(2008/09) Sep 2008

1399874.gif

Flos
Carseat brands that are generally well-liked and reputable:
-Maxi Cosi
-Britax/Safe n Sound
-Graco
-Peg perego (capsule can attach to the stroller one)
..am sure there are others?

And PLS don't buy second hand cos dunno if structure is sound or not. To me, this is the single most important investment for babes.

You must must MUST put wriggly small baby into capsule/car seat....when carrying to the car or in shops etc, can arm carry of course, but in car, seats are a must. Even if adult is strapped up and carrying baby, you cannot hold on to baby if there is a sudden stop.

Mei
I think I actually remember those characters...i dunno what the show's about tho...i only remember sesame street, electric company (pre and pri school time), muppet show...and some brown plasticine guy - I can't recall the name...

thanks to all. I did see some nice designs of Maxi Cosi at BB Hyperstore. Love those colours!

My bro is using Peg Perego but it's huge isn't it?

Yep, I also saw those Mothercare ads. It's all becos of the recent school bus accident and this morning's Cavenagh car accident.

That means, if u are discharged and take a cab home with the NB, you'll be charged by TP?!! Oops, better tell my hb to quickly come back to SG to buy a car for the car seat.

Qiuling, Mrs Yap, SarahMay: You whose hbs are working overseas, do u hv a car and a car seat? Whose going to fetch u from your hospital?

Never crossed my mind!!

Mei: BarbaPapa? Nope! Who is BarbaPapa?!! LOL

I rem Electric Co and Smurfs, but not the brown plasticine man. Who is he, Ava?!!!!

I also can't stand Teletubbies. So gay and bimbotic

Hello Mummies-to-be

Sorry for intruding.

Just want to share with you, if you are looking for any good Confinement Lady, I can recommend mine to you.

This aunty (Mdm Low) is from Kuantan, Malaysia and she charge me $1800.

She cooks very well and look after me and my baby gal very well too.

Kindly pm me and I will forward her details to you as I dont always log into this thread.

Best regards

Bacon & Egg: I don’t think our bones expands right? Hehe. Might be the strain of the growing baby and uterus on the shoulder. I have a bit of hard yellowish stuff on my nipples and some peel-like skin thing the other day. I managed to peel it off, but with some blood. Not sure what it is. Intend to check with my gynae this thurs.

Dolly: You're spot on abt Sesame st. Sesame st is way more educational than Barney. However, did you know that Disney Playhouse channel has tons of really good educational programmes too? I've watched some of them. Those by the Australian network are really great. Hehe.

Bigtoes: I try to sleep on my left side. But now I alternate throughout all three positions during the night – left, back, right. I do find however that sleeping on my back makes the back aches worse! How often do you use your BabyPlus? I just talk to bb about whatever I feel like, in addition to reading stories and poems…or just making comments about stuff.

Flos: I think what you are experiencing is quite common. I sometimes get it too.

LC: you sure it is a myth that bb will not leach mum’s calcium if the calcium intake not enough??? Always thot tt to be the case and preggers are more prone to osteoporosis if we don’t have enough calcium intake. Oh well. Hehe. Now I know.

Storeberry: Yeah…I can’t wait for DS. At the same time, a bit anxious…but just pray and trust God. Hehe. Can’t wait to see how much he has grown!

Aloevera: Actually right, I think a cup of coffee a day is ok. As long as not excessive. Btw, did you read the latest article about how chocolate intake is good for preggers? Chocs contain caffeine too…Hehe. And also most of bb brain devt, 2/3s occur after birth in the first 2 years. Hehe…so got time to still help bb brain grow.

LC: Still sick ah? Poor thing. I also sick for like a month. Very annoying. But hang in there. It shd end soon. So you went to buy the TCM prescription from the medical hall? If you having less phlegm and cough is less, can also double-boil hashima with honey date – good for your lungs.

Mrs Yap: $10 for Lierac is SUPER CHEAP!@!!! It is supposed to be VERY good for preggers.

BABY SHOWERS: I hope I get a baby shower thrown for me. I did like 3 for my girl friends before. Did them about a month before, no need so early bah.

BARNEY SONGS: Most CD shops with a kids section have them. Other than Barney, you can try stuff from the Australian Network, Baby Mozart etc. I personally don’t like Barney very much cos I don’t think his programmes are very stimulating…plus I think he looks freaky. Hahaha. Power Rangers lagi worse. I think they only know how to be violent. Haha.

POTATO MAN: Oh Mr Potato ? I didn’t know he had his own cartoon series…at least I don’t see it in Sg.

SPONGE MAN: Sponge Bob Square Pants? Eww…have you ever sat down to watch it? It is a VILE cartoon…adult themes masquerading as kids’ cartoon. Toxic! The characters are rather dysfunctional…and did you know that there is a theory that Sponge Bob and Patrick the starfish are gay partners?!

TELETUBBIES: are the SILLIEST creatures on kids tv. They baby talk so much and really rubbishy in content. Bb talking to kids is the surest way of hindering their devt. Wish someone would kill those creatures off airtime.

TV & BRAIN DEVT: I personally believe in not letting my kid watch TV for at least first 3 years…not until he learns to focus on printed material. I think tv affects concentration ability because of the speed at which frames change. The longest static image held on TV is at a time limit of 3 seconds. Not very long at all if you think about it. Also, I believe that reading promotes better creative thinking skills because you need to create your own mental images vs the tv that feeds them to you. However, selective tv viewing can boost knowledge, intelligence etc. As for myopia – I think other than genetic predisposition, we also need to inculcate the right habits – tv or reading…

TV VIEWING: Can I just ask how young were your kids when you started them on TV? My hubby is a tv addict…so to ensure I keep my kid away from tv might prove a super tough challenge.But I'm very determined to do so tho till at least kid is 3.

SHAMPOO: Thanks Lok! Have you tried it? As for the sachets, I don’t know if they are always on shelves…Think I just stock up like the month before I am supposed to deliver lor. Haha.

KIDS SONGS: Online collections are aplenty. Just google ‘Children Songs’ or ‘Nursery Rhymes’. Also can buy from good bookshops a collection of popular children rhymes or even CDs.

PRAM: I think NB cannot sit in pram for very long. I think you can shop for pram after bb is born, not too late.

CAR SEAT: Thought of getting it but then realized than being in Macau there will be no point cos (1) we won’t have a car here (2) taxis here don’t have seat belts in the rear seats!!! And bb can’t sit in front seat. Haiz.

CDs & KIDS STORIES: CHeap alternative to buying - Go raid NLB. they stock an amazing collection of audio cds of kids stories and I'm sure songs too. When I'm back in SG, I borrow them every fortnight and play them to sleep.

flos, only tinky winky is gay la. i like po. it's played by a m'sian girl so it sometimes spouts cantonese too.

mei, i love the barbapapas too!

Flos: I don't know if we need a car seat if we are taking cab...Wah! Like that how ah...I am only in SG for like 3 mths after birth. No use for car seat in macau cos don't have car. Help! I pray and believe by faith tt my hubby will be in sg with me before, during and after birth. Hehe. If not, there will always be my parents lor.

BROWN PLASTICINE GUY? THought was green - Gumbo was his name right?

SarahMay: I know I know! My hb's transfer is pending his HR and big bosses still...Sian...dunno what vehicle to buy.

If the transfer is not approved, I will have to be like u, migrate after my 3-mth confinement with the NB! Poor bb...mommy must get u a car seat!!!

xuanting: oh yes, the purple freak monster is the gay one. Po is full of fluff...Malaysian girl? Are u sure?!!

It's Potato Head. You can poke stuffs into the potato head to decorate it.

jialat, we don't own a car either... need to get a car seat for the cabs too? i can't imagine all the barang-barang we'll need to lug around just to take bb out...

po is the red one. it has this thingie it rides on, and it always goes "fai di, fai di!" and sometimes, "man, man, man..." (slow, slow, slow). it counts in cantonese too – read it in one of the uk newspapers/mags last time. there was even a teletubby shag list where college students would vote for the teletubby they found most shagalicious! lala (the yellow kuniang one) came in first.

Barney: Haha... My sis also no choice when her son say " Barney" 1st... But it was very funny & at least he is interacting with us! Last time I used to think why in the world would anyone like this ugly dinosaur? But now after watching the dvd with my nephew, I understand why now. I think Barney cultivate quite good principles to our kids & its always about love & hugs... I forgot about Sesame street already, maybe I should buy some for my nephew...

Flos: Aiyoo.. barney is not gay lah!!

Ava, Bigtoes & Flos: I remembered Sesame Street, My Melodie, Electric company (I love this show!) Smurfs, car bears! Who is this brown plasticine guy??

Wah! I think teletubbies is obscene, now after the 'shagalicious' labelling I seriously think they OUGHT TO BE BANNED! Save our kids!

Flos: Migrate to SH? Isn't that what you want tho? Aiyo...but if go to SH...you want to buy car there? Driving is crazy there. I won't buy car in Macau cos the place is so darn tiny and the roads are erm.... mazes. Will never find my way out or home here man. So better to take cab. Wanted to really invest in car seat...but NO cabs here have seat belts. In SH cabs have seatbelts in back seat right? cos i rber BJ has. Btw, if you migrate when bb is 3 mths, how are u going to settle his jabs?

CAR SEAT IN CABS: So does anyone know anything abt this? Wah...I cannot imagine having to buy car seat just to take bb out in a cab. Faints!

hihi....

been silently reading the posts actually...see that u all r toking abt carseat..got things to share..wana advise those who owe a car to please buy a car seat n try to strap them from young.coz when they r old,v hard to train liao.n oso a car accident happen to me during my #1 times. Thank god that both baby n i are safe except for a permanent little scar on my forehead. It was a rented car from a cousin for a few days n it was a chain accident along PIE.i was breastfeeding bb in the car as she was v hungry n so i happen to take the seatbelt off when the thing happen.it was lucky tt i managed to hold her v tightly n use my head to cushion the impact.imagine the windscreen in front of me was cracked n broken.got lots of broken glasses...it was a unforgettable experience...so,pls get a carseat n seat at the back n strap up...

Hi Angeline! Thanks for advice. Yup, car seats are v impt. And impt not to get a second-hand one too cos I've read that the condition might not be safe enough for bb in times of accidents. Glad to know nothing happened to you or bb!

Xuanting & Flos: opps!! Yah teletubbies is quite irritaING!!

Car seat: After the sunday Times article, really must seriously think about it..

hi all, i'm a new mummy. expecting a boy.
have been following your post quietly for a while =)

AVA: no more compulsory test? My doc scheduled me for Oral Glucose test on my 28th week..
Google it and i find the test horrible. Don't know if it is because my dad's diabetic..
anyone took this test before or taking the test like me??

SarahMay: Am still waiting for news about his transfer. I hope he gets posted back, then my prob is solved. Just buy a vehicle here and strap up bb safely :)

Otherwise, got to buy a car seat and fix it on my inlaws or folks' car. After bb is old enuff to fly, bring along this car seat abroad.

I won't drive in SH. My hb is an experienced driver in China. He owns a Chinese licence. But most likely will get a driver.

ahh, la la is the yellow tubby! I dun like any one of them. I bought the whole set in London and have since tossed them away.

They are mysterious to me. They remind me of aliens, just like those Beijing Olympic Friendlies (Fu Wa). Utterly fugly-ugly.

<font color="119911">mico (prickyone) - welcome to this thread. Yes, there is a GTT (glucose tolerance test) at week 28 to check for gestational diabetes, if i am not wrong- not sure if that is compulsory thou. I did the GTT about 6 mths back cos I had a wound that was quite deep &amp; the Dr suspected that I maybe early stage diabetic. Anyway, turned out to be a false alarm &amp; the wound healed completely within days.

The test is actually okie - they just make u drink a very sweet bottle of orange cordial, then take ur blood every hour (3X)to see how well the sugar is being absorbed &amp; broken down in your system.

Angeline Goh (angeg) - thanks for your post &amp; updating us all of the dangers of not having a baby car seat. Glad that the accident wasn't more serious!</font>

car seat and taxi
no, they dun have car seats available. the best you can do is to get one of those prams with modular system, then as you get into cab, strap bb in. but when they are older, the best you can do to ensure their safety on cab is to use the adult seat belts....then pray very very hard

sarahmay
yes yes yes..i agree with your take on tv.it's the hot medium vs cold medium thingy.think we can start on tv when they are around 3, like you suggested. but also depend on their readiness lah...

think when i start, most likely to start with something from nat geo or animal planet. at least it is slower than most conventional children;'s programme.

childrens tv
actually, maybe coz im older. during my time, i rem only electric factory, 3-2-1 contact, sesame street, and yes those cartoons like smurfs and carebears..

car seat:
we do not need car seats for taking cabs. so if you bring bb out, the TP can't fine you for that. but in a car, you will need one. we sold off our infant car seat after no.2. so regretting it now... and hb like a bit reluctant to get a new one coz we have two toddlers' maxi cosi car seat in the car now... grrrr. suggestions??

flos,
yeah. i don't like barney and teletubby too. i think they are not very aesthetically pleasing. teletubby worse. i think they are absolutely evil!!!

tv:
my kids watch tv when they were younger and still watching. but they only watch elmo vcds and for my no.1, he watches thomas and friends now. otherwise, they don't really watch other stuff. i suppose there are pros and cons. both learn a lot after watching elmo and my no.1 after watching thomas and friends, even pick up better pronunciation. like he can distinctly pronounce the 'th' sound in the name 'arthur' from watching thomas and friends. interesting.

Hi MTB,
Back ache? Pre-natal massage available. Please call 93809764. You can only do after 28weeks of pregnancy. Take care with regards...

SarahMay
Regarding the hard yellowish stuff on your nipples, that's colostrum. We already start to produce milk at this point in time &amp; some of us may secrete some colostrum from our nipples. Just clean it away gently but do not attempt to squeeze it. This might trigger signals to your brain that you require your milk now &amp; may cause early labour.

Morning, Ladies..

SarahMay - Re the baby taking mummies calcium, I got to know from my instructor during the prenatal class.. she said it is a myth which surprised a lot of us.. haahaha.. Re the cough, yup still coughing, coming third week liao, very sian.. now it is white phelgm.. any remmedy to suggest?

Bacon&amp;Egg - which Steriliser did you get? I haven got mine yet cos my SIL going to give me hers but I tot to buy one new one to sterilise the bottles while using hers for the breast funnel (cos hers are abt 4 yrs old.. hahaha)... So wan to know which steriliser is good and useful.

Bigtoes - you attend prenatal class at AMK? which day is your lesson? Mrs. Wong?

Micro - Oral Glucose test might be applicable for preggie with family history of diabetes.. normally no other major test to take after the detailed scan on the 20th week or so..

Flos: You are so bad! I think the Beijing OIympic Mascots aren’t that disgusting la. Haha. At least I like one of them – the Panda Bear one. Hehe.
Koras: Depression during pregnancy? I think better check with doctor. Hope you are doing well and aren’t depressed! Hugs!

L’l CY: Have you checked out Disney Playhouse? They have some really quite creative kids programmes suitable for tots. I was q impressed by those I saw. Can’t rber the names…but rber that it was produced by the Australian Network. Nat Geo kids are not bad too. I think we just need to watch and pre-select programmes for kids before letting them watch it.

I also rber electric company, sesame st, smurfs, carebears, He Man, Masks, Transformers. Does anyone rber the Wuzzles? They were my absolute faves! Haha

Alabone: Er…suggestions? If law requires infant car seat, how to get around it leh? Take cab? But tt will be a bit dumb cos you already have a car. Buy another one and sell it off after bb outgrows it?

Mei: Thanks! Oops! I squeezed them a little. Yikes! Was suspecting it to be colustrum but didn’t think it was so watery.

Sarahmay,

Yes, I tried the confinement products in my 1st pregnancy. But can't comment on the difference between these products vs. the real herbs as I didn't try to the herbs at all (so troublesome).

Personally, I prefer Barney to Sesame Street. Barney teaches very good values and to love &amp; share. Now I use Barney to encourage him to try some things (e.g. brush his teeth, encourage him to sleep on his own with his Barney Bolster)

I started J on tv after 12 mths. But I control the contents (Playhouse Disney, Barney &amp; Educational discs, occasionally sports channel if my hubby is watching). Nothing violent, no lovey/dovey scenes, no tv serials. So, he watches mainly discs and not the normal tv programs. If hubby watches the violent stuff, J goes into his play area with me.

MTBs,

I want to do a survey with those mummies hving #2 or more and having a sedan car. How do you intend to place your car seats (2 car seats take up a lot of space)? Do u put them both at the back row or one front and one back? Where does the adult caregiver sit? I'm now thinking whether we need to ditch our Nissan sunny for a MPV...

<font color="119911">Mei (meie) - does the discharge of colostrum start so early? I thought this doesn't happen till maybe 1 month before EDD?

koras (koras) - Hope u are doing alright but best to check with your gyne on depression...I read that taking Vit B6 and B12 helps prevent depression...so does DHA (fish oil). There should be sufficient vit B in your multi-vit, but maybe you want to increase dosage after u consult ur gyne?

LC (faintz) - yes, the TMC pre-natal are all at AMK Hub. Mine starts on 14th June, Sat at 4.30pm (Mrs Wong's class). When is yours?

Lok (lok) - Car seats have to be behind, not at the front passenger seat (think by law). Hence we are seeing more &amp; more people upsize to MPVs...</font>

bigtoes,

yes, colostrum can start as early as 5 mths. My hubby tried to be smart alec, squeeze during my 1st pregnancy and then get a surprise squirt.. hehehe

bigtoes,

I don't think it's by law that it needs to be at the back. The only thing is the front seat has airbag and airbags are in fact very dangerous for small kids' neck. But I think that the carseat will be rear-facing when your bb is very young, so the airbag shouldn't affect (not sure how true).

2 car seats at the back means the adult squeezes in the middle seat (since middle seat can't take car seat). Very tight squeeze right??

morning.

sarahmay,
thanks. but i was thinking along lines of suggestions on how to bug hb to get another car seat. think i'll just go ahead and get one then sell off once bb can't use it. i don't want to put bb's life in any danger for not using car seat... and anyway, it's best to train them from young. else when they are older, they will refuse to sit in it.

lok,
i do put my kid's car seat in the front passenger seat once in a long long while, when we have tons of things to ferry. ours is an mpv. so i think if there it is a sedan car with two car seats, it really might be a bit cramped. then with two car seats also quite difficult to squeeze in the middle. i know coz i tried. so have to put one in the second row and one in the third row. how abt taking the suggestion of upgrading to an mpv? otherwise just leave the kids in the back seat and you sit in front.

alabone,

The older toddler we can probably leave alone but the younger one will need some attention. Plus we intend to get a domestic help, so usual load is 3 adults + 2 car seats.... Really need to upsize man..

Good morning ladies
Had my detailed scan yesterday
Everything is fine with baby and I am so relieved now... Baby is a Princess. Typical shy girl who covers her face with her hand thru out the scan! The moment I see her hand over her forehead when sleeping, I know she inherited my habit... cos i sleep with my hand over my forehead too... keke
Really had a good look at the girl for 45 mins...

XuanMummy can update for me?
Mrs Yap - Baby Girl
Baby's weight 298g @ 19.5 weeks

Alabone: Oops! Haha. But anyway, isn't it enough that he will get fine, and prob demerit points, if he doesn't put bb in infant car seat? Thought tt wld be motivation enough?

Mrs Yap: Glad to hear so good news from your DS! Mine is thurs. Can't wait! 45 mins! So long! Where did u do yours? Can bring in video cam?

sarahMay
ya lor 45mins v long but v shiok too...
thru out scan my hubby holding my cold hand. my heart pounding so fast... so worried that something might be wrong. I had it done at my doc's clinic cos he got his own scanning machine. I think can video but we didnt attempt... cos the only thing on our mind is hoping bb will be healthy and fine. Got lotsa photos from the scan but cant take yet... cos doc says he gonna make it into a report. I miss those photos.

Your doc is not the one at WC CHeng clinic right? Got photos also? So nice! My hubby cannot go with me. That's why I'm hoping to video tape it so that I can show him. My dad's going with me.

Sarah May
ya.. not the WC Cheng... ya lots of photos. Very well labelled ones... every pic he took he got label. Then he even took a few shots and ask me to chose which one i prefer... haha. Its good if u can video too... cos can see n re-see again. But since the scan is so long, i am afraid yr dad's hand will ache from holding the camera.

Brown plasticine guy
Aiyah, so many queries, i just had to go and google him..HIs name is Morph!
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Morph_(character)
1401356.jpg

Car seats
If you have to take baby out of seat to breastfeed or to settle crying, always always stop the car. there is no place you need to get to in such a hurry that it's worth risking your and your babies' lives!

Lok,
For rear facing car seats, CANNOT place on front seat with airbag...if you look at any fairly new car, there is usually a warning sign on the sunscreen visor at the pasenger side warning against this!! Rear facing can be placed on front seat ONLT if NO airbag otherwise must be on back seat.

If in taxi/no car seat cos u are renting/sitting in someone's car, my recommendation is to use a sarong or baby bjorn at least so the baby is strapped to you, not freely being carried in arms...

I am really a car seat nazi...sigh. last time had to insist on car seat when we travel to penang to visit in laws, but difficult cos no space for extra seat...so boh pian, but am adamant about having one in my own car...

Hi,Bigtoes

Mine started already at AMK too but not by Mrs. Wong. I find the first lesson pretty fundamental and basic, maybe the next few lessons will be more informative and useful.

Hi, Mrs. Yap

Glad your DS is ok and baby princess is doing fine too
did your EDD be push earlier?

Hi, Mummies
My EDD is pushed a week earlier when I did my DS on the 20th week, so I wonder which EDD to follow ie the first EDD or the latest EDD? Any Idea? And, do you feel baby movement more or less? I used to feel quite a lot of baby movement, like hiccups and kicking but lately like very little.. I wonder if this is ok or the little one is lazy to do so?

LC
nope.. my edd is still the same. My baby's size is v much consistent with my baby's edd.
SInce yr edd is being pushed forward, i think u shd stick to the new edd

mrs yap, congrats on having a princess
now our sept thread got a few more baby girls. hehehe.. my scan also took about 45mins, cos my girl wasn't very co-operative and so active. i still need to turn and lie on my side for scanning and even shake my tummy to make her move.

LC, i bought the avent IQ 24 sterilizer at sale $160
the sales lady told me its a better model and is able to acommodate the medela pump parts.

car seat, i have bought the britax royale at robinson at sales..save abt $100++

lok, i recently scrap my sunny for a mpv..think in time to come the space will be useful for the carseat, grandparents, my dog etc..

Car seats: Yes, will need to buy an MPV cos how to squeeze in the inlaws and maid?

Plasticine man, thanks Ava. I still hv no recollection of this chap;(

Mrs Yap: Congrats on the completion of your DS! Mine is this Fri, and it's already long overdue cos I'm now 21 wk 2 days!!! I'm praying hard...

SarahMay: Yes, I have the Panda Friendly only. The others are fugly.

LC: I think the movements are seasonal? I dunno, my bb is quite quiet today.

Big Toes: I slept on my left side last nite. It's quite comfortable...

bacon&amp;eggs: where di u get your IQ24? That's cheap. I'm getting that model too.

I'm still not sure which car seat to buy. Need to seek my hb's advice when he is back. He might want a modular car seat that can fit into a stroller as well.

Is Aprica an expensive brand? Just wondering cos my SIL is using this brand.

I personally prefer Maclaren.

<font color="119911">Ava (avalyn) - hah, never seen the brown plastercine guy before...maybe not on Msia TV.

LC (faintz) - My EDD got pushed forward by 2 days as well, from 10th to 8th Sept. Think the EDD would change by +/- a couple of days each time u go for a scan, depending on how much the baby has grown relative to the norm for that week. Maybe just stick to the earliest EDD so we are most prepared incase the baby comes early?

bacon&amp;egg (baconegg)- Robinsons had a 20+5% sale (for members) for the Britax Royale recently right? Someone told me to make sure that the car seat is not too bulky &amp; the seatbelt for the car can strap it down all the way...have to check.</font>