(2008/09) Sep 2008

LC,
we are still thinking which date and where to high tea...if u r keen to join us, just add your name to the listing

Suggestions on high tea venue also highly appreciated..

Date of gathering - decided to add in more dates to allow flexibility

Date of gathering: 31 May, 7 June or 28 June '08
Venue: TBA
Interested MTBs:
Ava
Shazz
Bacon
Jaymickey
Mei (7 june not available)
LC

LC (faintz) : my hubby will be away till mid august, so I may have a chance of delivering without my hubby. But I'm praying hard that baby dun come out 3 weeks early. 2 weeks should be ok, cos hubby shld be back by then.

Mei (meie) : The Peg Perego SKATE retails at $1888 but I paid $1510 cos First Few Years is offering a 20% discount now. I thought that was a great deal so quickly grabbed it cos we love the functions and how sturdy it is. Problem is that it's heavy at 14kg and bulky, it takes up the entire car boot!

We're thinking of getting a 2nd car once I've settled back to work and have shortlisted the Renault Scenic and Grand Scenic. I remembered someone mentioned this some time back yah? I was surprised that the drive and handling is good and the features are so child friendly, with so many compartments stashed secretly for storage space.

yan (bbfam), Prob is, my PILs are going with us, so how to pull my hubby to see the animals? My hubby will worry that his mom is not happy or angry.
I have cried many times during my pregnancy, but I didn't scream or anything, and my hubby is totally not sympathetic at all. He just scolds me, saying that I am throwing tantrums. And when I don't reply him when he is scolding me, I will get more scoldings. Sometimes, I feel like a small kid always get scolded by him and being faulted. I just felt that since he was already outside, he culd have done those errands instead of purposely not doing anything and coming back to bed and purposely making me get out to do them. I give him black face also no use, cos he will give me black face back.

LC (faintz), yes, this is my MIL first grandchild but it's also my mom's and I don't see her interfering so much. My mom wanted me to take Chinese herbs and medicines and I refused and that is it. My MIL wants me to take those stuff, I refused and she went around telling her friends I refused to take this and that. Cos her friends told her taking this and that are good for me. I simply refused to think about the time when she will be taking care of my baby.

Mei(meie), I would love to turn a deaf ear but my hubby is not allowing me.

Shazz: Ya, weight gain is prob water, today weigh myself again & was back to 54kg, phew! But had stomach upset this morning, must be due to the Mala steamboat yday.. Was perspiring away when I did my BIG business! So hot!

Oh I see! I always thought stroller & car seat are two diff items.. keke.. So does it mean that the stroller still have the place for bb to sleep & also to latch the car seat in? Really not into car seat & stroller so abit lost here.. Wow, the stroller you bought is super ex!

Mrs Yap: Praise GOD!! Glad that everything is fine for you!

Gathering
Me too!! Kekeke

Interested MTBs:
Ava
Shazz
Bacon
Jaymickey
LC
storeberry

Shazz: I was the one talking abt a second car sometime back! Hey, I got kaki liao. You went to test drive Renault? I only test-drove the R-class, the XC90 and the Estima. Estima is super value for money and very comfortable.

Car seat: I have a question. My #1 is now using the Maxi Cosi. Shd I now get her a booster seat and let #2 take over the carseat? She'll be 18mths when didi comes along.

wingkei
does this mean you cannot eat chicken and fish cos they are also animals what...and what about cats and birds and dogs on the street?

actually humans are also animals, strictly speaking, so i guess you must tell your MIL that you have to walk around blindfolded or oops! what if you see her???

Was your hubby like that before marriage too? Sorry dearie, but he and his mom sound like major nightmares...I really feel sorry for you...!! Curious...what would happen if you did scold or shout back at him/them?

Hi, Bacon & egg.. thanks for adding in for me for the gathering..

Wingkei- I can understand.. my MIL also wants to make me this tonic and that tonic which she hears from her friends that it is good for preggies. but somehow I dun feel comfortable drinking so everything push to hubby to drink.. she saw it,kept quiet but next day she shoots all over to my brother-in-law and her neighbours cos the neighbours when see me will say that tonic soup is good and is meant to serve what purpose and so on..Argh.. can be very peeved off. These days i stay away from her as much as possible for the time being, going go back in the weekend..

Jaymickey
Thanks for the buffet list
I have only been to Melt - the World Cafe for buffet lunch recently. It's not bad...!

Interested MTBs:
Ava (avail all dates)
Shazz
Bacon
Jaymickey
LC
storeberry

Koras
Your tummy looks fine lah!

mickey
For your no 1, booster probably not suitable unless it's the type with the five point harness. better to get a 9kg upwards type seat.

LC (faintz),

Same here. My hubby will be away until end Aug 08. That is what's planned so far. But I will be having c-section, so will be delivering my baby 2 weeks before my EDD. Hope my hubby will be back in time. Otherwise, I would have to admit myself into the hospital after settling my son with my inlaws.

Mickey,

At 18months, she's too young for a highback carseat. She should stay in a proper carseat until around 5, which really is a better age for a highback carseat.

storeberry...
haha ... treat yr perspiration as "pai du"... these few days the weather hot like sauna... really buay tahan anymore... took a short 15 mins nap last evening n i woke up in sweat... really cannot live w/o aircon

wingkei...
i hate kaypo MIL... esp those who go around spreading bad names of their DIL. But u shd at least be glad yr mum is not treating u that way. Some mothers actually bad mouth their daughters too. Well i guess yr hubby brings u for holiday. Not bad of him la... at least yr MIL say cannot see animals... she did not say no holidays for u.

Ava
I think if wingkei shout back, its gonna be WWIII

wingkei
y u feel like a kid to him, your hubby alot older than you? mine is 7yrs older, so he's like my father always telling me wad to do, but i do throw tantrums at him. but his response not so jialat like your hubby leh... anyway, my mil also tell me to eat pao shen or etc but i dun dare to eat, so i just tell her got la, my mum make for me already(truth is no cos i really scared the smell). She tell me to make pao shen or chicken essence for my hubby i also tell her yaya okok i will, but behind her i never do it one. If your PIL going together then very difficult to have a good time liao... my hubby will also scold me that i keep complainin, but i will tell him back that if i dont complain, he will never know what is happening to my body and how i am feeling good n bad, and also he can never understand what i feel cos he is a guy he will forever not able to know the feeling of being pregnant. that will shut my hubby mouth la...

Mickey,

How do you find the XC90? Am thinking if we should sell our 1 year old CRV for a 2nd hand XC90, cos the CRV won't be able to fit 2 britax carseats and our maid at the back. Unless we decided to go out most days without our maid.

Mrs Yap
You're probably right about WWIII...blame it on my preg hormones..I am in the mood for fighting!!! Yesterday so many people cut my queue for taxi, even tho I bothered trudging up the hill to stand guai guai at the taxi stand...so MAD!!!

Ava (avalyn), guess what? My hubby told me I cannot see my family dog too!! They are really driving me crazy! My MIL also says I cannot watch documentaries with animals. If I ever rebut my MIL, ha... I can't imagine what my hubby will do. I told him that I am already being very respectful towards his parents as I never rebut them, what else does he want? Nope, he was not like that before marriage. I never knew he was sooo 'attached' to his mom, and I never knew his mom can be so intefering! I've never really scold or shout back at him, cos just raising my voice to him is tantamount to shouting at him and when I did that, he gets even fiercer and raised his voice more, etc and he will go on non-stop and drag out everythig possible to scold me about, even past events. Then he will ignore me for days.

LC (faintz), it's difficult for me to stay away from my MIL. I try to go back only once a week, but my hubby will always invite her and my FIL over without telling me in advance. So I definitely see them more than once a week.

Haha Ava!! DOn't treat us a punching bag when we meet for high-tea yah?? Kekeke... Ya, been feeling abit emotional these few days when DH not around, missed him so much!! Aiyo.. last time not like this one, since oreggy been feeling clingy to him..

Mrs Yap: Ya lo.. So sickening leh, its like a hot oven!! You joining us for high tea? Must come lah... Been talking to you so muc=h but never seen you b4.. :p

Mrs Yap (oneboyonegirl), my hubby only agrees to this holiday because his parents are going too! I've been persuading him to bring me for a holiday before I pop, but he refuses, giving all kinds of excuses and the moment his parents show interest in going, he is all for going on this trip. I can't forsee myself enjoying this trip though, cos I don't really like Chinese food and at the moment, I can't stand it and his parents have to eat Chinese food. I can't imagine going there to eat only Chinese food! But now.... my MIL is saying is that her friends are commenting that I am still going on holiday when I will deliver in 2 months' time, thereby hinting to my hubby that I should not go so now my hubby is thinking of cancelling the whole trip.

Interested MTBs:
Ava
Shazz
Bacon
Jaymickey
LC
storeberry
Qiuling ( not avail 28th june )

Interested MTBs:
Ava (avail all dates)
Shazz
Bacon (avail 31 May, 7 June 08)
Jaymickey
LC
storeberry

Suggested venues:
1. Melt - World cafe
2. Carousel (Royal Plaza on Scotts Hotel)

Ava, RXMom: SO I think we shd get another car seat for #2. Her current one can take up til 15 or 20kg. She's now abt 11kg.

RXmom: The XC 90 is an in between between the R-class and the Estima. I find it's actually not really a 7-seater. Due to the door, it's not easy for passengers to get to the 3rd row without flapping down the seats. But it ranks very high in terms of safety as it has airbags for all 7 seats.
In terms of power, when going upslope, I feel some drag, else it's ok. I test-drove the 2.5 or 2.7L, the 3.5L will prob be ok.

Wanna check with you. Assuming you have the XC90, how will you arrange the carseat? I mean, we can't fit both car seats in the 2nd row cos it becomes impossible to go to the 3rd row. And if you fit only one in the second row, where will the maid seat? 2nd or 3rd row?

GATHERING: WOW!!!! I want to go!!! But i think i won't be in town during those dates. Can we target another one for just before we pop like late July or August? Hehe.

CORD BLOOD BANKING: Agree with the info Bigtoes shared. My personal research into the utilisation rate of cord blood banking and its potential benefits etc also reveal similar findings. Research is promising...but as of now, it is not really translating into real life success rates. however, with technology, it can progress so quickly that within next decade tt things cld change. However, I think I'm leaning towards public donation.

Mrs Yap: YEAH! Glad to hear all is well. Take care and take it easy.

Koras: Where got too small? Has your SIL ever been preggers? Cannot compare tummy size... every woman carries differently and it is most definitely not an indication of bb's health and development. So don't worry!

WEIGHT GAIN: I ate SOOOOOOO much chocs and sugary stuff yday. Had this MAJOR choc craving...which I, the ill-disciplined one, caved in to. Sigh. Now must really watch it. Last month, i gained 3.2 kg in ONE month. My gynae and the nurses at clinic all told me to watch it. Hehe. Think I gained enough for 2.5mths lor. My doc told me to target for 0.5 - 1.5kg max per month. But she did say I can gain up to 13 kg. Right now, based on last visit abt 2 wks ago, I'm only up 2.7kg from pre-preg weight.

COMBI MIRACLE TURN: I love tt model too! Bigtoes has it. Even though you may have a car, you can't possible be carting bb around in your arms or sling. And when you take bb out the pram shd be sturdy etc. The miracle turn is really like a 4WD and is easy to manoeuvre.

wingkei
LOL!!! You poor darling! Your hubby sounds more "charboh" than you in terms of how he reacts to your "shouting".

storeberry
haha...won't lah!! Will be too busy eating

Interested MTBs:
Ava (avail all dates)
Shazz
Bacon (avail 31 May, 7 June 08)
Jaymickey
LC
storeberry
Qiuling (not avail 28 June 08)

Suggested venues:
1. Melt - World cafe

we could do fridays too if mommies are ok

sarahmay, when r u in town?

Date of gathering:
31 May, 7 June or 28 June '08 (Sat)
30 May, 6 June or 27 June'08 (Fri)
*Hope not too confusing..trying to accommodate all

Interested MTBs:
Ava (avail all dates)
Shazz
Bacon (avail all dates except 28 June 08)
Jaymickey
LC
storeberry

Suggested venues:
1. Melt - World cafe

SarahMay, Bigtoes: My Aprica is also a 4WD. Actually it may not be easier to manoeuvre cos it's too flexible and not easy to master the control. Most times, we ended up having to fix either the 2 rear wheels or the 2 front wheels. And when we turn the pram to face us instead of forward, then we have to unfix the stopple and reverse the wheels.

LC ,
my hubby came back for my delivery for my FB .. then fly back after a few days when i am doing confinement , then fly back again to attend bb first month celebration , think this time will be the same arrangement .. y u asking .. keke .. hubby gg to be overseas when u pop as well ?

Mrs yap ,
hope u are okay ..... just take more rest and relax ...

my 2 cents - it is most important to have an understanding hubby esp when preggie cos we tend to be more emotional and needy. If one's hubby is understanding, no matter how terrible in-laws are in terms of attitude and treatment, it wont work. wingkei, maybe u want to seat yr hubby down and have a heart-to-heart talk.

Ava
ya man... I was also waiting for cab when someone cut my Q right infront of me... really so thick-skinned lor

Storeberry
wah... yr hubby also not in town ah... same as me lor... v heartpain cos he sms-ed me yday saying he had a fever, feeling v sick and today he cannot work.. tis morning he is not feeling any better. I am worried he caught dengue or other kind of strange virus. Cos this time round he is in Indonesia... the hygiene there not so good lor. Me still v tramatise by the news on China quake... so sad lor.

Bacon&egg
Pls count me in for the high tea
but i cant make it on 28 June

Wingkei
You hubby is a mummy's boy. My hubby is definitely one too... But he onli listens selectively. He has came to realise that his Wife's advise is always a better option to avoid husband/wife conflict.

Mrs Yap: Yah he went Penang & was away for 4 days but this few weeks he has been busy, only home for 3 days per week.. Haiz.. This morning he wake up at 345am cos need to settle some work, I see also heartpain..
Oh deat, hope your DH is ok now, might be due to the weather?

Bacon&Egg: If fri, will be dinner & not high tea right? Keke..

Gathering
Interested MTBs:
Ava (avail all dates)
Shazz
Jaymickey
LC
storeberry
Stef (ok for all fridays)
Mrs Yap (all ok except 28 June 08)

Suggested venues:
1. Melt - World cafe
Any other suggestions?

Will narrow it down to 30 May and 31 May as most are able to make it. Pls poll your preference -30 May (dinner) or 31 May (high tea)

whoa! so many posts! I'm finally back with bb. BB had his first flight and in-flight meal last weekend...got him very excited and kicking all the time onboard
He was happy to savour SH xiaolongbao too!

<font color="ff0000">sunrays</font>: how was your trip? Did u get what u set out to get? I went to recce all the bb stores and bot only stuffs that we can't find in SG, e.g. Jacadi, H&amp;M. They've got excellent bedding sets but becos Jacadi is an imported (FRENCH) brand, the price + luxury goods taxes can be very steep.

It's quite interesting to see Aprica, Combi and Chicco milk bottle series, besides the usual Avent, NUK and PIgeon, in the Shanghai dept stores. The imported strollers like Quinny, Maclaren, Combi, Aprica, Peg Perego, etc. are soooo expensive. So is Maxi-Cosi.

I notice that Combi is very popular among Shanghainese parents. For car seats, only the expats buy them cos the Chinese dun care abt car safety at all.

For bedding sets, which are abundant in SH, i notice all the brands carry very thick duvets, bumpers and sleeping bags. Not very suitable for SG weather
Also, the measurements of the cots are somewhat diff from ours cos they use metric system in China. There are many gorgeous winter prams too. Super hot for SG babies.

<font color="ff0000">Sarahmay</font>: how long will u be in Macau this time? Is it tiring to fly up and down like that for u? u shd get your hb to fly down to meet u in SG cos there're TWO of u! If not for my free spouse ticket, i won't even bother to fly up there in my preggie state...heheh!!

Btw, did u observe 3 min of the somewhat eerie silence on Mon? For the past 4 days, I've been following the earthquake news on cctv very closely. Saw many moms giving birth near the rubble, and so many orphans were found. One policewoman who just gave birth to her own baby 2 mths ago ended breastfeeding 8 babies-turned-orphans at the quake site...One pregger was rescued after being trapped under the rubble for over 160 hours without food and water for herself and her bb! Really strong &amp; brave, man...Anyway, just as I was clearing my belongings in SH, I also donated my old clothes and some cash to the victims...

<font color="ff0000">Bacon&amp;eggs</font>: What's the occasion? Where is Melt and where is Scotts Hotel?

<font color="ff0000">Mrs Yap</font>: Glad to hear that you're ok now. Take care!

<font color="0000ff">GSS</font>: Can't wait for the sale to start. Wanna go check out those things I've shortlisted. Wonder if those warehouses like BB Hyperstore and BB Kingdom are participating in GSS?

<font color="ff0000">LC</font>: why are u asking this question:""Popping" without Hubby around - Anyone will be giving birth and doing confinement without hubby around for reasons like hubby being posted overseas for work?"

will your hb be away in Sept?

bacon&amp;egg
I'm ok with Fridays too, after work.

I totally agree with your statement on having a understanding hubby with regards to difficult in-laws. My MIL can be extremely unreasonable at times &amp; when my hubby feels she is wrong, he'll correct her in front of the entire family. Initially when we just got married, she was very unhappy with me &amp; would always pass sarcastic comments in front of me that now that my hubby has me, he does not care for her anymore. I just kept quiet.. but after months of all these nonsense, I stood up &amp; gave her a piece of my mind. Now she knows I am not to be trifled with, so things are better. She still tries her luck at times but I am always firm. Sigh... MILs..

i am fine with either Fri or Sat...

Mrs Yap, glad that u are fine.. and i agree with you.. Hubby to a certain extend listens to their mum quite a fair bit but to avoid any conflict, they just have to pass what we like to hear and keep what we don't... u know, my MIL even want to stop me from applying perfume...

Gathering
Interested MTBs:
Ava (avail all dates)
Shazz
Jaymickey
Mei (ok for both 30 &amp; 31 May)
LC
storeberry

Suggested venues:
1. Melt - World cafe
Any other suggestions?

Flos: Good to hear from you in SH. I tell myself not to read abt the news leh. Cos it's really so sad. Take care and come back to SG soon..

Mummies meeting up: Enjoy yourselves! I will try to join next time.

Flos,
No special occasion..just thot we could meet up to catch up...would be fun cos we have been talking for months..
Joining us?

Melt - Mandarin Oriental, Scotts Hotel is near to Shaw where Lido theatre is.

All mommies ok if we go for 30 May (Friday) dinner? Can I will take the liberty and confirm 30 May 08? No violent objection, we will confirm the date as 30 May

Gathering
Date: 30 May (Friday)
Interested MTBs:
Ava (avail all dates)
Shazz
Jaymickey
LC
storeberry
Mei (ok for all fridays)

Suggested venues:
1. Melt - World cafe (Mandarin Oriental)
3. Ellenborough Market Cafe (Merchant Court Hotel)
4. NYDC (love their mudpie!)

bacon&amp;egg
Think we need to see how many of us are going then we can confirm the venue.. as much as I love NYDC, I don't think it's a good place if we have so many of us, plus NYDC can be really noisy too, just my opinion.

wad i feel is that hubby alot of them mummy boy and like to defend their mum against their wife, cos the mother bring them up? I dunno but mine does feel this way. He knows that his mum is always unreasonable and sometimes talk nonsense or always listen to other ppl say things, but when i complain alot, he will defend his mum lo. Now whenever i need his help or need him on my side, i will use the 'don't you wan me to be on good relations with your mum?' and he have to side me and on the same line with me so as for me to easier to get along with his mum. like whenever mil tell us cannot do anything, i will say ok, if she find out we never listen, i will blame husband n tell her that her son always this pattern, dun listen to me or her one la, must scold him etc. so she will think is the son wrong not DIL dun listen to her. But have to tell hubby beforehand that going to push the blame on him so when point finger at him, he must keep quiet. that way the MIL will be closer n treat DIL better.
*my own 'creative' approach to dealing with MIL n HUBBY. At least it's working quite well for me now*

Hi Mickey:
Things are ok in SH, except that all entertainment joints and tv channels are temporarily suspended until tonight, as a mark of respect.

Bacon&amp;eggs: OK, Fri evenings are fine with me cos I can go after work. Sats are no good for me. Prefer Orchard area though
Why dun we go to Sunrays hb's restaurant?!! hahahha!!

Hi Mickey,

Yah, I love volvos cos they are so safe. Though v hard to maintain and the maintenance fees or servicing fees tend to be high.

I am thinking maybe my maid can get in from the rear? :p flip down one of the seats (for boot space), and then she will sit in the seat that is upright. Will not be comfortable putting one of the kids at the back, just in case the backside kenna bang. :p

You mommies have fun at the gathering. Not joining cos I would have to bring my son along (since daddy is not around), and he won't be able to be still during the tea.

Flos: How long will you be in SH until?

RXMom: The boot is quite high. She will have to climb each time. It may look weird leh. And if you put 2 babies upfront, she won't be able to see them. Your elder kid is ok cos can make noise if uncomfortable, but for the younger one, got to keep an eye every now and then.

Mickey,

Yah, might be funny for her to be climbing up the back... will see how lah.... I will be in the front seat, so I will be able to see the kids.
Actually since my FB, I was always in the front passenger seat and I don't sit with him cos I don't want him to be reliant on needing me to be beside him. Of course there are situations when I have to sit beside him when he's upset etc.

I think in the US they dun have worries like us. Cos they dun have maids. Which, in a way, could be a good thing. Can you imagine changing a car just because I want to accommodate my maid.. sigh...

yan (bbfam), yes, we are in the same boat. My hubby also likes to tell me what to do and all that. He always tells me being pregnant is so easy, if he were the one who is pregnant, he definitely will not be so weak like I am.

I think sometimes we are contradictory...we don't want our hubby to be a mother's boy, but I want both my sons to be when they grow up cos I love them so much and the last thing I want is for them to love someone else and forsake us. Think one way is to love our DILs equally much.

Just some out-of-the-point thoughts.

RXMom: I'm always in the front too. My maid sits with my gal more than me. Sometimes I wonder if I shd ask her to sit in the front instead. Hehehe..
I totally emphatise with you abt the car. Here we are fretting abt changing/buying another car. But I can't live without a maid leh. Even before my gal comes along, hubby and I have hired a maid.

Wingkei,

Why your hubby so like dat?

I would have given him a piece of my mind and a tight slap if I were you. They only part-take in the conception process. So it's easy for them to say. We feed the baby, shelter the baby, worry to death if we have spotting/ infection, etc, we pay our own consultation fees, we pay our hospital charges (ok, this time round I am making my hubby pay), and for me, my hubby is not around, I might have to be in the operation theatre myself for my c-sec, and after that, i will nurse him.

Sometimes I get angry with my hubby for being away, that I would tell him that again, this no. 2 will be a mommy's boy cos I give him more than daddy. :p

Wow.. I no time to read the forum in the morning and glupz.. so many posts to follow-up!

Wingkei, it is a pity if ur hubby cancel e trip! It will be hard for us to travel next time once the bb pop out. Actually no big deal in traveling when preggy unless the preggy lady is reallie weak in nature lo. But haiz, old folks are stubborn in mentality one lo. Hard to change their mindset one… end up have to psycho urself one lo. Remember to pour ur woes here den bottle up and explode hoh

Mrs Yap, good to hear all is fine for u!

I am keen to do the meetup lo.. I tink it will look hilarious if we lined up and take a pix wif our tummy thrusting out. LOL
If I am available on the selected date, I will sure join in! But I will be away on BKK holiday from 29th May till 2nd June lo… bt if kena clash, it is ok, I will join next time!