(2008/09) Sep 2008

Sarahmay: Wow, DS on thurs, must be so exciting!! I also encouraged my Dh to talk to bb but he feels funny leh.. Haiz.. Man hor.. Aiyoo. i haven't bought the book yet! Went to SKS at outram but they were closed on May day!
I think sept weather will be cooler, not like this now!

I have been drinking cold drinks, cannot stand the weather, really limit!

Kicks:
Mostly below my belly button, both of left & right sides. Sometimes its kicks, sometimes feels like hiccups & also movement like somersualts in my tum-tum.. Kekeke.. Feeling is amazing!

Bigtoes: I try to sleep on my left but sometimes I wake up on my back then try to change position again.. Lst time I like to sleep on the left but now seem like I like to sleep on my back!

Flos,
Power ranger can't sing lah.. hmm.. seems like u really know little about cartoon characters or should i say.. children fav.. kekeke..
Dun laught at my limited english lah.. i always singlish one lah.. kekekee.. u r embarrass me lah.. lol

caffine,
do u know tat caffine will slow down the brain development of our BB?? so i've since avoided tea, copi and coke...and i dun take choc.

oh yes, momoko, my hb collects power rangers and transformers when he was little. but Barney is something new! I'll research more on Barney.

There's a potato man and a sponge man too right?

Storeberry: yeah, my nephew also utters "barney" and "elmo" all the time...

Flos (flos) - think u meant Spongebob Square Pants, not sponge man. Not sure who Potato Man is! Other than Barney, my nephew also loves Bob the Builder.

I have a guy friend's daughter who loves Barney to bits, she plays his music on & on until my friend got so sick of Barney & he secretly hates Barney.. lol. Lucky now she switch her preference to Dora The Explorer & gave his ears a break.

Barney
I hate Barney..i refuse to buy any Barney stuff for my son, who luckily is not a major fan...instead, i prefer elmo, and even power rangers to some extent! I find Barney suuuuper irritating!!!

Yup, Flos.. I am still coughing.. two weeks liao
taking manuka honey twice a day.. SarahMay gave me a formula for cough and I am trying it out.. now actually better, at least there is no blood stain in the phelgm..

any mummies gotten the Medela breast pump? I borrowed from colelague but the funnel is yellowish liao, need to go to AMK to get a new one.. the rest like motors, bottles still look ok.. anyway need to sterlise it in any case..

LC (faintz) - funnel must be stained from the milk! I am also borrowing the PIS from my sister, would need to get some replacement parts (funnel etc). Is there an authorized distributor in AMK?

ava
i heard many mummies children's first word is some animated creatures. so..heee..guess not too bad lah...just be thankful there is a 'first' word

my son;s first word was 'mama' so im ok heeeeee...

animation
so early into it liaoz? actually

research has shown tv will affect a child's concentration in school in the future.it helps children capture information fast but will affect their ability to follow through tasks. as well as the one cause of early myopia.

dunno how reliable these research are though.just sharing...

sarahmay,
yeah. it's great feeling those bb kicks. and today, i feel them so much. gynae unwittingly told me it's a her when i went for visit last tues...

flos,
i think drinking one cup a day is fine... i drink the sweet talks honey red tea often enough... think not good but like addicted to it you know????

i also don't like barney. i love elmo though. my kids' first words were both 'elmo'. hehehehe

Ava: Me too. I like Elmo better. Grew up with Sesame Street I guess. I dun like Teletubbies.

lilboymum: Agree that tv will affect child's concentration in school. But if your children dun watch telly nor surf internet, they might still be myopic, cos they will be reading storybooks right?!!

cloud,

pls book your confinement lady asap. I tried calling 2 weeks ago and all snapped up. Now going via agency and have to pay premium.

CONFINEMENT SHAMPOO / BODY WASH :
I was the one who posted it.
www.littledreamers.com.sg

CAFFEINE:
i was very diligent in avoiding it last pregnancy. This time round, I have my single cuppa of teh-c every morning. Will probably cut down further in 3rd trimester. Definitely no no when I'm breastfeeding as i'm afraid it will flow through breastmilk and keep my bb wakeful. In my case, I hv to also cut down on milk in general postpartum as my entire family is lactose-intolerant. When #1 was born, I tried to load up on milk for the calcium but end up giving my newborn eczema and he "lai-sao" everyday.

SLEEPING POSITION:
Left is definitely encouraged as it's good for blood circulation to the bb and it's the blood that carries nutrient to bb. So suggest mummies to condition yourself early to sleep on the left. Sleeping on back is very uncomfortable especially as you become heavily pregnant.

BARNEY:
My #1 is a super Barney fan. He loves the purple dinosaur. In fact, I will be bringing him to the Barney concert/party in early June. Definitely learned to say "Barney" much earlier than mummy or daddy. At one stage, I was called "Mo-ney" (hybrid of mommy & barney). I managed to keep him away from tv in the 1st 12 mths. Thereafter, really difficult as it is one sure way to keep my active todd still.

Hi, Bigtoes

I saw one at AMK that sell Medela spare sparts..Think it is called Moms & Babes.. the funnel (soft ones) costs 15bucks.. yours is the advanced pump is it? The one with a backpack that comes with a motor, cooler pack etc one? Wat others are you replacing?

LC (faintz) - I haven't seen the pump yet (yes - Medela PIS) cos my sis is overseas at the moment. She mentioned having to replace the "plastic cups", I guess she meant the funnel & the portion u place on the boobs.

Ava,
coz i think urs is a boy.. so still ok.. kekeke.. lucky.. for my gal to fall in love with barney.. hmm.. quite a thing too.. She'll always call.. "Nani, Nani" when the barney commercial is out on the tv for the concert in june one.. :p

Lok,
I agree.. try to tell her "NO." for Barney and she'll go screaming.. ahhhhh.. I so scare of her.. hahaha.. but once u give in.. she'll be an angel again singing: "I Love you, you love me..."

Bigtoes - The funnel is the portion you place on the boobs lor.. If not wrong, the PIS one, is using the soft one while the other model one is using a hard funnel, which might more uncomfortable so you might just want to ask them before you buy. Initially I tot Robinson should have their replacement part but was told by them they dun carry and then I check out AMK has one store.. you might just want to pop by that store.. they sell other stuff too.. I almost bot the bean sprout pillow, 19.90.. Spring is selling 16.90..

Anyone using LIERAC stretch mark cream???
Its a french brand and having big sale... I bought it for $10 at a warehse sale while Metro is selling at $55

Bigtoes,

Mum & babes is the distributor for Medela parts.

Momoko,

I think your gal is same age as my son (Jul'06 bb). He will be such a darling and go round kissing and hugging everybody when he hears the Barney goodbye song.

think i asked this question b4..but gg to get assurance that milo is ok to take daily? cos aloeaver said choc contains caffeine..

Pump
Can i wait till delivery then buy the pump? cos i am not sure if i have milk supply..anyway is the electric medela pump better or manual?

momoko,
gospel song - i can sing limited songs..so usually i just repeat myself..

bacon&egg,

Yes, you can wait till delivery and buy. In fact, you can try the pump after delivery at the hospital to see which one u like. In Mrs Wong's words, don't waste $ on manual pump if you are bfg for long-term.

I think Milo is ok. TMC gave me milo immediately after delivery and everyday when i'm still there. The only thing is Milo to me is very sweet. (fattening if too much consumption).

Yup, Bacon&Egg. I agreed with Lok that you can wait till delivery to get the pump..I got it now bec my colleague no express milk anymore so just pass to me first.. I dun know if I will be using it at the end of the day if there is in sufficient milk supply.. Manual one can be very tiring if you are workin and want to do BF for long term.. and electric one is faster, i gather.. but need to carry the back pack to work is a hassle cos it is not light. on top of that, with the cooler bag and your working bag.. my goodness... you gotten your sterliser?

bacon&egg / LC,

In this sense, I'm quite lucky. My company has a few mothers' rooms equipped with sterilizers, electric pumps, fridge and cleaning agents. Just have to bring cooler bags. Depending on how u manage --- may be an idea to get some spares so u don't hv to keep bringing to and fro.

Hi SarahMay,

Thanks for concern. Was quite busy and stress till recently… So stressed that I just sit there and cry….taking some leave here and there now.
I am also going for a DS this coming Wed.

Hi Cloud,
Are you also with KKH? I am also still in the process of sourcing for a confinement lady as the one that I called is already booked.

Hi Koras and flos and storeberry and bacon&egg,
Wow, you having chocolate ice cream and cold drinks.
I have craving for cold drinks, ice cream but don’t dare to take as my TCM used to tell me to stop all the cold stuff as I have cold womb and also develop cough easily.

Hi Chermaine,
Did you tell the doctor about the worsening spotting? Maybe it will be good to take a short break or get medical leave to rest at home?

Congrats MTB on your bb kick and jessi on your little princess. I am still confused though I keep convincing myself that the movement in my tummy is due to bb and not the gas. ;)

I talked a lot to bb too…about anything anytime during the day. I sing a short part of Barney to bb every night (learn 1 – 2 sentence from my little nephew).

Hi Bigtoes,
I try to sleep on the left side but somehow sleeping on my back is sometimes more comfortable..not sure why though.

Hi Flos,
I have some gum bleeding occasionally as well…my gynae did not prescribe calcium pills for me. Will ask him when I go for appt this week.

bacon&eggs:

same here. I'm not getting that pump until after delivery. most likely getting the electric one.

even for the pram/car seat/bb carrier, I'm just wondering if i really would need them after delivery? Can i buy after my 28 days confinement?

mrs yap: u can google for reviews. I know palmers gave a lot of moms itch, not sure abt Lierac. There are many brands in the mkt, but the theory is stretch marks are GENETIC. no matter how ex the cream is, u can't prevent it!!! As mentioned above, I am using Clarins, and so far so good

Hi, Flos

Me have the same idea as you - to get those stuff after confinement period.. hahaha.. can also have an excuse to bring baby out for shopping..

Hi, Lok

Wa, your company so pro-family one.. so well equipped.. can I check with you if you know if we can dump those breast funnel into the bottle sterliser? or is there a special sterliser for the breast pump?

Yes! LC. The idea is to get the 'hell' out of the stuffy house and shop with hb.

Erm, but we can't shop with bb unless we get a pram before EDD, right?

LC,

Normal sterilizer will do. So long as the funnel can fit in. The point abt sterilizing is the steaming killing the germs, so as long as it fits, no probs.

flos,

car seat can consider. But for the rest, you can wait. even for pram, for NB, i would be carrying as they need plenty of neck support.

Lok,
My gal is July 08...ya.. u r right... they r such angel and u really feel tat they r saying "I Love you mummy" feeling.. hahaha.. Actually i think more of I love you BARNEY!

Bacon&egg,
Or maybe you can go to the overseas spree section.. there's this mummy tat's organising for toodler gospel songs..and i think quite affordable as well.. it would be much cheaper to order than buy frm Christian bookshop.. :p

thanks Lok...at least i feel safer drinking milo
few of my female colleagues would tug the bf bag, laptop bag and their own handbag..quite heavy i think..

LC, i bought my steriliser liao

flos, i was told when you bring the bb home, u will need the car seat..

<font color="119911">LC (faintz) &amp; Lok - okie, thanks - got Mum &amp; Babes contact online (AMK Hub). Will go get the funnel when i am at AMK Hub for the pre-natal classes.

Rabbit (rebirth) - yes, am most comfy on my back, cos then my arm doesn't end up being numb. I try to make it a point to sleep on my left, but usually 'cheat' after a while &amp; end up flat on my back

Gum bleeding
I have gotten minor gum bledding a couple of times when brushing - nothing to worry about &amp; apparently quite common when preggers.</font>

Mrs Yap,

I ever used the Lierac one after i gave birth for stretch marks.. the link tat u gave us one is Vials and solution, so more concentrated i guess.. so i'm not too sure whether u can use it now as we are pregnant.. but the gel form one.. it states can be use during pregnancy lah..

bacon&amp;egg,

I dropped all my extra bags after #1 came along. Only carry a laptop haversack nowadays. Because I need to pick up my son from Childcare and carry his bag and hold his hands. Cannot even manage extra loads....

flos
hhahahahaa...yes.dun think the myopia thing is relevant for my family. my children have very bad genes, both hb and i are super short sighted...around 800plus for each eye for both of us....haiz...

i will let him surf the net once he is old enough. its just at this age (he's only 18tmhs) i havent seen the value of tv watching yet...

bacon and eggs
yes, for this preg, i kept thinking about iced milo...dunno if it is hormones or the weather

Folks, had my teh...

Lok: Car seat. Good point. Please advise me which model to buy, if the NB's neck is so soft? Can we secure the newborn bb on any car seat, for that matter, available in the market?

lilboymum: I'm 700+ for both eyes. Blind Bat like u. My hb, my in laws and his sis all have perfect eye-sight though. Let's hope my bb inherits his good genes. Maybe can start taking wolfberries?!!

Dolly
I was thinking "you mean Barney has been on TV for so many years?" then i realised it was you...and that you are young! LOL....i am really "old bird" liao...

eve
Nope, no more compulsory tests after DS.

Flos'
Baby seats: you can get a convertible which goes from newborn to 18kg, or get a "capsule" baby seat which is better for smaller newborns. that'll last you till about 9 months. remember that for newborns the seat must always face the rear of the car and NEVER be placed at seats with airbag.

flos,

yup, echo Ava's comments on car seat.

Dolly,

U must be very young (Barney celebrates 20 yrs in 2008).. There is no Barney in my era.

AVA/Lok: Thanks and noted. I do know about facing the rear of the car. Maxi Cosi good brand to buy?

So for your newborns, you secure the wobbly babe in the capsule? I can't imagine...I've seen parents/grandparents handholding their NBs upon their discharge at TMC...

Dolly: u watched Barney when u were in P6?! When I was in P6, I only knew of those Sanrio characters (hello Kitty, little twin stars, my melody), Barbie, Cabbage patchdoll, Strawberry Shortcake &amp; friends, etc.

Bleeding gums: I also had that.. went to c my dentist cos I also found it very gross. After cleaning, the bleeding stopped. According to my dentist, gingivitis is more common for preggies so plague builds up more easily &amp; if bleeding starts again &amp; i cannot tahan, then can go back to clean again or just use "Eludril" to gargle.

flos,

i bought a Britax royale (note that Britax is marketed as "safe &amp; sound" in Australia, so both brands are exactly the same). I did the same, carry in my arms but that's not the right thing to do. TMC just launch a campaign after an Australian lady wrote in. TP also looking into this after the school bus accident. Did u see the ad that Mothercare placed in the newspaper these few days? So, a lot of emphasis on car seats nowadays.

Not sure abt maxi cosi. Maybe u ask the other mummies who hv experience with maxi cosi brand..

<font color="119911">Flos (flos) - Oh, nooo...better invest in a car seat BEFORE the baby is born! Not only cos there is te $120 penalty now, but more importantly, for the safety of your baby. Sunday's paper mentioned that a 7kg baby would have the impact of 1.2 tonnes during an accident at medium speed! Would fly thru the windscreen....

I am getting the Britax brand (Royale/Meridian model) - the Meridian one was voted safest in Aust &amp; is specially designed from newborn onwards.

Hah, feel so old...My era was also that of Sesame Street, My Melodie, My Little Pony, Smurfs, Transformers...Barney &amp; those irritating Telly Tubbies didn't exist then!</font>

Hi all, seem that most of u can feel the bb kicking, how is it feel like? on my last check up, doc asked me did i felt my bb kick, I was huh? Hmmmm... maybe got too much fats at that area, so can't feel it. ha ha ha... will be having my DS on 14/5, hope bb is growing well in there.