(2008/09) Sep 2008

sarahmay, abalone,jesse,
actually i'm not so slim. i've got quite heavy thighs and buttocks. just that i'm quite petite.
normal weight before pregnancy is abt 43kg +/-1kg . and my height is abt 157cm. Petite is right word for my size. not slim

Ava: how tall r u if i may ask?

Bigtoes: OK, I'll try to link it back to my online albums. Too lazy to upload all my albums onto a new blog, not that I'm getting BIGGER

SarahMay: I used to hv a teacher called Suzette. Crepes!!! LOL!

Mei: really 20%? Great! I'll go buy more Hush Puppies and some thermos.

Cedric? Cedric Foo?! hehe...

I like Rachelle too. Anything that sounds ethereal and fairylike is good IMO.

I'm not a Catholic but I'll give a middle name too, as with all my bbs' cousins. Not sure if i still want those dialect names to be on the IC.

Shazz: Little "johnny" saying hello to Auntie Shazz.. Kekek... I think I will call me smallberry John cos John Ho like very "Gung ho" name... Haha... And I like the meaning so... Chinese name really have no idea, we shall see as we go along.. My cutie nephew is call Jayden! Didn't know this name so popular!

l'l CY (lilboymum): How did you derive the CHinese name from bible? I am really at a loss to chossing chinese names...

Ava: I am up 5kg also!! Now 53 kg liao, I think 1kg per mth should be ok...

Anyone going for Formula D this sunday? I am going with my friends to the drifting event at Changi that side (The airshow was held there previously). I think it will be exciting!

abalone,
u catholic ? which church do u go to ?? i normally go to OLPS @ Siglap..
oh.. so no wonder u not going for any contraception after 3rd kid is born. For me, i might still opt for the Mirena IUS though it may be against the Catholic rule.. but really afraid of having more..

Jaymickey
i had slip disc n lower back ache before preggy
usually it will become worse after sweeping/mopping floor, standing for long hrs doing hsework... i realised eversince i stop doing hsework and rest so much during my 1st trim, my backache seems better. When my hb weent overseas, i stayed with my grandma and the maid do all the work... i live a life of food n sleep only and my backache seems to be gone...
My hb came back from overseas and i went back home to clean the hse, backache came back and the bed too hard also... at night also feel my back pain, and thighs,arms numb... thot of changing my mattress though. But i still can sleep la... not to the extend of cannot sleep yet.

Mrs Yap: your nicotine story reminds me of my friends! Their surname is Ting. So they were careful not to name their daughter, Nicole Ting(sounds like nicotine) and Annie Ting (sounds like anything). Lol.

Then there's a colleague whose name is Annie How (sounds like anyhow). Just for laughs!

When we were in Israel, my hubby and I were joking and thinking of corny names for our son ... we thought if we name him Gali Lee ... our surname is Lee, will sound like Galilee Sea! Then we thought of Israel Lee ... will sound Israelis!

storeberry: John is a great name! Like I mentioned, that will be a truly unique name lor! =)

Mummies with backache and slip disc history, please invest in a changing table of a suitable height. I was told bending over and changing baby on the bed is very bad for our backs. One of my colleagues' wife suffered a slip disc as a result of this.

Flos
Am 1.60m, but as I as saying to Mei on MSN, I am quite heavy boned so always have been on heavier side. My hands are the same size as my 1.75m husband's and appetite to match also...lol...that's my dad's "fault" for teaching me and my sis to enjoy our food too much! we eat like boys!

BigToes
Don't limit your weight gain too much, as long as u r eating healthily and not overindulging. You don't want baby to have low birth weight! I think around 15 kg weight gain is still acceptable...(mine was 17 kg last time round)

Hi all, i'm also a 4th Sep 08 mom...

Baby's name: not sure but i like the name Daniel
EDD: 4 Sept
hospital : KK hosp
gynae : Dr John Tee

I've got a question: I would like to let my baby listen to music but how do i let him hear? just use normal CD player and ear piece?Then how i attach the ear piece to let him hear? Sorry a bit "sua ku" here....

mrs yap,
aiyooo, you same like me leh. also got slipped disc huh. ya. same. if i stand for too long or walk for too long, back really painful. now back to teaching really very bad...

jaymickey,
you must take care. try not to stand too long and sit when you can.

stef,
yes. catholic. my hb used to go to OLPS. we are now attending mass at saint mary. i love the church and love father john paul. same lor. that's why third kid. but then i think will do the mirena lah. cannot afford to have fourth one. my mum asked if i can stop giving birth...

alabone,
and for this 3rd kid, u chose not to know gender ? why ? is it bcos u hv no preference? but i found that after having a boy and gal, i had a preference for this 3rd one. unfortunately, it turn out to be a gal. but it's ok too. it's god's gift to me

alabone and mrs yap..
i don't have to do housework also pain liao.. do housework i think will be worst... sometimes go shopping for awhile, i cannot take it already.. now i am using Yoko Yoko to relieve the pain man..

Yesterday i went for my detailed scan. I've got a baby gal. Wow.. just a day missing the forum, i got so much to read on. All of u are engrossed naming ur baby le. I'm still thinking of the name, i can't think of any. Actually, i wanna start with J like me, but seems that i cant find a nice one.

My baby has not kick me yet since the last 2 small kicks. Mayb girl is more gentle. Hahaha.. I've been feeling my left tummy stretching since last night.

congrats jasmine!

actually i wanted a baby girl too...but after i went to the hosp for few times for scans, i realise there were some other child born not so fortunate. So now my wish for my baby is just that he'll be healthy will do le.

btw, do u know know how to let your bb listen to music? is it thro earpiece?

<font color="119911">(Jasmine (piggy_jas) - Congrats!
One more baby gal for the forum! How about Jacelyn/Jaslynn?

Mandy (forrestgump4) - welcome to the forum! On your qtn, you only need to play music as per normal (regular volume). Not sure if its a good idea to play direct to your baby (but if you want to do so, I suppose u can just strap on headphones on your belly - just make sure u don't crank up the volume too much to startle the baby or damage the hearing!)</font>

<font color="0000ff">Mandy
Welcome!! eerrmm.... i juz play the music out leh... so i listen.. bb oso listen. nvr put ear piece wor. dun use those portable CD players la...

Jasmine
Congrats on ur little princess!!! hhhmm... i thought of Jovine!

thanks mandy, every night i just play music on my player and listen together with baby.

Thanks bigtoes and Jaymickey. Oh ya, congrats to both of u bigtoes (boy right) and Jaymickey (gal).

oh i see.... cos now i'm in office and i'm bored. So i thought of listening and let baby hear but i cannot play it out lor, haha.

furthermore my boss like to scold and talk loud in office, i think his scoldings compared to the music i play from ear piece, i think the music is better, haha. I dun wan my baby to pick up bad habits from my boss, haha.

Jasmine
Congrats on yr gal...another rare princess in the thread!! Jeaneve? Jade? Jezebel? Jolie? Hehe... U're gonna love shopping for yr little princess, just like me!!

Hi Skinny: I was considering Ethan initially but was worried that my in laws might not be able to pronounce the 'th' consonant. End up 'eaten', 'eaten'. 'Eaten! Have u eaten?!' kekeke!

ava: ok lah, i'm just slightly taller than u nia. My family members are all pretty tall and big built. So being in the 60's in norm I guess;)

stef,
actually i have preference. i want a girl. but i just want a surprise coz boy or girl really doesn't matter very much. i'd love them all the same.

jaymickey,
it could be pregnancy related backache. for myself, sometimes it is very painful, sometimes it isn't. but also disturbs me so much i cannot sleep properly at night. i was given a gel to use but can't remember the name of it now. will go home and check then tell you again. when i sneeze or cough, it is extremely painful. then the pain goes down my leg kind. so i can hardly shop. go inside shop first thing is to look out for seats...

jasmine,
congrats on having a bb girl! exciting ya??

sasa, sunrays and alabone

sunrays
u also having a baby gal? princess more things to buy... and somemore i love pink n hello kitty. my hb was saying another one gg to craze for hello kitty. haha!

alabone
i'm excited to buy all the cute cute items. I've been going to all the kids shop but can't buy anything as i don't know the gender.

alabone.. good good.. let me have the gel brand... me also come and go.. but i dun know how to make sure it doesn't come.. was thinking is it because of my posture or what..

<font color="119911">hmm...never thought of how difficult the baby's name would be to my ILs also! My parents are english-ed, so no problem, but I hope Kieran won't sound like anything weird to my ILs! Meanwhile, my sister's baby is called Oliver, and he calls himself "Ooo-ver"... hehe.</font>

if put braces den preg will it affect baby? my fren gonna put braces soon but she scared during her braces period she got bb.

we wanna call our girl Renae.. but both of our family object saying nt nice.. cos sounds like nae nae (boobs) n afraid will tease by her future frends..
so nw completely hav no idea wat to name le..

xuanting

i dunno the difference wor. cos is my fren who is asking me. Her teeth is like "rabbit" *pardon me for saying that cos i don't know how to explain it* so she is going to put on braces but afraid that she might get preg down the road as she needs to put on for 1.5years.

Anyone has nice n cheap hotel recommendations in HK &amp; Macau? I am planning a trip next mth lo..

BB names
I oso having headache wif names. My hubby wants it to be a MEANINGFUL name lo. I prefer to 'create' a name out of the blue. I actually 'created' a name for my niece then. Combination of Florence and Charmaine = Floraine.
I like it very much... like majiam a flower that blossom in the rain

preggie

i'm feeling the same as you. I've been feeling the tightness since last night till now. I cant sit properly in the office.

Wah.. all talking abt names liao.. hee..
some time back, my frens and I realised that names ending with "den" seems to be the in thing now.. esp jayden and kayden.. so we were boliao and tot of all the "den"s from A to Z.

Aden, Bden, Cden, Dden, Eden, Fden, Gden, Hden, Iden, Jden, Kden etc..

No offence hor..

Talking abt greek names, I used to have a pupil named Maximilian. It sounds good but with a chinese surname, it does sound a bit weird.

In my line, its really a challenge now to pronounce some names. I had a Jemima and I was so tempted to call her Jer mee ma. Jun Jie is well known to be naughty! haaa..

Even my mum who's chinese educated, finds it difficult to pronounce my nieces' names. Esp when she needs to bring them to the doc. Heee.. So I was joking with her that I'll name my daughter Mary and son Peter. The easiest..

Anyway, HB has shortlisted some names. Since his name begins with R and mine P, we've decided on R. Cos I cant quite find many nice names beginning with P.

Girl - Reana, Rachel, Rae-lyn
Boy - Reyes (1st choice), Raphael, Reuben, Reagan.

Still thinking whether to give baby middle name or to wait til baby's own confirmation then he gives himself one.

milky.. my niece is renee too! And yes, i do call her neh neh at times.. haa.. but not the booby sounding NEH NEH.. but more subtle..but i think its ok mah.. some kind of closeness...

I also wanted renee but too bad my sis popped so much earlier! hahaha

hi crayonshinchan, oh.. cos i check the pronouciation of Renae is (ren ay) so family is joking dat the ending sounds like neh neh.. or ah nei..
tik naming is realy v difficult..

crayonshinchan,
rae-lyn is nice!! Reuben reminds me of the music-composer/Mr.Singapore dragonboater who drowned last November .. so sad.. one of the 5 who drowned was my dragonboat team-mate in NTU.. and my bro-in-law was one of the dragonboaters in the boat. luckily he was one of the survivors. so sad. affected me so much. i kept crying ..

jasmine, that's orthodontic braces (teeth). i was wondering if you might be talking about orthopedic braces instead (to correct bones/muscles). i don't think wearing the braces will affect the bb if your friend gets pregnant, but i would say the routine tightening process will definitely be a very uncomfortable process to go through during pregnancy. every few days after each routine tightening, the teeth will hurt and the gums will be sore. chewing can be extremely painful until the teeth and gums get used to the new tension.

it's best to speak to her dentist (to make sure that all medications to be administered will be pregnancy safe). i guess she can still ttc after she's had her braces fitted, but best to wait one or two months for her to get accustomed to the pain from the monthly adjustments. hope this helps.

welcome, dolly! yes, you must be the baby in this thread!

edd of 27 sep is still early la. probably by next visit you will know.