(2008/09) Sep 2008

sasa, i'm also just procrastinating, cos dunno where to start from. hehe.. i think i will only start buying bb stuffs end of 2nd tri or 3rd tri. ya, my gynae never said anything about bb size. my last checkup was 3 weeks ago, still need to wait another 2 weeks. my neck also wait till very long liao..

crayonshinchan, thanks for the link. i checked based on my last scan at 11weeks, the site state is 4.1cm and my bb is 3.5cm. i guess still consider smaller than average. hopefully these few weeks got grow alot more lor.. how come u know your bb's weight? my gynae never tell me how heavy is my bb leh..

l'l cy, wow.. u really got your bb stuffs very late. i always thought need to get all the stuffs beforehand cos i saw a list of what to buy from a earlier post (can't rem from who). so many things!

Jessi
l'il CY is right...as long as u have bf/feeding equip and place to sleep good enough already (and a car seat..me being kiasu). Cos u are not gonna get about v much in the first month anyway...I intend to let babies sleep in moses baskets/basinette or share one cot in the beginning.

But, it's an idea to start looking at brands u like, so if u need to get anything, u can ask others to go and buy them for you...u du have to go and shop around at that stage.

sasa de mouse,
those in the same wk will have the last session on 15Jul (which is the doc's talk at SCGS).
If i'm not wrong, they have lessons mon, tues, thurs, sat and sun. Think only tues and thurs (for wkdays) are Mrs Wong's class. U might wanna call to confirm. For wkends, i heard from the staff that the consultants might change last min leh..

jessi, like wat limay said earlier, by 16wks i think the gynae will usually tell u the weight instead of the length. My gynae told me both length and weight.. i guess its because it might be difficult to measure length once they grow older.

crayonshinchan - accepted ur invite on facebook already!
Actually, given that u hv so much experience taking care of babies, i don't think u would benefit much from the pre-natal classes. I signed up cos I only see my nephew and niece once a week, and only end up playing with them..so clueless on stuff like bathing/changing diapers/feeding etc.

On the baby's weight & length - my gyne mentioned that the logic for not using the length as a measurement anymore is cos the baby is too big to be stretched out, so quite difficult to estimate. My baby's weight yesterday was 138gm (+/- 21gm). The AD (abdominal circumference) is 2X that from last visit, so on that estimate, the CR length would approximate 4.53 inches (2X last visit). Mine is about right for 16 weeks, based on that Baby Centre link.

Btw, how much weight have u gals gained? I am up about 2.5kg since preggers (16 weeks now)!

Hi Jessi

I checked back at my baby's length at 11wks1D. It was 4.53cm. You can try drinking Anmum or Enfamama, the latter I was told by my gynae is "fattening". So I stopped drinking it daily. But since you seem to want your baby to grow bigger and faster, why not?

ava, ya it's a good idea to check out the brands of those essentials first then maybe only get them later. i'll try to find more info online, quite troublesome for me to go down to those baby hypermart to look see.

crayonshinchan, oic! so i guess i will know the bb's weight during the next checkup 2 wks later.

bigtoes, i just saw your latest ultrasound scan. so amazing can see the spinal cord
i also added you on my facebook :p

Flos, drinking Anmum or Enfamama really helps bb to grow bigger faster ah? coz my bb aso on the small side...abit worried. Just afraid that i'll put on too much weight coz now alrdy gained arnd 3.5kg since preggie (17wks now).

Millie

My mum bought a lot of frozen cod fish for me, but I hated the taste of the fish. I only eat it once a week, or rather I skipped it last week!

As for salmon, I'll order it when I'm at Sakae Sushi.

Please do not over-consume canned tuna and avoid cod liver oil althogether.

As mentioned, I can't stand fish. I rotate with beef, chicken, pork and prawns. I need therapy. I'm not supposed to be avoiding FISH!

Hi all MTBs and mummies,

Can i join in? This is my #2. Reading all the threads, it reminds me of my firstborn.

MTBs,
No big hurry to buy bb stuff--- some of the things I bought are still not used. U can wait for GSS in May/June too. Robinsons has good buys during sale. I overheard that Taka will have another BB fair in Aug. Like what Ava said, you only need bfg equipment, sterilizer (if using bottles), a place for bb to sleep (cot or playpen, bath products and bb detergent/washing powder. Even for bfg equipment, Mrs Wong will tell u to buy only after bb is born (cos u don't know what type of "cow" you will be).

U will get lots of bb clothes and toys as gifts or hand-me-downs. Strollers are usually not used until ~ after 2 mths. I bought my car seat only when #1 is ~3 mths old.

On BB wt, don't get too hang up abt it. So long as your gynae is not too concerned. My boy was a good decent size when he's born (3.4kg) but he subsequently was always on the small side (10-25% percentile) up until he's abt 15-18 mths old. The converse is true for some of the smaller bbs.

On my own wt gain, abt 500g a 14 weeks. I'm not too concerned so long as the bb is growing well. For #1, I put on 9+kg and managed to lose almost all in ~2 mths (mostly due to bfg). So not putting on too much wt is sometimes a blessing (unless your gynae thinks it's an issue).

lhy

I'm not sure whether it'll make it grow bigger, but mine seems to be growing quite fast leh. I'm into my 15weeks and it's over 8cm. Is it normal?

On the other hand, the gynae was right. I'm putting a lot of weight after drinking Enfamama! I've put on 5 kgs!!!!!!! SHEEESHHHH!

Length vs Weight: From a certain week on, our babies will be putting on mass much faster than the growth in length. So the gynae will measure the weight of the baby instead of the length.

Ying Ling: Can't remember how much I paid for the OSCAR last year at NUH. I have doubts on the machines cos the scan was really not as clear as what I normally see on my gynae's screen. The gynae's assistants told me that the machines at TMC are the same. And said that I cannot compare the machines at my gynae's cos they are definitely more advanced! Hahaha..

jessi (jessi) - yes, I am also on Enfamama, though i haven't been drinking it daily. My gyne also mentioned that it is fattening, albeit the lable seems to say otherwise (2g of fat per 50g serving is not that much right)...my baby is actually bigger than I would expect for my size, so maybe Enfamama is working! Anyway, don't worry too much - most impt is that the baby is healthy!

Yesterday's ultrasound was actually quite dark, couldn't see very much! Oh, but during one of the scans, we actually say one of the baby's hands & 5 fingers waving at us very clearly! Too bad we didn't capture that moment as a print out...

Anyway, we are suppose to get the detailed scan on week 20, together with a CD-Rom of photos & video clip. This is done using the machine they used for the OSCAR scan (GE brand vs. regular Toshiba), so much clearer quality. Looking forward to that!!

Flos, think Enfamama doesnt really help then. Coz me not drinking but bb close to 8.7cm when 14wks 4 days. Just that when i compare to babycentre website and a few of urs, mine like very small leh..

Ya, in fact heard drinking anmum aso will put on alot of weight! that's why my can of anmum is still sitting on the table untouched!

flos, initially i used to drink frisomum daily before my morning sickness got very bad then i stopped. now is better already, maybe i should start drinking back the milk. but i heard that drinking the milk will make the mummy fat rather than the baby but at least it will give the nutrients to the baby. :p

sobs! 16wks supposed to be 11.6cm as per babycentre's website but mine only 10.3cm (138g)...hope bb is growing well..

haa.. i clean backside until i sian liao... 2boys and 2 girls...their shit really smell horrible! hahaa feeding and all not much of a prob.. the only thing that I am still not very comfy with is bathing.. they are sooooooo fragile! esp the first few months...

my baby's measurements are abt the same as urs, yeah! we are doing fine, i guess.. haaa

as for weight gain, sob sob.. my gynae so evil! she told me i'm doing good, less than 3kg in total but she told me to try and limit myself to a super max of 2kg per from now on cos i've got reserves! haha.. saying i am fat in a nicer way!

babycentre is an US website. It is ok to be below their average as Asian babies tend to be smaller built!

Hi all mom.. Abt the gaining weight issue, its not totally because of the milk.
Why we gain weight including Men is because of the excess calories intake..

For eg. If daily u need only 2000calories to mantain your weight, but u took 2500calories a day, those 500calories will make u gain weight..

Its healthy for MTBs gain 400g-900g of weight every month... So if u were to mantain weight its not very good for the baby...
Juz eat healthy and moderately... Intake all the nutrients u need for the baby growth..

Enfamama, anmum etc is juz a supplement intake.. Just incase u do not have a balance diet, these supplements will help to give ur Babies the nutrients it needs.

Why not split up your Milk supplement intake up so it will nt be taxing on ur tummy and it will also ensure great absorption rate..

Instead of 4scoops per serving for 2 times of the day, split it into 2scoops per serving 4times of the day...

Or what i gave my wife is 4scoops everynight b4 she slp. Because as you sleep your body has no intake of nutrients. Your body moves into hunger state aka catabolic state. So the formula will help replenish your body nutrients and incase the baby needed some nutrients.

Hope it helps

Big toes

Can't see your U/S photo on facebook leh? Strange...

I wonder if any one of you have starting booking CONFINEMENT nannies yet? How come my cousin booked it in her 1st trimester? Are nannies so hard to secure?

I've gone to the baby depts to take a look at the strollers and cots. But I'm not buying them until the GSS.

May I know who is this Mrs Wong? What courses are you attending? I don't know that we need to attend classes!!! Fill me in!!

my dears... the webbie is just for info sake ok.. don get too hung up on the weight and length.. everyone has different growth rate! haha.. u all stressed me leh! for putting out the link!

really, if gynae nv say anything, then shd be ok lar.. mai scared.. mai scared...

and plus, we do not know if the site is comparing ang mor babies or asian ones.. if ang mor ones, then mine shd be ang mor size liao! heee...

my annum has been there for 2months but i've only drank 3times??? hahaaa... i don want to put on too much weight cos apparently it really puts on weight.

Yah, these are only guidelines - as long as the gyne doesn't raise a cause for concern, then the weight/length should be okie. Am using Baby Centre more for my own reference to imagine how large the being growing inside me is
I am hoping that my baby wont be too big anyways (2.5-3kg is a good size)! Can always fatten up with BF after that...

lhy, oh, i thought anmum is reduced fat milk? still thought of changing from frisomum to anmum, cos the former is very sweet so thought it might be more fattening.

crayonshinchan
All the more you should BF, cos the poop won't be as smelly!! Bathing u can take the class at hosp (TMC had one after birth-I got to bathe adan as he was the "demo" baby...unfortunately that day he was under UV for jaundice and his poop had dried up and caked on his butt!! I got a (jokey) scolding from Mrs Wong

Flos
I still can't tahan salmon and cod now, altho i loved cod before....sigh...most fish with strong smell still puts me off...

flos, are u getting from agencies or from contacts of msian aunties?

usually the msian aunties are quite "hot" and will get snatched up very fast! I just paid deposit for mine today. *keeps fingers crossed*

flos,

Mrs Wong works at TMC. She conducts pre-natal classes and runs Parentcraft at TMC. Also a very qualified and trusted lactation consultant. I am sure some of us will go to her for advice after your bbs are born...

Flos
CL: I booked mine already...I know some more popular ones are being snapped up already...so better start asking around now!

lhy: Wow! Your baby is indeed bigger than mine then...Are both you and hb very big sized? Or perhaps your family have big builts?

Big Toes: How can I get a video clip in CD like you? Must you pay extra to TMC for the CD? I also want the video clip!!!

Lok: My exact sentiments when I checked the babycentre website. Asian babies should be diff, I thought?

Flos, heehee, ya, me and hb quite big sized...that's why bb small i'll worry!
but ya, true that babycentre more on ang moh bb..so praying that since Dr din say anything, it means my bb is still doing fine! :p

Jessi, anmum is reduced fat but heard its only gd for those underweight mtbs or if u aren't eating sufficient nutrients for ur bb. Otherwise can drink low fat milk, as advised by my gynae.

Ava: I'm glad I've found someone who detests cod like me. I tried steaming it, panfrying it and grilling it. Just hate it.

crayonimshan/Ava: OH NO! I've not booked mine. I dunno if my MIL would do it for me cos she did it for her own daughter (my SIL) last year and I'm carrying her first grandchild, so I assume she'd help me too. But I quarreled with her a few years ago and till now, continues to retort her old wives tales and stupid logic. I think she doesn't want to live under the same roof with me, esp I live so far from her. My hb hasn't formally asked her if she'd do it for me.

She always tells me not to do certain things like vaccuming and mopping under my bed, cannot eat mutton and beef, cannot eat too much durians, cannot this and that. I can really get postnatal blues...

My mom advised me to quickly find a confinement nanny in case my MIL "play me up". At least, this nanny can help my 65-yr-old MIL when she is tired.

How much is a Msian confinement nanny?

hee ava... i m oredi planning to bf.. just hope tat i'll be able to do it! cos reading abt other mum's exp does stress and scares me a little..

so i guess i can skip the antenatal classes? my sis owas pass her baby to me and tells me "nah free antenatal class" .. hahaa..

Big toes:

cannot leh...still getting error message:

This content is currently unavailable
The page you requested can not be displayed right now. It may be temporarily unavailable, the link you clicked on may have expired, or you may not have permission to view this page.

Nevermind, next time just paste it on the posting board lah?!!!

I'm still avoiding fish till now! Can't eat fish at all, esp salmon and cod fish! Used to love fish so much before i was preggie tho.

Flos, u better start sourcing around and maybe u can also check with local agencies or the TMC confinement nannies...

i got mine at 1.9k.. I think standard rate is 1.8k to 2k. but must give kai gong ang bao and shou gong ang bao..

It's so ex to have a confinement nanny!
Btw, mums with experience, can we do our own confinement? I'm thinking of catering the confinement food then the rest DIY.

lhy.. why not?
i meant i don have experience lar!
but one thing though i see my sis and sil, i think its good to have at least 1person ard in the daytime to help u.. a few hrs oso good.. so u can have time off for urself to rest...

but i see the catering of confinement food oso not cheap leh!

I wanted to cater oso but i think my hb worried that i'll be overly stress and throw tantrum at him.. so he'll rather spend some money on CL so to get things in place for the first month first..

JJparents, thanks for sharing tips and recipes with us here! so kind n sweet of u! =) in my other thread for my elder girl, there's also a daddy! i'm sure you'll make a good father n daddy! cheers!

Ihy,

It will be tough. Unless u get help from experienced maid / hands-on hubby / parents or in laws dropping in to help occasionally. U have to bear in mind that (1) u are trying to recover from a natural delivery or a major op i.e. C-sec (2) there will be sleepless nights so feeling very irritable (3) will be feeling very hot and sweaty most of the time, even worse if u believe in not bathing (4) newborn will be feeding every 2-3 hours, thereafter will poo (esp bfg), need to change/wash their clothings etc. (5) in my case, there is a very active toddler around

So it will be very tiring unless there is someone to help u.

lhy
I did my own confinement, well, MIL was around for 2 weeks, but not experienced with confinement. It will be difficult...but catering food will help as that's what I found to be most difficult to manage (i.e. cooking, eating and washing up in between baby's naps)

Flos (flos) - The nurse & Dr Tan told me abt the CD-Rom yesterday. My next appnt is with Dr TCC (who did my OSCAR scan) for the thorough scan. Don't think there is additional cost involved (not sure).

OMG, cod is my fav fish in the whole world! I always order cod in restaurants, though since i got preggers, i haven't had an inclination for fish (prefer red meat). If you need more fish oil, just take supplements with Omega 3. I am taking the pure fish oil from GNC (approved by my gyne) - this contains 100% natural fish oil from cod & sardines.

Don't know why u are having problems with Facebook. Anyway, try this link - http://bigfattoes.multiply.com/photos/album/117/Our_babys_pre-birth_photos#9
(2 scans into 1, cos baby is too big to fit into 1 screen).

sasa,
you must be excited to see your baby at the next scan.

I'm not so well since Sunday, resting at home. stomach's queasy, poor appetite. duno why suddenly like that, cos I vomitted my bfast today

But I'm looking forward to seeing my bb next Mon haha

ava, I oso dono leh! i was thinking 68 x 2 but then its like a lot.. then 28 x 2 dono too little or not.. haa.. very luan... need to ask my sis how much she gave hers...

<font color="0000ff">Valnsw
hehe... yes yes.. i'm looking forward to seeing bb again... hey.. i'm going for my appt on Monday too..

aiyoh.. hw come like tat ah... ur MS has returned to haunt u?</font>

Thanks Bigtoes!

I can see it on Multiply now. Cool!!! Thanks!

I'll ask my gynae next time about the CD ROM.

Just the other day, I ordered fish hor fun and nearly puked. I only eat Filet O Fish and Fish &amp; Chips.

Can I ask if the CL will sleep in the same bedroom as you, so that you can wake up and bf as and when nec?

I don't want to sleep in the same room as my MIL. HOW HOW HOW?!!! She nearly pengsan after taking care of my SIL for only 1 month.

May I know how many months do we need to book the CL? My cousin booked it for the entire 3 months! But of course, she is rich...$1.9kX3.