(2008/09) Sep 2008

LC- u mean if have flu cant drink milk. hmz.. lucky yest nite i did not drink my milk. calcuim ok la i been taking cheese so intake of that is still ok

my goodness... LC... so is it a boy or girl?
How come need another doc to confirm? cant u just go for another scan? ASk yr doc to label the parts esp the part where they think is the penis

yup, my GP advises me to avoid juices and milk for the time being.. I am standing at 1.72m.. I have acute pain at hip and right thigh and it is not backache, it is sharp pain.. gynae said it is a sign of calcuim drainage..

LC- u are really tall sia.. me today keep feeling my right belly there pain. duno isnt my baby keep kicking me. can feel the pain sia

Mrs. Yap

It is a boy, not a girl.. we are shocked.. we have even gotten an english name for baby girl, but now need to find a boy name.. hahaha.. 20th week is the detailed scan ma.. so there is a nurse (or a doc??) who did the scan and when she asked whether we know the gender, both of us said "yes, gynae told us it is a girl and we also saw the scan on the 16th weeks that it is a girl".. so she got a bit confused with what she saw and what we said so she scanned many many times and we saw the birdie pointed out on the screen..She rushed out to get a doc to come in to confirm.. think our reaction and response shocked her.. hahaha

wow... hmm... xuanmummy, can u change LC's baby gender to Boy... I cannot imagine the no of girls so few liao and now it reduces... hahaha
Anyway, i think as long as baby is healthy, it doesnt really matters. Your princess has turned into a Prince. I hope u havent done any girly shopping yet.

Bigtoes: Your nephew is super cute!!!!

Ava: Twin princesses?!!! Wow! Congrats! So exciting!

LC: Congrats on the boy too! Though it must have been quite a shock! I hope mine will still stay a boy after the DS next Thurs.

L'l Cy: Thanks for reply! I might have missed ur post.

Flos: I got the Anmum powder packs as free samples from gynae. What flavour did you get? The vanilla and choc ones are available in larger tins. I drink the vanilla one. Only the Anmum pre-mixed milk in packet has honey flavour. It is 3 packs for $4.15. I personally prefer Anmum to Enfamama cos find the latter a bit oily for some strange reason.

Thanks, Mr. Yap..

We haven buy anything yet but we looking at alot of girlish stuff when we go shopping and now need to change the colour to blue.. my colleagues all say it is baby girl before the scan and even taxi drivers also say it is baby girl.. so in a way, mind already conditioned to baby girl..Afterall, the heart beat rate, the level of MS, pointed or round tummy, mummy losing look or not, does not apply to me on whether I am expecting a gir or boy.. hahaha...

Hi, Koras
Ya, both myself and hubby are the tall and big sized ones.. that is y gynae advised me to take in more clacium..u feel pain? sharp pain or just a mild one? baby movement should not cause pain.. it should be feeling like pop corn popping when baby kick or punch..u can put your palm on the right side below the belly button while talking to the baby, u will feel the "pop corn"... I also can feel it when I am near the stove, must be the heat from the fire.. hahahaha

Mei: Where do you get Bebepod from? It does look more thigh-friendly than Bumbo....also a newer design right?

LC & Koras: Hope you two get well soon!

LC: I'm utterly shocked by your new discovery! Did u actually get a pic of that 16 week scan? Care to share with us to see what went wrong?

I even went back to look at my bb's scan at 18 week to see if the birdie really looks like a birdie!!

Take care! You were sick the same week as I. I've recovered. You need to take lots of apples and honey like I did
I also mixed some apple cider with my honey. I was downing fluids like crazy cos I was afraid the virus might pass to my bb.

SarahMay: Yes, it's the one with honey flavour! I dun find Enfamama oily, just a bit sick of the taste now...I've 1/3 tin left. Might wanna change to other flavours...

koras - bubbling? that should be the feeling too...
my baby must be feeling drowsy after I take the medicine...

Thanks, SarahMay.. i want to get well soon too.. feel so sianz with cough and running nose..

LC- i only take medi at night during the day i tend to drink more water. i guess mayb due to last night i didnot sleep well that why today having flu. Hope we both recovered soon

Bigtoes
Yup, I prefer the Bebepod to the Bumbo, in terms of the colours & finish.. plus the thigh issue.. lol.

SarahMay
Bebepod is sold in most major dept stores like Robinsons, Isetan, baby shops like The First Few Years, Mothers Work, etc.

LC - i tot 3lines = gal, 1ball+1stick = boy?! tats wat the sonographer told me when i went for scan.. but congrats on ur boy!

anw, i juz puked out bits of my lunch 10min ago.. n my MIL kept asking me "eat ur dinner la!" aiyoh sometimes i really feel like telling her if she knows how xingku it is to swallow food aft puke anot.. but anw, hub juz came back so i got him to handle her haha..

i having flu today too.. last nite din hv a good sleep n the power supply tripped in my blk.. i literally in suana for 15min..

I bought the pigeon sterilizer from taka.. was having promotion, $149 for sterilizer and a few other items. Saw that its selling for around $88 at KKH.

Before getting pregnant, I was suffering from iliosacritus which basically means that something is pressing against my nerves causing sharp pain in my butt and thigh (similar to slipped disc).. now that I'm pregnant, the pain is getting worse.. anyone have the same problem?

cloud
I used to have problems with pain in my sacroiliac joint...dunno if exactly the same condition as yours...I saw an osteopath and a chinese sinseh (massage type)...and figured out my pain is worse when sitting for too long and is caused by tightness in one set of muscles, so now when I get pain, I do some specific stretches...should go find out if you have similar solution by speaking to your health practitioner - are u seeing anyone?

Ava, my pain comes when I sit and lie too long.. i've been seeing a physiotherapist at Square 2, been with him since he was working at TTSH.

Mei : How much is Bebepod?

LC: Have you tried Manuka Honey of at least UMF 16+? I bought like 3 bottles that time I was coughing for ages. I took it and I think it helped me recover. Now my immunity is also better. You can try it and see if it works for you.

Cloud: Ouch! Sounds painful this iliosacritus. Can you do any physio or take anything to reduce the pain?

Janf: Oh dear. Hope your MS goes away soon. Btw, the nurses at my gynae's clinic tell me not to eat sng muis and preserved stuff if I have MS. The acidity of those things will aggravate MS. They rec hard candy instead. Have you tried lemongrass ginger tea or just ginger tea to help curb MS? Hope you catch some decent sleep tonite!

SarahMay.. now that i have been diagnosed with low placenta, i'm a bit wary of going for phyhsio now. i bought the osim uvibe to provide some pain relief.

LC, yupz.. went for my detailed scan last Tues.. gyne then told me that I have low placenta. The scan sort of failed because baby in the wrong position so I'm going for another scan tomorrow.

Hi, Flos

I did not have the photo for 16th weeks but we saw from the screen where the Gynae pointed out it is a baby girl so we both thought it is baby princess.. then come the 20th week scan, it shows birdie..

LC: Congrats on your prince!! Must be so shocked right? keke... Take care too!

Bigtoes: your nephew is super cute! Handsome boy!

My sunburnt is making me hot all over... Haiz... The importance of sunblock!

I am planning to go Robinson centerpoint tmr cos there is a sale there. Hopefully have good deal!

sarahmay, thanks for the link to the bumbo seat. it looks like a potty seat!

lc, thank goodness you haven't bought any girlie things yet!

bigtoes,
your nephew is so chubby and looks so happy. cute!

cloud,
oh dear. i think if you can, avoid standing or walking. take care ya?

LC,
wow! you're really tall. i know it can be disappointing if you've been expecting a girl. but a boy will be just as fun. so, congrats on having a boy!

ava,
congrats on your twin girls!

sarahmay,
from what i know, the bumbo seat does not come in sizes. however, i bought it in 2005 so perhaps after that, there were sizes. my boy didn't fancy staying in it and my girl stayed in there for slightly longer. but her thighs got a bit juicy so... she stayed in there for not too long also. i guess if you have the tray, you can prevent your bb from climbing out so easily but if bb is bent on getting out, he/she will just lose temper and yell to be brought out. like l'lcy said, if you don't mind, renting is actually a good alternative. the bumbo seat is shaped to suit bb's bottom so it does help in promoting good posture in the beginning. i realised that my kids were able to sit upright quite soon by themselves. but then again, so was l'lcy's son and she didn't use the bumbo seat. hehehe.

today something most unfortunate happened... got an urgent call from my mum and said that my dad suffered a mild stroke. he is in hospital now (TTSH - can't stand the place. will get him out of there) and though needs to be warded in, has not got a bed yet. so he, with a lot of others, are sleeping on makeshift beds, cramped in some waiting area... i feel so horrible. my mum said his mouth went all droppy and saliva dripped from his mouth yet he didn't realise it... i hope this is really mild and is a wake up call for us. let's hope he can be discharged too.

Alabone: Oh dear...so sorry to hear about your dad. Hugs. Pray he gets well soon! Any updates about his condition yet? TTSH is really quite a mad house... can't believe that they were short of beds!

Cloud: So fast can diagnose low placenta? Thought it is the norm for placenta to be more low lying and for it to migrate further up during later part of 2nd trimester? Anyway, you MUST be careful and take care of yourself. The OSIM Uvibe is ok to be used for low placenta condition? Also, if you tell your physiotherapist of your condition, I'm sure he can advise you on alternative exercises too. Unless he has already said no exercises.No harm checking with him.

LC: What UMF is your honey? I don't think it is too late...I took it like 3 wks into my horrid cough. Maybe can try apple cider too....though regular and manuka honey works differently so not sure if can combine apple cider with manuka. Best is to take manuka neat and then drink warm water few minutes after. Try to take the honey 30 mins before meals, and not to take after 6 pm...cos according to TCM, it is cooling so not too good for us preggies.

What kind of cough is yours - dry? wet with phlegm? colour of phlegm? If dry cough and sticky yellow/green phlegm, it is heaty cough. You can take barley to help. Also, there is a Chinese herbal prescription you can get tt has no side effects - Chuan Bei, Ju Bing (dried persimmon) and Bai He ( lily bulbs) - from TCM hall. Can double boil and drink. It helps with the cough.

If whitish phlegm, yours is a 'cold' cough. So take care not to take 'cooling' stuff like barley.

Either case, drink LOTS and LOTS of warm water. Really helps!

BUMBO vs BEBEPOD

Alabone: Thanks for your input!

Xuanting: Yeah...both seats kinda look like potty seats. Haha.

--------

Flos: Tried the Anmum Honey milk yet? Like it? I liked it but found it expires really quickly and too pricey in the end as compared to powdered. But real convenient snack to take along with you!

<font color="119911">alabone (alabone) - Our well wishes go out to your dad. Hope this is nothing serioud &amp; he recovers completely soon! Yes, TTSH is really a mad house with walk ins &amp; alot of A&amp;E cases. My sister used to work there (now moved to SGH) &amp; complains that she gets alot of oncalls for A&amp;E cases.

Enfamama - I almost finished 1 tin within the 1st trimester (choc flavored) &amp; was 1/2 way thru the vanilla one, but then kinda lost interest! Reverting back to my usual HL milk now.

cloud (lovelycloud) - if u have a low placenta, be careful not to overexert yourself or do too much exercise ya. But in most cases, the placenta will gravitate upwards towards the right position, so don't worry.</font>

Alabone...
Wish your father a speedy recovery

Bigtoes...
it seems that many of us started Anmum with great enthu... as the weeks goes by, we lose interest in it... haha... I also back to drink fresh milk now

BTW ladies, when u all went for your gynae appt on weekdays, do u all apply for Annual leave or do u apply for Medical Leave? I used to take AL for gynae appts but my colleague ask me how come its not under MC... So i also confused... anyone can advise?

Mrs yap ,
Medical appt can be under MC .. but some companies have max no of MC u can claim ... so some com have medical appt leave i think ,, ask HR lor ...
My visits usually in between classes where i have longer break and my gynae understand i have lass later .. so will be fast ... so i dun take leave for my first one n this micky mouse for gynae visit.

Mrs Yap (oneboyonegirl) - yah, Enfamama is too troublesome to stir in the water &amp; not as nice tasting as HL!

On gyne appnts - Quite a waste to use up ur annual leave no? We have flexi hours, so I usually just book a 4 or 5pm slot, then head off home after that. Hubby can leave office after 3pm without needing to take leave/MC as well, so he gets to accompany me to check ups. I am lucky that my boss is very understanding &amp; we can work from home/remote on days where there are no appointments/meetings, so on a weekly basis I already do that about once a week, &amp; will be more often towards the end of 3rd trimester.

Ava, you're expecting twin girls?!
So exciting and fun!
Girls are all sugar and spice!

LC, so, has it been cfmed if yours will be a prince or princess. When I had my twins, during the detailed scan, it was B/G combi, but when I was warded in the hospital for the last 10 weeks before I delivered, the sonographer dropped a bomb on me by informing me that she saw 2 birdies! Thank GOD (cos' everything was already prepared in blue/pink at home), in the end, it was a B/G combi delivered. But like what the mummies said, regardless boy or girl, so long as healthy is most impt.

Mummies, we all have to take good care of ourselves and our kids. There are 2 tots in my Jan thread who have been hospitalised, with one is the high-dependency unit. And another just recovered from HFMD and now her mummy, who's also pregnant along with me, is diagnosed with HFMD too. Sigh....

<font color="0000ff">wah... 1 day nvr log in n so many posts... went for my DS ytd.. everything ok... sonographer cfm 99% is mickey le.. haha.. now i can safely continue with my shopping (tho i bot plenty of blue items le). thankfully my DS was quite fast coz bb Max was cooperative

Alabone
i hope ur dad is all rite. yeap.. i heard abt the shortage of beds at TTSH.. coz hb's grandma was oso admitted some time last wk.. n it took a WHOLE day for them to get a bed for her.. wonder how come it's so packed...

LC
wah... ur princess became a prince??? but nevertheless, as long as bb is healthy.. i think that's all we ask for

Robinsons sale
anyone going to the sale?? muz update us k.. on watever good buys there are...

SarahMay, don't know leh.. when I went for scan, the gynae told me that i have low placenta. she said that for 90% of women it will move up.. for the remaining 10%, need to have c-section.. which i really, really do not want.. i use the uvibe on my back and the soles of my feet.

Bigtoes, thanks for the encouragement, i really hope my placenta moves.. i'm normally quite an active person so its quite 'sian' to sit around and do nothing.

Mrs Yap, i work as a teacher so i go for my gynae appointments after school, there was once that i went in the morning and my principal asked me to get an mc.

anyone here planning to take part in standard chartered run this december? i'm planning to take part in the 10km run.

hi, SarahMay

mine is UMF20..I dun know wat cough I am having cos phelgm is brown instead of yellowish, whitish or greenish..I din noe manuka honey is cooling.. will take note not to take after 6pm. and oh yes, I am drowning myself with lots of warm water.. thanks for the receipt from TCM, will go try..

Hi, Mrs. Yap
Gynae will give MC if you go for check, usually they will ask if you need it or not. and like wat Quiling said every company should have a limit of no. of days for MC, some 21 days, some30days and some 60days, varies from companies to companies.. think if the check with Gynae is not alot, you can ask for MC instead of Annual leave.. keep your annual leave for follow-up after baby arrives..

Thanks, Storeberry for the wishes... hope all is well with you and little storeberry

Abalone/Xuanting, actually we dun intend to buy clothes (maybe a set or 2 only) cos my SIL and colleagues have bags of girl girl clothes for me.. but now, need to buy for little prince liao.. it is surprise altogether but nevertheless so long baby is healthy, boy or girl is fine

Ladies, do your EDD moves? which EDD should we follow? my EDD is first known to be 11 sept, thenlast scan (20th week), it is moved to 6 Sept.. so which to follow and do I need to inform my confinement lady and massage lady of the new EDD?

mommies,
i finally had my DS yesterday at week 21. I am expecting a mickey
we were v happy that bb is doing well.

For those MTBs shopping for bb stuff, we bought a avent steriliser IQ24 (standby 24 hours, 6 mins) at $160 (20% disc) at OG bb fair. Usual price is $200. No disc for the 6 &amp; 8 mins steriliser..gg at $171. Robinson selling at $151 for members.

Also bought a stroller P3 piko peg peggo (spelling) at 20% disc at BB hypermart. Other places we checked, best disc was 10%

Can help me update my details?
BB: boy
Gynea: Prof PC Wong
Hospital: NUH
Mommy's nick: Bacon&amp;egg

morn ladies ,
Cloud , your gynae should advise u on the low placenta .. no worries .. sometimes it will move up .. cos i have low placenta in first preg too .. but somehow it moved upwards in thried trimester .. and have a natural delivery .. dun worry too much .. unless it is causing u too much discomfort ...
LC .. boy boy .... welcome and join us for the mickey mouse club .. haha ...

Cloud,
U are planning for SCM in dec?? I oso wondering whether shld i go or not leh!!! I ji-tao 5 months bo run liao. I feel so UNEASE!!!

Bt i heard not advisable to do running rite? Wait ZHI GONG XIA CHUI :S

Alabone: So sorry to hear about your dad's health condition. Hope all's well soon. Take care!

SarahMay: I tried the Honey flavoured Anmum mini-packs. It's too sweet for me;(

LC: Nevermind, was just being curious how it could turn out that way

Mrs Yap: You should get an MC from your gynae. I always get it even if my appt is in the afternoon. If you still need to work, then a medical chit will suffice.

However, I did consume some of my annual leave in my first three mths cos I didn't want to alert my boss that I was pregnant. The MC will show my gynae's clinic name.

mei,
i checked with the sale person..she said a avent sterilizer is able to accommodate a medela pump..

Is the mattel sale still on? Where about?

Hi Bacon&amp; egg: So it means that Robinson is cheaper then? Don't know if I should buy the streiliser now ... kekee... And congrats on your boy! I might go Robinson later to look see look see...

LC,
Maybe try drinking birdnest ? You coming to 5th month liow ? Maybe could try it out, suppose to 'cure' cough..

J&amp;SMum
My colleague also kena HFMD last 2 weeks, my gynea also give me MC to avoid going to office..sigh..
now my office also case - son got chicken pox and me havent got chicken pox before yet..

Alabone,
Sorry to hear abt it. Take care !

Bumbo Seat
-----------
Me got bought one for my girl..she only sit on it when 4mth like tat..but when 5 or 6mth, her legs too fat, cant squeeze in. heehee
The seat is ok, but jus worry though it say it protect the back but a 3/4mth bb normally their back still developing, so not sure good a not to strain them by making them sit so early.
But i think can try lor..i used it then resell it still worth lar haha

Bacon &amp; Egg,

You also delivering @ NUH??? Me too, my gynae is Prof Yong EL...
Hmmm, wonder if we have met each other before during our check ups...

Did you sign up for the NUH pre-natal class that started last sat @ 19/04?