do make me laugh as hard at the same time.

Yan... where u intend to go for yr "honeymoon"... keke... Your hb sounds like mine lor... he says we go holiday in Dec and bb give his mum take care. But i doubt i am able to do so cos i will miss my bb like anything. The trip might be a long one too cos we planning to go LA and open jaw to Tokyo. Shd be a 2 weeks trip. On one hand i am dying to go for a holiday... on the other hand i sure gonna miss my baby...

Wingkei
Man are usually more slack in preparing all these things.. unless u got Bigtoes' hubby.
I bought a baby pram and Cot without informing my hubby
Cos we intend to buy 2 prams... i chose one first n he chose the one he likes later lor. If leaves everything to let him decide, nothing can be done.

wingkei: ok, try to listen to some classical music and ignore your MIL la...I suggest you go shopping on your own, grab all the necessities, pronto. Sometimes men can interfere in the shopping choices we make; better to quietly grab everything based on our own judgement and charge it to him later on!! hhahha. I am enjoying myself so much with the shopping and bingeing now.

Lok: OK, I asked becos my mom is allergic to seafood and suffers from eczema from time to time. I am a little allergic to seafood but not as serious as mommy.

Jaline:

I'm not sure abt your logic:Usually for emergency c-sect, the stitches are not so nice cos it's already an emergency case, gynea will just quickly seal up the wound to prevent any danger. This happen to my previous case...
For those non-emergency c-sect, think wound will be nicer, easier to recover and not so painful as compared to emergency c-sect oso.

But I thot after the incision is carried out, bb is taken out, all's done, it should be more relaxed liao? Why should the gynae still do a slipshod emergency hurried job? He can take his time to stich nicely rite?

It should be the cutting up part that is slipshod!

Mrs Yap (oneboyonegirl), i dunno where he wants to go this time round. cos we booked for korea in feb and had to cancel it. what i do know is that he is 100% or can say 1000% wanting to go wherever there's SNOW! me say let him be, and let him decide since he always wan me to agree with him. i also same thinking as you. dying to go but how can leave my darling again with my mum?!!!

my hubby have brought me to buy almost all the things i decided to get for the baby, while all the time chanting about how much money i've spent. -_-!

shazz
PM u le.

Cloud, jaline
Emailed u le.

Yan
My hubby also ask me leave bb to my MIL but i will miss bb when she is not around with me. I would prefer bring her along but well, will see how it goes next year bahs.

Ur hubby throwing kids temper for you to "hong" him. Hahaha...

Jasmine (piggy_jas), he does that all the time. but i will still "hong" him until he super duper pleased, and so when he get happy, whatever i want i will get!!! HAHAHA! i also abit cunning one. over the years liao i accumulate alot of tactic to deal with him and get whatever i want. =X best is dun let him know that! =X

flos
maybe during emergency c-section, the gynae didnt cut open with a nice straight line, therefore stitching up later is more difficult.
Imagine the difference between sewing up a straight cut and a crooked one...

Yan
ya we also plan for tokyo trip in feb but didnt go ahead due to pregnancy. so long since i go for holiday... somemore i am the ma fan type... cos i always got spotting. My hb thinks its best for me to deliver first b4 travelling... not like some mummies here, still able to travel like a non-preggy. envy envy

Thanks, Jasmine. I recvd...

Flos,
For my previous case, i had scheduled my c-sect during the 1st Nov 06, on the 30th Oct, i went to gynea and collect the letter of admission, as usual she did a final check on me. To my surprised, I had a very high blood pressure that day and she advised me to immediately admit hospital for emergency c-sect cos it will affect me and my baby. (the night before i wasn't feeling very well already, can't sleep much).
When she was doing the ops for me, baby is smoothly out but my BP is still running very high... in fact the rest of the stay in hospital i was constantly running high fever (partly becos of breast engorgement) n BP not very stable oso...

Jasmine (piggy_jas) : thanks! received the PM. =)

I got a new symptom today ... my lower abdomen, above the pubic hair area, feels "sng sng", like a pre-menstrual cramp like feeling. Anyone felt that as well? Is it normal? Feels so funny, can't walk properly ... got a single female colleague asking me why I'm walking funny! *sob* I can't help it lah, I'm aching all over and I feel like my legs dun belong to me anymore!

Mrs Yap (oneboyonegirl), that time i also very ma fan. spotting on/off so have to cancel the holiday. even go shopping for 3 hours (before chinese new year need to buy clothes), halfway see red. then my hubby very kan jiong bring me KKH as the gynae clinic closed on sat afternoon, he dun wan wait till monday. that time got such a BIG scolding from him. ban me from going out. no exception even if going with my mum or siblings.

BabyMall Shipping and Collection

Collection: From my place at Normanton Park (anytime as long as my maid is home), or by postage.

Preggieblues - $15.40 - received
Storeberry - ($12.27)
LC - $14
Milky - $5.60 - received
Mrs Yap - $5.60
YingLing - $3.50
GraceToh - $14
Baconandeggs - $5.60

yan
Ur hubby is really like a kid. U both like change position. Tot always gal "sha jiao" den guy "hong" HAHA.. But also good cos you can get what you want.

Mrs Yap
I also envy those mummies here still can travel. My parents and In laws ask me travel after birth. Best is not to travel during preg.

Mrs Yap, Milky: Collection only at my place. Or for you girls, will Raffles Place be more convenient? If yes, let me know. Can arrange to pass you the items at Raffles Place.

Preggie BLues, Milky: Have received your transfer. Thanks..

<font color="119911">Ava (avalyn) - yah, my hubby is like that. He likes to take things apart &amp; fix them back together. Last wkend we couldn't find the right storage compartments in Ikea to place in the baby's wadrobe &amp; he was looking around at the DIY section to make his own cabinet already. Think if things were different &amp; we lived in a western country, he would end up being a carpenter or contractor for sure

wingkei (wingkei) - I guess at this point, you just have to try to talk more sense into him. But easier said than done, and at this stage for the sake of ur baby, just 'ren' his antics &amp; that of ur MIL? If you loved him enough to marry him, I am sure that underneath it all, you can still find the man u married &amp; remind yourself of his good points?

C-section cut - do the gynes use a scaple or laser to make the opening? I would think they do laser surgery now right? Don't think it makes a difference whether planned or emergency then - not that difficult for a skilled surgeon to cut a straight line. I think it still boils down to the stitching skill of the gyne &amp; how your own wound heals (same logic why some people spend alot on stretch mark creams to no avail, while others do nothing &amp; have no stretch marks).

aloevera (loever) - hah, not sure if hubby wants to sew another pillow case! Maybe just buy the spare casing.

Jaline (jaline) - yes, i like to wear dresses cos my butt used to be too big &amp; i could never find jeans that fitted by big butt &amp; relatively smaller waist! So anyway, so used to it already, so i end up getting alot of dresses. Actually, quite a couple of these are from This Fashion - cheap &amp; good (though not very durable, but never mind since mainly doubling up as maternity wear for a couple of months only). For your sister's wedding, you need something way nicer - maybe try the baby doll dresses at places like Daniel Yam? There is also a section in Robinsons that sells really pretty evening dresses - should have some that can fit pregger women.

Jasmine (piggy_jas) - i am actually making sure i travel as much as i can before i get grounded for months after giving birth! Going to S Korea for work at the end of this month, and maybe to Sydney during week 32 in early July (last week my gyne said i am allowed to travel)</font>

Bigtoes
Wow... So envious u can travel so many countries. I wanted to join my in-laws to genting this mth end also cant. Well, just have to wait till after birth bahs.