(2008/09) Sep 2008

momoko, crayonshinchan, alovera
i abstain from raw food in my first preg. but now hor,i eat anything leh..even hb was amused. he asks how come my theory changes with different pregnancies...chey!

crayonshinchan
yikes..horrible kids!!!have never met kids like that though the students where i used to teach have a nick for a teacher in school with very curly hair...they call him 'pubic hair'...sad hor..

stef&seanbabes
it is not supposed to, but they said some mothers will experience it. so ask us to try something more temp like an injection first to see if it does. coz the removal of mirena is quite painful (you are talking about the implant in arm or uterus?)

crayonshinechan
you went for THE LINE!!!!!! *envy envy* and you didnt eat the raw food????!!!!! how could you!!!!!!!!!

l'l CY, u can just call me limyg if stef&seanbabes is too long
that's the name of my 1st 2 kids.

OK l'l cy!! now i don even want to think wat my kids in school calls me behind my back! *shudders*

but pubic hair is sooooo evil oso!!!
i hope our own kids wont turn out so straightforward! hahaa...

but my 3yrs old niece was quite evil once also. After a full dinner, I was playing with her and laughing at her tummy. Then out of the blue, she just pointed at my bil's tummy and said," papa, tummy BIGGGGGGG"

imagine the embarrassment!

stef&seanbabes
Wow, you're a twin yourself, how cool
ident or fraternal? Contraception...hmmm never thought about it actually...we've been using the "natural" method for the longest time and so far it's been successful...dont think i wanna do anything permanent...if we r blessed with #4, so be it!!! just make more money

Xuanting
hahahahah. sorry I just read ur "big neh neh auntie" post...kids!!!i can just imagine my son being as cheeky...*blush*

ava
wow!!! you are brave!!! you are catholic?

crayonshinchan
hahah..ok lah, at least she is young, so forgiveable...those are 18 year olds calling pubic hair mind you!!!!

i think if they are really young, you wont blame them as much..just naughtiness, too old, like plain bad manners.

stef&sean
oic...you are twins yourself..not worried at all you will be preggies with twins?izzit fun to be a twin?i hope you were subjected to matching clothes when you were growing up? :p

Avalyn,
i'm an identical twin. i used to hate being a twin when i was younger. it felt like there was no sense of individuality. everything abt me was associated with my twin sis. over the years, i am ok with it..

after my 2nd kid, i bf for 2 yrs. it served as a v good contraceptive method for me. unfortunately, after that 2 yrs, we did hv some preventive measures (withdrawal method), however, i still got pregnant. so this 3rd one is by accident.
i am considering giving up my job after 3rd kid is born, cos my 1st two is in childcare. if i continue working, i hv to put my 3rd kid in infant care. the fees for all 3 to go to childcare/infantcare is way too high. abt $2250 per month. it's really expensive.

l'l cy.. yes i went for the line without eating sashimi! big waste of money!

and for twins wearing matching clothes hor, i heard that some twins do not like it leh! They prefer to have their own identity..

maybe we can hear it from the horses mouth - stef&sean herself ;-)

l'l CY,
that was the worst part!! i hated wearing the same clothes as my sis...
i'm a catholic. but i'm not as brave as Avalyn..

Crayonshinchan

What is tingkat? Tabao? me also not taking tonic soup either.. not those herbal soup too.. Fish is also absent in my meals cos I scare the smell.. so maybe once a week I will eat fish.. Occasionally I will boil some soup or porridge in the morning and put in the magic cooker so that I can eat it at night.. bird nest is once a week cos my nice SIL will boil for me when I go back to mummy place
I take more fruits for the vitamins and fibre cos I am not on multi-vitamin (it makes me puke)..My colleague recommended to drink "qu shi cha" which ingredients you can buy from TCM hall to remove some tonix fr the day-to-day MSG contained in outside food..

l'il CY/stef&seanbabes
Nope am not catholic, just don't like the pill and dont' like having things in my body/taking hormone anything (no offence, pls ladies, just a personal pref)...

We don't plan to dress our twins the same (they're supposed to be identical) cos I think individuality is important, and even more so for twins, else can wedge them apart (from stories i've heard)..not a nice thing to happen

Hey my son says tummy VERY fatfat now to me
but he likes squeezing it so i guess it's nice
sort of... he also calls out, "mama, see that old lady" sometimes as he points to some aunties (luckily they are quite old)...quite embarrassing.

crayonshinchn, abt eating raw food. .i take it when it's being served. but just limit the number of raw pieces
i feel it's ok to take any kind of food. just take them in moderation. dun hv to restrict yourself so hard.
well, for all my 3 pregnancies, i dun restrict myself to certain food only. i eat anything including pineapples during 1st 3 months

LC, tingkat is like u know food delivered to u in a tiffin carrier like the olden days...like catering lar but on a much much much smaller scale. its delivered daily to our home.

Just feel that they can be quite oily at imes..

and not tat i'm being bad.. but the tea sounds like "go die tea" issit? heeee

stef&sean and ava,
I've oso officially taken over my bil as the one with the big tummy. Cos when my sis asked who's tummy big? My niece will point to me and say "ah yee"

and my nephew will point to my boobs and say "ball ball" *sweats*

stef&sean,
my hb allows me to eat anything i want but he'll stop short of raw food. Oh well, nvm, cheong after confinement! hahaa.. not too far away rite?ahaha

hee. yeah.. not too far away... i'm counting down to my 3 months maternity leave already.. ahhaha

even my boss is giving me less and less things to do now..

l'l cy & xuanting, wat u had said about the kids are very funny. lol. but kids are always more playful.

koras, it's fix date in june. they will provide u with the class schedule when you sign up.

<font color="0000ff">wow mummies.. u all really post very fast leh.. i was out of office the whole day.. come back gotta start reading from archive ah.. haha

Aloevera
hey.. i love cheok kee duckie rice too!!!! *Superb*.. but den hor... v expensive wor.. can onli indulge once awhile.. haha. very soon i cannot eat le.. coz when i shift up to JW.. it would be a chore to drive till Macpherson juz to eat it...

Millie
hey.. we should all be in the same class as long as our class starts in June and Mrs Wong's class on Sunday @ 1230pm...

Momoko
u still looking for ppl for the Elmo toy ah..
how much ah?

Missy
i think u r allergic to the Palmers cream. better stop applying it le.. else u wil feel even worse!!!</font>

LC,
Why cannot take herbal soup har?
I have been drinking herbal soup like "Gou Qi Zi" with some other herbs which i dunno what was it and also drank Black chicken soup last night. Am i overdosing myself?

crayonshinchan, l'l CY,
so many teachers in this thread
my mum is also a teacher.. but hearing how the volume of her voice grew over the years, i told myself never to be a teacher
hee..

hahaha.. crayonshinchan, when I first heard of that tea, I also tot sounded like go die tea.. hahaha... according to my colleague, EU Yan seng got sell.. but cannot take too much..

sasa,
u work nearby ma? i work near there, so can topang colleague's car or take a bus myself to meet my sis to eat... =P

<font color="0000ff">aloevera
no wor... i onli go there to eat on Sunday if i do manage to persuade hb to bring me there.. haha. i stay Serangoon now.. so go there still quite near. i like their sauce leh.. but abit salted lor.. haha

last time when hb was working around that area.. he n FIL would often go there n eat de.. their favourite makan place..</font>

hi crayonhinchan,
you're also a teacher? p school? i teach in a sec sch. talking abt a nicknames that kids gave, a bad incident happened to me. i was doing practicum in a notorious school and these boys in the NT class called me 'dua neh bu'. i was fuming! reported this to their form teacher and the culprit got caned.

l'l CY,
the mirena can be inserted into the arm?????????

for the first preg i was especially careful too. stayed away from all the things i shouldn't eat. now, heck care liao. i think i'm aiming to go for half boiled eggs tomorrow.

alabone, i'm still eating soft-boiled eggs too. nice! if i'm at a food court and can't find anything to eat, i'll definitely go for the toasted bread &amp; soft-boiled eggs set.

Mummies: I just went to gynae. Am having a boy.
Now week 14 day 6.
Bb is growing well, quite fat, and my EDD was pushed forward by a few days.

I'm home now, tabaoed thai beef basil rice &amp; tom yum soup home for dinner.. hubby is away for reservist.

bbmouse

Talking about food.. when I first found out I was pregnant, I was very cautious about food, tried to eat healthily &amp; all that.. but it didn't last. By the 3rd month, I was sick of all that healthy food &amp; started eating what I wanted.. lol.

Ava: When I did the Oscar, the sonographer said likely boy. But I didn't want to get carried away then. Want to wait for gynae to confirm.
boys easier to tell. The scan pic my gynae gave me today has the word "penis" and an arrow pointing to the little protuding genital. Haha.. So crude yet funny.

bbmouse - that was fast. ur baby so guai to let you see. my sis in law went for her scan today say cant see think her baby want to keep her in suspend.

mei - my hubby keep saying i eating non healthy food la cox i like to eat chicken rice and kway chap. and even eating ice cream

stef&amp;sean
hahaa, I'm worst! I am counting down to my school hols next month.. Cant wait to nua at home for at least 2wks!! Yeah!

And yes! loud voice is an occupational hazard ba. My frens oso complain I have loud voice. heee...

LC, so the "go die tea" is pre brewed one or we brew ourselves? It helps to clear toxins ah? Safe to use in moderation?

alabone, *waves*.. I am teaching in pri and I always pei fu teachers teaching in the sch. How do u peeps handle discipline??? As it is, when they reach P6, they are oredi uncontrollable!

Meie, haha.. sama sama.. the first few months, I ate healthy and abstained from junk food, soft drinks, cold drinks and chilli. Now 19wks liao, I am starting to eat junk food and drink coke. Hahaha.. talk abt self control!

congrats bbmouse on ur mickey ;-)
Really lots of mickey!
How? in future our sons have to fight for girls' attention liao!

Who's having a minnie?? Shall we start matchmaking now? heee

koras
Ice-cream is not junk food (at least to me.. lol) because it has calcium! Hee... I also had kway chup for lunch 2 days ago, but I only had the lean meat, tau pok, egg &amp; the kway only.. I didn't take the intestine.

crayonshinchan
It's hard to stick to a healthy diet when we have been eating all those stuff for years! I had a great craving for coke &amp; I found caffeine free coke from selected Cold Storage. However, it's rather ex, $1.95 per can as it's imported.

Koras: I talked to baby and told him to be guai guai. Said if he shows the gynae his genital, and gynae told mummy, then mummy can start buying some new clothes for him. Also told him a lot of clothes will be passed down from chae chae lah..

Thanks crayon..

Hi all:

My baby only showed us his "birdie" to us at week 18!!! We spoke to baby to be a good baby during the scan today and he responded by keeping his legs wide open for the longest time
We took some shots of the penis.

bbmouse: congrats! hey you've in your week 14, but shouldn't your EDD be in Oct then?

Mei/crayon: I amd also starting to take junk food...Had durians last night and ate almond jelly just now. I also eat kway chap without the intestines.

hi crayonshinchan,
*waves back* the good classes ok la. manageable. the NA classes... very rebellious. can't teach them at all. half the time trying to discipline them only. i'm going to return to work next week already. dread it so much. how long have you been teaching?

just came back from dinner at long beach. had chili crab! damn shiok. hb said 'ok, another craving struck off the list!' hehe. but i've still got more cravings.

<font color="119911">Wow, out for meetings today &amp; so many postings to go thru!

twendy (twendy) – Hi, I finally found another mommie here with WK Tan. Didn’t know that I have to pay additional $150 or more for the detailed scan photos &amp; they conveniently left that out! I was told there would be a CD, so wont be surprise if the bill comes up to >$200
Btw, you are very lucky that ur MIL was so diligent in helping to bring up your 1st baby! I am sure a lot of us here are envious…

Are most mommies signing up for the TMC FBI package? I just filled in the form today – decided on CordBlood for cord blood banking, so it makes sense to go with their package.

Am also signing up for Parentcraft’s pre-natal classes – planning to book the Sat 4.30-6.30pm slot, so we can go for dinner right after. Not sure if its Mrs Wong’s session thou, don’t really matter. Is anyone else booking that slot?

Meanwhile, we have decided to get our Boori baby cot from this shop in Great World City tomorrow. It is a 4-poster version in solid wood, convertible to a toddler bed, &amp; with a mozzie net canopy, quite nice &amp; classy

crayonshinchan – I went to the Line at Shang about 2 weeks back also…ate like 2 small rounds &amp; 1 round of dessert, &amp; was stuffed. I don’t even like raw food or oysters normally, so buffets are wasted on me! Anyway, as our womb expands, the tummy gets more compressed – I find that I get full faster than normal. Eat too much &amp; I end up with gastric reflux/heartburn, so no more buffets for me till after the baby is out</font>

alabone
there is this insert, cant rem the name, not very common in singapore but dun need procedure mah...it is inserted in the arm, but removal darn painful...

*high five* had chilli crab for supper last night...punggol seafood..yummy...

boy power..
so many boy boys...wait im trying to pray hard that mine is a girl girl...so next scan crossing fingers, toes, and all split ends...wont see gender yet wont see gender yet wont see gender yet...

sasa, alovera
haha..i live around MacPherson. but didnt know there is a wow wow duck place here..hahah..

hi l'l CY,
hehe. we have the same cravings ya?? i also hope you have a girl. then my nat can have a girl for company when i bring them over. i hope mine will be a girl too. then i can justify the amount of money i've spent on shoes, dresses and clips for nat.

i think it's more cost efficient to have boys. i have a girl and i tell you, i spare no expenses at buying all sorts of cute stuff for her. i think i have to put my laptop in the freezer or something so i cannot come on to this website and look at bulk purchases and spreesssss!!!!!

hi mummies, i know u are envious of my MIL :) i'm glad to have her too. cos she's modern enuff to accept new ideas. and she's more capable in childcare than me. so, in some way, i'm hoping my bb this time round is a mickey, so that it is a "hao". everyone will be happy.

regarding food, i kept away from crabs during the 1st pregnancy. was told to keep away from it cos bb would be "itchy fingers &amp; legs" next time. hoho, this time, i dunno eat how many crabs already! but i still skip all raw food, like my fav salmon sashimi. today went to get sandwich, saw a "today's special" - smoked salmon. guess what, i dont dare to buy, it looked pretty raw to me. went for the safe option of spicy chicken. i used to skip coffee/tea and coke. this time round, i have lemon tea occasionally &amp; hoho, had a pepsi today!

Xuanting: No problem at all! Yes, if have budget considerations then it would be good to start with hospital &amp; surgical plan.

Sashimi: I think eating sashimi is fine, I have eaten twice already &amp; so far ok de.. It satisfy my cravings! kekeke..

Naughty kids: I heard from my fren that her fren boy's embrarssed her in front of eveyone by pointing to the birds in the sky &amp; say: Mummy look at all the Peni* up there!!" Aiyo!

crayonshinchan,
i not alone har.. of having Big Breasts.. sop sop.. sometimes i really hate it lah.. getting all the unneccessary attention.. sign... especially when u r not big size.. so for me.. is very unproportion lor.. sign~~
stef&amp;sean,
i also DDDreaamm of being a housewife lor.. but i not like u now.. this is the 2nd one for me.. and first one not going to childcare yet.. is just tat i can forsee that i will need to give them attention and to educate them lor... coz i will feel akward not knowing wat's my kids doing at home when i'm at work.. coz if i 'm at home.. my first will usually have things to do.. of coz beside the watching shows of barney.. she still get to colour and other activities tat i will try to arrange lor...

my mil, will try to let her watch a whole day of VCD if i'm not around lor.. not complaining.. but i know she got no choice.. she still need to do house chores..

ya.. i was just joking to my HB last nite over dinner tat this year alot of mickey mouse leh.. no minnie.. next time when our kids go to school.. they will realise tat there are alot of boy classmates rather than gal classmates.. and later our boys become gay... hahaha.. just joking..

storeberry: Not bad leh.... a little kid knowing the proper term for his genitalia. Though it is quite funny to hear how he got confused between the euphemism, the proper term and the animal.

alabone - U sec school tcr? Wah the kids are so disrespectful man!

Alabone &amp; Crayonshin: How will u manage with ur kid and teaching? Being a teacher is so stressful! Loads of marking and paperwork right? was last in MOE like 4 yrs ago...and it was like crazy. Now with all the increased paperwork and the EPMS ...I really admire you two for sticking it in there! I think all the sugar intake u take in is v quickly used up cos of all the energy u expend! So u have less to worry abt putting on unnecc weight! hehe.

Stef&amp;seanbabes: You have such a nice and understanding boss!Is he or she a family person? You're lucky!

twendy - That is an interesting thing abt crabs. Hehe. tell us after ur baby is born if really got itchy fingers and legs. My mum had coke everyday when she was pregnant with my bro...she now tells me tt it caused him to have childhood bronchitis...And I dunno if there is any link. But i think his activeness as a kid might have been influenced by the caffeine in the coke. hahaa.

Bigtoes - How much is the Boori cot? Speaking of heartburn, how does it really feel? Sometimes after eating, i will get a mild chest pain...but dunno if tt is heartburn. Sometimes, I also feel like the skin around tummy area is so tight.

Koras - I like kway chap too! Is it raelly that unhealthy and bad for bb?

BELLY BUTTON QUESTION
My belly button is also starting to feel a bit sore if i rub against it. Is that normal? I heard tt the belly button can pop up sometime in the pregnancy. Anyone experienced that?

Hi Twendy/lilboymum: I'm also staying away from crabs altogether as I was told it's liang. I only take crabsticks now, e.g. in sushi and chawanmushi.

SarahMay: I also heard about the effects of coke. Anyway, I ain't a coke person, so it's no big loss to me
I still drink milk tea. Wondering if it'll cause my boy to be hyperactive. *fingers crossed*

If you have mild heartburn, how about taking some Yakult? It helps quell the heartburn in my ase.

Are you going to Macau to grab your boy's clothes? I'm quite excited about shopping for the cots and stuffs now that I know I can aim for the blue designs.

Alabone: I agree with you that it'll be cheaper having boys. For girls, you tend to wanna doll them up. KNowing myself, I'd definitely turn my girl into a princess, if I had a daughter

Momoko: I think it's just this Sept thread that has many mickeys. I suppose there'll be other minnies in the market

Big Toes: Saw in another thread that there is some Baby Hypermarket in Kaki Bukit and Baby Avenue in Balestier. Did u guys go there to take a look at the cots?

I already saw the cot I want at Kiddy Palace and my stroller at Mothercare. I think it's gotta be cheaper if I go to those warehouses.

Sarah May: Belly Button is starting to protrude indeed! But still not showing under the clothes.

Big Toes: How much is WK Tan's antenatal package? My SIL commented my DR LC Cheng's very expensive. I thught it's regulated by MOH? $2k+ is the norm right?

Hi sarahmay, How is your 1st day in Macau? :p Yah man, the poor kid is confused.. Kekeke...

I read in the Asian child care book, they state that don't need to buy stroller &amp; car seat now because bb neck is still soft so is better to carry him then put him in stroller or car seat &amp; most prob you will receive gifts too so most prob I will wait till I have given birth then buy...