(2008/09) Sep 2008

flos, mine is actually flying off tonight and back this sat. he travels about once or twice a month. eh, you should get a part-time domestic help, it saves you lots of hassle! about 2 or 3 hours once a week should be enough.

wow.. so many postings leh
i side track abit huh.. wat u guys intend to do on 1st mth huh? catering or just get those cakes for distribution?
kekke.. i know abit early to ask... bt good to plan in advance :p

goldfish
yday i heard from my mil tat her relative having her bb 1st mth at a Jumbo restaurant.

For my case, I prob keep it simple, just buy those bengawan cake shop vouchers to distribute.
Unless if my hubby/PIL wan otherwise...
Maybe more detailed celebration if its a Boy cos my hb is the onli son

bbmouse: us too! We drove within the state of CA (LA, SF, LV) mainly. However, I recall for that particular US trip, we also combined driving with a total of 8 flights, cos we started from houston, salt lake city, arizona, etc.

No loss if u din stop by Wynn. Did u go to the Fashion Mall? Did u go to Desert Hills? I bought lots of Victoria Secrets in all cities i visited. My hb thought I was "siao"...

Lilboymum: I can't agree with u more on the prime ribs, baby! We ordered (and shared) US prime ribs almost every time. Outback in LV was soooooooo succulent and juicy!

I hope to find a job in SH and hopefully, get my in-laws to follow me to take care of my baby at home.

xuanting: please pass me the contact of your domestic maid, can? my mil says i can't be waiting monthly for my MAN to return to vaccum and mop and scrub. Thanks!

Goldfish: where hv u been?!! Why are u asking about the red eggs and cakes so soon?!!!

I wonder if can go for dental appt now?

Flos, yes, please do go and see the dentist if you need to... but of course highlight to them that you are preggie... i just went not too long ago as my really OLD fillings fell out leaving a big hole... then the dentist told me that i have some gum infection which is common among preggies and a filthy mouth will result in pre-term babies and low birth weight babies... dunno true or not... but i am going back again next week to remove all my other old fillings to change to new ones..

goldfish,

we did a combination for #1. Bengawan vouchers for friends and the full set (cake + ang ku kueh + glutinous rice + red eggs)for relatives . Because my grandma hint hint and complained abt young pple being lazy and giving vouchers!

flos,

can go for dental appt. I did for #1 when abt 23 weeks. They just need to be informed (cos they weren't sure whether i'm just fat or pregnant so they asked whether i'm expecting!)

Flos
can get singapore job with company at SH? terms will be Singapore and pay higher?even with MNCs there now, they are hiring on Chinese terms.

my sis was there a couple of years with my bil, and she didnt think it worth while to work coz the terms offered were super lousy.

Goldfish, I did something a little different from normal.. i ordered some nice and modern cakes from a place where i love their cakes... not very cheap, about S$6 per box... but very nicely boxed and very nice cakes.. had hibiscus cheese cake and a normal cheese cake i think... a small piece each in the box... it was given to guests at a BBQ buffet...

Flos: I went to Desert Hills. I bot a lot of bags! Like 6 or 7 - Coach, Tods, Gucci, Prada!

Goldfish: For my #1, we threw a 1st month party. No cakes.

Flos: Visiting the dentist is strongly for preggies leh. Can't remember the reason but we are more prone to bleeding gums and other problems. Tell the dentist you're preggis.

flos, don't think it's appropriate to pass you the contact for my p/t help cos she's not local, if you know what i mean. i'm sorry about that. you can find some companies offering these services online, i think. you should get one la, shouldn't be waiting at the door to pass your poor jet-lagged hubby the vacuum and mop the moment he opens it!

watching runway moms on discovery home & health now. how come these women don't have any stretch marks, hairy stomachs or even that black line down the tummy at all??! and no one's even remotely chubby or stomping around on thick ankles though their bellies are so big and round!

Keke.. I know u gals will say I ‘kiasu’ to ask abt 1 mth celebration
LOL
Abit sianz to do info-digging on breastpumps and such.. wanan to do search in other stuff liao wor.. I hope I will be so extreme and talk abt courses for kids wor!?!!

Mrs Yap – I oso haf a friend who had hers in a hotel.. .buffet style wor. But I find it abit ex leh
Lok – For those full month pastries, u onie cater for ur relatives only or friends oso nid huh? I find it hassle in terms of logistic wor
Ying Ling – Yeap yeap.. I saw a few CUTE and modern version of pastries oso. Tempted leh! http://www.sweetsurprise.com.sg/fullmonth.htm

And yes Flos, I oso wanted to visit my dentist oso for the usual polishing and scaling and those crap. But I dunno whether wise to go or nt leh… bt nowdays when I floss my teeth, my whole mouth will turn RED cos it bleeds so easily. I feel so gross to see myself in the mirror for the after-floss-bloody-mouth effect

Goldfish,

I bought those assorted pastries for my own dept (cos they are ang mos, dunno how to appreciate AKK & red eggs). For those not on my floor and also for friends, I gave vouchers. This is for practical reasons and some of them fedback that there were so many man yue around the same time that they are sick of eating cakes (especially if there are only 2 of them at home).

For relatives, no choice -- have to deliver one-by-one cos my in-laws etc are very traditional (somemore 1st grandson to carry their surname!)

Goldfish,

bleeding gum is normal. My dentist told me to just bear with it.

phwah... so many teachers here.. haa.. me ish one too! My sch has another teacher due in Sept too!! haaa.. maybe one of us are colleagues!!!

Anyway..i oso sidetrack a bit... anyone of u planning to use cloth diapers instead of disposable diapers? and using cotton wool and water instead of baby wipes?

and hor I think I felt the baby's movement the last 2days leh.. I THINK LAR! dono if its gas. But its pretty obvious when I sit down or lie down on the bed. And its around the same place.

I tot I would only be able to feel it during my 20th wks or something cos I got more fats in my tummy.. heee.. now I'm 17wks..

But I could be wrong lar!
And btw, can we still squat?

goldfish, for my 2nephews and 2 nieces, they all had their full month parties at chalets. I was talking to my hb the other day abt it oso. He doesnt want chalet cos he thinks its a waste of money. He prefers to do it at the function room of his parents' condo.

But now, I think give the cakes and all shd be enough rite? save the hassle..

BABY'S MOVEMENT
i just felt my BB hippcuping just now. it went on for abt 5mins! so amazing! haha! just this morning i complained to my mom tat i cant sleep well last nite coz BB kept moving!

any other MTBs felt the movement liao??

Hi crayonshinchan,

i planning to use cloth diapers instead of disposable diapers.. heee.. to be more env friendly...

I remembered when my niece was about 1 to 2 months old, she had a very bad rash on her butt.. a chinese seiseh asked my mom to change it to cloth diapers.. and within a week, her rash improved alot... but of cos, if you planned to use disposable diapers, it should be change more often to prevent the rash. more money will incurred.

yvonne
when my cousin was a bb, he used cloth diapers too... v cute de... but hor when he sh*ts, its a terrible mess... and messy+smelly to wash the cloth diapers... if its urine onli.. its fine...
haha...

Mrs Yap, you can use a nappy liner over the cloth diaper, so when baby pooed... it will be on the linear.. just throw the linear away on every change.. it wouldnt mess up the cloth diaper.. and easy to wash

Hi Yingling/Lok/bbmouse/Goldfish:
thanks for your advice. I just need to regular scaling and polishing. Hmm, I've no decay nor bleeding gums at the moment. Could it be due to the "BIONIC" Enfamama ingredients?

Wonder if I could use Sensodyne Whitening toothpaste? Been using that before preggie...quite nice.

Hi lilboymum: Did u read today's ST frontpage by Clarissa Oon? That story is about my gf. I know that woman! Anyway, she's still there...and I'm here waiting for my EDD. OK, the terms depends on whether you're hired in SG or HK. I was hired in HK and posted to mainland, so terms are in USD rates. Besides, the job ad was in our ST, not in China papers.

If you pack up and go there and apply, then you lose out in your negotiation cos you aren't posted there per se. You went there on your own accord to seek out greener pastures. You're not an expat. You'll just be like any HK, Taiwanese or angmoh opportunist who merely want a taste of the Orient and who won't mind a miserable pay becos they are dating a Chinese gf or whatever.

xuanting: I know, he is usualy jetlagged and loathes the household chores. I'll check again. Thanks, dear!

crayonishan: you're also a teacher?!! wow, so many teachers...next time your children must be all very well-educated!!!

aloe vera: the answer is YES. I feel uncomfy in my office today. I think it's baby moving inside...

Just had a muesli bar. Really famished...

I remember reading in the posts once about drinking all those nutritious herbal soups but I can't remember exactly what was mentioned now. Anyway, my MIL keeps making me all these soups and I absolutely hate them, I feel even sicker after drinking them, and I would vomit out all the water after that. My hubby insists that I drink them. What should I do?

hi MTBs,
went for my gynea visit today and was hoping i could see bb but only got to hear thru doppler..my gynea says he doesnt scan all the time, and the next scan (DS) will be 4 weeks from now...so disappointed..but still it was good to hear bb's heartbeat..

I am fast putting on weight..3 kgs since the last visit...jialart..must control a bit now..any MTB know any healthy way to curb hunger pangs?

I am on MSN - pls add me if ok

[email protected] Thanks.

hi sasa de mouse,

not sure..maybe i am hoping for a girl in my heart
but either one is fine so long he/she is healthy.

hi precious and mrs yap,
i have the same problem. gynae also did not prescribe Iron till I reminded him about it and he saw that i have low blood count. Taking iron may result in constipation.

hi wingkei,
i think it depends on the kind of soup..is it too heaty for you or the smell that you can't stand? i am also taking chicken essence with some chicken herbs. TCM has given us some instructions on the stuff to use.

bacon u still can gain sia..
mi during my 3rd mth pregnancy i eat a lot, when went to visit my gynea i still lost 0.5 kg sia
now my right side keep feeling the stretch

hello gals!!

been busy today. Ya.. i am trying to feel my baby these few days but didn't feel anything yet.. Haha..we are all looking forward to their first kick! Am in my 15-16wks. However, I do realised that my uterus is getting bigger..cause my pelvis there is getting very firm now! the baby is inside! sometimes, i 'poke' it..haha!! naughty me. :p oh yes, my hubby talk to the baby through that place too...LOL!

Oh yes, my facebook email is [email protected]
u gals can add me!! my msn is same too.

Sunrays – added you on MSN and FB already.

Sunrays & Sasa – How was the eating session today?

Bigtoes – added you on FB already!

Storeberry – I love Jap food too!!! I have been looking at Miharu Ramen’s website and drooling over the ramen!

Xuanting – you are an editor? I have also done freelance editorial work. Who knows I might have even met you at one of the publishing companies before! I haven’t really been working this year. I can count with one hand the number of paid projects I’ve had. Haha! Right now just started on a museum project – super rush job!

Mrs Yap – my next appt is also 7 april! You should mention these symptoms to your gynae on your next visit. Actually, you can call her clinic and check with her nurses right? Iron and calcium supplements are not part of the standard vitamin set that gynaes prescribe. Long time ago, iron were the norm. But I think now it is determined on an individual basis e.g. anaemic history etc. Sometimes it might also be sudden blood rush from standing up too suddenly or poor blood circulation from standing too long.
As for the triple screen, I am not quite sure. But I rber my gynae telling me that the OSCAR test is more comprehensive.

Juz_Jewel – Hi teacher! Are you in the teaching service? I’ve left the service. So doing various education- related work now.

Lilboymum – It is really great that you can have this privilege of being home to raise your child. The teaching service is really demanding and I have so many teacher friends who battle with guilt as they feel they spend more time on other kids than their own.

Flos – Wah! ‘Exploit his man services’? Haha…Am I right to guess that you don’t really like to do housework? I am like you then! My husband does more housework than I do. On his off days, he likes to stay home to do housework. Whereas I am home so often I just simply ignore the dirt and dust.

Bbmouse, Flos- Since you love Cirque, you would be really excited to know that there are several even more exciting shows in the pipeline coming to Asia! The water one is it O or something like that?

Crayonshinchan – Are you in the teaching service? Primary or secondary? I was really thinking of using cloth diapers. Found these organic cloth types from NZ that seem really good! But I think for the first month, I might just be so bushed from trying to adjust to having a bb in the house that I might not have time to wash the diapers! As for cotton wool and water, that is what my SIL uses cos she says baby wipes leave behind a sticky film. But I am not sure.

Bacon&egg - Are you on package deal with your gynae? How come it doesn't include U/S scans for every check-up? Btw, how many weeks are you now?

Koras- Wah! How do you manage to eat and still lose weight? Well, just don't stress about weight I guess. I mean, it is quite a envious position to be in - to eat so much yet can lose weight! Hehe.

Lemon- You are so brave! You dare to poke your tummy! Trying to get your baby to move is it? Mine also seem to be expanding. But I still don't look pregnant. I think some of the sales assts in shops look at me funny because they think that I have a fat tummy.

sasa de mouse (sasa_xie) : hee, must enjoy now while I'm still very active! I got so much energy now leh! hee ... hubby will be heading to Dubai, so now I'm thinking whether to extend (5D4N) my trip in Ho Chi Minh or shorten it (3D2N) to follow hubby to Dubai and extend to Turkey (total about 9 days). The dilemma is whether to put the money for vacation to investment instead or just splurge before I can't fly after 6 mths.

went for gynae checkup today. Baby is growing well but he was rather active so doc can't measure his size now. Got clear pictures of his fingers, tiny feet and his wide opened legs and his genitals! Have yet to feel his kicks and movement yet though. Doc said earliest I would feel it is after 17 weeks but for 1st time mum, may not feel the fluttering. ;) looking forward to that!

FLos: Wah... You took so many flights? I remember we took Business Class from Sing to LA direct on SQ. Shiok!
Then we collected our 4-wheel drive and started driving.

Only thing abt the trip was we had no babies then. Otherwise will go crazy buying bb clothes and stuff. I would like to go there one day with both my children. Self-drive too. Think it will be so fun.

flos
wow, the terms are good then!!! lucky girl. but hows the culturein shanghai?arent you afraid of the bitchiness of shanghainess girls

sarahmay
yes, it took me a lot to stay at home though. i was working in HQ then, and the prospects were good, so giving it all up a bit sayang, but i never regretted.

money can be earned and spent, but i would only be so close to my boy for a short short while.

i had students who told me i should stay at home when im with kids coz their parents are all high flying principals in school and they never get to spend time with them. they wanted so much to talk to mom, but mom is always busy...

bbmouse
wow biz class arh??? can only dream of it...hahah...

lemon
wah wad if u poke the eye how??? juz trying to scare u...hahaa

anyway watch out for tml...its april i think pampers will start the sale as stated in motherhood mag... can stalk up

teachers...
since so many teachers, anyone interested or has fellow colleagues who are interested to teach part-time as a tutor for a small group? I am looking for teachers to teach? We run tuition classes from P6 to J2... at Bedok... let me know if you are interested... me personally only teaching secondary E and A maths, and Physics...

goldfish.. and there i was complaining that my cakes were expensive.... think i laggin behind the modern day one month "gifts".... the website on sweet surprise laggi more expensive.... looks pretty though...

Lemon: I also try to tap my tummy to see if bb response. Kekeke.. I thot I felt a kick but it might be my imagination....

Aloe & crayonshinchan: Congrats on feeling your bb's hiccups & kick!

Shazz: I really want to go on a holiday! But my busy DH is always so busy!! Haiz....

Hi have added you lemon & Bacon&egg. Thanks!

err...sorry..this is my first so i'm a bit sua ku lah. =P How does a baby's hiccup feels like? How to differentiate that from a baby's kick or push?

wingkei and rabbit:
just spoke to my confinement nanny. she told me to brew paoshen, wolfberries with either chicken or lean pork. I can also put one or two cordyceps inside. she says we can start drinking the soup from the 4th mth onwards.

my doc din prescribe any iron nor calcium tabs. i wonder why...i'm only taking folic acid daily.

sarahmay/xuanting: you are editors? i must be careful with my typos. i usually sneak in and type quickly (and carelessly) in case boss appears next to me suddenly.

shazz: if u can tag along your hb to Dubai, why not? Oh, I lived in Dubai prior to Shanghai btw
Let me know if u need tourist info about DXB.

bbmouse: i think that included those transits at Tokyo. 8 legs in total, but all on economy class nia
we were concussed afterwards! I totally agree with u that self-drive is more fun. My hb (not me) self-drove in China and Middle East region a lot to check out unchartered territories. It is our wish to take my future kid(s) on tours to expose them to diff cultures. To me (pardon me if educators here beg to differ), that's the best education I can give to them.

lilboymum: the SH culture is modern and cosmo. U can find almost anything there, and i'm sure ur sis can testify. Hmm, my SH friends are not bitchy; did your sis say they were? Most of them came back from the West. They live in condos/apartments nicer than our HDB flats. They drive nice cars too. In fact, they are more dressy than SG girls who tend not to doll up when they go to shopping high streets like orchard. But I must say, the mums in China are frumpy...cos they can't get nice maternity wear there
LOL

I might want to become a SAHM someday. Just not sure if that's my calling yet.

Flos: I also wish to take my kids on tours as you can learn alot of different cultures in various countries! But alas, my DH don't like to travel, he is a woodblock cum workaholic & don't find joy in travelling...

crayonshinchan - as my mum going to help me take care of my baby and me during confinement she say she will be using cloth diaper and can save a lot. only at nite using pamper.
sarah - i also duno how come can lose weight when i keep eating. the nurse also find it strange
aloevera - how u manage to feel wor.. i only can feel my baby heartbeat. as for movement slight only

Flos (flos): thanks for the offer! Will definitely ask you loads of questions if I decide to tag along. I'll need to fork out $2480 for flight and 2 nights accommodation though. Still trying to work out if it's worth going or we should extend to Europe etc.

storeberry: need to plan and squeeze some couple time now before we pop.

really excited to see and hear the experiences of all MTB trying to feel their bb movement. i am also wondering how it feels like but still quite lost.

hi Flos,
been taking chicken essence since 3rd mth leh (weekly)...hope it is ok. I also wondering if i will be a SAHM one of these days. My gynae also din give, only when i keep reminding him that i am PALE etc.
I miss the shopping and food in Shanghai....

hi shazz,
envy your energy level..can travel. Think i am not so strong. can't stand for long and always looking for a seat. have fun during your holiday.

flos, just type away!

rabbit, i too am perpetually tired. can't even stand long drives (where i am in passenger seat dozing away) these days. my tcm doc told me to sleep whenever i feel like it and that's really what i've been doing! do you feel the chicken essence working for you?

The thing is, I don't know what soups my MIL is making for me. She hears it from other people. I just have to drink it. Yesterday, my hubby and I had a fight. He doesn't allow me to eat my dinner unless I drink my soup first. I was really mad. Then he said something really hurting. He asked me if I will be responsible if something happens to the baby because I don't drink the soup. I felt like asking in return. Who will take rsponsibility if something happens to the baby after I drink the soup? I just feel that every time after I drink those soups that my MIL made, my stomach don't feel good and I get cramps.