(2008/09) Sep 2008

evening mumstobe

flos..
heee...maybe i should make some alternative career plan...hmmmm...those fengshui sinseh charge for naming children, i man do likewise for Christian mummies...kkekekekeke

hi janf
hihihi....another girl?? congrats!!!!!shopping like crazy oredi?

bb room
was initially intending to put my first born in the guest room. then dunno what happ he doesnt sleep well there (he was kinda colicky and cranky as a newborn). realised he sleeps best
in the study. so he has been in the study ever since. we;ve moved out our tables and stuff, but the book shelves builtin..wtd.,..

mummies of boys..
well, i dun think it makes a difference whether it's 'boy' decor or 'girl' decor right at the beginning. it;s more for us lah. as your bb gets older, think they will start developing their interst.

erhm...so far, boys i know start liking cars (and anything with wheels)and aeroplanes...usually seen by the time they turn one?transformers...dun think they find it fascinating yet...

cloud, ya the size S for the tops are quite loose for me. i think if you are wearing M normally then the S should be able to fit you. but the maternity dresses that i got from them, the size S fit me well. i think maybe cos i got bigger bottoms. :p

Cloud & Jessi: I also ordered size S maternity tops & Jeans from Old Navy but too big for me...
I usually wear size XS or S. But I ordered from Target size S and it was quite alright for me, I guess Old Navy sizing is big.

Cloud: The nurse didn't asked you to go & walk walk & come back & do the scan again? They just asked you to go another day?

Morning mummies ,
Guess i am the earliest today .. In school working already .. keke .. been busy for the whole week for the insurance and accident thing .. and will be over soon .. Been reading the archives dedicately but have no time to comment.
Hmm , How is everyone doing ? great ? Will be going fro detail scan next week and will update again ya ..
Flos , ur hubby still in shanghai ?

storeberry, is Target able to ship internationally or you have to go thru vpost?

preggie, cafe press is able to ship direct to Singapore. so you can just order from the website and arrange to ship to you.

Xuanting
That gal is my 5 years old niece. I ‘smuggled’ her into my house and she stayed overnite wif me then. Yes.. she loves my bears n remember all their names! For a moment, I thot optimus and bumble bee is some BEE cartoon character.

I watched the CH8 TV programme on room revamp last nite wif my niece. Both of us are so thrilled over the BELLE princess concept!!!

koras (koras) - think ur baby weight is just about nice
Mine was 312g on Monday (almost 20 weeks). My weight gain is consistent - from preggers till now, 4kg with no MS.

On baby's room - I took some photos of the new blinds last nite (nothing much else that is new yet) - will post them up tomorrow

good morning all mummies/to-be,

i'm going for my DS later noon, sooooooooooo excited!!!!!!! pls pray for me ok!!

Hi janf,
welcome on board! exited abt your whole preg? is this your first preg?

Wahs seems that u mummies baby are heavy. Mine was 268g 14.4cm (19wks). Is my baby too light?

Yesterday went to my gynae to pass him the report, weight myself there too. Gain 1.5kg within a month. Since preg till now i have gain 3kgs (vomitted abt thrice)

I hope to find out my baby's weight too when I go for my DS next tueday, which by then he would be 20 weeks 6 days old. So far, my gynae didnt tell me the baby's weight, but I know from the last scan that my baby is too big to fit into one frame of the screen which my gynae is using!

Weight gain: I've put on 5kg plus, hee, down from the 9kg 2 weeks back after cutting out the empty calories food I was bingeing on. ;) I eat like nobody's business ... only vomited 5 times in 1st trimester.

wah.. Jasmine and Shazz.. u all good leh.. vomited how many times can count one.. mine is uncountable... i think i puke almost after every meal... too scary..

i am planning to wallpaper my bb's room. I like motifs of bears and cows..so will go for that

i find it hard to find nice looking maternity bottoms.. tops are easier.. any good suggestions? i already have a demin skirt, a black capri pants, white work pants.

hi Janf..
welcome. congrats on yr minnie... yr nick looks so familiar... are u using the same nick for singaporebrides?

goldfish
your niece is so cute. Ya yday's Princess Belle concept is indeed v nice esp when they DIY the mirror with pink rose bubs. But i think that little girl will outgrow that kind of room soon...

Shazz
wow.. how did u managed to lose 4kg in 2 weeks..really superb in dieting... i doubt i am able to do that in such short period

lovelycloud
take care during yr yoga lesson
make sure dun overexert since u got low lying placenta

koras
thanks... still able to book mrs wong'sbb class ah? i thot shd be all grabbed by now... thanks thanks...

lilbouymum: I can imagine most educators are effectively bilingual. I know many journalists and newsreaders like that too

Qiuling: yep, he is in SH. Seems that it'll take a while before his employer can get him transferred. If not successful, I might just hv to spend this pregnancy alone in SG!!

bacon&eggs: i get all my bottoms from Le BloomingChic at Delfi Orchard. I find Thyme cutting unsuitable. Topshop, DorothyPerkins, Zara use pretty thick materials.

Shazz: Too big to fit in? "my baby is too big to fit into one frame of the screen which my gynae is using!" This is really funny!!! hahah!

Hey my DS scan is end of my week 21, my appts all screwed up, cos I started my consultations since week 5, now my routined is a bit odd. Do u think it's too late to do DS at the end of week 21, almost week 22 already?!

Strange cycles...

Flos: You are brave. Spending this pregnancy alone in SG! Not asking him to apply for leave to be back for the delivery at least? I've already asked my hubby to pls at least take 2 weeks then....hehe. Abt the DS, mine will also be around the end of wk 21. My gynae says tt if there is no intention of abortion even if there is abnormality spotted, it isn't too late. But dun worry...I'm sure all will be fine with your bb!

Shazz: Wah can lose 4 kg one ah! Amazing! Hehe....what kind of empty calories you cut back on? You sure had nothing to do with that looooong walk u did w ur hubby? Hehe.

Welcome janf & cloud!

Wow! Looks like many more minnies appearing already!

How is everyone's name hunt been going along?

bacon&egg (baconegg) : try Marton Bell at Vivo City, opposite Burger King. I got 3 nice bottoms from there, dun even look like maternity bottoms! Price is about $53 per bottom.

Mrs Yap (oneboyonegirl): I didn't really diet, just cut out my cakes, soft drinks, potatoe chips! hehe, that's alot of junk as you can see. I was gobbling down cakes after cakes, and it's whole cakes when I gained 5kg within a week! haha

Flos (flos) : hee, you know how it's like when we first went for our gynae checkup and our fetus was only the size of a pea? Then it grew into the size of a prune, plum, grapefruit and now he's about 6.5 inches long if I'm not wrong. That's why he can't fit into one frame of the screen anymore. My gynae had to take different shots, eg, his hands in one frame, his legs and genital area in one frame, his head etc. hehe ... I'm just so amazed by God's creation! Jeez ... how He made every part work together and how the little one can produce his own hormones, can swallow, can kick etc .... awwwww

<font color="119911">shazz (shazzerlyn) - wow, u ate WHOLE cakes! hehe...

bacon&amp;egg (baconegg)- i am stopping myself from getting seperates now. You are right - alot of nice tops, but looks kinda weird with bottoms, esp since i am not a pants person, and tops with skirts look abit poofy. Am buying mainly baby doll dresses now, but not from maternity shops cos these are mainly ugly &amp; more expensive.

Jasmine (piggy_jas) - don't fret over the baby's weight...not unless the gyne tells u to eat more. The weights are all just estimates based on a couple of measurements (abdominal circumference, head size etc)...not very accurate.</font>

Bigtoes
Thanks wor. At first when i knew the weight i tot hmmm quite heavy but after seeing mummies post their baby's weight i was like.. alamak so small. haha.. But well,my hb say it doesnt matter healthy can le. =)

Shazz , marton bell have kids clothes too .. material is not bad .. keke.
Flos , hmm ... I would iek to share that my first preg was quite alone too ... My hubby only came back thrice .. that is once in 3rd month , once in 6th month and the last time is when i delivered .. This is my 2nd bb and because of the last experience .. i feedback to him that i cannot handle one young infant 10mths old and pregnancy .. so he makes a trip back every month for about 3-5 days wch time jsut to see our zachary and catch some time with him... that is y i will definitely take No pay leave next year to leave for Shanghai cos everytime I see my son missing his daddy so much .. anyway everything have to wait till this little one in my stomach is delivered .. cos i dun dare to deliver in Shanghai .. somemore , i have work already in singapore and eligible maternity leave .. so stay and take first ..

Bigtoes (limay) : yah lor, so terrible! It started after Sunday Plus featured the Top 50 cakes in Singapore, and then yours truly went on to gobble down 2 whole Bengawan Solo Pandan Cake and a chocolate cake from Awfully Choc! *guilty look*

Qiuling (chewy_ring) : You're right! They have children clothes too. I think their material is pretty good. I got a pair of white pants and it's the first time I find white pants that doesn't show your skin!

Hi Cloud, I also just sign up the parental class at KKH, class starting next month. choose the date 24/05, but the in-charge say if not enough ppl, then will have to change the date.

xuanting -my doc my the kidney center part a bit hard but around 90% will go off eventually. If not have to operation

Mrs Yap - ya when i go and book still have slot. only for the sat slot is already full le in June.

Yest spend 5hrs in tmc sia. morning 10+ appt with gynae. then arrange to go 4th floor to do the detailed scan. The Nurse say better to go sign up for the FBI plan 1st more worth it, so me and my HB went down. After that go up again already 11+ after registered go inside the nurse say go back there around 1+. end up go down wait me and my hubby already tired sia. Around 12+ went up again to wait who know wait till around 1.40pm then its mine turn. After get the Report go down sign up for the class b4 finding my gynae again. BY the time everytime done its already 2+.

koras - that is long! Can I just check..how much is the FBI plan? Which week are you in? I'm going to be almost 21 weeks when I go for detailed scan....do u know if membership will cost more? I hope my DS next month won't take this long! Also, you mean your bb's kidney or yours? Dun worry ok...i'm sure everything will be well.

JjParents: Thanks for the info!

Qiuling: I think your sacrifice will definitely be worth it...cos the dad needs to bond with your kids too!

Shazz: Whole cakes! But still...jsut cutting down can lose so much weight! Amazing lor...hehe.

Jasmine: Bigtoes is right. Dun fret abt bb's weight. As long as gynae says bb is doing fine, bb is doing fine! :)

<font color="119911">koras (koras) - my DS was quite okie. Appnt at 4pm, got there at 4+, went to sign up for the pre-natal classes &amp; collect the FBI card freebies, saw TC Chang for my DS at 4.45pm, and my gyne by 5.45pm. All done by 6pm. I usually just book the 5pm slots for normal appnt, then leave my office at 5pm...at most have to wait till 5.45pm cos the clinic closes by 6pm - not too bad cos WK Tan is one of busiest gyne there

SarahMay - FBI cost is about $190+. We signed up mainly for the $100 off the room &amp; the discount off CordLife. Only makes sense if you are going with CordLife &amp; not StemCord.</font>

Ladies... will eating papaya cause bb to have jaundice next time?
I have been eating papaya daily cos got constipation... even after eating constipation quite jialat also... not only that, i eat dragonfruit at night... usually will hv not prob considering the amount of fibre i eat... eversince preggy its not so anymore

Mommies, BabyGap has 50% for the second pc of bb clothing. And if you are OCBC cardholder, you get additional 10-20% discount. I got two pcs of bb clothings at $25

Mandy
The one I am attending are on Tuesdays.

Mrs Yap
I personally feel jaundice has nothing to do with our diet, although I know a lot of people say we shouldn't take too much orange/yellow fruits &amp; veges. But if you're really afraid, maybe you can take prunes, they help in constipation too. I believe just eat everything in moderation &amp; we'll be fine.

Here's some info on jaundice..

Jaundice

Jaundice in infants occurs when a baby can’t get rid of bilirubin, which is the by-product of the extra red-blood cells that the baby needs while in the mother’s womb. Bilirubin is normally excreted in the stool during the first week of life.

Early and frequent feedings will help the baby get rid of this excess bilirubin. Colostrum (the first milk that a newborn gets from mom) has a laxative effect on the newborn, and will help to eliminate bilirubin by flushing out the baby’s digestive system.

Jaundice can by diagnosed with a blood test that measures the bilirubin levels.

How to recognize jaundice:
* The baby’s skin and whites of his/her eyes will look yellow
* The baby will be sleepy and difficult to wake

How to prevent jaundice:
* Breastfeed as soon as possible after giving birth
* Breastfeed frequently. Aim for 10 to 12 feedings a day
* Do not use supplements; your baby does not need water or formula

How to treat jaundice:
* When blood bilirubin levels rise to above 20 milligrams (as indicated by a blood test), treatment may be needed
* Babies can be treated with special lights that will break down the bilirubin that is stored in that skin
* Breastfeeding should continue during treatment

Your milk is perfect for your baby, as long as your baby is healthy. Jaundice lasts for a short time and is usually harmless. Breast milk is valuable to your baby and you should continue to breastfeed under the care of your baby’s health care provider.

mrs yap, dragonfruit is good for us..my TCM told me last time. Maybe u can also try prunes, plums and kiwi..they can help with constipation.

koras...
really?? I think i better stick to dragonfruit only... hai.........
been eating papaya for 2 weeks liao.. hopefully will not affect baby...jialat
i dun really take those yellow noodle or carrots though.

mrs yap - u still can take but not that often ba. now i drink soya bean milk and sometime after drinking i will go to the toilet.

Eu Yan Sang is having a 20% discount off their bottled concentrated bird's nest, those who take can buy. I bought 3 bottles.

bacon&amp;egg (baconegg) - ME! I am also in Mrs Wong's class, starting on Sat 14th June. Is yours at 4.30pm?

hi koras n bigtoes,
mine is on sat, 2-4pm
maybe i can see u bigtoes at the class entrance..hee

btw, mommies, which brand of steriliser is good?
Pigeon? Avent? Any other brand?
There are OG, Robinson sales...i plan to get some bb stuff then...

Bacon&amp;egg
i got do research before on this
AVENT steam sterilizer is so far the most popular one... it cost $171 at metro and mothercare
Looks like theres alot of sales going on...

thanks Meie for the informtion on jaundice
i copy and paste into my baby research folder liao... for future reference... keke
i encourage ladies here to create a folder for yr baby on the desktop... when u find good info u can copy n paste for future reference.... u can classify them accordingly to different topics

bacon&amp;egg
I am going to get the Avent one as I intend to buy the Avent breastpump too. For Avent, there are 3 types of sterilisers..

1) Electronic steriliser, $200, sterilises in 6 mins &amp; there are two modes, one keeps the bottles sterilised for 6 hours, another mode 24 hours.

2) Electrical steriliser, $171, sterilises in 8 mins &amp; keeps bottles sterilised for 6 hours.

3) Microwave steriliser, $70+.

Mrs Yap
Yes, I have a folder as well as bookmarks for baby stuff.. the bookmarks are mostly shopping websites.. *faint* lol.

meie...
jus to add on to the electrical sterilizer $171
it comes with 2 bottles of 4oz milk bottle, 1 bottle brush and some other stuffs... it is sort of like a starter kit for new mums... quite worth it.