(2008/09) Sep 2008

hi morning everyone!

Ava, thanks for sending me the baby pictures!

Mrs Yap, i didn't go for the OSCAR test, i'll be doing the triple blood test at my 16th week. My gynae suggested to me to do the triple test instead to save some money.

Mei, i also like wearing my birkis! but only can wear them during weekends, don't think i can wear so casual sandals to work. lately i also been listening to classical music every night. bought some baby classical music cds.

i have been getting gastric pain and suspect it could be due to the iron i have been poppin early in the morning. anyone know must take iron with food or w/o food is ok?

Morning Gals! Oops almost noon liow heehee
vicki & gail Welcome!

<table border=1><tr><td>Mummy Nick</TD><TD>Baby Name</TD><TD> EDD </TD><TD>Gender</TD><TD> Hospital</TD><TD> Gynae </TD></TR><TR><TD>angelinegoh</TD><TD></TD><TD> 020sep</TD><TD></TD><TD> TMC</TD><TD> ALLim </TD></TR><TR><TD>aisha8314</TD><TD></TD><TD>02-sep</TD><TD></TD><TD> KKH </TD><TD>Dr Marianne Hendricks </TD></TR><TR><TD>isabelle</TD><TD></TD><TD> 03-sep</TD><TD></TD><TD> TMC</TD><TD> TC Chang </TD></TR><TR><TD>skinny pig </TD><TD></TD><TD>03-Sept</TD><TD></TD><TD>NUH</TD><TD> Prof Yong EL </TD></TR><TR><TD>hippie</TD><TD></TD><TD>03-Sept</TD><TD></TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD> Dr sF Loh </TD></TR><TR><TD>hp_babe</TD><TD></TD><TD>03-Sep</TD><TD></TD><TD> TMC</TD><TD> Dr Adrian Tan </TD></TR><TR><TD>storeberry</TD><TD></TD><TD> 04-Sep</TD><TD>BOY</TD><TD> Mt A</TD><TD> Dr Adrian </TD></TR><TR><TD>sasa_xie</TD><TD></TD><TD>04-Sept</TD><TD></TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr LC Cheng </TD></TR><TR><TD>twendy</TD><TD></TD><TD>05-Sep</TD><TD></TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>WKTan </TD></TR><TR><TD>crayonshinchan </TD><TD></TD><TD>06-Sept</TD><TD></TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr LN Sim </TD></TR><TR><TD>mrsgan</TD><TD></TD><TD>06-Sept</TD><TD></TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Dr KHI </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jaline</TD><TD></TD><TD> 07-Sept</TD><TD></TD><TD> MT A</TD><TD> Dr Esther Ng </TD></TR><TR><TD>Ying Ling</TD><TD></TD><TD>08-Sep</TD><TD></TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr Fong Yang </TD></TR><TR><TD>sunrays</TD><TD></TD><TD>08-Sept</TD><TD></TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr Joycelyn Wong </TD></TR><TR><TD>Shazz</TD><TD></TD><TD> 09-Sep</TD><TD></TD><TD> RH</TD><TD> Dr Lee I Wuen </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jane</TD><TD></TD><TD> 09-Sep</TD><TD></TD><TD> Mt A</TD><TD> Dr Chen Chern Yi </TD></TR><TR><TD>Precious</TD><TD></TD><TD>09-Sept</TD><TD></TD><TD> TMC</TD><TD> Dr Joycelyn Wong </TD></TR><TR><TD>Winnie</TD><TD></TD><TD>09-Sept</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>preggies</TD><TD></TD><TD>10-Sept</TD><TD></TD><TD>MtE</TD><TD>Dr Kowa </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jasmine</TD><TD></TD><TD>12Sept</TD><TD></TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD> Dr Adrian </TD></TR><TR><TD>mei</TD><TD></TD><TD>12Sept</TD><TD></TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Dr Tan KT </TD></TR><TR><TD>Aloevera</TD><TD></TD><TD> 16-Sep</TD><TD></TD><TD> TMC</TD><TD> Dr M Tan </TD></TR><TR><TD>Bigtoes</TD><TD></TD><TD> 10-Sep</TD><TD></TD><TD> TMC</TD><TD> Dr WK Tan </TD></TR><TR><TD>yun</TD><TD></TD><TD>10-Sep</TD><TD></TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr Eunice Chua </TD></TR><TR><TD>ydnic</TD><TD></TD><TD> 11-Sep</TD><TD></TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr Caroline Khi </TD></TR><TR><TD>juz_jewel</TD><TD></TD><TD>11-Sep</TD><TD></TD><TD>SGH</TD><TD> Dr Tan LK </TD></TR><TR><TD>Ava (avalyn) </TD><TD></TD><TD>18-Sept</TD><TD></TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Paul Tseng </TD></TR><TR><TD>qiuling</TD><TD></TD><TD> 17Sep</TD><TD></TD><TD> Mt A</TD><TD>Dr Ho HK </TD></TR><TR><TD>Momoko76</TD><TD></TD><TD> 17-sep</TD><TD></TD><TD> ESH</TD><TD> Dr Heng Tung Lan </TD></TR><TR><TD>lemon</TD><TD></TD><TD>17-Sept</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>Dr Tracey Lim </TD></TR><TR><TD>milky</TD><TD></TD><TD>17-Sept</TD><TD></TD><TD>ESH</TD><TD>Dr Heng </TD></TR><TR><TD>fsa</TD><TD></TD><TD> 18-Sep</TD><TD></TD><TD> KKH</TD><TD> Dr Judy WongTPS </TD></TR><TR><TD>Millie</TD><TD></TD><TD>19-Sep</TD><TD></TD><TD>Gleneagles</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Eve</TD><TD></TD><TD>20Sept</TD><TD></TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr Adrian </TD></TR><TR><TD>yvonneho</TD><TD></TD><TD>25-Sept</TD><TD></TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>dr lawrence ang </TD></TR><TR><TD>rabbit</TD><TD></TD><TD>22-Sept</TD><TD></TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD> Dr SF Loh </TD></TR><TR><TD>mrsyap</TD><TD></TD><TD>24-sept</TD><TD></TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD> Dr Lim </TD></TR><TR><TD>jeanling</TD><TD></TD><TD>24-Sept</TD><TD></TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>Dr Yong </TD></TR><TR><TD>blueroses</TD><TD></TD><TD>25-Sept</TD><TD></TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr Joycelyn Wong </TD></TR><TR><TD>jessi</TD><TD></TD><TD>26-Sept</TD><TD></TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr Kee WH </TD></TR><TR><TD>Ruixiangsmom</TD><TD></TD><TD>27-Sept</TD><TD></TD><TD> Mt A</TD><TD> Dr HK Ho </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jo</TD><TD></TD><TD>27-Sept</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>Dr Jen </TD></TR><TR><TD>milkmilk</TD><TD></TD><TD>28-Sept</TD><TD></TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr Kee KH </TD></TR><TR><TD>Traz</TD><TD></TD><TD>28-Sept</TD><TD></TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr Adrian(SK) </TD></TR><TR><TD>l'l CY </TD><TD></TD><TD>29-Sept</TD><TD></TD><TD>NUH</TD><TD>Dr Vanaja </TD></TR><TR><TD>bbmouse</TD><TD></TD><TD>end-sep</TD><TD></TD><TD>Mt E</TD><TD> Dr Chew </TD></TR><TR><TD>XuanMummy</TD><TD></TD><TD> end-Sep</TD><TD></TD><TD> Mt A </TD><TD>Dr Adrian </TD></TR><TR><TD>storm</TD><TD></TD><TD>01-Oct</TD><TD></TD><TD>RH</TD><TD> Dr Joan Thong </TD></TR><TR><TD>vicki</TD><TD></TD><TD>Sept</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>gali</TD><TD></TD><TD>11Sept</TD><TD></TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

Shoes
Has anyone tried Earth shoes? A bit like BIrks but they have a negative heel (meaning the sole of the shoe gets lower at the heel part than the front of the shoe) so it's like standing with your heel off the edge of the stairs...if u know what i mean? supposed to be good for counterbalancing the extra weight in front.

Sold at Marton Bell..but damn ex!! around $200 i think

<font color="0000ff">Ava
hey hey... if u have anybody in Canada, can get them to buy the Earth shoes... its onli abt 30+ there i think..

my hb's auntie bot a few pairs for MIL.. den she went to Marton Bell and bot some clothes for mi.. den saw the shoes so ex.. haha.. so told her sis to buy some more back.. since so cheap nia</font>

Ava: Kekek.. Cannot sleep then spent money? Kekek.. But that's a really good deal! Let us know how much is shipping yah?

Mrs Yap was telling me her hubby saw at Target store, the Medela PIS is selling for US$279 so meaning if we buy from Hackleyme.com website, its only US$230 plus shipping its cheaper than asking one to buy from US direct? Sorry abit confused... Cos if like this, I most porb won't ask my fren to get for me..

can someone clear my doubts? i did scanning of Nasal translunceny and neck measurement but not the oscar test coz the scanning was done as part of my normal checkup. So what else does the oscar test consists of? however i will be doing the triple test in 2 weeks time. i am abit confused with the tests? does it mean i dont need to do oscar test liao?

Storeberry...
Yah lor...my hb calls ths my "clickclick" syndrome...lol! Shipping from that seller to SG is US40. Total is S$380 if using 1.5x rate...still not bad leh.

When u wanna pick the cream? or u prefer me to send? If so just PM me the address.

Sasa
WHATTT! lucky i didnt buy them! even with 50% off still very ex. Hmm, should ask my canadian friends to get for me.

hi morning .. oppss afternoon gals..
been trying to log in since morning to this 2008 mtb site.. but could not get in.. hmm.. seems like my officer server down or wat?? but i still manage to surf other website leh..

storeberry,
ya.. think should be cheaper if order from them directly.. but if involve VP concerige.. than think the charges is another 5%for their commission..

preggie &amp; jessi,
i also did not do oscar scanning.. so my next appt will do triple test straight away.. i also not young.. going 32 this year... so.. it is ok??? but i'm on my 2nd one...

Mrs Yap,
your package so expensive one ah.. u at gleneagle rite?

ya loh... Mrs. Yap package expensive hor...

mine is 1.2K loh.. incl normal delivery....

momoko... mi oso gng to 32 leh.. bt my 1st child... have to go for many test anot?

preggie, if you had already past week 11-13, then u can only do the triple test. oscar test can only be done during that period cos after that it will not be that accurate liao. triple test is just a blood test without the scanning. anyway both tests are for testing of DS, if you had planned to do triple test then don't think it's necessary to do oscar test.

momoko, i'm also not very young, going to 30. is it after 35 then consider higher risk?

storeberry (storeberry) - the Medela PIS is about S$400 according to my estimates (still waiting for final billing). I already ordered from the Hackley site - they don't accept international credit cards (only US), so I am asking vPost concierge to order for me. This pushes up the price abit, but still really cheap vs. Spore prices.

Mrs Yap (oneboyonegirl) - yah, how come ur package is so ex? Mine is about $2700 (after week 12 - earlier changes are pay per visit), excluding all medicines, OSCAR and other blood test, hospital changes, GST and whatever else....and that is already considered ex!

Hi ladies... my package is for C-section and $3500 is for doc fees and inclu all visits.
The fees for normal V-delivery is $2500
Hosp bills all excluding.

Big toes / Storeberry
so tat means buying from US at USD$279 is till consider good deal as compared to hackley?

Mrs Yap
Your gynae package sounds about the same as my gynae's I think...I have not signed up yet. but i remember seeing the price list and it is about $3500 for C-section, and it is the same amount for twins/multiples regardless of method of delivery. So guess I'll be paying the same as you

Mrs Yap (oneboyonegirl) - the Hackley site is the cheapest for a brand new PIS direct from the distributor already. I meant that total cost plus shipping is US$230 (from Hackley)+ international shipping to Spore = S$400.

Ava (avalyn) - I am also going for a C-section. Cost for both C and natural is the same at my gyne. Just that there would be more charges (e.g. anesthetist cost alone at TMC for my last surgery was $1000). Think cost for twins is about $1000 more as well...

I'm new here and will be joining all of you as a Sept mummy. This is my 1st pregnancy, EDD on 19 Sept and will be choosing TMC. My dr is Dr Adrain Worthwood.

Bigtoes... oic... in that case if my hubby buy from target in LA is also Spore $400... so its the same amount
ya lor we bo hua cos have to pay for anesthetist cost... last time my surgery is $900... give birth cost a bomb for us... arghh

where is everyone? why today so few postings????
Everyone got Monday Blues?? keke

C-section
So the anesthetist cost is separate from the gynae's fees/package etc? aiyoh...gotta factor that in too? Darn, I shoulda taken up the AIG policy if I'd known!!! Will be checking with Dr on posibility of natural delivery, but seems not v likely lah...

Momoko
This morning, think this site had problems cos I couldn't log in either; either that or the site would be v slow...

hello mummies!
me will be gg to gynae this sat for checkup and I can know the gender then. hope my baby cooperates! So exciting!!!

Recently have been playing with my baby too. When I am lying down to rest and feel baby kick/jab me, I press my tummy where the movement was and after a little while, baby kicks/jabs again! So cute! Try it!!!!

Very busy day for me, so cannot come in here to chit chat as much.. somemore this morning kena irritating customer..

Mrs Yap
I think so long as our bbs are growing well, no need to worry so much.

bacon&amp;egg
I think different people react differently. Maybe you try taking your iron pills at a different time &amp; see if your gastric still persists, then you can narrow down the cause.

Ade
Welcome!

feeling pretty good today cause i just went for a shoulder massage in Kenko...woo, made me feel so much better now..have been having a tight shoulder for weeks! think i should go at least once a week to ease and relax my mind..

had been really quite stressed up recently for work.. anyways...

ya, i have been looking for stretch pants..those with hooks to the feet but still can't find..

anyone looks where to find such?
and yes, now my tummy getting bigger! no one in my office knows I am pregnant yet..haha, i think i am going to look fat to them now..

wow isabelle.. u're lucky to feel bb's kicks/jabs! I've been trying to feel by putting my hands over my tummy when I'm lying down, but i just haven't been able to feel anything

any tips on how I may be able to feel the kicks? Like what kind of feeling should I be alerted too?

<font color="0000ff">Isabelle
wah.. so lucky to be able to feel bb's kicks / jabs.. esp while lying down..

i've been observing.. somehow my tummy juz becomes flat when i lie down.. sighz... wonder where's bb..</font>

sometimes i felt some feeling in my tummy...i dunno how to explain it.. erhm..like cramping feeling..i am not sure if that's due to baby movements...

but today, when i lie down and use my hands to press against my tummy, below navel button, i realised that it feels firm..instead of soft compared to before...
i supposed that's the uterus..and baby's inside!

hahah...

isabelle
So nice, I am looking forward to the 1st kick from my bb too.

lemon
Me too.. my tummy also feels very firm.

dmbb
mebbe cos I am second time mummy so more alert to the kicks/jabs. At first I wasn't sure too whether it's gas or what cos the baby center website says we can only feel the movements when bb is bigger like at 20 weeks! Or was it 16? Can't really rem...

But the movements felt familiar like in first preggie and so I tested by pressing down on my tummy to see if bb responded. And it did so I confirmed it was movements. Cos I dun dun think gas can respond in that way! Haha
But bb doesn't move everytime i lie down lah. Sometimes bb is sleeping mah! But I do notice such movements at ard 7 plus in the morn, so I think that's the time my bb wakes up!

sasa, lemon and mei
Yep yep, it is the uterus making it firm. Now is still early so when we lie down tummy tends to look flat. But next time u go gynae u just rem where he applies the gel and scans u. That's where bb is!

xuanting
I dunno how to tell u what it is like leh. It feels like... a kick lor! Hee hee actually even in first preggie I cld never tell the diff between a kick and a jab from the hand! Very lousy me...
But the position of the kick/jab can change too. Like first one may be lower down, then the next one cld be a little higher up. So mebbe can look out for that?

Mebbe some second time mummies wld like to help by improving on my poor description?

isabelle

wow..sounds really nice.
been feeling cramps and little pain here and there..don't think it is the bb movement, seems too early to feel yet.

Isabelle
My next visit is this sat too....but i think mine too early to tell gender cos about 2 weeks behind you...

I can't remember if I could tell a jab from a kick...but i remember feeling something like his knee pressing against my skin from inside out...

wow, so exciting...don't think i will feel the baby kicking until week 20! 5 more weeks to go

Hi Ava - yes, the anesthetist cost is billed seperately. Also, use of the operating theatre etc (for C-section)...so alot of hidden cost on top of the basic gyne package! I know that TMC bills for every single item that you use as well (e.g. sanitary pad, gauze etc) cos i had my fibroid removal done there last year, and they added alot of nonsense which you don't even know if you used! They even took photos of my fibriod and charged $60 for 4 small 4R photos!

<font color="0000ff">Isabelle
hehe.. thanks for reassuring me gal.. was really quite concern when i posted my observation and no ones seems to agree with me.. hehe

hhmm... okok.. will try to feel for bb's movements. but hor.. at nite when i'm abt to slp (coz tats the only time i lie down leh) i feel.. nothing de.. think bb fast asleep le.. wahahhaa...

recently been feeling some funny sensations inside. but cannot really cfm if its bb's movements or gases... but guess i'm still early bah...</font>

for moms who experienced cramps/pain at the abdomen, i heard from a fren tat it was due to some cysts or fibriod in us. i've a small fibriod so i'm experiencing some cramps at times...dunno how true this is...

lemon,
wow.. so good.. can go massage.. i also always go massage b4 i was preg..now change name call helio asia.. last time call anadana..

Hi Limay,

The Medela feeding/ storage bottles will fit standard teats. I just checked that in a store last Fri at AMK Hub.

i think second-time mommies can expect to feel bb's movements from like 15 wks? guess i'll have to wait till wk 20, like bigtoes. that's like 7–8wks away!

Bigtoes
WHAT! They charge u $60 for pix of your fibroid...eeeks...that's both scary (unless u wanted them) and exhorbitantly expensive!!!!!

Yeah, I know they charge for everything...i think all hosps do, maybe private ones worse than govt ones...sigh...gotta save up liao...

RXmom (ruixiangsmom) - Thanks for checking! Meaning that I can use the storage bottles from the PIS, &amp; just get any brand teats to fit on for feeding? I was thinking I would need to get seperate bottles &amp; teats. Anyway, not too expensive - I was at Isetan last weekend &amp; saw some decent ones from Pigeon.

Ava (avalyn) - Yes! Thats $15 per 4R photo, when one usually cost like what? 30 cents? I didn't ask for them, but I guess its standard practice to take photo of the fibriod (next to a ruler to indicate the size)&amp; to show proof that they indeed removed something from u &amp; didn't just cut u open &amp; stitch u back up! Actually 2 photos were of the fibriod, 2 were photos DURING SURGERY with my insides showing...quite gross, but facinating as well!!

Bigtoes
Eeuuuuuuuuuu....maybe they charge more cos they actually have to see the insides and measure the fibroid...lol

Yah, the bill ended up almost $10k! Was telling my hubby that others leave the hospital with a baby, but i ended up with just very expensive photos of my insides! Luckily my company insurance covered about 80% of the cost, else even more 'bo-hua'.

hmmmm....maybe it's a good idea to think about home birth then...cheaper! But risky...and out of the question for multiples

Picture of fibroid still ok, but pictures of your insides.. so scary! Last time I had my tonsils removed, they also gave me a picture of it with a ruler beside.. looks so gross.