(2008/09) Sep 2008

Flos
I'm nt sure if we can buy macarons for take away.. basically there's a Pierre Herme menu at Mezza9, mainly plated desserts and his classic cakes... macarons also on the menu too.. so just have to make reservation for Mezza9 and dine there. I think he'll be at hyatt till 18 or 20th apr...

Hi, Mei

Can I have the contact for the prenatal classes? Want to enrol quite a file back but was busy with tax filing for clients last week and these few days.. can help by giving me the detail of the prenatal class?

Hihi... was wondering if i should join the thread here or the thread for Oct Mums-to-be... i'm in my 17wk and my edd is on 30th sept... I seems to be more like a in-between of both threads!

hi lilboymum: oic
then what's GD?

they hv SM flashcards in china? i know my Chinese female frens are nuts abt enrichment courses. They send their kids to all kinds of enrichment classes, incl olympiad maths, abacus, wushu, piano, violin, xinsuan, foreign lang, etc. Poor lil things...

i believe in xinsuan and abacus.

sunrays: cool if there are takeaways. else, i need to sit in to eat them. But u see, i'm having a bad throat. Not sure if i can eat sweet stuffs

wingkei (wingkei) : try talking to your hubby again. perhaps can tell him he need not go for all the classes but negotiate for some where you will need his participation.

My hubby attended a pre-natal seminar with me last week and he benefited alot from the talk as now he more or less understands what I'm going through now. He didnt read all the books I read so he doesn't know what I'm talking about sometimes. To him, his role is to buy all the gadgets that his baby will need, and feed me well! He's still very clueless about his role as a dad to be.

LC (faintz)
You can call the KKH Patient Education Centre at 63941268 & ask them when is the next available antenatal class. It costs $120 for KKH patients & I think $150 for non-KKH patients.

wingkei
Is your hubby enthusiastic about your baby? Maybe he is anxious on being a FTB? It's not very healthy for you to feel this way, especially now, I guess you really got to talk to him.

hey ladies!

i felt my baby kicking !! Its such an amazing feeling. ive been feeling his movements only when i place my hands whilst im lying still mostly at nights ... but to feel him kick while i was having dinner today was amazing!

Flos: My DH says smallberry looks like me, round face... kekeke...

Mei & sunrays: Actually some parts I also not sure but the sonographer was very friendly & she kept telling us what is what so we can recognised. And thats how we saw the cute nose... keke... Enjoy the DS session!

l'l CY (lilboymum): Ya, but I also don't intend to do 4D scan.. Save money... :p

bbmouse & Mrs Yap: Ya lo.. We have all come thru our spotting! Really thank GOD! Mrs Yap: Confirm is boy liao??

Sarahmay: They will send the photos to my gynae so I haven't seen the photos yet. But when I want to take video the nurse say cannot wor... Since the sonographer was so nice, I should have ask her again.

The frisomum that my SIL gave me i still sitting in the kitchen & my DH is drinking now! I asked him if he is pregnant also... Kekeke...

Hi sunnysunny, welcome to this thread! Another mickey mouse!

Preggies: Yah man, feeling bb's kick is so amazing!! I have been talking to him everyday!

this thread sure moves fast. just finished reading everything. went back to work today and therefore can only post now.

enrichment classes:
to date, i've not sent my boy for anything of such classes, he will only be going to nursery next year. i wonder if i'm too lax (coz i don't do the flash cards). I read to him mainly and also engage him in creative play. It's his favourite game presently. he loves to read most books and if i should transfer the word say... 'cow' onto a piece of paper, he can recognise the word. and he could do this when he was slightly before two. perhaps i should tap on this and send him to classes for further development?

wingkei:
poor you! to suffer all the nasty comments that your dearest said. i think like all others have suggested, you need a good HEART TO HEART talk with him. was not he keen on having a baby? is he not coping well with this new change in you coz perhaps previously you were more bubbly or something? get it out of him. i hope you can resolve this soon. else not good for baby and your emotional well being.

preggie,
exciting to feel baby kick ya?? i can't wait to feel mine kick. going to see gynae only on the 29 apr but won't be detailed scan yet coz bb still small...

feeling sooooo hungry at this time... think i'm going to cook some tang yuan. yummmm!

hayo gals!

haven't been tracking the chats...too busy these few weeks..

oh, so you gals have felt the baby's kicks?? I haven't!!! Oh...hopefully i will be feeling it soon..

my detailed scan is on 2nd may... still some time to go.. gonna wait patiently..

am in my 18wks now.

Hi Lemon, I posted this few days ago. I think your computer have virus yah? Cos I kena from your msn msg... Inform you in case you didn't know...

Flos/Alovera/SarahMay,
Thank you so much for your advice on the double boiler. I went to my friend's family medical hall to buy the cordyceps, so they oso sell zisha pot. Thus i placed an order wif them, haven collect yet, so dun noe wat brand.

Wa...the cordyceps tat i bot cost $1700 (3 1/2 liang) and juz normal grade. The aunt told me it cost half the price 1 yr ago...my gosh....

BBmouse,
I am going for checkup on this fri but not sure when is my DS, cos i tot normally DS done at 20 weeks oni. I now 18 weeks. Hopefully, gender can be disclosed this fri...

WAH!!!! Cordyceps so expensive ah? How long can 3.5 liang last?! I need to start on them already. Just started my hashima, paoshen regimen yesterday.

CANTONESE HELP: Does anyone know the Cantonese word for cordyceps? Shall try to go to the TCM hall in Macau to check out prices.

Flos - I also need to boos my DHA intake. I think I shall give up trying to eat fish already cos I am too lazy to cook. Hehe. But anyway, dun stress. Cos there is no medical research to prove that DHA supplements help boost brain devt. And most of the brain develops post-birth, in the first 2 years of kids' life. So still got time to catch up.

Aloevera- Can drink rice wine now? What is the benefit of it to the MTB and growing bb?

Preggie - Congrats on feeling your bb kick! Must be amazing! I'm still waiting for a definite feel of my bb's kicks. Today my hubby said he feels a rolling. Sometimes I feel like something's swimming in my tummy. Hehe.

Sunnysunny - Welcome!

Alabone - Creative play is great! Helps develop both hemispheres of brain. As for enrichment classes, no need to stress. Just do whatever you feel is good. Sometimes, enrichment classes can stiffle more than liberate a child's creativity and intelligence. Other than having a good brand name, must ensure the teachers have the right qualifications and appropriate teaching philosophy that you can agree with.

Shazz - You're right abt Shichida's method being rather new-agey. Actually, several of the whole-brain learning centres like Adam Khoo and Mind Champs apply rather new-agey concepts. While I'm impressed by the ability to tap onto the mind's abilities, I am cautious abt how they privilege the intellect as in the brain over other types of intelligences e.g. emotional, social , spiritual. For me, my personal conviction is that that emotional and spiritual are the more fundamental building blocks of a wise person. Wisdom more impt than intelligence. And you're right that there are more ways to dev a child other than the methods promoted by commercial entities. BIBLE stories: Which ones do you read? Can share? Have you seen the Children's Bible by Steven Elkins? Comes with 100 children songs. I highly rec it cos stories are well-written, got simple devotion/application section for each story. Songs are catchy too. Also a bargain - $30 only!

Storeberry - Must be sooooo thrilling to see the features of your bb in detail. So you paid for 3D scan too? My clinic's nurse says that I can video tape the scan as it is going on and that my parents can go with me....Where did you do yours? TMC LEvel 4? I'm going there. CAn't wait.

Wingkei - I hope you get a chance to have a good talk with your hubby. Is he going through a lot of work pressure or something? Sometimes, men take time to adjust to the reality of having a bb. They can also feel insecure about their new identities - both as father and husband. Some men can grow jealous of the child as they feel the child will tear wives' attention and affection away from them. Men are like big kids... need a lot of 'sayang-ing'...despite their tough-shell exterior. Is there someone in your family you could talk to about this, and who could also gently talk him round too?

l'l CY: I think will get Moms in Mind too. Cos i find their designs more hip. The other one must be Born & Bond or something...a bit 'tu' in their design. mostly plaid - eeks. I dun like. But does the padding really help alleviate stress on our shoulders?

MORE ON CHILD ENRICHMENT & DEVT:
- What is 'xin suan'?
- Abacus: Yes! it is really great at developing mathematical thinking! I used to teach it but now a bit rusty. hehe. It is very easy to get the hang of it. Can teach yourself also. Just buy the book and you are set! Abacus focuses on understanding of place values and number bonds - very basic concepts that kids need to excel in Maths. So they will v quickly master mental arithmetics.

- Just want to share this educational philosophy that I think makes sense even though it was written more than 100 years ago.
http://www.rudolfsteinerweb.com/Rudolf_Steiner_and_Waldorf_Education.php

- Music & Intelligence: Einstein was a scientist. But he is considered a genius. Tt's prob why the product range 'Baby Einstein' is named after him. It is interesting to note that Einstein excelled in science, but wasn't so good at non-science subjects prob cos of German education sys at that time.

Mozart's music is supposed to be very effective in promoting brain activity. Baroque music (e.g. Bach, Vivaldi slow movements) esp those in 60 beat per min tempo is thought to boost brain learning. I love Handel water music! Not all classical music is beneficial cos some of them like Rachmaninov can be intensely broody.

hi sarahmay,

yeah thats how it felt like initially like bump keep rolling up and down . even my hubs felt it . he is so amused and amazed he always fight to put his hand on my tummy . haha i bought the doppler thing to hear the heartbeat but still cant hear yet leh ... maybe still early . so i only look forward to feeling the kicks now.

sarahmay
you intereted in waldorf playgroup? they have one for 18mth olds at siglap. i wanted to sign my son up for it, but got kinda lazy after realised i was pregs.

it's a mother and child programme and i think they are great. if you want, we can arrange to go down for a preview together
hehehee....

as for the sling, ive not tried the ones with padding. not sure if it is good to use or not. i just wanted to go for as light weight and foldable as possible, so it can be stashed away wheni dun need it...but i must say MOM does update its designs regualrly..

o yes, the sling can also be used as rain cover...hahahahaha...

child enrichment or not
----------------------------
i think whatever the case. think of it as you giving your child a gift. gift of knowledge, gift of happiness, gift of understanding etc.

i do not believe in pushing the child beyond what they like or enjoy. GD (glen doman) method always stress to stop sessions before the child wants to stop. and the parent must always be happy in doing the programme. if not, dont do it at all! i think it applies to all programmes, if the parent isnt happy doing it, then the child would not feel any happiness doing it...

HELLO! I just got this from bellysima.com. Just thot I wld share with those who may not be on their mailing list.

Spring Clearance Sale
----------------------
Date : 19 April, Saturday
Time : 11am to 4pm
Venue : 40 Jalan Pemimpin #04-10C Tat Ann Building
Parking : Free within the building

Prices as low as $6, the spring clearance prices are valid at the showroom on 19 April only.

New Moms Group - Workshop on Pre/Post Natal Care
-------------------------------------------------

Date : 19 April, Saturday
Time : 10.30 - 11.30am
Venue : The Loft at 40 Jalan Pemimpin #04-10C Tat Ann Building
Topic : Pre-Postnatal Care
At this gathering, we'll talk about the structure of the skin during & after pregnancy... using skincare products that are safe for pregnancy and breastfeeding. Will also touch on exercise / wellbeing ...how to maintain and get back to shape!

Expectant and new moms welcome. This workshop is free. To register, call Pam : 82231889

Preggy - How much did you buy the doppler thing? Where? Hehe...my hubby and I still not sure if it is just me or the bb.

l'l CY: They have Waldorf in SG? Which centre in Siglap runs it? I read that there was one centre in Tampines before, something called 'Kampong Sunshine' or something. I don't mind going for a preview. But when? I'm only back 7 May. Wld love to go if there is a preview around tt time. And you are so right - parents must be actively involved, happily too, in the education process of our kids. If not, the poor kids will feel like they are just being 'forced' to do stuff.

<font color="119911">Mei (meie) - how come you have started your pre-natal classes so early? Thought these only begin from week 28 onwards? I am not due to start my lessons till mid-June...sounds interesting &amp; can't wait

storeberry (storeberry) - congrats - ur mickey is growing well! you must be so happy! Any scan photos to share?</font>

I'ICY: My boy is still in the tummy. It's for my girl. She's 14mths. I'm a FTWM. I don't stress myself up that I must do some homework with her everyday, I just do as and when there is time and as long as she enjoys it. I treat it as part of her playing activiites.

Storeberry: Yah lor. Now we can look forward to seeing and carrying our little one in our arms..
You started buying yet?

Millie: I think 18weeks can tell already. So after your gynae visit tom you can order liao!
I have abt 6k orders now..

There is only one centre doing it. it is run by the German association or something like that.

http://www.waldorfsingapore.com/

right now, i think there is only one. the one at Tampines used to be run for disadvantaged children izzit? the one closed down due to insufficient funds. the others are PAP centres who are using some of the waldorf methods in their curriculum...

well, im ok after 7May...will drop them an email to see when they are available. with the HFMD thingy raging, think most playgroups may be a bit sticky about visits now anyway...

Wah.. this thread is moving too fast.........
Sarahmay, yes, the CDs are cheaper in US than in Singapore. I got it like around US$5+ and it is going at GBP10 in UK....

hi sarahmay

yeah i know the first time i felt it i also not sure. but after i kept feeling the same thing then i was quite sure it was the baby.

i bought the doppler thing from kiddy palace in bishan j8. i think i went to parkway one was sold out or something. it was only like less than $60 . but the instructions said that heartbeat can be heard as early as 5 months . so shouldnt be anything earlier than that. but you can hear other sounds like moving sounds etc

bigtoes, ava...
icic... me waiting for hubby to come back this sat morning... hope he got enuff time to go down to target in LA. He spend the whole of today in Universal studio enjoying his rides. keke
Medela PIS selling at SGD$385 in Target (LA)

Storeberry... congrats on yr good detailed scan results... u can start stocking up bb boy clothes

mickeymouse... my bb is not confirm a boy yet... it was onli suspected a boy at 12 weeks and during the 16 week scan, bb's thigh moving up n down in the side view so doc cannot see anything
gonna wait till week 20 detailed scan...
Such long wait siah...

Bigtoes
I attend my antenatal classes at KKH &amp; we start the class from 16 weeks onwards &amp; there are a total of 10 sessions. I'll end my classes in June. It's interesting &amp; I get a bit freaked out knowing we'll be watching a real live video of a birth!

I am still brooding tat mine is a boy leh. I wanted a gal so much bt I know I shld stop tinking abt that now cos’ not good for bb.
My guest room wich will be converted to the bb room has a lot of bears in the cabinet (see through one). Such as forever friends etc… U all tink it is healthy to have a baby boy staying in such a room? I worried he grow up to be a sissy.

But i have nowhere to relocate the bears oso

Hi, Goldfish

Dun brood over this...
I am expecting a baby princess and it is our first baby..at one point, I will think y it is not a boy? If it is a boy, at least there will no pressure to have the 2nd one.. but after a short while I am happy that it is a baby girl, can dress her up, and closer to mummy and so on and on.. I guess have to think of the positive side of having a baby boy or a baby girl.. the fact that we are expecting a new life in us and is healthy is already a miracle so be happy

I dun think room with bears will make a boy sissy.. no worries.. If not, you can add in more elements to the room to make it more boyish... like string hanging aeroplanes, robots etc... or paint the wall with a suitable colour..

Goldfish
dun be upset.i think it;s ok for boys to live with bears...i mean, bears quite androgynous right? neither males nor females...

but i can understand your disappointment.
cheer up

am dreaming of a girl too, but maybe boys easier to handle when they are older? less complexes to deal with...

l'l CY: I checked out the website. I really like the Waldorf approach. I like the incorporation of nature and having kids learn to do real things using real objects. But I dun think the PAP centres are really capable of doing Waldorf approach...without contradicting the basic principles. My mum works in PCF and whenever I hear her telling me how her colleagues work, I feel so repulsed. And the church-run childcare under my block is also quite horrid. I hear the teachers speaking like 'market aunties' to the kids. My hubby came home one day and remarked to me that he had overheard the Chinese teacher teaching the wrong pronunciation.

Jaymickey - I think I will try to stock up on the CDs then. Ask my SIL living there to buy back for me. Hehe. What CDs are you buying?

Preggie - Is the thing you bought the same as the one the gynae uses?

Mei - Eeks! A video of live birth? I told myself not to watch those...cos I know I sure will get freaked out. I just read up on the process enough liao. I have a vivid imagination as it is... haha

Goldfish - your next one can be a princess. So just enjoy having a boy this time! dun think any more cos u're right...not good for bb. Also, bears won't make boys sissy for sure! I think there is too much gender polarizing in toys these days. I am quite anti this sort of gender stereotyping. A few of us here like Flos, Bigtoes all did quite 'boy' activities and played with 'boy' stuff...but we didn't turn out butch or les...so Dun worry!

Gender stereo-typing

Yes, talking about gender stereo-typing. The other day, I bought a part of red crocs for my son, and the lady asked, is this for your girl? I went huh! and said no lah! I like my son to be in red cos he looks good in it! My son like Dora and teddy bears, he likes to pretend cook too, and I don't think he's getting sissy or anything like that cos he still likes rough play.

I think sometimes it's easier to have boys... cos you can play rough with them. I am not very 'gu niang' mommy also.

RXmom: Red is such a bi-sexual color! In fact, I think it looks better on bb boys than bb girls. Do you know the gender of your #2?

Mrs Yap: The scans are very zun one. Don't think there'll be any surprises there for you. I think it's more zun for a confirmation on bb boys than bb girls. Cos (I read lah) some go ahead to confirm it's a bb girl when they don't see the birdie.
Whao! Ask your hubby to buy the PIS leh.. Good price..

<font color="119911">Goldfish (goldfish1395) - yes, we have no control over the gender, so don't brood over your baby boy okie
Like on my end, i know my hubby wants a boy (less issues to worry about, he thinks he can bond better with the baby etc)..but we are still clueless as to the gender, &amp; promised each other that we would love the baby all the same, whether boy or girl. And like SarahMay said, don't gender stereotype....i didn't even own a barbie doll growing up (played with cowboys and indians, got into a couple of fights in primary school) &amp; turned up fine! My sister's son (now 6) on the other hand, went thru a phase when he loved housekeeping &amp; had toy vacuum cleaners &amp; irons, together with all the boy toys like trucks etc...and he is as boyish as they come!

Mrs Yap (oneboyonegirl) - wow. the Medela PIS is S$300+ in US? That is like half the price of that in Spore.

Mei (meie) - OIC. The prenatal classes in KKH are way earlier than the ones in TMC then
I have seen live birthing programs a couple of times (remember the 1st time was in Secondary school's home econs class) so hopefully won't be too squeemish

sarahmay: it's 冬虫夏草 ("dong chong cho" in simple Cantonese, no need to say the "ha")

It is super expensive!

Try to replace hashima with birdsnest. Hashima ("shee kaap")is frog's roe and is a cheaper option to birdsnest

Goldfish
I understand how you feel coz initially I also wanted a gal. I admit I was a little disappointed when the sonographer pointed out my baby's little birdie to me.. but after a while, I was actually happy, be it boy or gal, just seeing my baby swimming around in my womb. Most importantly, knowing that your baby is healthy is the most important isn't it? Now I'm happily buying clothes already &amp; looking forward to dressing him up &amp; playing with him. Don't worry.. like what I'l CY mentioned, bears are androgynous, so your bears can remain as part of the decor in your baby's room.

SarahMay
Freaky huh... I get queasy seeing such stuff.. I guess when they play that video, I'll be acting like I'm watching some horror movie &amp; cover my eyes with my hands.. lol.

Bigtoes
Probably the course outline is different from KKH &amp; TMC. Will the TMC course have 'exercise' sessions too? We were told to wear pants on those sessions with a physiotherapist.

Mei, Sarahmay: I think all pre-natal class will show a live delivery video. It's all about preparing us for the actual labour, and the best way to do it is for us to witness it..

Sarahmay
yes i was very excited when i first read about them too! do you live in the east?how old is your boy now?

my boy is 17.5mths oredi..

Mei
haha...that was what happ when i had my firstborn. was nearly in tears actually when i realise it's a boy! but now, of course no one can replace him lah...

Mickeymouse,

No, I dunno the gender yet. Am now in my 18th week and seeing my gynae tomorrow. Hopefully he can tell me something on the gender.

I am not too hung up on the gender actually.. if it's a boy, can play with my son, if it's a girl, then good balance. But I have a fear of the second one being a boy still.. cos my no. 1 is quite hyper.. if both hyper, I think I will peng san...

<font color="0000ff">Storeberry
Congrats on ur good results for detailed scan.
now u can stock up on bb boy's clothes le...

btw.. u had ur detailed scan at TMC 4th flr rite.. were videos and pictures given in a CD???

Sunrays
u feeling better mah? still got sore throat??

Mommies
I've been feeling bb's kicks so often now... last nite while watching tv.. i felt some really hard kicks.. so lifted up my shirt to see.. OMG.. the feeling is so surreal.. i literally saw this punch tat caused a hump on my tummy n den no more... saw it a few times some more. hb didnt manage to see. somehow the angle tat he was at, he couldnt really see. so put his hand.. n bb really pushed him away.. realli so hard wor.. haha... think my boy is really active!!!

Am so looking forward to my detailed scan.. still so long...</font>

Am sorry...who is the mommy who is tabulating the details of each mommy/ baby? Think it would be interesting to see how many mickeys or minnies there are... was telling my hubby that it seems like 90% of the sep mommies are having mickeys!

mickeymouse
the gynae says he cannot confirm though he says looks like its a boy. I have heard cases of umbilical cord being mistaken as a birdie... somemore my gynae scanner super blur and my gynae is also super old liao... maybe eyesight is not so good. I did see something at the genital too but as i am not trained i dunno what was it.

Ya the Medela PIS is quite a good deal and i was thinking wat else is cheaper to get in the US

Sasa: So exciting for you! It's liddat one.. Next time, you can see your tummy shifting shape as your babby turns and moves inside your tummy. That's when he's really running out of space..
Very interesting hor? Has your belly button start protuding yet? If not, it will soon, and it's the best time to get a good clean of it.. Hahahah..

Bigtoes, Mei

I have attended TMC prenatal class previously during my first pregnancy conducted by Mrs Wong. She teaches us exercise n how to communicate with baby inside n breathing techniques etc... think most prenatal classes are more or less the same and also hubby attendance is compulsory.
As for live delivery video, at first i thot it will be horror too but after seeing it with hubby, I dun feel that horror but feel mummies are very brave to give birth at home and water-birth... it's not so bloody scene as u thot afterall.

it would be helpful if experienced mommies could summarise which classes are good for our bbs? Shichida? Xin Suan? etc... I am clueless..and starting to feel kan cheong after reading the posts

where do we order the medela pump? Can we get it in Singapore?

So far, i have only confirmed CL and pre-natal class. Clueless what to do next...

Dear LC/l’l CY/SarahMay/RXmom/Bigtoes/Mei

Thanks a lot of ur assurance!!! It is good to know tat many of u oso experienced similar feelings as me. Actually of coz a healthy bb is utmost important but subconsciously, there is this inner yearning to haf a gal somehow…

U all really tink bears are quite androgynous one hoh?? Most of my friends tink otherwise leh.. bt I will try to psycho myself tat it is ok one lo… and in the meantime see where I can relocate the bears out of the room.

Mrs Yap,

Can get many things in the US. I can tell you the things that I am getting my hubby to buy back for me from the US for the new baby (on top of other things for our no 1). Of course you don't need to get exactly the same things I am getting lah
:

- MEDELA Breastmilk Feeding Storage Set BOTTLES BPA-free
- MEDELA Spare Membranes
- Medela Replacement Extra Valves &amp; Membranes 2-pk
- Brush and comb kit
- Medela breast pads (more ex in Singapore. these are more comfy than the ones in Singapore)
- California baby baby wash
- Mustela Stelatopia cream
- First teeth toothpaste and brush
- Desitin Creamy

Hey Goldfish,

I really think bears are fine. They can also be companions for the little ones. My son will hug the bear, feed it water, and sayang it, and even make it go to the bear's potty (I teach him that so that he is more receptive to toilet training). He would kiss it too. I think most importantly is that they have a toy that they can learn to give affection to. If boys dun have bears, what can they have? Dinosaurs soft toys to do the same things?