(2008/09) Sep 2008

Girls vs boys
not sure if having girls cheaper leh...coz if im thinking about it now, i would want my girl to be simply dressed. no clips or frills...

for boys, coz they dun have much choice, we tend to splurge on more expensive clothes. i think his wardrobe is more expensive than mine leh...then to make up for less pretty clothes, you buy them more 'educational' toys that are more expensive than clothes..boys toys are also mroe expensive than girls toys...

so in the end, it could be more expensive leh

Flos,
ya.. i do hope so tat only the sept MTB lor.. keeke.. if not really have to worry. kekeke
ya.. my belly button already coming out.. kekeke.. this time round is earlier than my first pregnancy.. kekeke.. maybe it had already been pop up.. so season already..

I'I CY,
hmm.. ur theory is opposite as mine.. i think gals will spent more money.. kekeke.. now tat the 2nd one is a boy have not really spent much yet.. kekeke.. coz their range of cloths are more limited..

momoko & sasa

I'm bck frm taipei!! My tummy 'grew' when i was there...i wonder if it's all the food i ate there,haha.. I went to the hot spring but only can soak my feet cos preggie ladies cannot soak whole body,sob!! Talking abt shopping, my friends were amazed tat i can walk sooooo much... i told them juz for shopping only,haha... I wanna go for another trip maybe in May...my mum think i'm crazy to be travelling so much while pregnant but i wanna enjoy the 'freedom' to travel before i pop

sunrays,
welcome back ah... kekeke.. must have spent a bomb yeah.. kekeke.. lucky i wasn't the one going with u.. if not, i'll die lor.. kekke.. i weakling.. can't walk much one.. backache ah later... :p

sarahmay,
i haven't been to work for about one half month already. will be returning to work next weds. not sure how i can cope. plus coz i was away, they changed my class. so need to cope with new class. i can't stay long in this service already. it's super draining. i'd rather stay home with my kids and teach them a ton of things then drag myself out of bed in the morning to supposedly teach those students who have zero desire to learn.

l'l CY,
i suppose there could be some truth in what you say. but wait till you have your girl ok. then you're gonna realise that there are tons of cute things to buy. a lot of pretty and cute dresses and shoes to tempt you lor. clips and such are small amounts only.

flos,
ya lor. i've been dressing up my daughter as if she was the doll i never had. recently i just bought a whole lot of SKR shoes for her. to match different cloths, for different occasions. on hindsight, i think it's not really that necessary coz she's only a todd. but when i look at the things on the website, i really could not help myself... so i really hope i have one more girl. then can pass on so i dont feel so bad about spending so much and hehe, i can have reasons to buy more. wahahahaha!

hi sunrays,
wow. you really sounded like you did a lot of walking. but your theory is right. better go enjoy and travel before you pop. coz the next time you travel might be a long time away or you'll have to go with your kid. which may not be a totally bad idea, just that there'll be more hassle. hehe

flos - Congrats on ur little prince! I just started getting heartburn. Dunno if it is cos i'm eating too much in one sitting. I dunno where to go shopping for bb's clothes yet though. Waiting for hubby to have an off day.

Storeberry - I MISS Singapore already leh...how? sniff sniff. Oh well. The weather here is gray and damp.

Alabone - How come u have been off work for so long? And they changed ur class in the middle of term? What subjects do u teach? I dun mind teaching sec sch kids but not the express stream and not those from elite schs. I prefer the not so clever ones. Hehe. When u go back to work, pls rber to take it easy ok? U are preggy. Don't overwork yourself ok? Hey, now MOE offers like up to 3 years no-pay leave for mothers to stay home to look after kids right? You can look at that option. So at least , when u feel ready to go back to work, you have a job waiting. but i understand wat u mean by drainig. I quit after 4 years. How long have u been there?

Momoko- When belly button pops out, is it itchy? I can see the top part starting to pop. A bit scary looking.

sarahmay,
i've been in the service for seven years. i was on mc for this period coz of the morning sickness and prenatal depression. because i had a sec 4NA class and i was on mc for sometime, so they took that class away from me and changed my class. i understand why they had to do that. it's the students' exam year so they should have a permanent teacher instead of a relief. even before going back now i'm already quite stressed. i don't know how to face the people at work so these days, mood getting bad again. and yes. i am looking at the option of taking no pay leave to stay home and look after the kids. it's a whole lot more fulfilling to me.

hi MTB,
Just came back from scan today at 16 weeks. Dr still cannot confirm if boy or girl just comment that there is nothing protruding, maybe too early etc.
I can't get the measurements of my bb for these last 2 scans as baby head is down and curl up..is it common? My weight has also dropped, think i need to eat more.

sarahmay
actually, if i returned to teaching again, i would want to teach in an elite school. hahaha...snob hor.

but my experiences so far with elite schools have been good. Snobs are easier to deal with than rude bengs...really. i cant stand bengs.

i taught some of the children of top CEOs and politicians. and i like many of them generally. they are polite and well mannered. very well brought up.

a friend who tsf a a top JC told her new class the groundrules ont he first day of school...that they are expected to submit their work on time, no complaints from teachers etc...they students gave her an incredulous look before replying,"mdm, we are here to score and get scholarships. why in the world would we do that (not submitting work, being rude to teachers etc)??"

bbmouse
is the arrow pointing at your bb's birdie?haha..big butt leh..

<font color="119911">SarahMay (sarahmay) - we went back to the shop at Great World City to look at the Boori cot today - their was the last piece for that dark oak color we wanted, but it had a number of scratches! So decided not to get it anymore...they also have the Boori sleigh cot ($1399), so we are most probably getting that &amp; adding our own mozzie net to hang from the ceiling. The only thing is that the bed is very heavy &amp; doesn't have attached wheels, so cannot push to the masterbedroom (too wide to pass thru the doorway anyways). Mattress (the type with holes) is another $199 or so &amp; bedlinen seperate. Spent the whole afternoon looking for nice 4-poster cots, &amp; this is the most suitable one we could find, thou not a 4-poster one....LifeBaby has another option, but it is made of a lousier Thai wood.
Yah - heartburn feels like a mild chest pain/tightening
Tummy is compressed now, so careful not to overeat at each sitting.

Flos (flos) - Yes, we went to the Kaki Bukit shops, but didn't see any cot we like. Where is the other shop at Balestier?
On WK Tan's package, this is about $2700 from the week of the OSCAR scan onwards (wk 11). This excludes all medication, scans, etc etc...just for her basic gyne fees.</font>

I'l CY: Yes, it's pointing to the little birdie.

Xuanting: Best way to imagine this angle is to think the baby is in a sitting position, and the scan is from his bum. I can see one the left leg bone, and the little birdie. Got it? Hehehe..
This is the normal abdominal scan. Everytime I go to visit, gynae will scan and will select a pose to do a printout for us to bring home. I have so many of these, I just kept them int he envelopes.

Oh yah, don't be fooled by the size of the scan. My bb is only 8.6cm and weighs 100g.

He is still shorter than my dotter s feet size. Hahaha...

Flos, u not afraid baby grow big after eating durian? hahaa.. but now its goodwood park's durian fiesta..the best time to eat..

alabone, hahaa.. I shd know better cos we (the pri side) pass our problems to u guys (the sec side).. hahaa.. as it is, they are oredi like "gui" in pri sch.. i shudder to think of then in sec sch.. I have been teaching for 6-7 yrs? lost count.. haa

Big toes, my hb oso thinks its a waste of money for me to go buffet and such an exp one at tat! haa.. but I siao siao one leh. Sometimes i can eat a lot but sometimes i get full super easily. But nowadays its like more of the former. *sweats*

SarahMay, this is going to be my first one. So I have no freaking idea too! But my colleagues seems to be having not much prob leh cos they've been popping and popping. when's ur next check up at Dr Sim's? Mines 2more wks. BAH!

Momoko, every top that I wear seems to look so vulgar and colleagues have been disturbing me nonstop.. haaa.. but maybe for me aint tat bad cos I'm oredi on the fleshy side.. so still balanced!

Talking abt heartburn, on Friday I had it quite bad.
I went back to my in-laws for dinner and I saw what I had been craving for - glutinous rice! hahaa.. had been thinking abt it since news announced the increase in glutinous rice as well.

I was greedy and ate 2 bowls of it! Then hb went back into his room to watch dvd. So I lie down on the bed to watch with him lor. Just after a short while, I felt super uncomfy in the chest! Like something hard is stuck in there! It lasted for quite a while. I guess that must be heartburn.

And so, I'd learnt my lesson. Not to be greedy!!

To add on to that, for no reason, i started coughin and til now, swallowing is painful! Gargle with salt and drank honey liao. still like tat!
ARRGHHH!!!! I am been very prone to having sorethroat for this pregnancy

bbmouse, how many wks are u now?

At times I still find the u/s pics very abstract for me! hahaa.. I can see recognise the head and all if baby is lying down but once baby is not, i wont be able to understand..

<font color="0000ff">Sunrays
omg... u are finally back.. wah.. missed u leh..

so how? was it a fruitful trip? hehe.. am glad i wasnt the one there.. coz i can't walk that much too.. haha.. i think u noe wat i mean.. *winks*

i oso wanna go travel leh...
sob sob

bbmouse
Congrats on ur little prince!!! hehe.. yeap. agree with the rest.. can't seem to make out the scan.. too abstract le.. haha</font>

Crayonshinchan, sasa de mouse: It s liddat wan. The scans are abstract to us untrained eye. I had one bb before, that's why can decipher better. Else will be just as clueless also.

Am in my 15th week yesterday.

Anyone can tell me what ingredients to boil soup with cordyceps (dong cong cao) ? Can we take black chicken now or buy the normal chicken will do ?
Also, we cannot eat the dong cong cao rite ? only need to drink the soup and eat the chicken meat rite ?

Millie: Can use either chicken or pork. For chicken, either black or white. Can eat the DCC too. I do that sometimes too. Can add wolfberries into the soup. And pao sheng, but don't want also can.

BBmouse,
Thanks. How long to boil the soup before we can eat ? Can use slow cooker to boil ? Need to add salt, soya sauce or other spices ?
Sorry for asking so many qns cos i 1st time cooking it.

bbmouse
congrats!! another mickey in this thread...wow...my princess is the odd one out here, haha... Actually the scans really look abstract but when the gynae explain then will hav a better idea...the 2 white prominent parts are the thigh bones right? cos i've tat exact scan of the butt upwards but of cos mine didnt have a penis sticking out hehe...

sasa
ya, i knw..u walked abit only u tired liao :p so it's also good if u dun travel lah,hehe.. This trip not as fruitful as the bkk trip cos i think in general, prices for almost evrything went up in taipei..even cab fares are slightly more ex compared to just 1 yr ago when i was there. Anyway now i'm having a sore throat...think it must be all the heaty food and all the 'ma la' steamboat i had.. very painful now..i hate sore throats!! makes me cranky!!

Bigtoes: Here's the thread: http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/578191/1333753.html?1208054950

I think my DR LC Cheng also charges the same range.

bbmouse: hey i can see the penis cos my eyes are trained! Mine is also shot from this angle (from buttocks up). Actually those moms with boys should be able to decipher bbmouse's scan right? The birdie is the pointed portion in between the bent legs.

I'm surprised ur sonographer typed the word "penis" for u! Mine at TMC won't label the parts for u.

sarahmay: thanks! I hope u will find nice baby clothes in Zhuhai.

crayon: I ate 7 durians seeds and they were delicious! I heard durians are "bu" for preggers but just take them in moderation cos they can be high in sugar and calories.

I was at Zara Kids yesterday and wanted to grab those girlie stuffs more than the boys' shirts! They are just too pretty to ignore. I think it's our feminine instincts to wanna dress our baby like ourselves, like our barbie dolls and paperdolls. Well, I'll leave the dressing up of my prince to my hb who is also very vain like me!

millie: i think it's ok to drink black chicken soup. u can rotate with lean pork and normal chicken. No need to use black fowl all the time. You dun hv to consume the meat cos the essence would hv gone to the soup already. it's usually quite dry and bland by the time the soup is brewed.

sasa: did dr cheng recommend u the antenatal package? is it really nec to attend those breathing classes? i just read from internet and books i bought.

sunrays: u r back! Did u get anything for your girl in Taiwan?!!!

Flos
bot mainly PJs for bb...but there was this particular shop which sells girly dresses...every item was only $5!! Altho sizes were quite big(age 3 onwards) I can't help but bot a few to keep...tat's the problem when u knw u're having a gal,hehe.. just can't resist buying,haha... Now tat u mentioned Zara...makes me feel like checking them out liao...gosh...

Sunrays: Yah, the white parts are the thigh bones.

Flos: That's not the sonographer. It's my gynae. He will usually label something on the scan pics. Helps us with the identification.

Your eyes are trained? You're a sonographer?

bbmouse: I'm confused. Were u the one who went for your OSCAR last Fri, during which an U/S is performed? For TMC OSCARS, the gynaes will not be the ones who perform the NT scan but the sonographer would.

Nope, I am NOT a sonographer
I just check out this website which showcases many U/S scans of boys and girls at different weeks contributed by moms from all over the world: http://pregnancy.about.com/cs/ultrasounds/l/blusweek18.htm

After my gynae oriented us, I know where is what and what is what. I'm pretty much a "spatial" person becos I do portraits and still-life paintings
I hv an innate ability to visualise all things 2D/3D.

Some of those whose gynaes have already pointed out and printed out the U/S scans for them, they should be able to pinpoint the "penis" from your attached photo, right?

sunrays: Please check out Zara cos they're selling summer wear now. Other times, you only get winter collection

Flos: That wasn't me. My OSCAR was done 2 weeks ago. During the scan, the sonographer told us it's likely a boy. Anyway, the sonographer won't print a pic of the genital, since it's not why the OSCAR scan is performed for. Last Fri, when I went for my regular gynae visit, my gynae told us it's a boy.
You're right, gynaes don't perform the OSCAR scan, only the sonographers would - which is why I didn't want to completely rely on what the sonographer said.

I just received my order from babycenter, and it's too loose for me @ the
underbust area.

This is the Original Nursing Bra -Plus, in S.
On the product info, it says that S is good for 32-36, C-D. But I think it's
will be quite loose
for 32 (i'm a 32).

You can view the product at
http://store.babycenter.com/product/maternity/the+original+nursing+bra+-+plus.do?

Designed with care in Canada, Made with pride in Mexico.

Would like to sell at SGD$50.

crayonshin: yes that sounds like heartburn. Have to eat small meals to avoid that.

After I came back from Ho Chi Minh when I didnt have yummy food, my appetite surged when I got back and been eating so well that I gained 5kg within a week! Scary right? I'm 18 weeks plus and my total weight gain is already 9kg! My gynae gonna flip cos when I saw her 2 weeks ago, my weight gain was only 4kg!

I better watch what I eat now and avoid all the junk calories I've been getting from coke, fries, chips, cakes and donuts!

Sarah may: Just come more to the forum so we can comfort you...
Take care yah?

Wow shazz, you gain 9kg already?? I think I dodn't gain much leh, didn't really weigh myself... Yah, don't eat too much junk food... kekeke...

Sunrays: Wow.. you sound like you enjoyed yourself!! Show us yours loots!!

evening ladies .
have not been logging in for three days aleady .. cos got into an serious accident while driving on friday to school . My car was crashed .. but luckily , myself and hubby sunstained not so serious injury.. hubby juz got back on Thurs and the accident on friday morning ..was rushed down to TTSh and then i went to Mt A for checkup to make sure bb is okay .. and thankfully we both survived the crash .. Gynae confirm that bb mouse is a mickey .. and he typed the word : penis out this time ... will update u gals more tomorrow .. nite

<font color="0000ff">Sunrays
aiyoh... sore throat? sounds like really fun. good food with shopping. but i guess u felt abit of the pinch huh? since everything went up?? wah... u preparing for ur DD 3 yrs down the road le arh?? hehe.. i noe wat u mean.. juz can't stop buying rite.. notti eyes....

Flos
u mean antenatal classes rite?? yeap, he did. think 1 mth back during 1 of my visits he did ask if i've signed up for the classes already anot. he recommended me to sign it up early coz the classes were always fully booked. anyway, even b4 he mentioned, i was already contemplating to sign up. so he was more like a *trigger*</font>

<font color="0000ff">Qiuling
oh no!!! sounds really serious. but glad tat both DH and u are fine... tats most impt. can claim insurance mah?

oh yes.. congrats on ur mickey!!!

storeberry: yah lor, I got carried away and happily munch on the yummy junk food! even hubby thinks I'm so greedy now!

quiling: thank God you're all OK. Must have been a great shock to you.

Mummies who're in their 18 weeks and beyond, can start talking to your baby already cos they can hear us now! =)

sarahmay : my boss is a unmarried lady. i think she would love to have her own family, however, she is rather aggresive at work. so maybe all the men are afraid of her

At work, she can be quite demanding, but personally, she is ok. For my previous pregnancy, she also load me off all the work, however, after i came back from maternity leave, i paid it back
cos she loaded me with the most stressful product.
anyway. i liked it
it's good learning

Momoko, my dream is not to be a housewife wife. i love my job. but circumstances are such that i may hv to quit after my 3rd kid comes out. hv not decided yet. maybe i'll take 1 yr of unpaid leave. really undecided yet.

Crayonshinchan, hee.. i guess everyone is looking forward to the next hols

abt teachers with loud voices- my mum told me she used to be v soft spoken, until after a few years of teaching, she learnt that soft voices wouldn't work.. hahah

detailed scan : i'll be doing my detailed scan at TMC this coming Sat. I'm rather nervous as i am hoping for a mickey this time.
i told my hubby i feel so worried abt many things for this pregnancy- gender of baby, should i give up my job after 3rd kid is born.. then he told me gender of baby is the last thing i should worry as i already hv a gal and boy. but funnily, for the 1st two, i was rather neutral. with this 3rd one, i hv a preference toqards a mickey. sigh.. i hope the DS this sat will not disappoint me. feeling anxious and worried..

crayon,
i will wear a cardigan over my sleeveless tops..fat arms lah...v paiseh. Noticed most maternity clothese are sleeveless..maybe cos we have high body temp and get warm easy.. i stopped wearing long pants and sweater-type of tops...too warm to handle

anyone knows if HK is a good shopping area for bb's clothes?

i have booked my CL and massage services. Have not shop for bb's stuff like cot, stroller etc..
any recommended place to shop besides the two giant stores at kaki bukit, taka fair, robinson?

Morning everyone!

I bought loads of baby clothes the past week, mostly those long-sleeved tops &amp; long pants with attached booties, mittens, booties, washcloths &amp; socks for baby for the first 3 months. There's a 20% off at Robinsons off brands like Tollijoy &amp; Enfant.

As for baby furniture, you can also check out this store at Mosque Street, they stock baby furniture that can convert to toddler beds.

http://www.mishkaandmaven.com/

Hi all mums due in Sep 08,
I have a confinement lady with me now and she is free fom Sep 08 onwards. She has been of good help looking after my second child and I am quite happy with her services. She charges $2000 and is neat and accommodating. If you are looking for a confinement lady, you may drop me a email at [email protected] and I can arrange for you to talk directly with her.

qiuling
you and hb must have had a scare. hope everything is fine now...the insurance can cover?but as long as the lil one is ok, all is not important ya?

stef&amp;sean
dun worry yourself too much. i can understand gender preference after having both genders.maybe you just find yourself relating better to boys, thats all.

staying at home
i may not be the best persont o advise here coz im essentially biased since im a sahm myself.

frankly, im not sure if this is a 'happier' or 'more fulfilling' job compared to my work previously.i used to love my job and would work till 10pm without feeling tired.the adrenaline rush in the job was something i love.

but when the child came, i realise im already in another phase in my life, another 'season'. there are differnet demands for this season and i can only see myself fulfilling my responsibility as mother if i stay at home to take care of him, and not surrogate him to maids or ILs (no offence, just my take)...i mean, mothers are not for earning money right?i need to nurture, i need to teach my boy, i need to be there for him when he whines, is unhappy etc...

i cant say im happier, maybe 'as happy' would be a better word...and i know 100% sure this is the best decision ive made
..no guilt at all!

Hope this does not confuse you further.

Wow, what a chatty weekend I missed
had our usual swimming on sat plus an outing, then yoga yesterday so no time to log in.

Quiling
Glad u, hb and baby are all OK. so scary...I had a fright myself yest after driving back from yoga...almost knocked into these two kids on bikes and their maid, who were all not looking at the traffic....then I started crying cos so frightened...and saying that's why I hate driving cos can't control other people's behavioue...sigh...when u don't drive you don't know how to anticipate what drivers are looking at, I mean when turning to the right, you'll look at traffic coming from your left.. and people on the right just assume you'll see them... luckily nothing happened...

BigToes
Cot: couldn't they do a touch up for the 4 poster? Seems that one is more practical than the sleigh??

l'il CY
I was the opposite. I was never really career minded, and thought once i had kids I would be a SAHM doting on them...turned out I needed to get back into the adult world for some sanity...and at home, I am not the very conscientious kind of mom...we read and play together but no "syllabus" of stuff to do together, so sometimes feel guilty about that :p

Most of my SAHM friends were very career minded and they channel this energy and discipline into teaching and bringing up their kids very well...

l'l CY, currently my 2 kids goes to full day childcare. they went infant care from 3 months onwards. no maid or ILs involved
for this 3rd kid, the cost to put all 3 in childcare/ infantcare is too high. so considering to quit job to take care of the 3rd kid.
thks for the input. i guess it's also v fulfilling to take care of ur own child. just that i hv not experienced it full time ( i only take care of kids during weekends and night times after their childcare), so not sure if i'm able to adjust to the change.

stef&amp;seanbabes
How old are ur two kids nd how much do you pay for child care? my son's full day childcare is $450 without subsidy.