(2008/09) Sep 2008

stef&seanbabes (limyg): I guess your natural metabolism rate is rather high to begin with to resume your pre-pregnancy figure within a month's time. BF for 2 years is super long to me too ... but I just heard a weird case where the woman BF for 7 years!!!

Great, I'm getting Medela PIS, so hope it'll help me regain my figure asap too! hehe

SarahMay: Thanks for sharing E2 Lingerie with us. Any idea if they have DD cup size and above?

SarahMay (sarahmay), my mom was telling me abt this 13th tai bao.. yes, is an an tai herb.. which only starts taking after 5 month... and only one month once...

Winnie (forever59) - CONGRATS!
Think you must be the 1st one here who has gone for the detailed scan. What does this entail? Is it just a visual check of the limbs, heart & lung cavities etc?

storeberry: yeah, man...actually, my cordyceps were leftovers from my TTC regimen last year. You can increase intake of cordyceps after childbirth too.

I felt my baby's movements in the pelvic area, below the belly button, as I was coughing this morning. I think baby is disturbed that mommy's having a cough.

Big Toes/Lim : Some time middle of 2007, Eu Yang Sang was selling broken cordyceps (premium Tibetan grade ones) at around $500+. I grabbed two packs and got them to grind it and fill up capsules for me. Now, they no longer sell those, thanks to today's rising inflation.

MOmoko: Don't take your hb's flu tabs. Yesterday, I got some yelloe flu tabs CHLORPHENIRAMINE from my GP downstairs. They are for preggers, but I still refrained from taking them. I'm just drinking lots of water, eat apple, drink apple cider+honey with lukewarm water 3X/day, and plenty of rest.

MIllie: I think 8 pieces of cordyceps is too much, eh? If it's just one bowl of soup u r brewing, i think 2-3 sticks should be very "bu" liao!!!

Lim: those ultra fat ones are the TOP GRADE ones. Over $1,000 per liang/tael (37.8mg). One liang of those thick ones can fill 100 capsules if u ask EYS to process for u. I think mine is the MEDIUM GRADE one based on the thickness and length. There is also the LOWEST GRADE ones which used to cost $388-400 thereabouts per tael at Chinatown medical halls back in 2006-07. They are now going for $500-600 per tael.

Then, do not just look at the thickness. Ask for the place it was produced/cultivated. Some are man-made/cultivated in Taiwan or some parts of China. They are the cheapest lot, and EYS sells those in bottles OTC. Natural ones are from: TIBET (TOP GRADE), QINGHAI (a bit lower but not any worse then TIbet), SICHUAN (lower grade than TIBET/QINGHAI or 青藏).

Millie: for those dunzongz, hv u tried CK Tangs, Taka, ISetan or Metro. They all sell those double boilers, that contains the zong within. But if u just want the zong, try getting those zisha ones, not taoci ones. Go to Chinatown area and try...

SarahMay: howdy! really bu but trying to cut down due to the heatiness. Hey, u still in Macau?! I haven't heard of 'Thirteen Herb Tonic'. Is it safe to take? Do u still need an tai tabs?

Stef&sean: You are eating too little!!! Did u share this diet with your gynae? One tbspoon of rice per day? how big is ur sandwich? 6inch or footlong?!!

Thanks Bigtoes (limay).Yap. during the DS, there is a visual check on bb limbs, heart, brain,lung,kidney, circumference of stomach and head. The check is only to make sure that those major organs are present and also the size is of the correct size. There's also a check on the blood flow and bb gender too.
During the scan, bb must be very co-operative..my bb nt that co-operative so my scanning took longer haha...but then also gd coz can see bb more and longer...

hi mummies, just came back from my detailed scan with TC Chang. i'm having a mickey!!! with this mickey & my gal, i can officially close factory liao, yippy!!! the scan cost me $192.60.

sarahmay : my boops did not sag during or after bf. i think 70A to 75B size still wun sag right ? i'm not sure, but i did not hv this sagging problem. i think sagging happens if the boops gets too big and dun wear a good support bra.
Abt losing weight: though i eat little, i dun lose weight. so far, i hv gain 3kg from pre-preg weight (from 43.5 to close to 47kg). my metabolic rate is rather low i think.

Storeberry: sure u can bf for 1 yr or even longer! all u need to do is just pump and latch and pump and latch.

Shazz:
i think my metabolic rate is low cos i eat v little yet i dun lose weight.

Flos:
my sandwich is neither 6" or footlong
. Mine is just 2 slices of bread with cheese in-between. I did not share with gynae regarding my diet. she does not ask too since my weight gain is quite consistent though little.
with my 1st pregnancy, she did ask me to eat more as my weight gain was quite low, but with my 2nd one and this 3rd one, i think she knows it's a norm for me
and my babies were all born with healthy weight. so i guess she is not too worried abt how much i eat. more imptly is the baby

Winnie n Twendy
congrats on your princes
wow so many Boys leh...
Now the gender list abit not balanced liao...
HOW LONG Is the detailed scan?? 30 mins?

twendy,
congrats on ur mickey
are u going for any contraceptive measures after ur mickey is born ? for me, i also thought could close factory after my 2nd one is born as i also got a gal and boy. but unfortunately accidents happen. so after 3rd one comes out, i will be going for the Mirena IUS.

millie,
once u stopped bf, u may gain some weight as ur body is so used to eating that amt of food. but after a while, ur appetite will go back to normal and ur weight will go back to normal too. the weight gain after bf is just during the transition period. no worries .

ya hor...actually if u refer back to that 700-yr-old birth prediction chart that relies on probability, most moms with EDD in SEPT would've conceived in lunar month of NOV/DEC, which has the highest probability of mickeys.

http://justwoman.asiaone.com/Just%2BWoman/Motherhood/Stories/Story/A1Story20080414-59692.html

Just skim thru the mom's lunar age from late 20's to 35, u will see MICKEY MICKEY MICKEY...

perhaps that's why our thread is so "masculine"? LOL

stef& sean: great! As long as u maintain your weight, i suppose it's ok! I need a slice of cheese now. TTYL!

Bigtoes
If u are breastfeeding correctly, it should not hurt at all, after nipples get used to the sucking...the only thing that hurts after 6-7 months is when babies bite....that's when I stopped...but i understand u can train them not to bite ...I didnt' have the patience :D

wow.. so many mickeys!! so the chinese prediction chart is rather true ? i think i conceived in month of Dec, not the lunar month. EDD is 4th sept. so boy or gal ? hee... so anxious to know gender. DS scan this sat.. kekeke

Flos
About that chart, I;ve always been a bit confused...for dec conception, we should be looking at lunar month 10 or 11, right? depending on which part of dec?? NOt month 12...?

english 1st to 9th dec 07 is considered lunar 10th mth, frm 10th to 31st dec 07 is lunar 11th mth.. conception age is chinese age before birthday

Can anyone tell me what is the details scan? my gynae actually got tell me to do the scan on the next appointment but i forgot to ask her what scan is it.
It is scan of baby gender?

Lim (xuanmommy)
u missed me... pls pls include me in. ;p
my edd is 16 sept, and delivering at esh. Gynae: Dr Heng Tung Lan. Thanks!!

Ava: hehe! yah la...it's lunar month 10 or 11. I called them NOV/DEC
Anyway, just a fun chart to play with...I thot the X's and Y's shd come from the males....

I've just done my beautiful OPI red shimmer pedicure
I've been missing from my manicure salon for 6 months! Glad to return back there now. This weekend, I'll go and do my FACIAL...

hihihi gals

twendy
congrats!!! is this what you are hoping for??

flos
huh? the gender prediction is accuate ah? ive got a boy oredi leh. if another boy i die big time lah...

stef&seanbb
you intend to tandem nurse when the bb comes?how old is your 2nd one?

im hoping to do that (my boy is 17.5mths now and still nursing)..but maybe he'll be a gentleman then and let my boobs rest...i see if he wants to contd..let him decide when to wean.

Flos, Yvonne, Jasmine - The 'an tai' tonic according to my TMC friend just needs to be taken twice. can start anytime during second trimester. She took once in 5th month. Another one in 7th month. But not many medical halls know of it now cos it is an ancient recipe. I went to the TMC hall in Macau and the guy here said need TMC doc to prescribe. I got a Chinese herbal book from the medical hall back home, so will prob buy the herbs using that book.

jasmine - You mean check with gynae or TMC doc? Cos I asked my gynae before and she said she cannot comment on TMC herbs cos she's not trained.

DU ZONG: can buy from the provision cum hardware shops in the neighbourhood. I know the bigger NTUC branches also sell...at least I've seen it in NTUC Tampines. Shouldn't be too difficult to find. There are also several sizes. If you're just brewing for yourself, no need to buy the big ones. A medium-sized one will be fine. Just remember that when you double-boil, you must ensure the base of your du zong should not touch the base of the pot.

CHINESE PREDICTION CALENDAR - I think it has more than 50% accuracy. Hehe.
Shazz - For sure got DD. E even G also have! I know cos I just went to buy. Also they got a very good promo - spend $200 get $100 voucher free. So it would be like spending $100 on like your bras. Can easy get 4 really good underwire bras. I'm D/E cup so I find their support really good compared to other brands. I've tried other brands like Wacoal and Truimph, even Women's Secret and La Senza, but found them either too frumpy or lacking in support or just too ex.

Mommies, any of u drinking milk formulas for pregnant mummies? Initially i was drinking Anmum, but when my my MS got very bad during my 1st trimester, i stopped cos i was puking day & night. Now dat im much much better, im still contemplating whether to start my Anmum all over again. Will baby miss out much if i dun drink it? A bit lazy leh to drink... ;p

Hi Missy: I am drink Anmum chocolate every night, I try to drink in the morning as well. I don't like to drink milk but for the sake of baby, I will still drink...

Flos,
Why do u say buy the zisha dun zong instead of porcelain ?

SarahMay,
Can elaborate what u mean by when double boil, the base of dun zong dun touch the base of the pot. I was told to put the dun zong in the wok to use gas to boil or put dun zong in the slow cooker to boil ?

Wa, i see so many mummies know the gender of bb liao...so happy for u all...i hope to get to know mine when i go for checkup this fri...not sure will noe or not cos i now @ 18 wks.

l'l CY,
my son has already weaned off my milk since he was 2 yrs old (now 2 yrs 4 mths). but if i hv too much milk when baby comes out, i will just give the excess to my son. maybe mix it with his fresh milk

missy
I only drink fresh milk & only like thrice a week, I can't take the smell & taste of powdered milk. We drink milk mainly for the calcium, we need a lot of calcium as our baby needs a lot of calcium to build up his bones. We can actually get our source of calcium from other sources besides milk, like cheeses & some orange juices comes calcium fortified.

Yesterday I went for my 1st antenatal lesson. I think the lessons will be beneficial for our pregnancy journey. I attended my class at KKH & we were even given a lovely goody pack.

so many mummies here know the gender of their baby already.. i guess more gender will be announced after more of us going for their detailed scan these 2 weeks. i still have to wait another 2 weeks more for mine.

flos, i also went for mani and pedi on monday during lunch time. i had also missed doing my nails for almost half a year so decided to take a long lunch to do them. so happy with the pretty nails now. hehehe..

Talking about mani/pedi, we preggers actually need to go for regular pedi for the manicurists to scrub our feet & remove the hard skin on our soles. As we get heavier, the weight pressing down will tend to cause our heels to be dry & crack. I go once a month & my next appointment is on this sunday.

missy, i'm taking Anmum milk but only drinking it in the morning. i also just started drinking back after i stopped due to my MS. used to drink twice a day but now only drink once cos i also quite sick of the milk taste. hehehe.. so at nite i change to drink cereal. but i realised that the packet Anmum milk with honey taste quite nice, but they are more expensive :p

missy

i only drink HL choco milk abt 4 times a week. Anmum choco milk i only drink once a week cos i hate the milk taste it makes me feel like puking.

jaymickey. of cos u can join the conversation. so when is ur EDD? gender known yet?

abt milk intake: i drink Meiji fresh milk one cup daily with my pre-natal supplements

Hi Ava, I am having a minnie instead.. hee hee..

Hi Stef, my revised EDD is now 5th Sept.. used to be in end August..

Have u all gone for the detailed scan?

jaymickey,
my EDD almost same as urs. mine is 4 Dec
gender unknown yet. going for DS this Sat. anxious anxious

who is ur gynae ? which hospital will u be delivering ?

oh sorry.. my EDD is 4th Sept not 4th Dec. my gynae is dr eunice chua. delivering in TMC too. whv u done ur detailed scan ? is this ur first baby ?

Limay, Shazz,

Saw that you were discussing on the Baby Plus Education System. I used that for my son when I was in the US, but I have since sold it. Am not too sure if I will use it for this second pregnancy.

My son is considered bright, I think? for his age. He knows his alphabets and their phonics sounds before he turns 2. But then again, some of his classmates at his Schichida class are also very bright, not too sure if it's really due to Baby Plus. And also, my son sleeps terribly when he was a baby, which was opposite of the desired effects of Baby Plus.

Am thinking that maybe we don't use it for no. 2 just to see if there's any difference. And actually, so many things can contribute to how they turn out, will never know for sure that the effects are due to Baby plus.

sTill thinking about it, since my hubby is going to US next month, and I can still get him to get it... should I? Hmmm...

Wow RXmum...
I was actually looking for u!!
So happy to see yr post
My Hubby coming back soon from US and I was thinking if the sterilizers there are cheaper or not. Can u or any other experienced mummy tell me which brand of sterilizer is good? And pls advise is it necessary that a AVENT bottle MUST go with an AVENT sterilizer?? Can i use an AVENT bottle with a Mr Brown's Sterilizer?? headache headache..
Please let me know if its worth getting in the US and if so which Brand is Good.. Thanks Thanks

Pls see this website

http://www.target.com/Sterilizers-Feeding-Baby/b/ref=in_br_browse-box/601-9173183-0193731?ie=UTF8&node=13790301

Hi, yvonne, i think should be TCM ba. not sure. my mum just told me not to take shi can tai bao. the vitamin that the doc give me will be enough for me, she just remind me that i must take the vitamins that doc give. she feel not safe for shi san tai bao because one of our relative take that, and something to her child after it was born. not very sure of what illness the child have, but it die after one month it was born. although it happeded long ago but my mum still feel not safe.

Jaymickey - Welcome!

Millie - The whole aim of double-boiling is to use the heat from liquid to cook and extract the nutrients from the herbs etc. Applying direct heat will affect this process. So even if the du zong is not directly over the flame, you need to put something like some folded towers or a bowl to lift it away from direct flame. If not will burn also. I just use folded kitchen towels.

RXMom- Actually, I've read research that does not support the use of babyplus products and such. Several reasons cited include the disruption of bb's sleeping patterns in the womb as we cannot tell when they are awake, and may cause sleepign pattern disruptions. Perhaps, this could have caused the disturbed sleep in your baby? Also, the research also showed that contrary to the claims of the pre-natal products, amniotic fluid IS a good conductor of sound. Hence, putting headphones to the belly is unnecessary. And if the volume is too loud, it becomes too loud for bb in the womb. Just music or sound played in the room is good enough. Additionally, there are contrary brain development theories that point to other, greater factors influencing intelligence. The greatest factor influencing the development of neurons, synapses in the brains is actually emotional in nature. There is also caution that trying to accelerate intellectual abilities can supercede the emotional and social, which in the long term undermine a child's IQ. EQ is the foundation of IQ.

I've been thinking about the Shichida method also. and have been asking myself if it is really beneficial. RXMom- you're right when u say it is hard to draw one-to-one links to Baby Plus boosting intelligence. My friend doesn't belive in all these pre-natal stuf. She just talked a lot (adult level, no bb talk), sang and read a lot to her baby. When her bb was like 15 months, can already complete nursery the endings of nursery rhymes. She also knew how to count. When she was about 20 months, she can also pick out the letters of the alphabet. All without the enrichment classes. But again, it doesn't mean that these classes have no benefit.
Well, as MTBs and Mums we all want the best for our children, but I guess there are many different routes and theories on raising on our kids. So we just pick one that fits our kids and our personal convictions?

When I wasn't a parent, just a teacher, I told myself I cannot stress my bb next time. But now, I can understand what my std's parents say about the societal pressure on the children.

Raising a kid in Asian countries, esp Singapore, is really stressful I think. A lot of pressure and emphasis on academic learning. I just hope I won't become a super-kiasu parent at the expense of my child's happy,carefree childhood. Any one feeling the heat of such pressure too?

Jessi - I agreee with you. Anmum with honey is YUMMY! But ex! I just drink the plain one. Once a day in the morning though. cos i take cheese and yoghurt...so i think tt helps meet my daily calcium requirements. Actually, I think Anmum vanilla is not as bad as i thot. I tried Enfamama Choc but I dunno why i feel tt it tastes oily to me. hehee. Oh! Kraft Singles (Light) has the lowest sodium content, and decent calcium content, compared to the other reduced fat chesses. the NTUC reduced fat cheese has a lot of sodium.