(2008/09) Sep 2008

shazz,

that's a lot!! Can't remember but roughly between 8-10 maybe (assuming change 2-3 hrly which is the recommendation).

that's according to my MIL. She was complaining that my niece is notty, like to poo just after they've changed her diapers! haha

sarahmay
its true! just as long as you are total bfg, you do not need water.

o but some misconception people have of this is that bm contains mostly water and that is why you do not need to feed water. but the truth is bbs actually do not need water until they start solids. however if your bb is on fm, you need to feed water, coz fm are cow's milk extract and contains high amounts of nitrates and nitrite (minerals) that cannot be absorbed nor easily processed by bb's kidneys. so you ahve to give water to help the kidneys relieve the load. bm on the other hand is meant for human bb so it's the perfect complete food..nothing more nothing less...

but one problem is you should not give too much water to bbs coz water contains chemicals (flourides and stuff) as well. in fact, it was reported in the news recently that even fm bbs should not be given water unless it is a hot day...

<font color="119911">Flos (flos) - the hubby basically sleeps on the couch that is already in the room - if i remember correctly, they will just pass him a pillow/blanket. Think my hubby complained abt his bed more that i did - u would think he was the one who went for surgery!

Ava - you had to pay for 3-4 days of parking at TMC? The amount would be atrocious then...as it is, normal appnts (2 hour stay) already cost about $6?

shazz (shazzerlyn) - 15-18 pieces of diapers/day? wow, in that case, really need to be 'auntie' and source from the most economical place. I think NTUC is still the cheapest? Nepia has an online ordering website if i am not mistaken.

Meanwhile, spent almost 2 hours in Kiddy Palace earlier &amp; bought most of my baby essentials already
Think I am basically done with my baby shopping for now...except for the diapers &amp; milk. Btw, they do sell Medela milk bottles (20% discount) if anyone is looking.</font>

hi shazz,
your friend isn't that far off. it's really a lot to change for a nb such that when i hear her poo, sometimes i pretend for a while i didn't hear anything!!! change until hand sng... i've mummy friends using nepia and they do comment that it's pretty good. value for money.

for me, i use petpet for day and mamypoko for night for my kids now. but for the nb, i'll use mamypoko nb because of the cut that specially caters to newborns. but from second mth on will use petpet.

ava,
you've got a four year old boy right? does he like thomas and friends?? i told my jared boy just now that we'll be going to your place and mentioned that there'll be a gor gor to play with him, then he asked me if your son has thomas and friends!!! *faintz*

flos,
you bought the disposables liao huh?? i think the one i used previously was 'impression'. but quite obiang lah... got like polka dots or some tiny flowers. what brand did you buy??

shazz: u r cool. tks for the calculation. it's very informative

Where is Nepia from? I think MamaPoko is really cool. I'll get one pack first.

Big toes: OK, will tour the wards when the time comes. I played with your Combi model (is it Miracle Turn?) at Mothercare just now. It's very light! I like it. Might get one for my inlaws' place cos they are too old and weak.

Alabone: yeah, some unknown brand...I bot 2 packs! u leh? Need to buy those sanitary pads or not?

yippe! I just got my bb a Baby GAP towel. Vain...what to do...

I hvn't bot the bb wipes (will get from Watson's), desitin creamy (will get from TMC pharmacy), medela pis (play by ear), toothpaste (after delivery), stroller (next week), car seat (next week), sponge, cotton balls/applicators, ear thermometer (nett price everywhere leh), rubber changing mat, cot mobile.

I'll ask my mom to get bath tub, bath sachets, hot water dispenser (i dun hv one), wok for the pig trotters, etc.

I'll request friends to buy me soft toys and clothes from selected shops like Kids 21, Gap, Zara, Mothercare. Do u think that's unreasonable?

Sarahmay: Was touched by Dh that he organised the outing.. Have been so neglected by him last few mths!

Shazz: I heard that Nepia cutting is small, is it true? So we need to get bigger size? MY mum told me that NTUC is selling Huggies cheaper, I think even cheaper than Pet Pet!

Flos: I will also get Mama poko for night use...

Mrs Yap: Ok, you tek care &amp; rest early! If your gynae not so helpful, seek another opinion? At least have a peace of mind?

Ava
hb has to work tomr so cant make it for CY's swim class. so most likely giving this sat a miss (since i cant squeeze into my swim suit no more)...will attend the gathering with my boy?

sorri for such late notice!

l'l CY and cloud
see you later!

BTW anyone with camera, pls bring cos i can't find mine...*blur*

Bigtoes
I can't remember what we paid for parking, but that's what hb said - no free parking...I stayed for 7 days in total, but hb only stayed 2-3 nights i think...it's all a blur now.

Flos
Get a friend to organise a baby shower for u before u deliver and have a gift list lor...

alabone
we have Thomas VCD/DVDs and some toys, but not the larger "on rails" type, but the smaller diecast ones with magnets to connect the engines...i told my poor son the other day to just pretend they have rails and he drew rails on a piece of paper and pretended...

Flos: I was stuck in the rain when I was at Isetan so just go and do some homework! hehe Nepia is from Japan. The problem is that it's sometimes not easy to find this brand.

storeberry: yes, nepia's cutting is indeed pretty small. My friend's baby outgrew their L but can still fit into Mammy Poko's L. But she swears by it and orders online.

On nepia, my colleague is the champion when it comes to saving $$$! hehe ... he told me that he used to buy nepia online for his baby, but soon he realised that it's cheaper to get from NTUC when they have senior citizen discounts on Tue, he'll make his in laws buy the diapers in bulk! Lol

Ava: Adan is so cute and creative! I was laughing out loud when I saw what you wrote, hubby was also amused by Adan. =)

Ava: Will be bringing my camera! But must remember to take! Kekek.. At least Adan is creative &amp; make do on what he has! Must give tips on how to nurture the next generations!

Shazz: So maybe I will buy one Nepia to try out.. Anyone bought Goon diapers online before? Is it good?

Was suppose to go to a wedding this morning but decided against it &amp; sleep late. When I woke up, I realise that one side of my tummmy pop up! So cute &amp; funny!

hi l'lcy,
yeahhhhhhhhhhhhhhh!!!!!! you're going!!!! grand!!! you'll see my nattie and jared!!! yeah yeah yeah.

ava,
really????? your son really has??? mine too!!! shall i get my son to bring his and then they can like share to play?? your son is so cute. will draw the rails himself. doubth mine can yet. oh by the way, would you mind greatly if i bring my maid along to help me?? she won't be having meal though coz she usually eats lunch earlier on.

flos,
i think two packs of disposables not enough. i remember i used it for the whole time until lochia cleared and i started using right when i was in hospital already. and sometimes may leak and feel a bit uncomfy so will have to change like more than once a day... i usually buy enough to last me a mth.

i didn't use any of the maternity pads. it's soooo thick and uncomfy. so i just use night time sanitary pads. i used sofy or modess i think. buy the longer the better.

Just finished magic-cleaning, mopping &amp; tidying up my room all morning...

For Nepia diapers, my sister gave me a contact for home delivery. Her friend who's a nurse says it's cheap &amp; good. Give you all the contacts later at Ava's place.

My hospital (KKH) will use those traditional loop maternity pads, so i bought my own maternity pads from Kotex.

Mei: I'm not going to be there. Can you share the contact with me here?

NEPIA: I never heard of this brand before. It is Jap yet so cheap? Hehe. Maybe I buy one pack of this then. Will NTUC sell this?

So envious tt so many of u can meet up! Post photos ok? Let me know what I've missed out. We must meet again before we all pop!

Just got my babymall stuff today, so happy. Vpost is really fast, I just paid the shipping charges 2 days ago and it was delivered today. The items are really cute and cheap.. I think all in all, I only spent around $70 (including shipping) for 9 items.

alabone
No problem...of course can bring your maid...toys also can, but make sure u know which are his so they don't get mixed up!

see those who are coming over soon...

Wow, hv a great time mummies!!

Nepia Diapers:
For home delivery, I think you need to order in a pack of 4. Not easy to find the smaller sizes in NTUC. Try the japanese supermarts (like Meidi-ya) if u can't find it in NTUC. I think J has a big butt, small size but some of the diaper brand just seem so small on him.

TMC Parking:
Ava, how come you didn't get complimentary parking? We did throughout the stay 2 years ago.

shazz,

Thanks for the comparison. However, one thing to note: the better quality ones might be more absorbent, less leakage, quick-drying etc, so may end up using less (say 8-10 vs. 15-18), so it might not be that straightforward.

alabone,

I agree with u on the maternity pads. They are so thick and unbreathable. Will get the normal slim pads (but superlong ones with wings) --- think Sofy is a good choice.

Flos,

You hv a well worked-out plan for buying bb stuff. I keep things very simple --- request for vouchers if they ask what i want!! In this way, I can use it only when i require to and there's no duplication (easily happens). Normally, I ask for NTUC , kiddypalace and Taka (no expiry) vouchers. Robinsons, mothercare and Toys R us can also consider.

hihi mummies ,
me gg to the gathering soon .. keke .. raining here in yishun ...
Just to share ..
I used pampers before and they are good but costly ... Mama Poko is currently what i am using at night .. and for the day , i switch to drypers cos more economical they are good too .. at least for 3-4 hrs change ... The cost difference is 1: 2 .. so switch to drypers and change more often ... keke .. that will prevent the diaper rash too ..

<font color="119911">Hey mommies - was great meeting u all earlier
Thanks again Ava for opening up your home for the gathering! Not putting up the group photo here, but u can check out the my facebook or bigfattoes.multiply.com!

Hi mummies!! Yah, it was great we met up with each other! It was so fun!! Now I can put a face to the nicks liao! Haha! And thansk Ava for organising this! Food is good!

Will add you in FB, limay!

yeah, had a great time chatting and eating with the mummies! special thanks to Ava for opening up her place and sunyrays for the uber licious cake! yummm ...

Been working non-stop since I got home, packing and cleaning baby's room cos it was full of junk previously, and also a store room for my in laws, bro-in law and our stuff! Poor baby also had to make do with some really old furniture like his uncle's wardrobe and his daddy's single metal bed frame, all simply because my in laws refused to let us throw, saying it's still in good condition, and we paid good money for it! Ok, 10 years ago, it was a big deal, and now that it's still functional, no doubt old fashion looking, they think it's ok for my son to use it when he's older. *faint* shall make do with it for now

i had a good time too and thanks ava for opening up your place. so sorry that jared and nat added to all the mess in the living room.

Adan's so sweet and loving. when jared was leaving, he gave him a big hug and a kiss!!! he's going to be one loving brother, that you can be assured of!

nice meeting with the rest of the mummies too. hope my two todds didn't frighten you all.

It was lovely meeting all of you!!

Ava, thank you so much for organising! Your son's such a sweetheart!

Sunrays, thanks for the yummy cake!

alabone
Your two children are so cute &amp; sweet.. &amp; nope, they did not frighten us at all!

As promised, here's the contact for Nepia diapers.. 62262650.

It was great having you all over.. a messy place after kids come by means they had fun lah
no worries...the Jun04 gathering I had here 2 christmases ago was even more rowdy...with at least 6 to 8 2+ year olds running about not to mention both their parents, and some older siblings!!

Someone please email me the group pic too?

We have soooo much food left over even after you gals took some back! today don't need to cook already hahaha! lucky for me, cos it's my helper's day off

I completely forgot to let you all try my jeans....sigh, anyway, i will need them for after birth, i suppose ...

Lok
Our stay at TMC was 4 yrs ago...so either they changed policy, or my hb's memory is as bad as my preggie one!

Tks Ava for organising this gathering!! It really feels like a workshop..so much info on pregnancy exchanged,haha!! We really shld organise 1 more nxt month in Jul...hopefully we're not too big by then..

Ava, the pic is in Facebook..bigtoes tagged you in the group pic alrdy...chk it out!!

It was a great gathering yesterday to meet all of you and thanks Ava for opening the house for us to mess up. :p
Adan definately make a good friend with my hubby, even brought him up to his room and show his toys...
Btw Ava, I finally found my gal's socks (hidden inside my bag pack) hee hee...
I will email the group photo to those who wanna see, pls let me know. Or u can add me in msn to chat more

<font color="119911">Ladies - Pls let me know if i missed tagging you in the facebook photo
Add me too...meanwhile, thought i'd better not post the photo here incase anyone prefers not want to be identified in a public forum!
And yes - alabone, your 2 kids are adorable! Ava - so is Adan...I am sure he will make a wonderful big brother

Lok - I will double check with the nurses at TMC on parking charges during delivery as well. If its not complimentary, then makes more sense to leave the car at home &amp; maybe just cab to &amp; fro or get a relative to drive?

Mei (meie) - what is the minimum order of Nepia from the website? I think I saw it selling at NTUC as well, might want to just get 1 pack to try out first before bulk ordering.</font>

anyone has recommendations for fish oil (pills) ? My gynae intro me a box for $42 for 30 pills. Looking for cheaper alternatives.

Bigtoes: you're so efficient! I don't think you missed out anyone. =)

Nepia, I think min is 4 packs. http://www.nepia.com.sg/english/order/index.html
Good idea to buy one pack from NTUC to try first.

Hubby and I bought our first 2 packs of diapers when we were doing grocery shopping just now. We bought 2 packs of Mammy Poko in Small (3-8kg) from Shop &amp; Save just now cos there's a discount now. $16.90 for 48 pieces. Decided to get the S one first since we're definitely gonna use it. As for the newborn size, perhaps I'll wait till towards delivery date and see how heavy my baby is before buying. ;)

Also bought bedding set from Aussino for $69.90. Only managed to find a biege and yellow set that is neutral enough for boys, the rest are all the pretty ones for girls.

Blue_roses: You can try getting NeuroGain from Guardian pharmcacy, think it's about $32 or $34. Most of us are taking that.

ooooh, look what I've missed!! I've seen the photo on BigToes' FB album. All of u look radiant! NICE! But got two moms' names I've never come across. *BLUR* I must attend the next round, i.e. if there is gonna be one at all

I just finished my weekend GSS shopping!!! Went to Mothers Work, First Few Years and Taka to grab my "desired essentials". Finally bot my cot mobile by Lamaze, my Braun ThermoScan, Medela Breast Pump Package, Milk Bottles drying rack, some nursery wallpapers/stickers to decorate my bb's room, sleepsack and disposable bed protectors!! YIPPEEE!!! I'm a happy mommy today

I hvn't bot my nursing bras and nursing tops/nightwear yet.

Storeberry: I dunno if I wanna stock up on diapers now. I'll ask my DH when he comes back in a few days time.

AVa: Baby shower? No need...For my first mth, I guess I'll request friends and relatives to give me <font color="ff0000">NTUC</font> vouchers cos I need to buy diapers, milk powder and bb wipes. ha ha! I dun need vouchers from the leading dept stores cos I hv bot nearly all there is to buy from these stores. Thanks to my intensive shopping spree, I've got the VIP membership cards from Kiddy Palace, First Few Years and Mothercare :) Hurray...

alabone: I bought those disposable bedsheet protectors just now. I'm scared I'll leak lochia on my bed during confinement. The Kiddy Palace disposable undies are in free size. As I'm not sure if I can fit in, thanks to my big butt, I just bot 2 packs first to try.

I wonder if anyone of u used Whisper? I find Whisper very absorbent.

Lok: Keke! Not really well-thought-out plan lah. I merely followed Shazz's shopping list posted here some wks ago
I must buy them before the essential things are OOS during this GSS. It's annoying when the salespersons tell u "Sorry we dunno when the stocks are coming in."

Was trying some nursing bras just now, made up my mind and only to be told by the salesgirl "Sorry no stock. I give u our no. U call on Tues." sianz...

Blue roses: I also take NeuroGain daily, cos I hate to eat fish.

Shazz: Are you the mom who wants to buy bumwear? I think both FFY and MW are having good discounts on their nappy covers. I din get them cos I'm not sure if I really want to let bb wear cloth diapers. I'm pretty nua and lazy...worried my son is a "Serial pooper"...

Mommies: About those rubber "thimbles" that u use to clean/massage NB's oral cavity. Are they necessary? Nearly bot them just now.

Gotta down my cordyceps soup again...

Flos: well done! that's alot of things that you got today! =)

Yes, am keen to get Bumwear or diaper covers but I dun fancy the ones being sold in the stores so far. More keen on those HG brands by experienced mummies such as Bumwear and the Mummy's Touch which was featured on a few webbies so far. Getting only one or 2 to let baby wear on his "off days" to let his skin breather. =)

Where did you get your dispoable bedsheet protectors from? how much for how many pieces?

On nursing bras, there's no need to buy now cos you dunno your size at the moment. I was told to get them during our confinement, also an excuse for us to go out. But I already got a couple as I was "talked" into buying the whole package deal at Perfect Mum during my first trimester. And now that I've grown so much, I dread to think how big I'm gonna be after the milk supply kicks in. The saving grace is that Perfect Mum allows me to change them before I pop, provided they're still brand new in the package. So I intend to change them to the size I can fit nearer our EDD.

shazz,

I bought the perfect mum nursing bras too. Their bras has no cup size and they have provided u with the bra extensions right? Guess what I'm saying is not sure whether there are sizes available for u to change. Hope u bought the non-wired ones for nursing purposes as underwires can "impede" supply (if too tight).

flos,

no need for the finger brush. U just need to clean the NB's cavity with gauze or towel.

RXmom,

I finally bought the Britax Boulevard. Haven't let J tried it out yet. Did u buy any seat protector? My hubby is complaining of possible damage to his leather seats. The Royale comes with it but it's not available for the US models, right?

<font color="119911">Blue_roses: I am taking the pure fish oil from Kordel. Can't remember how much, but you can get from Robinsons during the sale (quite abit cheaper from regular prices).

Flos (flos) - yes, i think all the mommies are looking great! I see alot of frumpy mommies on the MRT, and I am glad that none of us look like that..!

Btw, was also checking out the ugly nursing bras at Kiddy Palace last week but ended up not getting any. Was thinking if I can just survive bra-less at home esp since we would be stuck for 1 month anyways, &amp; use my regular ones when i go out...?

Lok (lok) - the Britax came without the seat protector? Mine is the Meridian model (Aust shipment) &amp; it has a matching seat protector - better to get something else ur leather seats will chaft &amp; peel over time.

Lochia - 2nd time mommies - how heavy is this flow really? Is this like 9 months of flow combined? Was thinking of just doing without the plastic sheet cos it would be very hot &amp; sticky. Can't imagine having to sleep with the jamu wrap - that is already bad enough.</font>

bigtoes,

Yup, I think the australian (Safe n Sound) models come with the seat protector (my royale did). Not for the US models though(read on some US website that it's disallowed in certain states e.g. Connnecticut). My hubby is less concerned for his current 7 year-old car but we are likely to change to a new one later part of this year.

Lochia:

Hard to say. This again depends on individuals. My lochia flow lasted like 8 weeks (but of cos, mainly spotting in the last 2-3 weeks).

bigtoes,

One more thing: not recommended to go bra-less. Firstly, u will be leaking milk (so need to use breastpads, not sure how u will manage without the bra). Secondly, guarantee u that with the milk supply coming in, u need the additional support...

Lok
Where did you get the US Britax model from? Did u order from the US?

Bras
I ordered Moms in Mind nursing bras (I think someone here posted a link) - just 2 to try first, then more later when milk comes in. They're quite comfy...

Bigtoes
To add to Lok's comment about bra-lessness, better to get nursing bras, cos of the easy access hook to the boobies. wearing them, you get some support, but can open then cups up to air the boobs in between feeds.

hi all.. just want to ask.. is it kiasu of me to start buying things like baby laundry detergent, wipes, body wash now? or should i wait till my BB is born? thinking of going down to Orchard today to check out the GSS at Robinsons and OG...

thanks ava...your place is nice and spacious..thanks for opening up

sunray, i love the cake u brought..thanks!

nice meeting all the mommies as well...