(2008/09) Sep 2008

Mrs Yap
Don't think you need the Avent sterilizer for Avent bottles, as long as the bottles can fit inside. Mine was not an Avent sterilizer, but am using Avent bottles.

Mrs Yap, both pigeon and avent sterilisers can sterilise both pigeon and avent bottles. In fact, they can steriliser other brands of bottles too. I have an avent steriliser and I've used, pigeon, medela, avent and dr brown's bottles.

lilboymum: don't say "die" lah! Another mickey is also good right?

SarahMay: why dun u check out the cordyceps prices in Macau? or for that matter, TCM prices? Any marked difference?

Missy: I'm taking Enfamama. I like the vanilla flavour so far...However, I drink it 4X a week only. Other times, I drink MEIJI low fat milk.

Mei: tell me about it man! I'm already experiencing some tightness as I bend down to bathe my feet in the shower. I tried to lift one foot up to clean the toes, but am afraid I'm lose my balance in the shower. Better to get the pedicurist to scrub and trim for me:0

Millie: zisha (紫砂炖盅)is those brownish mud-coloured matte surface ones. They are known to abosorb the aroma and taste over time. The more u use, the more season it'll become. In China, they use zisha for gongfu tea and dongpo braise meat.

1360274.jpg

taoci (陶瓷)is those glossy surface ones usually with white background. It's also ok but I use it for birdsnest.

1360275.jpg

Millie: Just to add to SarahMay's comment, some dun zhongs you purchase from dept stores will have the "elevator" or "pedestal" to lift your Dun Zhong up so that it's literally surrounded by boiling water.

Good ones will come with an additional lid below the main lid. You can use tracing/baking paper to seal the opening before closing the lid. They do this in China.

SarahMay: I also think that talking to my baby and listening to music will be good enough. I try to read and watch intelligent channels and books, and avoid all trashy programmes and tabloids!

Although I've kinda 'secured' my mickey's Pri 1 school placement (thanks to my hb's alma mater), I'm thinking that int'l school will be better for him. I hope that by the time he is ready to enter P1, my hb will be posted overseas and given an education allowance
I just don't quite like the education system in SG, all that sending kids to attend enrichment classes in the weekends, doing voluntary work to gain credits for your child's enrolment, etc. Sigh...just hate them...

Flos - Yeah...I also think that is enough. Voluntary work to gain entry is only for those super popular schools lor! Hehe. Thank goodness my alma mater back in SG is super near my house, and is one of those ballot types. So got place. but still I m worried abt schs that place more emphasis on academic excellence than character devt. Hey! If you are in Shanghai, make sure you don't send him to the Shanghai-Singapore International School....They still do the SG syllabus albeit some modification. Where do you think you will be by the time your kids are school-ready? HK, Macau have this study hard thing too you know. Wah! They even got school on Sat...and even Sun here. can faint! But if I'm here still and I can get work teaching in this govt-subsidised intl sch, I will send my kid there. They provide free education. But just a little worried abt him picking up English with HK accent. Hahaha. Actually, SG education is still the most decent in Asia I find. I guess, as parents we have to play a big role in gatekeeping stress from our kids.

Hi Mrs Yap,

I would recommend that you get the sterliser from Singapore, cos of the voltage difference, you would need to get another adaptor if you buy from the US. The price difference would not be that much. I cannot advice further, cos I don't sterilise bottles for my no. 1 as I direct latch.
I also don't sterilise bottles when my son starts taking the bottle after 1 year old.

Sarahmay,
I agree with what you have shared on bringing up children. But the thing with babyplus is that though it cannot show conclusively it improves the intelligence of children, I think there is no harm done to them either. It was on this basis that I tried it... My son can hear perfectly after birth.
afterall, being a first time mom, I was then quite concerned that my child be given a good headstart in life. But after interacting with some other parents and children, I think, like you say, there are many factors contributing to good EQ and IQ.

As for the schichida class, once again, I am not again sure that it's effective. But my son really enjoys the class. One thing to note is that oftentimes, parents might perceive enrichment classes as stressful for the child, but they have forgotten to the child, if they like the classes, it's not stressful to them at all. To them it is play. It is this fine balance that parents should strive to have for their children.
My son is the type who will tear out of the house and not shed a tear when it's time to go to playgroup, and for that, I am very thankful.

I think raising a child in Singapore can sometimes be stressful, depending on what you want for your child. For example, now I am looking for a pre-nursery to send my son to for 2009, and all the good schools are all booked up, some even up to 2010. So in a sense, if I want my son to enter the school, I would have to enroll him really early.. is this kiasu? Or are we just victims of circumstances? Sigh.

afternoon mummies ,
sasa/xuanting/shazz/LLCY/ava / bigtoes / Crayonshin/Lim .. ThanX for your concern .
I am back at work already .. hubby have a MRI scan that day and the whipleash effect caused his neck C4-C6 to be herniated .. plus he susbstained crack collar bone .. still complaining of pain .. but i guess the injury will recover .. anyway he flew back to shanghai already ..
J& S mum ,
The CD in serangoon shop , which one har ?? cos i teach here .. can buy from here .. Also i thought only at week 24 then bb ears formed and can hear us .. cos last time i only start listening in 6th mth .
Shazz ,
u are so fortunate to have 80D ... me still at 75 A .. keke .. even when i am BF my FB , my size is still small.. keke .. but pregnancy have to use the bra extension cos the width increased .
Sunrays .. u tempting us to go zara to buy bb clothes ...
gg for lunch now ...

Hi Mickeymouse,

I started my son with Schichida when he was about 15 months old. Not too sure if it's is useful, but he enjoys it, and we will likely continue it until he gets bored of it.

Flos/SarahMay,
Wa u both r good at brewing tonics ah
I've bot the dun zong in NTUC yest and i tink they are the normal porcelain type. Regarding putting kitchen towel beneath the dun zong will b wet rite cos u need to put water in the slow cooker ??? So to prevent putting the dun zong base directly on the pot, can use the round metal to act as the base ( the one normally pple use to put as a base for the dish when steaming fish, etc.

Pardon me for my ignorance cos i 1st time brewing soup.

Hi Millie,

Yes I am. So sorry, sometimes I get lost in all the posts, cos the thread moves so fast.
Did you asked me about this earlier?

I think the Peg Perego stroller is good. But it is abit bulky though, and some people might not like it. I like it cos it's very sturdy, smooth, and also more comfortable for my son to sit in and sleep in without having to put additional cushioning underneath him. But my son don't really sit in stroller alot. :p but this is your first child right? Then can use for second one also, so not that bad and can aleast get some money worth. Some children also like to sit in strollers, not all are like mine.

Yes i quite like it, the seat compared to combi and maclaren is more spacious. Just tat it's a bit heavy. Another brand that i like is Ingeslina(not sure if got the correct spelling). Also italy brand.
I find that Peg Perego back padding/cushion is quite thick compared to other brands as well. I tink it looks more comfy, but my colleague commented that it may b a bit too hot for the bb in SG weather. Wat u tink leh ?

Does being upset also affect MS? I'm already past my 4 months but vomitting especially a lot this past weekend and I took a day of medical leave. When my hubby came back and asked me what I did that day, I told him nothing, cos I was so sick, just lying in bed, and he said I wasted a day! I was so mad and upset at him. Then yesterday, I only happened to switch on the laptop abut 15min before he reached home, and he raised his voice at me, saying I didn't do the household chores. I already cleaned up the kitchen best as I could and happened to miss out 2 things, and he pointed out those 2 things. In the end, I burst into tears and he scolded me for crying. It led to my MS even worse, I think, I kept vomitting last night and even till now.
How to maintain a happy outlook like this?

Wingkei...
your story sounds like my hubby when he is super irritating... he does occasionally make idiotic comments like these and I am super mad with him. But he also has his nice sweet and caring part. Don't your hubby have anything good for u to overlook his flaws? Meanwhile u take care n eat well

RXMom: Your boy is now 2yrs old as in 24mths? So it's almost 1 yr since you joined. I started my girl when she's 10mths. Yes, she likes it too, but her concentration in class is up and down Sometimes she can be veru cranky in class. We will likely continue til she's 3 or older.

Millie: Don't think there's much diff between the 2 brands. I got an Avent, but I think Pigeon is also a trusted brand.
Hey for brewing soup or bird nest, I recommend the zisha pot posted by Flos allso. It's like a slow cooker with a timer. So can literally prepare the double the soup frm the morning and it'll still be warm when you come home in the evening.
I don't boil soup cos my MIL does that for me, I double boil bird nest this way.

RXmom (ruixiangsmom): Thanks so much for sharing your experience with Baby Plus. Have dropped the idea cos my hubby was skeptical about the programme and would rather spend the money on other stuff.

Qiuling (chewy_ring): I would rather my boobs dun grow at all then I dun have to spend $$$ getting new bras! hehe. They're also getting abit painful when I sleep.

SarahMay (sarahmay): Thanks for the confirmation, will check out E2 Lingerie soon!

On strollers, hubby is keen to get the Stokke Xplory and also looking at Preg Perego's new stroller called Skate. But we have yet to try out Skate. But both strollers are very heavy at 12kg! But I doubt I'll go out alone with the baby much. If I do, will perhaps get another Combi stroller.

I know of a friend who got 3 strollers for her 16 mths old girl! It seems that different strollers is useful for different occassions!

<font color="119911">Winnie (forever59) - thanks for the update
Looking forward to my detailed scan, don't really mind a boy or a girl, as long as the baby is healthy

Ava - hmm...doubt i will have the determination to BF for more than 6 months...so hopefully no biting!

RXmom (ruixiangsmom)- hmm…maybe you should skip babyplus for no. 2 to see if there is any noticeable difference? I bought it mainly cos it is suppose to help the baby become more independent &amp; self sooth, &amp; make our lives easier….will never really know if how much of his personality etc.. can be attributed to babyplus or to nature. Doubt I would do send the baby to Schichida classes thou – just want it to have a relatively stress free upbringing like I had (no tuitions, plenty of time outside climbing trees etc).
As it is, the kids in my family (nephews &amp; niece and my sisters &amp; I) are all quick learners &amp; started talking &amp; walking before 1 year &amp; family gatherings are noisy affairs. My hubby is already complaining that he would rather have a baby that takes its time to talk &amp; walk &amp; let him have some peace &amp; quiet!
Like Sarah May said, to each his own of course.

Strollers – Am planning to get a Combi (the one with tone brown &amp; all wheels rotatable, 180% recline &amp; the shock proof absorber seat). Was recommended by my SIL thou not sure if the Peg Perego one might be better. At this stage I am quite decided on the big items – don’t want to have too many options &amp; get all confused!

wingkei (wingkei) – your hubby can obviously be more understanding. I suppose u just need to take every thing he says with a pinch of salt &amp; not let it get to u as it would affect the baby.
Take care okie….maybe when the mood is better, sit him down for a good chat about his attitude and lack of support? Better to have these issues settled before the baby comes along &amp; everything gets more taxing

shazz: "3 strollers for her 16 mths old girl"????????????/

Wow! My hb and I have been shopping around for strollers too and we concluded that we might need 2 at least. One McLaren for old folks cos it's really light-weight, another one with more padding (brand not decided yet) for other places and occasions. Based on my SIL and sis' experience, Peg Perego is really very heavy and warm for SG's climate. If you need your in laws' help to push bb around in the park in the evenings, a light weight one will be good enough. Unknown brands from kiddy palace are also functional.

I'll most likely get Avent cos I was told Pigeon's pacifier is not as good as Avent's.

RXMum: What is Schichida?

wingkei: just tell him to stay away from u lah...I also flared up very often over the phone cos my hb is seldom in town to face my wrath! I've also been taking lots of sick leave (really peng san to wake up in the morning) and even resort to taking my own annual leave. My parents advised me not to get mad or "pek chek" during pregnancy cos it'll affect your baby's temperament next time. Just rest well and close one eye. Nowaways, I just ignore my colleagues' gossipings and bitching and mind my own biz...I'm in cloud nine...serenading to my bb in some utopia....fa la la....

Millie: I think if your dun zhong doesn't come with that base, u can use your steam base then. I'm not comfy tucking some wet towels under the pot leh...

JUST WONDERING: Are your screens cut off partially, like mine? I need to scroll to my right to view the entire posting.

1360740.jpg

LL'CY .
I have a boi already .. and this time scan also Mickey =Boi ... the same thing lor ... i said Cham ... cos think i cannot afford to have another bb already and that have to close factory .... the chinese calendar not accurate .. me suppose to have gal in the calendar + my boi called " mama " first then " papa " recently .. so all aunties said i should have gal .. but last scan shows mickey .. and gynae spell that out ..

flos .. mine too .. only today i have to stroll Left and right to read the posts ..
try to press enter to the next line when i typed so that it will
not get so bad //

Wingkei ,
try to ignore and stay happy .. I have a lot of times when
hubby makes me really very sad .. esp when he have to entertain pple
in china in nightvlubs and massage palours
even he said he did nothing ..
but it will still be in your mind and head
wondering ..
hmm .... so just ignore la .. will affect bb

next time if hubby say never do housework ,
maybe u just tell him u just vomitted and too weak to do .
and maybe he should help in some ways ..keke

So when I'm so upset, I like to keep to myself and stay in a corner and he says I'm using this kind of 'cham' pattern again and don't expect him to pacify me.

Qiuling, just vomitted and too weak to do is no excuse. He knows I still keep vomitting but never askd after me when I come back from work, and when I vomit, he will move far away. I even took medical leave cos was sick and he can still say I wasted one day lying in bed.

Flors: yah lor, they use a Quinny Buzz when they're out with the hubby, and when they travelling cos it's great for moving around. The lightweight Combi when the mummy is bringing the girl for walks. Lastly, the Preg Perego when the mummy brings the girl along to do grocery shopping etc as it can hold groceries and remain stable.

I got a Pigeon steriliser during the Isetan Private Sale. Now I thinking of getting another set cos if I'm gonna leave my baby with my MIL or mum when I go back to work, I'll need 2 sets of everything. Will probably try the Advent.

flos.. i also have to scroll. How do you normally do your double-boiling?

Double-boiling - Clothes under the dun zong is perfectly safe. The water will prevent it from burning if tt is what you are concerned with. Also I find the cloth better for preventing pot movement during boiling. It is the old school method lor. The metal base used for steaming fish can somtimes rattle and the pot will move cos the pot weight might not be able to weigh the base down. Fish normally on a plate bigger than the base so don't really rattle. Can also use small bowl to support the dun zhong. Just ensure there is enough weight to prevent the pot from moving during boiling.

ELECTRIC DOUBLE-BOILERS - I saw them for real cheap in China. BUt just wondering, if the electric ones only come in large sizes? Cos the ones I see here are like huge, enough to brew soup for liek family of 4 type. Dun have the small ones. But only like Sg60.

SHICHIDA - What exactly do they do with toddlers? Read online but doesn't say much. Just loads of stuff on promising to generate bb geniuses. Do you get to sit in class with bb?

Bigtoes - You grew up in kampong? How come climb trees? hehe. I grew up in kampong so I did climb trees, destroyed my grandma's garden and other 'chor lor' stuff. Haha. I hardly find ppl in the same generation from kampongs tho.

WINGKEI - I think your hubby just having bad day la. Dun let yourself get too affected. At least you try to do housework....I am the opposite... I'm so lazy and I am not working. But I nag at my husband for messing up the house. Hehe.

Mickeymouse - Congrats on feeling your bb move! I still ahven't figured out if what i feel is bb moving or not.

STROLLERS - Do we need to buy strollers so soon? I was thinking of just buying bb sarong carrier first. Then after 2-3 months, buy stroller. There are really so many types of strollers that I am already q lost. I want something lightweight yet sturdy enough for me to chuck stuff under it without it overturning. Anyone knows anything about CAPELLA prams? Are they any good?

SarahMay: Yes, Shichida emphasizes parent-child bonding. One parent must accompany the child in class. It's right brain-left brain training method. There was a tv programme on shichida children just recently.

BigToes
We have the same approach to child rearing in terms of the extra classes etc...we just want Adan to have a childhood...not that they don't have one with all the extra classes and such, but a really carefree childhood...somewhere deep down, i worry as all moms do that we're not doing enough...but just can't bring ourselves to add on the extra activities. Maybe when older.

Even music and stuff, we're taking our time...the only thing I'm seriously considering is dance classes, cos that boy loves to dance...may intro tap dance when he's a bit older...cos he loves seeing elmo tap dance and "happy feet"

SarahMay: You don't have to buy so soon. A car seat will be more necessary. When the baby is NB, you may want to carry instead of putting into the pram, besides NB babies seldom go out.

Qiuling: "esp when he have to entertain pple
in china in nightvlubs and massage palours
even he said he did nothing .."

Do have some trust in your DH. My hb also needs to entertain at KTVs and visit massage joints in China every now and then. I just hv to close one eye to derive peace and harmony in the household. Good thing is I know most of his frens (incl his bosses) and colleagues in China, so he doesn't dare to do anything funny. He knows I'm not easily conned.

If you're still worried, why not u 2 invest in some 3G phones so that he can show u who he is with every night?!!!

Shazz: Quinny is my hb's favourite brand!!!! He is so impressed with the wheels and state of the art design, but i find it rather heavy. U don't find it heavy? I saw Graco and Combi too. But I like McLaren cos that's Princess Diana's favourite stroller brand
Royal recommendation

SarahMay: I'm using the zisha double boiler which I posted above for birdsnest solely. Just set it to 2 hours will do. If you're talking about tonic soups, I'm sorry, my MIL does it for me. She uses a slow cooker, Lucky Brand, which is not a double boiler.

Sarong carrier? How about those BabyBjorn? A bit hot looking though!!! i saw a dad struggling with the plastic loop the other day and thought the sarong is quite a hassle to adjust, is it? No offence to sarong advocates and users, but my hb thought it looks rather "rural" and "villager-like", probably cos he's seen many moms in China and parts of Southeast Asia using them. But of course, I told him it's cooler (less hot) for baby and parent.

Actually, I also agree with bbmouse. In the first couple months, the baby won't be able to sit down properly in the stroller. Most likely, you need the car seat to ferry him to take those jabs in the first 6 mths, right? I dunno...I'm a first time mom too

jaymickey

Mine is a minnie...Princess Charlotte is wat I call her hehe...your due date is the same as mine - Sep 4!! My DS is nxt fri, looking forward to it!! THe sad thing is I havn't felt any kicks yet..maybe gals more gentle?? I felt some bubbly sensation in my tummy last nite but I'm not sure wat tat was...

mickeymouse,

Yup, my son is 2 years old as in 24 months old. His birthday just past in April

Flos,
Yes, a parent does sit in during the schichida class to encourage bonding. No maids allowed. What they do is they have lots of activities, each lasting not more than 3 minutes I think. One may find that too fast, but for these kids, it's too slow cos their attention span is not v long. Some of the things can be done at home, and we do, but the materials they have are quite good, and takes quite alot of effort to make, and since my son likes it, hence we are sticking with it for a while too.

I sent my son to kindermusik trial once and he likes that too, but I am, as of now, not willing to drive all the way from sengkang to Tanglin just for that 45min class (and $4 parking fee).One thing at a time lah.

btw, just to clarify just in case I give the mistaken impression. I only send my son to playgroup and Schichida classes. Besides that, we bring him out during weekends to the beach, camping, water play etc...pet farm, etc... he can't climb tree yet as of now. ...so i don't cram him with worksheets hor. :p

Flos
If you still interested to try Pierre Herme's creations, can call up Hyatt for reservations. Both Mezza9 and Martini Bar will have a menu for PH's desserts. I'll be going tmr nite...altho I'm not very keen cos i'm having a bad throat but my gfs insisted i join them... anyway my hubby had a pleasant surprise when PH's PR guy called him and requested to dine at Canele. Such an honour cos PH had a 'blind' tasting of marcarons bought by a group of journalists and he liked all the Canele's macarons. This morning my hb made breakfast for him at Canele and PH viewed his kitchen...I dug out all the PH books we had and told my hb to get him autograph it,hehehehe...

<font color="119911">SarahMay (sarahmay) - hah...didn't quite grow up in a kampong
But I lived in KL till I was 12, so we had a huge compound with lots of fruit trees and open spaces! I used to climb up to my starfruit tree to read story books, until the red fire ants came...
Life then was pretty carefree, don't remember studying much, no tutions (thou my parents did send all of us for ballet/tae kwon do, piano &amp; swimming classes)...for my generation in Msia, I guess life was pretty much the same as that for my in-laws generation. And yes - I was every bit a tomboy as well!

On the strollers - I am planning to get one during the Great Spore Sale cos then i can go out &amp; about alone with baby during maternity. Getting the Combi one also cos its only 6.1kg, one of the lighter (but not too flimsy) ones around. Also getting a Lascal carrier (the type u strap on your back/front - can be used for new borns) cos no idea how to sling the sarong!

Shichida - I caught their series of promo program on Ch 5 recently. Have to say, some of these kiddies are really intelligent - like being able to determine how many dots in an A4 paper after being flashed for 1 second. Amazing what a child's right brain can do that adults are not capable of!</font>

Flos ,
I have a quinny for my son .. it is a 8kg Quinny .. keke need to have hand strength .. but the design and look is worth .. in fact .. my hubby wanted to buy a second one for micky but i stopped him cos i think i want a lighter one .. cannot imagine have to carry two sons plus two super heavy prams out .. will die from the weight .. I have MIM slings

Reg strollers

My personal experience is either wait for hand-me down stroller or dun get before u give birth cos u never know if ur baby like to be inside the stroller. Just like my elder gal, when she's still in my tummy, we wanted so much to get a stroller for her but in the end, the sales lady in a dept store said it's better to get after baby is born. True enough when my gal is born, she doesn't like to be in the stroller, prefer to be carried until later stage begin to like stroller... we were oso lucky enough that our good friend hand down their stroller to us, so we didn't spent a single cent on that.

Mrs Yap,
Me using Pigeon. Bought 2005 till now..still working strong.
Can put about 6 big bottles.
Sterialize time is short, 15min if i am not wrong
And keeping clean is easy, cos is like a big pot , you jus need to put some lemon (cos got rust) and water ONLY and steralize 1 round.

Avent one shld be not bad too. Jus abit more EXP lor.But sterialize time might be longer.
So u need to consider pros and cons lor.
1) no of bottles (spaces)
2) time to sterialise
3) maintaenace

Flos,
Shichida is a right brain training.
They do it via flash card, cos suppose to say our right brain is like camera , after some 'flashing' ur brain can store the images.
And 'they' say the right brain normally fully developed when the kids reached 3..but not sure how true is it

Thanks RXMOM for the info.

sunrays: WOW! But hor, I'm like u, suffering from a bad throat! I have dry cough, as a result of drinking tonic soups on 3 consecutive nights. Shucks...I think the PH Macarons are gonna make it worse. Do u know the timings at Hyatt's restaurant and bar u mentioned? Any visitor can go in? Do u need media invitation?

Qiuling: Quinny is really really pricey. But the design is awesome!

Maybe Jaline is right. Get the stroller after the bb is born. My SIL wanted to give me a hand-me-down stroller which her boy found it too hot and heavy. I've seen the entire padding soaked in his boy's sweat and she had the audacity to offer the second-hand stroller to me? I told my hb, no way am I going to let my prince sit in that dirty grubby stroller! Get a new old!