(2008/09) Sep 2008

<font color="119911">preggie (preggieblues) - I am neutral for whichever - cordlife or stemcord...can u let us know what is the best package we can get for cordlife? Thanks

SarahMay (sarahmay) - yes, 2 inch heels, as per "What to expect when expecting book". I was quite surprised too, but apparently flats are not good for the spine. I am still in heels (used to be 3 inches, now down to 1.5-2 inches), also cos it looks less sloppy, esp when I need to go for meetings &amp; conferences. Am also just so used to heels, wearing flats feel uncomfy for me!

On your other questions:
DETAILED SCAN QUESTION:
I am doing mine the week after, and yes - they said we will get the CD and photos after the scan.
HIV/HEP A &amp; B Blood test: This should have been done with the blood test that we did during week 11-13 together with the OSCAR test.</font>

SarahMay
Yup, I'm aiming for natural birth. &amp; I agree with you, all the breathing techniques &amp; bridging exercises is great in preparation for labour. I go for my classes at PowerMoves at Bishan Park.

Hi, Ladies

Oh ya, my blood test result came. down syndrome rato is 1:4000, gynae said its ok.. how much is not ok? But my blood test is margin, got anemic with low level of haemoglobin.. I am not taking iron pills prior to my triple blood test but now on iron pills cos my multi-vits make me puked.. would the iron pills be sufficient?

Hi, Storeberry

Yes, those veins are ugly.. and mine seem like going to protude out soon given the growing baby bump
Will check out the website which SarahMay provided to learn more.. hope really have a good formula to get rid.. my hubby went for the removal by surgery some years back bec the veins caused him pain..

preggie, if got better discount on cordlife than FBI, count me in too..

CordLife Registration Fee - $1400
Maintenance Fee - $250

CordLife FBI - discount $450:
Registration Fee - $1200
Maintenance Fee - $200 for first 5 years, after that will be $250

Bigtoes, do u need to request the CD and photos for the detailed scan from ur obgyn?? or they will give it to you without requesting??

<font color="0000ff">Mei
I feel very *ben zhuo* now.. juz told hb abt it last nite only. feel it esp so when i have to shift myself from 1 place to another. seem to always have a problem...

Momoko
I noe why Sunrays is so quiet le... She went to Taipei le...
juz dawned on me last evening..

Storeberry
Congrats on being able to feel the little kicks! It's so amazing, isn't it? Up till now, i'm stil unsure whether those feelings i get are kicks or gas.. haha. but i still get the hardening on off. and now i feel it even more so even when i'm sitting down or standing up..

On CordLife or Stemcord
I've yet to decide and discuss with hb whether to store bb's cord blood.. anyway, it's still early rite..</font>

<font color="0000ff">Bigtoes
ur Detailed Scan will be done by Dr TC Chang rite? Not at TMC 4th flr rite?? coz i heard Dr Chang will give CD. But 4th flr wont leh.. correct me if i'm wrong hor..</font>

<font color="0000ff">Civic-mindedness of Singaporeans
oh yes.. hope u all dun mind.. i would like to bitch abt something tat happened to me last nite on my way home.

Was on the bus home from Orchard. Peak hour lah.. so the bus was packed. Hence was standing and the gal in front of me was sleeping. Can see tat she was genuinely sleeping, so didnt blame her for not giving up the seat to me lah. As soon as the bus stopped at the junction, she opened her eyes and saw me standing beside her, so she got out of her seat and offered it to me.

Den came this auntie who was standing right behind me. (PS: She was already pissing me off coz she juz pushed her butt against mine throughout the whole journey. u noe lah.. in a bus, usually ppl stand alternately one lor. she muz stand directly behind me leh)

Well, as soon as she saw that this lady gave up her seat, she wanted to snatch it from me, so squeezed her way thru and wanted to take the seat. I then politely told her in Chinese, "Auntie, I'm taking the seat". Guess wat, without even looking at me, she juz said "My hand very pain, my hand very pain. I want to sit". (PS: I was wearing a maternity dress ytd.. so my bump was very obvious lor)

I was shocked by her actions and stunned. On hearing tat, the lady oso politely told her and pointed to the auntie that she gave up the seat FOR ME!!! haha.. guess wat the auntie did. She looked at me from top to bottom, not once, not twice, think three times, before deciding to give up the seat to me. But not before saying once again that her hand was painful. OMG!!!!!!

n guess wat, she managed to get a seat at the nxt bus stop. So much for civic-mindedness...

haha.. paiseh.. bore u all with my LONG story. but i really have to bitch abt her

Taking care of baby when mummy goes back to work??

I know this might be a bit too early to talk about but can I know how will you arrange for your baby to be taken care of. Mine will be taken care by in-laws, but dun know how to arrange the logistics yet.. I dun really want for my in laws to take care but it become so naturally that they will do so when baby princess arrives..I have no chance to object.. And, I will want some personal time spent with my hubby and baby so prob will suggest to have sat for us and sun for my mummy side since mon to fri already going back to in law place to makan and fetch baby. do you think this is too much to swallow for my hubby and in law?

hi LC, i have a friend of mine.. who lets the in law to take care of their baby from monday till thurs...

she will bring her baby home on friday night and take care of her themselves.. and bring baby back to her in law place on monday morning....

during weekdays, she will drop by her in law plave one to two days to have dinner (whether she can make it) to see her baby...

sasa de mouse
That auntie is really horrible... but what about the other people in the bus? None of them besides that kind lady offered to give up their seats to both you &amp; the auntie after seeing the commotion??

LC
Actually I feel it's not too early to discuss on the care of our babies now.. I am staying with my in-laws for the moment &amp; like you, my MIL assumes that my baby will be left in her house when I return to work. However, I have made some plans.. As I am working for my own family business, I have decided to care for my baby myself &amp; work from my mother's home, which is a mere 5 min drive away from my office. I'll get my hubby to break the news to my MIL when the time draws near.

For your case, I think your arrangement is perfectly fine. You &amp; your hubby are the parents of your child &amp; you decide what is the best arrangement for her.

Hi, Yvonne

I have colleagues who also left the baby with the in laws fr Mon till sat.. but i dun think I can part with my baby without seeing her and patting her to sleep evey night..
we stay near our in laws, probably a 10 mins ride by car.. do you think it is too demanding if I suggest to hubby and in laws that sat and sun we will not go back their place, but instead our own time for sat and sun for my mum? Reason y I am asking is that my hubby is facing stress from his mother side and he has been a mummy boy (though not giving in to his domineering mother all the times).. I dun want to stress my hubby but I hope to have this sorted out and be clear to everyone..

Hi sasa de mouse,

Yesterday I was oso standing in the bus all the way fm workplace to my house (abt 1 hr ride), nobody bother to give up their seats to me. I took the same bus with my colleague but she happen to board the bus earlier than me, saw me so ask me why nobody give me their seat, i just politely tell my colleague maybe ppls thot i m just fat instead of preggy. So happen that the gal beside me sitting down was pretending to sleep heard our conversation n no action was done. I really gave up on Sporeans behaviour...
btw, yr workplace in Orchard? I m oso working in Orchard, near Isetan Scotts...

Hi LC,

My elder gal is taken care by in laws since newborn and becos of hubby n my work timing usually work late, we left her at in laws place during weekdays night n fetch her fm fri night onwards and over the weekend. Usually we will go to my mum's place on sat to let them play with my gal so that she oso know my family well. Initially quite tiring becos of the distance travelled, but now we are used to it cos my gal already coming to 2 this year and it benefits her cos she's oso quite close to my parents.

milkmilk, yup i'm with dr kee. ya his machine like not very clear, so seem like i also may not be able to see the gender tmr. my edd on 26 sept, now also 16 weeks.

preggie, i'm also interested in cordlife if the discount is better than FBI's.

Hi, Jaline

Then how abt the feeding at early months? I mean if doing breastfeeding, then how? express and give to in laws for them to warm it up for baby? I can;t imagine wat reaction my MIL will give.. I dun intend to give formula for the first 3mths.. might just introduce formula thereafter

<font color="0000ff">Mei
ya lor. sighz.. but auntie, wat to expect!!! no lor.. all the other ppl juz sit at their seats.. trying to warm it further wor..

Jaline
OMG.... heard u le still pretend????? CMI... i can't stand it nowadays. looks like we really muz politely request for the seat le..

hehe.. no.. my workplace in Tuas.. but ytd met my mum and siblings at Orchard for dinner lor.. den after tat didnt shop shop. so went home immediately, hence kena the peak hour...</font>

LC,

I had the exact feeling initially when i leave my gal at my in-law's place for the night, misses her so much, no mood to work after i came back fm maternity leave... I went to in law's place for dinner everyday to see n play with my gal until she's asleep then we left for home. Becos of work, sometime i dun get to see her so often, as times goes by i m used to it liao.

Luckily my mil had been taking well care of my gal so maybe that's y i m more "fang xin" as time goes...

LC
I don't think it's unreasonable for you to arrange to go back to your own mum's place on sats &amp; suns for them to spend time with your child, so your hubby should be ok with it. Maybe one day, just casually discuss this issue with him &amp; see what's his point of view. I agree with you that it's better to get it sorted out &amp; everyone is ok with the arrangement. Since you intend to bring your baby home every night, you can express your milk &amp; pass it your in-laws the next morning when you drop your girl off at their place.

Sasa &amp; Jaline: What to do? We live in Singapore... But I think Singaporeans are prob much better than the other Asians liao. Anyway, looks like unless the govt does some campaign like the courtesy campaign, I think no one will really give a hoot abt pregnant or even elderly ppl. Even when I wasn't preggy, I just cannot stand how esp the young punks, the super macho types who wear disgusting tank tops to show off their biceps who hog the seats even when an elderly or heavily pregnant person stands before them.

LC,
Unforunately much as I wanted, by the time i go back to work, my milk flow had dropped tremendously, so no choice have to feed my gal formula cos no enough to supply.

sasa de mouse,
yah manz, have to request for seat next time liao or rather begging for seat. Hahaha

sasa de mouse,
hahaha.. u see .. i told u sunray will surely be biz with something related to shopping.. kekeke.. so heard from her soon about her shoppping spree...

Missy,
Welcome on board.. you also undre Dr Heng ah.. hahaha.. looks like most babies given birth in East shore should likely be under Dr Heng too.. and ur date is almost the close to mine.. hahaha.. maybe we will be next bed hor.. and also the rest of the mummies in East shore would also be possible hor..

oh yeah.. i remember someone asking me wat i was doing.. wat kind of sales i'm in.. Automotive industry.. if changing car can ask for me help (^*^)/~~

<font color="119911">Yvonne (mrsgan) - think depends on ur gyne? Mine is with TMC, &amp; the nurse told me that they wld give the CD for the detailed scan at wk 20 (i am sure its priced into the package already)

sasa de mouse (sasa_xie)- yes, my detailed scan will be by Dr TC Chang. He did the OSCAR test as well. I haven't been to the 4th floor for any of the test.

Baby at In-laws:
LC (faintz) - my MIL also wants to take care of the baby when it arrives, so the plan is to drop the baby off in the morning (Mon-Fri) &amp; pick him/her up in the evening. Not sure how much earlier I need to wake up thou, cos her place is in Khatib &amp; I am down town! Also would rather have dinner outside first (than at her place every nite) before collecting baby. Rather just leave at the infantcare at my office building itself, but I can't really object right?

Also wondering if i need to get duplicates of everything (like sterilizer, baby bathing stuff etc..one for each house). And yes, I also intend to BF for as long as possible, so would have to express milk &amp; pass to her every morning i guess. Have to figure out when to bring the baby to my parents side also, &amp; still have weekend times for us! So many things to consider!</font>

Mei
My yoga class was OK...but it was such a hectic day (and stil is today, hence v few posts) that I hardly had time to enjoy myself...I only lost balance for one pose...and so did this other MTB and we both laughed at ourselves and each other...I think the instructress thot I was v advanced preg cos she treated me that same as a V heavily preg lady (looks at least 7-8 mnths)

Will be trying a few other classes before I get package.

Heels
I actually feel less clumsy wearing heels. from time to time still wear my 2 inch heels...cos in flats, i waddle...and walk slower.

<font color="0000ff">SarahMay
oh ya ya.. can't stand those who wear super tight clothes and show off their biceps leh... hmph

Jaline
haha... beg for seat like something we wont do hor.. we have our principles!!!

Momoko
muahahaha... shopping eh. hopefully she comes back soon n tells us all abt her experience

Millie
haha... at the moment not staying in Jurong YET. but would be shifting to JW pretty soon le.. mayb in a couple of weeks bah...

u oso working in Tuas?? small world!!!

Bigtoes
ic ic.... coz i rem u mentioned b4 urs is with TC Chang.. those with TMC usually at 4th flr.. unless gynae is somewhat affiliated to TC Chang den they send patients to him. U seeing WK Tan or M Tan isit?? my gynae tho in the same clinic as Dr Chang oso dun send mi there. Instead, send mi upstairs for the scans..</font>

LC (faintz): lucky that my MIL have 3 daughter in laws le. and she also not really want to take care to baby. so end up my mother taking care for me. think now adays young couple will let their mother or MIL take care during weekday dan bring baby home during the weekend ba. like what my friends does is her MIL take care of her two kids dan fri nite bring them back sunday night bring to MIL plc again

momoko,
I was the one who asked you what kind of sale you are doing hee

sasa,
Singaporeans are not v civic-minded. I go shopping also kena pushed here or squeezed past here and there. No point getting angry, just fight for your rights! I kinda expected the typical Singaporean to be like that.

missy,
Like momoko, I'm also under Dr Heng but my EDD is in Aug'08. haha gatecrash in this thread.

sasa de mouse (sasa_xie) - oh, wasn't aware of that arrangement internally at TMC. Yes, my gyne is WK Tan.

<font color="119911">CORD BLOOD:
Ladies, someone from CordLife just called me. Basically, pricing again is: $1400 upfront, then $250 p.a. for 21 years. After that, they will transfer to your child's name &amp; they can decide on continuing with the storage &amp; payment themselves. Apparently, lifespan of the blood if stored properly is indefinite (thou no one knows for a fact, since this is all very new).

They have a talk next weekend (details in their site), and disocunt at the talk likely to be $300.

Using the FBI card, fees are $1200 upfront, and $200 p.a. (year 1-5), $250 there after. (Need to add 7% GST for all prices).Think the card is $148nett.

Difference between CordLife &amp; StemCord - CordLife lady said that they are AABB (American Assoc of Blood Banks) accredited &amp; their collection method is via closed collection, so lesser risk of contamination (StemCord is via open method with syringe).

So anyways, Preggy - let us know if there is any special bulk discount better than the SBI card ya

bigtoes, oic... my gynae is Dr Caroline Khi at AJC clinic (Level 3 @ TMC)... and i have to do my detailed scan at level 4 with TMC... hence i guess no CD for me bah...

LC, i guess should be alright to do such request with ur in laws.. anyway.. ur parent will also miss their grandchild.. but i think you should discuss with ur hubby let him understand why u do this and stand in the same line with you and... then approach ur in law together and let them know...

yvonne - u mean the scan have to go up lvl 4 to do de ar... i be going for my check up this coming 24th with dr adrian

koras, for my case, yes... oscar test in week 12 and detailed scan in week 20 are done by TMC level 4... they will provide me the reports and my gynae will go thru it with me...

Hi, Big toes

Your plan is very similar to mine.. and I have the same thoughts as you - given to infant care near my workplace but we can't reject our MIL.. sighz.. I am also thinking of if I need to duplicate a set over at in laws place... heng, I am not using "yao lan" so dun need to buy two. Think steriliser can get your MIL to boil over her side instead to get a steriliser.. or can express milk and give it to her the next day with the bottles.. but that might means need to buy more bottles..

koras

ur gynae is dr woodworth adrian at sengkang or cck?

i also going to visit him on the 24th at cck, hope by den can confirm the gender as the previous visit he say "maybe".

jasmine :mine is at tmc sr adrian
yvonne : which mean when you go to tmc they tell u go lvl 4 do or after you see the gynae

Momoko
Heheheheh... Maybe we could be bed partners after all. ;p Not bad.. Got kaki

I have given up on S'poreans being civic-minded totally. Just today one man barged his way in the MRT and raced for a seat like that was the last seat he sees in his entire lifetime, and i gave him the "i-hope-u-are-proud-of-yourself" look. For goodness sake, he's a man, and he's competing for a seat with a pregnant lady!! Some people really have the nerves...

i was wondering that can sinus be spread to baby?
as my hubby have a very bad sinus, once he wake up from the bed he will start to keep sniff, if bad can lead to flu.
i am very scare that it wil spread to new born baby

yvonne, how many wks are you now? is your oscar report a 2-page thing? any idea how much the detailed scan on the 4th floor costs and whether can use fbi discount?

just finished my dinner... i boiled pork rib with peanut and black bean this morning and put it in the magic cooker.. but i think my magic cooker spoilt liao, cos the soup not very hot when i reached home abt 7plus but meat and peanuts are cooked.. any recommedation for good cooker without uslng electricity? heard there is this thermal pressure cooker.. anyone using?

milkmilk: OIC, Thanks! When I visit the gynae on Fri, I'll ask him.

Sasa: aiyo, I cannot agree more with your complaint...I'm used to it liao. I just stood on the MRT in front of a sleeping PIG just now. Luckily, it was only one stop to the interchange.

LC: I might consider leaving my baby with my inlaws next time from Mon-Fri, IF I WORK IN SINGAPORE. I need their support very badly...But IF I do get to work overseas, I'll apply to let them stay long-term overseas with me to take care of my baby. I can't afford not to work.

About the Bump: My colleagues asked me tody if I am carrying twins. Gosh! I must look really big...I wonder if anyone of u have a BIG BUMP like me? THey said it's my first and I'm not even 5 mths, it shouldn't be that BIG...even my MIL commented it is huge. I think it's cos I was pretty heavy before preggie?

LC: pressure cookers are known to be rather dangerous. They explode!!!!!!!

I like slow cookers...peanuts? where to get those large soft peanuts?