(2008/09) Sep 2008

xuanting... i am also in week 14... hopefully yr ms will be going off soon too. I"ve been blessed with nausea w/o vomitting though... i cannot imagine if i vomit n my hubby not around with me... I think even i fainted at home, also nobody will know

mrs yap, can you eat normally now? has your hubby gone for his overseas assignment already? i remember you mentioning that he was away/going away for quite a long while.

bigtoes, only DHA and multivict we need to eat thru'out the preg.

we can stop folic acid after 1st trim, 2nd trim needs more calcium.

aloevera/Bigtoes
FYI my hb told me yesterday his GP said should take folic acid throughout, even after birth, as can help prevent post natal depression!

Hey aloevera (loever) - am only on DHA and the multivit from the gyne. Didn't even take extra folic acid from the beginning & having spent years overseas, I drink plenty of milk for breakkie all the time anyways

Ava - is it folic acid? I read press articles & it said DHA to prevent post-natal depression, thou alot really depends on own personality & how we deal with stress i guess.

He said folic acid. I guess they both help...DHA would be good for the brain, and I guess that would affect moods too...man, I feel like I am losing my mind some times...forgetful, a bit careless etc....i think i should step up my DHA intake too...

I have been taking folic acid regularly and wish I had been taking it before conception too, cos i have a friend born with spina bifida and I know how tough it is to live with the condition....want to ensure it can be prevented by any means I can..

Bigtoes
Just read this online:
Diet. It could be important to check your diet for sufficient levels of B vitamins, especially folic acid. A deficiency of folic acid has recently been linked to heart disease and Alzheimer's disease, but could also be important in depression. You can get folic acid from fortified breakfast cereals and green vegetables. In fact, a diet rich in fruits and vegetables will protect your brain (via their antioxidant properties) from the kind of malfunctioning chemistry that can lead to depression.

Ava - thanks
I have been taking folic acid for at least 6 months before we got preggers, then switched to Obimin - that has 1mg of folic acid, which is sufficient so I am not taking any extra. And yes, Vit B6 & B12 are pretty impt - I think Vit B actually played a part in why I had no nausea/MS at all, whilst DHA help prevented any mood swings. Am thankful that I have been so 'normal' so far.

i'm guilty of taking my supplements only when i remember. hope this won't turn out to be detrimental for bb. we do have reserves that the bb can draw on, right? i put on 10kg just before conception so hopefully, there's something useful in me besides fats!

Hi bbmouse:
sorry i logged off to watch the Channel 8 show at 9pm. Did u watch it? It's really quite hilarious watching those studio flat dwellers bickering!!! kekeke!!!!

I will return to either HK or Shanghai to work. I've got offers few wks ago, but turned them down due to pregnancy. Can't change jobs when one is pregnant...sian. I won't migrate per se, just relocate to work overseas...

sunrays: okok, but he is still associated with les amis, no? I've tried the Laduree from Paris becos my relative brought them back. It can only last for 3 days so must DEVOUR THEM!!!! I've only been to the harrod's one.

Pierre Herme is going to be in Singapore??!! when when??!!! tell me more. I hv heard about his macarons! I want to sink my teeth into PH's macarons!

You're really lucky to have a chef as your hb. you can rely on him on your confinement food liao!

I also love CARL's JUNIOR!!! Ate that almost fortnightly since I became pregnant. I really wish someone would bring IN N OUT from US to Singapore. And Krispy Kreme donuts too...

Mrs Yap: You're not alone... My hb also not around these few weeks. I'm ok, just ignore the cobwebs and dust on the floor until he returns...

I discovered why I've put on 5 kgs when I'm only 15.5wks. It's cos I eat Ben and Jerry's almost nightly after dinner. It's fattening you bet!

OKIE, going off for external meeting...catch up again...

xuanting... yup my hubby was away in US since i was in my week 10... now i am in week 14 liao... Hope he can be back soon.

Woah Goldfish yr appetite is tat bad ah? try to take something despite poor appetite...

I got lotsa phelgm... its stuck in my throat n i got difficulty coughing them out... my lower back hurts when i cough too hard. Sometimes i got no choice but to swallow the phelgm too... i am so worried the phelgm is v v bad for my baby...

Goldfish (goldfish1395) - hmm....not sure how proven the benefits are from consuming one's own placenta. The photo link from the site is quite gross....!

Flos (flos) - As long as ur gyne doesn't ask u too gain more/slow down on the weight gain, then it should be fine. I am up 2.5kg (16+ weeks). One of my colleagues had bad MS thru out that she only gained 4kg by the 8th month! She was ordered to put on more weight during her last month when the MS disappeared, she said she ate at every 2 hour interval (even waking up at nite to eat!) - within her final month, she gained 6kg!

Flos... i love Ben & Jerry's Pistachio Pistachio and Cherry Gracia... I've been controlling my intake of icy cold food as my MIL dun really approve me of eating it.. even cold drinks she advise not to take... before preggy... i indulge myself to 1 pint a week...

Mrs Yap.. me too leh! I cough and blow my phlegm out till my lower back aches leh.. bend down oso ache. Wonder full tummy is worst than tis manz!!

Bigtoes, yah.. quite gross.. bt oso scare scullly they put some funnie ting inside the pills i oso dunno :S

goldfish... i think its not a v reliable source to store yr placenta... they are not accredit..
Scully its not placenta powder at all... Maybe some PoChai pills powder we also dunno and end up paying $200.

mrs yap, is your hubby supposed to be stationed in US for a fixed period of time or is it quite indefinite? i hope he'll be back soon too. it's much better to have someone around when you're pregnant. how do you settle your dinner?

xuanting... normally each assignment is about 1 mth n and sometime it gets delayed.
I settle my dinner outside... i hv been eating out except sun when my MIL cooks

Mrs Yap and Goldfish - Hope your cough gets better. I really think staying away from chicken and egg yolk helps. Tried it and my phlegm reduced q a bit. Also hear regular honey creates more phlegm too but tt is according to TCM. The westerners seem to take honey. You might want to try these remedies. Mrs Yap, don't think that you didn't do a good job looking after baby. Preggies tend to have lower immunity. Just drink lots of water and rest! Guess nothing much we can do except try to drink and eat well and sleep well.

Flos, Mrs Yap - You are not alone either! My husband is working in Macau. Actually, I haven't seen him since January. :-( But thankfully I'm going to see him next month for a few weeks.

Just wondering if anyone on this forum is currently not working or working from home?

My friend's primary school in Aljunied is looking for relief teacher from 31 Mar - 3 april. Anyone interested?

Flos
bad news...i think the pierre herme workshop sold out liao... If u want, can try calling Hyatt to check out. My hb tried cooking confinement food for me when i had a miscarriage last yr...honestly- not very nice haha... by the 4th day i went out to buy Mos burger,hehe. Most likely i'll cater confinement food this time...

bbmouse
U very steady lor...last nite ate macarons & chips, today's lunch ate mos burger...tonite wat u planning for dinner?? haha...

sasa
sigh....told u my big plan to eat carl's jnr for lunch after my gym wrkout rite?? I told my personal trainer my sinful lunch plans & she shook her head,haha..In the end, i bot fish soup cos the wrkout was sooooooooo tiring!!It made me change my mind cos i didnt want to waste my effort wrking out...now can only fantasize abt my junk food...

<font color="0000ff">Sunrays
aiyah..... tot u already fulfiled ur craving leh.. haha.. in the end didnt eat. if only u didnt tell ur trainer abt ur lunch plans hor...

Valnsw
Sorry gal.. i was away from my comp juz now.. so didnt see ur msg on MSN!!!</font>

Ava: It's the fish oil that can prevent post-natal depression. Folic acid is only for the tubal formation of the baby.

Flos, Mrs Yap: I also love B&amp;J's Cherry Garcia, and also there's Chubby Hubby/Monkey or something. Also v nice. Remember finished 2 tubs just before I went to deliver for my #1.

Sunrays: I feel like eating hokkien prawn mee/beef soup for dinner. Dunno why.. I also feel like having beef tenderloin at Valentino's.

toking of MS, me 1st trimestr got abit MS, once a while vomit, but after every meal feel nausea.
but in 2nd trimestr, seem the MS get worse, no mood even to eat..last time is dinner no mood to eat, now is breakfast,lunch,dinner also no mood to eat

such a coincidence.... I juz bot 2 tubs of ben&amp; jerrys frm Giant cos got offer...2 for $20.50!! I bot cherry garcia &amp; turtle soup...nvr tried turtle soup before...tis is the description--Vanilla ice cream with Fudge &amp; caramel cashews &amp; caramel swirls!!! But my ultimate favorite is Chubby Hubby but rarely see it leh...it has got pretzels filled wif peanut butter inside the ice cream!!! YUMMY...

Sunrays: I need to make a trip to Giant liao..
Very cheap for 2 tubs leh..
Turtle soup sounds horrible but the des is so delicious!!
Let me know how's the taste like ok? Thanks..

Haha...chubby hubby and chunky monkey are my hubby's fav - no wonder he is becoming a chubby hubby himself!
We always stock up loads of ice-cream at home, but I find B&amp;Js too sweet for my taste. Prefer those from Andersen's of Denmark, haagen-dazs or Island Creamery (try their teh tarik - but it has caffaine, so cannot consume too much now). We just bought their Horlicks one this week, and that is yummy too!

Sunrays - of all places, think u can get the full range of B&amp;J at some Shell stations! Else Cold Storage Gourmet has them.

Bigotes, Sunrays: Is it chubby monkey or chubby hubby huh? I forgot the name! Gosh! I normally don't have cravings for this when non-preggie..

all the ben &amp; jerry talk, makes me have cravings for it. but my hubby very strict leh.. he dun allow me to eat cold stuffs.

bbmouse: there are two diff flavs: Chubby Hubby. and Chunky Monkey.

My fav is Everything but The... (mix of three flavs in one) and Phish Food... but may be won't like it right now...

Island Creamery: I love the Burnt Caramel!

Jessi: You ren3 until the 3rd trimester. Then you tell him it's ok liao. Can eat anything.
And that's true, not lying..

bbmouse

hehe...after i finished typing the description juz nw, i immediately went to try liao,hahahahha...not bad, as usual lor...very sweet...the cashews coated wif caramel so bite into them very shiok!! cherry garcia at least not so sweet...Chubby hubby still better lah!! juz nw at giant i cldn't decide which flavor i wanted...cos i saw Butter Pecan, also sounds yummy...

Another baby item to buy
A changing mat and maybe a changing station. Mummies, remember not to bend down too much during confinement, else sure get backaches. So if your bed is too low, get a changing station where you can stand and change the baby. Or if you're using a cot, the cot can be the changing station.

Sunrays: Thanks for the feedback..
Ok, will get cherry garcia and chubby hubby.. I sometimes find chubby hubby too sweet as well..
This turtle soup must have been sweeter..

I think cold drinks &amp; ice-cream in moderation should be fine? The only think I am avoiding completely is coffee &amp; tea, &amp; not too much chocolate....thou i still drink the occasional ice lemon tea at fast food places.

xuanmommy, i hope we aren't going to be the few unfortunate ones who have ms all the way!

sunrays, you've just reminded me of the tub of butter pecan in the fridge which my housemate has invited me to help myself to!

ydnic

sorry for the delay...have to wait for some others to reply me...need to consolidate the orders. U need them urgently??