(2008/09) Sep 2008

J&S: The dry shampoo I bot from Cheong Choon. I don't get any itcy feeling. Feels good. I didn't finish the whole bottle and gave it to another friend who was going to have her confinement. Yah, I intend to stay in the air-con room too. Hope the weather can be more cooling..

I bot two naternity dresses today from Perfect Mum at International Plaza
Do u moms feel hot lately? I am perspiring like nobody's biz! Can't wear pants anymore due to the sweltering heat. Was it 36 degrees today?

Must hv been the tonic soup I drank last nite. Whole body's on fire.

flos - recent weather is getting very warm. best to stay in aircon room.cant sleep at night without aircon sia.. electrical bill going increase le

yalor... everywhere i go pp is complaining abt the hot weather... got to on aircon everyday siah... Hubby also complain he sleep until whole body got sweat.

millie,
I went to OG Orchard (next to centrepoint)
The 6 or 8 mins Avent steriliser means everytime u need sterilised bottles, u need to wait 6 mins for bottles to be sterilised. 24IQ, no waiting needed.

flos,
i went out for lunch...came back with undergarment soaked in sweat..i was perspiring the whole time when i was eating my noodle soup..and guess what my house's aircon broke down!

J&S Mum
Thanks for the tip! Hope TMC will be as generous!

xuanting re: episiotomy
if u have epidural, won't feel it. also, the area is a bit numb if u've been pushing for a while so prob wont feel it.

I also cannot tahan the hot weather recently.

Was doing my ironing on sunday night and the sweat just keep dripping non-stop in between my boobs.. whahhaaaa... Until my t-shirt was soaked....

Confinement
I am leaving my hair long...i think tying up sticky smelly hair is cooler and more comfortable than hair around neckline...also face will be FAT after birth, so long hair more forgiving..had short hair last time...damn aunty leh!

thanks, ava. was seriously considering a drug-free delivery before but i think i'll just go with the flow now. if having the epidural means a lot less pain and anxiety, i'll be yelling for it i think.

j&smum, the dry shampoo that you used, is it alcohol-based? just dab on the scalp? i think that's better than the powdered type i saw my aunt use eons ago. the powdered ones will clog up the pores and lead to all sorts of hair and scalp apparently. v messy also.

Skinny_pig
"sweat dripping non-stop in between boobs" haha thats funny... hmm infact i was experiencing this last sat when i had dinner at the hawker... so stuffy n warm and i can feel drops of sweat running down the "drain"..keke... end up the centre part of my shirt is wet... so unsightly... luckily i stayed near enuff to rush home.

AVA
aiyo... i think my face is FAT enuff at 5 mths now... cannot imagine how fat my face will bcome at 9 mths...

ya agree that the weather very warm lately, don't even feel like stepping out of my office building for lunch. last nite after got back to my "sauna" home, i have to on the aircon in my study room and stay inside till bed time.

i'm also planning to keep my hair long cos can tie up. during confinement, those who using those TCM herbs to shower and washed their hair. do u all also wash your hair with the herbal water or use normal water to wash?

Fat face: Yes, totally agree. My face is getting chubbier and chubbier. Think I'll trim my hair short but not chin level. It's gonna turn me into an aunty in no time, like Ava said...

Sweat dripping non-stop in between boobs. Yes, my bra is soaked with my sweat yesterday and today. Been slurping up ice lemon tea and ribena.

Was wearing long pants yesterday and beads of perspiration was trickling down my legs, inside my pants! I was scratching my breasts discreetly cos it was really...hot!

Dunno if u go to Hawker Centres for lunch, but I feel sooooo hot there.

Been turning on the aircon daily.

Bacon & eggs,
Is the sale still on now ? I'm going to Robinsons Centrepoint 2nite....wa so many mummies going 2...

BTW, Avent IQ 24 steriliser oso needs 6 min to sterilise leh...see below internet description.

iQ24 Electronic Steam Steriliser
iQ Technology- Responding intelligently to meet your needs

Sterile contents day and night

Digital display keeps you informed

Remove items any time

Sterilises 6 bottles in only 6 minutes

Effective sterilisation

millie,
i think OG sale still on. I went there yesterday afternoon..they still stocking up bb items.

From what the sale person told me, IQ24 keeps the bottle sterilised at all time after the first 6 mins. U can check with the sales there again.

jessi,
i also kept my hair long, thinking tat i can bun it up and wont feel the heat. but end up, i felt more heat at nite when i slept at nite! and it took so long for my hair to dry, so this time i will cut my hair short and hopefully i can hv a cooling time...

bacon&egg,
i also can't live without shower and washing hair! hehe.. hair is must wash cos i got oily scalp. scared if very oily then will drop alot of hair, don't want to be balding after confinement. :p that's why asking if anyone knows that if want to wash hair, must wash with the herbal water or just normal water.

Jessi: Everything must wash with herbal water. The water used for the herbal sachets is boiled water. So the CL must prepare the bath water for us to bathe.

Hair
What kind of herbal water are we suppose to wash with? I assume that the CL would instruct hubby to get everything that is needed ya, so no need to prepare before hand....

On keeping the hair long, I don't know how people can walk around with their hair untied during this weather! I had long hair since primary school, and now its about the length of my buttocks. Usually have it up & away from the neck - think that is cooler than shoulder length hair brushing the nape area. Not intending to cut it for confinement.

Bigtoes: Buy the sachets from chinese medicinal halls. Tell them it's for confinement use and they'll know. Some things can get first, so the hubby won't be running around like a mad dog at that time.

flos, me too can't tahan hawker centres lately, esp in the afternoons. was at parkway on sun, intending to eat at the hawker, but really couldn't tahan the heat. was like stewing in an oven like that. in the end, headed into the aircon-ed eateries in parkway. i think it has to do with our escalating body temps too?

aloevera, actually i also scared of heat but my hair so difficult to grow till over shoulder length so can't bear to cut it short. hehehe..

mickey, so the hair also must use the herbal water to wash, means cannot use shampoo? then the whole body will have the "spa" smell already, cos all the lemongrass and ginger smell.. :p

Back from my DS, everything's fine but my placenta is on the low side but i can still continue with my weekly pilates class.

After DS, we headed off to Raffles City & bought the Avent steam steriliser set at $150 & some baby stuff at 20% off. The queue for the cashier is horrendous!

Then it's off for lunch at Shokudo.. heard some of you mentioning about this place.. the food is pretty good. Then, i bought a diaper bag at Kate Spade, so happy now.

SarahMay
The Bebepod is selling at $85 at Robinsons, this price is before the 20% off.

mei, glad to hear that everything's fine and that you can carry on with your pilates classes. was it crowded at shokudo?

MEDELA Pumps: Which model are you ladies getting? I just saw some over here in Macau...and I was surprised at the price cos I heard they can cost up to SG$700+. But here the cheapest electric model (one pump only) is like only SG$136. And the model with some special disc tt you can choose the speed and type of pump ( 2 choices) is only about SG$258. I forgot to jot down the models...but thought i would ask those of you buying or with Medela models to advise me on what models are available. The manual pump one is like about $70+ SG if I'm not wrong.

REUSEABLE DIAPERS: I know this was mentioned some time back...but was too lost to pay it much attention. Now seriously considering cloth diapering. Any one who is currently thinking of using cloth diapers? Any comments on these brands: Kushies, Bumwear and Drybees? Thinking of which to get. Also in terms of cost and user-friendliness... They have Kushies over here in macau, and the diaper cover cost abt SG$16. Is that cheap or ex?

BPA-Free bottles: Know this was mentioned before but can't find posts. What brands are good in SG and what is the price? Found a brand 'Bfree Plus', made in israel. Costs about SG$16 for a 160ml bottle. Anyone heard of this brand? www.baybfree.com

Bacon&Egg: What do you mean by herbal water?

Mei: Wow! The bebepod costs more than the bumbo!Congrats on the good news from the DS!

xuanting
Not much people at all as i went at around 2+pm.

SarahMay
i'll be using cloth diapers for my baby at home. Will use the traditional way, just normal cloth nappy, nappy liner & those diaper pants from the dept store. Not going to buy the fancy ones as i'll use disposables when we go out.

BPA-free Info: Dunno why the website I got from the catalogue of the brand Bfree Plus doesn't work. Anyway, here are some links fo rthose of you thinking of buying BPA-free products. The research findings are very convincing for me to invest in good BPA-free products.

http://www.bisphenolafree.org/

Hi hi, I just came back from a client lunch (though I am suppose to be on MC)..

Flos, I wan to on the air con too , so hot at night but I can't sleep in aircon room bec of my cough and running nose... every morning wake up from a pool of perspiration..

Bigtoes,
we can bath with water that is with lemongrass.. one week later can wash hair liao.. if you strictly follow, think will go crazy.. nowadays CL is also quite liberal. they will tell you this this this but choice is yours whether to follow or not.. but i believe in drinking red dates water instead of plain water and when you drink, you should be seated and not standing up..if wan to sleep in aircon room during confinement, must wear long pants and socks to prevent wind to go into our body and causing aching bec after birth our bones are drained fr calcium and can be brittle and allowing winds to enter into the body, the bones will have wind filling up the "holes" of the bones.. dun noe if i confuse anyone here or not.. dun noe how to best explain..

SarahMay... so far spore onli had Bfree and Medela milk bottles tat are BPA free... the rest like AVENT, Dr.Brown, Nuk, Pigeon etc all contains BPA

Those TCM sachets contain lemongrass? Then I suppose it's nice lah...I thought it smells like those foot massage TCM.

I hv long hair and must tie/bun up. Will never cut it short. Over my dead body...

LC: I think your wind sipping in the porous bones is very valid.

My tummy has been catching a lot of aircon chills lately cos my top would automatically roll up as I toss around the bed. I'm really worried my lil bb wld catch a chill.

LEG CRAMPS: Any one of u kenna these yet? I kenna 3 times during my 2nd trimester.

It doesn't happen when I apply my Clarins leg massage lotion before I sleep.

Hi, Flos

I have no leg cramps but sharp pain at the hip bones..and now with cough, the pain is sharper.. I asked my gynae, and he said bec nerves are pressed so like that...

I am using clarins energising emulsion for tired legs.. u?

LC
i know what you mean.. in hokkien they have this term called 'jip hong' (translates to wind entering). There is no scientific proof to back this but i chose to believe, just got to suffer for a month.. lol. At least now we get to bathe with herbal water, last time they really refrain from showering totally.. yucks.

Flos
Me.. i get cramps occasionally.. but even after the cramps are gone, i can feel the 'knot' there for the entire day, so it's kind of uncomfy.

Hi Sarah
For Medela, i think the more 'well-known' is the PIS Advanced. I heard there is a 2008 version wor. Dunno zun or not.

I am oso thinking of getting BUMWEAR but my friend told me baby clothes better dun throw into washing machine cos got adult washing powder and detergent etc. I was abit turn-off cos i am not keen to wash manually if doing reusable diaper leh :S Any mamas can advice? Do u all stay clear from the washer for the bb clothes?

Hi LC
Thanks for the bathing tips. So in summary, we can blow aircon but cannot blow fan? As for bathing, no soap is allowed rite?

Goldfish

Mei has replied you... can use just the water need to be the herbal water..

And one more thing is you can use dettol water to place below the stitched area below and gently "soak" the wound for awhile,apparently it heals faster..

goldfish, i guess you can use the washer to wash your baby clothes and cloth diapers, but use baby detergent instead.

LC: same same! But the Clarins Tired Legs lotion smell is a bit too minty. u find it so?

Mei: My mom says I show cut down on salt intake. Do u take a lot of salty stuffs?

GREAT SINGAPORE SALE: 23rd May 2008 to
20th Jul 2008

LC: "And one more thing is you can use dettol water to place below the stitched area below and gently "soak" the wound for awhile,apparently it heals faster.."

What is this dettol water to soak over your stitched area? Will there be a burning sensation?!! Ouch...

LC (faintz) and mickey (bbmouse) - okie, thanks! Have taken note already on what to do during confinement. My hubby is quite relaxed, if i leave everything to him, he will definitely run around like a headless chicken during my confinement!

On cramps during sleeping - I didn't get any yet & not bothered about creams (thought its towards the end of 3rd trimester?), but I read that drinking more water helps to prevent cramps.

flos,
my top also sometimes will get rolled up while sleeping, so usually i will sleep with a towel around my tummy, like covering with a blanket but it's just at the tummy area.

i get more arm and hand cramp rather than leg cramp. especially if i sleep on my side for long time.