(2008/09) Sep 2008

goldfish,
cot is only for bb which cannot be converted to a toddler's bed later.

cot bed can be coverted to a toddler's bed later and usually it can last the bb up to 5 years old.

i am only getting a cot bed. no play pen.

i am planning to get a nanny or my mom's help..is $700 sufficient?

which infant care did you appoint? $650 is subsidized price?

<font color="119911">Ava (avalyn) - Has ur tummy grown alot? But then u are expecting twins - so should be quite abit bigger than the rest of us
I took my weekly photo this morning as well - will load up tomorrow (and yah, think mine is quite big now!)

CAR SEAT
RXmom (ruixiangsmom) - do you have a photo of the Britax Marathon? I am planning to get the same brand, but their Meridian AHR (the one in dark grey). All these car seats can only be used up to age 4 right, thereafter we still need the get an larger one between 4-8 years (since there is the new ruling that kids up to 8 yrs need to be in car seats).

Goldfish (goldfish1395) - am also not gettting a playpen, but just a cot bed (the type with the base that can be adjusted for a few heights &amp; 1 side movable, so convertible into a todder bed so it can last a couple of years)

dmbb (dmbb) - On the classic pooh set - did you get this from Robinsons? And for how much? Its pretty nice! I am looking for classic pooh bedding sets, and seeing if there are prettier ones than what Baby Town has.</font>

bacon&amp;egg,
$700 is more than enuff coz u hv to provide milk powder n diapers...etc. i used to give $500 to my mom until my girl starts to take fish for her porridge, then i increased to $800.

Hi Lok
So ur #1 is now sleeping in a playpen now at night? I wonder is the base of a playpen too weak? I mean if the bb is FAT, den abit uneven weight distribution?

Hi Bacon&amp;Egg
My infant care is at Bishan. Not those famous one wor. Working mama got $400 subsidy wor across the board. Bt infant care got setup cost oso.. nid to get ur own mattress set la, diaper and milk bottle and put there.. and every week bring back mattress set to wash etc.
Wat a chore :p.. if onie the rate is all inclusive den shiok.
I wonder infant care will do BUMWEAR diaper or not oso hoh?
ERm..

I'm really interested in ordering the Medela Advanced PIS from the US and ship via vpostUSA. I know some of you have tried this before, so can anyone tell me what are the shipping charges like? Thanks.

just came back from my 20th weeks checkup.. got my report cards back.. majority red man... sign~.. seem like i got really low blood cell counts from my triple test..

Here's my blood count:
Hamoglobin 9.8* (reference: 11.5~16.0)
RBC 5.0 (reference: 3.8-5.4)
Haematocrit 30.3* (36.0-46.0)
MCV 60.6* (76.0-97.0)
MCH 19.6* (26.0-32.0)
MCHC 32.3(31.0-36.0)
RDW 17.3* (11.0-15.6)
Platelet 210 (140-460)
WBC 11.09* (4.00-11.00)

Those in * are all in red.. Can any mummies care to share with me how's ur blood count.. Coz, I want to know how low is my low? Get a bit worried.. sign~.. And also those mummies who know how significant is these blood count relates in our birth delivery and future health standing.. tys...

momoko76,

did your gynae not advise u? I had low blood count for #1 --- in short and in layman's terms, I'm anaemic. So need to load up on iron (egg and red meat especially beef). Gynae also prescribed iron pills (but iron causes constipation). Think this is impt as basically it's your blood that is carrying the nutrients to the bb.

wingkei,

I don't know the shipping charges as my best friend very kindly offered to handcarry it back from the US. But it will be expensive as the whole package is ~5kg.

Momoko
what is this triple test thingie all about? Is it part of the detailed scan?

I'm going for my DS next week and will I expect some pricking? I did some extensive blood tests for my OSCAR at week 13 already. Wonder if that's part of the DS?

Got the above from my june 07 thread .. so remember to get the free CD ..
Also the library Pack from NLB .. if u have miss the previous thread ..
Think NTUC also have free Birth Right pack for all Newborns ..... after your little one is delivered ..

goldfish,

Yes, he still is. There is a piece of base support. Plus I buy thick mattress (4"). So ok for him (he's quite light, abt 11kg though he's almost 2YO). For both the cot and playpen, I didn't buy them --- one's a brand new hand-me-down from hubby's cousin and the other one is a gift from his company.

And one more thing: whatever u decide, I suggest the biggest standard size (28" X 52"). Otherwise u hv difficulty getting mattress and bedding sets etc. End up hv to custom-make like me.

Flos , i did my triple test too .. cos did not go for OSCAR .. if u have gone for OSCAR .. then dun need the triple test .. testing for down sys risk also .. Me low risk ... keke .. waste money to test i think .. but i still pay 200 for the test .. just in case .

bacon &amp; egg ,
if i am not wrong , stay at home nanny around $700 now .. and infant care full day cost about 800 after subsidy .. difference is that infant care have ratio , not 1:1 but have programme .. liek water play , sand play or story telling time .. wheras the nanny is full time 1:1 ratio.. but programme .. think take care of infant basic care ..

Qiuling: OIC, but how come the triple test for Momoko is performed so late in week 20? By week 20, it should be the DS right?

Mine also low-risked.

Lok: I am looking at 28"X52" as well. I've space for that.

Hi Jaymickey

I got it fr OG. I 1st saw it at NTUC Amk hub but I held back cos it was abt $100 and I was hoping to find nicer &amp; cheaper ones elsewhere. But it was continuously on my mind and the other winnie the pooh designs I saw at the Tagore Lane warehouse were selling for abt $120, after discount. So I when I saw it at OG at 20% cheaper than NTUC, I just bought it..

Alabone
glad your dad is better!! you take care and rest well too!!!

storeberry
o dear, hope he gets well soon! viral infection? think it should be quite ok right? heard it usually wont recur.

sarahmay
yes, i mean those mueslin ones. they are really really cheap. havent tried the prefolds. it is something new from bumwear. but btwn them, i htink i'll rather opt for the pockets.faster to put on especially when they are older and we are in for diaper war!!!!

sahm
actually it is NOT boring being SAHM. even if we are alone to handle the household chores, we cannot be doing chores everyday and moment mah.so many mummies i know do chores for a couple of days a week (like laundry and stuff). rem we are stay-at-home-mums and not housewives...our job is our children!!! :p

i will usually bring my boy out daily. to hte park to roam or even for playdates. there are many informal, formal playdates out there. we meet up to go zoo, botan garden, beach for sandplay and pinic etc... you make friends with other SAHM (i know many, and they arent the kinda paltry women we all imagined them to be!many are really hot and we see their pic many times on mag covers!!), and the kids get to enjoy playing with one another (ok, and fighting too)..

it's really really fun! trust me...kekekekek..

Momoko ,
take more iron pills .. in fact everyday .. and your blood count will increase .. if not every gynae visit , they will prick u and test .. keke ..
Flos ,
Hire a maid will be good choice cos if Your MIL is handling 2 kids in the day , she might need some hand also .. my maid will arrive in another month time in june .. cos have to prepare for the arrival of this little mouse .. .. also another option is SAHM.. which is my option afte r this mickey mouse .. I feel that i can always go back to work after the first few years of my little ones .. at least I get to enjoy their cutiest moments at home and see their growth and development .. if they are all grown up , they might not want our company .. and maybe they are not so cute anymore .. keke ...they can only stick to us liek glue for the first few years ..

flos , triple test have to be between 15-17week i think .. maybe she only get her results from her gynae at 20 week scan .. cos usually gynae will only share the result at the next visit ..

Mrs yap ...
Browsing thru the archives and saw the Ice - cream .. yummy .. drools ... NEXT TIME SHARE WITH US >>>>> DUN POST HERE TO MAKE US DROOL .

IICY ,
I PM u my JC alreadi ..
FloS ,
where is H &amp; M flagship store in shanghai ??? u post the latest loots here lei ..
Saray May ,
Me planning after at least 6 mths of my mickey mouse years ..

MATTRESS
I have ordered my Mothercare cot already but holding back on the mattress for the moment as the Mothercare mattress is really expensive. Can I check if baby mattresses come in standard sizes or exclusive sizes for individual cots?

Hi Mei,

I'm also still looking for mattress cos my cot abit odd sized. So far the cheapest is still st Kiddy Palace but I will still be checking out the warehouses at Kaki Bukit. I did call Babysafe (http://www.babysafe.com.sg/) to enquire abt customised sizes and the lady did tell me tt it's ok for the mattress to be slightly bigger than the cot cos it can be compressed. As long as not smaller cos it would be dangerous with the presence of gaps. But babysafe is expensive cos of latex material. I'll prob just stick to foam with holes &amp; will not be customising the size.

dmbb
Thanks for your reply.

I went to check Babysafe mattresses as they are much cheaper than Mothercare ones but the sizes are all too small for my Mothercare cot. I'll check out Kiddy Palace. Thanks!

Mei: The cot has some difference in sizes. Choose a mattress in the same dimension. As for brand, I ll recommend baby safe. It has holes and is supposed to prevent SIDS. The mattress is quite heavy.

SAHM: IICY, do u have a maid? Cos I ll def still have a maid. Actually, we re thinking of the second maid for this new baby as my #1 is still very young.

dmbb (dmbb) - so you got the winnie the pooh 9 piece bedding set from OG for $80 at the end? Its quite reasonable.
The ones i was planning to get from Baby Town are $89.90 (one is in the exact same design, just in a blue/yellow color scheme). Is this is OG in Orchard? Do they have several versions? Don't mind going to check it out then! Thanks

Qiuling:
Yes, going back to school to teach will be easy after you've taken time-off for a couple of years, but not in other age-critical professions. Singapore needs and lacks good teachers, they will pay you a lot to get you to rejoin the teaching workforce!!!

I'll consider hiring a maid once my hb's posting is more or less firmed up
Just not feeling good that my SIL is stingeing on maids and asking me to pay for mine, so that she can also make use of the maid's services. She is already a semi-SAHM who spends Mon-Fri at my inlaws' place.

hihi... noticed that i have swollen feet and ankles... is anyone having this problem?? any advice for solution and avoid this??

Mei: The cot has some difference in sizes. Choose a mattress in the same dimension. As for brand, I ll recommend baby safe. It has holes and is supposed to prevent SIDS. The mattress is quite heavy.

SAHM: IICY, do u have a maid? Cos I ll def still have a maid. Actually, we re thinking of the second maid for this new baby as my #1 is still very young.

yest took mrt at dhoby ghaut, there was this india woman keep staring my my tummy and my breast. dan i looked back she also duno how to give up her seat for me..
hai... singaporean i give up hope.

jaymickey - bugis OG seem not much i just went just now.. not much of children clothes. but if u go BHG there is a lot . sale start le

by the way want to check those playpen baby cot the height can adjust. coz i saw some is very low

ava - ur tummy so big liao sia

Hi Jaymickey / Bigtoes

Yes it's Orchard Pt OG. I dunno when's the sale til thou. I didn't notice if there were other designs, sorry! In fact I walked past it &amp; didn't even c it. It was my hb who saw it &amp; brought it to me to ask if this was the same one we saw previously.

Btw Bigtoes, where's babytown ar? what do they sell? I still need to recee for car seats &amp; strollers.. haiz..

<font color="119911">dmbb (dmbb) - baby town is only an online site - here is the link: http://www.babytown.com.sg/

Think it is run by an Aussie couple, quite proactive &amp; helpful. The problem thou is that they have no physical site, so not too good to get cots etc, but alright for items where u already have the model number or smaller stuff like cot bedding. Some items are not online (e.g. the Classic Pooh bedding), so u have to ask &amp; they will email you the JPEG files &amp; cost.</font>

Flos

Chk wif u where else in Shanghai can i get bb stuff? Going there the week after.... this is my last holiday before i pop,hehe... After i read your posting abt H&amp;M in SH, i decided to book the airtix liao,hehe!!!

Hi Bigtoes

Thanks! they have really cheap high chairs(Luckybaby brand). very tempting..

maybe can try to bargain with them to sell you the bedding at an even cheaper than the price i paid!

How do you decide what kind of cots to get? My husband and I have not even been around to see any baby stuff yet. He doesn't seem interested in shopping for them. I wonder when I will get to buy anything. And I see so many of you already buying so many stuff. So envious.....

wingkei
dun worry about it. my hb is also not interested in shopping for bb stuff. those few occasions we went, the only thing he said was,'get it loh'...totally unparticipative...

but i comforted myself what better excuse to shop on my own!!!! kekekeke...with him around, i have to be conscious of the budget, without him...woohoo....wait until the credit card bill comes loh..kekkekekekek..

sunrays:

Am thinking of flying over the vesak hols too. am bored in S'pore over Labour Day hols, thot might wanna chill out in SH.

OK, H&amp;M is in the same league as top shop, Zara, etc. SH also hv Zara Kids, which u won't be keen. There is C&amp;A (Belgium's Giordano) which sells kids stuffs too. It's just a few steps away from H&amp;M at Huaihai Zhonglu. There is another large one at Superbrand Mall (Zhengda Mall) at Pudong.

If you really want to dig overruns, then try the famous Qipulu (http://www.7p.com.cn/cate/s9t0) where u might be able to find Gap, Esprit, Zara, some Korean/Jap labels I suppose.

There are of course many Cheena Ching Chong Chinese BB apparels everywhere in the local dept stores. I'm not sure about your taste lah!! Some Singapore moms dun mind turning their SG kids into Mandarin Babies...

There is a shop named Liying Fang in Chinese, They hv many chain outlets along Huaihai Road,

Incidentally, you might find dirt cheap kids stuffs at Carrefour, or visit Lotus super market (also at Superbrand Mall I told u) which has many kids' shops on the 4th floor

Of course, if u fancy Shanghai Tang Kidswear, there is one at Xintiandi lor...

Pooh Bear Comforter Set
-------------------------
Saw it selling in robinson sale. But i didnt check out the price.

I think kiddy palace also got sell..but i think is 100++..check it out..

sarahmay: the Samsonite in Macau is real. They hv a factory there. There is another one in Ningbo, where I've checked out. Also cheap.

Oh yes, there is this mama that wants to sell her PIS to me. But my hubby abit ‘kiasi’.. prefer to get a first hand lo.
So I am helping her to ‘promote’ her PIS here out of goodwill lo.

Anyway, this mama got it on the 20th Feb 08 and only use for a month+. It is as good as new lo and she never use the backpack before so the zips are still wrapped.
She got it at $688 and now willing to let go at $540 with the following freebies.

- Nuk latex vented teat (0-6months)
- 1 $10 voucher valid till 20 May 2008 (min purchase of $50)

If u all keen, u all can liaise directly with her for more details @ [email protected]

flos

hehe...i asked the right person..u're like a SH shopping directory!! Noted all your useful info... i'm really looking forward to my trip now.. i didnt realise it's Vesak Day holiday, is it public holiday for SH too?? And also Shanghai Tang products cheaper in SH? I can't afford to buy the apparel, haha...but wanna get the Gingerflower room spray as gifts for my friends...

Babytown
These people are nice...they used to have a shop in Toa Payoh, then closed down...and when they did, they had a massive sale for new and used items! We got a Britax booster seat for $12! Pity that was quite a while ago...so didn't plan for future

Sunrays: Sorry, it's not a PH in China
And alas, my hb just told me he'll be travelling with his boss, so I can't go on Vesak Day anymore. sianz...

Er, Shanghai Tang is EXPENSIVE man! I'm just suggesting to u lah. I love the Gingerflower room spray too!!!

l'l CY, the prob is even when he's not interested in going shopping with me to buy baby stuff, I'm not allowed to go shopping by myself. And even if I do buy something, he will still complain about the price. I'm so worried that I still would not have gotten anything by the time baby arrives.

Millie
Hi, Looking for you. Your jshopper item is here. Have sent you a PM but got no reply from you. How would you like to collect? The item costs is $15.57. Pls transfer to my posb savings acc 150280532.

Wingkei
Slowly hint to ur hubby that Great Singapore Sale is coming soon and it is the BEST time to grab the best deal then. Let this thot sink into his brain and mind wor. And when it comes, hopefully, he is well-recepted abt it

Btw, how u all convert ur bb chinese name to respective dialect huh? U all DIY mah?