(2008/09) Sep 2008

Flos
Aiyoh...angmohs bring their babies out from birth onwards...I've seen it with my own eyes!!! No need to be TOO scared of germs lah

I also used Omron Basal Body Thermometer and I find it very good. Might get the ear one for my boy.

SarahMay: wow! u sure r pigging out in MAcau! Did u go to Liscoa Restaurant, the one opened by the fourth wife of Stanlet Ho? I love that restaurant!!!

I hv been taking iron tabs daily since week 12.

This same colleague's daughter only started to kick her in her 8th mth. She is born very meek and docile btw.

Feeling frisky in your week 24? I am feeling a little frisky. Wonder if you feel the same?!!! Hahahha!!

I also plan to hold my baby's one-month celebration outside, probably book a function room at a club or something. I'm currently staying with my in-laws & I don't feel comfortable having my friends & relatives over at their house.

Ava
Agree! I have seen the ang mohs bring their babies, all small & red, out to Great World City, they were having coffee at Spinelli's & the lady was breastfeeding her baby, I guess the baby's just a few days old. How I wish I can do that too.. but no choice, got to follow the asian way, or else I'll get blasted.

Ava: wow!! beached whale!! hahahah!! so farnie

Yes, sure got germs flying around in the restaurant one. What if some relative or waiter is having a flu on that day? My young nephew fell sick when some sick relative visited and carried them in their first mth...Risk Mgmt: stay at home...

flos
ya i dun think i will be having a full month celebration ... too many pp and i am afraid of all the germs flying around esp when they wan to carry the babe. Some even love kissing babies. I think not so hygienic. However, they are welcome to come in small groups.

Ava: when will they prick us? 24 weeks visit to the clinic?

Yes, I mean like need to hump my DH...LOLOLOL! Got one wet dream two nites ago. Pregnant woman hving wet dreams...omigosh...

Mrs Yap: OK, I'll try to visit that level 6 sale.

I'm hving it cos mine will be the first grandson of my hb's family. And I'm doing it at home cos I dun think I'd be slim enuff to enter the public domain...

full mth
thats y i am thinking not to have a big scale full mth with all relatives. Just my parents and in-laws; book a table and have lunch together. frens and colleagues - will send them gift packs/cakes.

Hmm.. if I had a choice, I wouldn't want a full month celebration too, too much hassle, no energy to entertain those relatives & I won't be looking my best too. But, no escape for me.. 1st grandchild for both sides of the families.

Ava: Your bump looks soooo good! Like very compact! And you look like you haven't put on much weight except your tummy area!

ANAEMIA TEST: Yes, when will this test be done? Hear that if there is low iron, doc might advise to eat liver. Yummy! I love liver...but haven't been eating cos of the high Vit A content.

<font color="0000ff">Flos
oh no... now u getting mi all worried for wat to expect nxt time.. haha
but i seriously think its true. they are how they will be when they are in our tummies...

Ava
wow... ur bump looks..... ROUND!!! hehehe... n it's high... i'm carrying my bump so low..

Flos
You are so darned funny....hahaha! It's fairly normal I think just that not many of us would just come out and talk about it!...Yes, my hb says he needs to rest more now and is thankful that period is over..lol

I did a haemo test four weeks ago cos i was complaining of breathlessness which i guess must be a sign of anaemia.

sasa
Funny...most people say i am carrying very low..one friend said.."ahve they engaged?" Duhhhh!!! Must be the pattern on that top!

I've put on about 7kgs only, but 3 in the last month!!! I dont really look preg from the back - just very pointy and long towards the front (Adan says looks like brinjal or short cucumber)...

Ava: hehe! unabashed i was...Just thot if someone else is feeling the same here...

My bb is kicking me a lot today. Quite uncomfy...notty notty...

Am suffering from mild heartburn since last week. Think the uterus is expanding and pushing agst the stomach?

eve: Saw in Aug thread that if you don't feel bb's kicks for one day must go down to gynae already just to confirm. But the mummies there are in their 28weeks now so I also not sure. Can you call your gynae &amp; ask? I am the one who ask about ribcage pain! Thanks for your advice!

Flos: You are so farnie!! Keke.. Yah we have our needs too! :p

Full mth:

I am intending to do a buffet to settle once &amp; for all. Don't want to do too many sessions. I am a lazy mum..
Sa sa: I think Cheong Soon sells bb monitor &amp; thermometer. Can call them &amp; ask.

storeberry: Sweetest Berry, it's Cheong <font color="ff0000">CHOON</font> lah!!!

Mine already kicked more than 10 times in 30min...ouch.

<font color="0000ff">Storeberry
hehe.. thanks... will give them a call or check with them when i drop by to get other items..

Ava
low??? realli??? den mine muz be... eerrrm.... 'Engaged'??? haha... omg.. u onli put on 7kg??? i have already put on 8-9kg from start... 2kg over the last mth.. but yet my gynae didnt open his mouth wor..

Flos
mine is hyperactive these few days too... can literally feel him doing sommersaults inside.. haha... sometimes wish we have got an xray machine.. so i can see wats he doing inside. luckily its not so much of kicks... haha.. i noe wat u mean.. coz it's realli ouchy!!!

Eve
try observing again.. ur bb might be one of those docile ones... lucky u!!! but anyway, u are onli in ur 24wks.. so perhaps ur bb's kicks are still light and mild tat most of the time u cant feel them...</font>

Flos (flos) : my fren did tell me that 2nd trimester is the honeymoon or rather "horny moon" period for preggies! LOL and I totally agree manx! Hubby even joked that he shld make me pregnant all the time lor! hehe

I'm having super bad backache, with the tail bone hurting, my right bum is numbed. I think I've been sitting for too long in office and in meetings. Sob. No amount of massaging seems to help! Tried changing position, watch my posture, take short breaks but didnt help either!

sasa
I think I mentioned before that I was 10kg overweight when i got pregs lah (who says fat girls dont have fun...haha)...so i'm damn glad i have not ballooned (YET)...

i put on 17kgs with my first child...so 8-9kgs for u at this point is ok lah. esp if u are the skinny type.

thanks, ava, aloevera &amp; flos.

room temp for bb
i would like to have the baby sleep without the aircon. would a sleepsuit + light swaddling blanket be too warm? i'm thinking of just dressing it in a short-sleeved bodysuit for sleep.

cloth nappy
wow, this is really a must-have, from what you all have shared. am going to add the cloth nappy to my list of to-buy things. it's really quite a good-to-have multi-purpose baby thingy!

ava, i like how your tummy is sticking out! very pert! mine's kind of lumpy.

frisky
umm... me too! i keep dreaming about IT!!!

xuanting
You can let them wear short sleeved if no aircon and weather is warm.

Cloth nappy is great...we didnt use them as nappies at all, but put them on arms when carrying baby (absorb arm sweat), line cot, line car seat, wipe up puke (burp cloth), then after baby grew up, used older stained ones as rags....very absorbent

FRISKY: Aiyo...you women are amazing. I just totally am off it. I feel so bad for my hubby. I hope that post-natal friskiness will compensate for this.

Xuan ting: If sleeping in non-a/c room, using the muslin cloth diapers to swaddle is good enough on top of the short sleeved bodysuit.

Ava: Were you asking me if I tried the Lisboa Restaurant? Which one - at Grand or Hotel Lisboa? I like the Noodle Restaurant at Grand Lisboa. Hehe. Yday I went to Starworld Temptations for an internation buffet. Was pretty decent. Price-wise v cheap too.

Oh Flos! About wet dreams and being horny for ur DH...maybe it is cos you are apart from your hubby? Cos when I wasn't w hubby i sure had frisky attacks and also wet dreams. Haha. But now tt I see him every day...I just am not v interested.

BUMWEAR: I think this was briefly discussed before but I'm getting keen to try this out now. Mummies who have used this before, is it easy to use? How many inserts is required for each diaper that we get? I'm intending to get one to try first, just in case baby gets a rash from wearing too much disposables and need to let his skin breathe.

No lah, with hb also feel that way...In Shanghai, I watched "The Other Boleyn Girl" and was surprised how frisky I was when they were acting out the love scenes! So I went to google and found that it's true tt some preggers do feel frisky in their 2nd tri. hahah!!

http://www.babycenter.com/6_your-pregnancy-24-weeks_1113.bc

SarahMay: I mean the Lisboa restaurant/cha chan teng. It's good rite?! Did u go to Porto Interior (?) which sells fabulous Macanese food?

My last wt at week 22 was already 66kg!! OOOPS! I dun wanna to stand on the scales now...

BB MONITOR: I bought the cheaper Philips one today at Metro at $100. This model is sold out at most places. Very happy to get it...

The $299 one is so expensive becos it enables two-way communication, aka ParentTalkBack. I dun need to talk back to BB cos he won't understand me anyway. I just need to hear his cries and attend to him. The salesperson told me it's nothing to do with interference. Both are equally good.

I also bot my disposable undies!! Some ulu brand I think.

The Braun Ear Thermometer is not on sale at Kiddy. Nett price...

Aiyooo... Flos... me see so many posts till I blur liao &amp; I thought Cheong Soon is the name after someone posted &amp; the name etched in my mind liao.. Kekeke... Okok.. Cheong Choon..

I haven't bought my disposable undies, yet, maybe can buy from CHEONG CHOON! :p Keke...

shazz
me advocate of bumwear!

the inserts they will usually give you loads. the thing is you can sometimes change the inserts without changing the pocket, coz usually the inserts will get wet but not the pocket. but i just change everything usually lah. too troublesome to take out the inserts and put another one in...

bumwear is more abosrobent than normal clthe diapers but as airy!!

bb waking and sleeping
=====================
think im going to get another morning bb here. she is at this point waking up the same time as her brother, 6am!!!! (she isw the most active then) haiz, if this continues, im going to get two bbs waking up the same time everyday, also good lah. at least dun have one waking up the other :p

but think sleeping wise still erratic at this point..

flos
ive sowrn off the weighing scale liaoz...

Flos,

Thanks for explaining on the Philips BB monitor. Rememebered the more ex model had some frivolous extras which is totally redundant.

Disposal undies:
I remembered TMC gave some netted ones which I find quite good. Good support and breathable. Wondering whether can buy from them.

For those of who are firm believers of breastfeeding, bookmark this website as I think it is helpful. They also sell a lot of breastfeeding related stuff:
http://www.breastfeeding.org.sg/

Ava: Oops! Sorry I got mixed up. Thot u were the one asking abt Lisboa.

Flos: Where is Porto Interior? Truth be told, I don't really fancy Portuguese food from what I've tried. Haha. Lisboa , both the old &amp; new ones, are supposed to be good for food. Not sure which cha chan teng u are referring to. I've not stepped into the old Hotel Lisboa. Only been to the noodle place @ Grand L - rather nice in my opinion. And not ex. They also have a 2 michellin star restaurant there. how often have u been to macau? But I'm really craving for decent sandwiches, salads and soup bars....sore lack , actually more like absence, of them here. Not sure if you've been to Il Teatro @ Wynn - great Italian food I hear. and a place in MGM sells handmade chocs which are supposed to be great too. Have yet to try. My editor friend told me abt them.

BB Monitor: The talkback function may be useful but for so much more...I think I won't bother. Bbs are actually very smart...they can understand what we say. however, I think the talkback function is more for them to hear a familiar voice to soothe them.

TRICK: I read this trick on some parenting website. Leave a worn tee or bra in the room near where bb sleeps. Apparently, the bb can smell the scent and will be comforted by the familiar daddy or mummy smell. Hehe. Does anyone know if this works?

CO-Sleeping vs Separate room: Anyone know if having bb sleeping in separate room has downsides? I read Dr Sear's attachment parenting website and they rec co-sleeping. But I'm just not very sure about this.

Okay...i better get moving to do my swim laps today. Finally got a new tankini!!!! Hehe.

<font color="119911">Ava (avalyn) - u are carrying ur bump quite high (like me) &amp; can't really tell that u are having twins...not that big really. Think my belly has EXPANDED the last couple of days! Suddenly noticed it being so huge yesterday! Thankfully no stretch marks yet - am still reluctant to use any creams, but abit paranoid all the same!

Flos (flos) - hah, i feel frisky all the time! So no real difference, thou i am having more of such dreams. Hubby just goes "tsk tsk tsk". I guess we will continue on till 2 weeks before I am due? Don't want to trigger premature contractions!

Kiddy Palace:
Are most items there on 20% off for members? I am intending to just buy everything i need at one go tomorrow evening (Medela milk bottles, baby creams, etc etc) &amp; not bother about baby stuff after that anymore.

On the question on feeling baby's movements: My gyne mentioned that most of us will feel them regularly by week 24. If they suddenly cease or become v infrequent from wk 28 onwards, only then should there be cause for concern.

Lok (lok) - bookmarked the page, thanks

Flos
"I dun need to talk back to BB cos he won't understand me anyway." LOL!!!

Bigtoes
Lucky husband then....I'm not usually that frisky...haha
I think you will see my belly is huger than it looks in that pic...optical illusion from that print as I said...haha...I'm almost full term size now!

SarahMay:

O Porto Interior is located at 259b Rua do Almirante Sergio, Macau City, Macau
Tel: +853 967 770

It's a very popular and renowned Macanese restaurant just opposite the Ma Kuo Temple bus terminus. A fav haunt of government officials and celebrities from the region. My Macau-based friend used to take us to Porto Interior to feast out! It serves excellent if not the best Macanese cuisine in town, even though I don't really fancy cheesy/buttery stuffs.

Me only been to Macau 5 times, all prior to the completion of the WYNN, VENETIAN and MGM GRAND. Was there only becos my hb had to go there for official trips.
IMHO, there is nothing much to do in Macau, except to enjoy Macanese food. The shops and brands are all from HK. Casinos are not my cuppa tea cos I dun gamble. Already visited those Portuguese museums/cathedrals, and yumcha at outlying islands. Only stock up on the ultra-famous 锯记、咀香园 love letters!!!

SarahMay:
As for Lisboa 葡京茶餐厅, I dunno if it's very popular in Macau itself. But it's a hit in mainland China, at least in Shanghai. The casseroles are awesome...Like I said, it's run by the socialite 四太, Stanley Ho's 4th wife.

Flos
LOL you very free today is it? hahaa...man, i am really stressed at work...I dun like doing BD for agency anymore....!! Getting too old for this...any inhouse lobang i can consider at year end? hehe!

ava: no lah, am typing some report actually. distractions abound...)

I thot you're running your own biz? lobangs at year end? I think there'll be more after CNY in Jan 09.

xuanting: it's really quite funny!!

shazz, will you be getting the bumwear anytime soon? i hear they will be participating in the bb fair on 6–8 jun but the sales assistant i spoke to wasn't sure if they will be giving out further discounts then. have you gone down to look at the nappies? i find the free-sized one a bit too loose for a newborn. the sales girl said that 2 extra buttons can be sewn on (to fold down to make it smaller) at no additional costs, but i think a whole row of at least 4 or 5 extra buttons will be needed to make it more secure. i'm thinking of (i) using disposables for the v beginning then switch to bumwear; (ii) getting them to sew the buttons on (take a few days methinks) and use from the start; or (iii) exploring other options online. apparently there are lots of other similar brands online. will hop down to the bb fair to have a look again. hopefully can meet a more knowledgeable sales assistant this time.

flos, am really amazed at your memory and multi-tasking skills man! can do so many things at one time and then remember all the nitty gritty details of what's nice and where etc.

Flos: my FIL emailed me the same picture today, with the headline, Why Singapore Want Pedra Branca back! lol

xuanting: I've checked out Bumwear in person, only surfed their webby. Can share if you want to get the package and save some $$$. Wau, so troublesome ah, need to sew extra buttons.

I've seen other brands online too, but they are saved in another lappie, will post once I get my hands on them, and then we can do our research and compare notes here. =)