(2008/09) Sep 2008

SarahMay: but I was told u need to wait till bb has completed all the jabs? But of course u can do it in HK which is near to Macau. Hey, are u going to HK this trip. I would like to recommend this damn nice maternity shop at Lan Kwai Fong to u. It's called Linea Nigra, near california/97 at central. Awesome and tasteful maternity apparels. Some bb clothes too.

My hb is in SH this week, so I've asked him to buy some cheap H&M bb clothes there.

Flos
Toh Yi somewhere along BT lah...Hillview is upper bt timah, but most people dont think it as bt timah...if it is considered bt timah, then woodlands oso considered bt timah liaoz...coz it's just a straight drive down

SaSa, Ava, J&Smum, aloevera,flos...
heee. yup.. i guess its fated that we are meant to be tog ba! Let the baby bond us even closer.. And yup.. this will be our first baby..

Flos, my FILs wanted to buy maplewoods oso.. but kena scolded by my MIL.. heee... too exp... Instead they bot somewhere further up bukit timah.. nearer to batok... where u planning to go after baby's born? I told hb i wld want to move to melb one day.. i love that place..

xuanting.. any bags that u fancy can liao.. as long as u can put all ur stuff u need.. My sis is using a nice and big shoulder bag from SK2.. hee. free gift.. and when they go out with their helper, the helper will carry backpack.. Hb is keen on getting one for himself as well! hahaa. he so CONFIDENTLY said that he WILL bring our baby out ALONE when I go shopping..

Flos: I also won't consider Toh Yi as Bukit Timah. Maybe Upp BT. Sunrays also didn't mention it's an outlet, it's my guess only, let's wait for her to clarify. Cos usually when people go shopping in Italy, it'll be Milan or Rome, seldom Florence. But Florence houses a big Gucci (as well as other brand) store. They may not even call it "factory outlet" per se..
Yah, go check out the Neverfull. It was (maybe still is) the craze for a long while. It is alwasy OOS and people have to queue to get hold of this.

I'ICY: Hahaha.. I like your description. And JB also can..

eve,
i do have the same problem as you. I cant bend down anymore to wear my undies..had to sit on chair or bed to wear..even sitting down, i cant wear both L/R at the same time, need to do one by one

Gg for my pedi tmr...i cant trim my toenail properly and at shower, i cant scrub them anymore...stomach painful when i bend down...

i also cannot really walk with my legs close togeher..walk like penguin now..

Actually, Bukit Timah is a very very long stretch. ;) starting from near Newton all the way to near Diary Farm yah?

Flos: you must be very stressed about being labelled a copycat in your household, diaper bags and names all got limitations. Poor thing.

Mrs Yap: I just read your hubby's encounter with the security at the airport. I think countries which are subject to alot of terrorism act is very strict in their checks. When I was going and leaving Israel, the security was super tight too! I was told, they used to strip the Malaysians and Indonesians for checks years ago. My tour mate bought some dates syrup and it being fragile, she didnt check it in, they did so many X-ray etc on that bottle! The rest of us all had our luggage checked through and through! So we actually got to witness how neat or messy everyone's lugguage is! haha

crayonshinchan,
baby will definitely bond both of u even closer, but it's the adjusting to parenthood tat takes time n effort. my hubby n i fought many times over BB when she was small, coz he doesnt hv experience n knowledge at all, n even forgot abt her presence! hahaha... sometimes close the door too loud, switch on the light in the nite, talk loudly in the room...etc. all these things need time to adjust lor! =P maybe u can say tat i'm very fussy lor, coz i'm very protective towards my girl one!! =P now beta liao, coz no strength at the end of the day, and my hubby has improved alot over time by now...

Maplewoods, i like too, but hubby said abit too old to invest la... kekeke...

Oh, u like Melb? i tink i will go mad if i stay there, coz i hv to go there with Hubby for his training every year for a week or 2. i always roam on my own while he works. after the trip, i realised tat i always miss SG... =P

xuanting,
any bags will make a good diaper bag, for me, i like those with many outer pockets!
LEFT can slot milk bottle,
RIGHT can slot pacifier n hankie,
FRONT can slot diapers and wet tissue,
BACK can slot changing mat, biscuits n toys...etc.
hmmm.......tat's my ideal DB!!! kekekeke...........

Flos
Yup.. saw the LV diaper bag at the LV taka store.. initially wanted to buy it, in the end, found it so bulky so I bought the LV Neverfull GM instead, cheap & good.
I asked my friend to get me the Le Sportsac diaper bag from Japan.. the Le Sportsac here does not carry the diaper bag range.

bbmouse:

yes, I scrolled back to read her posting 124: "All bot frm Florence's Gucci outlet store so it's cheap!!" Nevermind, am sure there are outlets in Italy...No, I went shopping in Florence. It's just as good as Rome and Milan
Even saw Joey Wong shopping there. But that was more than 10 years ago when I was still in england.

Crayon: yeah, if u wanna enrol to MGS, then Mapelwoods is fine. move where? really depends. last heard hb's employer might be prepping him for South Asia after spending a yr or so in SG. curries and naans...and even proposed Nam. well, phos and springrolls.

I really wonder where Toh Yi is...

Bacon&eggs: same same...can't bend, can't tie shoe laces, can't cut toe nails, can't squat.

crayonshinchan,
one of my frens got HMFD from her son... so i tink it's a YES, we adults can get it from kids who has it.

u beta check with ur gynar riteaway and hear wat he/she has to advise u.

J&S: u r funny...i'm a singaporean of course
just a bit out of touch cos i was in and out of SG for some years. my hb too...total of 11 yrs abroad. i only hv a flat in SG. once sold, i've nothing left here

crayonshinchan
Dun panic first. incubation for HFMD is between 3 to 7 days. FIrst symptoms include rashes and/or fever..ulcers in mouth and otehr gland areas.so just wait and see first. might not have infected you or anyone in the class...

me checked out coz my boy went over to ILs place recently and i saw that his cousin, my niece has rashes around the mouth. scare me to death. ILs claim it mozzie bite...but i scared lah, so waiting these few days to see if she has sick with HFMD or not loh....

Flos: Toh Yi is somewhere near where Bukit Timah shopping centre is, where King Albert Park MacDonalds is as well.

crayonshinchan: be sure to wash your hands before and after you have any contacts with your students and the things in the class. Keep a look out for any blisters on your hands, mouth etc.

crayon: be absolutely careful not to kanna HMFD! My adult gf got it! I was so worried that i might get it cos I visited my GP on Mon.

Mei: ok, tks! i'll check it out tomorrow at LV Taka. Neverfull will soon be full of diapers and milk bottles.

What a slow Fri...everyone's on leave or MC...without their respones, can't move things...

Mei: Hah! We recommend the same diaper bag! I bot mine before the Neverfull range came out. So just missed it.

Flos: Wah! You even went back to re-read the posts??
You were at Florence and never go to that big outlet store?? Florence is famous for it leh.. But it's a bit way out, and you prob need to self-drive.

thanks, stef&seanbabes, crayonshinchan & aloevera. is it impt for the bag to be waterproofed inside?

flos, who's joey wong?

toenails: so jialat? can't sit down and draw your legs towards you?

crayonshinchan, think you'd best carry a small bottle of hand sanitiser with you at all times. i hear this is the most serious outbreak here ever?

Flos, nah, cos' I read that you're totally lost in SG and that you're planning to leave SG after delivery. So I tawt you're headed back for your home country or something....

Ava
We went for the hyno-birthing course for our #1, so ours was a drug free birth, no epidural, nothing. Just me hopping around the room as pain med. Then I bf since day one for 16 months. Come to think of it, I should demand for a big gift since I save so much money. But I 'wasted' $200 for the tub of water for requesting for birth suite #6 with the jacuzzi tub for pain relief. All ready with my bikini, in the end, I touch and walk away. Too cold for my liking.

Stef&seanbabes
So super excited now, waiting to find out the sex of your #3. Your darlings so cute. I love their single eyelid, so sexy. My friend saw Eunice Chua a few times, found her not very caring, especially when she lose her baby so stop seeing her.

Wow, you ladies are into diaper bags. I just buy bigger bags and dump everything inside. Since I bf, not much to bring too, just diapers. Cos I think it looks funny to carry diaper bags after the babies have outgrown them.

Sunnysunny, I like Eunice Chua. She was my gynae for about a year, but becos' I was still not able to conceive, I was quite frustrated, so looked around to change to another gynae. And surprisngly, after changing gynae, I got preggers within a month. Anywayz, I think Eunice is very motherly and caring, just that her Q is always so super long and her consultation is very chop chop.

xuanting
I think they have to turn on the heater for a while before the water is nice and warm and since I'm the only monkey requesting for it probably throughout the entire day, the water was ice cold. I dipped my toes in and run away. Plus the midwife on duty not very helpful.

bbmouse: no lah...i just scrolled up and look for sunrays on the lefthand column. she only appeared once today, so it's not diff to pick up her posting
i thot i really spotted the word 'outlet' mah...

OKOK! I've checked out Neverfull. Not my cuppa tea

Check these out...mickeymouse!

1365407.jpg

1365408.jpg

1365409.jpg

1365410.gif

1365411.jpg

1365412.jpg

bbmouse
Yup, we're neighbours! Where are you moving to next year? I'm moving to Sixth Avenue.

Flos
You very bad.. tempt us with pictures! Lol..

Last year, I went to France & Italy & bought around 6 bags, 1 wallet & 1 card case from LV, Gucci & Prada. That's why this year must 'guai' a bit & kerb my spending. Now my shopping is more for baby.

bbmouse: dear, i was just a budget-conscious student back then, backpacking with my buddies and sleeping in dorms in pensions. we never thot of venturing to the outlets back then. only shopped at those beautiful boutiques.

FYI, i've not returned to Firenze since, so how to hv the luxury like you to self-drive in Italy?! maybe after my bb is older, i'll take him on a Roman tour

xuanting: Wang Zuxian, that Taiwanses starlet attached to QiQin.

J&Smum, that's good to know. I heard she's a very standard procedure kind of gynae so not my type.
I like Paul Tseng for the #1 reason that he do not do episiotomy, pro-natural birth and he's open to having birth plans. That cut thing is my #1 fear...

sunnysunny: that's something i'd wanted to ask mommies here. What is a diaper bag for? Is it insulated? Is it cos of the extra straps that u may hook to the stroller? Can i use some other big bags? diaper bags, hmmm, look kinda...

SUnnysunny, I had wanted to switch to Paul Tseng after Eunice, cos like I said I was frus about not having conceived despite seeing her for 1 yr and Paul Tseng was well-known in this field. But was paiseh to switch to him, since they are all in the same clinic. Thank goodness I conceived right after I left her ....

Flos
Diaper bags comes with extra features like a baby changing mat, pockets with elastic tops to hold milk bottles in place, compartments for diapers. However, it's not really necessary. For me, it's just another excuse to buy yet another bag.

Mei: Quite close to you..
Is this your first pregnancy?

Flos: My diaper bag is similar to the first gucci one u posted. It's brown leather instead of white.

It's nice, bbmouse! I'll drop by LV Taka this weekend, as mentioned...My SIL's one is more like a tote bag.

U see that last Chanel DB? It's nice right?

Mei and bbmouse: u 2 are neighbours!! Lovely..I think SarahMay and someone else are from the same pre-school or church was it?

Mei & bbmouse: Are u both working now, like me? What line are u in? Are u educators too?

Flos
Yup, I'm working & nope, I'm nowhere close to being an educator. I'm in the construction & engineering line but in the management division. I'm actually working in my own family business.

Flos
Diaper bags just have a lot of separated compartments for you to stash bottles and etc. Some Allerhand designs have insulated compartment and some have rings for you to hook to stroller. Neater and easier to locate baby stuff. Some comes with a matching changing mat. I bought one on impulse and regretted.

J&SMum: Another good thing, Paul Tseng's waiting time is very short, longest I ever waited was 30 mins. So when is your EDD?

Flos: The pic of the Channel one is too small leh. Can't really tell. And you don't want to get white - the diaper bag is supposed to rough it out. Hey, another plus point on teh Neverfull is that after you stop using the bag as a diaper bag, it can be a fashionable bag too. I'm a FTWM. Am in banking.

Mei: Was hoping it could be your #2, then I can consult you on the childcare centres nearby..
Hee.. My girl will be 18mths old when #2 comes along..

sunnysunny
I also wasted money on the birthing pool! I was in labour ward for 12 hours, waiting for dilation, but nothing happened, so went back up to room, then went back down again after another dunno how many hours...that time i had insurance so was not too worried. this time we didn't get insurance cos application lead time before conception was way too long...

SunnySunny, my EDD was originally 24 Sep, then my gynae said baby's growth didn't correspond to that (cos my mense cycle tends to be longer so inaccurate to base it on last mense date to calculate EDD). Thus, the EDD was pushed to 2 Oct tho' she said it should be slightly earlier than that.

bbmouse
in banking...last time i had a wish to be a private banker...dunno why...I guess it seemed glam. My PB friends always look impeccable and have nice branded goods...
not like me, carry Charles and Keith bag till it almost fell apart...lol

OIC, so there are FTWMs here. I get the general feeling that many of the members here are having a great time flashing Shichida cards at their kids at home!

Yeah, small it is, and it looks light...I dun think it's available in SG though

Have u all tried J.Co donuts at Raffles City? Any good recommendation?

<font color="119911">Hey ladies – wow, out for meetings today, and back to see 2 pages of archives

SarahMay (sarahmay) – I colored my hair yesterday! Couldn’t stand the roots showing anymore, so I used one of those home DIY kits…I was careful not to let the mixture touch too much of my scalp thou, and left it on for a mere 15 minutes. Anyway, achieved the color I wanted –it’s a darker shade of red now &amp; easier to maintain.

Hah, on push pressies – I am really low maintenance, so nothing really that I want. Or if I want anything, I rather get it myself than wait around for hubby to get it (am an impulsive shopper)… Lucky him!

Boy/girl – hmm….2 people I met in the space of lunch today told me that I look ‘radiant. So have to be a girl’….still clueless. Cant wait for my detailed scan on Monday!!

Flos (flos)- I live in bukit timah as well, and went to NJC only cos I could wake up really late and walk to school! Not a logical reason for selecting schools, but yah, NJC students is not ATAS at all.

bacon&amp;egg (baconegg) – are u quite big already? I am still doing my own pedicures and no problems squatting &amp; bending yet. But maybe I will balloon within the next 1-2 months!!</font>

Hair colouring
My friend said it's OK to colour hair after 5th month...counting the days man...my grey hairs are like silver highlights now!

ava: banking is not in good shape now is it not? UBS, Citi, Bear, lehmann, merrill, goldman sachs all suffering...

hehe, I was in banking for 4 years before leaving for China in 03. yes, my gfs spent their salaries on Birkins and Kellys, and they had to borrow thousands from others to tide them over.

wore impeccable but frumpy Blum suits every day. i've thrown away 20 Blum suits recently, as well as my mouldy prada and gucci handbags.

i'm into creative, hip and funky stuffs now. or trying hard to be

Bigtoes: radiant is not equal to expecting a girl. I'm radiant too, someone commented in the lift today. And i'm expecting a mickey.

i really kowtow to u...coloured ur hair...the dye stinks the high heavens right?

Flos
Yeah, I know...before I started this job in March, I was this close to getting a job in Merrill in communications. but then they froze recruitment...cos of the financial problems etc lah..

Flos (flos) - hah, nope, actually the hair color was really mild, somewhat fruity. I colored my hair 30min before hubby came back, and he didn't even notice any smell lingering. I usually leave it on for longer (30+ minutes), but not this time.

Meanwhile, I am in banking as well - been in banking all my working life, but moved on from the bank to a consultant to the banks for way more decent hours