(2008/09) Sep 2008

Ava: I also feel for my bb's movement every night but so far nothing yet... My fren say must talk to bb often cos she just gave birth & when she called her bb, he will respond to her but the daddy called the bb, he doesn't respond cos she said he is always on his playstation & doesn't talk to bb.. Kekeke...

Who's most at risk for placenta previa?
Most women who develop placenta previa have no apparent risk factors. But if any of the following apply to you, you're more likely to have this complication:
• You had placenta previa in a previous pregnancy.

• You're pregnant with twins or higher-order multiples.

• You've had c-sections before. (The more c-sections you've had, the higher the risk.)

• You've had some other uterine surgery (such as a D&C or fibroid removal).

• You're a cigarette smoker.

• You use cocaine.

Also, the more babies you've had and the older you are, the higher your risk.

<font color="0000ff">Isabelle
I also like pooh bear!!! hehe

m back fr my gynae visit, now 12wk ++, bb measures 6.2cm, so gynae bring forward my edd to 26/9. supposed to do my triple test next visit, but still comtemplating to do it or not, any1 has any views on tis?

LC, i only gain 1kg so far. but gynae very happy with that, cos i'm a super obese. n gynae say hopefully no wt gain till after 7mths. other gains shd be bb gain only.

bbmouse, u so fast can feel bb movements liao ah. few days back i tot i felt him doing a somersault, but after that no such feelings. hope to get the feeling soon. cos that 'll be an assurance along e way

I'm going for a week holiday this weekend. I have told my doctor about it and ask for some medicine to standby (just in case), but all he gave me was Duphaston. Is there any other things that i must take precaution in case something happen?

Isabelle, I was also thinking of going for hypobirthing. Was it more expensive than natural delivery? Are all doctors eligible for this?

Hi Ade
When i went for my bkk trip not long ago, i requested for diarrhoea pills in case i eat 'contaminated' food wor.

Btw, does gynea dispense other non-gynea related medicine? I am going for my gynea visit today and i feel like asking for FLU tablet cos both of my nostrils is blocked last nite and i cannot sleep.. so frustrating

Btw, bigtoes, is AMERICAN EXPRESS considered a US credit card for payment of MEDELA online?

Mei (meie) - when is runaway mums?
I always remind myself to watch that on Discovery, but never remembered what day/time it is showing!

storeberry (storeberry) - I guess the baby responses to the mum cos he/she is used to the voice &amp; finds in soothing? Babies can hear outside noise from week 18, so we can start talking to them then!

Goldfish (goldfish1395) - nope. U can't use Amex issued by a bank in Spore either. U need to use a US-based bank's credit card &amp; have the bill sent to an address in US - the only way around this is if you have someone in US who can pay for you first, then u return the money later. Easier is to just use vPost's concierge services for a small fee.
They will order from Medela on your behalf, have it sent to US address, then vPost ships it to Spore.

CREAMS FOR STRETCH MARKS -
Ladies, what stretch mark cream would u recommend? I am just using my regular body lotion from Body Shop (the ones with mango/strawberry etc fragrance) - and wondering if I need to specially get something to prevent stretch marks. My sisters both didn't end up with any stretch marks from their pregnancy &amp; I know people who used creams religiously, but ended up with marks....i suppose its more genetics &amp; how your own skin stretches &amp; heals rather than the efficacy of any creams?

Isabel: Yes I could. It feels exactly like how an adult hiccups too. The movement is rymthmic and at constant interval that can last up to many many counts. My gynae said it's a v good reflex if the baby hiccups - shows the baby is normal. Just like thumb sucking.
Hope both of us can feel it this time round.

Milkmilk: I can't feel it yet lah. Am only in my 11th week. There are still 2 waterbags in my uterus - they will only fuse at abt week 14. I was talking abt my #1 experience.

Hi ladies.. so far we have been talking abt breast pumps onli... how abt baby bottle steam sterilizer? Which brand is good and is it cheaper in the US too? thanks thanks

MrsYap, I didn't research into that. Am using Avent. Heard Pigeon is not bad too. You can wait for bb fairs and Avent usually have bundle sale on their products.
Steriliser is not as ex. The size is quite bulky, I think the shipping will be v high, sure won't be able to save (if any) if order from overseas.

hi all!!!!

havent been here for long!!!

diapers
i like huggies!! heee...coz my boy now is rather short, huggies super high cut, makes his leg looks longer (heee..hiao mummy). prob with pampers is the side flap, machiam like wearing skirt like that.

but isabelle...
your dd is so tall, no prob with that...heh

regarding hiccups
---------------------
my firstborn hiccupped a lot in the womb. regular intervals, hic hic hic...first we thought its movement, but realise the intervals are too regular oredi...and always happened after i had a good good meal

well, after he was born, he hiccupped like no body's biz. started hiccupping even in the hospital...but doesnt look as if he minded lah..now it';s better.

Thanks, Ava and Xuanting.. just got emotional the last few days but now I am ok

Hi, Milk Milk
Your baby is measuring above 6com at week 12 only? Wow.. mine is only 5.5cm or so at week 12.. My MIL like worried that my tummy is not growing bigger like that.. kept asking me to finish the food.. made me feel bloated and ended up throwing up
I can't feel baby's movement too.. and though I am coming week 14, I can still puke bec of "gassy" stomach.. I am just trying to burp out the air in tummy but ended up puke.. How?

goldfish, yes gynae can dispense normal medication too. jus ask for it, then dun nid pay to c GP again :p

bbmouse, oops, paisay. how come got 2 waterbags, is that e cause of yr brown discharge earlier? btw, hv u ordered the items fr drugstore??

mrs yap, i was using pigeon. i like it. heard avent can only use avent bottles. but pigeon is flexible, any bottles is fine. but the appearance is more bulky. hee, for orders fr usa, can order the desitin nappy cream when bbmouse organise a spree again. 2 thumbs up for that.

aloevera
No, adrenaline is not a drug used in birth, it's the hormone your body produces during stress etc, it gives u a short burst of energy and extra tahaning power...u can tahan a lot more pain etc ...this will happen naturally during birth as you use a lot of force and energy...

Isabelle
I calculate diaper price by per piece cost too! then when i go malaysia and buy, then will have to convert too and then calculate per piece!

ladies, it is always cheaper to buy the larger packs, but only after u r sure that brand works for your baby!!

hi LC, when's yr edd? cos gynae adjusted mine earlier to 26/9 instead of 28/9, cos of e growth. i remembered i read earlier some1's baby also quite long. dun worry if gynae nvr raise a concern. the tummy growth also depends on individual, some pp only can see about 5mth or later. hope yr MS goes off soon.

Diapers
i like drypers and NTUC, the economical range and perfect for my boy. NTUC can last him thru e nite. tried pampers, huggies, petpet, nepia all not suitable. think diapers also an individual choice. new mummies can try to get samples from those in the forum n try out 1st, if not wasted to buy 1 new pkt n realise not suitable.
Dryers,nepia and huggies do give out samples, can find out their hotline. There is tis new Japanese brand also giving out sample, can register at www.diapers.com.sg

Bigtoes (Limay), chance upon this thread and saw you here. Congratulations! I am taka, same block as you. I am preggie too with my number 2, from Aug 08 thread. Next time can go swimming together ya

Milkmilk: Yes, I ordered the items already. They shd be in transit to cwg. I will have a 5% rebate. Actually it's 10%, but I used the concierge service cos they didn't accept my credit card. So we'll all get 5% rebate.
All of us shd have 2 "waterbags" to begin with. One is the amniotic sac, the other one is the real waterbag. The cause of my spotting is unknown leh. I also have blood clots in the womb, but can't confirm if that's the reason for the spotting either.

I'ICY: Hey, your feedback abt huggies is on huggies ultra isit? In my mar 07 thread, we just recently discussed diapers as well. The close fight was between huggies ultra (purple packaging) and MP. After some tries, we discover HU may not be as suitable for bb girls compared with bb boys becos of the high-cut.

Goldfish (goldfish1395) - go to: https://www.vpost.com.sg/vConcierge05/vcon_index.htm for the concierge services.

Lindsay Lee (lindsay)- CONGRATS! Which floor at block 6 are u at? I honestly haven't been using the pool or gym for ages already! Maybe after the baby is born, then no choice - have to get back in shape.
My sisters lost all their excess weight by the baby's full moon from breastfeeding, so I don't want to be the only post-pregnancy fat person left in the family!

bbmouse,
wow.. nice meeting ur little bb gal.. hehehe.. the romper which she is wearing.. my gal also has it.. but bigger one lah.. kekeke. coz my gal already 20 months today...

any MTB tempted to take cold drinks? i am guilty of sipping cold drinks
know it is no good..but cant help it. weather is getting v warm...

any MTB has a list of to-buy for bb? I am a first-time mom and at a lost what to buy...reading from this thread...seems lotsa of things to purchase..

Momoko: Thanks so much for your help!
I got the romper from Fox warehouse sale. I have 2 in 2 different sizes. Hahaha..
My girl is down with cough and flu. But she'e recovering fast after the PD's medicine. She loves to go downstairs, I think she's bored being cooped at home.

Your gal is 2mths liao? Good, at least she's more independent now.

thanks ava! haha... do u know the name of the jab we will get on our thighs if we did not opt for epi? i dunno how strong tat is, whether i can tahan with just tat...

bacon&amp;egg
Some essentials to start off with:
1. Bottles and teats (maybe 1-2 of two different brands just in case)
2. 3-4 Baby rompers (one piece with snap buttons at crotch or snap on tops will be enough. they don't need pants etc unless u r bringing baby out)
3. 3-4 pajamas (full length rompers with snaps all along inside of leg to crotch for easy changing
4. Bottle steriliser
5. Bouncy chair
6. cot or bassinet/playpen with bassinet layer...the portable types work quite well and if it has a chnaging table even better
7. Dummies, if you don't mind them. try getting 2 or 3 brands to try. my son, for example, didn't take to ANY brand...
8. 3-5 pairs mittens, 3-5 pairs booties
9. 1 pack cloth diapers (for wrapping or covering baby even if not using as actal diapers)
10. NB size diapers
11. Baby diaper rash cream. desitin is great.
12. Cotton balls and a lidded container for clean boiled water
13. Baby bath tub
14. A tin of formula just in case. Try Enfalac if u wanna try breastfeeding...apparently it tastes so bad, it makes trying to learn to breast feed worth it. Similac is good as a breastmilk replacement (i hear) and S26 is sweet so babies take to it well, but it also means it has quite a bit of sugar in it

Gasp pant pant....any other things? Put these in a list and get ur friends to buy some for you - make this a baby shower gift list!!!

Hi all MTBs,
I'm new here and will be expecting my 1st baby 24th September! Very excited about it!

bacon&amp;egg, i cant resist the temptation of cold drinks and have been having it most of the time, just that i usually ask for less ice.

Ava,
you are really good at it.. especially now tat u are having a twins coming by.. i'm very sure you can take care of them real well.. systematic as well.. kkekeke.. for tat i'm guilty of it.. really admire people who can really be so systematic... hahaha

bacon &amp; egg
Oh, don't forget wet wipes of course!! I love Pigeon. still use them (for other things) these days

I also bought Lactacyd as a babybath liquid. This was used in TMC for bathing babies.

Forgot: baby bottle washing liquid and baby cloth detergent too!

Bigtoes, my nick was Taka, u came to my place before remember? I got a little girl. U know the gender yet? I am having a boy this time

Breastfeeding won't lose weight, at least it didn't work for me. I started to lose weight after stop for breastfeeding.

Lindsay
Wah, you were the opp of me then. I lost weight bf'ing then gained lots aftr i stopped cos I ate the same amount as when i was bf'ing.

Yan... welcome to join us... My EDD is same as yours 24 Sept 2008
Can u see the gender yet? My gynae suspect is Boy but cannot confirm yet. So exciting to know gender. Hopefully can be clear enuff by next scan

Bigtoes
I can't remember what day it's showing, just that happens when I turn on the tv, it's showing. I think there's one on Saturday afternoon cos I just watched. Next time I take note then I let you know what time &amp; day.

I'm currently using Erbaorganics cream in the day &amp; the oil at night for stretchmarks.

bacon&amp;egg
I am guilty of that.. I'm the type who can't live without cold drinks.

My hb bought me a prenatal baby sound monitor. It comes with a headset &amp; a monitor which I have to press on my tummy. It says I can hear my baby's heartbeat, kicks &amp; even hiccups (in the 3rd trimester). Tonight go home &amp; try to see if it works or not.

Bacon&amp;eggs: To add to Ava's very comprehensive list above,
1. baby clothes detergent and bottles detergent. Can get Pigeon or Kodomo.
2. A bottle brush
3. Bathing things - Cetaphil can work as both shampoo and body wash
4. Baby towels - get like 3 or 4 pieces
5. Diaper liner - if you intend to use cloth diaper in the first month. If you have a CL, they'll usually prefer to use cloth diaper.
6. Wet wipes
7. Ruyi oil for tummy (but some babies are allergic to this)
8. Q-tips, for cleaning baby's ears.
9. towelettes - to clean baby's face, mouth.
10. Glycerine - this is a transparent used to clean baby's tongue and gums of the milk stains. (Some people don't believe in this)

Let me continue to brainstorm for items.

Ava

same here..when i bf my gal,i lost weight &amp; even minus..haha..but when i stopped bf,it suddenly put on very fast..i gain about 10kg...so scary..so,this time round,i am going to bf my #2 at least 1 yr..&amp; hopefully get rid of all the kgs...

PUMP

Any comments on Medela Swing? my old mini E spoil liao..dun koe whether wana get another mini e or the swing..

meie... i heard abt the prenatal baby sound monitor before from my frd but i haven seen anyone using it. How much is the thing and after u try it, tell us if its good...

Lindsay, Ava: Same as Ava. I lost weight while breastfeeding, went even below my pre-preggie weight, but gained back after I stopped.

Angeline
Me too!!!! I couldn't lose the weight I gained after I stopped bf!!!

Bacon&amp;eggs
The Ruyi oil in bbmouse's list is also called Yu Yee Oil on some bottles. There are two types, one from HK and one from Penang. I prefer the Penang one (support mom's and hb's home town!! but seriously I just dun like the HK one) and u must use V V little at first...like just touch the bottle to your palm and tilt it back again, so smalllllll drop comes out only, and use this for the whole of baby's tummy! good for relieving wind.

Ava: Hehehe.. Saw in your later posts you covered some of the items I mentioned liao..
There is actually a list in the forum circulating around on what to prepare. I had it last time, printed a copy but didn't save it. Hope the list is still being passed around in the forum.

MrsYap
It's from Robinsons &amp; costs $59.90 But there's a 20% off now so it's $47.92 now. Ok, I try then let you know if it works.

More baby things
Bedding for cots. Preferably the latex type of mattress with holes in it. don need pillows at this stage. bed sheets, mattress cover, rubber sheet (for leaks)

Baby seat if you drive. I get very paranoid about carrying babies in arms in the car...

Baby things:
Yes Ava pointed out the baby cot and mattress. For the mattress, I like Safety First. It's latex and has holes in them. The holes are to prevent SID.

Mrs Yap, yest i asked my gynae he said to wait another 3 more weeks. I hope it's a boy, although hubby keep arguing that its gonna be a girl! He likes gettin on my nerves and always say the opposite of mine.

Anyway can anyone advise me why the gynae taking my blood yesterday? He didnt inform me earlier and it totally freaked me out - I was so not prepared for it!!

OMG - 101 things to get! I think I need to seriously start getting them by the end of 2nd trimester. My hubby on the other hand is like "haiyah, no need so many unnecessarily stuff...all these are just to con gullible first time moms like u! He even said we didn't need a sterilizer, cos "can just wash the milk bottle with tap water &amp; use....if last time our grandparents can do without, then we don't need all these stuff"!

Mei - is the Erbaorganics cream useful for stretch marks? I guess its still early to tell ya..would have to check back with you a couple of months later. Where do you buy that btw?

Lindsay Lee (lindsay) - Lindsay, sorry really paiseh, don't remember. Am quite bad with names &amp; it has been some time...heh. Must say hi to me if we bump into each other in the lift okie! Btw, when did you find out u were expecting a boy? My next appnt is next Mon, so fingers crossed, I will know by then

Bigtoes
Most hbs are like that lah, even the most eager fathers to be. Tell him last time our grandparents prob had to boil their bottles etc, if they even used bottles...so that will be his duty to do so, if u dont get a steriliser.

Yan: Your gynae prob is doing a sugar test. It's to test if your sugar level is normal. Some preggies get gestational diabetes.