(2008/09) Sep 2008

push gifts -
for 1st pregnancy - received a brilliant rose bracelet from hubby.
for 2nd pregnancy, i received a pinkish mother of pearl face Cartier watch.
for this 3rd pregnancy, i received a pair of Destinee earrings from hubby

Flos
I dun think i need a kate spade diaper bag... jus any nice and user friendly diaper bag will do. I dun usually spend on exp bags... Heart pain the $ although my hb in US can get cheaper rate.
Unless its really something useful and beneficial.

I didnt know there is such thing as Push gift also... keke
No wonder my frd told me her hubby gave her a diamond pendant for being pregnant.
My hubby going to be back tml morning le...
My push gift request from him would be... Please treat me nice and fulfill all my food cravings... keke

Flos.
yet to feel any kicks yet
sometimes can feel gaseous movement but not sure if its baby or gas.
v brief... i try to feel it when lying down but also cannot feel any significant movement. Cant wait to feel my baby

Storeberry, Shazz, SarahMay
Me looking forward to feeling the baby
This morning i suddenly thought of how the pregnant Elizabeth feel when the pregnant Mary visits her... Her baby (JOhn the Baptist) leaps inside her womb when he knows the Messiah is visiting him... keke... So amazing... Baby also got feeling of the exterior environment. Be sure we behave ourselves so as not to affect bb negatively

jessi,
we are talking abt glutinous rice wine, "nuo mi jiu". it's totally a diff thing from bai mi jiu, coz bai mi jiu is stronger.. =P

stef&seanbabes,
atas is a malay word for upper, which means upper class/high class in local context.

i think one is really atas when he/she really carries him/herself with substance n feels good abt being true/naked to others. and doesnt need any other worldly materials to feel secured. i've seen many humble lawyers or doctors n bizmen, and can really feel at ease with them sharing abt things tat are real n happening in their lives, like family, frenz, work, loved ones...etc.

to me, tat's really atas from within... =)

oh, i was watching CNA just now, and saw the pastry chief tat u all talked abt last evening.. i think he prepared some olive n strawberry pastry? looks yummy... =P i think his name is piere hemme or something...(sorry i'm not good at rmb-ing names anymore...kekeke)

Wah...so envious of your push gifts...i think the only push gift i got was a yell in my ear to "PUSH"...sigh..think we'll just be using a normal backpack for diaper bag. then hb can carry it, not me!

l'ilCY
I can totally empathise with your hb's plight in sec school. lucky for me sec 3 and sec 4 were a blast. I still meet my classmates for lunch and gatherings at least 2-3 times a yr. we're quite tight as a class, cos a classmate passed away and i think the vigils and memorials etc bonded us quite tightly. even tho we were in schook, like 19-20 yrs back...!

Our school has a rep for creating career women rather than wives and moms type, but in our class, we have at last 25+ kids between us already...
haha...

Any mama visited UBI for the baby stuff as yet? Issit really cheaper as compared to shopping mall prices? I wonder shld I wait till GSS or not lo
:S

Push Gift – I am requesting for a FOREVER FRIEND BEAR bt my hubby said I got too many bears in the house liao.. nto buying for me. HUMPZ!

hi mrs yap,
like you, i also didn't know abt push gifts. i'm not going to ask for anything also. hb's been very sweet and nice. driving me everywhere and fulfilling all my cravings. that is really enough for me.

Ladies.. something funny to share on my hubby.
He is currently checking into the US custom now.
Got some problem with the Medela Breast Pump and this are his sms to me.
1. I check in the breasts pump and the custom open up and see. Inside got a gel and in the end I go one big round and check in again
2. Just now all the custom pp come and see
3. Cos going thru the X-ray and the guy dunno wat it is and ask other pp come and see. Cos inside got motor and bottles and they thought its a bomb!

aloevera: oh.. so atas is malay word.
abt push gifts : my push gifts are always combined with my bday gift and xmas gift and valentine's day gift.. imagine 4 in 1... that's not too much isn't it

Ava: you are darn funnY!!! And your DH "siam" very fast! Haha..

Yah, I doubt hubby will buy any push gifts cos he is the practical type unless I "ten" him to buy.. kekeke... I think I will just buy a big bag to put in, regretted not buying one more of the naraya diaper bag when I was in BKK last yr... Any recommendation for diaper bag?

Shazz: That's a good deal!! I would have grab it if I have known! haha... So coincidence that you & sarah may know each other! The world is so small...

Mrs Yap: Your DH must have an unforgettable experience! Kekek...The custom people never see breast pump before? :p

mrs yap.. wah.. ur hubby is so funnie..

crayonshinchan:
is tanjong katong pri school a good school ? i will be moving somewhere there (Tembeling road) end of this yr. Moving cos i wanted my gal and boy to enter TaoNan Pri school. but the place where i'll be moving to is slightly off 1km from taonan.. but within 1km from tanjong katong pri and haig girls.
so thinking of a 2nd choice if my gal is not able to get in TaoNan.

Mrs Yap
OH NO!!! Your poor hb had quite an adventure! Hope they didnt make him strip down his pants and shoes to check for detonator etc!!!

Practical hbs
Storeberry, my hb bought me a set of side tables for valentines day many many yrs ago...not v romantic, but v practical. plus the money went to deaf & dumb charity..

Anyway, can't complain lah, he threw me a surprise b'day party 2 yrs ago...I've never done anything like that for hm

Stef&Seanbabes
4-in-1 present sounds like a good idea leh...! Nice taste he has too

Speaking of coincidences
Sunrays used to work with my sister...as we found out one evening when chatting on MSN ...hehe...

xuanmommy:
Thanks for including me int he baby table. My gynae is Paul Tseng. He delivered my girl too. He's very pro-natural birth, that's why we chose him. I remembered I was all over the birth suite until the mid wives were about to handcuff me to the bed.

Push gifts: Don't request, just walk into the boutique and buy it. Hee..ee you get what you want without having to drop any hints. I gave up hinting cos hubby very good at acting blur.

Atas school: I don't think sending children to Chlitern or Eton is consider atas, to each his own right? I used to do free lance work in pre-schools/childcares and to be honest the quality of teachers, the way they treat the kids and the hygiene of the place are scary. I've been to this center where before you step into the toilet you smell urine. Eeeks!

goldfish, i think u mean kaki bukit? the name is the industrial park is called Shun Li Ind. i used to work a few streets away from there, and they indeed hv quite a showroom there. but their prices are more or less the same as those @ the shopping malls unless there's a promotion.

but u are allowed to leave your contact behind so tat they can call u when there's a promo! so that's quite good lor! =)

storeberry!!! i wanted to buy the naraya diaper bag last aug when i went to bkk too!! haa.. but hb said,"aiya, next time u get pregnant then we buy ok?" .. then i gong gong said "ok" .. now come to think of it. very dumb leh! haaa..

tanjong katong supposed to be a good school and there are seriously MANY different nationalities there. Last yr they appeared in the news during the P1 registration period.. cos pple pitched tents and queued up even though there was thunderstorm. But Tao Nan oso good school..hee.. air conditioned hall.. Haig girls I am not so sure though...

haaa. stef&Seanbabes, my hb is worst! he doesnt buy me presents for anni, birthdays, v day, xmas day etc. Thats for the past ermmm 13yrs lar... So I guess his supposedly push gift for me will be 13 x 4 in 1... heeee...

Mrs Yap
So funny.. but I guess that they are more cautious now with regards to customs issues.

stef&seanbabes
I used to study in Haig Girls' School.

My friend bought her stroller & car seat from Baby Kingdom at Kaki Bukit & the people there told her there'll be a sale in June, so we can check it out then.

Storeberry, AVA, Meie
Ya lor... i replied him saying, they never see breast pump before meh? THey dun have wives ah...haha. Anyway hubby is boarding plane soon and thank God not required to strip la... keke
I will be taking half day leave to clean up my house. Dun wan him to see the mess when he is back tml early morning.

Mei: Hee... We are neighbours.. Me not staying with IL now, we rented a place.. I prefer not to stay with them.. But I send my girl and maid there sometimes when no one is at home to jagar the maid..

crayonshinchan,
push gifts- i think it's nice to hv. but if dun have also ok. happiness does not come from material items.

ur marriage have lasted for 13 yrs!! wow.. that's really something to be proud of. Mine will be only the 5th anniversary this June
and already, we have gone thru so many quarrels!!

regarding school- still hv a few more yrs to think. We'll see how it goes..

Mei, if i hv only girls, i will definetely put my girls in Haig girls as it's just like 5 mins walk from my new place. but i hv one gal (4 yrs) and a boy (2 yrs). dun wan to go thru the hassel of choosing schools again when it's my son's turn. i will just put my boy wherever my gal is. so hv to choose a co-ed pri school

sunnysunny,
my gynae is from same clinic as ur gynae. my gyane is Eunice chua. she delivered my 1st and 2nd baby. 3rd baby will be delivered by her too.

going for DS and gyane visit tmr
looking fwd to know baby's gender. no mood to work today le.

Ava
haha, i know which school you are from oredi. yes, your school has the scary reputation.the girls who 'roar' like men during school cheers?

but your school not atas lah. just a bit intellectual elitist that's all...i know of many who attended who arent that well off.

goldfish
you really bear siao ah!!!??? how many bears do you have in your collection now? a thousand?

stef,
i can feel your excitement! coz i've been telling frenz ard me abt my DS next Fri, and Joy just come flowing thru my own being! u must share with us ok!! =) i wish you a smooth and fulfilling scan tmr!

l'il CY
Hahahaha...roar like boys....maybe maybe..even now, i can beat some guys at their yum seng....hahaha

Some can be atas lah...and i have some VERY rich classmates...but quite humble still. like someone said earlier it's the "wannabes" that are more stuck up

Hi HI,

XuanMummy, could you pls update my details? I'm expecting a Prince (he flashed his unmistakeable birdie at all of us at the 17th week scan). Was a little disappointed cos was really hoping that #3 would be a girl (my DD is real affectionate, compared to my DS) but well, most importantly, I'm praying for a healthy and happy baby boi, who will be obedient and filial to us. Thanks!

BB Gender: Boy
Hospital: Mt. Alvernia
Gynae: Cathryn Chan
Edd: Very late Sep

Stef&Seanbabes, I'm currently staying within 1km of Tao Nan. But even then, I must pray hard for the twins to get in, cos usually when u wait till the last phase (1KM diameter), the places are quite few. I was from SCGS so it's no prob getting my DD in there but that's all the way in BKT Timah and I don't want to separate the twins, so Tao Nan's the best choice.

As for push-gift, hubby got me Rolex after I delivered the twins last yr. Don't think I will ask him to get me anything else for this pregnancy cos' with 3 kids, I would rather any $ be channelled back to them. In fact, I hardly spend $ on myself nowadays, and whatever purchases I make are mostly for the kids.

J&SMum
A ROLEX!!!!!!

Sigh...I just asked my hb to take over new car loan repayments so he can say he bought me a new car for carrying the twins...no such luck LOL!!!

Was speaking to a freidn yest who has twin sisters. she said the best thing their parents did was to separate them into differetn schools (at sec level) so that they could be their own person. Now they are still really close and best friends to one another...! Hope the same goes for our twins too!

aloevera, ur DS next Fri? so far, any hints from gynae on what baby's gender might be ?
mine still unknown. totally unknown. last visit at 16 weeks, baby was not in correct position to see gender. sob. and OSCAR scan at 11 weeks was too early to tell anything.
i really hope i can bounce and smile during the scan tmr. thks for ur well wishes

Ava,
really?? u can roar like boys? wah, like tat you must warn your gynae n midwife during labor liao.. =P

i screamed so much during the first part until i was so exhausted tat my eyes rolled.. and i just didnt hv any more strength left to squeeze my hubby's hands and i hv to ask him to squeeze my hand instead.. i was like a poor baby screaming for help on the bed, and my hubby just kept sayang-ing my head! hahaha!!! so funnie lor! coz my hubby is not the expressive type...

ya, true, it's those wannabes who are making the most noise abt being atas... kekeke!!!

aloevera
With epidural no need to roar lah
save strength for pushing ahahah, altho i suppose the roaring will help with the pushing in some way.

aloevera
maybe you should try hypno birthing and a doula's help if going for natural (no drugs) again...i hear it really helps...

can't remember whom, but one of us on this thread has done this before right? with four trimesters...refresh my foggy memory pls!

stef,
during the last visit, my BB's position was not facing us, so gynae said it's hard to see then. but she did try to "see" it from the bottom-up view, and we did see "something" there, but she said tat might be the umbilical cord... we were like, wa lau!!!" hahahaha..... =P

in the end, she also gave up and said beta wait for the DS 4weeks later la... we were like arrrrghhh... =P i'm more concerned for hubby coz i know he wants a boy this time! he even said i will get to stay in 1-bedded room if it's a boy! i know he is joking la, coz he knows i will reject it, coz i rather spend the $$ on the kids!

just like J&Smum, i seldom buy things for myself since i noe i'm preggie again! i rather save and bring the kids to tour when this second one can walk. my girl who is 20mths old enjoyed Perth alot when we were there last week, n i'm so happy tat we made the right choice to choose Aust. she loves the lambs n kangaroos on the farm there. =)

J&Smum,
so ur twins are one gal and boy? lucky you! ao what made u want to hv the 3rd one?
for me, it's accident

congrats on ur mickey!! i'm hoping my 3rd baby is a mickey. cos i find boys easier to look after.
much better appetite. i dun hv to run all over the house chasing him with a spoonful of rice. but for my gal, it's different, i hv to plead and beg with her to eat and when she was younger, i had to chase her round the house with a spoonful of rice

my boy is also v affectionate. i think it really depends on the child's character whether or not he/she is affectionate. who knows, maybe ur 3rd one who is a boy turns out to be as affectionate as ur gal ?
i'm also a twin. i studied in same Pri and Sec school as my twin sis. but when we entered JC, we chose different JCs
finally, i dun hear pple calling me by my sis's name..

lilboymum: hmm, better not reveal too much lest my ex-principal comes after me!

crayon: yep yep, that Tg Katong Pr is supposed to be very popular amongs expats who live in the East, and whose companies have no int'l school allowance for them. It's a real steal for these angmohs. I saw the maids queueing up for their masters and mistresses last yr!!

TPY has some pretty good schools too right?

stef&seanbabes: hey, Taonan would be a better school than Tg Katong IMO. If you're moving to Tembeling, then most likely u can get into either schools, I suspect;)

I've asked for diamonds too, but thought since I'm not into jewellery, I might want to change that to an exotic tour.

aloevera: you're a SAHM? You can catch CNA? I wonder how the deserts are at Mezza9 last nite!! must ask sunrays...Actually, can visit his patisserie in Tokyo too

ava: u sure are FUNNY!!!! " think the only push gift i got was a yell in my ear to "PUSH"!!!!!!

Your ex-classmates are really close-knit. I only maintain contact with them via FACEBOOK. Many of them are shunning renuions cos they hvn't found their soulmate or haven't got any kids yet. Social stigma?

sasa de mouse: do u think busy and famous docs like Dr Cheng will rush down to deliver in the middle of the nite for us? Or does he normally ask u to book an appt with him for c-section or induced birth?

Mrs Yap: why are the customs officers surprised to see those breast pumps? Need Mr Yap to demo?!!! MUAHHAHAHAHA!

Bbmouse: See!! I know the concentration of 'elite' schools around that area
Good for u then, u dun find to fend with the volunteers nor donate any dollar to the school to get enrolled.

Diaper bags...u read my mind well. I already spotted one LV bag online but wondering if the LV boutique here sells Diaper Bags at all. Chanel's Cambon diaper bags are known to be used by hollywood stars too.

Mei: did u see LV diaper bag in the stores in SG? Must I go to Paris or HK for it?!!!

Whoa...so many Bt Timah dwellers in this thread...that makes many of you millionaires!! kekke! Must hv made a pile in the last property bullrun, eh?
But actually, based on my knowledge of BT, there are only houses, which cost over $3mil at least. There aren't apts/condos within that vicinity right? If yes, it'll be off-BT liao, like Bt Gombak, Bt Batok?

sarahMay: sure thing, please add me, but I hardly log on to that a/c in the daytime.

I haven't decided on my push gift either, so fret not! Hey, u mentioned "Just have to pray that bb timing is 'zun' and his leave will coincide with it." Is your hb going to be posted back? My hb has spoken to his bosses and HR and they are working to transfer his 'headcount' bk to the SG Regional Office, meaning he still needs to fly OUT OF SG regularly, instead of fly OUT OF SHANGHAI, his current RHQ...but it's better than to be based far away from wife and babe.

FYI, that school that I mentioned, or so I was told by that fren of mine, doesn't give kids homework. Do u think it's true? No homework? Just play and play? Hmmm...what a great school!!

Actually, atas schools = good schools. I never thought JCs like, say NJC or TJC as atas. They are good schools though.

Scholars, diplomats, ministers: hmm...been working with them and find that they are really intelligent creatures, excellent memory, honest/righteous...but not all are dynamic and charismatic. Something is still missing...better dun talk too much here, in case I get myself implicated

sunnysunny: I am tempted to just walk into the LV boutique and purchase the bag, that's it! Anyway, my credit card bills are all borne by my ah lao...

Chiltern and Eton are supposed to cost more, therefore only the rich can afford. When only the rich send their kids there, it becomes an atas school.

crayon: u need to push your hb for one push gift.

goldfish: why ask for a plush toy as push gift when u could ask for a posh toy? KEKKE!

It's close to lunch time...mommy is hungry yet again.

aloevera, I had also wanted to take the twins to Perth this yr, after they turn 18 months, but that was before I knew I'm preggers again. Now, got to wait till #3 can walk, which is probably next Nov-Dec ('09)....HUbby & I want to take them somewhere where we can do self-drive and that they will be exposed to nature i.e. sheep, cows, orchards and all, so either NZ or Aus wld be good.

Wow...didn't knw so many mummies here also ask for pregnancy gifts...tot I was the only one who is always 'demanding' pressies!! Haha..
For my birthday and for being pregnant, I got a Chopard Happy Diamond watch and a LV bag frm hb.. Push gift i rather he buy the Bugaboo Bee stroller for baby..

Diaper bag...I'll be using a Gucci diaper bag, only cost $280!! It's a huge canvas bag with leather handles..Also bot a pair of Gucci Baby leather loafers,didn't knw boy or gal at tat time so bot white color...very cute!! Waste of $$ i knw but the shoes really very cute!! All bot frm Florence's Gucci outlet store so it's cheap!!

aloevera, J&Smum,
wow.. u all really good mummies.. i still continue spending $$ on a coach bag and a LV bag during this pregnancy. wah. u all make me feel so guilty.
this time, dunno baby's gender yet. so hv not bought any newborn baby's clothes. maybe tmr, after DS, will go buy newborn rompers. saw Parkway mothercare having sale. the 7-pc romper set at 50%.. must grab them after tmr's DS

Flos'wah your post is a like a summary of all our posts LOL!!
So lucky to have DH take care of credit card bills...hehe...I guess my mom did me a disfavour when she drilled it into me to be financially independent from my hb! still, probably better this way...sometimes I dun wan him to see my bills anyway!

ava,
i did hv my dose of epi in the end at abt 5cm dilation! wa lau, just when i thot i wanna be a real mummy to go thru REAL labor... >__<

well, after the epi took effect, i was like," darling, fetch me my glasses, switch on the TV, pls go and play me some music from the CDs...etc" hahaha...... the midwife also amazed the BIG change in me b4 and after my lovely EPI! =P

Flos!!!!!!!!!!! how could u hv replied so many mums and mtbs in one reply??? i always have problems rmb-ing who to reply after reading all the new posts and it's my turn to post! =P so how did u do tat?? replying to 13 ppl up there?? =P

oh, i come to work quite late one...... so was able to watch him on CNA just now.. =P

Stef&amp;Seanbabes, my twins are fraternal so I don't think anyone can ever mix them up
Gor Gor looks like me while Mei Mei looks more like hubby. #3 was not an accident, but just a blessing which came early. We struck bingo on our 1st try around our twins' 1st yr bday, when we had actually thought it would take ard 6 months before we got lucky.

And you're right. My boy eats just abt anything (I can't for the world of me, think of anything which he doesn't eat), whereas my DD is a very fussy eater, who spits out almost everything. It's such a nightmare trying to feed her. Becos she doesn't take as much solids, I've to make sure she takes Pediasure to supplement her diet. But even then, she's still taller and heavier than her Gor Gor. How old are your #1 and #2 now?

Actually, I'm really very worried about having 2 boys. Heard and seen so many cases of boys not being as filial. U know, even for my hubby and my frens' hubbies, after they got gf, and get married, they tend to be close to the girl's side, neglecting their own parents. On Vday, you can see all those young chaps, still fresh-faced, in secondary school, splashing $ on gifts and flowers on the girls. So heart-pain, if I were to know that my sons spend the pocket-$ I give them on frivolous items for girls....I know I double-std lah, cos I had enjoyed such gifts from bfs before, and I also wouldn't mind my DD being lavished with gifts from admirers. But sons, diff. ... and I also think if next time they seldom come home for dinner but spend all their time with gf/wives'/PILs....Reckon that I am thinking too much?

aloevera: I guess as much that u come to work late. me too. I saw that my boss is on reservist on 18 Apr, so I dilly dallied until 9.30am when my booked cab arrived at my place to pick me up

I'm quite a multi-tasker, albeit not quite perfect and accurate one. As I reply here, I am also answering phone calls and replying to emails! I also lift my head up to talk to colleagues nearby when they ask me questions.

Therefore, u notice I tend to miss out some key points every now and then, and dun really follow the rules of grammar!!!

flos
Toh Yi also near BT lah..the only hdb near that area hahaha...

i thnk there are some condos there if im not wrong?but i must say, i hate the traffic at BT..some taitais are really bad drivers, they uturn at 10km/hr into the first lane with approaching vehicles travelling at 90km/hr...sianz...scary place to drive for me.

for normal upper management, you must have intelligent ones, but not too many charismatic ones. these are reserved for the very top few positions in the cty. we cannot have too many Machiavellis around leh...

aloevera
me too .... had epi after could not dilate properly...

Re: Boys and girlfriend/wife
I think it really depends on bond between son and parents. Can't help them spending money and time on girls lah...I mean u'd want that as the girl right?

my DH says he was taught a very impt lesson by his father...you can spoil and treat the girl, but never oversell her to your parents (e.g. say "she's soooo wonderful and the best thing in my life etc") so that will appease parents who may be feeling neglected. then, when married, you must be the person to bridge the wife and parents...as in don't be stupid to take only one side. that way wife will not be angry or resentful of MIL and MIL will also love the DIL...he is a very good practitioner of this advice i think

About spending money, he went overbudget during our first yr of dating...cos we had suppers all the time at Denny's at HV (near NUS mah) but then, he also learnt to budget properly after that
that's why no push gifts.... lol

Flos: We went to see the LV diaper bag when we're looking around for one. It comes in the mini lin colour, and one other colour. It looks like a cabin or overnight bag - a bit bulky and it costs more than 3k!
I bot the Gucci one cos I saw angelina jolie and brad pitt carrying it in one of the fashion covers..

J&amp;Smum,
my gal is 4yrs old and my boy is 2 yrs old. this is their pic
1364956.jpg
1364957.jpg

my gal is abt 15kg now. my son is abt 12kg or more. my gal is tall and slim.. my son is rather tall but rounded
i love to see his flesh

my hubby would like a gal this time round. he says, if u hv a daughter, next time we will gain a son-in-law. but if u have a son, next time, we will lose a son. hmm.. i guess it's quite true nowadays..

J&amp;S mum
i think you are lucky to have your boy so 'guai'..think most boys arent like that.

for my boy, hahahaha...eat ah!!! forget it...

he hates meal times, i cant beg him to eat one. he will either vomit it out or simply refuse. i dun chase him around to eat, coz it's futile.

one incident...i returned to work when my boy was 5.5mths old. he totally refused the bottle. he went on 12hours without milk. only managed to get sme nutrients from sucking his fingers i think. cannot spoonfeed, refused his cereals...weight dropped from 10th percentile to 3rd percentile in one month, and by his 8th month chekcup at PD, he's gone off the chart...

i stopped work after he turned 1 year, coz too mych stress. he needs many nightfeeds (was bfg and PD advise me to feed at night coz he wouldnt take bottle in the day), and i wake up so early to work...

that is my boy for you...

i believe boys listen to wives after they are married..haha...coz hm hb listens to me :p but that to me is foregone oredi, so i just take it that my son will be married and his wife's property next time...

stef&amp;seanbabes
Your daughter is about same weight as my son...phew. was worried about his weight, cos the kids on my 2004 thread are all about 20kg! But then, with my son's energy and running about, can't expect him to keep on much weight!