(2008/09) Sep 2008

koras - yup! you can definitely bring in a camera or video camera into the delivery room! However, I'm not sure about flash photography.

Hi SarahMay & Flos, added you on MSN. Hope you don't mind. Keke...

SarahMay: I did the salt water, hopefully it will get better soon! ON=Old Navy.

Sunrays, can have you msn as well? Or I ask from sasa? Yah man our EDD is so near, are you going to TMC? Sekali, you, me & sasa all deliver same day & stay in same hospital. That will be fun yah? keke.. No, I cannot feel my bb's kick yet...

Hi Shazz: Welcome back!! Can see that you had a wonderful time!! Sleep more! Thats pregnant women's priviledge!

Sa sa: Thanks for your concern! I have been drinking lotas of water & am having cough now. Haiz...

Storeberry: I've accepted your MSN request! Forgot to say that the salt water should be warm - more effective. And drink at least a glass of water every hour. I hope you get well soon too! I've been not so well for like 1 month today! Argh! I am not sure if my Manuka honey is working or not. But my housemate says she hears me coughing less...my phlegm has reduced but now still praying for the entire cough to be banished!

Flos, Sunrays & Storeberry: What time do you normally come online?

Koras: I think in the past cannot, but these days rules for delivery ward have changed. However, I still think shooting stills on top of video is better in the delivery room. That is cos I've seen how one very excited hubby i.e. my BIL producing very shaking videos of the delivery room process that in the end, at the most impt bits like baby being weighed etc he shot the walls and ceilings. Hahaha! Guess he was too excited to rber switching from video to photo mode. Btw, when is your EDD? I'm quite new to this thread. Mine's mid-sept - date keeps changing from 15 to 17 Sept...now a bit blur.

Morning ladies ,
Xuanting and storebery .. i am fine .. gg for check up tomorrow and hopefully can know the gender of bb mouse .. these few days super busy cos my son having a cold and running nose .. couldnt sleep for a few days tending to him ..and he started to crawl around and gets into lots of bumps and cries .. so have to carry him around.. plus my hubby not around in shanghai .. so everything have to managed with help from my mum and MIL ..
Flos , u moving to shanghai ??? I am still thinking of whether to shift up there for a few years cos hubby there for three years already .. My first one and second one , i stay here in singapore all by myself .. so next year after this bb mouse , i am thiking of talking NPL for shanghai .. is the enviroment really not that bad??? pretty worried cos child still young .. that is my delay of moving up .. ALSO THE ENRICHMENT CLASSES .. any recommandations ??? maybe if u are there , we can bring kids there together ... Cos actually check out online like Julia gabriels and gymboree .. are avail in shnaghai .. would like my zachary .. 10 mths old now and bb mouse to have best education ... so worrying ... anyway can add me to MSN chewy_ring@hotmail.
Sarah May , zhuhai sure can buy a lot of things .. my SIL married to macauese and all teh toys bought from there .. cheaper in price by half compared to singapore ..

Waaaah, so many posts!

bbmouse
nice pics...

Sunrays
Re: pics...I actually think pregnancy hides a lot of physical flaws so you should be able to take pics when you are more preggie. As bbmouse said, when heaviy preg (like 8th month) is best time to take pics!

SarahMay
Don't worry about your EDD so much, it will fluctuate betwee a few days dpeneding on the baby's size and the EDD is automatically calculated using the U/S machine. Anyway, there's a good chance the baby will just come whenever it wants to..and that could be a few weeks earlier or later than the so-called EDD. so just make sure you have your hosp bags packed at least 3 weeks before the earliest EDD in your range.

Medela
Last week, I received the PIS I bought via ebay ...haven't checked to see if it works yet cos have not bought the adapter. bbmouse, sorry to have to ask again, but do we just need an adaptor for the plug or also need something to vary the electrical currency, like a transformer?

<font color="0000ff">Shazz
wah... seems like u enjoyed urself... another trip?? u really noe how to enjoy leh.. hehe.

Flos &amp; SarahMay
I've added u to MSN le..

Flos
haha.. i noe wat u mean.. my bump is only super obvious if i wear tight tops. juz realised it nia. coz wore 1 ytd n walked Ikea.. wah.. so many ppl.. look at me from top den to my tummy lor.. damn obvious lah.. u noe wat i mean..

Storeberry
hehe... the MSN thingy think u get from Sunrays lah hor.. tho i dun think she will mind.. haha (hor Sunrays!!!). anyway.. she's really delivering in TMC too... She's seeing Dr Joycelyn Wong. oh ya btw.. both of us will be signing up for the antenatal class... same session.. u wanna join us too??

thats good!! glad ur sore throat is better le...</font>

wow, so many postings over the weekend!
Have a client presentation today so won't be online to read. Will check back tomorrow

SarahMay - went to Ubin yesterday. It was drizzling when we went, then became scorching hot! Horrible weather, &amp; lots &amp; lots of mozzies!Thank goodness for sunblock &amp; mozzie repellant. The chek jawa tour was abit of a disappointment thou, but we did take some photos of mudskippers/bugs etc. Will share the link once I have downloaded the photos

Oh ya mummies ,
I am in education sector , a teacher in fact ..
can add me in MSN... where i only log in at night after my son Zzzzzz ..
Sarah may , u shifting to Macau when your bb mouse pops?

Ava: No need a transformer. When I go home this evening, will take a pic and post here for you. I advise you bring the whole pump to the electrical store to test if it works.

Ava,

Medela pump
U just need an A/C converter (cos I think the voltage in Singapore is higher than US). I bought it from First Few Years in Paragon (cost me ~$30) but the salesgirl says it's cheaper to get it from DIY shop. They says it's very common for US expats to specifically request for US model as they intend to bring it back to home country to use.

Ava - Yeah! I also know EDD isn't reliable...but I just pray tt bb will pop around the EDD cos if not my hb might not get back here in time.

Bigtoes - hope you didn't fed the mozzies any of your precious blood!

Qiuling - I'm a fellow educator too! I'm moving to Macau prob only when bb is 6 months old. I dunno if that wil be too long for him and Daddy to be apart....but the Dec- Feb period is v cold so I don't really feel confident abt bringing bb over then. Plus, I wld rather bb took all the necessary jabs here.

Hi sasa: No prob, will wait for sunrays to give me her msn.. Kekeke... Regarding the antenatal class, is it the pre-natal one by Mrs Wong at AMK hub? My hubby very busy leh so I doubt he can make it &amp; my friend who attend pre-natal classes told me that she forgot 90% of what is taught by the time she gave birth.. Tsk tsk... So I am still thinking... How much is it by the way?

Bigtoes: Recently weather had been abit crazy, hope you enjoy yourself yah? Waiting for your photos!

SarahMay: I am online usually around 11plus or in the afternoon &amp; night.

Hi sarahmay

saw yr greeting on MSN liao...i usually cm online when i wake up lor...it'll be arnd 10am earliest &amp; 12pm latest...haha i'm a lazy gal... Oh ya, I'm meeting sasa later for lunch and then desserts at my hb's cafe..u free to join us???

My MSN addy [email protected].... ADD ME!!

Got Facebook? Also can add me [email protected]

recently i keep having increase in heartbeat.. last sat, i nearly blackout n cant breathe properly.. is it normal? shld i see my gynae??

Precious

Think it's not normal...u better see gynae asap. I've a friend whose colleague's heartrate went up to 140...now she's being observed in hospital. U seeing Dr Wong if i remembered correctly?? Keep us posted and take care!!

hey sasa,
seen your doc already? me back from my rountine check.
I asked my doc about the hardening and she said it's Braxton Hicks contractions. I was like hur? can feel so early meh? Cos I thought usually only feel that after 5 mths preggie.

Update us on your visit on what your doc says about the hardening and gender! ;)

precious... i log in to ask abt my giddiness prob and surprise to see u had this prob too...
last sat i was in the train and theres no seats.. i was standing and suddenly i feel so giddy (with tummy ache) and i cant open my eyes... i have to fight for a seat n once i sit down i feel more calm and better.
This morning exactly the same thing happened and i had to get out of the train to breathe and sit down at the seats at the station platform. Dunno why like tat...
Anyone else got similar symptoms

Precious, Mrs Yap: What you both described sounds like breathlessness to me. It's common for some preggies to feel breathless easily. But both your cases sound more serious. Maybe you want to check with your gynae. Maybe it could also be due to lack of iron. I'm just guessing.

hi sunrays, ya im gog down to see Dr Wong today. hope everything alrite..

Mrs Yap, take care too.. mine was like i need to open my mouth to breathe heavily.. and i really cant see anything except stars! scary leh.. gog to see gynae later, update u again..

Hi Mrs Yap: Msn you yday... When are you going for your check up again?

Sunrays: Kekeke.. Glad that my nick bring joy to him. Haha... Let me think about the classes... Abit lazy leh... :p

I love Japanese food, if you are going for Jap food, remeber to chio me ok? Kekeke

I am staying in CCK, where are you gals staying?

Hi ladies - pls add me to facebook too! [email protected]

storeberry (storeberry) - will see if I have time to update the Ubin photos by tomorrow evening
I only ended up with a couple of mozzie bites (thru my clothes, exposed bits were covered with alot of insect repellant). Hubby didn't spray any (trying to be manly), &amp; now has at least 20+ bites to show &amp; a bad sun burn!

bigtoes
i added you to my FB liao

storeberry
u so far away
i'm staying in hougang, still wif my parents cos my new place only ready end 08 or 2009... Jap food? wah...now cannot eat sashimi, i seldom eat jap food cos can't stand my friends attacking sashimi...will drool hehe..

hi Precious/Mrs Yap,
I kind of had this same prob when I was just standing at one spot waiting for my friend about 5-10min.
Suddenly my vision start to see white spots and I knw I need to sit down somewhere fast else will faint.
So sms my friend that I sitting down at Cafe Cartel to find me inside there.

Think it could be low blood pressure or low blood count. not sure is which.. forgot to ask doc.

saramay &amp; sunrays, i'm an editor. i work on both books and magazines. just finished up one issue last week and am going to laze around for a long, long while.
are you guys kept v busy by your projects?

wow qiuling, you're another mommy coping with the demands of motherhood and pregnancy on your own. do you have any help at hand? my hubby's been travelling quite a bit lately too, but thankfully, they're all short trips just for meetings. when will you next see your hubby?

storeberry
my next appt is 7 april, next mon. will be in week 16 by then. have u start to feel baby movement? your nausea stopped?

bbmouse, precious
i still can breathe normally but jus that my head feels strange as if a shadow is covering my vision. Then can feel the sound around me sort of like become softer... I find it strange how come my gynae did not prescribe any iron / calcium pills for me to take cos i see that many of u are taking? i suspect i probably lack iron

valnsw
yup.. i was standing for abt 15 mins in each case that i suddenly feel faint. Maybe stand for too long. Really cannot expect anyone to give up their seats.. cos majority of them are sleeping or pretending
Last sun i was in a bus... the guy was sitting infront of me... i am wearing a top which really enhance the bump shape... he turn ard and stare at my bump twice and then just treat like he didnt see anything... Then i realised something... His POT BELLY is even bigger than my BUMP

mrs yap, my next appt is just 2 days after yours. i think our edd's the same: 24 sep. i think you should let your o&amp;g know about your fainting spells so that he/she can perhaps order some tests to see if something's lacking. in the meanwhile, do take things easy, walk slowly and make sure you don't venture out on an empty stomach.

Mrs Yap: So long rite the check up? Wait till my neck is long liao... Kekek.. No, have not feel bb's movement yet and nausea stop liao... I am also not taking any iron / calcium tablets. Haha... the man with pot belly was so funny!! Super irritaing rite?

Sunrays: My gynae says can eat sashimi, so I will still eat in moderation &amp; in proper restaurants so I know its handle properly. I have cravings for salmon sushi &amp; cha soba!! Ya lo.. I am in the north west but my office is at balestier &amp; I go back to my mum's place in the north very often as well..

mrs yap,
people are not v civic-minded nowadays.
now in crowded places, maybe my bump not that obvious, people like to squeeze past me, even though I'm covering my bump!

Hi bbmouse: Venetian very nice right??!!! But I only stayed there for one night and hopped over to The Mirage and Treasure Island for the subsequent 2 night stays. Last time I stayed at Excalibur which has become rather old.

1328079.jpg

I didn't stay at Bellagio cos they were not having a promotion that month. But went there as part of my night stroll!! Nope, Bellagio did'nt have the flower show in 2006.

1328080.jpg

mrs yap
yes, people in singapore can be quite strange. i still dun look very preg yet. but when im out alone with my son, there are times i have to handle his stroller, him and grocery bags alone. on public tspt can be horrendous. no one will offer any help. the ones most like to help are the NS men...the rest dun really bother. if you are in their way, they will just glare at you and walk around you, not even helping you!!!

sarahmay
yes ON is old navy. i like those compared to Pumpkin patch coz i dun like too colourful tops for my boy leh...i like those little gentlemanly outfits...heee..

xuanting
i will be doing the triple test on mon... dunno wats that for but i know need to draw quite alot of blood from the nurse. Anyone can advise the triple blood test can access wat?

Storeberry
ya lor its a long wait n i have been waiting for my hubby to return for as long as i wait to see my bb in next appt... hubby away for a month now n i am afraid he cant make it for the next appt too...

Hi Sarah May:

No dear...I'm not in the entertainment business, but loves the arts including Cirque. I watched Saltimbanco when CDS performed at the Singapore Padang in 1999. My hb is doing investment and i'm in media. You're in education right?!! hehehe!!

I think Macau expats will usually go to HK to see med help. Let me know if you hv found anything nice in Zhuhai. I think it's a clean but rather boring place!! I used to take tiger airways thru Macau and crossed the border at Zhuhai Gongbei customs checkpoint. the Macau airport shuttle bus was very cheap, only 3.50mos :)

Like you, maybe 6 months old. Most expat wives bring the tots on the plane when they are around that age. I only log on to MSN after office hours cos there is restriction in the office to use that!!

Qiuling: you left your hb in SH for both your first and second babies? pei fu pei fu... where is he staying may i know? i'm at Xuhui district. The top 4 good o&amp;g hospitals in East China is located within 1 km from my place: 国妇婴,红房子, 瑞金,第一妇婴!! Outside each of these hospital, there are rows of maternity and kids apparel shops. You can shop till you drop

I also visited all the top expat gyane hospitals in SH, run by US, Jap and Singaporeans. Let me know if you need med advice. I've been to all!!! whahahaha!!

OK, I'll add you to my MSN!!!!

Mrs Yap: I take the multivit from my gynae. It contains iron. Are you taking any supplements?

Flos: We were there for 5 nites or so. Stayed at Venetian throughout. No energy to hotel-hop. I think I was there in 2005 or was it 2006? Can't remember. Was there in Oct.

The flower show is really very nice.

so many teachers here. i was a teacher too...before i gave it all up for my lil boy.not likely to go back again until years later i think...

Flos, SarahMay: I like Cirque too. Yup, watched Saltimbanco when they were here. It's actually oine of their best I feel. There was another one or 2 I watched, but not as good. And I can't even remember the name of the shows anymore.. Haha!! That's how "high" I rate the other 2.

Mrs Yap: I know. Triple test test 3 hormones/proteins. It screens for DS with 60-65% accurarcy. And it can also screen for tubal defects like spina bifida. See the link here for more details. http://www.nuh.com.sg/_og/files/ScreeningForChromosomaAbnormalities.pdf

Sasa de mouse: Grrr...today my colleague commented that my hips hv become wider!!!!!!!!!!!!! sob sob

Big toes: you went on a ferry to ubin? You're really gutsy! I didn't wanna go yachting in my first trimester with my frens. They were sailing to the southern islands...so risky!!

xuanting and mrs yap: are you hbs back in singapore yet? mine coming back next week!!! At last...my MAN is back to clean up my dirty flat! Time to exploit his MAN services...like lugging my favourite Ocean Spray Cran-grape juice from the supermarket.

bbmouse: i was there over CNY 06, meaning they have all the Chinese banners and Dog mascots amid flowers in the lobby. That could be 4 months after u!!! Did u go to Wynn? Boring boring boring...My hb and I are hotel junkies!!! When we went to Bali, it was the same resort-hopping thingie there too...I wonder why we're not in the hospitality biz

oops, saw u hv another reply to me, bbmouse! Yah yah!!! Saltimbanco was most interesting...very colourful costumes...there should be another underwater one is it? Can't really rem the name. I know CDS toured Shanghai and HK.

Flos: No didn't go Winn. Besides Bellagio, We went to Luxor, to the Alibaba place where the sky is always daytime - can't remember the hotel name. We bot back so many chips to play mahjong. Hahaha..

We self-drove. From LA to SF, to LV then back to LA.
Very shiok cos we stopped at many outlets along the way.
It was a very nice trip.

bbmouse
wow you drove from LV to LA? izzit tough? hb and i didntdare to after driving from LA to SF through highway 101. saw the route from SF to LV when we were on hte plane, the terraines were scary...

Actually we thought Vegas was quite boring. hahaha. coz it's just going from one hotel to the next, but things were cheap! petrol and food! wow, the prime ribs..i can still recall the portion size!

think we went eons ago, just before hte opening of Wynn.

flos
you moving to SH? expensive place now. bil used to have a house at putong. he sold it and regretted it immediately. most of the houses there are really nice and pretty!

I'L CY: My hubby loves to drive. He single-handedly handed the entire trip. I just sleep in the car, eat and shop. Hahaha.. The drive was ok and enjoyable leh.
From SF to LV, we got lost and ended up in Lake Tahoe. It was covered in snow then. Very scenic.
My hubby loves to play cards. We played p0ker at the table. It was my first time playing p0ker outside - was very tense and scary. Lost money of course..