(2008/09) Sep 2008

xuanting,
nope. my kids aren't child models though i did think of that. but i'm super laid back and have not gone to think about that yet. that was a nice compliment by the way. thanks!

was going through the recruit section just now and yes, there really are lots to do should i decide to leave teaching. in any case, i will finish up this year, and take half a year's no pay leave next year and plan what i would like to do.

yingling,
so who will be helping you to look after your kids? have you been looking after by yourself this while? i guess once a woman has a child, the child usually takes priority. there are so many instances of how kids change a woman's life. l'lCY is one great example i know! hehe

Alabone - That means your bond was really quite long if you took the teaching scholarship. I only did my PGDE at NIE in 2000. Were you doing a degree in drama ed as well? That means you were under Madonna and Charlene? Did my Adv PGDip in Drama & Drama ed with them. My tcg friends often ask me whether can leave the service and survive. And I always say, "Of course can!" In fact the pay can even work out better. Hahaha.

L'l CY & Alabone: Wow! So amazing that you girls know each other for so many years, and that you're going to have a kid in the same month! So exciting!

Ying Ling: Guess it's occupational hazard. Can understand. You are also very amazing! You went from engineering to post-pro/creative work! How did you do the switch? Also, you teach!!! very good!

sarahmay,
yes. my bond was for 5 long, dreadful years. thankfully, i've fulfilled it so i can quit when i want to. nope i wasn't under those two you mentioned. actually it's true that the pay works out better than teaching in schools. moreover, sch is sooooo stifling at times. must adhere to this, adhere to that. so you did drama too! no wonder you're can dabble in lots of different work.

actually, her son and my daughter are the same age. so in year 2006, we were both pregnant at the same time too. we delivered 1.5mths apart. this time round, our edd is actually only days apart!!! rather amazing ya??

saw the link you gave, is that only available in japan?? if so, why did you show us then????? arrrgghhh. i wanna have some of thatttttt!!!!

alabone, thankfully my mil has just retired beginning of this year so she is able to help us out now... i looked after my daughter by myself for 1 year plus only lah... my children will definitely be my priority... so have to sacrifice certain things lor...

SarahMay, haha, thanks for the compliment... the switch was not that difficult in my case cause I have always liked to do powerpoint presentations since secondary... it was a gradual shift from powerpoint presentations, to doing my own wedding video... one thing led to another and i started investing in equipments and realised one day i should earn some money back and started freelancing while working... when i got pregnant, i finally quit my job and started to do this full-time... as for teaching, luckily i have been doing tutoring all along for a one or two students... it is also only recently then i decided to take it up more seriously... think better be prepared for my children as well... rather than pay lots of $$ for my children's tuition next time... haha...

sarahmay
yuuuummm....can air mail or not???kekekek...

eih, ok, i hope he doesnt eat up the dough :p

alabone
yeah, CY has been friendly to Nat, but so far, it has been unrequited leh...you better give your girl a good talking to....my boy has been soooooo sincere... :p

anyway, all teachers children born around the same time one lah...the rest of the year too stressed hahahahah...

YingLing
was your hb an engineer before?boring compared to photography leh....

mei
that is really fun! you do that for fun, personal fulfillment or serious career consideration? (your hairstyling course i mean)

sarahmay, i'm not talented, i'm just a little loony! haven't started reading or singing to the baby although i do talk to it from time to time. i'm so looking forward to the time when we can hold our babies in our arms and see their reactions to our voices.

ying ling, i did mostly english vos and only one mandarin one. what subjects do you teach now? i hear the primary level math these days is scary...

I'm back after a long day of shopping for baby stuff! Felt so accomplished after grabbing so many baby items from Robinson, got Pigeon, SebaMed, NUK items and collected my Medela PIS from my colleague. Now only left with buying the baby bath tub, car seat/carrier, stroller and settle the bedding stuff. Also did a "stock take" of the clothes we got for our baby and I was shocked I overbought the mittens, socks and way too many rompers for newborns! haha ... shopping for baby stuff gives me a high these days!

storeberry and sarahmay: I've been cooking my own Jap food when I'm hungry ... chawanmushi, cha soba, miso udon, prawn tempura and basic sushi. ;)

storeberry: you can get the cha soba and the sauce from Daiso or NTUC like SarahMay said. But for the sauce, I add some water, a bit of bonito granules, sugar and some jap cooking wine and simmer for a while and serve when it's cool.

shazz
dun worry about those mittens. you will realise anything that comes in pairs (mittens, socks) always have a way of disappearing after a few wash.and rompers...o dear, the milk stains will kill you, by the time we are done, most of our rompers are designated to 'home use only'...

diaper bag: after reading through all your inputs on ze bag, i've decided that my existing "dustbin bags" will do liao. compartments are usu wasted on me and since i am mostly dressed in rags, anything too structured or remotely expensive will just make me look like i've just nicked it. hubby (compulsive packer) seemed rather interested though. maybe we can get him a boy diaper bag while i carry bb in the nice sarong sling. saw the moms in mind (right name?) range at united sq just now. they're lovely!

shazz, what sort of soup stock do you use for making chawan mushi? i tried making it once and my dog ended up having it as a snack cos it was just too weird (taste & texture completely off).

l'l CY (lilboymum): really ah! haha ... I have a thing for rompers on babies! I got loads in plian white from Mothercare, can bleach them if kena milk stains?

xuanting (xuanting) : I use those packet Kelp Stock granules which I got from Daiso. The box is green in colour, with picture of the kelp on the front. But getting the amount of water right is the tricky part, it depends on the quantity you're making. You have to trial and error and see how much water suits your liking. You can also use those sold at supermarket, the bonito flavored ones, as the stock. I use the bonito one to cook lots of stuff, as the soup base for salmon udon, as the soup base to cook crab meat, egg and spinach like the one at Sun and Moon restaurant at Wheelock. ;p

shazz,
nooooooooo. cannot use bleach on bb's clothes. it can irritate their delicate newborn skin. best is to use bb detergent but i didn't do that. just use the normal detergent but put a very tiny amt.

l'lCY is right. the mittens/socks somehow lose its other half and bb might regurgitate/poo and stain the clothes so the change will be pretty frequent. so, there's no such thing as OVERBUYING! HAHAHAHAHAHAH.

wow. cook own jap food huh. idea for me! wanna try all different recipes now. yummmm!

l'lCY,
yeah. i gave her a talking to each time she spurns CY. but i can hardly understand korean you see... we'll just see what happens during the next playdate. perhaps she'll see him in a different light.

hey, you're right. teachers can only give birth 'seasonally'. hiakhiakhiak

yingling,
good that you have help then. but even if my mil were to offer, i'd REJECT in a flash. *shudders*

i can't wait to hold bb in hands too. but i know that once they are out, and with the constant feeding and crying, i'd want to stuff it right back into my womb.

alabone (alabone): thanks so much for the enlightenment! hehe, as u can see, I'm still very clueless about baby stuff! yeah, got excuse to continue buying! lol

okie, gonna sleep! nite!

Hi Alabone/SarahMay/missus: SATC? Quite ok for the first couple of seasons. Did u enjoy it? Did u all do some test in FACEBOOK wrt the character u r most similar to? Mine is Miranda Hobbs!!

Sam...I wk in the same industry as her so I empathise with her frustrations wit clients and competitors:)

SarahMay: U hv mentioned Spain again. Is ur hb a Spaniard? Why Spain? Why not Portugal?
Nah, its too early to tell which city. I like SG, the food, my family and frens, but my hb doesn't seem to like wking here. Getting him to transfer bk is like...argghhh...

u in advertising? Which A were u from? and u were in teaching as well? What a major swtich?!!! WOW!

xuanting: yes yes! me too. DO u subscribe to SCV Channel 48? I just love watching HK soaps!! Who is going to teach ur kid Canto next time? Leslie Cheung? I like! Actually, I'm a fan of Beyond lah...

Do u do emcee jobs for companies?

Storeberry: Yeah, I think Naraya bag is not a diaper bag, but I supposed the bigger ones can be used. I have 2 Naraya bags at home too!

My bb has been kicking me alot today, boy!! OUCH! I think it's cos after the facial/massage I had, it got him a bit energetic.

Yingling: ww, it's quite a drastic change for your hb right? To become a photographer...very brave indeed.

Shazz: me too! I lurve those rompers to bits!!! So cute!!! u got the long-sleeved or short ones? buttons in front or at the bottom?

Lilboymum: so how many rompers must I stock up ideally? a dozen? They do get furry after a couple of washes right?

Alabone: u mean u r still reading those Recruit pages? I've stopped flipping thru. recently a couple of headhunters rang me up for some regional positions. SarahMay: r u interested in working in HK?! I think with your ad background, u can easily find something to do in HK.

Or perhaps, u r going to become a SAHM too? It's quite tempting to be a SAHM in Macau/HK actally
I hope I won't go to India, cos I'd really need to courier the entire container of vaccines there liao. went there on a biz trip 2 yrs ago and met my ex-coll's son who is styduing there. He was speaking INglish and Hindi!

Alabone/ l’l CY: Hehe…matchmaking your kids so early? As for teacher’s having babies around the same time, yeah…now when I stop to think about it. It is so true!

Ying Ling: It is great how you are so entrepreneurial…turning a hobby into a money-making channel! Tutoring is great cos it gives your more flexibility and time to spend with your kids!

Xuanting: I know what you mean! I can’t wait to hold our bbs in our arms too! However, lately I’ve been wondering if I can really cope with crying in the middle of the nite and wake up and walk out of the room to meet baby’s needs…. Also, primary level math isn’t as scary as Mother Tongue or Science in my opinion. But then again, that is cos my MT and Science aren’t exactly tt fantastic! MIM slings: oh yes! I think they are lovely!!! Which range do you intend to get? Cotton? Sateen? Batik? Thai Silk? I’m deciding between cotton and batik. Friend told me sateen and thai silk not as comfy for kids.

Flos: Spain cos got Barcelona….Got show opening there I think. So possibility of getting transfer. Hubby as Singaporean Chinese as you can get! Never had a thing for ang-mos! Grew up eating rice and climbing trees in my CCK kampong, you see? I was in advertising eons ago. So don’t think have much relevant knowledge left.

Was at French MNC, Euro RSCG. Heard of them? I got job at Saatchi & Saatchi doing regional work for Philips then. But since was only 20, decided I shd have gone to study. On hindsight if I had pursued advertising…maybe I will be way richer now. Hahah. And I can’t work in HK…my Cantonese sucks!

I definitely have to be SAHM – works out fine cos I’ve always wanted to do so actually. Tho now I am getting a bit of jitters thinking about whether I can cope being home with kid whole day long! Thinking of starting some playgroup for community kids if I am SAHM and volunteering storytelling/drama stuff at places if I can. Tt way can get to spend time with kid as well as keep in touch with my prof craft. Hope can get freelance projects to do still and earn some independent income. My hubby is fine with supporting me, but I’m not.

Btw, I dun really think Macau is tt swell for raising kids. The air quality sucks! India – hmm! Indians speak really well tho, minus the accent that we are unaccustomed to. For me, I am just worried about a heavily Cantonese-accented English!

JAP Food: Shazz – you are so hardworking! I just crave jap food esp for its presentation. Did think of making sushi but the thought of all that work puts me off! Hehe. Thanks for the tips on making the soup stock. Ready-made soup bases tend to be salty. I mean, which Jap pre-made food isn’t right?
Jap curries are also yums! Oh! The link to the bento boxes - I found while watching JAPAN HOUR on CNA last night. Haha! Supposed to have won some Grand Prix of Bentos competition! I just love their food presentation…..

BABY CLOTHES & Stuff: Yikes! I haven’t even bought much! Except a set of 7 rompers from Mothercare! Help!!! I LOVE babies in rompers….find them irresistibly cute. Tho my girlfriend thinks they are disgusting! Haha. Anyone went to check out Mothercare at PP? they were having some pre-reno sale a week ago.

SATC: I shall go and do the test on FB. I'm sure I'm def not Carrie nor what is that sweet-as-diabetes girl called?

SarahMay: Alright, so it's to pay pilgrimage to Sagrada Familia cathedral, Antoni Gaudi, Miro, Picasso, Dali, Tapas, Zara, MNG, Women's Secret, Loewe or Lladro?! I love Barcelona too! Great architecture and people. The Catalunyans are very dressy for sure

Din realise u hv switched careers. Of course, Europ RSCG. Have fren working there. I work for the Interpublic Group of marketing agencies in greater china.

was about to ask if ur putonghua is good cos u need to comprehend contracts, correspondences and presentations in written Canto. HK ad agencies: no need to speak fluent canto. i dun either. but u need to know how to read simplified chinese to hv edge over ur HK and TW colleagues. it's good money, but dog's life.

Think Lim Sau Hoong... My idol. I want to be like her one day!

I love being a SAHW, not so much SAHM. I dun thnk i am good at changing diapers and bathing my bb.

starting playschool was one option my HK fren did in southern china but the biz soon went bust. just not sustainable, even though she drummed up a lot of publicity.

when u mentioned getting freelance projects, do u mean in SG or Macau? If Macau, u absolutely need to know Canto and POrtuguese to clinch projects. Unless u r talking abt doing jobs for SG and US copanies.

Yeah, my hb is fine with supporting me too, but just edgy if i dun work.

Dear, the air quality in India sucks big time too. and the retail scene there is simply pathetic.

Flos & Srarhmay: I love Barcelona too!!! I like it better than Madrid because its romantic & laid back! I like the people there too!

Wow , shazz: you cook quite abit of Jap food yah? I must make a trip down to Daiso soon.. So the cha soba & sauce at Daiso only costs $2??? And I must grab some Kelp Stock granules as well!! Anything else to buy from there? I am excited!! Kekek...

shazz,
no prob. happy shopping!

flos,
nope. did not take the test. shall go take it and see who i am...

aiyah.. i'm not being headhunted leh. so of course have to flip through recruit la.

sarahmay,
the sweet as diabetes girl is charlotte. so uppitty and self righteous...

Flos - Spain? Definitely Gaudi! Love his art and architecture. My putonghua spoken is ok.I can sound like Mainlander if I really want. Been mistaken for that as well as being Taiwanese. I just know how to fake it if i really want to. Written is sucky. Haha. Finding work in Macau or HK as teacher for me not a prob. Freelance work-wise...can manage to get work with local English web company. Need minimal Cantonesese knowledge. Haha. I have a few ideas for 'creating' work for myself while I'm here...but see how those play out when i move over for good next year.

Starting school in China? Not easy! My SIL did so too...but think was quite rough in the beginning. Need to understand that the legislative structures are very diff...and biz culture has many hidden nuances to negotiate.

India air quality is erm..yeah...not v good either. Another ball game altogether.

Storeberry: Just watch the sodium level hor! U've been eating many instant noodles right? Hehe...I just bought Indomie Mee Goreng.

Alabone: Oh yes! Charlotte. Thanks!
sunrays - Don't worry! I'm sure your charlotte will be an angel...not anything like the one from SATC!

I dun have a picnic. But my friend with 4 kids has it...and says it is great! Cos it can pack the whole family in plus the domester helpers!

SarahMay: Your friend has 4 kids! Wah, peifu. Thanks for the feedback. Good to hear it's good. Am also wondering abt other models. Heard the Estima is another good one cos it has auto sliding doors.
Do you drive a non-saloon car?

Hello Everyone!

bbmouse
I think Ava has got a picnic.

So sad, these few days I have been experiencing pain on my wrists.. it's the worst when I wake up, I even feel numbness. I went to read up, apparently I'm suffereing from carpal tunnel syndrome.

Carpal tunnel syndrome is caused by an increase in fluid causing swelling around the channel of nerves (the carpal tunnel) in your wrist, leading to tingling, pain, numbness and lack of coordination in your fingers and hands. It usually occurs towards the end of pregnancy and is quite likely to recur in a subsequent one. It can also continue, or sometimes develop, in the days following the birth of your baby.

thanks, shazz. will try again with the bonito one. sounds yummy!

flos, is channel 48 in cantonese? i hardly watch any soap tv but i love cantonese songs. i was really upset when dear leslie lept to his death. so sayang. but i guess the beyond lead singer's case is even sadder cos he was so young.

i don't do emcee jobs la, don't have that kind of crowd charisma. i only come alive when no one's looking. eh, your friend's son yis speaking yinglish now?

sarahmay, i think we fear exactly that which we ourselves were weakest in! i was completely hopeless in math; could understand and even nod enthusiastically while the teacher was explaining, but once she was done, poof! all gone. have the pri sch cl2 and science gone all scary these days too?

i didn't realise that moms in mind had a range! all i noticed was a rack of very nice fabrics in assorted colours and prints. i like the batik ones. what material are those made of?

BBmouse,
Hv u ordered ? I tot of buying the 3rd set from left tat u posted. Any idea if the suit(on the left) is a dress or not (cos i see the name is dress 2 way pack). My doc say mine might b a boy so i wanted to buy if it's a boy's suit.

Item# V65001
Color : C (Blue colour)
Amt : JPY 1090

Mei: I have been having numbness on my right leg when I sleep, at least twice I will wake up with numbness (pins & needles) on my right leg, is it because of lack of blood circulation?

Sarahmay: Yes mummy! Yah, I think this pregnancy I have taken a liking for salty food, have to watch my diet!

xuanting
Babycentre has a few natural remedies for us to try.. I'll try it out & see if it's better. If not just need to tolerate as it'll normally disappear after giving birth.

http://www.babycentre.co.uk/pregnancy/antenatalhealth/physicalhealth/fingerpainandnumbness/

http://www.babycentre.co.uk/pregnancy/antenatalhealth/naturalremedies/carpaltunnelsyndrome/

storeberry
Numbness of leg I'm not too sure.. but I found this info from baby centre regarding pins & needles on one side of the leg.

http://www.babycentre.co.uk/pregnancy/antenatalhealth/physicalhealth/sciatica/?_requestid=745981

I just came back from Robinsons bought some Avent bundle pack.

$105.00 pack consists of :
Philips Baby Monitor
Avent Airflex Newborn Starter Bottle Set
Avent Baby Bolster

$78.90 pack consists of
Avent 4-bottle breast milk storage containers
Avent Airflex Bottle
Avent Baby Moisturiser
Avent Magic Cup
Avent Compact Bag with changing mat & insulated pocket

The Avent steriliser is also going at 20% off.. but I did not buy, if I buy now.. I'm wasting the warranty so I guess I'll only buy when it's nearer to my EDD.

Shazz
yes..i love rompers on lil bbs too.

sarahmay
think your friends find them disgusting coz it looks like undergarments worn outside?

Flos
well, it depends. you are moving overseas right?then you have to consider the weather overseas too?

i had 2 boxes of bb clothes for the first three months, and they were more than enough. coz we didnt bring bb out that much. and i wasnt too fashion conscious in dressing my boy...in fact, they were all hand me downs. i wasnt keen on buying anything for my bb in the first 6mths, dun ask me why. but after that...i went bonkus...think it;s mroe fun to shop after that. coz then you can buy toys, books, outdoor play garments etc....

you can start off with 2 dozen of more of basics i guess then add on the more fanciful ones as time goes...

mickeymouse
yes i heard picnic is good. but you arent concerned about fuel consumption right?

think hb will never buy 7 seater, coz i will never drive it. in fact after i stopped working and we sold my car, he recently bought a smaller car coz that's the biggest i will ever drive (used to drive a hatched back).

Floss & SarahMay: I got the set of 7 short sleeve rompers from Mothercare too! But I only managed to find those with bottoms at the bottom. But the good thing about Mothercare ones is that the neck area, u can open up till it's really wide, so it'll still be easy to slip baby's head through. I know of some new mums who are not comfortable with doing that cos newborn's neck is still not firm yet. I also got the new born starter kit, which got 3 sets of the short sleeve rompers, long sleeve sleeping suit, hat, mittens and booties.

storeberry: yes I love shopping at Daiso! But I tend to get carried away, so hubby always set a budget for me, say not more than $20. If you're planning to cook chawanmushi, they have pretty and cheap cups with lids there. I simply love their Japanese wares.

Experienced mummies, how many milk bottles do we need if we're not breastfeeding exclusively? I intend to pump out breastmilk and feed baby with formula for night feed.

Hubby got me a Big V maternity and nursing pillow today. Supposed to help support my back and provide relief for my legs and belly when I sleep. Been sleeping with 3 pillows plus my Mogu! Hubby was complaining my pillows are taking up loads of space on the bed! ;p

Also got a Maxi-Cosi Cabrio baby carrier from Baby Avenue. They're giving 25% off for Pigeon products too, but range is limited.

Now I'm left with getting the bedding and bath tub with stand from The First Few Years. Strollers we more or less decided on the STOKKE Xplory, just deciding when to buy it.

Metro is selling the the Pigeon Steriliser and food warmer set for $125. is that cheap?

wow, so much postings to catch up...

me urgently looking for IT programmers who can do shopping carts without the need for payment gateways.... anyone??? thanks!

xuanting, will contact u if i ever do need another voice over talent... i specialise more in secondary maths... i do teach a couple of PSLE maths students.. the primary school maths these days are slightly different... their questions are not difficult to answer if we can use algebra but the thing is they do not know algebra... so a lot of thinking goes into answering a question... focus is not so much on being able to do things technically... there is a very bad side to this... a lot of my secondary students (not all lah) are not able to do simple additions, subtractions, multiplication and divisions without using the calculator... this affects their speed and ability to do algebraic manipulations easily... simple things like -9x+4x can get the wrong answer.... well, just my opinion...

SarahMay, ur idea of starting a playgroup and becoming a storyteller is good... think you should be able to earn quite some $$... I am also looking for suitable programmes for my daughter who is 17months now... was looking at Zoophonics, Shichida, and some others... also was wondering if i could start a playgroup with a group of expat mums of various nationalities... idea is we take turns to go to each other place and the "language" of the day will be the mother tongue of that family... so hoping that my daughter can pick up other languages... haha... i am such a greedy mum... anyone interested??

mickeymouse,
the picnic is quite roomy. definitely can fit in a lot of pple and also car seats. but i've heard that it guzzles fuel. if that is not really a concern for you, then it isn't too bad.

mei,
poor you. i've heard of several pple with this prob. think a colleague had it and she resorted to acupunture to alleviate the pain and it worked.

wow. seems you did quite a bit of shopping too. i remember when i was expecting my first and had so much fun going around to buy stuff. if steriliser is on sale it's a good buy. the motherhood exhibition will be on in early june. perhaps if you get then there will also be discounts. i can't wait for the exhibition to grab some good deals.

l'l cy,
i'm same as you... once nat became older and was looking more girl like, waaah, my shopping just went haywire. now i'm trying to exercise CONTROL... just spent lots of money on gymboree stuff and also SKR shoes for nat ONLY!

shazz,
you're planning to do what i did previously. i latched my daughter on in the day and sometimes in the night i gave formula. for that, i didn't have a whole lot of bottles. i had about 4 and it helped me through. that was only because i didn't have a lot of milk no matter how i pumped. so after each pump, i'd keep it for hb to feed when he can or for someone to feed while i'm eating dinner or bathing. if you are planning to breastfeed for long, perhaps you might want to invest in more bottles or the lasinoh bags a lot of mummies buy. but i suppose there is no real hurry to buy now. can always be easily gotten. but then that's just me. i'm just very laid back.

the maxi cosi baby is a good. my bbs used to use that. now they are using those for todds. can't remember what it's called tho.

your hb really very sweet leh. envious!

i think food warmer and steriliser at that price is a good buy. i bought the Avent iQ food warmer and it cost me $99...

yingling,
then your girl can pick up several languages. what nationalities do the expats come from?

Mei: Thanks..

I'lCY, Alabone: The Pinic guzzles up petrol? Is this in comparison with other 7-seaters? It's a 2 litres right?

Ying Ling - Actually, I'm already working as a storyteller...just need to to do more of that cos I've spent a bomb on the storytelling resources. HAven't worked enough to max ROI. Hehe. However, I wasn't thinking much of starting playgroup to earn money.

Of cos you can start a playgroup with other expat mums. There is a homeschooling community you can get in touch with even in SG that does organise things like that. Have a friend who's part of that. can link you up if you are keen.

Xuan Ting: Pri Math and science have been reduced in content BUT are now more demanding in their syllabi cos they have more higher-level thinking questions - more application than mere knowledge recall. It is not that scary if the basics are there from the start.

Like Ying Ling said, there may seem like an imbalance between technical and applicative skills in Math. Math is still easier to handle than Science in my opinion. Pri Math - we don't use algebra. However, tt is why we teach a variety of other problem solving stratgies e.g. model drawing, trial and error, elimination etc. There is a great series for the lower Primary kids to start developing these skills, published by Teachers' Production.

Science, however, can sometimes test the child's EL mastery more than subject mastery. That is why often you will find kids who do not do well in English not succeeding in Science as well. However, I think you should not worry too much about the future now cos MOE does also have a thing about revising the curriculum rather often. who knows what it will be like when it's time for our kids to start schooling.

Nonetheless, there are ways to effective help children master the skills and strategies. So dun stress!

Mei - Is your carpal tunnel syndrome also due to perhaps long hours at the desk, typing away? You must take care! Btw, your Avent bundles sound like a really good deal!

Shazz - My SIL gave me a tip for putting on the rompers. She said to stretch out the neckline over the baby's face instead of trying to put it over the head, like how we wld wear our tees. It helps with reducing the need to support the neck as well as makes it less scary for the bb.

L'l CY: Yeah....maybe they look like undergarments. But I think it is way better than letting bbs be dressed in just a top and diapers. Yucks! And I dunno how some ppl can think that it is cute to have little girls wear too-short dresses and their diapers peeking out. I think it is plain obscene!

hi xuanmummy:

updates from my DS:
nickname: stef&seanbabes
EDD : 4 Sept
Hospital : TMC
gynae: Dr Eunice Chua
Weight : 339gm @20weeks 2days
Baby's name : Sharmaine Ng

abit disappointed that i did not get a boy this time. maybe i'll try for #4. so that i'll have 2 'hao's

Millie: I went to the link to check out the item you wanted. I have the pink set for my dotter so can explain a bit. There are 2 ways to wear the PJs - either button up which will make it look like a romper, or button only in the centre row, which will make it look like a sleep robe. I think the blue set is for boys.
I have ordered the first batch, but got more orders coming in, so will order for you in this second batch.

hi mickeymouse,
yes. i think the picnic is 2 litres. my hb drives a wish but our car is 1.8litres. it is essentially more fuel efficient because it is lighter in comparison to the picnic which weighs 200kg more. we can go a distance of 13.8/litre.

Alabone: I see.. Actually I don't mind the extra "weight" on the picnic, am afraid I'll not be used to a "light" car cos I've been driving continental cars all this while.. Think need to go test drive to feel the difference. Do u hear any feedback on the Estima?

shazz
Where did your hubby buy the pillow from? I think I need it too as I wake up with aches & pains.

alabone
Yesterday my hubby used acupressure & it somehow reduced the pain & yesterday I slept with my hands hanging over the bed as recommended by the website. This morning I woke up without any numbness & the pain is not as acute. I'll monitor.. if it gets worse, I'll go for acupuncture.

Yes, I am having so much fun shopping for baby stuff.. I figured there'll be the motherhood fair as well as GSS coming up soon so I'll hold till then to buy those electrical stuff like steriliser, breast pump & food warmer.

SarahMay
Thanks for your concern.
Don't think my carpal tunnel syndrome is due to prolonged typing as I don't need to be at my desk all day at work.. I go out for appointments too.

For stroller, we have decided to buy the Bugaboo Bee. Still looking around for a good car seat for baby.. the Combi one looks pretty good. Any reviews?

Alabone: Really? My hubby went to the showroom last week and the agent didn't mention anything! The queue for a Picnic is 3mths long. It's true the car model has been around for 5 yrs now though.. Even gave us the price list and brochures. Is WISH a parallel import like the Estima? No? I'm extremely blur on this..

mickeymouse,
we went to test drive the estima last month. very responsive engine and though the car looks big, is not clumsy and rather good to handle. i like that it is really spacious, comfortable and also it has sliding doors so that if you park in a narrow space, there won't be probs with opening doors. it costs a lot more though. if space and being 'big' on the road is what you're looking for, estima can be considered.

yes. wish is the parallel import. but they are bringing in that next month on. i guess the salesperson wants to do your biz. so i'm not at all surprised that he'd neglect to inform you abt the picnic being phased out.

mei,
that was nice of your hb. glad that what the website mentioned helped.

ya. better to hold off buying the big items till there's sale. usually during those times, there are bundle deals as well.

you're soooooooo lucky you can get the bugaboo bee. i like it very much. but too ex la. my hb will never never agree to it... i love the combi car seats too! very very colourful, comfortable and soft. i love the material. but we bought the maxi cosi instead so can't give you any reviews on the combi one. how abt searching the net for reviews?

Alabone: Aiyooh.. Sales people.. Fail to keep customers informed..
We're also looking at the Estima. It's a parallel import also right? Do you know if they will bring this in? Or they think it's in direct competition with the Previa?

alabone
My hubby fell in love with the Bugaboo Bee & he wants to buy it on the spot when we saw it last week but I stopped him. Told him to buy when I'm on my 8th month or so.. he's more enthusiastic than me when it comes to buying all these strollers & car seats.. lol. Yup.. I was attracted to the Combi car seat because of the soothing colours, it looks cooling & comfy too.