(2008/09) Sep 2008

Hi Momoko,

Bond, as of now, still got about 25 months left. Heng got Maternity leave which counts towards the fulfillment of the bond.
My no. 1 is 25 months old liao. U leh? How old is your no. 1?

Hi MTbs.. Thanks for the advice. My spotting seems to get worse. Realy quite worried and anxious... And it seems like my tummy is getting smaller.. (sigh.. maybe it's my imagination.

SarahMay: Have been quite stress at work for the past 2 weeks. Is that a reason why I might have spotting?

Flos: The hormone pills that the doctor gave me is Utrogestan.

Storeberry & Jessi: Really hope that spotting will stop soon. I feel so helpless.. can only rest in bed and wait for the spotting to stop.

Xuanting: Congrats on feeling your baby kick.. Hw it feels like? I have not feel any till now.. The doctor did not mention why I have spotting.

thanks, sarahmay & chermaine.

chermaine, the bb's kicks felt like little pushes from within the tummy, several times around the same area. hubby felt it too and he was v v excited as well. when is your next review? perhaps you should give the doc a call if you feel that your spotting is getting worse. at least, do continue with your bed rest till the bleeding stops, ok? i hope all will be well with you and your bb. hugs.

Chermaine: Stress can aggravate it, though I think it is not the key cause. It is hard to pinpoint cause of spotting. I also had spotting several weeks into my first trimester. However, stress is never good for anyone. Just take the pills and rest. Take it as a mini break from work. Enjoy yourself! Do some online shopping? Reading?

RXMom: It's good that maternity count is included in your bond period. Hehe.

hi chermaine,
oh dear. take care and rest well. if you don't feel comfortable and still unsure, make sure you call your gynae and find out ok?? don't stress yourself too much and MUST rest in bed.

i've also been able to feel my bb kicks these days. so happy. i'm going into my 18th week already. now that i can feel the bb kick inside me, i can't imagine if i had aborted...

storeberry, thanks! finally i can start shopping for bb's clothes already. heehe...

koras, ya.. don't know what are the pricing like for the bras, need to make a trip down to check it out. i also had been drinking alot of cold drinks and having ice cream lately, the weather so warm! now having a cold cold yoghurt. hehe..

SarahMay, hehe.. ya now can do more shopping and walking around. i'm still contemplating if i should plan for a trip cos i can't walk for long as i get tired and back aches very easily.

baby kicks:
i get more kicks from bb when i'm sitting down in front of my pc and while on the bed. bb doesn't seemed to kick that much while i'm walking around. i guess the walking around sort of rocks the bb to sleep.

Hi Qiuling

Mine is tis coming Fri. I hope all's fine during my DS. I intend to take MC again

Chermaine: I suppose we can only ask u to listen to your gynae by taking those hormone pills and have plenty of bedrest. Is it your first bb? I heard it rather common for second pregancies where the placenta is low. It could be a pelvic infection which was what happened to my sis. She had to stop her stringent treadmill exercises immediately. I still wonder why she bothered to jog daily when she was pregnant! Did u walk and do exercise alot? I try to limit my shopping to no more than 3 hours. I also walk like I'm in my 3rd trimester. Colleagues laugh at the way I walk, but I don't give a damn. Just pace myself slowly...

Alabone: why r u talking about "abortion" now?!! Dun say that...it's quite unnerving!

I've been feeling the kicks a lot. My linea nigra is also more obvious now.

Jessi: Absolutely! I only feel the kicks when I'm sprawling on my sofa and on my bed. When I'm walking around, I hardly feel it.

jessi - if u happen to go to that shop and check out the price do let me know. it seem everyday need an ice cream weather to warm liao le

flos - same.. i lie down on the bed or sofa will feel my boy kicking me. but he tend to tickle me more duno isnt due to he is moving around or wat

<font color="ff0000">TEA</font>: Been drinking a lot of milk tea since 1st tri. Quite hard to quit now. I'm worried that I take in too much caffeine.

Also been drinking cold drinks due to the scorching heat out there. Yesterday, I slurped up a whole glass of Iced cold HK Yuan Yang. Also can't quit. Sigh...worried my bb will get cough easily next time.

Am now craving for a glass of chilled Chardonnay! HELP!! Bad bad mama!

koras: Tickle?!! How?! So strange. My is just ripples and waves. Not really KICKS per se I analysed. I'm stll trying to figure out if it's the hands boxing me, or the legs kicking. I think my bb's head is on my left side. The movements are more towards my right side. That's assuming bb is lying horizontally across my tummy.

flos - i duno where my baby head and leg is.. but just sometime i tap him when he kick he will respond by kicking me back.. the tickle feeling is u can really feel the itch on the tummy where he ticks

flos - i also been everyday drink teh or teh -o. but trying to control myself.but i drink yakult everyday

flos, guess if it's one cup a day, it's still ok. tea hasn't got that much caffeine. but tea is liang wor, try not to drink too much ok. and get that glass of chardonnay out of your mind!

been drinking quite a lot of cold drinks lately due to the weather too. really hard to tahan. took a short nap right under the fan on the couch today and i still woke up all bathed in sweat. thank goodness we aren't doing our confinements now!

Flos.. better cut down on the caffeine, next time you need a caffeine shot tell yourself 'I must think of my baby, I must think of my baby'...
maybe you can try substituting it for something else healthier like lo-fat chocolate milk

my gynae says that its okay to drink cold drinks leh, she says that there's no scientific evidence to prove that it harms the baby.. in fact, do you think that the liquid is still cold by the time it reaches the baby.. i'm sure that it must have warmed up by then..

my colleague told me that his wife's gynae told him that she drank diet coke throughout her 5 pregnancies...

i always feel my baby moving when i'm sitting down... has anyone started reading to their baby, a few friends have advised me to do that but i find it a bit weird to be talking to myself..

i'm going for my DS again this Thursday.. hopefully it succeeds this time..

btw, any MTM who hasn't found their confinement lady yet? i think i'm a bit slack in trying to find one.

flos, i've been feeling movements mostly on my left side and i'm entertaining the same theory as you that bb's head must be on the other side! your ripples and waves are like swishy sensations? mine are, and i seem to feel those a lot more frequently than the kicks.

i often feel my baby kick on the left side. also feel ripples on the right side.

this type weather best to stay in aircon roombut the electrical billsure to shoot up

Koras: OK, so I'm not the only one. My gynae says one cup a day is fine, but i'm starting to feel a bit guilty by REALLY drinking a cup a day

xuanting: yes, I was watching tv when those actors were drinking wine. Drooling...I must resist...

Cloud: When I drink cold beverages on normal days (i.e. not hot days), I do get tummy ache. I'd poo poo within an hour!

The Chinese believe that preggers shdn't take cold drinks...sigh.

xuanting: swishy sensations they are! Not so much kicks. can't wait to see bb again!

I have also been eating ice-cream &amp; cold drinks, weather so hot, can "tahan" leh!! The weather is really killing me! Its really uncomfortable for mummies who recently gave birth, so hot!

Jessi: Same same, I think when we are on the sofa or in bed we can feel bb more. When we are on the go, not so obvious...

koras, sure if i managed to check out the prices, i'll let you know.

flos &amp; xuanting, i don't seem to feel any ripples, waves or swishy sensations, just kicks and occasional ticklish feeling. maybe my bb doesn't turn around that much.

cloud, i read some nursery rhymes or sing some nursery songs to bb before sleeping every night. initially i also feel abit weird to be reading aloud to myself. hehe..

flos ,
i am a tea addict myself .. last preg i drink up to 2 cups per day .. cut down from my multiple cups per day .. gynae mentioned limited to 2 cups .. so i took my limit ... this preg also .. 2 cups per day .. and i choose the big cup .. haha

storeberry, ya those mummies who are doing their confinement now must be feeling uncomfortable about the heat. hope during september the weather won't be that warm for us.

koras, oh.. do u search for barney on youtube? maybe i can do some search on youtube too for some songs to play to bb.

jessi- yup u can search from there. they have nursery rhymes there too.while doing ur work ur baby can listen too

me too: I find it strange to read aloud to myself. I however will tell bb what I'm going to eat now and assure him I'm reaching the restaurant very soon! When I am going to shower, I'll tell him too! I also chitchat with bb inside the bathroom as I rub in circular motion the Clarins tonic oil! Heheheh!! Bian Tai!

Qiuling: Is your first kid hyperactive? I dun drink coffee, just can't quit tea. I must resolve to quitting tea.

Jessi: indeed. Those doing confinement in June will hv to turn on the aircon. I hope Sept is not hot anymore.

Barney? Does Barney sing? What does Barney sing?

FLOS - haha u go take a look at youtube ba.
heeh i onlytalk to my baby when going to sleep and when hubby around

koras, i can only play it at home, i think it's weird to play it in office while at work. hehe.. everyone will be wondering where the nursery song comes from.

flos, hehehee.. i also talk to bb sometimes, like ask what bb like to eat for lunch or dinner today, if bb is feeling cold in aircon room. sometimes i even tell bb that her mummy gonna pee or poop. hehehe.. like that i even more bian tai.

jessi - er ya better. as i not working so i normally when play game i will play barney song for my baby to listen.

Koras: I haven't bought any books yet so haven't read anything to bb yet... Will go to youtube &amp; search for barney!

Flos &amp; Jessi: I talked to bb also!! Most of the time to tell him I love him &amp; what I am doing... Kekek..

hi flos,
yeah. bit unnerving to mention 'abortion' but was just thinking back abt what i initially wanted to do...

i can also feel little bb kicks these days. like a tiny gentle nudge from inside. such a wonderful feeling. we don't feel them kicking coz when we're moving, it produces a rocking motion that puts bb to sleep. so when we lie down and are inactive, we can feel bb kicks.

flos,
i drink tea and cold drinks all the time too. i hardly care abt whether i should not eat too cooling food or not. so far, my two kids don't fall sick that often. so i think i'll continue with what i fancy drinking as long as it's done in moderation. anyway, weather these days soooooo hot! how not to take in a cold drink???

Alabone: Isn’t it amazing to feel bb? Hehe. Glad you didn’t choose to abort him. (Wait…him or her ah? So many bbs here I forget. )

Jessi: I get back aches too…but I think it is from sitting too long at computer. Hehe. Walking around is ok for me…actually it is good exercise for all of us preggers. Though I find that the more I walk, the less I feel bb. Like a few days ago I walked so much tt I didn’t quite feel baby until yday.

Flos: How much tea do you drink everyday? As long not more than 3 cups should be safe. As for my bb kicks, noticed that he likes to kick mostly on the left. But now more dispersed…maybe cos I’ve been telling him how to play the tapping game? Hehe. Oh! The reason why TCM advise against drinking cold drinks is tt womb needs to keep warm. Btw, my friend’s gynae also told her tt drinking cold stuff makes one put on more fat around the womb area! Dunno whether that is reliable medical science….but it is a western-trained gynae who said it.

Cloud: I’m going for DS this thurs too! I’m sure it will be successful this time. Talk to your bb before then to co-operate? Oh! I’m not getting confinement lady. Not sure how I’m going to do confinement yet…have to talk to FIL and my Dad to work out something. Hehe.

Koras: I have been sleeping in AC room too… hehe.

Ava: Oops! Sorry! Now I rber…two princesses. Hehe. Skye is pretty. Skylar is pretty unisex too. I think Skye and Summer make a more matchy pair though – like 2 elements of nature.
Millie: Congrats on your Mickey!

CAFFEINE: Eh…actually chocolate also has caffeine. Heheh. My hubby was the one who reminded me about that. I was soooo cautious until the last two weeks about caffeine. Now, I drink tea again. Just every two to three days one cup. Cannot tahan. My true vice is cold drinks and ice-cream I think. Oh! As for COKE, my mum drank it everyday when she was expecting my bro…and she warns me against it cos she claims it caused my bro to have childhood bronchitis. Hehe. Dunno how true.

READING TO BABY: I’ve been a bit slack in reading. Was very good before…but since I got to Macau, I haven’t been as hardworking. I just can’t imagine reading the same story to him EVERY day e.g. Dr Seuss….I think I will be sooo bored. But apparently they say repetition is good for bb….so I dunno…maybe last tri I will start reading some stuff over and over again. Hope I dun drive myself crazy!
I talk to bb a lot too…try to encourage my hubby to do so but he can’t get past beyond saying bb’s name and ‘Bye bye’ etc. Haha. I love to tell bb what I’m going to feed him…Sometimes even describe to him what I’m doing while cooking. SEPT WEATHER: Does anyone know what kind of weather we’ll be expecting in Sept? Hope it is not hot like this!!!! Eeks. Has anyone bought the herbs for bathing during confinement already? I think I’m going to pre-order liao. Hehe. Anyone buying that ready-made shampoo and bath formula tt someone posted the last time?

BABY MUSIC: Noticed that my baby doesn’t really like the kiddy songs I play for him cos I hardly feel him move. But like I mentioned before when I was watching August Rush, he moved a lot during some of the songs. We figured he really likes the percussion beats…cos yday when we watched an Enya video, there was drums and he moved. Hehe.

this morning while i took train and was so packed, there was this lady that was looking at me for a while dan i look at her.. she look at me again then give up her seat for mi.. i was so touched.. finally i saw one kind singaporean

Storeberry: THought you've been reading the children bible stories? Hehe.

Koras: Yay! There is hope for singaporeans! But...how sure are you that she is one. Haha. Just kidding.

Good morning MTBs,

How's weekend?

cold drinks,
i usually give in to temptation and take sips of iced tea and small qty of ice-cream. Think should be ok. I also take de-caffeinated coffee sometimes..though i feel bad afterwards

bb kicks,
I felt strong kicks when i lie down on my bed..other time, it still fluttering feelings..
am happy and look forward to his kicks daily..

talking to bb
i tried to sing daily and talk to bb..but limited songs...cos i am not good with bb's songs..so far, i have been only singing twinkle twinkle little star...hee...paiseh...

anyone has peel-like skin ard the nipple area? Quite yucky and hard to clean off..

been feeling a sharp pain on the right side of my shoulder blade...my MIL says it is the bone expanding!!!!! i think its rhemautism (spelling)..can we use any lotion or cream to rub?

RXMum,

Wow.. still got at least 25 months of bond ah.. meaning 2 years??oppss.. got to wait a long long time hor.. kekeke.. good luck on tat man... kekeke..

bacon&amp;egg,
wkends for me is babyshower party on saturday.. lucky for tat mummy also around my age i guess and she's a SAHM already for her first bb.. :p.. told her how much i wanted to be a SAHM.. but not there yet.. hehehe.. sunday for me is work and Shichida class for my no.1..

Oh yeah, RXmum, my no. 1 is 21 months now.. so our bb's r all quite close too.. :p

<font color="119911">Morning mommies - wow, so many postings over the weekend!

Jessi: Congrats on your baby princess

KICKS
I feel them usually when I am seated, especially while watching telly nite. Sometimes, it is quite obvious, and feels like a little somersault in my tummy, sometimes more like small cramps. Position wise, I think my baby moves around alot - sometimes its at the top (area above the belly button), sometimes at the sides, and last nite below the belly button!

Taking to baby - hehe, what do u gals say? I haven't really been talking to him, thou I have been using BabyPlus (maternal heartbeat sounds) around my belly &amp; he usually responses by kicking...

SLEEPING POSITION:
Are u ladies diligently sleeping on ur left side? I am so used to sleeping on my back, my left arm aches abit/gets numb from sleeping on the left &amp; I don't last very long at that position!</font>

Koras: Ooh, that purple dinosaur...I have watched him/her sing at Youtube. He is quite adorable!!!!

Hey, but there's a lot of interference. The songs keep being cut off...Where may I buy Barney's nursery songs? Toys R Us? Who else sings? Elmo? Goofy? hahhaha!!

Jessi: poop and pee also must report to bb?!

alabone: I'm so glad to hear that both your kids are ok. I have been drinking tea almost 4-5 times per week. No more than 1 cup per day. Sometimes, I drink iced lemon tea. Othertimes, I drink Teh-C or Teh-O.

Becos the weather's been so hot lately, I started to order cold soy bean milk!

Cloud: I've already booked my CL.

SarahMay: I've not order those sachets yet. Must we pre-order as u said?! THought these are always around on the shelves, no? Hhehe! Shampoo for preggers?

My CL and MIL also told me to avoid cold drinks.

Coke? I absolutely avoid Carbonated drinks. Thank goodness.

I really dunno how the weather in SG is going to be like in the coming mths. I just know it was 37 degrees at 1pm on Sunday as indicated by my dad's car thermometer.

Millie: congrats to u!

bacon&amp;Egg: dry skin around the areole? Nope, I use Clarins Bamboo Body Scrub for preggers to get rid of my dead skin. I also apply that Tonic Oil I was discussin earlier on my torse after shower everyday. So far so good.

Bleeding gums

Anyone got that? Been taking calcium tabs and drinking milk daily. Wonder why I spit blood after brushing my teeth in some mornings?

Big toes: For me, I diligently sleep on my RIGHT side with my bolster. It's more comfy than the left side. how about the rest?

momoko,
i love bb showers...did u have those cute bb games at the shower? I planned one for my gf 2 years ago...thinking if i should have one for myself...2-3 mths before birth ok?

bigtoes,
i will sing twinkle x 2 and gospel songs and just tell him mommy, daddy and my dog love him
i repeat that every nite..haha...not sure what else to say..

i am ok to sleep on left and right side..right side seems more comfy for me..i cant sleep flat, facing upwards, i get breathless..

Flos,
how often do u scrub? it is ok to use the clarin scrub on the nipple area?

bigtoes, thanks!
i always started of sleeping on my left, but usually in the middle of the nite i will rotate between sleeping on the right and left when that side becomes numb or cramp. sometimes i will sleep on my back, but it always make me feel like i need to pee.

flos, hehe.. ya sometimes i will tell that to bb. cos sometimes when i wake up in the middle of the nite to pee then dunno is it that bb is pressing on my bladder, i got difficulty to pee so i will tell bb to move abit and let mummy pee. hehehe..

<font color="119911">Flos (flos) &amp; bacon&amp;egg (baconegg) - we are supposed to sleep on the LEFT side...as per my gyne, the book "What to expect when expecting" and online sites. Reason being, there would be better blood flow/nutrients for the placenta, less pressure on your main artery, kidneys, lesser backache, &amp; a whole host of other reasons. I have been trying to get used to sleeping on my left since the 1st trimester. So if you can, try to sleep on your left.</font>

Big toes: Yeah, that's what I read in books and on the internet too, but bo bian...just tend to turn to my Right! How to correct my position?!! HELP!

Bacon&amp;egg: I use that once a week only. It's actually bamboo powders and therefore are very fine grains. I dun deliberately use it to scrub my nipples, but in the process of massaging my bust area, I suppose they get scrubed?!! hahah!

I dunno if it's safe but on the website, it shows that this product is under the Clarins Pregnancy series...At my own risk...

bacon&amp;egg,
tat's very diligent of u singing gospel songs to ur bb.. kekeke.. i never lor.. work and taking care of my NO.1.. sign~ dun know it is me or it's always like tat with handling No.2??
As for the bb shower.. it's just a normal one for relative one.. so.. just buffet.. chat a bit tat's all.. it's my HB side one.. so very scare say wrong thing.. so just take care of my own bb and tummy.. lol

Flos,
Never never underestimate the little purple dino.. He's such a powerful creatures u know or not.. hahhaa.. My daughter had long fallen in love with him.. and tell u maybe the first colour they know will be PURPLE.. hahaha..

You can't imagine he's power... he just attract young boys and gals especially... with his nose singing.. :p

Hi, Flos

Have not log in for awhile cos my cough and running nose has kept me drained and just dun feel like doing anything.. just briefly run thr the postings and saw your posting on clarin oil.. hmmm.. i din know abt the essential oil in the tonic oil.. and i am using it every night.. how abt you? I am using their scrub too..

GUMS- My gum also bleeds a little occassionally. Gynae said it is normal.. just that we need to take in more calcuim.. oh ya, we always hear people saying if we do not take in enough calcium, baby will rip off mummy's calcuim and in the end, mummy will loose teeth or feel bones are weaker after birth, went for the prenatal course and the instructor said it is a myth.. hmmm..

momoko: Your statement "Never never underestimate the little purple dino.. He's such a powerful creatures u know or not" makes me laugh out LOUD in the office!!!!!

He is gay, is he/her? Like Dinky Winky?!!

I know my nephews love Barney to bits. I've never heard of Barney before I got my nephews. I don't even know Barney can sing!!!

Can PowerRangers sing? I've once heard Strawberry Shortcake sing but she sucks!

LC: You're still not well? *HUGS*

Yeppers, still using those OILs and SCRUBs... I'm also unaware of those ingredients
But my colleagues used that in their previous pregnancies and have no problems today. It's all at our own risk.

But if Clarins (a public-listed company under LVHM group) can pose these items under the "Pregnancy" page, I must assume they are safe for preggers?!!