(2008/09) Sep 2008

Isetan Private Sales coming up on 15th May.

Here are some baby stuff from the catalogue.

Maclaren, Quinny, Maxi-Cosi & Peg-Perego
Less 15% + 5% (Isetan Members)

Combi
Less 20% + 5% (Isetan Members)
Additional less 10% on sale items

Pigeon
Rapid Steam Steriliser, Food Warmer & New Born Starter Kit at $149

Munchkin & Avent
Less 20%

Medela
Swing Electric Pump, cooler bag, purlan & medela treats at $389.

There are lots more discounts shown but too many for me to type out.

sarah - havent gone for checkup till next thur.
bacon - as my hubby is the only one working so dun want to spend extra $ to go

<font color="119911">bacon&amp;egg (baconegg)
MILK - am drinking HL almost everyday more cos of habit (have been drinking milk with breakkie for years). I do however, try to drink my Enfamama occasionally, thou its a tad too sweet for me.

The Amara's breakkie spread was honestly quite pathetic! They have 2 pools, one on the ground level for kids (but no one was using it &amp; it didn't look like it was cleaned for ages!), the other, a small infinity pool on the highest floor. It was empty when we went, but filled up pretty fast later &amp; got too crowded. The place was okie overall, but nothing that great ~ rather stay at the Shang (thou that is old) or The Sentosa Resort &amp; Spa. Amara does have Tanying restaurant thou - same as the one at Amara Hotel - which i think is the best Thai restn in Singapore

sarahmay,
can we use avent bottles on a medela breast pump? will they fit? cos i intend to pump some of the bf milk into bottles to store..

Milk,
Are anmum and enfamama lactose-free? I am lactose intolerant..just last week, i had massive diarhorea after drink low fat milk..

SarahMay (sarahmay) - yes, mine is the Combi miracle turn (TJT350) – the list price is about $498. It has the reversible handle as well. There is another more expensive version, with better egg shock support &amp; airier back rest. Was suppose to get that, but thought about it, &amp; didn't quite make sense cos it was about $150 more for the little difference in the cushion.

Photo in my facebook - http://www.facebook.com/photo.php?pid=458000&amp;id=650743986&amp;ref=mf

koras,
can ask yr hubby to massage yr back with normal moisturzer..i do that..only my backache got really bad..got no choice but get help from therapist. using hot waterbag to put on sore areas help too

bigtoes,
thanks for the info. looks like i will give amara a miss

mommies,
u reckon its a good idea to travel to KL - 4 hours self drive? anyone planning short break for this coming public holiday?

bacon - have lo.. i got ask my hubby to rub for mi.. but only when i lie on the side on the bed or lie flat on the bed can help a bit.. cant sit long on the chair

koras
Cannot use salonpas.. just use a heat or ice pack &amp; like what bacon&amp;egg suggested, ask your hubby to massage for you. Maybe your chair doesn't support your back enough, get a small pillow &amp; place it behind your chair to cushion your back.

Bacon&amp;Eggs: No, the Medela PIS cannot fit Avent bottles. I have tried with Medela (of course) and Pigeon storage bottles. Pigeon bottles are much cheaper.

Bigtoes: The aprica we got has the egg shock absorber and adjustable airholes at the back thingie.. Yah lah, waste of money, we also dunno if it really works.. And my #1 didn't really like to sit on a pram! That's why we're not getting another one for #2.

mickey,
oh no..so i have to buy medela bottles to use their bf pump? any way i can utilise those avent bottles i bought? transfer the milk? or we are not supposed to transfer due to germs/infection etc?

B&amp;C: Don't worry. The PIS comes with 4 Medela collection bottles. These can be used for collection during pumping. For feeding, transfer the milk into the Avent bottles.
After pumping, the milk is usually transferred for storage, if not consumed immediately. If consumed within the hour, pour the BM (breastmilk) into the feeding bottle.
For storing, there are 2 things to consider.
1) Is the EBM (expressed breast milk) to be used within the next 24hrs? If yes, store in the fridge using a storage bottle or a milk bottle. When bring out to use, pour the milk into the feeding bottle and warm the bottle in the warmer til the desired temperature before giving to the baby.
2) If the EBM is to be stored for more than 24hrs, then pour into a storage milk bag, and freeze it in the freezer. Write the date of freezing on the milk bag to facilitate bringing out at a later date.

The post is a bit long. Can understand?

Mei: Yes, the gucci diaper bag is nice on its own but when I sling it over my shoulder, it makes me look dull. I guess I'm not the warm/earth colour tone type of woman, according to Bobbi Brown. I look better in cold winter shade. Kate spade bags (summer series) add accent to my pale skin/arms.

bacon&amp;egg: hehe! those $400+ KS bags are also quite nice.

big toes/Ava: both of u really know how to enjoy your mom's day, yah?

qiuling: u shd quickly book your tickets cos the next public hols will be in Aug. Oh, but then u are a teacher, so that hols are diff from us

My DS was 45min long, so was the wait which took me over an hour! The TMC sonographer took care to explain frame by frame, part by part to me, as though she was conducting a short lesson on DS! During each section, she would say, "so far so good", "nice nose", "beautiful lips he has there", "sharp chin", "lovely feet", "some urine inside his bladder", etc. It was very reassuring to hear all these niceties when I was alone in that dark room...

Bacon: After the initial few times, you'll get the hang of it. My hubby and maid helps with sorting out the storage - date, milkbags, bottles etc. I'm just in charge of producing and pumping the BM. Hahaha..

mickey,
i dont have to rush out to buy the medela pump just yet rite? After birth, depending on milk flow.. should be still enough time to buy then?

Bacon: Erm.. If I were to rank the importance/necessity, the breastpump has a much higher priority than the stroller/pram. Some mums even suggest to bring along the breastpump when we checkin into the hospital (if the hopsital doesn't provide the pump). Cos the baby's suckling and pumping all helps in stimulating and generating MS (milk supply). So, I'll say do get it ready first. After delivery and discharge from the hospital, the first few weeks will be quite haywire at home coping with the little one's schedule. There'll be not much time to compare prices and such. The hubby becomes an errand boy cos the mum will be in confinement and recovering from the delivery. In the first weeks, during the occassional few times we bring the baby out, we'll usually be carrying the little one, and not put him in the pram.

Flos: I've not used any Nuk products before. Avent and normal pigeon bottles are not Bfree.

Ava: You are in Malaysia! No wonder no posts from you!! Buy more cos you are having twins leh!! kekeke.. And show us your loots when you are back!

Koras: I have been having backache when I si too long as long but the thing is my tum-tum not very big yet!

And have been having difficulties falling asleep at night, sometime 1am to 2am.. And I am always awaken at around 8am.. Haiz.. All these disrupted sleep is making me tired.. Yawn!!! zzz..

bacon&amp; egg: If you have friends going to US, then can ask them to buy, its alot cheaper than Sing!! I think Kate spade is nice, especially the patent red series, haha.. But think I will save up $$ for bb instead.. :p

And I gotten the Avent manual pump from sis &amp; I have bought Pigeon bottles but will be storing breastmilk in the milk bags. Confusing? My friend is using Medela breast pump but pigeon bottles so should be ok bah.

Mickey - That is very clear explantion on the expressed milk..It coincides with my understanding too.. I am also using clothes diaper for the first month with CL around since she will need to do the baby laundry too. wat is the liner thingy?

Flos - Not all mommies use the beansprount pillow.. and it is not any traditions that your mom or MIL need to do one for baby.. available at alot of stores.. Spring has it but the length is a bit long, I feel. Can go check out Kiddy palace if you intend to get one..

Mei - wow, Isetan has the pigeon package. Will go and see cos I am thinking of getting a pigeon sterliser.. and food warmer did cross my mind, just in case the tradition way of heating the milk with warm water is slow.. Errr.. food warmer and bottle warmer the same?

Storeberry - Yup, talking to you.. want to get a pigeon steriliser instead of the Avent IQ. Will get the steam one.. How abt you?

storeberry - my tummy also not very big yet ler..but now encounter backpain hope when i go for my checkup next week the gynae got recommand cream for me to apply to lessen the pain

LC (faintz): Kekek.. cos I m storeberry not strawberry leh.. There is anoher strawberry in Aug thread. :p I am thinking of getting the Pigeon steriliser but I want to check the KK hospital one selling for $88 is which model 1st. Istentan one package alot of things inside &amp; sell it as $149, so I am not sure whether to buy that.

Mickey - Since the PIS comes with 4 Medela collection bottles, we can just use these for feeding rather than transfer into another bottle again rite? (since Medela is one of the few that is BPA free). Does Medela sell teats as well, or do we have to get NUK/Pigeon teats that fit Medela bottles? Sorry, still quite blur about the various bottle options!

Bigtoes: The medela bottles that comes with the PIS are storage and not feeding bottles. They are made of soft-plastic, instead of the thick and hard plastic used in feeding bottles. Dunno if there's any difference. Not sure if I tried to fit using Avent or pigeon teats. My guess is they won't fit.

mickey (bbmouse) - okie, thanks! I am getting the PIS from my sis, so need to know what bottles &amp; teats to get.

sunrays (sunrays) - oh, so cute! Thanks for sharing! Too bad mine is a boy, but think i still want the version with the personalised name but without the ribbons

Hi Xuanting
bfree sells bfree sterilizer too

Hi sunrays
i saw the personalised bb bloomers too
v nice n unique if got her own name on it
But its quite expensive lor
I will feel the pinch..keke

sunrays (sunrays) - i ordered 3 of the bloomers. I guess after this, we cannot decide to change the name of our baby already!

Hi, Bigtoes

I think Mickey is probably right abt the medela bottles. As far as i can recall, the bottles that come with the PIS is for storage only and not for feeding.. for feeding you will need to get another model which Medela is carrying.

Storeberry - hahaha.. ho ho ho.. sorry sorry.. got your name wrong.. Oh, you are checking with KKH one huh? Let me know, ok? I think the budle that Isetan has is quite good, provided that the food warmer is the milk bottle warmeer and it can fit any non-pigeon bottles..

Preggie
I ever asked the Metro salesgirl be4
she says AVENT sterilizers can also fit Bfree bottles. I think when u buy, check with the salesperson first... jus in case

LC (faintz) - okie, thanks. Once confirmed, I will get the medela bottles with their teats - think i saw them at Kiddy Palace last week...but quite boring looking, not like the cute cartoonish NUK ones.

interesting thing to share.. today when i sort of lying down at the sofa, i saw my tummy like got pop up feeling when mybaby kick. then i put my hand where the baby kick, my hand also got pop up feeling. anyone got this kind feeling also

Yes Mrs Yap! Wanted to get one, but ended up with 3! haha...had to MSN hubby to confirm it was Kieran before placing my order. So now, if my mum grumbles that she doesn't like the name (for instance, she preferred Oliver to Ethan, so my nephew ended up being Oliver) i can tell her too bad, too late now, since the Bloomers are already customized!

Strollers &amp; infant car seat/carrier: I got the Maxi Cosi Cabrio-fix 2007 design at Baby Avenue at 25% off. Will be getting the STOKKE Xplory and getting the car seat adaptor that can fit the Maxi Cosi Cabrio-fix when it's released.

This is the demo on STOKKE Xplory, we love that it's higher than most strollers and can double up as a high chair when we dine out.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=r-6wsZPtCjA

mickey: that was very useful infor on storage of BM.

I got Pigeon BHA-free bottles from BHG Bugis over the weekend, they're having 20% off, so very affordable!

They have this 160ml skinny and tall bottle, not sure if it can fit the Medela PIS pump. But I know that Pigeon storage bottles for BM is compatible with the Medela PIS. Hope that helps!

bacon&amp;egg: I got the Pigeon milk and food warmer, usual price is $82 without any discount. The Isetan package for the coming IPS is very good bundle! My colleagues all swear by Pigeon for the rapid steam sterilizer and food warmer. They said it's better than Advent because of performance and cost. A colleague got both the Advent Express Steamer and Pigeon Rapid steamer and the Advent one broke down in less than 6 mths! His Pigeon set still going strong. I'm considering getting another set of the Pigeon during the IPS cos I need a set for my caregivers when I get back to work.

mrs yap
ya the price of the bloomers abit steep but quite unique and personalised..get one for Princess Melody!!! hehe...

bigtoes
wahh...u got 3?! yr lucky kieran...haha.. did u chk wif the seller whether the bloomers can come without the eyelet lace trimming at the legs??

Bigtoes,

Think I have written to you on this earlier also.
This is the one you should get if you intent to feed from Medela's bottles. They double up as storage bottles too, so you won't need to transfer to another milk bottle when feeding. They fit standard teats. I checked that at Kiddy Palace.

http://www.amazon.com/Medela-Breast-Feeding-Storage-pk%252e/dp/B000WPVCQE/ref=pd_bbs_sr_1?ie=UTF8&amp;s=baby-products&amp;qid=1210572252&amp;sr=8-1

The bottles that comes with the PIS are only storage bottles.

haha bigtoes
yr MIL got no choice now... keke
Oliver sounds like galgal's name leh
Its good that u can decide yr boy's name

Sunray...
Melody got stingy mummy... keke
very tempted to buy la but let me think again... hehe

Hi, Shazz

Saw your posting on the pigeon steam sterliiser.. so you know if the food warmer that Isetan has for the pgieon bundle deal can also be use as milk bottle warmer?

mrs yap, so you've decided on melody already? my eldest niece is also named melody! i'm still thinking about mine. dunno if we want to follow suit with "m" names or use other letters instead...

<font color="119911">sunrays (sunrays) - i didn't ask about the bottom lace trimming for the bloomers. Actually, don't mind them lah, not that girly cos I am not adding ribbons. Else would look very plain anyways.

RXmom (ruixiangsmom) - yes, thanks! I saved the picture of the Medela bottles from ur last posting &amp; saw them at Kiddy Palace last week as well. Since these can be storage &amp; used for feeding, will just get these then, thereafter switch to the Pigeon bottles that Shazz mentioned when baby needs a larger bottle. The Medela ones only come in small 4oz sizes right?

Mrs Yap (oneboyonegirl)- hah, yah.. i liked Ethan more than Oliver as well...anyway, told my mum about Kieran, and she didn't say she didn't like it, so i assumed it was "passed".</font>

Bfree bottles are a bit big for NB. Smallest is 160ml...at least that is what I've managed to find at Taka, OG and Kiddy Palace. That's the reason why I didn't get them for the first few months.

FLOS: Who's your sonographer? Mine didn't even comment much about the features etc...NUK is not BPA-free. Avent isn't either but is polueurathene...safer. Pigeon has PES which is also another way of saying BPA free. Piyo is also BPA free. NUK isn't. I think it boils down to your choice.

BLOOMERS: Soooo cute...but are they comfy???

Bigtoes: I like that model too. BUt the thing is the older model which is like 300 bucks cheaper has an easier to use handle...but the seat isn't as fancy. And the canopy isn't the light fabric mesh type. So am at a loss as to whether to buy that old model. Hehe.

My baby's sleeping bassinet is here! Hehe. Shall have my dad come over to fix it up to check for faults trow!

LC
Yup, food &amp; bottle warmer is the same. Can be used to warm milk as well as baby bottled food. I bought a Tollijoy one to try out as it's very cheap, only $33, with 20% going on now, it's even cheaper.