(2008/09) Sep 2008

Mandy
wow 600g is real big... mine is less than half of yrs at 298g only... haha
as long as healthy... big size is ok

Hi Flos, hmm i hope I didn't hear wrongly from the gynae lor, haha. Cos he sound so "its ok its alrite" so I thought I didn't hear wrongly, maybe it's normal... until i saw you all's postings....haha.

Hmm,I'm 1.74m and my hubby is 1.8m. Both my parents are considered tall and rather big sized during their younger days, haha. Now cos of age, they have shrunk le. I think probably my baby boy's bones are heavy bah, like me...and probably tall also...hehe. but I like guys being tall, haha.

Hi Rabbit, actually I didn't know from the scan dr can tell my baby's weight. It was only during the scan that dr mentioned it and i was surprised until dunno what to say. hehe.

Hi Mrs Yap, agree with wat u say, so long dr say its healthy means ok le. I believe the baby's size and weight really have a lot to do with the genes. I have gained about 6kg so far, which means only 600g goes to my boy, then the rest goes to...!! Oh my god, have a lot weight to shed after birth, haha.

Oh, and then I didn't really have much tonics or soups and I eat out most of the time. In fact, I didn't really eat as much during my normal meals cos after a meal, i usually feel a bit of heartburn. So what i adopt is Small meals but frequent meals.

I drank the normal Farmhouse Low fat hi calcium milk, sometimes eat potato chip (sinful) haha, everything also eat, didn't really take a lot of special food... Didn't take a lot of meat also...just very normal meals, like those i took before pregnant lor.

So i guess it's the genes.

<font color="119911">Flos (flos)- I was quite fussy with the bedding as well....finally settled for 2 sets of the Classic Pooh bedding set. Options here are truly limited &amp; very boring

SarahMay (sarahmay) - how come ur gyne asked u to go for the GTT so early? I thought this is typically done on the 28th week? Not sure if its compulsory for all, but I guess I would opt for it, given a family history of diabetes. So what happens now that u have gestational diabetes? Just cut down on sugary stuff? What is the added risk to the baby?

Mandy (forrestgump4) - ur baby is big! But then u guys are big boned as well, so not surprising. Mine was just 312g at 19w5d...don't think baby would exceed 2.8kg at birth (heaviest amongst my sisters = 2.6kg)!

Kiddy Palace - went to get their VIP card &amp; bought the bed mobile &amp; some other random stuff yesterday. Pretty good deal cos most of the items are 10% off. Also bought my baby's 1st (3) sets of clothes! Thing I am being fussy, but most places don't seem to sell nice baby clothing - just alot of plainish looking white/blue/pink tops.

Okie, have a good Mothers' Day weekend mommies &amp; MTBs! Am off to the Amara @Sentosa for a weekend stay

Thanks, Mickey for ordering for us

Mandy - you so tall.. I tot I am tall already.. I am standing at 1.72m.. Went for 20th week scan and baby weighs 400grams..
is your due date pushed earlier because of your baby growth?

Flos - wow!!! your sister in law sure eats very well
hahaha.. my diet din change much.. eating abt the same.. and weight gain so far is abt 4kg.. I am going into my 22nd week though..

hi Mandy and Mei,

thanks for your advice.
Mei: yes, i am from KKH. they do not tell me anything...i still have to go back for the 20th week scan for bb spine.

Rabbit
Normally the sonographer will do the scan &amp; generate the report. Then the doctor will brief you on the results. Feel free to ask them any questions. You have not gone for your detailed scan?

sarahmay
why dun you try glass bottles? my son used to use glass bottles when i was still working. pigeon has it, quite cheap too, and totaal chemical safe!!!

hi mandy
wow, you are soooo tall!!!!!

flos
wow, you SIL has had a real lux treatment during preggies leh, but she suffered lah, of course.

actually his milk intake at 4mths seems fine leh, is he very overweight? not very nice to be too overweight when young...hmmmm...

MOthers' day
----------------
eih, isnt it next week???

Hi Mandy: OIC. It now makes sense
Both of u are very tall indeed! And your diet is quite ok too. I also eat out every day, chomp on potato chips in the office and devour Ben&amp;Jerrys and JCo Donuts after dinner. It's ok lah, 600g is proportionate to your height I guess

Hi Rabbit: The weight is estimated based on the femur and humurs, etc lengths I think.

Big Toes: Yeah lor...I'm not so interested in reading up on milk bottles, breast pumps, bb toiletries. I'm highly interested in baby beddings, mobiles, and strollers only. For bb clothes, I told u all my hb has bot a lot from H&amp;M Shanghai and I'm expecting more from friends and relatives during the 1st mth brithday.

Enjoy your Mom's Day at Sentosa!!

LC: Abt wt gain, I'm quite confused by the DS report which states my pre-pregnancy wt as my wt in week 12 (start of my antenatal package). They didn't ask me to weigh during my visits from week 5-6 - 12. If that's the case, I've only gained 5 kgs.

OK, I'm going for my lunch then manicure liao.

Hi mei and flos,

i have gone for the DS, however still pending the scan for the spine due to position of bb. was actually there 3 times already. have spoken to gynae and sonographer but they did not tell me bb's length and size. according to sonographer, shd not be getting bb length becos of the way bb is in now..guess i will check again when i go there for the scan again.

Hi Mandy, welcome!! Both you &amp; your DH are tall!! My BIL's sister is also very tall &amp; her baby gal weigh 3.4kg at birth which was bigger than the norm..

Yeah, Happy Mother's day everyone!!

Am off to Malaysia to attend a wedding dinner with DH.

Happy Mothers' Day!!!

*Ahem* tell you all something, i was looking at my birth cert and you know what's my weight at birth? 4.3kg lor! My mom told me when i was born, the "missy" said, "wow, your daughter very long leh". haha. i think it's in the genes that my boy may become quite a tall guy in future, haha. At the time i did the DS, from the screen i can see that his legs and hands are qte long lor, haha.

The only thing i change in my diet could be that i took very good health supplements since I've got to eat out very often. I think those supplements really help, if not I wouldn't be able to "tahan" the tiredness during pregnancy...my doc says i can continue to take my own supplements so I didn't took those prescribed by him, haha.

Hi all.. was talking to my SIL last night and she asked me whether I was going to use cloth diapers or diapers for the first few weeks.. apparently BB will do his business many times a day so requires a lot of changing.. cloth diapers are cheaper but got to keep washing.. diapers are most expensive but convenient.. what do you gals think?

Happy Mothers' Day~~

Just got woken up by ppl getting married. they had more than ten cars honking, which is deafening!

cloud - for the first few weeks would most probably use disposable diapers as its more convenient, then will change to cloth diapers when the baby more or less settled down and we can get some sort of a routine.

Hihi everyone...

Me too wanna wish every mummies and MTB a Happy Mother Day!

Let's all look forward to the wonderful time of been a mother! YEs!

Momoko

Mandy (forrestgump4): you're the biggest baby I've ever heard of! I was among the biggest among my peers at 3.49kg when I was born but I'm rather petite by adult hood. So my friends are always teasing me, where did all the weight go? You stopped growing ah! hehe

I think your baby's weight is normal as you and your hubby are both tall.

I read that the baby's birth weight is likely to be similar to its parent's birth weight. So I'm praying that my baby won't be bigger than me! My hubby was a manageable size at around 3kg.

Happy Mother's Day to all mummies! =)

Hi, Cloud

I am thinkin gof using more cloth diapers cos the CL will be here and think she can helpt to wash too.. at most will couple with some disposable ones..

Hi, Flos

Manicure? enjoyed? Me went for my pedicure last week, its a walk-in and I feel the service very sloppy.. like anyhow do..and I pay 38bucks for it, no scrub too
should have gone to my usual one.. I went to cut my hair today, can't stand the heat, chop it to shoulder length and my stylist din even realise I am pregnant until he told me he is going to be father again and I told him I am going to be the mother too .. went to Spring to see see and got two top at 20% discount and one working pant as well..and got a pair of mitten.. feel satisfied after buying something.. hahaha.. saw their beansprout pillow, feel it is too long in length so prob will got beack to moms and babes to buy.. are you getting one? or it your mom or MIL making you one?

Hi, Strawberry - I saw the pigeon steam sterliser, may be getting that instead of Avent IQ. Tot can go easy for steriliser.. will pay more emphasis on baby cot and pram..how abt you?

Happy Mother's Day!

cloud
I'll be using traditional cloth diapers for my baby at home, only at night &amp; when we go out, then use disposable ones.

Had a fruitful day today, went for facial with hubby then we went to Baby Hyperstore &amp; we bought the Quinny Buzz stroller at $459, so happy!

Happy Mommy's Day!!

LC: I typed wrongly, it shd be pedicure. I dun do manicure anymore cos I need to prepare my tonic ingredients

I'm glad u enjoyed it. Mine is a package so I really dunno the breakdown per treatment. It includes the wash, spa scrub and trimming of corn and calluses (if any).

Mei: Where di u buy your traditional cloth diapers? I'm considering that too. I'll buy those liners to line the cloth diapers. Do u think it's ok?

Bugaboo Cameleon: I'm fascinated by this model...Who is the distributor of this Eindhoven brand? I can't find it at BB Hyperstore. I saw it at Mothercare Harbourfront. It's gorgeous object of art, an "icon" if u like, but impractical and a bit bulky.

My hb loves Quinny, but not sure if the three-wheel is manageable on the escalator.

rabbit..i'm also with KKH. did my detailed scan a few weeks ago. When I asked the doctor about the baby's weight and length, she said they don't really measure it and couldn't really tell me.
But saw some many mummies posting their baby's weight. Maybe it's my doctor.

went to buy Bfree bottles @ ISetan today. THey have available stock if you are looking for them. Also bought the medela breat pump from there. Alot of cute baby clothes there too. Its nice to just see see look look coz the clothes there all super ex. I saw a burberry romper for $310 !!

Anyway have you gals decided what stroller to buy? i thinking of buying the maxi cosi with the cabrio fix then dun have to buy baby seat liao. so far i think babyhypermart has the cheapest. Any other suggestions for stroller?

hey mei
are you getting the cabrio fix too?
think i will get the orange quinny

but i thinking of getting the zapp. never see the buzz around leh ....

HAPPY MOTHERS’ DAY EVERONE!

Aiyo…really got a lot of posts that I’m lost.

BB WEIGHT: The sonographer and doc didn’t say anything about my bb’s weight…I just noted that the report said bb was 443g. And I put on like 3.5 kg in 1 month…must be the crappy Macau food. Anyway, I dunno what I’ve been eating. Doc says I need to cut down carbo and eat MORE proteins. Hehe. And my hubby is NOT very tall….maybe I am short that is why he looks tall. I think bb’s weight is not accurate at this stage. So nothing for us to worry about if our bb’s weight differs as long docs say bb is healthy.

FLOS: 45 mins….so shiok! Which clinic did you do yours at? I also told my sonography hubby not in town. She printed extra pics for me. But bb was hiding face most of the time…think he was still sleepy…so not many shots of his face. Btw, I think you take MORE tonic foods than me. I’m 21w1d.

MANDY: WOW! Your baby is HUGE! The average for Caucasian babies at 21w is about 360g. Are you Asian?

BIGTOES: Oh! My GTT is not becos of any family history of diabetes. Don’t have that in my family. Doc and I decided to do it cos the sonographer said my amnio fluid is in excess. Doc said she doesn’t think so after she re-examined me…but we played safe. Anw my test results came back and I don’t have GD. Hehe. I don’t have to do it at wk 28, and my doc says the GTT is not a routine test.

L’l CY; Glass bottles? Thought about it…but er not confident that I or bb won’t break them. Hehe. Anw I bought 3 Avent ones… when bb is older, will switch to PES bottles.

OG: I just found out that OG’s prices aren’t v good. I bought a playpen/bassinet/changing table unit for 139…but at Taka and Kiddy palace was only 109. And OG was on sale…then when I checked the retail price – Taka and Kiddy was selling the same item for like 90 bucks cheaper than OG. Heart pain! Anyway, I’ve decided I’m not buying anymore bb stuff from OG. Think Kiddy Palace and Taka has more competitive pricing.

COMBI Strollers: Does anyone know if they go on sale during GSS? And will Tai Sing or Cheong Choon have better offers regardless of GSS?

Rabbit and mico: Like what SarahMay said, it should display on the DS report. It's automatically computed based on the Hadlock formula (Biparietal diameter-head circumference-abdominal circumference-femur length). If you'd asked, I'm sure she wld hv told u

Mei: You got a Buzz for that price? That's the Zapp price! Was there a Mom's Day sale today at BB Hyperstore? Lucky you! Did u get the Maxi-Cosi car seat too?

SarahMay: Absolutely, it was a feast to my eyes. Like watching a 45-min short live documentary of life forming within me...Intriguing!

Tai Sing and CHeong Choon? Where are these? I've never heard of these two places yet. I just learnt of Mothers Work at Great World and Tanglin Mall. I'll go there when I'm free.

Preggie: You must hv ventured to the Kids 21 section lah! Those are really ex. But u can buy one for the 1st mth birthday, which I might do so. For the other days, just buy from Kiddy Palace!!! hahaha!

Flos
I got the nappy cloths &amp; nappy liners from Pigeon, it's available in most department stores. As for the nappy pants, I got them from this brand called Baby Bear, also available in the babies' department.

Bugaboo Cameleon
It's nice as baby will feel comfortable in the bassinet, &amp; you can change the seat as the child grows but I find it too huge &amp; bulky &amp; too expensive! Bugaboo models are only available at MotherCare, Mothers Work &amp; The First Few Years &amp; the price is nett, no discount at all even with credit card promotions.

Beansprout pillow is a pillow filled with beansprout husks (correct me if I'm wrong, anyone) that you place on baby's chest when he/she sleeps so in case he/she wakes up suddenly, he/she don't get a fright.

mico
I'm also with KKH, I told rabbit that KKH doesn't measure baby's weight during the DS, they only do so when baby grows bigger on the subsequent scans. I guess different hospitals do things differently. So long as baby is growing well, no need to worry so much.

preggie &amp; Flos
Yup, I already got the Maxi Cosi cabriofix from Baby Avenue at 25% off a couple of weeks ago. I bought the Quinny Buzz today too as it's compatible with the cabriofix. I intend to let my baby use the cabriofix mounted on the Quinny frame when he is a newborn &amp; then change to the Quinny seat when he gets older. Buzz is awailable at MotherCare, Baby Avenue as well as Baby Hyperstore. I got my Quinny Buzz today at Baby Hyperstore at a special price as I got the old model &amp; it was the last piece. I find it ok. only difference is the seat fabric &amp; colour. So when I knew the price, I immediately grabbed it.

Flos
Mothers Work stocks Bugaboo, Maclaren as well as Peg Pegero. I saw a Maclaren Shanghai Tang edition stroller there.. it looks awful with the gaudy prints &amp; lime green colour.. what a disappointment.

KORAS: How are you? I just noticed that you said you don't have the emergency number access to your gynae? How can that be? All gynaes I know provide their preggy patients with an emergency hotline. It is a hotline manned by nurses who will help access your condition before advising what you should do. if they think it is serious, they will get your number and get the doc to call you back asap. Pls ask your gynae for this emergency number. Hope all's well with you!

FLOS: Cheong Choon and tai Sing are two shops selling bb stuff.

preggie
Just something for you to take note of if you intend to get the Quinny Zapp.. the seat position is fixed &amp; cannot be adjusted. This means that your child can only sit in an upright position. It's not very ideal if your child needs to nap.

Mei: Thanks for the info. I hv the Quinny 08 and Maxi-Cosi 08 catalogue from BB Hyperstore as well. I'm staring at the designs now. The Cabriofix is only up to 9 mths. But I adore the bright colours. Very tasteful and sleek. I'm not sure if my hb will like Bugaboo as it's, as u all said, extremely bulky and heavy.

You are really really really lucky! *GREEN WITH ENVY* It doesn't matter if it's the old model as long as it's chic and sleek. I've a soft spot for sleek gadgets and home accessories!!! It'll go well with a colourful Kate Spade diaper bag. What a fashion statement

I think Quinny Buzz has a pram module too that u may add on if u like. It'll end up looking pretty similar to my new interest--Bugaboo Cameleon.

Maclaren Shanghai Tang? Yikes. I told my hb I dun like SH Tang Kids stuffs. No offence, but I dun like kids to dress in loud satin and silk Mandarin costumes...

I need to research on the beansprout pillows more. I'm hearing it for the first time.

As I've a CL to do bb laundry for me, cloth diapers would be a good option then.

SarahMay: I found Cheong Choon's no. in another thread. It's somewhere in Chinatown right? Where then is Tai Sing?

Flos
Yup, Cabriofix can only last a child up till a maximum of one year, but since there was a 25% discount then, I just bought it. If you like Bugaboo, you can consider Bugaboo Bee instead of the Cameleon.. it's less bulky &amp; lighter. I was considering between the Bugaboo Bee &amp; Quinny Buzz but the fact that the folding &amp; unfolding of the Bee is more troublesome made me choose the latter. Quinny's folding &amp; unfolding is cool, especially the unfolding... uses hydraulic.. check out this video...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=njDUU3Rvnmw

Hehe.. you're spot on, I bought a Kate Spade diaper bag too!

No offence, in fact, I agree with you.. Shanghai Tang stuff is not suitable for kids, with all those prints &amp; loud colours like lime green.

Wow, I have absolutely no idea what strollers you mummies are talking about! Haha.. Strollers is not my thing, I prefer clothes though.. :p

LC (faintz): Are you talking to me..? Where will you be getting the pigeon steriliser?

Mei: Hi5
kekeke! Actually, on Fri, I nearly bot the one and only Gucci diaper bag 2008 collection at Paragon but I just dun think I look good with it. It's got the pink and gold strap. It's a tote bag costing $990.

I'll get Kate Spade cos I love the refreshing look.

Cool video. I watched the Bugaboo Cameleon video and got a bit giddy! Bugaboo Bee doesn't the pram, rite? I actually fancy the pram and it satisfies my childhood dream of pushing a classic pram around.

storeberry
I bought enough clothes already so now my interest moved to strollers.. hehe.

Flos
How come you think the gucci bag doesn't suit you? The colour? Yup.. Kate Spade's diaper bags are lovely &amp; they are resonably priced. I actually love the fabric ones but I'm afraid the clumsy me will dirty it so I bought the canvas one instead.

Yup, the Bugaboo Bee doesn't come with the pram attachment.

Wow everyone is on buying spree already! I just bought 2 sets of rompers and pajamas...vbery cute and cheap! 3 rompers for RM13 and 3 pjs for RM23! And made in UK, not locally made. Going to buy some more before I go back to SG tonight. Vive le Reject Shop in Malaysia!

<font color="119911">Mandy (forrestgump4) - wow, u were a big baby! I was only 2.4kg at birth, so hoping that my baby don't tip the scales at anything more than 2.8kg. As long as he is healthy

preggie (preggieblues) - On strollers, i bought the one by Combi (maxi-turn something, in orange/yellow). Its pretty light weight &amp; can be folded into 1/2, the seating position adjusted to 180 degrees...I would recommend that u check it out!
SarahMay (sarahmay) - I got my stroller from Cheong Choon delivered last week. Also gonna get the Britax car seat from them - called Robinsons and their price is still $599 (no discount) during the current sale - Cheong Choon auntie is offering me the same car seat for $500!
She is very efficient &amp; delivers FOC, so I am pretty happy with them.

SarahMay (sarahmay) - thanks for ur update on the GTT. My grandpa had diabetes, and thing some relatives on my hubby's side....so I will opt to be on the safe side &amp; do the GTT at week 28.

Meanwhile - our weekend at Amara in Sentosa was okie. The hotel is decent, nothing fantastic. Have loads of photos, but haven't gotten round to downloading them yet! Will share them sometime this week!

<font color="119911">Mommies - FYI on the 2 baby products shop:

Cheong Choon. Blk 34 Upper Cross Street #03-132
Tel 65323855 Opens after 1.30pm, cos morning, they are out for delivery.

-Tai Sing Corpn. 732 North Bridge Road Tel 62912633
I checked Combi prices at the latter, &amp; they didn't seem any cheaper than elsewhere, so i got mine from Cheong Choon.</font>

bigtoes....
Combi (maxi-turn something, in orange/yellow). Its pretty light weight &amp; can be folded into 1/2, the seating position adjusted to 180 degrees

How much did u get yr combi for?? Thanks thanks

morning mummies ,
Thank you micky ... no prob .. understand order is over US 200.. just trying my luck .. keke

Flos ,
So good ... 45 mins .. my gynae only took at most 5 mins for the detaill scan , he is fast n said everything is ok .. gg back in another 4 weeks time .. nw thiking if i should buy tickets to shnaghai .. bring my Zac there during my school holidays .. hmm ...have not ask him to issue free to travel cert yet ..

Ava ,
good to shop in Msia ?? where is th shop in M sia .. have not shop there before but my MIL keep saying things there are cheaper than sin .. cos last time SIL everything buy there even the wet wipes and diapers.. i find it troublesome to go there .. in fact I have not shop there before ..

saray may ...
how is your trip in macau ?? ur bb weight should be ok since gynae never mentioned anything

Mrs Yap (oneboyonegirl) - can't remember off-hand cos i bought some other items from them as well. Have to go back &amp; check the bill...but think it was $460 or something like that?

sobsob recently duno why cant seem to sit long.
sit too long my middle back very pain sia.
put salonpas also doesnt work
also at nite if hungry and i dont feel like eating super my baby will kick me till i eat something

Mickey,
Thanks for ordering

Pram
I bought the peg preggo p3 at $550 at hypermart..saving of $150 and the britax royale at $350 (saving of $100)

bigtoes,
how's the amara breakfast spread? pool?

GTT,
I am gg for my GTT at week 25. One of my urine test not so ideal..hope i dont get diabetes.. praying hard.

BB weight
My sonographer didnt tell me abt the weight..just told me its a good size. Think better ask her the next time. But NUH doesnt scare at every visit..so its a bit tough

Flos,
I like kate spade too..v expensive though..$900..maybe will go for the other range that cost $400

Diaper,
Was advised to get 24 pcs cloth diaper..think will be using diaper mostly unless CL is willing to wash cloth diaper...are they supposed to wash cloth diapers?

Bottles,
So most mommies will be using Bfree bottles? hmmm..i bought two bundle of avent bottles recently..should i switch?

beanspout pillow,
where can i get them? in case my MIL is not making it...

Milk,
checking if mommies are drinking those mommy formulated milk like enfamama,anmum or just normal low fat milk like HL, marigold?

bacon&amp;eggs: No prob. Hey for the cloth diapers, you can buy cloth diaper liners to line the diapers. Most CL shd be comfortable washing clothe diapers as part of their duty.

Mei: Wow! You got yourself a very good deal there! *envious* I like all 3-wheeler prams, think they're very cool.
I got my aprica for my #1 (admit it was an impulse buy of hubby) and will be using it for my #2 as well.

koras
I went for pre-natal massage at spa house @ dempsey road over weekend. Was good..they use preggie formulated cream which moisturizer and prevent scretchmark at the same time..but v expensive..charged me $192 for 1 and half hour massage...but i did feel better after that. Heard from my MIL pregger cannot use salonpas..not sure how true.

Bigtoes: Pls do check and let me know which model of Combi you got! I'm very keen to buy a combi. I was thinking of the older model that retails $188 cos the reversible handle is really easy to operate. I think yours might be the Miracle Turn, with a 5-point harness.

Koras: I have the same back pain complain as you!!! I'm thinking it might be my posture at th laptop... anway, found this massage lady who does for TMC (trained nurse) to do pre-natal massage. She can come to my place but charages $80 for each hour. Is that ex or what?!!! Wonder if there are cheaper but reliable options. What did your doc say?

Beansprout pillows: Maternity shops like SPRING sells. Think department stores with kids dept and Kiddy Palace sells. About 15 bucks per pillow.

AVENT: Avent is made of polyeurathene which is safer than the regular polycarbonates. PES bottles are BPA-free...so you can also think of Pigeon or PIYO. Though I didn't manage to see the Pigeon one. I'm not switching yet cos my pump is Avent and it will just be easier to store expressed milk in the Avent bottles. Just a thought, if we just monitor and control plastic exposure through bottles but not other bb stuff e.g. strollers, diapers...will it negate the ill-effects we are trying to avoid??? Just thinking lor.

Storeberry: No need to buy stroller so early actually. I'm just shopping earlier cos I'm flying off when bb is 2mths old. Won't have time then.

MILK: I do regular skimmed milk as well as anmum. Alternate...depends what I feel. Supplement with cheese also. I love dairy!