(2008/09) Sep 2008

I'm finally here! AVALYN - it's me it's me - CY! :D :D

hello everyone! I'm a friend of Avalyn's and she's been telling me about this forum and I've always said I have no time. This is a slow week so I found time to register!

ya shazz i agreed with u ... ALOT of ppl.... at the fair....

hey lanolin.. welcum .

Flos,
Sorry.. think if u can advise.. was thinking of going to macau in end june like tat...
i'm thinking of bunking in with my parent.. since they r going..
Which hotel is good? I've got recommendation for Metropark hotel .. but i was thinking of Lisboa hotel.. since they have a Casino itself.. :p

ava: i thot you run your own creative agency, that's what i meant!!

welcome lanolin.

xuanting: LOL. but I did make a numerical mistake in my report though. spotted by my sharp boss. pretty embarrassing. blame it on mommy's brain.

momoko: the right person to ask is our SarahMay as she is living there with her hb.

I dun think u shd book Lisboa cos there are too many prostitutes loitering around there. Plus they are extending a new wing (not sure if it's completed, else damn noisy and dusty) Try those Big LV casino hotels if u intend to gamble.

momoko
My father went to Macau just early this year & he stayed at The Venetian.. it's very luxurious.

lanolin
Welcome!!

Mei,
Wau.. U know hor.. Venetian very expensive leh.. lol...
I wan a better hotel stay coz just in case my dad spent alot of time in casino and i want to go back hotel to rest first... so dun wanna travel to go back to hotel room.. :p

shazz, the mommy's touch all-in-one cloth diaper (from link you provided) looks quite promising leh – got lots of buttons to fit newborn. am going to find out more about it.

thanks jo / flos and mei!

I'm the one with a 1.2 kilo baby in me and only am at 25 weeks. How heavy are yours right now? I'm wondering if mine's overweight even though doc says ok, just at the median.....

<font color="119911">lanolin (lanolin) - welcome to the thread
Are u joining us for the gathering this Sat at Ava's? Wow, how much weight have u gained for your baby to be 1.2kg at 25 weeks? Mine was 684gm at 24 weeks, think about 800gm max now (week 25). Is yours a boy or a girl? I guess maybe there is a family of history of larger babies or u guys are bigger boned/tall?

Momoko (momoko76) - the Venetian is not that ex actually. My dad went about 2 mths back, and he said they ended up paying like $300/room/nite - which is pretty much the going rate for regular hotel rooms in Spore at the moment.</font>

Bigtoes
Your dad got a good deal at Venetian, my dad paid like $400+, nearly $500! Think they've got promos &amp; peak &amp; non-peak seasons contributing to the prices rates.

lanolin
Oh wow.. so you're the one Ava was talking about.. guess yours is a 'L' sized baby. My doctor only mentioned that my baby is medium baby but did not tell me the weight.

I can't make it this saturday though Ava did mention it to me.
I'll try to take a photo of my tum tum and show it to you and see if u think it is big. Ha ha.

It's a baby boy and I've gained 6 kilos so far. my doc says if u assume that baby gains around 100 - 150g per week, we'll end up at about 3.2 to 3.45 kilos. My husband is tall so maybe I'll have a LONG baby? *shurg*

welcome, lanolin!

shazz, really not going to the fair? the retailer carrying the other brands is also going to be there wor. can touch and compare.

are these fairs usu v crowded and stuffy? thank goodness we aren't in our first trimester anymore...

Bigtoes...
Dun have leh.. is about $400++ to stay over there in june ... guess is low season for ur father to stay than.. so good.. :p

Anyone else got gd recommendation..??

By the way, u gals also enjoy urself for the gathering this wkend.. can't join u gals..

Momoko: how abt Wynn, another LV casino-hotel? Old Lisboa is too smoky. The ventilation inside the casino is very poor. The new casinos, at least I've been to Sands, should have excellent ventilation, so you dun get choked on second-hand smoke.

Venetian can be cheap during offpeak seasons. I only paid USD159 last time. You're going to sleep in the same room as your dad?! Is your hb going with you both?

Cloth diapers...A colleague of mine just shed new light on cloth diapers today. She told me notwithstanding the time consumed on washing &amp; drying &amp; changing, wiping and pinning and wrapping, etc., the bb washing detergents, diaper covers, water, electricity, all add up to be the same as cost of disposable diapers.

Her MIL got so tired changing her daughter's cloth diapers until she begged her to switch to disposables! She had bot 2 dozen of cloth diapers for her bb.

Pray that your bb is not pooping and peeing like nobody's biz. Better get a maid if you're using cloth diapers.

hahaha.. oh yes.. with my mum too..
triple pack than.. hmm.. so Wynn is the hotel where Sands casino is?? lol
Sorry not too sure where also.. :p
Been there 2 time i guess.. but still not good at roads and places name..

Ava - U should see me now. U wouldn't say that anymore. :D I think over the last 3 weeks, my tummy grew quite a bit. When r we seeing each other next?

Is there no one here having a baby as heavy as mine?

I know you've probably covered the topic re breast pumps... may I know what's the recommended brand? I want something that will last because I hope to pump as long as I can tahan. thank you....

Welcome Lanolin! Many ladies here are for Medela. Me more cost-saving. So using Avent cos friends' recommendation as well as got hand me down for this. Fast and much cheaper than Medela. Depends on your budget and preference. I dun dare buy even before my breast production begins. Cos what if v little? Hehe. My SIL dumped her electric pump and squeezes by hand. BB WEIGHT: How heavy is ur baby now? If s/he is going to be between 3.2 - 3.4kg, tt is average, not tt gigantic. Anw dun worry abt bb weight now...as long as healthy and growing it's good!

Momoko: Your parents like to gamble? So if your concern is being near a casino where they would like, you have to check with them what kind of 'ambience' they would like for gambling. Different casino = different gambling environment. Cheena type or more upmarket? Do they stick to one throughout stay or casino-hop?

Sorry for the questions but I need to know before I can recommend. Lisboa is a no-no for me esp the old one. Macau isn't tt big, very convenient to hop into a cab and go back wherever. What do you plan to do while your parents gamble? As you are preggy, you might also want to consider your interest while you are here and your own mobility &amp; comfort of cos.

Hotels on Macau Island side are the closest to the concentration of casinos. I would recommend you start at www.macau.com. They offer the best rates if you book through them for hotel rooms in Macau because they are linked up to at least 95% of hotels here, and they are a locally-based site.

If you think Venetian is luxurious, it is nothing compared to Wynn, MGM or even Crown. having said that, CROWN (6*) is hard to get rooms as they only have 200 , reserved for high-rollers. MGM rooms q nice. But I find MGM casino is boring!

Note too that end June is when Macau heats up! I'm prob here end June, early July still. So can meet u up and we can go shopping for bb clothes if you want. Oh! One of the days , u can even hop over to HK. Hope I helped instead of making the choice even harder!

CLOTH DIAPERING: Mummy's touch is good according to my friend. I like the Happy Heinz - the design looks really comfy. I need to find this site that reviews the different brands of cloth diapers and I will post it here for you to take a look. SHARING CD purchases: Count me in if anyone keen to purchase but dun want too many. I m keen on prefolds too if anyone is.

CLOTH NAPPIES: Where to get those old school white muslin types? I think I used before but forgot answers. Sorry! Are those pigeon brands better? Hear they are softer to the bum than old-sch types- true?

sarahmay,

cloth nappies:
I liked the MaxKool ones. Bought it from kiddypalace in Singapore. The rest I have are hand-me-downs (dunno what brand). For me, I used them for a lot of other purposes, not for his bum.

Especially if u breastfeed, it is common to poo a few times a day. My son easily poo-ed 3-4 times a day (yellowish watery type), not counting the pee pee times yet.

Cloth Diapering:
Out of curiosity, what is the main motivation/benefits for you mummies to get the cloth diapers? Can you share? I hv no issue with disposables at all and loathe to think abt washing it.

Lok:
"Cloth Diapering:
Out of curiosity, what is the main motivation/benefits for you mummies to get the cloth diapers? Can you share? I hv no issue with disposables at all and loathe to think abt washing it."

Good question. To all: Please share your views so that I know if I want to buy bumwear and pins, diaper wraps, etc.

Like Lok, I only bot one pack from Kiddy for other purposes, not so much for my bb's bum.

<font color="119911">Lok (lok) - am getting 1-2 packs of cloth diapers mainly to lay it beneath the baby's bottom on the bed to protect the sheets from accidental leakages. Think my CL's lady's intention is to use cloth diapers at the beginning, thou she is impartial to disposables as well....so going to Kiddy Palace to get some cloth diapers &amp; stock up on some new born disposables.

One the CL leaves, I am definitely using disposables. All the detergent &amp; water usage for washing cloth diapers does not make it anymore environmentally friendly, &amp; I am sure I would have my hands full taking care of baby alone to have to worry about washing poo out!</font>

Lok,
My CL requests for cloth diapers specifically. Thats why I am getting 24-36 pcs for her to use. After she leaves, I will be like bigtoes, using disposables.

Hmmm, find it interesting that most of u are getting it for CL's sake. My CL doesn't ask for such things and must be thankful that I'm using disposables (so she doesn't hv to wash it).

Clothe diapering
okok im an advocate but then i have a maid to do the washing. frankl.y i wouldnt use clth diaper without a maid...but here is why i chose to cloth diaper

1. saves the earth (need i explain more?)
2. no, cd is defintely cheaper. you dun waste so much water washing clth diapers one lah.
3. good for bbs bums. really really less chance of getting htose horrid diaper rash and therefore save on medicine (rash cream not that cheap - the good ones)

you wont want to hear your bb cry during changing time when they ahve rash...

4. bbs supposed to potty train earlier. not sure about this. but thats what was claimed. coz the bb will get the sensation of 'wetness' earlier...and know how to indicate discomfort...

Several reasons for Cloth Diapers:
1. Use during BF times.
2. More environmentally friendly.
3. More economical - despite what is said abt washing, detergent cost etc - I still believe it works cheaper.
4. Better for bb's skin. Less chances of nappy rash cos cloth breathes more than disposables. Also, while I cannot keep my bb in a bubble, I can limit his exposure to the amount of unchecked chemicals, pthlates in disposables.
5. Oh! Use for swaddling purposes too.

For me, I'm going to be the main carer even in 1st month. So will be starting with disposables first. Then switch to cloth diapers when I get better hang of being a mummy.

Hey ladies...
All along i tot my MIL doing my confinement for me. Then last wk she told me she not confident enuff to cook confinement dishes. She is worried a poor confinement will make me sickly in future. Therefore, i got a CL last minute! Thankfully still able to get one...

Ok.. as for cloth diapers... my grandma insist to use it for my youngest cousin the other time. according to her, cloth diapers are more breathable and will not cause bb's delicate skin to have itchy rashes.

Just checking on the status of the BP spree for the bb rash cream and clothing? Cant remember which mommy is the one who organised the spree..

Hi,SarahMay

I am getting pigeon brand for the cloth nappies. Apparently, this brand is better in terms of texture and softness.. can use for swaddle the baby too if baby is not too big.. Going to get two packets and the liners too.. but will switch to disposable after CL leaves. Perhaps will also put in some dispoable ones for night use ba..

I'I CY - For cloth nappies, really lesser chance of kanna nanny rash when compare to using those disposable diapers?

Baby size:
I saw all the talk about baby size and thought that mine seems reasonable - 716grams at 25 weeks. Yet, my gynae told me that my baby is slightly bigger than average. Strange....

Lilboymom:

Hmm...but then hor...I dun think washing the cloth diapers save the earth, unless you're using biodegradable washing detergents. Even established hotels put up signs inside the bathroom to encourage u to be environmental-friendly by reusing your towels.

Therefore Pt (1) doesn't really make sense leh.

I guess with a FT maid, it makes sense to use cloth diapers. Otherwise, if you have a bb like my colleagues' (or for that matter RXmom who needed to change 11 diapers/day), it can be really jialat!!!!

I mentioned electricity bills cos if I really want to use cloth diapers, I'll be machine-washing and tumble-drying those nappies instead of hand-washing and hanging them out in the sun.

ok, thanks for explaining.

I will stick with disposables. My son doesn't have an issue with it. At least for me, using nappy cloth for napppy purposes is too troublesome.

Mummies, must be diligent in your washing though. Some bbs end up with more rashes if u are not careful.

LC: "For cloth nappies, really lesser chance of kanna nanny rash when compare to using those disposable diapers?"

Another good question. I want to know too!!!! My nephews who all used disposable pampers didn't get any nappy rashes. They were very clean...They didn't even use Desitin. Just some normal nappy cream after bath, which takes place only once a day leh...puzzling...

Maybe hor, I'll use disposables at nite and cloth ones in the day during my confinement period cos the CL is there to help me out. After she leaves, bye bye to cloth diapers!

On getting cloth diapers and covers, I'm going to use disposables most of the time. But will let baby's bum have a free day to breathe, so will let him wear cloth diapers for a day in a week. ;) My CL didnt request for me to prepare anything, so I'm getting it more for the sake of bbay's skin. I don't have a maid and I think it'll make my MIL very unhappy if she gotta use cloth diapers when she's taking care of my baby when I go back to work.

Let's do a bulk purchase on our own once we're decided on which diaper cover is best! =)

bacon&amp;egg
Shazz was the one who organised the spree for the rash cream &amp; toothpaste.. she did email everyone. Did you receive her email?

I'll be using cloth diapers in the day, requested by my mum who'll be helping me. Then when I bring baby home, I'll use disposables. I have those mini egg washing machine which I'll use to wash the cloth nappies.

bacon&amp;egg (baconegg) : I'm the one doing the spree for the rash cream and baby toothpaste. Drugstore shipped our items out in 2 boxes, first box reached vpost but I'm still waiting for 2nd box to arrive before I make payment.

My hb asked me another queston last nite. Those Babywipes are on sale now, but do they hv expiration dates? I mean, they are 'perfumed/soapy/wet' rite? So can we store them for months? If yes, then we'll stock them up in bulk!

Next question: Do you apply baby lotion on bb after bath? I dunno if I wanna get the Mustela BB Lotion. I watch my siblings bathe their boys weekly. They use Lactacyd/Cetaphil only. Then they apply nappy cream on diaper area and dress up bb. Wonder why they don't moisturise their bbs leh? Neither do they apply powder/Ru Yi oil...

Lanolin
Breastpumps: Most here xpressed an interest in the Medela PIS (pump in style) which is good if u r going back to work, travel a lot for work etc. Others are going for the Ameda. I found the single electric pumps and manual pumps very slow and tedious ... also not as effective. I got mine already cos i need to start expressing right from birth to ensure i have enuf supply for both!!

I'll be seeing you on 7 June lah..for F's birthday and your belated bday dinner remember? Pregnesia!!!

Diapers
I used disposables all the way with Adan...no rashes even tho he was born in June (hot month)...just need to wipe properly and change often...and use DESITIN!!!!

Update for gathering:

**Gathering**
Date: 31 May (Sat) 3-5pm
Venue: 112 Potong Pasir Ave 1 #07-664

Interested MTBs:
Ava
Shazz
Bacon
Jaymickey
Mei
LC
storeberry
Qiuling
Mrs Yap
bigtoes
Jo
Jaline (2 adults)
sunrays
Alabone (2 adults)

We have 16 adults coming. Do you ladies mind if we keep it at $20 a head for ease of accounting?

Sunrays, how much will the cake be? do u need contributions?

Flos
I will be using Cetaphil/Lactacyd for bathing too. i also didnt moisturise, much to the chagrin of my hb who thinks it's important...I said, you moisturise lah! Extra step for nothing (this also explains why i have very dry skin myself lol)

...on a separate note, hb wishes he could be at gathering tomorrow but he'll be out all day...bring him to the next one!

Flos,

I don't use moisturizer or ru yi oil. Unless there is a need to (e.g. when he breaks out in eczema rashes). After 5 mths, I found out my poor son is lactose-intolerant and his rashes disappeared...

Ava,

Hi-5! Sama sama, i used disposables all the way. Btw, think i can't make it tomorrow. Need to send car for servicing and hubby has other plans. Catch u all another day.

Definitely recommend Desitin CREAMY (rather than original) to all mummies. Luckily, my company covers medical cost for my immediate family, so I usually buy from the PD clinic.