(2008/09) Sep 2008

avalyn, ur son's childcare is cheap! which childcare does he go ? mine is $720 per child after subsidy. They go to the kinderland at Changi. my gal is 4 yrs 1 mth and my son is 2 yrs 4 mths old.

Millie,
once in a while, like every 3weeks, u can double-boil black chkn with pao sheng. we can drink this quite often coz this is to strengthen our BB as well as BB. no side effect or watsoever.

this is the double-boiled chkn essence i take once every few weeks:
double-boiled means u put the black chkn n abt 10pcs of pao sheng into a small porcelain container no need to add water at all. then put this into a bigger pot and fill it with water to steam it, it's good to use charcoal coz it takes abt 6-8hrs...

after tat, u will hv a bowl of yummy chkn essence for u and BB! this is really nutrious! try it when u hv the time!

stef&seanbabes
No wonder having 3 in there would be ex!!! Adan goes to Ascension Kindercare at Potong Pasir. it's a very decent price for full day and he seems to like it there - it's his second year there already.

shazz, 5kg in a wk?? Thats not easy leh!
I think there might be a drop once u've shit out everything.. heee...

I have to watch my diet cos my gynae doesnt want me to exceed 12kg of weight gain. But of cse I'd succumb to temptation all the time lar. So far I've gained approx 4kg. And I've heard we'll balloon from 5th month onwards. And I'm only a few days away from there! hahaha..

Qiuling, it must have been scary! Hb and I were involved in a car accident last july and I was scared stiff. I tot I was ok but a few days later, i kept having lower back pain. It cld have been whiplash. Do monitor and go to the doc if there's any miscomfort.

l'l CY, I agree with ur part abt taking care of our own kids on our own instead of getting IL/ parents/maid/nanny to take care. But then circumstances doesnt allow most of us to take care on our own. Like I very much would like to see and be there for my child's growth but it'll be super shiong on HB if we only rely on his income and our savings.

Bo bian, must decide the best for our kids lor..

And most prob i'll be on no pay leave for 6mths or so, then we look for a babysitter. I hope it'll be a good arrangement.

crayonshinchan
IMO, I think babysitter works better sometimes than MIL or maids, esp if the mum doesn't get along with MIL...! For babysitter, at least there's no emotional tug of war between mother of baby and MIL...Although I'd suggest not leaving baby at babysitter overnight. We brought adan home everynight, except for a few months when we had to move out and had to bunk with my sis while waiting for new apartment to be ready. When we brought him back again, he adjusted to home with no problem, simply because he's used to us looking after him at nights already.

Our babysitter looked after more than 1 child. At first I was v apprehensive about this, but it turned out very well actually, cos Adan learnt to share and socialise at a young age. till now he still enjoys playing with older kids. She also looked after a baby once Adan turned 1.5-2 yrs so he's used to having a baby around as well.

bbmouse: alamak! I didn't read the whole thread
You've done your OSCAR some time back but didn't mention that you're having a mickey. I think someone else did find out the gender during the scan!!! can't rem who liao. Anyway, grrreat!

shazz: 9 kg is quite a lot. i've only put on 1.9kg in the past one mth. I think it's cos i cut back on Ben&Jerrys and Enfamama portions.

Shazz: have u bought any Baby Plus prenatal education package?

bacon&eggs: me too! I wear cardigan over my sleeveless dress, but in my case it's cos I work in aircon room. when r u going to HK? you can go to Harbour City or Festival Walk. Try H&M too at Central.

Mei: wow! u sure are fast in shopping for your baby. I went to Zara kids last Sat with my hb but we ended up buying clothes for ourselves...tsk tsk!

Millie: I started drinking already. However, my MIL has offered to brew for me on a regular basis, so I don't hv any recipe to share with u. On Sat, I had black chicken soup.

On Sun, I had lean pork herbal soup.

Today, I will have black chicken herbal soup.

I've bought a lot of cordyceps, wolfberries and red date for my MIL to use.

Happy brewing...

Sasa de mouse:"to sign it up early coz the classes were always fully booked." Gee, those were his exact marketing words to me too! I just took the pamphlet home to contemplate...

shazz n crayonshinchan
i gained 3kg since preggy... and my gynae told me to watch my weight already. He says try not to exceed 3kg by 5mths

BTW, my baby measures 9.1cm only at 16weeks... too small? cos i see from website shd be 15cm by week 16... anyone care to share yr bb size at 16 weeks?

<font color="119911">Ava (avalyn) - nope,the dents abit deep, so a new coat of paint will not cover the 4 poster bed's dents. They were willing to sell for cheaper (since last display set), but of course we would like an unblemished bed right. The mozzie net is also dusty &amp; they weren't even willing to wash it for me! The sleigh one is abit heavy &amp; bulky, so seriously still undecided! Its frustrating how limited the options are here in Spore

Qiuling- glad u, hubby &amp; the baby are all okie
Must have been quite a scare...

Flos (flos) - I am using babyplus now - of cos we still doubt it works, but just for that glimmer of hope that baby would be easier to handle, it is worth the trouble
Meanwhile, hubby finds the heartbeats very soothing, &amp; said that he would use it after i am done to 'meditate and clear his mind'.

Shazz - were u underweight to begin with? Maybe alot of that 5kg was fluids/blood increase etc? Don't think it is possible to gain that much in so short a time!</font>

Alovera,
Is small porcelain container those type of china fish design "zong" in chinese ? No need to add water ??
Can i put this "zong" in slow cooker to cook ? Any idea how long it take to cook before it can b eaten ?

Bigtoes
You can go to the baby furniture shop I mentioned. I visited them yesterday &amp; I like the concept of being able to convert the cot into a children's bed, the price averages $1200 for the cot complete with drawer storage &amp; pull-out bed. Here's the website http://www.mishkaandmaven.com/

Mei (meie) - thanks! Their cots are quite pretty
But everything is in white - we are looking for dark brown cots, to match the day bed &amp; wooden ledge already in the baby's room...but yah, their cots are nice. Did you get anything from them?

Mrs Yap: But on babycenter, 16weeks baby should measure 4.5inch, which is the length of your lil one now ba?

Big Toes: What kinda sounds does BabyPlus produce? Is it classical music, nursery recital or just some heartbeat? Can u hear it yourself? Is the pouch warm around your waist?

I believe in prenatal education. But not sure how effective and reliable BabyPlus is. Just googling and heard about this brand, that's all

Mei: The furniture shop u recommended is really expensive!!! Over a thousand...hmmm...I'm not going to pay more than $500 for the cot
I do love their white designs very much however...

sasa de mouse: Did dr cheng prescribe any iron and calcium tabs to you, apart from folic? He didn't for my case and I'm wondering if i'm missing out on anything?

Millie: I've already started taking it as soon as I knew I was pregie. But I only take once a week then. In the second trimester, I will take twice a week.

Millie,
yes, it's those zong. no need to add water in the zong, but the slow cooker, yes, must add water in order to steam it for hrs. once the water boils for a while, u can leave it on small fire and u dun hv to watch e fire all the time. my mom let it be on small fire for abt 8hrs, until the bones of the black chkn is softened. she puts some wolfberries in it too.

u can get a medium-sized chkn so the essence will come up to one bowl n a half or 2. dun get a large chkn or the meat is not tender liao.. =P

after i finished the essence, she will add abt 1 bowl of water and make it into soup for my girl's lunch the next day. coz the soup will be just nice for my tod, not too strong... nothing goes to waste really...haha!!

<font color="0000ff">Flos
nope nope... Dr Cheng is not an advocate of supplements de. he would prefer that mummies take a balanced diet. even fish oil or multi-vits i oso buy on my own to eat de. he oso prefer not to give me med for gas. onli told mi to try natural remedies. if no use den he will prescribe...

tats the good thing i like abt him.. haha

Hi Flos... 4.5inch is abt 11.4cm
so my bb is still 2.3cm behind... but it is much better than the webby i saw which says bb shd be 15cm... thats a big difference
I hope baby grow well and big for week 20 scan
I wonder who is the first mummy to go for detailed scan ?

<font color="119911">Flos (flos) - Babyplus plays the mommie's heartbeat (differing rhythms depending on which week). It is in a small pouch around your waist, so yes - hubby &amp; i can hear it when it is being played as well. Obviously they can not conclusively say that this product makes the baby more attentive/cry less etc...since other factors are at play (diet, genes, plain old luck, etc). Anyway, just came upon it googling some months back, &amp; though what the heck, might as well just give it a try. They don't sell BabyPlus in Spore thou, so you would have to order from US.

Mrs Yap (oneboyonegirl) - think some of us here are due for the detailed scan this week? Mine is next Monday. My MIL is quite excited, she wants to go with me &amp; hubby to the gyne again to determine the baby's gender( she went the last time as well). Although they are okie with a boy/girl, I think my in laws secretly want a baby boy...</font>

Mrs Yap: The babycentre is a UK website. Ang-moh babies are bigger than asian babies. I think your bb is fine, in fact could be on the big size side.
I'm at week 14 and bb is 8.6cm. Gynae said bb is big.

Btw on baby length - I think at this stage, it is not very accurate anymore, cos the baby would be curled up in anycase, &amp; the CR (crown rump) measurement is just a simple straight line measurement. So don't worry if your baby is "smaller" than what websites like Baby Center say it should be ok

Think most gynes would give an estimate of the abdominal circumference, and the estimated weight instead?

sasa mouse: okie, I will buy fish oil to eat cos i hate fish. he is always telling me "balanced diet", no need TCM...I defied his advice by taking TCM.

Big toes: oic, but why must u use BABYPLUS to let the baby hear the heartbeat, if the bb can hear it directly inside the womb?!

Have u tried listening to classical music? I think bb can hear from outside already. Last weekend, I went to watch the Chinese Three Kingdoms movie starring Andy Lau at the cinema. The drumbeat and war fighting was so loud that my bb was kicking and moving inside me! I had to rub in ciruclar motion my tummy in the cinema to calm my bb

If we play music, do the mommy listen using earphones (with the expectation that the music will reach your bb's ears?!) or place the earphones against the tummy?

Mrs Yap: oh yea...it's my miscalculation! I suppose we talked abt this topic before that western websites give western benchmarks. Asian bbs are a tad shorter I reckon? My gynae said mine is within normal range, even though the western websites state otherwise. If my gynae didn't comment on my weight, my so called BIG BUMP (that everyone's talking abt), my bb's length and heartbeat, I shouldn't worry that much

Bigtoes
Oh, I see.. you are looking for dark brown.. Mishka and Maven's one are all in white, can only play around with the knob designs.

I really like the cot but I can't buy it for the moment due to space constraints. I am currently living with my in-laws &amp; we'll only be moving into our own house only mid next year. My current room does not have the space for that huge cot. Guess we'll just have to make do with a conventional cot for now &amp; buy another that can convert into a children's bed when we move.

Flos
I have started to play the Mozart Effect, I play before bedtime &amp; also when I'm driving to &amp; fro work. You can just play it or play the earphones on your tummy. Baby wouldn't be able to hear it if you plug the earphones into your ears.

Alovera,
U mean even though u dun add water into the zong, there will still be soup inside after steaming for 8hrs in the slow cooker? I'm amazed. Cos i tot same for bird's nest, u got to add a bowl of water in the zong before u double boil it ?

Actually , i tot of juz adding chicken and the cordyceps, etc into the slow cooker straight without using the zong.

Bigtoes: Yah lor. My gynae gave us the weight of the baby, my hubby was the one who asked for his length. Baby weighs 100g at week 14d6. Long way to go to reach 3kg..

<font color="0000ff">Flos
yeah... do buy on ur own wat supplements u think u might need to take lor.. haha. i'm oso seeing tcm. nvr tell him lah.. coz noe he wont approve of it de.</font>

Ava, I feel the same way as well. There's no emotional tussle with babysitters. With ILs and parents, we tend to "lun" abit and "lun" too long will go gila.

And knowing my ah bu, she's the kind who will bao ka liao one.. then I'll feel bad abt leaving my child with her and she's also tired after taking care of 4 grandchildren for the past 3 yrs.

Since my work is more "flexible" as in I don have to die die stay until 5pm everyday, at least i can fetch my child home earlier.

But its not easy to find a good babysitter now.

mickeymouse
i wonder how the gynae measures the weight. Mine didnt mention the weight leh and I dare not ask also... it always seems that i am asking stupid qs when i ask him something. Sometimes i am not v confortsble with him.

How does yr gynae measure the weight?

Flos, u really very "bu" leh.. haa.. everyday different soups.

Mrs Yap, I think ur gynae is a bit more careful lar. HAHA.. cos I rem u are quite petite. For me, I have "reserves" so must watch out a bit. Very stress leh, everyday I will ask my hb "have i put on some more weight?" heee..

And for my baby at 16wks, I was given 3 different measurements.. ha.. the nurse explained to me what the 3 measurements are and I've forgotten all oredi. But my baby weighs 152g though.

Mrs Yap, I think the u/s machine automatically weighs the baby one issit? Does that sound silly? lol.. Else there's no way our gynae can weigh the baby rite?

Mrs Yap: The weight is also an estimate. If I'm not wrong, he will measure the tummy circumstance - then from the size of the tummy, there is an estimate of the weight.

Hi Mei: Where may I get Mozart Effect? At Tower Records and HMV?

I will try to play some Beethoven or Chopin piano concertos as well. Why must is alwys be Mozart?! My SIL also asked me if I'd been playing Mozart to my lil one. I find it quite farnie

Crayon: I agree with u. That's why I decided to get a CL to get some harmony in the household and to neutralise the in-laws r/s. Already my MIL was complaining that my CL ill-advised me about the "paoshen" soup recipe that she told me briefly over the phone from Malaysia (my contractual r/s has not begun, but she was kind enough to give some tips here and there). My MIL condemned my CL's advices as rubbish.

I suspect my MIL was offended that I got a CL in lieu of her services
As a great cook herself, MIL has her own recipe and method of rearing bbs. But I cannot stay under the same roof as her for 3 months becos I know I'll flare up at her old habit of naggings

Crayonshinchan: The weight is an estimate form the size of the baby's tummy. From now on, when you go see the gynae, you'll see him draw/fit a circle onto one round image on the scan - that's the bb's tummy. And after measuring the tummy, the machine will tell the calibrated weight for the baby.

<font color="119911">Mei (meie) - Yah, sent hubby the link, but he said "oh, white cots, cannot". He is quite into color coordination, so we are restricting ourselves only to dark brown! Have shortlisted one, abit bulky (62 inches by 33 inches), but worse come to worse, still have that for backup.

BABY WEIGHT:
Hi Mrs Yap (oneboyonegirl) - weight is only an estimate, based on the some measurements - they is no machine to automatically weigh the baby!
So like mine, they did the AC (Abdominal circumference) &amp; the FL (femur lenght), to give u the EFW (estimated fetal weight) - with a plus/minus range. This was during the normal scan at week 16, so I assume that the wk20 one would have more details. Mine was 138gm (plus minus 21gm) at 15wk5days.

On playing classical music, research showed that this is too complex for the baby to comprehend...so not sure if there is any proven effect. But by all means, play if you enjoy it, who knows, maybe the baby will recognise the same piece outside the womb
Just don't turn the volume up too much if you place earphones on your tummy (in case hearing gets damaged).</font>

crayon: I'm "bu-ing" becos my gynae din give me any supplements

I love herbal soups as it is natural and tasty to consume. My frens in China who drink antenatal tonic soups have strong and radiant babies. I think now that we're moving into the 5th mth, it's impt to start building a good foundation (bones, teeth, organs are all forming rapidly now) whilst the bb is inside us.

Also, the "essence" u consume will help u as a mommy build your strength and "qi" in the long run.

I tried many means to get preggie, and it was only after my hb and I took TCM that we struck. So I am a strong advocate of TCM.

heee.. mickey and bigtoes.. u see! i knew mine was a silly answer! lol...

good to have well-read mtb around here to guide us..haaaa...

Flos, its true! We oredi have arguments with our own mothers, so much less with our MILs. And I dread to think wat will happen during confinement or when they are taking care of the baby. So better to avoid conflict within the family.

I think I better start boiling soup for myself now and be less of a procrastinator! haaa

Flos
I got my CDs from Amazon.com. You can also go to Sembawang Music to get some baby songs, a friend of mine bought one called 'Ultrasound' for MTBs for only $6.95.

I'm not sure if it's mainly fluid cos the weight was consistenly at 54kg for the past few days and I poo and pee as per normal. ;(

But my maternity bras felt tighter than usual so I had to grab 2 new ones. It's scary to see how much I've grown. I was 70D before pregnancy and now I'm wearing 80D and the sales lady took my measurement and told me I actually need 80DD but the largest they have is D cups, so she advised me to go Robinson to hunt for DD next. But I managed to get 2 80D which is of a bigger cutting.

I was 46kg, 1.58m before pregnancy, it's my healthy weight, not underweight. My gynae said to target for 10-12kg weight gain for my frame.
I'm only 18w5d and I've already hit 9kg!

I've not bought any prenatal education materials. So far, I only play instrumental music whenever I can, either in the car or at home. Other than that, I read bible stories for children to my baby at bedtime, when I'm not too tired. =)

Re. Baby Mozart CD, I got mine during my last pregnancy from this shop in Serangoon. very cheap and good quality. Got 3 CDs for like $10 thereabouts cos these are imported from China. I remember almost all the mummies from our thread got our CDs from this shop. If anyone is keen, I can check on the location and update.

Flos, could you share some soup recipes which your MIL cooks? I would like to get my mom to cook some. The spare ribs soup cook with lotus roots? Is Black Chicken too 'bu' to take? I remember having Black Chicken herbal soup nightly during my confinement,which I enjoyed very much.

wow shazz
the rate at which u are gaining is indeed v fast leh... u are v well-endowed too... keke..
but i think 1.58 with a 54kg figure is not too bad lah...
I used to be 75B and I have to change to 80B now. Cup size never change though but my frd said it looks bigger.

baby weight
my gynae never measure my baby weight during the last scan. he only measure the baby's head that all. is it more normal to measure the baby's weight instead?

shazz, where did u bought your maternity bra? i didn't know that departmental stores also have maternity bra. is there any particular brand?

shazz,
i try to play gospel music when in car..getting my hubby to read is a nightmare..pitch problem..haha..but i do feel sleepy after his story telling..

J&amp;S,
some of the soups i tried - pao shen, red dates w/chix, red dates, wolfberries with black chix, and red&amp;black dates with dong shen n chix.

I heard lotus roots, watercress are too cooling for our bodies, try to limit.

MrsYap: yes, my mum and aunties are all very well-endowned and that's sometimes a headache for me cos I can either look fat or obscene in some clothes which I would love to wear but can't do so cos of my boob size.

I got my first lot from Perfect Mum, they dun have them in different cup sizes, just the width of your ribcage measurement, they're also nursing bras, and can be used as strapless bras too.

My 2nd lot was bought at Mothercare, they've support range and nursing range. I got the support range cos my boobs are growing so heavy it's not funny!

bigtoes: read that you got the BabyPlus Prenatal Education Pack, have you started using it already? How how did you pay for it after shipping and exchange rate? which website you got it from?

Millie,

if u do it your way, then u are brewing soup, not essence. my method is to get the chkn essence with the pao sheng. it tastes really solid n BU compared to the soup. my BB has been growing n gaining inside even thou I didnt gain any weight, and thanks to the essence, i feel beta during office hrs. and my MS is all gone n my appetite came back again.

if u like black soup alot, u can also get them easily from food court for those herbal soup stalls. sometimes i hv craving, then i will just settle outside. but my mom will only prepare the essence for me coz the ingredients are beta since we bought them ourselves. u like herbal soups also? =)

Bacon&amp;Egg, so meaning now is the time that we can take 'heaty' stuff and by 3rd trimester, we should take more 'liang; stuff right? But birds' nest can take now?

on heaty stuff, I had blood clots in my nose almost everyday and phlegm when I avoided all the cooling stuff. My mum told me that my body is heaty is begin with since young and when I consumed only the heaty stuff, avoided the cooling stuff, my body got heaty and hence the blood clot. I've since gone easy on the heaty stuff and took some cooling stuff as and when I think my body needs it. Of course, nothing too cooling.

At the end of the day, it's best to see how your body is doing, then act accordingly to your sixth sense.

Bird nest can take now, in moderation. Some people recommended one bowl a week or 1 teaspoon a day if you're taking the concentrated ones, or when u brew it and keep in the fridge and take 1 or 2 teaspoons a day.

<font color="119911">shazz (shazzerlyn) - wow, i wish i had D cups to begin with! Mine is most prob up from a B to C now, but don't mind them not growing too much since they would end up saggy after BF...Not resorting to new bras yet, but been wearing extensions (today I am using 2 extensions - i.e. 6 hooks bigger)!

Am already using the Baby Plus cos we need to start from wk 18 to be more effective. I got this from their original website &amp; shipping took about 1 month. On shipping, I am not sure of the shipping cost, cos I bundled this with a weighing scale, &amp; vPost ended up charging me $230+ for shipping (not v heavy but they used the volumetric weight &amp; put the items in a huge box). The worst thing is, the stupid made in China scale doesn't work properly!</font>