(2008/09) Sep 2008

Jaymickey, actually i like the Suzuki Jimny too..
so cute..
purpose of 2nd car is to ferry kids to school and myself to work.. so just a small car is good enuf.

<font color="119911">storeberry (storeberry) - The gyne doesn't provide you with the DS results immediately? Why the wait? When did you get ur DS done?

stef&amp;seanbabes (limyg) - yah, 2 doors are not baby-friendly but really cute &amp; feminine! We used to have a 2-door convertible &amp; very low, can't imagine climbing in &amp; out when fully preggers; had to sell it to get a family car last year when we started planning ahead for the baby.</font>

limay,
not going for sports model 2-dr cars. i like 2-dr cars cos the shape appeals to me. v small and nice and easy to drive ard.
not looking for low cars or anything..
just like the shape of 2-dr cars..

Jaymickey,
i love 2 dr cars since i started looking at cars - i think in JC.. i hardly knew anything abt cars then.. but somehow i jsut like the shape of 2-dr cars. not into sports cars or anything. I think Jimny should be ok la.. as long as baby can go in, should be ok..

mickeymouse,
yes estima is almost exactly like the previa. just that shd anything happen to the car, like you need servicing or something, you can't go to the borneo motors or something. that's what the salesperson told us.

flos,
i had four in the smallest avent size. 140ml max. i never never had that amt of breastmilk so the four small bottles were quite sufficient.

homeschooling,
yes. it is very demanding work. also, you need to write and prepare your syllabus and send it to MOE for them to scrutinise and approve. there are definitely pros and cons to this. in school, kids are drilled at a very young age and become somewhat exam oriented and grades driven. however, it gives them the chance to socialise and learn to work in teams and cooperate with others. not that hs does not allow this to happen. parents who do hsling will have to apportion appropriate times for such to happen.

LC,
do take care of urself, and rest well so tat u can recover soon and the little one wont hv to take medicine when mummy takes it. i have been sick for 1 over week, and still coughing until now, coming to 3weeks liao... i cough until left top rib cage hurts now.. i dunno if i shld see a doc abt the pain. =(

i also like picnic, it can fit a single sized mattress without problem! =P not tat i tried b4 la, it was my ex-colleague who tried tat coz he drove to pick up his new mattress! hahaha... =P funnie hor...

Jaymickey, ok.. Jimny is a v cute car.. but i think no power. hhee. but who cares abt powerful cars.. as long as it's 2 dr, can move, i'm happy
how much is a Jimny now?

aloevera,
hee.. thks!! i was thinking of that too.. hubby says i'm crazy. but i feel if i really can get 2 好, it's PERFECT!!
but how to make sure #4 is a boy ??

stef,
eat more meat!!! hahaha...... i heard it works. or ask hubby to go learn diving if he cant dive now. it's proven tat divers will give birth to boys! it's due to the pressure in the sea...somehow it affects men... =P my good fren and her whole gang of divers, none of the men's wives gave birth to a daughter! ham-ba-lang boys! hahaha....so funnie! n__n

Mei
I want to get the Bugaboo Bee too!!! No discounts in SG at all....everywhere u go it's selling at $999 NETT... Tats the only stroller i like so far, I went to look at it even before my 1st tri was over,hahah!! Chk out this cute video...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pUjUFpkecXk

by the way...congrats on completing yr hair &amp; makeup course!! if u have msn, pls add me [email protected] cos if u're keen, i've some lobang for you :)

aloevera,
true? last time my dive master only had a daugher le.. and my hubby will never go diving.. he is so afraid of water. i gave up teaching him to swim.

stef&amp;seanbabes:
is ur cycle regular? if the answer is yes, buy clearplan OPK to test for your ovulation day, then do the deed in 24-36hrs time. best to buy and monitor the trend for a couple of mths prior to DDay.

for more details, read up on shettles method on the internet;)

Flos,
thks for the tip.. my hubby thinks i'm crazy to have this idea. but i'm quite serious abt it. i feel somehow it's incomplete if hv a gal. but i also want my #4 to be a boy so that i'll get 2 好s. if this time is a boy, i will just stop, cos no 好 can be formed if it's a boy. but since it's a gal, possibilty of another 好 is there.. just hv to make sure the #4 is a boy, which is another 50-50 chance.

wow aloevera
if divers give birth to boy due to pressure in the water, how abt pilots???? Will they give birth to boys due to pressure in the air?
I think my hubby flies as freq as a pilot... keke
Talking abt that, my relative who is a pilot had a son last month!

Cars
Thought the previa and estima are the same, just diff name -one pi, one thru toyota.

wish: minuses that led us to get the picnic instead were: Wish has no rear aircon at third row and last row a bit cramped, esp for long distance. we need our car for malaysian trips. also picnic boot capacity is better than wish.

btw, every time i see a previa, i think placenta previa...what a name for a car ...just like how Enron was originally going to be called Enteron (which actually refers to part of the intestines...no wonder it landed up in s**t)

ava,
yesssssssssss. the third row has no blower. so it's really really hot there. my girl will perspire like crazy. regarding third row leg room, so far it's still ok for my height (1.6m) there's very little boot space when the third row seats are used. if they are put down, it's ok.

father's activities and offspring
I find my guy friends who were very active in sports tend to have girls....also I heard that the guys who were very "naughty" (i.e. lots of girlfriends etc) also tend to have more girls...maybe retribution....cos next time have to fend off the daughters' boyfriends...
Mums of girls, is that true?

mrs yap
i thot so too...swollen feet should come later..i wonder why i get it so early..what causes water retention? Not enough water? I have been feeling thirty but i do satisfy my thirst.

talking abt cars, my car's insurance, maintenance and inspection are due..and my car is 4 years old..thinking if i should change..however i need a cheap and big enough car...any suggestion?

bacon, i think cheap and big car doesn't apply to us anymore.. COE as u know is going up.. and probaby will go up some more (we guess).. plus Yen appreciating..
before you start car viewing, maybe you should check out your outstanding loan with the bank to see if it is worth to change anot..

bacon&amp;egg
umm.. u wanna check with yr gynae... thirsty n unable to satisfy thirst sounds like gestational diabetes... are u taking lotsa sweet stuff? I also not sure wat causes swollen feet but prob due to poor blood circulation. Think u shd seek doc advise early

Ava... one of my male classmate who is v v active in sports got a girl... my neighbour who jogs and exercise regularly got a boy. So i dun think being active or not in sport makes a difference.
Haha.. nowadays, girls also cheat boys... no longer only the other way round... nowadays teenage girls getting more n more scary and vain

stef,
hahaha.....i think of how u force your hubby to learn how to swim in the pool...must be very funnie! =P wow, your fren is really lucky, coz my good fren wanted so much for a girl, so she kept having boys! then no one in her diving gang ever had a girl, so she's scared to try liao..

mrs yap,
pilots i heard is more girls... maybe due to radar?? hehehe...... but i think it's all planned by God already la! just pray hard! =P

ava,
my hubby is v active in gym n workouts, and my first one is a girl, this second one, will tell u after this fri! =P

bacon&amp;egg
I have swollen feet too.. my feet looks like pig trotters.. lol. Think we need to up our intake of water &amp; reduce intake of salt.. but water retention is quite common in pregnancy, nothing much we can do about it.

MrsYap
Not sure of Bugaboo Bee's price in Australia.

sunrays
Yup.. I even asked if we have the Mothercare card, are you entitled to discounts, they say, nope, nett price, only can accumulate points. So really no choice, need to pay $999.

I used to drive a Suzuki Jimny 5 to 6 years ago.. cute car but really no power..
Now I'm driving the Daihatsu Terios (like the Toyota Rush, just that the Rush is PI), love this car, great fuel efficiency &amp; quite powerful for its size.

bacon&amp;egg,
so u take very salty or sweet food? last round, i took alot of sweet stuff, and my water retention was very bad. esp in the morning! my fingers n toes were so stiff tat i couldnt walk properly and bend my fingers!

think you shld point this out to your gynae during your next visit, or they can do a urine test for u.. but meanwhile, do avoid overly-flavored food or drinks k.. go easy on salt or sugar until u are sure nothing is wrong ok. =)

Jaymickey,
yes. i saw from website Jimny is at 59.9k
within budget.. but still considering whether to get 2nd car. cos expenses will be high

aloevera,
last time before hubby and i got married, i used to try to teach him to swim.. but not successful. he is so tall at 1.9m that he doesnt even need to know how to thread water or swim.. so i really gave up.. he got no sense at all in water..

bacon&amp;egg: High sodium intake causes water retention too. Have you been taking lots of salty food?

Storeberry: I gave in to my craving today...ate a pack of Indomie mee goreng!!! super unhealthy. now the msg is stinging my lips.

Sarahmay, storeberry
actually i am craving secretly for instant noodles. There is one brand called A1 and the bak ku teh n as well as chicken favoured ones are v v nice. I used to eat that frequently while studying in Australia. I will add pork or chicken slices... complete the meal with Korean Kim Chi... sour n apetitzing... yummy
But i doubt my hubby gonna let me buy any of those mentioned!!

ying ling, thanks! but i must warn you that i haven't done any vo work in over 10 years!

ying ling &amp; sarahmay, my colleague once brought her son's p1/p2 math to work as she didn't know how to explain it to him. it was passed around and to our horror, none of us did, either, without resorting to algebra and simultaneous equations (but that's not right cos we can't explain it to the kids). she eventually found a math tutor who showed her how it was supposed to be done.

i hear that parents who intend to homeschool their kids are required to attend an interview with moe for some form of assessment. is that true?

flos, yup i have an elder brother. his english name starts with p – is he the same person you were talking about?

momoko, i didn't study jap. once dated a jap boy so i picked up a few phrases here and there. :p

I went for my routine scan last Fri, and I saw my baby's genitals immediately once the scan started! I am having a boy! Am feeling alittle stressed, from the anticipated amount of chasing I have to do now that I will have 2 boys in the house.... sweat...

Really loads of boys for Sept moms...

Ha ha, just saw aloevera reply to Mrs Yap, my hubby is a pilot... and we have 2 boys leh... many of the pilots' wives have girls also...

Mei (meie) : hubby got the pillow at $150 at Baby Avenue at Balestier road. Here's the link to the pillow: http://www.bigvpillow.com/thera_bigv.html

My hubby is also the one going gaga over strollers, car seats, baby carriers and clothes for the baby! I'm the rational one who's stopping him from buying. Yesterday, he wanted to buy this cute little romper (cost $230) from Armani for my son's 1st mth birthday celebration! He only stopped to think when I told him we dunno how big or small he gonna be yet, so it's useless to buy that now since we can't change for another size if it doesn't fit. Plus Club 21 kids will have sale in May/june.

alabone: thanks for sharing. Hmmn, I have no idea if my baby will latch on cos I have slightly inverted nipples and not sure if my baby will latch on, so my plan is to pump out for a max of 6 mths if I can. If baby can latch on, guess can BF for longer.

SarahMay: thanks for the tips on wearing the rompers. Mothercare ones should be easy, but those my hubby bought may be challenging cos the opening is smaller.

instant noodles
i tided thru my MS with instant noodle during the first trim!!! hahahaha....... my fave is the black pepper beef noodle, have u all tried it b4??

now tat MS is over, i try to avoid unhealthy food. but instant noodle has been my fave since young... i just went to korean grocery store at kallang leisure to get some seaweed last week! =P

RXmum,
congrats on your prince!

I have been following this thread passively since I was preggy..

Just had my DS last thurs and it's a mickey for me... : )
Baby is generally in good health but slightly under weight.
Doc says baby should weigh around 500g @ 21 weeks but my mickey weighs only 406g...
So I guess I should buck up to eat more so that mickey can really grow!!!!

Skinny pig... i suppose u are skinny too... tats why... Change yr nick to fatty pig?? keke
Congrats on yr healthy mickey/... eat more so tat baby will be bigger. I heard DURIAN works... eat more durian and beef

Mrs Yap
I heard pple who is exposed to radar equipment (ie: pilot etc) has a tendency to ‘produce’ male babies. My brother who works in SIA oso kena a bb gal 5 years ago. And my hubby who was serving NS then was in the wat radar dept. He was blabbering that most of his officers have daughters.. hardly any boys. So, I thought, ‘Ermm.. den mine will be a gal’. But neh.. end up up boi oso leh.

BB weight
My bb weights ard 300+grams at 19weeks. Bt huh? u mean the bb is supposed to weigh 500g at 21 weeks??
A big jump leh.. sure or nt huh?? :S

I dun haf craving to eat more leh..
I read that preggies shldn’t have the mentality to eat more cos they are eating for 2. They just need to eat 200 more calories per day. For me, I dun haf craving for food.. .i onie eat when I am hungry which is ard 3 times a day nia lo…I hope I am normal?

Hi Mrs yap,

I weigh 47kg before preggy. Now @ 21 weeks going on to 22 weeks, I weight 54 kg... So I guess all the weight is put on me, rather than mickey...
Yup, heard that durian is good for baby, so already gobbled down loads of durian last weekend.

Goldfish,

My bb also weigh around 300g @ 18 weeks. By right, bb's weight will increase tremendously during this period.
But doc and friends asked me not to worry so much about bb's weight cos their weight will 'jump' alot during last trimester.

xuanting: mothers' day is on 11 may.

skinny pig: same as u i also have been following this thread passively since i join and i also weigh 47kg before preggy. Now @ 19weeks le, but i last weigh was 27march 48.5kg.

I'm going to my DS tommorrow. Kinda nervous...

skinnypig,
my baby weighs 339gm at 20weeks 2days.and Sonographer says it's a v good weight.. urs at 406gm at 21 weeks sounds pretty ok to me.. dun worry too much. dun gobble down too much durians too.. if baby dun put on weight from the durains, u will

i was 44kg before pregie. now i weigh 47kg.

stef, you all are so skinny.. i am in the 50s range... my baby was 310g at week 19...

2nd hand car is good if you have lobang to ensure that car has no major accident before..

thks to all who replied abt my last query
at least i knw i'm not alone.

i've always wanted to stay in a 1-bedded ward when i deliver at TMC but heard tat the cost is quite exp... as i'll be going for c-sect n this is my 1st bb, i really hope my hubby can stay wz me when i'm in hosp... i've heard abt the free upgrades to a 2 bedded ward for those who chose 4 bedded but is this guaranteed? sigh, i'm in a dilemma really. i dun mind staying in a 2 bedded if the cost difference is substantial but i worry tat i maybe 1 of the unlucky ones who dun get the free upgrade ... anyone can advise?