(2008/09) Sep 2008

Lim: How much is the Shicida course, and when and where may I register my bb for that? 18mths min age?

Is it really of any use? I've some books on NLP and Mindmapping. Think it's true to some extent.

Hmmm...

Shichida
If im not wrong, Shichida promised 'whole brain learning' rather than just right brain.Right brain is generally 'big picture' understanding, whereas left brain works on details.that is why it seems right brainers are better at memory simply becoz they capture the 'big picture of it all'

Think the purpose of Shichida is to enhance memory to improve learning...

Erh, parents who are interested to enrol in Shichida might want to read up on his books before starting. Not sure how many of you are comfortable with ESP, clairvoyance to enhance learning.Im not saying it doesnt work, but parents have to be comfotable with some of the methods used in Shichida.

Personally i feel Shichida is very culturally loaded method. emphasis on sitting in rows in classroom environment, in pencil holding skills from 10mths on etc. there is also an element of zen buddhism in it if you read his books carefully.

There are other methods to enhance right brain...

Bigtoes
the dots pgr is really no big deal if you embark on right brain training. really, believe me. that is considered very basic oredi...:p

the purpose of it is to teach children to perceive real quantity in numbers, we adults only perceive numbers, but not the quantity behind it. right brainers are supposed to be able to do it. when they are able to perceive real quantity, they are able to understand the real quantity behind 25x22 without doing those abstract calculation we were taught to do in school

u all sound very learned. U r all school teachers or pte educators of sorts? Hmm...very chim to me.

Jaymickey: What is baby Einstein music? Does Einstein play music? Thought he is an inventor or mathematician?!

Shichida is more to right brain, though some activities seem focus to left brain.

Flos,
Shichida,i think is 1 terms(12weekend) = $800++
Parent need to be with the kids in the 1.5hr lesson.

Classes are held in tanjong pagar(springleaf tower) or toa payoh (HDB Hub)

Min age is 6mth.

Useful anot
=============
I let my girl attend 2 terms only. My girl attend when she is 18mth..but she is very active in class, cant sit now to 'play' the activities.
So i feel is like waste of $$$ lor.
Somemore i release for the 2 terms the activites conducted to enhance the memory is about the same, so tot maybe self practise at home lor.

But the 1.5hr is actually for the parent to see what are the activities you can carry out at home.
Recommend by the course, u need to practise at least 1 or 2hr thrice a week for the effectivness.

For my girl, i found that yes thru flashing she remember the word/pics..no problem..but when i wrote the same word on a another place/paper..she cant recongised it..but using back the same flash card with the word, she can read back to me haha
But overall my girl memory is quite good, how much shichida help ..keke not very sure..

me now thinking of enrolling her in BJG (BukitBatok), they focus of whole brain training, and got some gyms workout, so i think is better compared to shichida class, at least my girl dont feel so stress (strange my girl at 2yr she will actually feel the stress to go the class, she will refused to response to you after she fail the first attempt.Then after sometimes, she wont even listen to the class)

Thank u all so much for your advice on double boilers and method of brewing the soup/bird's nest. Really appreciate that.

BBmouse,
Can i tell u maybe next week cos i want to see if i can know the gender when i go for checkup this fri ?

l'l CY (lilboymum) - hah, okie! Its just amazing the powers of the brain...anyway, MTBs don't stress too much over Shichida classes and all; we never had these growing up, and we all turned out fine didn't we?

Flos,
SO i buy the zisha double boiler, i can straight put the bird nest or cordyceps, etc into the pot is it ? no need to put dun zong inside liao rite ?

yeah, big toes...i kinda of agree with your last statement...but u see, sometimes people might argue that if your bb's peers are all so intelligent, and u r not making an effort to enrich and enhance his/her IQ and EQ, wouldn't u be lagging behind?!! hehehe...I'm sounding kiasu, am i?

I'm quite worried cos I'm a working MTB. I just wonder how on earth I'm gonna find time to accompany my bb to the classes...

I think sometimes, intelligent is intelligent...my eldest sis had the most no. of tuition (all subjects) and enrichment classes (from piano to ballet to art) but she fared the worst amongst all our siblings. my bro who had ZERO tuition, no music nor art classes, he scored straight A's all his life (oh yes, he is a scholar).

Flos
hahahah...you are hilarious!!!!!!!no lah, baby einstein is some trademark bb learning tool. their product includes flashcards, CDs, DVDs, books etc...

just google to find out more.me no preschool expert. i just like to know how and what my son is learning so read up on everything i can find :p...

a few other things for you to google
dr titzer 'bb can read' series on dvds
brainy bb series on dvds
glen doman method

im using glen doman approach at home. it is largely homebased, not centre based. parents do all the job, from preparation of materials to daily showing using different approaches.

so far, i find it works for my son (my son is able to point out the correct numbers of dots on dot cards for example). i like the idea behind the approach. but quite taxing.

Lim,
Yes, heard of BJG before, but some branches are better than others if im not wrong...

think flashcards dep on their mood one lah.

think your girl is reacting to the motivation problem. failure always stump children...
...same as adults..wtd...

Millie:

yep, the double boiler already comes with that zisha dun zhong liao, that's why it's called DOUBLE BOILER mah

Just wash your ingredients and place them all inside the zisha with 1-2 bowls of water, close inner lid, close main lid. NB: Some double boilers got a bottom ceramic lid to hold the herbs and meat in place. Now fill the outer boiler with water to the mark indicated. Lower the zisha pot slowly into main boiler and rest it on top of that "metal base" we were talking abt (MINE comes with that). Ensure pot is submerged inside the boiler and turn on the timer to 2 hours or 3 if u like.

I dunno what brand u bought. But mine is SONAR. I think got ZONA or something like that!

lilboymum: BABY EINSTEIN! So-so...

I wonder if parents' ed level/IQ has any bearing on bb's intelligence? I'm quite sick of SG's ed system myself, though I made it thru several yrs ago. Poor children

Flos.. so you know what Baby Einstein is.. apparently is quite difficult to get it in Singapore.. have to buy from US or UK.. i got mine from amazon.com....

wingkei, i think anxiety can contribute to nausea/vomiting too. i know someone who used to throw up during the exams period cos he was just too nervous. i guess besides the hormonal changes, you are probably feeling stressed worrying about the things your hubby might say too. are you feeling better now?

Millie,
hope u can start your double-boil soon and tell me if u like the chkn essence i told u ok!

jaymickey,
welcome on board!

mtbs/mummies,
hv u heard tat the prices of red dates and dried longans are rising soon? and sesame seed oil too. my mom had stored up for me liao, and she heard the prices will rise a couple of dollars... dunno how true, but she heard from the vendors at the mkt whom their suppliers told them. so if u are like me who likes those confinement food, do stock up ya.. =)

jaymickey,
freeze them lor! red dates i put in fridge, coz once in a while, my mom will use them to brew soup for me. dried longans can be frozen since they are dried.

do u plan to travel b4 u pop?? i will advise u to do tat coz u need some honeymoon time with hubby b4 the little one arrives. or u'll hv to wait at least 1.5yrs b4 u can bear to leave your little behind...or if u r BF-ing, then u'll be grounded for sure. =)

Flos, Limay,

I can understand where you both are coming from. When I was growing up, I also dun have all these things and turned out fine. But that was our time, when EVERYONE don't go for the classes. The thing now is, almost EVERYONE go for some form of classes.

I don't think its fear of losing out that is making some of us mommies send our children to classes, it is actually seeing the improvement and enjoyment that our children have, now that these classes are readily available, that we send them there.

At least that's my idea.

A couple of days ago, I saw 3 children at ICA when I went to pick up my passport. I think the family is not that well off. The mom speak to them in broken language, and the children, even the eldest one who looks like 7 speaks poorly. If they had gone to some enrichment classes, I think they would have turned out better.

My MIL and FIL are both primary school teachers and they can immediately know if a child have had enrichment classes by looking at the child's attitude and aptitude....

It's not really so much about classes, I think. It's the exposure.

aloevera.. oic... i don't think i will be travelling before i pop.. plan is to go for a break 1 year from now... you have plans to travel?

thread grows super fast!

Flos- Your hubby isn't wrong about it being sarong carriers being quite archaic. It is a very agricultural thing. However, apparently, it is a very effective way of carrying babies and it soothes them and helps enhances their sense of emotional well-being. This is largely due to the close contact and proximity the bbs have to their mums/dads. Americans use a similar version but they call it the 'Mayan wrap'. I've seen the Bjorn ones. My friends say it is really healpful. However there are some bbs who don't like. So i think i will start with the sarong carrier...cos it is the cheaper one. Then test out using SIL's one...to see if bb likes...if not end up wasting money.

Wingkei- Xuanting is right. Stress/ anxiety aggravates nausea. You just relax ok? Hope you feel better soon.

Jaymickey - Baby einstein stuff isn't tt hard to get in SG are they? Have u tried Borders or Kino? Kino can order in. If not try specialty children's bookstores like Bookaburra at Forum. They should carry it. I think Baby Einstein stuff is pretty good. However, some of the board books have print that is too small for developmental age of infants. Just gotta be careful.

Millie - if you buy those electric boilers...don't need to dun zhong already. Cos the zisha boiler is supposed to be the dun zhong.

Aloevera - Huh? How come will rise? Wah!

MUMMIES USING FLASH CARDS - Glenn Doman: Can your child recognise the words if they are written on something other than flashcards? I've heard that the flashcards method may not be very effective in teaching the 'real' skills of reading because it merely promotes memory. How true is that in your case?

SHICHIDA - Wow! Expensive!

Flos/Bigtoes: I think at the end of the day as parents we have to learn how to love and accept our children as they are. Of cos the pressure of comparison will always be there cos ppl esp Singaporeans love to compare. But it is up to us how to manage that stress, and to help our children understand how to strive to be their best, not to be like someone else. I believe every child is special and talented in his/her own way, and must be nurtured accordingly. As for providing the opportunities for our kids, we just need to continually seek out the balance. I guess, no point worrying or stressing about the years ahead when our babies haven't appeared. And we don't even know their temperaments yet.
Btw Flo, I think you will somehow manage to find time for your kid one cos you care enough.

RXMOm- you're clever not to give him worksheets at his age cos that will really speed him his distaste for written work etc. Pri sch is full of tt. And worksheets also not very good for developing real learning.I've taught enough kids coming up from preschools/kindergartens which dish out tons of worksheets for kids to know that they don't necessarily equate to solid foundational skills.

RXMom - Yes! you are right! it is not about the kind of classes we send our kids to...It is the exposure. I've also taught kids who go to tons of enrichment classes but still not very developed IQ and EQ-wise. Got more kids in pri sch going for counselling too and many are attention deprived. Many come from well-to-do families but suffer neglect by busy parents. I think a balance just needs to be struck. Still most importantly, nothing can ever replace the critical ingredients of love and attention of caring parents.

xuanting, thanks for the concern. Not feeling much better, still feeling sick and nauseous yet don't feel like going home so soon. So forcing myself to stay later at work.
Feels like others are more concerned for me than hubby.

Hi SarahMay, i didn't really go around to check it out.. but i heard is difficult to find music CDs.. so i just order and happens that my friend was coming from US, so just ask her to bring it in... and is cheaper to buy for US.

Mrs Yap (oneboyonegirl) - nope - i didn't order the Medela PIS at the end cos my sis said she would pass me hers, and my SIL has another smaller version to lend me also. All the better, esp since there has been mommies from other forums selling their pumps after just 1-2 months.

true true...totally agree with RXmom. It's all to do with exposure.

I know for sure that I'd need to speak in proper sentences, pronounce every single word carefully, write in complete sentences when I've a school-going kid next time
I've also seen some heartlanders' kids misbehaving in public areas, speaking Singlish and broken Mandarin, etc. Children tend to mimic their parents, don't they?

When I was overseas, I mingled a lot with other SG expat moms and oftentimes, we travelled/self-drove together in the region with our families. I came across this boy who happened to speak Singlish to his parents and other adults. He was immediately chided by the diplomat's wife. Little did the diplomat's wife know that that boy topped his entire P1 cohort at a famous primary school in SG, before he left the country, due to his dad's posting.

I concluded that it was because his parents were heartlanders who didn't speak proper English to them during their formative years. When we were at a 5-star hotel, the mom nicked 3 hand towels from the posh toilet in front of her 3 sons and told me that they're free anyway and she'd forgotten to bring towels for her sons on that trip! I was really disgusted by that act (aka theft!). The parents who were senior executives (oh yes, GM of some bank and senior mgr of some listed co I won't mention) rounded up all the foods (esp FISH) on the table for their own sons, leaving little for the rest of the adults (and chldren) in our group. The parents also didn't have good table manners, i.e. they were using their OWN chopsticks to flip and turn pieces of meat to select the best for their sons!

The best part was, the mom let her sons squat at petrol kiosks stations to piss in public when there were toilets! OKOK, we were in the Middle East but do u hv to do that? *Faint*

Tsk tsk!

SarahMay: Yeah, sarongs are indeed a bit dated. But it's cooling and cheap. We tried on BabyBjorn and the like, found it rather warm...

wingkei, i think your hubby still hasn't gotten into the ftb mindset. he's still thinking that being pregnant makes no dif and that everything is so easy peasy. if only he could watch one or two documentaries on pregnancy with you. my hubby used to think that pregnancy was just about eating more and getting fat till i suffered a miscarriage last year. he was also quite nitpicking about some small things before but he's now learnt to appreciate that everyone's body is different and we shouldn't push ourselves too much during this period. do you have anything to munch on at work, if you're staying later?

Mummies: Just went for detailed scan! Smallberry is all curled up like a little prawn & clenching his fists! One hand up & the other at his buttoks. He has a cute button nose like mummy & daddy.. Kekek... The scan was done quite fast because bb was cooperative. And its CONFIRMED, its a mickey mouse! Everything is normal for smallberry & he weighs 340gm.

The thread move super fast!!

stef&seanbabes & jaymickey, my EDD is 5th sep also.
Hi bbmouse: I wanna to buy!!! Kekeke... But I will only be able to access in the night, is that ok?

jay,
i just got back from Perth, went with my family n my elder girl, 20mths old. she enjoyed it alot coz it was all nature n farm visits..

sarahmay,
i dunno leh, but those vendors hv told my mom tat coz she's the regular customer there. my mom also bought glutinous rice to want to try to make rice wine for me. she hasnt started la, but it's her first attempt, i dunno if she will succeed. usually we just order from our old aunty but she said she wanna try to make herself this time! haha...my mom is a great chef! she just loves to cook!

jialat, i must be living in ulu-land. i actually thought the sling sarongs were quite hip! even told hubby that i must get one of them next time...:p

xuanting: no lah!! sarongs are called Maya something? in the West right? You can get one if u seriously like it. It's practical really.

like I mention, it's cos I've seen peasants (and beggars) in China carrying their tots in cloth slings and even baskets on their backs as they migrate to urban areas.

In our part of the world, it's called "rustic" and "retro" man!

storeberry: congrats! How does your baby's face look like? Is it round? squarish? I find my baby's face quite pointed, like my hb's long face! HAHAHAH! such semblance...

xuanting, if only. To date, he didn't do any reading at all, it was only me who has been doing the reading and when I tell him about this and that, he doesn't believe me too. And he would always compare me to other pregnant women and scold me when I walk too slow.
If only someone can talk some sense into him on everything!

sarahmay
i think the GD method recommends parents do the reading in different mediums.so the child can be exposed to different formst he word can appear in.It';s like what Lim said, all about exposure.

one thing about GD is that it promotes bonding and trust between mother and child. GD places high premium on mothers' motivation to guide the child through formative years.

sarong slings
they are quite easy to use actually. not too heavy and bulky to bring out. i used it ever since my boy was born. he didnt use the stroller until he was 15mths(when i realised i was preg).

can use it as blanket when they sleep, can use excess to cover up when you are bfg in public etc...highly recommended!

o yes, btw, better start the child early on sling if you are using one. usually they resist after 6mths of age...

Oh wow, this thread sure moves at lightning speed!

storeberry
So nice to be able to see your baby in such detail.. I am guessing you're the 1st one here to go for the DS, the rest of us are all 'queueing' up to go for ours in the next two weeks.

wingkei
Are you going to sign up for any antenatal classes? I think it is good that your hubby attends it with you so he understands what you are going through, both mentally & physically. I just went for my first lesson yesterday & the hubbies were all also involved. They will talk about our body changes & emotional state & remind our partners to be very supportive of us. In my coming lessons, we'll have some classes which involve relaxation exercises during labour, labour rehearsal & postnatal exercises. All these lessons require spousal support. They'll also show us a real live video on the birth of a baby. I think it is good our hubbies attend these classes so they understand what we are going through. Cheer up! *hugs*

I oso just came back from the detailed scan. It took ard 20 minutes and all went smoothly. The bb is normal bt alas.. i though it will be a minnie but the doc told me 99.99% boy lo

My heart sunk lo.. (abit cos' i thot it will be nice for the kid to play bears wif me since i am a bear lover)

Bt i try to look at the bright side.. at least perhaps he can go running wif me next time when he grows up :p

Mei, at first I was very enthusiastic about it but now am not so sure if I still want to sign up for it. My hubby feels it's a waste of money and even suggested that if I want to go, I can go by myself.

Millie, Storeberry: No prob. Pass me the orders when you have yours. I will close at once we reach 12,000 yen ok? Millie, when is your DS next week? early part or late?

Glen Doman, Shichida: I'm a strong advocate. My baby is exposed to both since young. Foe Shichida, the youngest age for admission is 3mths! In our first term, I had a 4mth old in our class!

Storeberry, Mrs Yap: Remember we were the 3 with the spotting on and off? And we all got boys.. Wonder if there is any connection.. ?? Congrats to us all!!!

storeberry
DS can see face shape so clearly?? Even nose also can see? Wah...I'm looking forward to nxt fri liao!! So happy for you and your smallberry!!

flos
think u have to call up mezza9 to make reservation..open to public, no need media invitation. Go try his desserts lah...no need to fly to tokyo or paris leh!!

Mrs Yap
I got my Medela PIS thru eBay and it's arrived in goood condition and works fine. I paid $320 in all for it, incl shipping.

Ava
U ordered Medela PIS recently?? At $320, it's really reasonable rite?? SG selling for like $600 or smthing? I'm gonna chk out Ebay now,hehe...

Goldfish - boys also can be bear lovers...tho social norms wld prob dictate otherwise. hehe. My bro played barbie dolls w me when he was young. He didn't turn out gay. I played w trucks and stuff...and I didn't turn out butch. Heheh.

Storeberry! So exciting!!! Did u get to keep the scan pictures etc?

SARONG SLINGS - Which brand do u rec? Moms in mind or Born & Bond? Also is the dark blue one hot u think? Was thinking of getting darker material cos i am afraid of stains. Yes, Lilboymum, I also heard tt must start training bb early to use sarong if not will be v difficult to get them to stay inside.

FLOS- the story you told abt the affluent but sorely uncivilised behaviour is shocking yet true. It just proves that EDUCATION does not equate to being educated.

JAYMICKEY - Is it very much cheaper?

bbmouse
Yup, my hubby gamely brought the whole thing down to sim lim and asked to try out a few adaptors. Even got into a discussion about breastpumps with the saleslady LOL!!!

Sunrays
It's super cheap. In SG selling for more than $750 last time i saw it. with no sale lah

Sarahmay
i use momsinmind coz its lighter. but some mummies complain that there is no padding. there is one other brand with padding on the sides, but i cant recall what brand that is...

bbmouse
how old is your boy? you sahm? both methods means you have to do a lot of homework ah!!!

storeberry
so detailed the scanning, you dun need to go for the 4D scan liaoz!!

flos, xuanting
think maya wrap is another version of sarong sling leh. the tying is different, not very suitable for singaproe weather. coz quite hot.

the sarong is in again coz of the attachment parenting thingy lah...heeeee..so bb attached to you like koala bear :p

wingkei: i am quite shocked to hear that "And he would always compare me to other pregnant women and scold me when I walk too slow. If only someone can talk some sense into him on everything!" How come?!!! Do u know why he said that?

SarahMay: yeah man...I also played with Masks and transformers, not barbie dolls at all.

Sigh...just got to put up with different types of parents when u travel in group lah.

sunrays: but u haven't told me the duration of the promotion. You mean he'll stay there long enough to make the macarons daily for the customers during the World Gourmet Summit? Or he'll make and leave some there and fly back to Paris?

Today, I bought NEUROGAIN-PB cos I really cannot stand eating fish. I know I'm lacking in fish oil and drinking Enfamama is just not enuff. Gotta boost my fish oil intake.

I also bought a super long bolster from Metro. Very comfy to hug

lilboymum: I see..Maya wrap...All these all sound geek to me!

What do u mean when u said must do lots of homework with Shichida? Is it the same as 心算?

I'm really not trained in pedagogy unlike most professional educators in this thread
pls enlighten me.

wingkei
your hb sounds like he is frustrated with something...it may not even be you or the pregnancy...maybe ask nice nice if he is facing any problems. he sounds like those 'da nan ren' must eat soft cannot eat hard kind izzit?

flos
both GD and Shichida must do 'homework' and flashcards daily/weekly etc.and some cards need preparation like picture cards etc, cut pic out, paste on boards, laminate etc...

hey, if you are moving to shanghai, might be able to get a lot of these stuff there cheaper isnt it...they have grade A imitation or what...