(2008/09) Sep 2008

Can let me know which BPA free bottle to buy? How many I need to buy and what are the sizes? Robinson has it?

Also, which breast pump and sterilizer is most recommended.

Grace,

If you want to buy a breast pump, you might want to consider Medela, and used their medela storage cum feeding bottles concurrently. Medela's bottles are BPA free. I bought some of that myself. Standard teats will fit the bottles. If I remember correct, these bottles sell for around $30 at kiddy palace, etc.

http://www.amazon.com/Medela-Breast-Feeding-Storage-pk%252e/dp/B000WPVCQE/ref=pd_bbs_sr_5?ie=UTF8&s=baby-products&qid=1210318699&sr=8-5

I also bought 3 Green to grow BPA-free bottles (the 9 oz, bigger sizes ones) for later when their feeds increase.

Grace...
from my own research on net..
only 2 brands are BPA free
1. Bfree bottles (5oz/9oz)
2. Medela bottles (they only got 4oz)
So my intention is to use Medela bottles for newborn and switch to Bfree 9oz when bb is older.
Bfree bottles also comes with colic prevention function.
Metro/john little selling these bottles
Medela bottles 1 pack inside got 3 (4oz) bottles $31.50
Bfree bottles 1 pack inside got 2 (9oz) is $34.50

Hahaha, think i really anyhow buy..I bought the NUK bottles set, pigeon storage cum feeding bottles and 1 pigeon wide neck bottle.

Mickey, since the bbmall orders are on the high side, think i'll give the spree a miss. spent too much this month on maternity stuff anyway.

I bought a maternity swimsuit from Old Navy, it covers my tummy well.

Thanks, Mickey. noted on the blue towel hood.. how abt the other two items? Keep me informed ya and many thanks for arranging this..

<font color="119911">Grace Toh (rain_toh) - guess u got the NUK ones cos of the pretty cartoons on the bottle!
I was intending to get NUK as well, but since the Medela/Bfree prices are about the same as NUK &amp; can easily be bought in Spore, would most prob get these instead.

Mrs Yap (oneboyonegirl) &amp; RXmom (ruixiangsmom) - thanks for sharing info on milk bottles!

Btw,mommies - a site to check out - http://www.rent-that-toy.com/showToys.php?cat_id=1. Think most of the toys end up cheaper if you buy them yourselves (unless u don't want clutter &amp; want variety), but maybe can rent the Bumbo chair for a couple of months.</font>

Hi Mickey,

Posted yesterday liao
Transferred yesterday night $34.80
Transaction Reference : 1700167571

Still short $3.50 though
Let me know whether i should do it now rather than with shipping to not confuse you!

Thanks gal

Bigtoes, wat i did was I folded my tankini top until it looks like a bandeau top.. hee. cos i cant pull it over my tummy liao... then i'll wear surf shorts into the pool oso..

Mrs Yap, I tot that Pigeon PES is also BPA free?

I know many mtb here are planning to buy medela pumps and bfree bottles.. hmmm.. then wat kind of sterliser will u be getting?

My sis is using an avent microwavable one.. and i think its pretty ok for the price.. was less than 80 when they bot it last year. Sterliser's main purpose is just to sterilise rite? nothing much that we've to look out for rite?

hi, crayonshinchan

I am getting a new steriliser even though my SIL is handing over hers which is abt 4 yrs old.. Maybe I will use her to sterilise the breast funnel and so on then the new one for milk bottles.. I will get one basic one, maybe will get pigeon one, saw in one of the posting here that it is cheap but of course must ask the person if it can accomodate other non-pigeon bottles cos I might be using AVENT.

Cloudy: You have not placed orders right?

LC: The other items are ok at this point.

Preggie: You can pay the $3.50 later, no prob.

It's finally Friday!

mickey (bbmouse)
did u receive my payment? Can confirm my order? Thanks ya... ya looking forward to tml n sun to continue my shopping spree

crayonshinchan
Pigeon bottles i cannot find information on it whether is BPA free or not... but frankly speaking... pigeon one of the cheapest brand. I dunno if i shd link Non-BPA free to being v cheap.
Cos usually if BPA free its v exp... Got Logic??

Bbmouse: Yah man, its finally Friday!! Have been spending alot on bb items &amp; all are small items! Must control liao! Thanks for organising!

LC: Pigeon steriliser can accomodate Avent bottles, no problem. Are you getting the normal or rapid steam one.. I just realise there is 2 types, so blur...

cryonshinchan: Yes, Pigeon PES is also BPA free but only sold at Isetan, Taka &amp; BHG.

Grace Toh: Don't worry, I also anyhow buy last time cos my Robinson vouchers were expirying, then I went back during the sale to do a refund. Abit troublesome but no choice lor.. Trial &amp; error mah.

Hi crayonshinchan,

To identify polycarbonate bottles (those will leach BPA into the milk and affect nervous system of young children), look out for the code no. 7 at the bottom of the bottles.

I extracted this from the internet:

You may wish to seriously consider your – and especially your children's – use of plastics numbered 1, 3, 6 and 7 (polycarbonate), all of which have been shown to leach dangerous chemicals. This does not necessarily mean the others are completely safe, just that they have been studied less to date.

So if you have to use plastic, it is safest to stick to numbers 2, 4, 5 and 7 (other than polycarbonate) whenever possible.

More info:

Avoid polycarbonate (#7) baby bottles and sippy cups. For baby bottles, try and use glass (e.g., Evenflo), polyethylene (e.g., Evenflo, Medela, Playtex) or polypropylene (e.g., Gerber, Medela) instead. Sippy cups made of stainless steel (e.g., Kleen Kanteen), or of polypropylene or polyethylene (e.g., Avent, Evenflo, First Years, Gerber, Playtex) are safer. Be sure to check the bottle or cup to be sure of the type of plastic it contains. As for baby bottle nipples, try and use silicone which does not leach the carcinogenic nitrosamines that can be found in latex.
If you must use polycarbonate (#7) bottles, avoid heating food and drink in the bottle. Heat it in a separate container and transfer it to the bottle once it is warm enough for the child to eat or drink. If the plastic is showing signs of wear – scratched, cloudy – discard the container.

Source: http://www.lifewithoutplastic.com/factsonplastic.htm

kekkee.. not me who wants to know leh.. its grace.. cos mrs yap listed out the bpa free bottles but pigeon was not included..so i just wnat to dbl confirm..

so actually can use non bpa free bottles..just that its more mafan..to transfer here and there..

but then it was good info though.. i shd be buying the bfree ones.. waiting for GSS...

AND this afternoon, after showering, i saw some red worms on my right side!!!! GOSH!! i have stretchmarks liao!!!

Hello! Wow! Missed two days of posts and I've missed out so much! There was a shopping spree ah!

Anyway, just got back to Sg on Thurs midnite. Then went for DS early yday morning. All's well with baby. He's 443grams now, and I put on TOOOOOOO MUCH weight in one month. I need to watch diet now. Hehe. Must be the B&amp;J ice cream and chocs. Had a scare yday cos sonographer said I had a little excessive amniotic fluid. My gynae scanned me again and said the AFI was not accurate.

However, I had to do the GTT (GLucose Tolerance Test) this morning to be on the safe side. Spent another whole am at TMC today for the test. Man! The orange soda tasted q eeks. THe first few mouthfuls were quite shiok - like Fanta Orange Crush. But after that was a bit gross. Anyway, turns out i do not have gestational diabetes...and there is nothing to worry abt. My next appt is in 6 weeks time! Yay!

BPA-FREE Bottles: I was q bent on getting BPA-free bottles. But then I found the Bfree ones too big for NB. Their smallest is 160ml. In the end, I bought 3 Avent ones cos they can be used to store breastmilk using the Isis pump. More convenient. I think I'm going to use those until bb is bigger then I will switch to the BPA-free ones.

PIGEON: I couldn't find the PES ones at OG. Do only a select few dept stores carry them?

FLOS: How was your DS today?

KORAS: You call your gynae's emergency hotline number to ask???

RXMOM: I know it will be good if I could use a travel system. But the fact is that NONE of the cabs in Macau have seatbelts in the back seats. So the travel system is redundant really cos the young child can't be put in front seat where the only seat belts exist. So that is the unfortunate state of things lor....sigh.

sarahmay i dun have ler.. only the clinic number wor..
but isnt normall to feel the pain or what... cox i am kind of worry to go tmc a not as my hubby not around

thanks, rxmom. how long do they need to be swaddled?

koras, hope you're alright. if you're concerned, do call your doc. take care!

BabyMallOnline Spree

Mrs Yap: I didn't receive your payment for $11 from Lisa. Can you ask your friend to check? My acc is posb savings 150280532.

LC: Have you transferred? How much did you transfer to me?

YingLing, Grace Toh, Bacon&amp;Eggs : Your payments are in and so are your orders.

mickey (bbmouse)
ya she transfer the $11 to 150280532. Its thru internet banking though
Her bank is UOB, nick Lisa Lim
I hope there isnt any error. Dun mind check again see got go thru?

xuanting thanks. but i got no doc number
the clinic also close le.. guess i have to wait till tml morning to c how

Hi, Mickey

I transferred 19.80 to your saving account this afternoon, abt 1.50pm.. Ref is 7538.. Let me know again..

Hi,Storeberry

I will get the steam one probably.. but I do not know how much it cost, waiting for GSS to come.. any idea when it is coming??

Hi SarahMay: You were at TMC today? I was there at 12.15-2.30pm! I waited for an hour for my DS and finally, got to see my little boy again
My sonographer was kind and let me spend a good 45 min looking at my bb! I told her my hb is not in town, she immediately offered to take more shots for me to take along to SH next week.

I got some 3D scans but we both agreed my hb might not like them. It's better to wait till bb has more flesh and cheeks fuller before we print them out.

Your bb is really heavy! Mine is ony 402g. What have you been eating SarahMy?! I put on quite a lot of weight since 4 weeks ago. I should boost my tonic soups to make bb larger and heavier, do u think so? I'm supposed to be 21w4d today. How abt u?

I'm glad my mickey is relly a mickey. Saw his penis and the scrotum big and clear.

My gynae told me all's well and even assured me that there is NO NEED TO SLEEP ON MY LEFTHAND SIDE! He says any side is fine so long as I fall asleep...

He also gave me a Fit to Travel certificate for my flight next week.

Sunrays: Have u reserved your bulk head aisle seat with SQ yet? I went to SQ office at Paragon today to reserve but still need to go again 2 days prior to departure to confirm that seat.

Koras: U shd hv a 24-hr emergency hotline to dial right? If it's public bone pain u r talking abt, I do get it every now and then. It's not acute though so I just ignore it.
Shazz: I think u r the one who really knows how to enjoy life!!! LOL

BEDDING: I went to Paragon First Few Years to check out the Kidsline bedding and didn't find any designs I like. THere are more on the internet. I also dropped by AUssino but becos of a recent sale, most BOY designs are out of stock.

I had wanted to join the babymallonline spree but really can't find a bedding set I like leh...damn fussy am i?

Eurydice, Quiling: Sorry, your orders are not in as we have exceeded usd220 and your payments are not in. Pls join another spree.

Mrs Yap: UOB will take a few days for the funds to be in as mine is a posb account. I'll go ahead with your orders first.

LC: Yes, got the payment. Your total is $19.67 though.

flos- it not the public is just i also duno how to explain it.. only today that i encounter such pain. walk also can feel a bit pain

koras: typo, i meant pubic bone

I wonder what is the average no. of hours you can shop these days? I find that 3 hours is ok, and 4 is a bit tiring for my feet.

aw.. i missed the babymallonline spree. i'm also thinking of getting some baby stuffs from there, guess i had to make my own order. :p does anyone know if the hooded towels and receiving blankets are bulky in size?

koras, what kind of pain you experiencing? sometimes i get like muscle pulling pain on my side too but they usually goes off the next day.

Flos
Glad your DS went well..U wanna make bb bigger and heavier?? I think yr bb at 21wks weighing 402g is fine!! Mine was 347g also at 21weeks.. doc said it's average sized, told me dun eat too much or too little, just maintain wat i'm eating otherwise bb might shrink or grow too big suddenly!! Sarah is different...hers is the heaviest bb so far i think,hehe..

As for the bulk head seat, they can only release it only if there's no infant who needs the bassinet..tat's wat i've been told by SQ..i usually request it at the airport even if i alrdy did internet chk in.. so 2 days prior to departure u've to go down to SQ office again?? Can u chk wif them whether we can do it over the phone??

BabyMallonline orders placed

Bacon&amp;eggs: Your first item is OOS. The other 3 items are in. I will keep the balance funds to offset shipping cost. Thanks.

Koras: I check back at your data. You are seeing Dr Adrian, but his clinic is not at TMC right? I've my own Dr Cheng's emergency hotline and handphone but it's not the general TMC line.

If you're still not feeling too well, please go before <font color="0000ff">1 pm on Sat</font>. They are closed on Sun.

Sunrays: ok, I think it's within the range...I recall SarahMay's hb's quite tall in the pics she posted on her blog, perhaps that's why?!! Hehheh, Sarah, is that true?!!

Yes, ad provided no PPS member is asking for that seat. That's why I must go on 15th again to secure it.

Nope, they said must go to Paragon personally. Can't do it on the internet cos the system automatically blockes out the first 2 rows. And for phone, nope too.

I wld like to request at the airport, but my check in time is 6am and I think I'll wake up late! Better secure earlier.

Anyway, she told me AISLE seat is confirmed for return legs.

Flos- ya i seeing him and his clinic at tmc. But i din have his mobile number or what. so i guess i have to endure that pain till tomorrow.

Babymallonlie
Orders placed for the following mums:
Preggieblues
Storeberry
LC
Milky
Mrs Yap
YingLing
GraceToh
Bacon&amp;eggs

I found out that I have group b streptococcus by chance. It's a bacteria that is usually harmless but can cause infection to newborn if not treated early. The test is really fast, just a swap and you get the result in 5 days. I would need another test at 36 weeks to see if I need antibotic during labor. You might want to take the test to be on the safe side.

You can google for more information.

http://www.babycenter.com/0_group-b-streptococcus-screening_1647.bc

Happy Mother's Day to all mommies and mommies to be!

Yah Sarah, how many weeks are you? Your bb is the heaviest here! Keke... What have your hubby been feeding you? Yeah, everything is fine for you, its great!

Flos: Glad that your DS went fine!!

Koras: Are you seeing Dr Adrian Tan or Dr Adrian Woodworth. You would have DR Adrian Woodworth hp no cos he gave me the emergency no to call him.

hi all mommies! I was reading the postings all these while and so many things happenning here, haha.

I did my scan at around 21Week and 5th day and dr say my baby around 600g leh! how come sarah or flos's is only 400g plus. my gynae say by nxt appt which is 26th week, shld be 1kg which is ok.... did my baby eat too much...haha

Hi Mandy:

<font color="ff0000">600g??????????!!!</font> That is more than the norm in the West, which is 1 pound!

Pls list down an average day's diet here to share with us! Do you drink Anmum and Enfamama 2X daily? Hv u been drinking tonic soups? Hv u been eating a lot of meat?

And are you and hb both very tall? Are you relatives/grandparents very big-sized?

My SIL had herbal soup and drank packet milk daily. And 2X weekly, she drinks essence of paoshen and chicken. Her diet consists of fish maw, sharksfin and birdnest.

She looked like she was carrying a pair of twins! And she was almost walking like a penguin in her 2nd trimester. kekeke! She had to undergo c-section at week 37 to take the bb out!!

Her DS also showed her bb's head circumference is larger than most average kids at 5th mth, and her bb of 4mos old was wearing 3YO tee-shirts, and feeding on 4X daily 190ml S26 milk!.