(2008/09) Sep 2008

Hi Dolly, welcome to the thread...glad u r keeping the baby this time and hope you have a nice ROM day! My friend also had baby at 19, while in poly. she continued with studies tho and got married to her then-bf, now-husband and now she has two kids already!!

dolly
welcome welcome...you could have been my student!! hahaah..used to teach in a jc too...hahah...cant imagine being preg together with my students though...kekekekek...

it's good to have your child young. my lecturer was 40plus and travelling round the world with his wife. the children are all grown and living their own lives oredi...haiz, by the time my kids are grown, im ready to receive my purple SC cards oredi...

dolly again..
o you are reaching 18 weeks in 3 days time..okok..then i;ll be reaching it in five days time..hahaha...why do i keep thinking im still 16 weeks?

tried primary school tuition assignments?

bb girls!!!
at last the girls are popping out!!!! yeah!!!! cross finger for my scan this sat *cross cross cross*

tour
well with an 18mth old tot in tow, am thinking of going to resort to relax this time round...you guys should go far far far as much as you want before the kiddoes come along...

l'l CY (lilboymum): Yah finally the baby gals are out!! At least more balanced! You didn't answer me in my last posts. How did you get the Chinese name from bible? Cos I am trying to find a meaningful chinese name. Thanks!

Dolly: I think you have to start somewhere to find some part-time work cos there are alot of expenses when the bb is out. I have a fren who has her baby @age 22, don't save at all, spend all her money & she is having difficulty supporting her bb. The family have to help out & her mother gotta still work to help her...

Thanks Mrs Yap, will tell my fren!

o.was trying to recall who asked htat question..heeee..

actually can do it a few ways:
1. get your chinese pastor to help
2. choose a book/story from the bible and look for the meaning behind the story. from there work out the chinese characters (may also need some help if your chinese eh...needs brushing up)
3. Use chinese bible, but from my experience...those transaltion from hebrew and greek sounds really...well..greek in chinese
4. pray for inspiration...heeeee...

i derived CY's name quite coincidentally ( or should we say divinely?)

was watching animal planet when it suddenly struck me that animals are a lot like humans. they have cliques in their society, they have ambitions, they are often very selfish, they can kill for fun (and not food ) etc...

so went to bible and realise that the two qualities that God gave men are wisdom and ability to communicate to one another. yet these two are the areas that men failed God (rem Eden and Babel)...so my son's name is like warning for him to live a life that is set apart like what was meant to be at the beginning

Welcome Mandy and Dolly! Dolly: u r really young
Hv u completed your A levels? Are u going back to uni or poly after confinement?

Yes, the other moms are right, Head is on the righthand side. Clapping or not, I can't tell

Goldfish: How long do u intend to stay in HK and Macau? Hotel prices are gonna be steep in May. You can try asiarooms.com or asiatravel.com

What is ur budget? And which area r u going to be staying: Kowloon or HK island?

xuanting: I'm just like u, asking the same question where bb is lying? I thot it's as high as my belly button, but my gynae is always scanning very low down there. The bulge below my rib cage, I think, is my stomach. IT's been pushed upwwards.

Tightness...I asked that question in this thread last week. I feel uncomfrtable down there. Can't sit properly and for too long on hawker centre stools. I need to stretch my legs out on a footstool. I cannot stand up and wear my trousers and undies. I cannot reach out to clean my toes in the shower.

About Rene, Renae, Renee...It's 刘若英/奶茶's English name. hmm, 奶...LOL

In laws not bing to pronounce English names...yeah, my SIL's son is called Ralph. Damn hard for the old folks to pronounce the "r" followed by the "l", followed by the "ph" fricative. What a choice...They ended up calling the boy "raf raf" (like arf arf!)

Jasmine: it depends on what stage your friend is at for her treatment. Are she extracted all the molars yet? Extraction require some anaesthesia, which might not be recommended for preggers. If she's all done with the extraction, and has had her mould cast, she should be ready for the braces. The routine tightening of the braces won't do any harm I guess...

Hi all.. went for my scan yesterday.. i'm expecting a boy.. gynae told me some bad news though.. said that my placenta is low, anyone else have the same condition?

anyone have recommendations for a confinement lady, i'm still looking around for a good one.

hi cloud,
so sorry to hear about the low lying placenta. a colleague of mine has exactly the same prob and she has been ordered to go on bed rest and has now stopped work. i think cannot walk or stand for long. what advice did your gynae give?

dolly,
hi!!! golly! you're really young. i'm glad too you're keeping this baby. who will be doing your confinement for you after bb is born? and congrats on your coming ROM.

jaymickey,
i can't seem to find the gel already so have absolutely no idea what it's called. will find out from gynae and let you know. sorry!

l'l CY,
can i engage your help to come up with chinese name for my bb???

Milie,
tat time i went to the baby fair, those CDs for baby 'tai jiao" is not cheap lor. I was wondering if i can just listen to the music i like cos those classical music makes me drowsy (not those flu medicine though), haha. I'm now listening to FM933, Wang Lee Hom and other male singers' song cos im expecting a boy... LOL. hopefully next time he can sing as well as them, LOL.

To all: i'm still looking for confinement lady too. Some of those recommended to me are no longer working as confinement lady le so now like dunno where to get. How about you all? Have you all found one?

Cloud,

I was diagnosed with low-lying placenta @ 1st trimester during my oscar scan. He said it's normal and common to have low lying placenta during early pregnancy. The placenta will slowly elevate during the 2nd trimester.

Doc said don't walk or stand too long, don't carry heavy things... Try to sit down as often as possible

Storeberry, keke.. I went to BKK wif my 2 gfs in Feb, abandon hubby at home. So tis June, me and hubby plan to go HK/Macau for an early honeymoon.

Sarah, ah.. so it is u who work in Macau. I remembered reading in the forum tat someone works in Macau cos hubby works there etc :p Maybe I will PM u later to ask u more abt Macau!!!

Millie, I got the BEBESOUND device recommended by one of the forummer. It costs me $76.90 @ Baby Hypermart. It comes with a hearing device for the bb heartrate + a fetal microphone that u can place it on the tummy and ‘talk’ to the bb + a maternity belt and a flat earphone to be inserted into the maternity belt. I hooked the earphone to my MP3 and play those Mozart music to the bb while I watched my Korean DVD dramas at nite. It works for me cos’ I cannot ‘tahan’ listening to classic musics.. .beri ‘koon-ing’

Mandy, for confinement lady, u can try to ask the motherhood mamas in other threads (ie: Dec 07 etc) for recommendation. I found mine through a friend @ $1.8k. She dun help to iron clothes one.. *sad*

Dolly, for the tour hor... TMC no need to book, cos they hv tour conducted every day (except sun & PH) on 11am & 2pm, just go 10 mins earlier to register. For Mt A, u hv to call 6347 6636 to book the tour. weekday they hv it at 2.30pm, saturday 11 am. Since u not work nw.. u can try the weekday session... not so many couples attending....

CL... I think by now we shd have booked the CL... if not all kana booked liao...

alabone.. no worries..

for those looking for CL, now quite difficult to find.. i started looking after CNY.. was having difficulties.. all the recommended ones are all taken.. so i took one that is recommended by another CL.. just try to get hold of 1 contact and move from there..

But again, it depends on whether you trust their recommendation anot.. cos some really quite bad one..

For CL, I booked mine pretty early around February. The good ones are more or less fully booked till the end of the year. My suggestion is to meet up with the CL to see if you are comfortable with her.. she's going to stay with us for a whole month & we will be interacting with her everyday, so I feel 'chemistry' is also important.

Mandy re: CL
If all else fails, try the agencies for CL. I called Bliss and got one from them. Doreen the lady in charge is quite friendly and helpful. 81863338. Prices are not much different from getting a CL directly and she will take care of the paperwork for Malaysian CLs.

did all of u notice that nowadays no ppl willing to give up their seats to preggie?

i have been wear maternity wear starting from this week... so far.. no ppl bother to gif seats to mi... and even they saw mi they oso act blur... so i have to std all the way from amk to city hall...

nw still ok for mi.. cos the stomach not tat heavy.. i can't image ppl dun gif mi seats when my stomach is reali big.. and reali heavy... hee hee

Jo: Yah, usually people will just pretend to be engrossed in their hp or pretend to sleep. Hiaz.. wat to do?

Today vety quiet, must be the weather..

Jo
Usually, some kind soul will give up once u are really big (like me now)...but sometimes also have to wait...at least 2-3 stations...

ya storeberry....they pretend to Zzzz.... all the way... bt when comes to their station, they auto "wake up".... so funi rite...

haiz....

ya today v quiet indeed...
maybe bcos there isnt a TOPIC of the DAY... keke
last 2 days we were talking about Baby names u see... its relevant to EVERYONE and EVERYONE is interested to post.
Maybe someone can come out with a TOPIC of discussion... heheh

cloud, if u need a CL for sep, let me know ya. somehow we've booked 2 but still cannot get in touch with e other 1 to cancel. not becos she's not good or wat, its just some miscommunication. she's highly recommended by my close girl fren n her whole family uses this CL b4. u can PM me ya. oh btw, e price is $1.8k.

yday i took mrt, this man saw me and he quickly look down and close eyes. sigh wat to do, i cannot be possibly telling him, "hey you can see my big abdomen or not? you cannot stand for a while ah" haha. but luckily i only need to get down at next station, if not i'll keep staring at that guy.

i 1 2 check with u all...

My last check up.. i was in my 15th week, my gynae draw 3 tubes of blood from mi.. i was bz talking to him abt other things until i forgot to ask him y he draw my blood (real blur hor)...

do ur gynae draw ur blood ard that period? wat test is he conducting?

I wanted to ask him when i go to my next check up which is on the 3rd of may... bt nw just curious.. so check it out with u all...

Mandy... i tell u hor...

when i board the MRT nowadays... i always 1 2 stand ard the seats plc.. to hope that 1 KIND SOUL will gif their seats to mi.. hee hee

bt hor... instead of giving up their seats hor.. they pretend here pretend there... so funi 1 leh...

pretend sleeping lah... reading newspaper... playing games.... sms.... some bz talking to their frds.... etc..

GETTING SEATS ON PUBLIC TRANSPORT
dun u know once u r preggie, u can cast sleepy spells meh??? hahaha.......tats wat i always tell my frens! we can make those comuters FALL ASLEEP immediately!!! agree???

Jo
i think it might be for OSCAR?i took 5 tubes of blood for both pregnancies leh. didnt need oscar for my first, but hb kiasu and we took ALL the tests available and not harmful...hahaha..maybe that's why 5 tubes of blood

hmmm... l'l CY... i not sure oso leh.. mine is 3 tubes....hmmm...

Aloevera... i agreed with uuuuuuuuu......... hahahahaha

Jo... your gynae is doing a triple blood test for u... it access a few complications like down sydrome, diabetes etc... Usually if nothing is wrong, the results will be make known to u at next appt... if result no good they will call u... i suppose since u didnt get any calls till now is good news.

aloevera
ya lor...
Question : How to make someone fall asleep on the mrt in less than 1 sec?
Answer : Place a pregnant woman infront of him

There was once recently i was standing on the mRT, alone...

A young couple was opposite me and then the girl looked at me from head to toe, then turned to the guy next to her and said, "Do you think she is pregnant enough for others to give up their seats or not?'

eh...what a strange comment...

Hi ladies... i called my clinic to postpone my appointment time... So i ask the nurse to check on the Triple test result... Result is normal. Thank God. Phew...........

Hey ...

Mrs Yap... good one!.... damn funi Q & A.... hahaha

O .. thanks Mrs Yap... ... ya so far no call... hope everything is OK....

l'l CY.... indded a strange comment leh... hw can they say tat hor...

sometimes stand too long ...reali backache leh... do u feel tat? sometimes i do...

<font color="119911">Jo (jgwee) - hah, yah...thats why i am waiting to look really preggy &amp; see if people still don't bother!
Right now, still abit neither here nor there, so maybe people don't dare to give up seats incase we are just fat!

Btw, there was a posting in the STOMP forum about this preggy lady who had to sit on the MRT floor cos no one gave up a seat for her! Horrible...

Meanwhile, I just bought 2 more baby doll dresses during lunch! My preggy clothes are piling up &amp; hubby already grumbling!

Saw this on the news... true for any of u?
I guess majority of u had good breakfast since so many boys...

Skipping breakfast may mean your baby is a girl

LONDON (Reuters) - Women on low-calorie diets or who skip breakfast at the time of conception are more likely to give birth to girls than boys, British scientists said on Wednesday.

New research by the universities of Exeter and Oxford provides the first evidence that a child's sex is associated with the mother's diet, and higher energy intake is linked to males.

"This research may help to explain why in developed countries, where many young women choose to have low-calorie diets, the proportion of boys born is falling," said Fiona Mathews of the University of Exeter.

There has been a small but consistent decline, of about one per 1,000 births annually, in the proportion of boys being born in industrialized countries over the past 40 years.

In humans, going without breakfast may be interpreted by the body as signaling low food availability, since it depresses levels of blood sugar.

Although sex is genetically determined by fathers, it is known that high levels of glucose encourage the growth and development of male embryos while inhibiting female ones, although the exact mechanism is unclear.

Mathews and colleagues studied 740 first-time pregnant mothers in Britain and found 56 percent of those in the group with the highest energy intake at conception had sons, compared with 45 percent in the lowest group.

In evolutionary terms, this correlation may make sense.

Males' breeding potential is strongly influenced by fitness, while females breed more consistently.

"If a mother has plentiful resources then it can make sense to invest in producing a son because he is likely to produce more grandchildren than would a daughter. However, in leaner times having a daughter is a safer bet," Mathews said.

Some researchers have been sounding alarms for years over the change in sex ratios in developed countries and have in the past blamed pollutants and synthetic chemicals such as those found in some pesticides which disrupt human hormones.

The latest findings were published in the journal Proceedings of the Royal Society B: Biological Sciences.

Mrs Yap (oneboyonegirl) - me!! I have not skipped one breakkie in my entire life, cos i usually wake up hungry &amp; lie in bed thinking of what to eat (very piggy!)..hehe...and yes, am expecting a boy!

Mrs Yap... i dun knw true anot.. but for mi.. i'm someone who cannot skip BF 1....i MUST EAT BREAKFAST... den can eat alot... den lunch i eat abit nvm...
even b4 preg i'm like tat...

Dolly...

i think we will do any test ard the same time leh.. cos our EDD same hor...

so when is ur next appt?

Bigtoes.. i think wear dress look more like preggie leh..

today i wear those tight top leh, can see my tummy POP out..... but no use... ppl just c....bt dun gif up seat.... hahahaha

I dunno my baby gender yet...
I used to skip bfast
but 3 mths before my conception, i got the habit of eating bfast due to a change of job. Cos previous job no time to eat...
Shall see if my last min breakfast eating will give me a boy or not... haha

lilboymom: are you a Chinese teacher?

Mandy: Yeah, I also listen to Jay Chou these days
I've already secured my CL. Yesterday, she called me from another mom's home to chitchat with me. Told me she was tired looking after the baby. As she was chatting, the mom was watching tv outside in the living room. I found that quite disturbing. Just told her I needed to shower cos I reached home very late at 9pm last nite. I hope she won't be calling other moms during my confinement
Anyway, she was supposed to be good, so I'll stick to her @ $1.8K per mth.

Ava: yeah, suddenly very busy at work. i got event coming up...busy busy...didn't even got time to fill up my water mug since i walked in and started my laptop this morning. sat in front of my laptop till 12noon!

aloevera: sleepy spells? I give up liao...I got pride. I wear comfy shoes. No need to give the seats up to me. I just take train to terminal to get seats, then reverse direction...

Mrs Yap: I read that on asiaone.com too. Not sure about others, but I'm a BREAKFAST WOMAN all these years. I look fwd to having a nice sandwich and freshly brewed coffee daily. I'll turn on my CNN and watch the latest updates whilst sipping coffee and nibbling on my ciabatta. I make great sandwiches btw

I'm expecting a mickey.

flos
o dear, do i sound like a chinese teacher?that is bad. no offence, but i teach GP!!! whahahahahaha...hope my english doesnt suck to that extent. but a couple of chinese teachers in my college was superb in english...

breakfast and gender.
okok...i never used to have breakfast for my first preg...too lazy lah...but i got a boy still leh...

this preg slightly better coz staying at home ...so we;ll see...

i had a bad lunch..loh mee n sweet n sour fish...left me with a bitter aftertaste..ggrr..

i am a breakfast person too..esp in current job..must have fried beehoon every morning!

my swollen feet and numb fingers seems to have gone away..wonder if its due to soups i have been drinking or the long walks i have been taking..