(2008/09) Sep 2008

<font color="119911">wow, so many baby boys and only 4 girls confirmed
Wonder if the ancient chinese gender prediction calendar is accurate then!

On mani &amp; pedis - I am still doing my own. Can't stand the fumes in the salon &amp; only used to go once a blue moon for french manicures. Meanwhile, I so want to touch up my hair color - have not colored my hair since I found out I was preggers, but the roots are showing! Evidence is inconclusive whether the coloring would seep into the body &amp; harm the baby...so undecided what to do!

On having the kid mix with other kiddies from elitist background, i would rather have a good mix, rather than have my child grow up being materialistic &amp; judging and befriending people based on their postal code.</font>

<font color="0000ff">Flos
haha... ya lor... hhmm... mayb not tat he doesnt care.. but rather.. he believes more in a balanced diet.. if can dun take supplements or med.. better still.. muahahaha....

i'm expecting a boy. should be more or less confirmed le. still waiting for detailed scan on 28th.. muahaha..

errmm.... not sure leh... xuanmommy didnt update it..

Flos,
hehehe.......no la, i'm actually talking abt confinement period, i've stopped all alcohol once i knew i was preggie! but i drank so much during xmas n new yr's eve, so i was terribly guilty... =( luckily my gynae assured me tat my BB is fine!

crayonshinchan
Most pumps come with their own bottles. Yes, you will need an adaptor for US models. Just bring to hardware shop/sim lim etc and test out which adaptor works.

At times my hb and I also have conflicting ideas on where to send our kids to in future.

my ILs are the ATASfied pple. They kind of look down on pple who study in polytechnic (when their own son was from poly) and my BIL thinks that pple who studies in neighbourhood schools are LC aka low class!

*rolls eyes*

wow, the thread is moving so fast! I got lost in all the educational stuff!

SarahMay (sarahmay) : I think you got the wrong person. I didn't comment on shichida as it's alien to me! haha. But I do agree with you that it's more important to impart wisdom and spiritual gems to our baby. =)

I didn't go out and get a special bible story book for my baby. I got a paperback, Kid's Bible Story Book by Jesse Lyman Hurlbut, from Crest for $5.78 many years ago cos I was serving in the church's nursery and wanted teaching materials. The stories are short and easy to understand, although there are no pictures. I will get those with pictures when my son is older and can read.

For music, I bought instrumental christian hymms/songs CDs when I was in Israel, as I want to play that for my baby when he's sleeping at night. I like the slow melody cos they're so soothing.

I almost forgot to share that I felt my baby's kicks yesterday! I've been feeling his movements but I wasn't sure cos they felt like gas in my stomach for the last 2 weeks. Then last night, when I was changing my sleeping position to the other side, I felt the bubbles in my stomach, then I placed my hand there and there, I felt a fast nudge against my hands! I was so excited I had problems getting back to sleep!

atas people
actually i find the people with lousy attitude are usually those who have not really gone that far in the social ladder. a lot of time, they transmit the kinda insecurity on their own children too.

i taught in an atas school before. taught also children of ministers and CEOs. most of the kids are really nice, decent and polite kids. the not-so-nice and atas ones are those from somewhat middle-class background who are struggling to be 'rich' themselves.Not all who stay in big, expensive houses are rich, many are staying in their parents houses, living off their paretns..so...

so shoots to those atas people. just take it they are too insecure about themselves or their families ... you really dun want YOUR kids to mix around with these people, dun you? :p

bbmouse, did u change ur nick? heee...
anyway, pigeon bottles are also BPAfree rite?

OK! Now I realise I have a lot of catching up to do!

I need to get my list ready also cos my ATASfied BIL is returning for a hol in June. Prob will get him to buy some OshKosh from the factory outlets..

crayonshin
We got the same type of in-laws.. *roll eyes*

I'l CY
I agree with your statement that they behave in such a manner to cover their insecurities.. they like to put others down to make themselves feel better.

flos, i've been feeling the tightness in my pelvic region too, esp when i bend over to pick something up. sometimes, it's like a general heaviness. i hope it's no cause for alarm. could be the extra weight from the stretching and growing down there?

lil CY
Hate those pp who show off their wealth while they are actually living off their parents... I am a victim of such cousins and they like to bullshit infront of me... So wat big exp cars and bungalow... they are all squeezing inside their Daddy's hse despite 2 of the cousins are married and got 2 kids each...
Frankly i dun envy their "luxurious" lifestyle cos i believe they are useless bums... pray hard their daddy got long life to substain their wealth. Angry with them cos got much bullying from them since young

I am helping my sis to sell off a philips avent isis iq UNO electronic pump (U.P. $279) Still under warranty...used only 2times bought in Jan 08.

Give me your *best price....it likes new

Interested pls email me @ [email protected].

xuanting (xuanting): it's not advisable for us to bend over to pick up things even though it's our natural instinct! My hubby suffered a slip disc 2 years back when he was bending over to pick up something, his disc moved out of place even before he touched the object he was reaching for! The proper way to pick up something, or carry a child is to keep your back straight, bend your knees to pick them up. If squatting, is difficult, do it slowly, and if possible, place a hand against an object or wall for support.

the pain is not a cause for worry as it's probably the ligament/uterus stretching to accomdate growing fetus.

ANyone feeling the bb is rather hard inside the tummy?? Cos sometimes i really confused whether its the baby or faeces inside leh... and i alwys feel i got alot of faeces in me ...argh
How to differentiate???

Mrs Yap.. maybe is ur lifestyle.. like how often u clear ur stomach??? but generally my stomach is quite hard especially after meals..

thanks, shazz. i've been feeling increasingly reluctant to bend down lately cos of the weighing down sensation. but good, have a v good excuse to order hubby around now.

mrs yap, have you been constipated? i think the bb's closer to the surface of the abdomen than the intestines and all?

alabone, aloevera: the rice wine that you all referring is it bai mi jiu? i heard from my colleague that alot people in taiwan like to take that during confinement. they boil the wine and drink it like water, some even shower in it. it was said that will give better complexion and helps to slim down.

Dear all, thanks for your concern. I think I need to really have a talk with him and prepare him for what is upcoming. Flos, I don't know why but he just likes to compare me with other pregnant ladies, like how lively they look, how healthy, etc...

crayonshinchan
No eye rolling here

You can choose to feed baby with bottle or just store milk. up to you. If u like direct latching, then the bottles are just for storing and ferrying milk from work to home etc. then you do a direct latch when at home (i.e. morning and night, night, night, night...lol dpending on how many times baby wakes up!). Bottles can be used when u r at owrk. you can also express into the bags for storage.

crayonshinchan
re: atas schools
As someone who went to a DAMN ulu neighbourhood primary school and then to a top sec school...i must say atas schools may not always be as "glamourous" or high class as people think. I was miserable both my first two years in sec school cos teachers were stuck up, arrogant and downright horrid. the kids were OK though. My pri school teachers were lovely and v encourgaing on the other hand...

I think there are good and bad in all schools. and there are varying degrees within neighbourhood schools as well...

<font color="0000ff">Anyone here knows how to add a ticker to a webbie? Already gotten the ticker but when i try to input the html codes on the page.. it doesn't work</font>

finally my meeting ended and i am home

DIAPER BAGS

mrs Yap: why dun u ask your hb to buy the Kate Spade diaper bag for u in USA outlets?

Crayon: u can ask ur atas BIL to buy from USA too!!!

I just visited their boutique at Raffles CIty where my meeting was. There are 6-8 designs I saw. Anyway, I am not sure if i wanna buy other brands. my sis is using Prada and my SIL is using Gucci and another sil using Kate Spade. Oh yes,all very ATAS one

DU PARIEL French Kids Boutique (next to LifeBaby)

Chanced upon a new kids fashion store at Raffles City. Girls clothes are very pretty. Boys = so-so nia...

wingkei, were u being very whiny? tell him to stop comparing lah...u r u, they r diff what...

was your pregnancy planned? i know some gfs whose hbs werent emotionally ready at all with fatherhood, esp if they are not financially ready, so they tend to throw their temper around. LIke my BIL got his first boy in his 40's, he was pek chek all the time and complained that my SIL is not being patient by quittng breastfeeding, thereby resulting him to waste more money in milk powder! aiyo...

Flos: I'm using a Gucci diaper bag. I will also be considering sending my kids to the "elite" schools but just cos they are near my place. And I won't consider myself ATAS leh. :p To each his/her own bhah..

ava.. i think u misread what i meant.. hmm.. when we express milk using the pump rite? We use the medela pis bottle to store the milk in the fridge rite? Then when we want to feed, do we warm the PIS bottle and feed baby using it or do we pour into our own bottle (say Avent) to feed? Or its up to individual.

Ava, haa.. i've nv been to atas school so I am not sure wats the difference.. But some who come out from atas schs appear to be kind of proud. Not all though.. but guess its due to their competitive culture?

Flos, hahaa.. my hb wanted to buy me a kate spade diaper bag for my push gift oso! haa.. but i told him to save the money for my personal trainer after i deliver instead.. haa.. I tot of just getting some bag big enough, with heaps of compartment for me to dump everything in can liao..

and I cant ask my atas bil to buy branded stuff.. Later he'll complain to my ILs and ILs will say I am spoilt, only know how to spend money unnecessarily. YES! thats how ironical they can be!

my hubby got a Gucci diaper bag a week after we discovered I'm pregnant. It was rather cheap, at $300 plus cos it was on sale then. Hee, me also not atas hor, hubby was too excited and wanted the best for his son.

Crayonshinchan: The bottles that come with the PIS set doesn't have teats. They're storage bottles. I use them for storage only. For feeding, I will pour the required amt into the feeding bottle (eg Avent, pigeon, dr browns' etc), then warm the bottle in a warmer.

shazz, i think u got it at a steal rite? 300 odd bucks for a gucci diaper bag only?

and i think the ATASfied pple we are talking abt are not those carrying branded bags.. haaa... i think it started off with those who thinks too highly of themselves just cos they are rich...

for the record, my ILs do not own a single branded bag of any sort and I seriously think they do not know any LV nor Gucci.. heeee...

wow...
mickeymouse, flos...
very expensive taste
so are these going to be push gifts from your hbs?

regarding push gifts
--------------------------------
anyone requested from hb oredi????you would want something for yourself or for the bb?

ava
my hb went from a super 'longkang' neighbourhood school to one top sec in singaproe. he hated those years there. he did well for the rest of his life, but always reminiscent about those times in primary school...i dun think he actually enjoyed his sec or uni days that much.

mrs yap
poor thing. yes, these people are horrid...but think it;s really a dead end for them once their parents passed on.and it'll be such a sad ending for them too.life will deal fairly

bbmouse.. ahhhh... now I get the picture.. so I'll still have to get my bottles.. and its time to look out for sprees for bfree / pigeon bottles liao..

I'ICY: We bot it when we had #1. Had been using it since. I also had a mummy cash bonus from hubby for #1. Will be requesting the same from him for #2.

Crayonshinchan: Yah, need to get feeding bottles. You can look out for sales and buy those bundle pack. The teats size are different for NB, 3mths, 6mths and so forth. So got to lookout for them.

crayonshine
i suggest you dun buy too many first. coz different bbs like different kinds of teats. some bbs oso reject certain brand of teats and even certain kinda bottles after a season. so just buy a couple and try first...if he takes to it, then fine and good, can buy more.

mickeymouse
wow...so nice of your hb. my hb alwys insists on getting practical things.

atas schools, oh well...i'd love to enrol my kid in a primary school like Tg Katong Pr School with many kids of various nationalities! Cheap and int'l.

Ava: i know what u mean, i was also from an atas school and jc. i've always been a rebel, played truant, skipped tutorials, defied rules...oh yeah, not to mention i'm one of those notorious bond breakers...i dun even type grammtically :) so much for atas education...

mrs yap: r u experiencing braxton hicks?

shazz: u hv been to israel?? cool!!!

xuanting: yeah, quite like that...but at least i've not been going to the loo at nite as often

Bigtoes: I wore my mask at the manicure salon leh!!!!!! I also went on the day when I waas on medical leave, ie weekday, therefore fewer pp.

pls dun highlight ur hair! it's not safe rite? luckily all my coloured hair has been cut off.

lil mum: no lah, it's cos i am working in the media line, so image/packaging is very impt to me. why do u think i bother to line my eyes and lips every morning in this preggie state?!! kekke!!

But since Mom's Day is coming, I can demand for one branded diaper bag from my ah lao!!! MUAUUAAHHAHA! Anyway, he promised to take me on a trip to the MIddle East after my bb is big enuff. I wanna complete my tour of the region, e.g. Lebanon, Iran, Jordan, Turkey...

bbmouse: I saw Gucci but din really like it as much as the Kate Spade one which is more colourful. I was considering Prada but thought the nylon bag is overpriced. Someone told me Chanel has diaper bags too. Has anyone seen it?

Whereabouts are u staying? Orchard, Holland or Bt Timah? Only those areas are known to hv several "elite" schools like Nanyang, Henry Park, RGPS, ACS, SCGS, etc. Others I know are Taonan in the East, AiTong and St Nicks in AMK, Rosyth in Serangoon, etc. that's abt it

Shazz: $300 for a Gucci diaper bag? How can that be??!!! Very cheap leh. Does it come with those changing mats like Kate Spades?

Flos, my coll was lucky.. She managed to enrol her son in tanjong katong pri sch.. she moved to that area.

My hb wants to send his son to "brotherhood" schools. Bah! hahaa.. cos he thinks its a man thing to bond well with men and only men! haaa.. If my IL din move, i guess my kid will be in henry park. lol... now I guess we'll have to stick to any sch near my house! hahaha... unless we can move near one of his "brotherhood" schools.

l'lCY and bbmouse... still must think of teats ah. why my sis nv tell me all these things?? i only know avent got those teats with 3 different lines to indicate different flow.. And so I tot they are all the same.

Momoko - Most Christian bookstores should have. Btw, I think I got the name of author wrong. It shd be STEPHEN ELKINS. They use kid-friendly songs...kids sing them too. Like it very much.

SHazzz- Oops. Sorry. must have been missed up with all the posts. U were serving in nursery at NCC? I might know you. I was there from 02-03. Hehe.

aloevera: I had also quite a fair bit of drinks during christmas period &amp; I was so worried when I knew I was preggy!! But all is well now! Phew!

Shazz: The Gucci bag is it Euro$300 or S$300? If sing dollar then its really good buy!

wah. atas talk today huh? but it's like what l'lcy said, those slightly upper-middle class super 'hao lian'. those really really really wealthy are very humble (not all i suppose). i had a colleague who gave tuition to a boy and on her last day, the mum gave her a paul and smith shawl (which she later found out cost 300+). what a lucky gal!

jessi,
erm... not sure what it's called but i think it is coz my mum ferments and makes it from rice. she makes it one/two months before my delivery.

cryonshin,
aiyoh. your ILs atas but when you want branded goods they say you waste money?? how much more contradicting can they be????

push gift,
I DIDN'T KNOW THERE WAS SUCH A THING!!!!!!!!!!!! ARRRGGGGGGHH!!!!!!! you mean i missed out on getting gifts from my hb for the first two births???????? oh dear oh dear. i have to make it up now for the third one!!! you all very lucky leh. got hbs to buy gucci/kate spade diaper bags. my hb is like l'lcy's - only believes in all things practical... sianxxxx! i NEED a new diamond!!!

crayonshinchan , storeberry (storeberry) , Flos (flos): yes we paid S$300 plus for the Gucci bag cos it was on 70% off during the last Gucci sale. No it doesn't come with any changing pads. It's actually a very roomy rectangular bag made of waterproof material, with 2 sturdy shoulder/hand-carry strap and a long shoulder strap.

SarahMay: I served around 02-04 too. Do you happen to be from NP masscomm?

Flos: I went to Israel last mth, it was a fantastic trip cos I received so much revealations and now I understand much better when I read the bible, I can picture how they travelled up and down and why they need to do certain things.

I'm not staying in Bukit Timah or Orchard, hee, but pretty near them in good old heartland Toa Payoh! ;)

Push Pressies: hubby planned to get me a Chanel bag that I was lusting after. But I'm actually thinking of getting a watch I've been wanting. Will see how it goes cos by then I'll probably want to save the money for baby instead! ;p

Flos: Bingo! My IL stays in Tanglin and next year I move in to my new place at BT.

Shazz: My diaper bag costs us abt $1k. From your des, I think it's a different model though.

Flos: You can consider the LV diaper bag. Comes with LV monogram changing mat. Hahaha..

I'm getting a Le Sportsac diaper bag.. I went to take a look at the LV one.. it's so heavy &amp; bulky.. looks like a briefcase!

bbmouse
Hey, I'm also currently staying at BT with my in-laws, next year also moving into my own place at BT too!

Shazz - Yes! I'm from NP MCM...how did you guess? Oh my goodness! Who are you?! Add me on MSN or FB - [email protected]

Flos - can add you onto my MSN?

Wingkei - Eh! I know what you can do...You can start comparing him to other husbands who are plain supportive, and don't compare their preggy wives to other preggers. Maybe that will stop him once he gets a bitter taste of his own medicine? Anyway, know that you are BEAUTIFUL now cos you are part of life's greatest miracle - growing a new life inside you! Hugs hugs hugs.

PUSH GIFTS: Hehe...you all very advanced ah...I dun dare requesting. I'm already not working, and he's supporting me...Plus he never nags at me to do housework etc...and been very sweet to me all the time, esp when I'm hormonal and ridiculously unreasonable. So I think I've got my push gift liao. My greatest push gift would be his presence with me the delivery room and hopefully, one week after bb's born in Sept. Cos that will be his busiest work period and he has to take leave. Just have to pray that bb timing is 'zun' and his leave will coincide with it. Hehe.

ATAS: I think this is a state of mind more than a state of being. I've seen how middle-incomers can try to live it up, more than they can afford. Worse, they teach their kids to do the same. It's quite disgusting. Or the really rich being really condescending, disdainful and uncompassionate to those who are less well to do. Quite repulsive really. Eh... some of the atas schools can be the worst at providing holistic education, generating a breed of self-absorbed egomaniacs. I also know the principal of one of the 'atas' primary schools mentioned by Flos is quite anti-parents' feedback. He told the parents of P1 kids at orientation - "Don't come to me to give me feedback about my teachers. If not they will be unhappy and your kids will be unhappy." What does that mean??? Feedback is not the same as complaints. In either case, they should be professional enough to manage feedback. Sounds like they think they know everything.

At the end of the day, what good is an 'atas education' if the kids don't know how to be decent human beings who're interested and able to contribute to society? and who lack basic compassion? eeks! I shudder to think. I once had this 'atas' scholar turned education consultant tell me that she thinks that neighbourhood school students need more compassion than elite students. I completely disagree. the elite students will end up being leaders either in govt or influential NGO or GLC...if they dun learn compassion, won't they become megalomaniacs who won't give any hoot about the less-privileged?

Bigtoes - Hair colouring: Yes, research on the chemical transfers into bloodstream is inconclusive. However, bear in mind that the chemical fumes in the salon will be inhaled by you...and also your hair condition tends to alter during preg, so the chemicals might have an undesired colour effect or damage to your hair. However, I wonder if herbal colour treatments like henna is ok?

hi mummies..
wat is ATAS ?

baby kicks- i felt baby kicks since abt 16weeks. i find baby kicks alot when i'm in lying down position

hehe.. So many mickeys arriving this sept.. going for DS scan tmr. should be able to update baby's gender then