(2008/09) Sep 2008

mei: yes yes! the sale could be just on last weekend i dunnot
hey, u know they just opened an outlet at Vivocity? Bigger and have more shoes/sizes/designs. I love their italian leather shoes. but take care not to buy those with slippery leather soles.

Bigtoes: didn't know u were hoping for a boy! see, being radiant doesn't mean u will hv a girl, and vice-versa.

skinny pig: names, i've thot abt it but it was rejected by my hb. he thinks it's corny. for the chinese name, my in laws shall take care of it.

stef,
i checked liao, the waiting time is 2-3hrs and it's fully booked for the whole mth of April. the machine might be diff too..

think i will stick to TC Chang then follow up appt with M Tan then... =P

one thing abt W C Cheng clinic, we always bump into mediacorp artistes there.. some will come with hubbies and children, some will cry after the appt...so sad. i just saw one artiste from ch5 crying after her appt, i feel very sad for her, my heart just goes to her. dowan to mention names..

skinnypig
I have also thought of a name for my boy, english one only.. the chinese name I think we need to follow the 'generation family name list' (I don't know what this is called).

Flos
Ok ok.. will try to go down soon. Yup, I saw the spanking new shop at Vivo.

steff&seanbabes
are u a christian?
the name sounds like one...
so far girl's name i thot of ShiQi...
Shi=praises
Qi=pray
but not yet discuss or approved by hubby

Flos: No more typhoon Neoguri already. SNiff sniff. Was fun while it lasted. Cos hubby got sent home from work early. Pity only one day.

I haven't had time to go BloomingCHic. Plus cos I'm not working, I don't feel v good spending too much money on clothes etc. So i just go for cheap clothes tt I think still look good. So far, my $12 dance pants are serving me well as are my $12 vintage tees. A bodyknits toga dress for $20. ON dress for $34+ .The most ex clothing article is the Spring denim shorts I got for $50. That just abt makes up my entire maternity wardrobe. Still going about in my Birkis. Been through MGM Grand and Wynn in that so I guess it means I still look pretty decent. Hehe.

Stef: Level 4 DS scan can take video on our own? My gynae's nurse said can.

Bigtoes: Do you think your 200 included the CD of scanned pics? Tt is why more ex? U didn't do a 3D scan as well did you?

aloevera:
"some will cry after the appt...so sad. i just saw one artiste from ch5 crying after her appt, i feel very sad for her, my heart just goes to her. dowan to mention names.."

who? sounds serious. i only saw a lot of tai tais from indonesia visiting WC Cheng. got a lot of bling blings.

the generation family name is 字辈. my in laws (in fact my mom's family too) have followed that for generations since China days...

i'll not follow it. not interested

Flos
I am super bad at all these chinese thingys.. lol. I'm not sure if it's compulsory for us as our kid will be the eldest grandchild in the generation. So cross my fingers it sounds ok.

mrsyap,
i'm catholic.
my kids names starts with S- Stefanie, Sean and now Sharmaine.
for the chinese names, the grandsons of my FIL will hv to follow a a family name 孝 followed by - 光宗耀祖. my son is 2nd grandson so his name is 孝宗.

for granddaughters, as long as start with 慈. behind character anything will do. my gal's name is 慈慧. so my #3 can be named 慈恩. but subjected to FIL's approval.

Flos
No lah, saw your post when u posted it, but forgot to reply only...I wanted to move to inhouse marcomms this time round of job change, but no lobang/position that I liked...next round!!

Names
Hb and I looked thru two baby name books last night and have narrowed down, well still about 7-8 names per gender, the names we like (English). Now that we have some boys names, feel a lot better, in case ours are boys! Previously I could only think of girls' names. Heh, we even asked Adan which ones can "pass" and which ones he doesn't like...so have his feedback already.

For chinese names we will go to the same guy who picked Adan's name. he uses numerology and alos sees the five elements to count strokes/recommend characters.

Baby Ave
Are their things cheaper than Baby Kingdom etc?

sarahmay,
i'm not sure if they allow u to take video during the DS at level4. since ur gynae says ok, then i think should be alright.

<font color="0000ff">Bigtoes
hey.. congrats on ur little mickey!! hehee... wah.. sept got so many boys leh.. wonder where all the gals went to..

Mei
I love ur cupboard.. haha.. looks like i muz get MIL to change her HSBC points for IKEA vouchers soon.. den i can go on a spree le.. :p

Flos
LC Cheng wont give anything lah i think.. coz the DS not done by him leh.. we have to go 4th flr to do it wor... n i heard 4th flr they dun give CD de.. prob juz some pics onli..

haha.. i've been a silent reader all these while. didnt noe wat to post leh.. so juz keep quiet lor. i'm at a lost now. see so many of u buy so many things le.. i feel so guilty. haven start buying for my prince yet..

oh yes.. n i agree on the part about alot of rich tai tais seeing WC Cheng. they bring their luggage some more leh... faintz

Storeberry
hehe.. u miss me ah? i oso nvr see u online wor. here all the while lah.. juz tat got nothing to say leh.. muahahaha

Mrs Yap
u mentioned u bot some dresses from Cloud 9. So how much did u spend in all?? hehe.. i've been looking around for dresses.. but nothing nice leh...</font>

<font color="0000ff">Baby Names
I've shortlisted 1.. and would need ur views!!! hehe SarahMay knows what's coming up eh...

Both hb and i like the name Max!! hb's surname is Ter. So how's tat for my prince's name??

sasa
$70 for each dress
5% off for 1st dress and 10% off for 2nd dress
So spent abt $130 odd
My cousin's name is Maximillion
In short we call him Max

sarahmay, yup, you can get it at the pharmacy in tan tock seng hosp.

bigtoes, congrats! guess it's time to think of names?

<font color="0000ff">Mrs Yap
ooohh.. ic ic. sounds like quite a good buy. hhmm.. but wondering if i should invest more into maternity clothes...

ya.. we like the name Max.. were thinking of calling Maximillian too... but too long wor.. haha.. nxt time so many alphabets to write..</font>

mei: yeah, i know...from what i know, there is an ancestral book 祖谱in some ancestral residence somewhere in china that records your generation name (i.e. the middle names). i just learnt that my son's generation has a terrible sounding word that i've told them NO WAY.

stef&amp;seanbabes: whoa! your son's chinese name is very majestic-sounding indeed. U do know it's the name of the Ming Dynasty emperor right?!

And now, u are aiming for the dowager's name? 慈something

Ok, u r a catholic, so u probably won't get those masters to calculate for you. I did wanna use one emperor's name but my hb told me he heard that certain emperors' names might not be suitable for commoners, i.e. the chinese say, 受不起. But well, that's in China. We're in modern SG.

sigh, my in laws will be engaging a master to calculate for the boy. Supposedly must match the child's own bazi and the parents' bazis too. It's all too greek to me.

Ava: i think agencies are a lot more fun. i won't rule out moving bk there after my bb has grown older. there's a greater exposure...used to organise fashion shows, product launches, exhibitions, mingled with those HK/TW celebrities and models. loved it...

Sasa: I got a list which my friend sent to me, so will just copy and paste here. Some items I think there's no need to get now cos baby don'r need them yet, some are optional, depends on individual needs. Happy shopping!

Sleep
Cot
Mattress
Waterproof Mattress Protector
Pillow
Bolster
Bedsheet Set (2)
Playpen
Baby Monitor
Bean pillow (cooling)
Waterproof sheet
Blanket
Cot Mobile

Change
Diapers
Diaper Liners
Diaper Covers
Wipes
Changing Mat
Rash Cream
Cotton Balls/Cotton wool/pads
Bowl

Bath
Bathtub
Towels (Bath)
Towels (Face)
Toothbrush
Top to Toe Wash (Johnsons)
Baby Lotion
Comb/ Brush
Anti-slip/Bath Support
Cotton balls
Cotton buds

Feed
High chair
Food warmer
Bottles
Breast Pump
Wipes for pump
Bowls
Spoons
Tongs
Bibs
Milk powder (small)
Teats (s, m, l)
Brush for cleaning bottles
Nipple cream
Nursing bras
Nursing pads
Nursing Tops
Breastmilk storage
Fridge to Go
Sterilizer (Avent IQ Express)
Nursing Pillow
Detergent for cleaning bottles

Travel
Pram
Car seat
Carry sling (Baby Bjorn)
Diaper Bag
Clip Fan
Pram Protective Layer
Car Sunshade
Head /Neck Support Cushion
Car Seater Protector

Others
Pajamas
Day clothings
Mittens
Bootees
Small towels/ handkerchiefs)
Receiving blankets
Caps
Clothes detergent
Clothes softener
Nail clipper
Nose pump
Baby tweezer
ru(2) yi(4) you(2), gripe water
Bouncer
Clothes rack
Cot organizer
Waterproof Mattress Protector

Baby Avenue is a joint-venture between one of the boss of Baby Hypermart or Baby Kingdom and one of their business partners. Prices wise is the same. But range wise, I think Ubi has got more stuff, but I don't like to go to Ubi cos everything is so cramped and you hardly get good customer service cos they're always so busy.

Mei: We also got a Maxi-Cosi Cabrio fix in Juice at 25% off cos it's 2007 colours. Very good deal!

Here's their address and website:
Address: 520 Balestier Road, #01-02 Leong On Building, Singapore 329853
Tel: (65)62536678 Fax: (65)62530283

http://www.baby-avenue.com/index.asp

Abalone,
You are also quite young to have the third kid at age 29 man… I envy u.. now going to be 32 me only having the 2nd one.. and I believe tat u r really enjoy urself as a mother… thanks for giving me ur advise.. I really need the assurance from someone.. really… and looking at my Hb..so worry.. but last nite I ask him.. “You really dun like kids crying hor?” He replied: “I have already Ren very long already, so explode lor. But of coz, I feel very guilty after tat..” Looking real sad.. sign~ I pity my hubby too..

Sunray,
Sorry. Left a message on ur msn already.. finally went to see doc last nite.. my nose gone already.. totally no strength to retaliate with my daughter.. lol anyway, ur stuff for ON is here already too.. will pass it to u together..

Flos,
i did not know my son's name is the name of the Ming Dynasty emperor.
my chinese is actually v lousy.. all the kids' chinese names are given by my FIL. i only get to choose their English names..

Storeberry: Hehe! I will check on you to see if you can stick to that resolution! I’m not tt small-sized la! You’ve seen me before. I’m not very tiny at all. Just dunno why the cuts don’t fit me. Like even Levis 24 jeans for female don’t fit me around my thighs.

Skinny Pig: I’ve got the Christian name…but not the Chinese one yet. What about you?

Mrs Yap, Stef: ‘En’ is like a really popular name in the Christian circle these past few years. I’ve always liked it…but I’m reconsidering it now. I feel girls have more name choices than boys. Was so frustrating trying to get my boy’s name…but we finally settled on one. Phew! I had so much stress that I actually had to blog about it to de-stress!

Flos: How terrible is terrible? Like very ‘tu’, obiang? Hehe. My FIL suggested Bin (dunno which Bin ) to go with Li. I just went, “Won’t that sound like li ben na? Ribena?”. Hehe.

Shazz: Huh? Ubi branches have MORE stuff? Eeks…in that case maybe I won’t go. I went to the Ubi ones…and both Sunrays and I were a bit bored.
Ci Xi is the name of the dowager. Eeks! Dun name bb that…she is quite an aggressive character. Also, why cannot use Emperor’s name? I would use it if I like it. Hehe. My family surname is WANG, supposed to be royal descendants..so tt means I have more reason to have a ‘royal’ name?

More about Chinese Names: We gotta be careful what we name our kids. I’ve known some people with Chinese names that sound quite funny…. Here are some examples (no offence intended to anyone with similar names tho…): Chee Hong, Zhen Zhao Yang ( if you get the pin yin wrong, sounds like ‘Terrible Disaster’!)

flos, ava
wow, you parents so traditional still? will insist on family names?

names...
my son;s name is chih-yu (智语). it was derived from the bible. meaning 'set apart in creation' coz both are qualities found in genesis that sets man apart from the rest of creation. strange thing is, when we went to taiwan, we accidentally went for a fengshui talk...(they told us it;s 'history of chinese culture or something), the master saw my son's name and said it's a very good name. and my son will have the blessed life with nothing lacking blah blah blah...nothing even to buy for him from the palce....hhahahaha...so anyone wants me to pick a name for your child???kekekek..

the next one depends on girl or boy loh...i usually like androgynous names, coz i like girls name that way...dunno why...in fact i like the name 语晨 for a girl (meaning 'let there be light') but hb thinks it's too manly for girls

Mum's Age: Momoko, Alabone...Wah! Can dun talk abt age or not? I'm 30 and having my first one...So you are way more 'advanced' in the family way than me...I'm just glad I got married before I turned 30...and bb is coming before I turn 31. Hehe

sarahmay
haha.. my hb name is actually a v meaningful name but when u pronounce it, its like "want my life" fortunately his surname is not Zhen
You got a Blog?? can share with me?? PM me if u will... i got a blog to share with u too

l'l cy, i like the names you've thought up! i too prefer androgynous names. eh, but why is "yu chen" "let there be light" and not "morning words"? and "yu zhi" doesn't literally mean "clever words"?

l'll CY,
Ah yor.. poor thing.. really got people name called chee hong..
Sunnysunny,
How old is ur daughter already? My gal have been with them for 3 terms already.. since last October intake.. well, my advise is tat if you are going to put ur kid in Shichida.. you need to slowly pick up doing home practice.. if not, I think no point sending your kid to this school.. I’ve seen kids tat was not send to Shichida been brought up better and more educated.. coz I think the mother or parents play a very important role is tat kid life..

In fact, when I enroll my gal in this school.. there were objections around me.. with my SILs.. they will thinking tat Chloe is too young to know anything and to learn.. hey, how much does ur kids know always depending on ur input to your children… we are the one giving them knowledge.. of coz.. if you want you children to grow up in a care free way.. it’s the parent choice.. and I respect tat.. Do what you think it’s good for your children..
All parents wants to give their children the best.. tat’s wat I think.. so happy parenting!

i knw of someone called Chee Wai...
Hard for me to address him in this name leh... sounds like scolding him...kekeke...
imagine if someone is calling his name repeatedly... sure kena tongue tied...
Think we not only consider the chinese name, shd also consider the pronounciation of the name after it is being converted to dialect name.
E.g, Chee Wai is Zhi Wei which is a meaningful name... but once converted to dialect name, cannot make it

xuanting
yu means language, chen is dawn..the first words spoken in the dawn of creation...and that was'let there be light'

but think it's out already...hb kept insisting...girls cannot have such names...must be feminine!!!'arghh....so feng jian lah.

momoko...
yes i agree with what you say about parenting...so so true!!!parents' input is more important than anything else
!!!!

<font color="119911">Flos (flos) - actually, i don't mind either a baby boy or girl. My dad said he would prefer a girl (cos my sisters have more boys already &amp; they are all very noisy!), thou I suspect my in-laws would secretly rather have a boy.

On the FBI card, I also applied that already. However, didn't get any discount for DS - this only covers the scans done on L4 I think. WK Tan's services are all non-discounted.

SarahMay (sarahmay) - Nope, i didn't ask for any add-ons for the DS. They also didn't offer me the option of a 3/4D scan. Am not surprise that WK Tan's pricing are more expensive &amp; didn't bother to ask actually.

xuanting (xuanting) - Thanks! Yes, we are going to start deciding on names. The chinese one we are leaving to my FIL to suggest a couple, but for Christian names, we have narrowed it down to Kieran/Keegan/Kayden (stuck with K &amp; 2 syllables since our dog is called KooKie). Any suggestions on which is best?

Pre-natal classes: Anyone signed up for my session? TMC, 4.30pm, from 15th June (Sat). This is Mrs Wong Boi Boi's class.</font>

Flos,
ya, alot of tai tais there too. but we only interested to see those familiar faces...=P

sarahmay,
dun be sad la, u r the same me, i was 29+ when i gave birth to my first BB. she came 1mth b4 my 30th bday, this has been the desire of my heart and God knows it! i thank Him for answering my prayer!

so here i am, expecting the second one now! and if i pop b4 my bday, then i'll be 32+ only! hahaha... or i dun mind tat this BB and i share the same bday!

shazz
All thanks to you for mentioning Baby Avenue that I also got the good deal on the Maxi Cosi.

Bigtoes
I like the name Kieran.

Bigtoes
Congrats!!! It's a boy!! So my Princess Charlotte is still the 1 among the 4 gals in this thread,hehe...Kieran is a nice name, if your nxt one is bb gal can name her Kiera,hehehhee....

sasa
Bigtoes mentioned her antenatal class 4.30pm 15 jun...also Mrs Wong's class??? Ours is 12.30pm right?? I can't remember leh...cos memory failing me these days..

alevera,
same leh.. i also 32 when bb pop.. think will have baby shower and my birthday celebration together?? kekeke

Name ah.. i have not think of name yet.. hmm looks like slower for this 2nd bb.. opppss..

mrs yap,
i used hv a colleague whose initial was T Y. and everytime after i called out to him, i felt as if i have swore!! hahaha...... =P

i like 恩. so whether i hv a mickey or minnie, i will hv 恩 as part of the name!

sunrays, jaymickey,
so we have Princess Charlotte, Princess Janelle and mine is Princess Sharmaine

who is the other princess here?

<font color="0000ff">On names
oops... i've got a fren whose chinese name translates to Bai Mai Li... hope she's not reading this :p

Sunrays
haha... ours is the Sunday class starting on 16th June at 1230pm wor.. today u bz ah? no come online?

jaymickey,
thks for the information. currently not needing the 2nd car yet.. maybe when bb is born will think abt it again
thks!!

l'il CY
No, we are not following family names. For the geomancer/numerologist, it's also not my parents/In laws asking us to see him...but our own volition as we are not good in Chinese...

Speaking of unfortunate or "too-unique" names, we know a Shit Pui, a Salmon, a Mountain, and I just saw this dentist's name sign outside his clinic...Dr Seow Onn Ming...i'd be nervous if my dentist's name was "seow onn anything"...too rigorous in his tooth extraction/cleaning perhaps

Adan's Chinese Name is Yi Ren or "Overflowing with Benevolence".

jaymickey, stef&amp;seanbabes
Hehe..the rare princesses in sep thread... just wanna chk wif you..is your princess kicking you hard?? Cos I can feel Charlotte 'moving' all the time, but so far the real kick only occured once.. Most of the time,esp when i'm lying down, it really feels like a goldfish swimming in my tummy..bb gals more gentle ah??

sasa
Gosh, it's sun, not sat!!!muahahaha..terrible...my memory is seriously failing me!! Now at my friend's hse, today not online liao cos I've recovered frm my flu(i think)...so today I shall go out aft so many days of imprisonment at home!! Going for my mani/pedi later...maybe i can have carls jnr then,hehehe...

xuanting,
can stay over during weekday..
but if not at least must come over to my place cos i no transport..
and i got bad experience with baby @ bbsitter house..
u got any recommendation heehee

aloevera
my girl also like tat lei
sometime i sit she cry..i stand also cry..i walk off cry ever louder
wonder what shld i do? sometime i angry till i need to calm down cos my heart
is beating fast..

always tell her to say what she want, cant jus cry and cry...
What LOVE approach u used ?
I always hug and kiss her..say mummy love u..
even expecting now, i always carry her around..
wonder is it "terrible 2" is like tat ???

abalone,
my girl jus nite also wail for milk, when i make and give her, she say will
take herself..then keep crying why no milk, but i pass to her, she say take herself.
gave up..i ignored her and went to sleep..
sometime whole nite can wake up 2-3time over different thingys
bbsitter..
can stay over during weekday..
but if not at least must come over to my place cos i no transport..
and i got bad experience with baby @ bbsitter house..
u got any recommendation heehee

SarahMay
I was 30 when I had Adan too...in a way it was planned from long ago, cos I always wanted to have my first by 30 and next by 35. so on target so far...

<font color="0000ff">Xuanting
it juz sounds like 白卖力!! u noe... being hardworking yet reap no results...</font>