(2008/09) Sep 2008

Goldfish
I used to get blocked nose also.. so I bought a humidifier to put in my room when I sleep. I find that it helps.

yan... your hubby same pattern as mine. I wish to have a boy too and he keeps saying my face never change... and I have the face that will give birth to a girl... really get on my nerves too!
Machiam like i cannot produce heir like tat. V irritating too. But seriously boy or girl i both like... healthy can liao... jus tat i dun like the way my hubby put it.

Bigtoes, thanks for the link! That is very helpful of u

Mei, my blocked nose is getting on my nerves. I hope i can get a mc from the gynea when i visit him for checkup today. May consider humidifer if the medicine does not help

Btw, is there any drastic weight gain for u gals? My weight is still hovering at 55 or 54kg. Do u gals reallie 'EAT FOR 2?' I am still eating normally with the usual 1 pax share wor..

Ava

woah the list is really comprehensive. I wish sb gave me a list like that when i had #1!

Oh yes, if I may add to the list. Small little towels to wipe baby's face inaddition to the bigger bath towels.

Yes yes, me also swears by desitin!!!

J & J does nothing for diaper rash. Cos my hubby so kiam siap, he said no need to buy just use the free sample from the TMC gift bag and when he saw how red the rash was then he kan wan buy the desitin PD recommended! Hmmph!

But me had many small little T-shirts. Cos it wld be stained with milk as I was tbf and had to change often. 3 to 4 wld not have lasted me a day! At one point everytime I fed her had to use bib! But I guess if u bottle feed FM then won't be so messy!

I also bought the avent NB pacifier but din give before she turned one mth cos when I tried the whole thing covered her nose! It was too big! Haha

My personal bias against AVENT sterilisers (no offence to anyone using and finding them good okie?)
My SIL gave me her AVENT steriliser but I din like cos the water wld condense inside the bottles after sterilsing and I personally did not like to water droplets sitting all over inside my bottles. In the end I just poured hot water I'd just boiled over them and tap them dry while they were still hot so that the water wld all evaporate and my bottles wld be completely dry! But this is just idiosyncratic behaviour on my part...
Anyway, the AVENT steriliser latest model claims to keep the bottles sterile for up to 24hrs, but when u read the fine print it says if u dun open the cover. To me how is it even possible not to open???

Ruyi oil
I hate the smell so I used the Indonesian oil recommended by my massage lady. It is called Minyak Telon. Yellow colour and I bought from the building where 2nd chance is. It is not the 'hot hot' ("jiak jiak") type if u understand dialect u know wat i mean...

Goldfish
there should not be a drastic weight gain. Most MTBs dont gain much in 1st tri and apparently, the weight gained during first tri is hardest to lose, so not too much is good. Should then gain 0.5 kg a week thereafter.

As long as ur appetite is good, should be OK...

as for me...I eat like a maniac during the day (when i can keep food down)...breakfast at 8.30, snack (small sandwich and apple) at 11, lunch at 1, afternoon small meal (wrap/sandwich/pie) at 3, the small bite at 5+...but that's cos feeding 3 lah...! and I hardly eat at dinner tme...still got MS then.

Clothes
Dun forget u may be receiving hand me downs and gifts, so don't buy too many either... that's why i said 3-4...u may need more but buy as u go! Plus small stains, I didn't always change the shirts...that time quite jialat: no maid, no MIL, no mom around mah, so tried to keep my laundry pile to a minimum...

goldfish
if u really eat for two u'll become overweight in no time!!! I read this preg book that we only need extra like 300 calories. This isnowehere near double!

Btw mummies, there is this shop called Cheong Choon in People's Park. Can get Pigeon stuff, J & J and some other essentials at cheaper price. It's near those toiletries shop on level 3, esp near to the Min Min shop if u know wat I'm talking abt. They also sell cots, prams, car seats. I got my Maclaren techno XT from there last time for $350 and the selling price was like 479...

Ade
The hypnobirthing is like an antenatal course. Cost starts from $450 for 4 classes. If u want to hire a doula as well, add another $1000.
But at the end my hubby said it was worth cos we din use epidural or any other drug and also no C section (all these also cost money is his rationale!) And it was very short labour also. He also got to take part actively in the birthing process so he happy lor...

But ur dr gotta be receptive to the idea of hypnobirthing

Ava
Lucky you! nobody gave me hand me downs cos my nieces and nephews clothes all yellowed already so I had to buy my own

The milk stains were very wet cos the flow too fast for her and she cldn't catch up so I gotta change.
U so jiat lat, no one helped u? But did u hire CL? Otherwise how???

bbmouse, thanks for the info. Hope that there wont be anymore blood test...

Mrs Yap, 'Machiam like i cannot produce heir like tat' VERY TRUE. My hubby even tell me he can predict the gender by lookin at my bump, and its CONFIRM GIRL... Then i asked him his friends wife all have babies already, so which one he predicted right? He make excuse that other people's wife he go and look for wad. Anyway, i have always liked girls they are soooo cute, but i really wish this 1st one to be boy just to prove him wrong! Wipe that smug look off his face!!

Goldfish, till now i've put one about 1kg. I just eat whenever i like, but have heavier breakfast. I toast 3 pieces of bread, 2 slice of cheesedale, 2 slice of ham, 3rd bread eat with jam.

isabelle
Oooh...good tip for the shop...will go check it out!!

Yah lor...damn jialat. No CL either. We call it our "Commando" days. We tahaned without live in help till Adan was 2.5 yrs (of course he was looked after by a day nanny when we were at work from ard 3months)...this is why we waited so long to get pregnant again (almost 4 yrs).

then last year cos we moved to a much bigger place, had to get help, but more for housework, food and of course the occasional help with Adan...she is also more involved with Adan's care so these days cos I get so tired...but prefer to keep him in full day school so at least he gets mental stimulation!

Goldfish - On weight gain, I gained about 1.5-2kg from pregnancy till now (week 15), with no MS. According to the Baby Centre website, the aim is to gain 4-5 pounds each month from now till delivery, so total gain should be 12-14kg by full term.

ava
i found the add for Cheong Choon
Blk 34, Upper Cross Street #03-132

Gotta warn u first. At first u look at the shop u may be a little turned off cos it looks old and the things outside look a bit dusty.
But the pdts (pigeon n J&J) move very fast cos alot of ppl buy. If u wanna be sure, check the pdts' expiry dates before paying. But usually it's ok.
For stroller/cot/pram/car seat, they will actually order new one for u. I ordered that yr's newest edition of the Maclaren stroller and also got warrenty so I dun care how the shop looks since that yr's edition must surely be a new piece. Somemore they delivered to my hse.

But they are not a display room so u gotta check out the models at other places then u see if CC offers better rate.
However, I dun think their maxi cosi car seats are that good a deal on the price.

thanks MTBs for the bb list...v helpful

i am fast gaining weight cos i enjoy eating noodles..before preggie already quite plump...now worse..my double chin also came out! sigh..

i snack alot earlier cos it keeps away nausea...now i think MS is slowly easing...i try not to snack too much...maybe can start swimming to keep weight down...but i heard from colleague, better get approval from gynea that it is ok to exercise..

any MTB has dry skin in 1st trim and then v oily skin in 2nd trim?

Bigtoes, is ok, can understand that, ya, it has been quite some time.

I know the gender by 16 weeks. my gynae said usually he can be 100% sure by week 15.

Bigtoes/ egg&bacon...
i am also eating much more than before preggy.
I expect myself to gain alot more during last sat's checkup... but to my surprise, infact i lose 1 kg! Dunno why like tat... i hv nausea but i dun vomit but i still dun gain weight.

bbmouse
really? i use both normal huggies and huggies ultra. they all have high cuts. not sure about mommypoko though. i like the high cut coz i though easier for bbs to move around....why not suitable for girls?

maybe high cut not suitable for fatter bbs? coz it cuts into their skin folds more?

Ava,,,
haha..i didnt know the formula has to taste so bad for bfg to be successful?!!! you funny lah. but.....

regarding S26
S26 produces very plump bbs. but i warn you hor, so far all the adults i know who drank S26 as bbs are pretty plump adults. my sisters took so long to lose weight as young adult...i think it has to do with the fact that artifically fattened bbs will have higher chance of adult obesity (from what i read in research)

regarding wet wipes
--------------------
to save money and protect bbs delicate skin, dun use wet wipes (coz it has chemicals). we still use cotton dipped in water during diaper change. wet wipes only for going out.

cheong choon is really good. when the bbs are older, you can get the play yard from them too!!!

Lindsay Lee (lindsay) - ok! I will be almost into wk 16 next Monday (my next appnt), so hopefully, baby is cooperative
Which gyne are u with at Mt E? The gender won't be 100% confirmed thou, mistakes can still happen & we won't know for sure till the birth day itself.

Mrs Yap (oneboyonegirl) - I am hungry ALL the time as well. Don't eat bigger portions for my meals, but just more frequently (like every 2-3 hours I need to snack on something!) Have to make sure I don't overeat and balloon to anything more than 14kg!

l'l CY
That's what the nurses told me about Enfalac...that's why they used it in TMC for TBF babies that couldn't latch when cup feeding!

Adan was on S26 and still is on Wyeth follow on formulas now but he's still skinny as anything...hmmmm but he is active like siao lah...

bigtoes, my gynae is Dr. Kowa. Don't know leh, he said he is 100% sure it is a boy during my last check up.

Ava
really? haha maybe that's why they fed my boy enfalac when he was readmitted for jaundice...i thought it was due to sponsor..

really ah? S26 didnt work for your boy??? first time i heard leh. all S26 bbs beeeeeg beeeeeeg one....

Wow, you girls are really fast in your posts. I have a hard time keeping up with your pace.

Goldfish: Thanks for the info. probably i should ask for diarrhoea pills too. Is it the normal charcoal pills that we eat normally? Coz i doubt i will have the time to drop by my gynae. I use to have fever & flu when i was in my 6th week. Gynae gave me the normal med to take.

Isabelle: Thanks for your info. You mean there are no charges for delivery? Only pay for the doula & antenatal course?

Bacon & Eggs: I also have very strong craving for soft drinks, esp the gas kind. Before pregnancy, i never really like soft drinks, but now, i must have at least one serving a day. however, i try not to take it with ice, heard that it's not too good to take too cold stuffs. In my 1st few weeks, have really been eating much, but nowadays, not much of a appetite. Esp when i see fast food, makes me want to vomit. Btw, is it ok to take salad, etc? Coz they are consider raw, & i have friends telling me that it will cause a kind of poison to take effect (similar to the Prima Deli kind of food poisoning). Is it really true?

Ava
aiyoh. wasted leh...take pediasure or not? my boy is super skinny too.

but got lotsa hair, envy envy...

heee...isabelle...you saw my boy before..you know why i envy Ava's son's many many thick thick hair hor...

His hair not thick!! very smooth type, just left his fringe very long
We are happy he's not fat/chubby..easier to be lang chai when he's older

Bacon & Eggs, I still having cold drink cos I never used to hot drink, anyway my mum never stop me also, cos when she had me in her tummy, she drank a lot coke too ha ha... HB ask me to eat whatever i want, just don't eat too much, must have a limit.cos some food might be too heaty, some too 'liang. must have a balance there.
Also my mum make me eat a lot fish, cos i can't take in too much milk. so i don't have this rules like this can't eat, that can't eat.

long time no post le...i also never stop having cold drink..same as jasmine i never like hot drink all along...think the key point is moderate intake...dun take too much should be ok...
hai...sad to say though i now 15wk le but then MS still have not leave me yet...my gastric keep feeling uncomfortable and also like something stuck in my throat like that..hopefully it will go away soon..

Ade
the delivery charge of course still have. But that's paid to the gynae! You pay normal delivery charge lor.

Lilboymum
dun worry abt ur boy's hair. He will be more handsome when he's older!

ava
hmmm i dunno leh. Think it differs for diff pdts. Sometime robinsons if u got member's card during their sale perhaps might be cheaper? Gotta shop ard and compare.

hey winnie me too .... 15 weeks in 2 days time but still feeling pukish . but better now. i puke only like once a day . cant wait for ms to go away. i still take cold drinks all the time. and sneak in tea once in a while

hey lindsay!
im with dr kowa too
he's been great and my hubby just loves him

I'I CY: Dunno how we came to that conclusion also. I tried HU on my bb. But my maid complains that if my baby poos on the diapers, the poo will sometimes leak out. With MP,. this doesn't happen. So I think it's because of "bikini" hi-cut cutting.

I got the playyard from CC too. It's very useful. I've stored them away for my baby now that she's completely mobile. Intend to use for my #2.

Ava: U hv one cute little boy.

Hi Lim (xuanmummy):

Could you add me to your list? I'm into my 14+ wks now.

14 Sept
TMC
LC Chang

I'm still on course...at least I don't have to lunch with those gossipy female colleagues of mine. Not sure if they are finding excuses for themselves (for not wanting to have babies). One even started making appts with her outside friends and skipped lunching with me!! I guess she now realises I've migrated to a different "camp" of preggers now, unlike before I was like her, a swining DINK, clubbing and globetrotting every other public holiday.
She likes to bitch about moms who abuse the child care leave, day-off for taking kids to school, etc.

I'll try to skip lunch cos my colleague love to adjourn to a cafe to have coffee after lunch, and I can't possibly be drinking coffee and tea all the time with them. I want to buy fruits and sometimes they wait for me to grab my preggers dessert, but I feel bad cos they always like to walk several blocks from my office...Too bad, I'm no longer as agile and active as before!

MASSAGE:

I'd like some recommendations about massage. Can pregnany ladies go for light massage, I mean, not those Chinese reflexology. My neck, back and shoulders are aching like hell after days of sitting in the computer room for training!

I read some of you still take cold drinks. So do I!! I feel damn hot after lunch at the hawker centre and cannot stop myself from grabbing a cold drink like ice lemon tea. I think it's thirst-quenching!

Avocado juice:

Can preggers drink those avocado shakes with gula melaka? I love them!!!

Classical music:

I just listen to those compilations I got at THAT CD SHOP. Nothing special lah!!!

Baby kicks and hiccups:

I dun know how one can feel that at Wk 12
I know the baby will respond to you if you jiggle your tummy. I saw my baby somersault, swim and move around during my NT scan. I feel twinges and tugs on and off when I'm still, but I suspect it's just the round ligaments tugging? If you feel heartbeat, it's your aorta BIG Vein pulse beat, not your fetal heartbeat. It's not possible to feel it at the first trimester, I understand...

OK, I've to go for my training again tomorrow. I'll pop by more often once I'm done with my back-breaking workshop!

Baby items: I just thought of another item! A beanie pillow. This is not for the baby to sleep on. It's to be placed on their chest in case they get a shock. Can self-made. Make it long so that it can stretch across the entire body width of the baby. And don't have to be too full, cos otherwise it may be too heavy for the little newborn.
Talking abt this makes me quite excited.

hello all... New here...
Hope u all could help us out here in future as we r new parents to be...

My wife EDD is on 30/9 at TMC.. Dr M. Tan is our gynae

Can u all advise me on the different strollers??

THinking of Aprica, Combi and Quinny...

Milk Bottles too... Between Advent and Pigeon

hi preggie, ya, my first one also delivered by Dr. Kowa. Me and hb both feel very comfortable with him, after 'shopping' for different gynaes. So decided to go back to him for my second pregnancy despite his package is a bit on the high end. Ya, he has been great and i feel safe in his hands.

we may bump into each other during the check up

<font color="0000ff">Hi Flos,
u seeing Dr Cheng as well.. wah.. finally i see someone having the same gynae as me!!!

JJParents
Welcome aboard!!

Wa sei...this thread really runs very fast. Posted 1 in the morning, then have to read through 2 pages when I come home at night..hehe

Thanks to all for your kind advices! I feel much relieved now to hear abt your experiences and know that one can still give birth safely with a low placenta condition.

Mrs Yap: I asked my gynae too why I’ll have low placenta. He said “no cause, born with it” then didn’t say anything else. Left me with many ????? in my head. Next appt I’m going to corner him with more questions =)

Mei: I like to eat chilli crabs so my nick is this lor…hehe…currently still puking so no cravings yet. But I think I’ll definitely crave for it sooner or later…especially the big Sri Lanka type =P

Ava/bbmouse: We really can’t feel bb’s heartbeat with our bare fingertips? I felt a very quick thumping beat, then feel against my heartbeat which is a much slower pace…that’s why I thought it’s bb’s heartbeat. Oops =P

Flos: I love the avocado milkshake too! Especially the one at Queensway food market. That’s the only drink I can glup down without feeling uncomfortable after that. I always thought it should be beneficial to us ‘cos it’s avocado mah, good for skin...but after I know they mix coconut milk in it for the nice taste(is it called gula melaka?), I’m a bit scared now. Don’t think we can drink coconut milk now right…

Hi bacon &amp; egg, have been taking cold drinks on &amp; off. Actually try to cut down but sometimes outside no choice, gotta take the cold drinks..

II CY: MY sis also use cotton dipped in water during diaper change, cheap &amp; gd!

I will be getting hand me downs clothes from my sis &amp; bro-in-law so most likely no need to get any clothes. Cot will also get from my sis-in-law &amp; bro-in-law giving me his extra stroller. Not sure what else to buy, will wait till later then see how..

Hi JJ parents, welcome!

sasa de mouse (sasa_xie) &amp; Flos - my gyne is under the same group as LC Cheng (She is WK Tan), so may bump into u gals at the crowded waiting area! (Not like we can recognise each other thou....) When are ur next appnts? Mine is next Monday @5pm.

Millie (millie22) - That is the black line (darker pigmentation, more body hair) that runs down ur tummy pass the belly button to the pubic area. I think it only appears for some people, &amp; usually in the 3rd trimester.

<font color="0000ff">Bigtoes
hehe.. ic ic... WK Tan sees many mummies oso hor..
my nxt appt is on the 31st wor.. so wont get to see u hor</font>

<font color="0000ff">Millie

In response to ur qtn.. this is wat i found:</font>

<font color="ff0000">Linea nigra (Latin for "black line") or línea negra refers to the dark vertical line that appears on the abdomen during pregnancy. The brownish streak is usually about a centimeter in width. The line runs vertically along the midline of the abdomen from the pubis to the xiphoid process - the bottom-most part of the rib cage in the center or tip of the sternum.

It is caused by pregnancy hormones that increase production of the pigment melanin, also known as hyperpigmentation. Why this process of hyperpigmentation occurs in a straight vertical line is uncertain. Fair-skinned women show this symptom less often than women with darker pigmentation[citation needed]. Before it appears it may be more faintly visible as a línea alba ("white line").

Línea negra tends to appear around the second trimester and may or may not disappear within a few months after birth. Some research suggests there may be a link between linea nigra and insulin. Supplementing the diet with folic acid is said to reduce the discoloration.

There is an old wives' tale associated with línea negra: if the línea negra runs to the navel, it's a girl, and if it goes all the way up to the xiphoid, it's a boy.</font>

<font color="0000ff">hope this helps wor.. I've oso been observing this line of mine. seems like its so much darker now.. esp the one below the navel. the gals here have recommended to start applying stretchmark creams le..

good morning MTBs

Some tell me that week 16 scan can tell the gender of bb, some say week 20...which is the week to determine gender? Which week has the detail scan? Any MTB advise?

<font color="0000ff">Morning bacon&amp;egg,

hhmm... detailed scan is conducted in wk20.. when u are abt 5 mths... boys are easier to be determined (like some of the mummies here who were able to noe their bb gender even at wk12) coz of the stick lor.. but many times, gynae would not like to commit his / her answer until detailed scan..</font>

JJparents
have you considered Graco? My friend has one and it is very good...you can open and close stroller with one hand, and it is only 3.5kg. super light weight, and very steady.

a few things you might want to consider when getting stroller
1. WIll you be using stroller alone or with hb/maid/helper etc? If alone, you need one that is lightweight, and can be opened and closed with one hand. So far, i think combi and graco fulfil this
2. recline - do you really need one that fully reclines? actually i dun think you need even for newborn.
3. get one with inbulty head/neck support
4. modular system?
5. storage when closed. also important when travelling coz you dun wanna struggle with a large closed stroller even when taking cabs (maclaren is one example of this, close oredi still super bulky)
5. how heavy duty do you need it to be?heavy duty strollers are macclaren, peg preggo etc...with built in shock absorber blah blah blah...

i got a Maclaren for my first born...now regret...hahhaha...shold have gotten the graco...cheaper oso...