(2008/09) Sep 2008

Ava (avalyn) - hehe, yah...realised it was a girl, not a boy!Sometimes can't tell them apart!

Btw, how does baby's moment feel like in the womb? Have been feeling some 'cramps'/weird feeling in my womb area. Was on the left side, then moved to the center now. Sort of like mild menstrual cramps, but too early to be feeling any movement right?

bacon&egg (baconegg) - i pre-booked my slot already for TMC pre-natal class. Didn't specify the instructor I want yet (don't think they wld hv assigned the slots) - for us due in Sept, classes don't start till mid-June (5 consecutive weeks).

Here's a pic of adan as a baby...well, a few mths old.
1299142.jpg

Bigtoes
cramps could be ligaments stretching. baby movements (u wll usually feel this towards 20th week for first baby esp singletons) will feel like a fluttering then later on, a kick from the inside !

hi bigtoes, u delivering in TMC?
cos i know if we book the antenatal classes in the hospital we deliver at, we pay less. So I've booked myself for the free maternity tours for Mt Alv & TMC so I can decide where to deliver at, then I can quickly sign up for the anteclasses!

xuanting
yep I'm surprised I can eat fish! I didn't mind fish before preggie but I prefered other meats.

BABY MOVEMENTS
I think I can feel some movement though only 15 weeks. Sometimes it's gas but sometimes I'm quite sure it's the baby cos the latter feel more like little kicks than gas! Not sure if I'm right though

aloevera, ava
wah, u took monty shot! Notty notty. Hee...

I am totally unphotogenic so I also wld not consider doing studio shots cos that wld be spending money to take ugly photos of myself! Haha

Mrs yap,
my hubby also like that. He preferred boy and looked like a disappointed boy who din get b'dae pressie when the gynae told us our first kid was a girl! But in the end, he loves her more than he loves me!!!

oh i'm crazy for pasta lately... am glad tat i know wat my cravings are! at least this food makes me feel beta!

i'm entering into 2nd trimester now, really cant wait for MS to be gone completely.

all mommies & mtbs pls take care and hv a good wkend!

dmbb (dmbb) & xuanting (xuanting) - hi ladies, yes I delivering TMC, so there is a slight discount (like 10%). Cost is about $190+ (something like that) - you can check from googling TMC + pre-natal classes.

Hi, I'm looking for baby poster also. can email to me: my email add: [email protected]
Me too have outbreak, first at shoulder then at the chest, then forehead and now spread to cheek.
only thing i can't things that are too cheesey, otherwise, i'm ok with all the food, no special craving.

aloevera
so u still intend to do the placenta thing? I've read that can bake it and then grind into powder and get the medical shop to make into pills. Heard can keep for ages when kept in freezer! Or can fry like liver too!

Ava...it's so nice of you to contribute those baby photos and I admit they are really VERY CUTE!!!!!!

wooo~~~ sorry, 'ma fan' you to email me too at [email protected]... TQ TQ~~

My bump is getting bigger too..now at 14 wks..just went to buy some looser tops...oh my...i used to wear XS, S...now i gotta buy M size...so funnie.. LOL.

Hi Porky, thanks for your reply! Think I will go Toa Payoh since I am going to my mum's place after Sengkang. Hopefully can get some nice tops! Ava, Adan pouting shot is so cute! Kekeke

Bigtoes: I am still thinking whther to go for the pre-natal classes.. My DH very busy leh, don't know whether he can go with me...

storeberry: your nephew is so cute! looks like a mixed! handsome boy! By the way, since you're going to be at This Fashion at Toa Payoh, be sure to check out Carrona for cheap maternity clothes. It's at the block opposite This Fashion, but it's facing Poh Heng, if you know where that is.

for me, I also dug up my hubby's baby pictures, he was so cute when he was a baby, looks like an eurasian even though he's pure Chinese. I used it as my avatar on my laptop, and screensaver on my hp, and even on my Facebook profile! hehe. I prayed for features like my hubby, and during the scan, my baby's side profile looked like my hubby! Amazing! Start visualising how your baby looks like mummies! =)

Ava: your baby picture is so cuuteee!!!

Thanks shazz! I went to AMK Carrano before, will check out the Toa Payoh one. Hopefully will be able to get some nice & cheap babydoll tops or dresses.. Kekeke...

Ava,
I also am someone who can eat by myself one.. and my colleague commented tat i wierd.. hahaha... but hor.. think got to be independent lor.. think got this habit when i was in japan.. eveyone else also can eat on their own one wat.. hahaha..
Isabelle,
think hor.. ur eating habit a bit like me.. but hor.. i'm someone who eat fries one lah.. but hor.. recently, my craving is so bad.. even thought with all those breakout.. i still eat alot of fries food lor.. love it love it... ahhhh stop me someone...

<font color="0000ff">Ava
thanks for the pics... they are so lovely!!!

btw.. anyone going for the First Mum's Congress Talk @ Sheraton later??</font>

I finally got round to taking a picture of my bump.
This was after a very filling dinner. It's not that big in the morning.

1299669.jpg

Yah.. let us know any thing we can learn from the congress...

Mei: Your bump will grow bigger with another one to two mths. Cheers!

Mei - you have a nice big bump already
When is ur EDD?

Btw ladies, I have just ordered the Medela PIS over the internet. The hackley website doesn't accept international (i.e. non-US) credit cards, &amp; billing address has to be in US, so I had to order via vPost Concierge. This adds more to the cost, but from my estimation (they haven't given the final pricing), total cost is about S$400, so still cheaper than getting the Medela PIS from a local distributor, unless there is a mega-discount.

Hi Mei, My EDD is on 10th Sept, 2 days earlier than yours...baby bump visible, but not very big yet - see my link above.

Actually, i don't quite like this stage - neither here nor there. My denim skirts are abit tight now, &amp; i just look like i have a fat tummy if i wear my normal clothes....but not quite big enough for baby doll &amp; flowly tops! Rather have a bigger bump &amp; look properly preggers!

Bigtoes,
You already make ur order already ah?? hmm.. was thinking of going thru VPconcerige too.. coz i was stuck only at the process of the form only.. so like wat i say before tat they only take in international credit card lor..
Think quite fair for VPost concerige charges lah.. thanks for the updating...

As for my bump.. even thought it's the 2nd one for me.. still not very obvious.. hmm.. during the 10-12 weeks yes.. but now.. my tummy like not growing tat much to have a bump like shazz and Mei...

Hi Bigtoes, I was complaining to my frens that my bump look so small neither here nor there! They comforted me by saying that its good to have smaller bump so its not so heavy then easier to get around...

For Medela PIS, hopefully my fren will be able to get from me in US!

Its been a long time i never login liaoz... there's so many threads, don't know where to start.

Im finally 3 months finally. Been very tired for past weeks. Now getting better.

Saw many adorable baby pictures.

Hope everyone is coping well...

Saw Flos in the thread. Think maybe i know her.

Was reading the forum... Hope you dun mind me joining in!

*sigh* Had my 2nd kid last Sept - Tummy also havent fully recide in and here i am expecting another this Sept!

Haha! Guess its gonna be "Get it over and done with" then close factory after 3rd kiddo!

Bigtoes (limay) : I hope the mail they items fast to Vpost cos the vpost $15 discount will end by 31 March. Means, you have to receive the items by then, and generate invoice and pay them by 31 March, of not the $15 discount is no longer valid. But it's a good idea to buy now since US $ at all time low! ;p

Welome to gail &amp; vicki! =) vicki, yes, get it over and done with! that's what I plan to do too ... then just have to Marie France for one complete course of slimming session after popping 3 kids! hehe (my crazy hubby wanted 4, the max I would like is 3)

I've been on course so didn't read the postings. It seems like everyone's sharing their symptoms as to whether they are expecting boys or girls
Anyway, I don't hv any preference, as long as the baby is healthy and adorable.

I also crave for Jack's Place tenderloin steak, Swenson's steak and kinda hate fish (I wonder why).

I have dandruffs on my pillow too and I think it's damn gross to dust off those flakes every morning... As for zits, I notice I've a couple on my chest and back, and plenty of whiteheads on my forehead.

I'm wondering where to buy nice maternity apparel. I've been to a few at Suntec but nothing really caught my eye. I went to Topshop, Dorothy Perkins and Zara and found nothing I really fancy. In the end, I got a few babydoll pieces from Forever 21 to go with my stretch pants I got from BloomingChic and Spring.

I've bought myself a pair of Hush Puppies and will be buying another pair of Birkenstocks, Ecco or Geox comfy shoes as I grow bigger

I went to the Taka Baby Fair at B2 podium with my hb but found nothing we really need at the moment. We'll wait for our next scan to confirm the gender before we select the cot, the stroller, and other accessories.

I'm trying to talk to my baby every day to ask what s/he'd like mommy to eat for the day!!! hhahah!! Quite silly...I also stop engaging in bitching and politicking in the office as I think it's not good for the baby. Just don't understand why my colleagues keep harping on those politics even when I turned a deaf ear to them. I think pregnancy has made me into somewhat a peace-loving, mild-mannered and docile employee. I just hate to raise my voice and voice my opinion at meetings. Best is to shut up and don't get into upsetting quarrels with people, in case they raise my anger hormones and irritate my baby. Also don't want baby to witness the horrible side of adults...

I find some of my 30-something female colleagues (those who refuse to have children) really inconsiderate. They are fond of telling me horror stories about how their friends and relatives lost their babies, and how their in-laws conflict with them, how this and that to see my reaction, despite knowing I am preggers. I cannot help but wonder if it's "sour grapes". I'm tired of hanging around in the office. I wish I could skip lunch with these gossipy colleagues and hide in one corner with my baby listening to classical music...

Sigh...

Flos: How many weeks are you now? Ignore your insenitive and tactless colleagues. They're prob jealous you're having a baby and they aren't. Listening to classical music is such a good habit.
Or you can come into the forum and yak with us.

<font color="0000ff">Shazz
*waves waves*...
nice meeting u juz now!!!

wow.. i see many newcomers to the thread le.. hehe... passed first tri... think we'll get to see more soon huh..

btw.. i couldnt resist the temptation juz now. went to Popular &amp; bot the only Asian bb poster i could find there.. haha.. super duper cute to be missed..
cost me $2.80 wor..

but i would still take u gals' comments and put hb &amp; my bb pics as my wallpaper and screensaver.. haha

welcome sarah, vicki and gail...

Flos... i understand how u feel... Mothers only wan the best for their babies, its natural that u dun wan to engage in bitching and politicking anymore... Same here cos my colleague loves to complain and i hate his complaining... i also find that he is quite incompetent and i really worried if i continue to sit so close in office with him, it will affect the baby negatively... frankly even the sight of him puts me off now...
And the reason why those female colleagues are saying all those rubbish is seriously becos of jealousy lor or they are trying to give themselves "good" excuses for not having a baby. Dun listen to them ok... take care

Hi ladies... I am aware that many of u here already got your Oscar scan done...
I was suppose to check the fluid at the back of the bb's neck yday but the gynae says baby moving around and he got no time to wait for it to come into the right position!! So in the end, i didnt have any test at 12 weeks and the next appt is when i am 16 weeks and thats when he will be doing the triple blood test...
Anyone skipped the OSCAR??? Btw doc also says due to my age, the risk is low so its still ok... but hor i am 28 yrs old liao... still considered young meh????

He also says my baby measures a week 13 size though i am only week 12... Anyone had their babies measuring 6.6cm at 12 weeks?

Yday is also the 1st time someone gave up the seat for me!!! Guess what?? The moment i board the bus, a close to 80 yrs old Ah Mah spotted me and wave to me to come and take her seat... I was v shocked cos i didnt expect it to be such an old lady and immediately i shake my head and hand to say No... I think she needs it more than me and those surrounding pp jus stare at us like watching show like tat... the Ah mah says i am getting down le... come and take the seat.... v touched by her lor... it took quite awhile for the traffic to turn green for the bus to move to the bus stop that the ah mah alights.... i also realise the bus stop is SGH's bus stop... i hope she is healthy and hope she lives till ripe old age.

sasa de mouse (sasa_xie) : *waves back* was great meeting you too and comparing our baby bumps! hehe ... my hubby was very amused that women who're giving birth in Sep are coming together to form a group!

mrsyap: my friend also shared that older people tends to give up their seats for preggies. it's the younger ones who are more "chao ken" by pretending to check sms, sleep, or deeply engrossed in their reading to notice .

An insensitive client of mine, who is a young chap (early 20s), commented that my tummy is still so small, he dun understand why it's tiring for me! I felt like bashing him up when he added, if it's so tiring why u still want to have kids? I was so tempted to ask him, go back and ask your mum why she gave birth to you! Or when you find a wife then you tell me the answer ;p

Mrs Yap: Wow, that's means your little bb is growing well!! Kekek... more people will give up seats for you soon!

Shazz: Wow, your client is irritaing leh... Young people never think before they talk..

Flos: Ignore your insensitive colleagues, one way is to ta pau your lunch so that you no need to go out &amp; listen to their complains &amp; gossips..

Morning Everyone!

vicki &amp; gail
Welcome!

Flos
Birkis is also my fave footwear for now. What classical music are you &amp; your bb lstening to now. I just ordered the Mozart Effect &amp; I plan to listen to it every night before bedtime.

Mrs Yap
For my oscar test, my bb was also very naughty &amp; kept moving around, so it was also hard to take the measurement. End up I spent about 4 hours, as I had to go out for a walk &amp; go back to scan. We only managed to take the measurement on the 3rd try. Oscar is supposed to be done between 11 to 14 weeks. I had a friend who missed it as she was away in Japan. My bb was 7cm at 12 weeks.

shazz
Those young chaps know nothing about all these.. wait till he gets married &amp; is expecting a child then he knows.

Morning ladies! Just realised that this is a short working week! yippie

Welcome to the forum Vicki &amp; Gail!
kao_welcome.gif

shazz (shazzerlyn) - not sure when vPost will finally ship all my items, cos I am waiting for 2 things from Amazon (my weighing scale, &amp; a babyplus thingie) &amp; the Medela PIS that vPost Concierge has to order for me from Hackley. Anyway, even without the $15 discount, the prices are still pretty reasonable

Btw, 1st time mommies - when are u starting to prepare ur baby's room? We have a guest room that we are converting to a baby's room - I guess after we know the gender (hopefully next week!) - not sure what I need to get, maybe start with changing the drapes...Anyone has any reasonable priced customized curtain company to recommend? The guy I used for the rest of our place is quite expensive...Thanks!

xuanting, on TMC website they stated that we could sign up once we hit week 20.

bigtoes, can we pre-book? it would be good if we can..

i shopped for 2 pcs of "maternity" clothes last nite..but they are just normal esprit tees...i got them at XL size and they fit me perfect! MTBs, can try.. today i am wearing my maternity pants and esprit tee...and i look really Motherly..hee

flo, i also find myself emboiled in office politcs..guess i will also skip some of the lunch sessions...it can be quite negative listening to all the complains...

bacon&amp;egg (baconegg) - yes, for TMC i called them &amp; pre-book a Sat slot at 4.30-6.30pm, since these i assume wld be the most popular slots. Each class has 20-25 couples. The classes are at AMK Hub, not TMC. You only need to make payment at week 20 onwards &amp; confirm the slot then.

Hi Bigtoes.
Do share with me wat is the final cost of shipping medela from the states once u get the bill hoh? I curious on the nett nett cost

Btw, when can we start ‘tai-jiao’ (tummy-education)? Saw tat some mama got some Mozart CD liao…
I find it hard to start tai-jiao when I cannot even see the bulging tummy.. dunno where to stroke the ‘baby’ literally. LOL

BTw, there is a baby fair at expo tis weekend. Dun forget wor

Morning all!

Welcome moms and MTBs new to the thread...

I couldn't get back to sleep yest morning ard 5am, so I got up and bid on a new medela PIS backpack and I won! I never win anything on eBAY....oops, hope it's really New In Box as they stated...but it's a power seller, so shld be quite reliable. USD212 excl shipping.

Flos
Sometimes, people just like talking about bad stuff.more fun to talk about than cute this, and sweet that. esp if they are sour prunes themselves lah...

Dreams
Had two dreams last night - one was breastfeeding a baby and using the pump to express...dunno why...the other was giving birth to a baby who could already talk...hmmm

meie... yr gynae so good wait for 4 hrs... mine say he got no time and if i wan he can refer to his colleague and i hv to pay extra! So i give up the idea lor... my gynae package already v exp $3500 and thats excl detailed scan, injec, medicines.

Wow yr baby is also big... its funny lor... bb too small i worried, too big i also worried.
So now i know its the norm