(2008/09) Sep 2008

I'I CY
Your boy is a little charmer..

Haha, initially I was intimidated by her, but now I don't bother so much.. I just ignore her & sometimes I even retort her when her words are too much.

Tell you one freaky story of her when I just married my hubby & moved into their place. My hubby goes to work early.. leaves the house at 7am, for me, I leave at 8am. Once, she woke up early & waited for me in the Living Room & asked me why I did not prepare breakfast for my hubby as I was leaving for work. I told her we already got ourselves bakery buns, sometimes I make him a ham & cheese sandwich. She told me that is not counted & she wants me to come down to the kitchen & cook breakfast. Her idea of breakfast is only counted when you turn on the stove & cook something, I guess. I just nod & say ok.. but of course, I don't bother to do so.. my hubby also thinks it's ridiculous for me to wake up just to cook breakfast for him. Subsequent days, she waited for me & told me 'I already ask you to cook, why you never listen?' So, I told her, we are happy with our buns & my hubby does not want me to wake up early just to cook for him. Then she told me, as a wife, this is my duty, in his heart, he wants, just that he doesn't voice out.. what utter rubbish! I also don't see her or my SIL (she was staying in the house too with her hubby for a period of time) doing that, double standards! Moreover, they have a maid who prepares breakfast for my FIL. Anyway, she continued hounding me about this silly breakfast issue for the next few days. My hubby asked me if I wanted him to talk to his mum, I said don't bother.. wait she'll accuse me of more things. So what we did was I decided to also leave the house at 7am with my hubby, then she wouldn't hound me as my hubby would be around (she's different to me when my hubby is around). After a couple of days, she got the hint, I think. Then one morning, while hubby & me were leaving the house at 7am, it was still rather dark, we saw a figure lying on the sofa in the Living Room in darkness.. turns out my MIL was lying there! Whatever for.. I still don't know.. but my hubby guessed she wanted 'sympathy'.. but we just said bye to her & left, without asking her why she was lying there. Freaky huh!

mei
hahaha..actually i think your mil is a little...just a little...kookoo leh...kekekekek...wonder what time she woke up to go on the cold cold sofa....

Mei, thanks for the belly band suggestion. i will have to look around and see where i can get one. btw, your mil is really freaky. hehehe.. does she still do such weird things?

I'I CY
I also think so.. this is just one of her antics, got even more! I think I can write a book on 'My Freaky MIL's Antics'.. Lol..

jessi
She kind of stopped when she knows I won't listen to her.. but of course she still drama mama. Difficult to change.. think it'll start again when baby is out, got to be mentally prepared.

Jessi,

I bought MaxKool brand of nappycloth from KiddyPalace. Found it quite good.

MIL:
We have our ups and downs. During confinement, maybe due to all the hormonal changes + the stress of dealing with a NB + all the stupid confinement rules which I don't fully subscribe to, I flared quite often. Hence, I much prefer to get an external confinement lady than to let my MIL or mother be my "confinenment nanny".

In general, think we still respect each other and she tries not to interfere too much. When I had #1 and suffered from tendonitis (inflammation of tendon, usually from excessive carrying of newborn), she helped me to take care of #1 for 2 months. Very much appreciated her help.

Britax Royale:
Some mummies asked abt my Royale. I like the feel and material of it (especially since it's not scorching hot even after we park in the open). My son likes it when he's young (always able to fall asleep comfortably) and it's high enough, so he gets a good view of the scenery. *Touchwood* - so far, we haven't been in any accidents, so safety-wise, not much comment. I find the shade totally redundant though. In general, I think Britax offers good car seats (whatever the model). Robinsons usually offer 20% off Royale during their sale (~$350 after discount). If you have Robinsons credit card, there is a further 5% or 10% off the billing statement total. But must be fast (it's a very popular model that sells like hotcake). Suggest you call up and reserve first if interested.

On the cons side, recently, the harness got tangled, so need to take out and adjust. No chest clips so my son will wriggle free. Thanks to RXmom for introducing the other US Britax models. If I had a 2nd chance, in terms of compact convertible (i.e NB to 18kg), I would probably go for the Britax Diplomat (comes with isofix, side protection, chest clip, read that it's tangle-free, and can use lever to adjust rather than removing the entire harness).

alabone, i think it's quite difficult to open up the packaging in the store to feel the quality of the nappies leh.. hehe.. but i was told by my friend that for cloth nappy just buy the cheapest one will do cos all of them is the same.

mei, maybe she just trying to seek for more attention from her son and you. hehe..

Flos, yep, I am going on a holiday to Oz cos not sure when I can go again after bb is born, so wanted to do it before I pop. I'm the kind that can't stay in Singapore for a whole year without going somewhere. I'm in my week 24 now and will be in my week 26 when I fly.

Lok, oic.. i never seen this MaxKool brand of cloth nappy before. shall pop down to kiddy palace to check it out.

Jaymickey, is the belly band from mothercare those huge elastic band with velcro closure? i think i saw them before and looks rather uncomfortable to wear it. heh..

Storeberry: I'm not familiar with the Ameda range. In general, the cooler bag is used to transport the EBM you expressed in the office home for the baby. So it is handy if you pump in the office (ie you're a FTWM) and stay quite a distance away from the office. For me, my home is quite near office, so I didn't even used the cooler bag at all.
This is what happens. After each pump, I will store the EBM in the fridge in the office pantry. Then in the evening, when my hubby comes, I will take them out from the fridge to bring home. If the EBM is to be used for the following day, I'll keep them in the fridge; else, I will pour it into milk bags to freeze it.

Mei: I think shd still be able to. Cos they are stretchable. I bot so many pairs of cult jeans when I was there cos they were so cheap!
Then I didn't get to wear them immediatley when I return cos we tested positive for pregnancy. Kekeke..

Alabone: I'm so excited for you!
Yours got the twin moon roof?

Jessi.. no.. is actually the size of our usually pants'band... they 2 buttons on my end, elastic band in the center and button hole on the other end.. they sell it in a pack of 2 with the cloth to tuck behind ur zipper in case cannot zip... if i didn't rem wrong.. and is abt $32..

Jessi: I have a belly band purchased online from one of the sprees here. Actually I bot it after my first pregnancy and only brought it out recently to use. Erm... not sure abt the support, but it is useful cos as our tummy grows (esp in the 3rd trimester), our tops (even the maternity ones) will get shorter at the front, exposing our tummies. Wearing the band underneath makes it presentable.
That's how I feel.

Gathering
I guess we can cater lah...i'll cater for 15-20 pax - should be enough? then we'll split according to no of adults.

jaymickey
That's not a belly band... that's an extension for our current bottoms for us to wear when we're pregnant & can't zip up. Belly bands are more like a 'huge hairband' that you wear round your belly. I have the Mothercare one that you mentioned, it does not provide support at all.

Ava
I'm fine with the catering suggestion.

Shazz: All this talk abt jeans makes me wanna wear them too. I will chiong to the nearest This Fashion to try out the jeans. Hehehe..

I'm using the band or rather it called belly belt, bought it from mother care, at least i need not buy a lot of maternity pant, can wear back the usual pant i'm wearing, save money also. And Jaymickey is right, the band cost $32 with 4 elastic band, 2 set (contain 1 long and 1 short), 1set is button and other is the hook. but think most of the time we will be using the button only and so far, i only using the short one.

Jaymickey
Oh ok.. but I think the ones the gals are mentioning are for support & not for extension purposes.. guess the ones we have from Mothercare are also called Belly Bands..

ava, thanks for opening up your house for the gathering. are we gg for catering or potluck?

car
i recently also changed car to accommodate the car seat, dog and increased family members.
looking forward to drive the car in late june.

Britax Royale,
the last time i bought from robinson, they were out of stock, had to wait for 2 weeks and they deliver free.

Belly belt
Mei, can check where your fren got hers? I am interested to get one.

CL
My MIL offered to help and was offended when i told her i already hired a CL. Think it better to get external help in case i get post natal blues (touchwood) and get frustrated with MIL. With CL, at least can tell them what you like and dont like and think its v tiring for non-trained CL eg. MIL to wake up middle nite to feed and change bb.

Bra,
Where can i get comfy maternity bra? dont want those thin material type eg. women's secret. Want those padded cos i think the nipple tends to stand out with those thin non-padded types.

ohhh.. i'm confused by all the belly bands! maybe i will go take a look at the mothercare one as well as check out those shops selling maternity clothes if they have it. don't think there's any spree here for belly bands now.

anyone here will like to purchase a superyard XT?? I have one... used once only... and my very rough daughter pushes it and makes it looks like it might topple thus stopped using it... i think only good for very young crawlers... paid I think S$130 for it.. willing to let go at $50... anyone?

bacon&egg
My friend's a Japanese & she bought hers from Japan. Think she mentioned she couldn't find it here.

Gathering
Any budget in mind? most places I've seen (for 20 pax) will cos about $22-25 per pax. Type of food? How hungry are you guys at tea time? hehe *silly question*??

I'm thinking nonya food, (mix of spicy and non spicy) with some nonspicy finger food for the kids. votes???

BTW I think my place can accomodate 20-25 people max....
so it may be a little crowded - hope it's OK!

Jessi

The webby u gave izzit from singapore? How do we purchase it? I'm looking for no underwire bras..

Ava

Is so nice of you inviting us over your place but i can't make it. =) Hope to meet up with the mummies another time.

Ladies who can't join us, I'll try to remember to take pics and post them somewhere (not here lah, maybe my son's blog or FB)...

jasmine, yup the webby is from singapore and you can purchase it online.

ava, i wish to join in the gathering too, but need to see if i can push my appointment on next sat to a later time. by when do you need to confirm the headcount?

Jessi
I think we have enough to order 20 pax already...should be enough food I think, even if we have 25 pax...so I'll take it we can go ahead and order...if more people confirm then i'll just up the order accordingly...

morning ladies.

l'lCY,
CY not hum sup lah. it's normal wat. didn't i tell you that jared's like that too????? he even wanted to go and kiss this pretty little girl at the paragon playground ok??? She was frightened off.

Abt nat's reaction to cy ah... i'll tell her b4hand lor and prepare her. think she's ok lah. you know lah girls, act demure mah...wahahahha!!

Mei,
aiyoooo. your mil sounds so traditional. must make breakfast for hb kind. crazy leh. these days can buy breakfast one mah. and your hb already said no need. you are very nice. never retort or give her blackface. i won't tahan this kind of nonsense. and sleeping on the sofa???? what the hell for? i'm glad you and hb ignored her!

mickey,
hehe. i'm excited abt getting the car too. if we had gotten the aeras X model, then hb would have gotten it with the moonroof. but when we called dealer to find out, the moonroof one must wait for 8 mths leh. and they already had the black one we wanted at the port. so, we took the obvious choice. also, with moonroof, means more cost. i never liked it lah. though hb perhaps slightly disappointed.

yingling,
hey! we're in two similar threads. you are from dec06 also right???

Hi, SarahMay and Mei

My mum cannot come over and stay with me unfortunately.. And my hubby will have to leave Singapore for overseas training so really really bo bian..

In any case, I have tot through.. I will stay at my place to do the confinement with the CL and if my MIL wants to visit me, I welcome her. I am sure she will start to do the mopping etc and I will leave it to her since she wants to do.. But will get hubby to tell her beforehand that no interference with the CL for that one month bec I do not want any unnecessary conflicts between the two. In any case, there is no additional mattress around for her to stay overnight. Initially, I wan to move back to my mum's place for confinement and maternity leave but worried will put hubby in the spot. So perhaps, staying at my own place is the best choice as it is neutral ground.. Does CL go marketing as in buying of the necessary meat and so on? I might have prob with that cos hubby not around, unless my MIL buy and bring it to my place. There is a wet market near my place, within walking distance though.

Then after that one mth confinement, , I am free to move around, then will consider having short stay at my mum's place or go over to IL place for her to have a feel of taking care of baby..

Wat do you gals think? I have not been able to think straight and evaluate carefully the situation ever since pregnant so have to ask you all for opinion... Give me your 2 cents of tot ya.. thanks thanks

Ava: The food on the webby looks yummy!! Kekek... Yah I think order for 20pax can already cos you never know last min some might not make it...

Thanks l'l CY (lilboymum) & mickey for your advice. Think I will just get the Ameda pump 1st. Will ask my fren to check out the price.

Mei: Your MIL sounds spooky! Kekek.. I can imagine she is a rich tai-tai trying to vie her son's attention with her DIL.

MIL: I just hope that my r'ship with my MIL can be the same when she moves to my house! Maybe have to close one eye if no choice...

Ava,

Chilli Padi food is very nice. Just went there for lunch with my boss on Tue! It's paranakan food. V authentic.